About MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd.

207 San Jacinto Blvd., Ste. 200
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-10pm)
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 12AM (Lunch: 11am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)
Saturday: 10AM – 12AM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)

Cross Street:
Third

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 904-0111

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/index.php

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud jukebox covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for our late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
Click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/catering_private-dining/index.php

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available, as is street parking, garage parking, and surface parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Mason Rodgers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Click here for information on upcoming events, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/calendar-of-events/index.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Thu 12:00AM - 12:00AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Austin’s most unique private event venue, The Underground ft. 3 event spaces. Close to 6,000 square feet of “wine cellar” environment, with original warehouse cement columns & exposed ducts–all accented with wine bottle candelabras, luxurious carpeting & beautiful art from local Austin artists.

MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Comfort Food (13)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fun (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1041 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Max's always delivers! I took a friend ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Max's always delivers! I took a friend here for dinner after her lunch got totally messed up. It was so gross....I took her to this location saying "Let's do Max's the food is always good". So is so picky....but she cleaned her plate! thanks for making me look good Max's!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was busy and my order was messed up. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

It was busy and my order was messed up. Once the food came, I was very pleased. The burger is a must try and the lobster pot pie is tasty and a sight to see.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful service. Waiter gave us a free ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful service. Waiter gave us a free wine tasting and super experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Don't get the seat by the door on a cold ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Don't get the seat by the door on a cold day. Wew. Otherwise great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My wife had our 5th Valentines date at M ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife had our 5th Valentines date at Max's. The food and wine were incredible. The ambianace and music were great.

Our waitress coudln't care less about her job or being at work. We waited 15"+ for a drink order, and again to order food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I was curious if I could alter my reserv ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was curious if I could alter my reservation, I called in the morning and never recieved a callback. My party details changed, which probably didn't inspire the server to offer his best service. I had a different expectation of the atmosphere, of which I found in the patrons of Max's, a little more fancy. But the service didn't seem too involved in our experience. Again, probably because our different situation. I will try it again, but not for the cocktails, maybe a quiet date or with my wine loving girlfriends, hoping a different situation will allow for better service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We've been to Max's several times previo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We've been to Max's several times previously and had good experiences - but that was a couple of years ago. The risotto-lobster hush puppies were Bland and the champagne chicken salad lacked interest. The waiter was friendly at first but became very inattentive - he had tables inside and outside and he seemed rushed. The entrees came out for 3 out of 4 of us and the servers didn't comment and our waiter didn't respond. We had to flag down the hostess to find our waiter to get it resolved. Austin has many great restaurants to choose from so we won't be in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was awful. Had to ask three ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was awful. Had to ask three times for water and then the waiter only brought my water when we had originally asked for the whole table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The music stopped repeatedly, so there w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The music stopped repeatedly, so there was silence while we ate. For a while we thought they were cleaning or trying to get us to rush.

Service was mediocre; folks didn't check back after we were served each course to see how we found it.

The fried lobster risotto was better with a squeeze of lemon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Went for wine and a small plate at nigh ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Went for wine and a small plate at night. Wine and food were good. The place is Very, very loud. We are outside which was better for us. Young hipster crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was outstanding but the service ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was outstanding but the service was a major disappointment. We waited about 40 mins after ordering with no food, we finally waived down a waiter and he told us they misplaced our ticket and forgot to put in our order. That resulted in another extremely long wait, so we didn't get our actual dinner for about 90 mins.

The waiter apologized and brought us free fries and mac and cheese, but considering two of us had already ordered that, I would have wished they would have just comped those orders instead of bringing us more that we wouldn't eat. My gf and I ordered the short rib, one $11 glass of wine, and the starter mac and cheese, and it was $60+.

Overall, the food was good, but it was expensive for what we got and the service was a huge let down. Not sure i'll go back after this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Hands down, the BEST fried chicken we ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Hands down, the BEST fried chicken we have ever had! My friends are gluten-free and they agreed -- they were so excited to be able to order GF fried chicken. So glad we went here on our visit to Austin and would absolutely recommend anyone going!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is comfort food on steroids. Highly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This is comfort food on steroids. Highly recommend either the pot roast or the fried egg sandwich with truffle chips. Both to die for. The wine seemed a little pricey though.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good restaurant. Food was excellent

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good restaurant. Food was excellent

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always love Max's. Have to get my gluten ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always love Max's. Have to get my gluten free fried chicken fix!

This restaurant really is g/f friendly.

