About MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd.

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

207 San Jacinto Blvd., Ste. 200
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-10pm)
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 12AM (Lunch: 11am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)
Saturday: 10AM – 12AM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)

Cross Street:
Third

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 904-0111

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/index.php

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud jukebox covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for our late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
Click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/catering_private-dining/index.php

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available, as is street parking, garage parking, and surface parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Mason Rodgers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Click here for information on upcoming events, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/calendar-of-events/index.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Austin’s most unique private event venue, The Underground ft. 3 event spaces. Close to 6,000 square feet of “wine cellar” environment, with original warehouse cement columns & exposed ducts–all accented with wine bottle candelabras, luxurious carpeting & beautiful art from local Austin artists.

MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (24)
Casual (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Spicy (3)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Lively atmosphere. Fried chicken is a standout performer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food (brunch) was great; service, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food is great but it takes forever to get your food here. If you have somewhere to be, I don't recommend choosing this place for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

When we made the reservation, I did not check to see when graduations would be. So they were very busy and noisy. However, we were seated toward the back (under the low ceiling) and that cut the noise by about 75%.

As usual, the fried chicken (both regular and GF) were fantastic. We requested all white meat and thought they would swap out the leg and thigh for an extra breast. Nope, we had THREE breasts on each plate. Way too much food and we felt bad that we had to leave each of our the extras behind. Couldn't take it home as we were going to Esther's Follies afterwards.

Overall, it was a great meal and one of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I gave my full name at check in and they never checked me in. Now I'm in violation of Open Table's no show policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

visisting my daighter in austin, i wanted a restaurant that had not just regulare everyday food. awesome! We shared the blue cheese fig dip. really good and the shredded pork stuffed peppers. both great. Good wine choices as well. service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went here based on Tripadvisor and Opentable reviews. Max and cheese and truffle fries were delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great service, excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We really enjoyed the honey-chipotle chicken sliders.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved it! We went for brunch, and they never fail to meet and exceed expectations!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great...love their fried chicken! Was disappointed with our server though. My husband eats a gluten free diet and we dine here often because they have the option. Our server seemed annoyed that he requested gluten free (stating there wasn't any GF batter made yet & that it would take an extra 15 mins. - which we were fine with waiting for) and was unfriendly the rest of the time we were there. We were not there at a busy time either ( it was 10 am reservation )

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This will be the fourth or fifth time dining at Max's, always awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good meal, the fried chicken was really good although really small birds.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was great - waitress left a lot to be desired on Mother's Day weekend. Very disappointed seeing we've been for birthdays and more....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food reasonable prices moderate selection

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food, good wine. Need more of a selection by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Max's wasn't very busy at all and it took 30 mins for the server to even come to our table. Idk if they were under staffed or what but it wasn't the best experience. The staff was very friendly regardless of everything else.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I used to love their brunch, however I will not return to brunch after our last visit.

We had reservations at noon and didn't get seated until 12:30. The hostess forgot about us. After reminding her and finally getting seated, the table was dirty and it took forever to get service.

Food was not the best, service was horrible, and the vibe was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Shrimp tacos were delicious! I really liked the T-shirts as well. Great place for foodies.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Bachelorette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent GF fried chicken, dedicated fryer means it's safe, and its sooooo good. Love this place!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Overall it was very good, although, we have been to the restaurant twice and both times the server has broken the cork while opening the bottle of wine. This past time it became somewhat of an ordeal, while I'm fairly certain they took the bottle to the back, filtered the pieces of cork out then poured it back in, I would have hoped they would just give us a new bottle. While this certainly wasn't a big deal, just a bit of a nuisance, especially given that it has happened twice now.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Gluten free fried chicken is an option. Thought I would never have fried chicken again and it was AMAZING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Buttermilk Jalapeño Fried Chicken is worth the drive downtown. Friendly staff. Conveniently located in the heart of the Austin Entertainment District.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was amazing. So fresh and filling! We ate outside and enjoyed the great weather. It was a great place for a good meal that tasted home-made. We went for an early dinner meal so it wasn't crowded at that time, but I can imagine the crowd would definitely pick up as the night went on.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was my first visit and it was awesome. The food was very flavorful. I will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Came here with my wife for a date night, quick service in a relatively crowded restaurant. The food was absolutely excellent, and the drink list was definitely up to par. Somewhat pricey but given the quality of the food it was worth paying for. Definitely worth visiting and within walking distance of 5th St

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love this place but food came out luke warm and 45 minutes after we sat down. The three times we have been the service has been eh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything there is great, except the hostess. This is the third time that I've made a reservation and the table is not ready when I get there. I don't mind the wait to get it set up, but the hostess seems so out of sorts every single time. I have to tell her 3 times what my name is. This time I left a note through OpenTable to bring out something for desert for my sister's birthday. That never came.

Love the food and wine and service, but the hostess is a mess every time I go in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cava was flat; chicken was average; burger was overlooked (medium well not medium). Nothing special about it - probably why we're were able to get a reservation so easily at 8 on a Saturday night.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The best fried chicken I have ever had. Friendly service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I really enjoyed the wine selection and food options. It was dinner, but I was able to order a brunch option, which fit perfectly with my Merlot. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Horrible service. Was seated at a frigid table then was brought other tables' food twice. Then it took 45 minutes to get our own food. Then when paying, we wrote out what everyone ordered by last name and put the credit cards in order. The waitress still managed to get it wrong. Food was good, but not worth the terrible service. Will not be going back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice restaurant . . . i will just try something else. I had the cracklin chicken which is baked chicken with skin. That is fine and what i wanted, but there was no 'cracklin' to it. My friend had the fried chicken and said it was fantastic. The house white wine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great time! Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was too loud and the service was slow. While the food was great, the rest did not make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Booked because of 1000 point table. Disappointed they changed to 100 points I assume because it was just one person. I spent $100 there though, enough like it was two. Food was good but prob not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and great server. Was a little busy, no problem- we expected that bc it was a Saturday night. However, the manager (possibly shift manager? Or just a worker who thinks she's in charge!) was extremely rude! ( she is shorter and has a short blonde stacked or hi-low bob.) Hostess forgot our silverware when we were sat, I didn't blame anyone, I wasn't mad. Went to front to get a set and the manager got sassy and rude with me! Interrogating me as to who is my server, who sat us, what table I am, all with attitude and just plain rudeness. Then went to go to bathroom after we finished our meal, this same woman stops us, blocks us in our tracks and yells at us to leave, did not believe us that we were customers. So sad that a manager has to be the one to soil an experience. Will never go back when she's working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great burger, loud music volume

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Best gluten-free fried chicken in the world......really! Don't miss out on the collard greens and a bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.