It has a very upbeat vibe and a great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in town for a work conference with ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I was in town for a work conference with my husband. Max's was walking distance from our hotel. Food was delicious... we were looking for good southern-style comfort food since we are northerners (Canada). My headband had the fried chicken and I had the fried pork chop. Both meals were delicious. We made the "mistake" of ordering dessert too. :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I LOVE this place! We hav ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I LOVE this place! We have been back many times and never disappointed with our food or our service. It's been a great experience every time. I can't wait to go back. We just went with two other couples and we could have a conversation without raising our voices, it was perfect!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome treatment, good people, great fo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome treatment, good people, great food and drinks. It is a must go place

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Lots of good options. The ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food. Lots of good options. The french toast is some of the best I've had. If you like apples, you have to try it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overpriced brunch, inattentive service, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overpriced brunch, inattentive service, cold coffee, help held 2 used cups at once in one hand. 1 cup touching the other then delivered to separate tables. DIO KISS & Sabbath at hi volume for Sunday brunch with hung over folks after NYE. Cold food. Dry Chicken 1 plate, undercooked Chicken the next. Save your$ and skip it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Was not impressed with the food or the d ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was not impressed with the food or the drinks. The prices were decent on the beverages and entres.

I ordered the beer battered fish and chips plate. I took one bite and just left the plate on the table. I don't believe in complaining during the dining due to mannerisms ethical behavioral judgement. Although I will have to state that this will probably be my last time coming to this location.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Great waitress and service.

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great waitress and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The good was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The good was excellent. The service was terrible. We waited 30 min to get our order taken. The server"guessed" who ordered what in the ticket and tossed the ink pen at me.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food. Non existent service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Non existent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

We have been to Max's in Dallas so we ca ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Max's in Dallas so we came to try the Austin location....both are awesome

Great home cooking with a great atmosphere

Will return

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good - the menu has changed a lit ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always good - the menu has changed a little (sad to see Pan Barracho no longer there) but still great food, great service, and a good place to have a good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A whole lot of menu items, but mostly ju ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A whole lot of menu items, but mostly just a lot greasy fried foods.

Wine list was dismal as well...but should have known with the name!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This was my worst restaurant experience ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my worst restaurant experience I ever had, I got there 20 minutes earlier and they sat me faster because there was no wait, so after I got sat, 5 minutes later server told us he will be with us in few minutes and it took him more than 10 minutes to get back to us, by that time we were ready and we order the appetizer and food. So consider its 7:50 right now and we are still waiting, appetizer came maybe after 10 - 15 minutes and the food comes at 9:30, which was very disappointing cause it took very long, and even someone comes to use with different food and said that from the kitchen (the way that you think your order either is messed up or never putted in) and well that appetizer was pork so we couldn't eat it, after the meal, the server didn't even care to ask for desert and he just bring us the check and we told him that we want to order desert and then it took him another 10 minutes to come back with menu and 10 minutes to come back and get the order and 15 minutes to deliver the desert.

If I were you I would stay off this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

My girlfriend and I went here for dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My girlfriend and I went here for dinner our first night in Austin. The atmosphere was a little loud even though it wasn't full. The Nacho Mama's Oysters were a great start to the meal. I told our server, Ryan, I liked bourbon and he made me a great old fashioned with double rare eagle. It was so good my girlfriend ended up getting one as well. I ordered the fried chicken. It was good, nice and crispy, and well seasoned. The greens were perfect, no hot sauce required. The potatoes were great as well. My girlfriend got the chicken and champagne salad. The chicken breast was fried nicely. And the champagne dressing didn't overpower the chicken. Overall a pretty solid meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been multiple times and this by far ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I've been multiple times and this by far was the worst in regards to service. It was not busy at all, and the waitress for our section apparently didn't want to wait on us. It took about 15 minutes for someone to come and greet us at the table. Then the server was changed out mid service which I get, but it was obvious as people begin to finally arrive that we were in a section for someone else. That waitress saw us arrive and was too busy talking to the bartender to care. The food was good, but other than that it was a disappointment as I had brought someone from out of town there for their birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our server was terrific, really apprecia ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server was terrific, really appreciated having the chance to taste several wines before ordering. Was a little disappointed they were out of the bone marrow appetizer, but the cheese board, chicken sliders, and max 'n cheese were all a winner. The unexpected highlight was the half-n-half dessert. Wow, fantastic! Overall a very laidback experience and we look forward top our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I hosted our wedding rece ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My husband and I hosted our wedding reception here in December 2014. We decided to celebrate our 2 year anniversary on Tuesday the 13th. We made a reservation on Open Table noted that it was our anniversary. The hostess was very sweet and acknowledged it was a special occasion for us. We sat down and weren't greeted for 10 minutes but watched as 4 servers walked by without acknowledging us. A simple, "I'll be with you one just a moment would have been just fine." We were told our server was Natasha but we never met her. One server walked by us and asked if we had been helped yet. We said no and her response was "what do you want?" I could understand if the restaurant was busy but the bar was not full and more than half the tables were not seated. Perception is everything. Troy ended up being our server and he was very cordial. We got our food and it was delicious! The atmosphere and food never fail as it's a very cool space. The service does need attention. We ran into this issue when planning our wedding going through 3 catering managers with no communication on what was happening. The manager, Alex, did comp our appetizer which we appreciated. We noted a couple tables around us had some issues waiting on service or to pay out. All in the all, the space is awesome and you can't go wrong with the food but service needs attention desperately. The experience wasn't awful but felt there was a missed opportunity being it was a special occasion for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great gluten free fried chicken.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great gluten free fried chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was seated instantly however the server ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was seated instantly however the server was not actively engaged on a frequent basis. I asked for Tabasco and never got it and jalepeno grits were ordered as well in which we did not receive...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We came in for brunch. I have never eate ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We came in for brunch. I have never eaten here before and I have lived in Austin nearly a decade so I was pretty excited to see what the fuss was all about. We were sat promptly, but the waiter took almost 10 minutes to greet us. No big deal. It gave us time to figure out exactly what we wanted. So, we ordered our champagne selection for our mimosas and what we wanted to eat in one swoop. The waiter returned with our bubbles (nice guy, but seemed nervous) - he proceeded to open the bottle by removing the foil and then began to twist the cork off....without removing the surrounding cage. He struggled for a minute or so and then finally the cork blew off and champagne went everywhere. He laughed and then poured us our first glass. Again, not a big deal....but, really?

The food was pretty good. I had the hangover hash and my girlfriend had an omelette. She ordered grits as her side, but got potatoes instead. Still, not a big deal.

When the check was dropped off, I noticed that the price of the champagne was a lot higher on the bill than the menu. I also noticed that there was a charge for the orange juice, even though the menu stated "You pick the bubbles, we provide the juice." I asked the waiter if he could review this because this is not what we selected. Upon his return he said it was his first brunch and apologized, but since he picked the wrong bottle and rang up the pricier one, that is the one we were asked to pay for. So I ended up paying for a more expensive bottle of champagne with an additional up-charge for orange juice.

We tipped him fine, 20%, but leaving this review is just as comical to write as I am sure it is to read. Please train the employees how to ring up orders, make modifications, and most of all...how to properly open champagne bottles.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The chicken fried steak and egg with gre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The chicken fried steak and egg with green chili gravy is sooo good for breakfast. 20-30 years ago I could name 4 places with a really good CFS in Austin but because taste changes and all of our new ex patriots not from this time zone who seem to celebrate Trader Joes vegetable aisle and want their protein shipped in overnight from Patagonia because of some special coastal grass. Today I can now only name two restaurants and Max's is my favorite. Be bold and ask for the green tomatillo sauce for a touch of extra heat and spice.

The hangover hash is awesome and sometimes I celebrate with a nice bourbon and water - you know, hair of the dog if you had a little too much celebration. I see the shrimp and grits and I know it's good but Good Lord, the CFS just draws me in most Sunday mornings.

The staff is worth the trip - the staff is fun, passionate and such great people. The price is right for downtime, the people watching is always fun, and prepare to pay the valet.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always loved Max's, but this tim ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have always loved Max's, but this time we were disappointed. We waited for close to 15 minutes before a server greeted us. They removed one of my favorite items off of the menu and it seemed to take forever for our food to arrive. The server who was supposed to wait on us was in the weeds so another server came to help. She was friendly, but we didn't see much of her. We still gave her a good tip because I remember my days waiting tables and how busy it could get. I'm just sad they removed their drunken bread. It was my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We went for a quick / late dinner on a F ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went for a quick / late dinner on a Friday evening. We were late for our reservation but they were very gracious when we called and rescheduled us so that our traffic delay was not a problem. The food was well prepared and pretty much what we expected, not exotic, but they don't try to sell exotic. There was a salad on the menu for those who don't want a lot of carbs. What I really liked was that when we talked to our server about wine, he listened well, and brought 3 bottles and a tasting glass to the table to allow us to choose the one that suited us best. All 3 were in line with what we asked for. The tasting and attention to our wine selection really sold me on this restaurant even if they only have one no-carb dish that I can eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The food is always magical. The staff is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food is always magical. The staff is always super fun and helpful. Lastly you can NEVER go wrong with chicken and greens! Noms

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, , Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have eaten here a number of times, bu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 2, 2016

we have eaten here a number of times, but this may be the last one - the good- one of the best pot roasts I have ever had however two of us ordered it and both noted that the potatoes were under cooked almost raw , the chicken always good and was enjoyed. The new menu, so-so at best and pricey for what it is. The cheese plate we ordered was incredibly disappointing we are still wondering what some of the items were and why they were there. The service this past Wednesday on a fairly slow night was - slow and the waiter seemed to not really be paying attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.