About MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd.

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

207 San Jacinto Blvd., Ste. 200
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-10pm)
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 12AM (Lunch: 11am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)
Saturday: 10AM – 12AM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)

Cross Street:
Third

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 904-0111

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/index.php

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud jukebox covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for our late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
Click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/catering_private-dining/index.php

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available, as is street parking, garage parking, and surface parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Mason Rodgers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Click here for information on upcoming events, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/calendar-of-events/index.php

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Austin’s most unique private event venue, The Underground ft. 3 event spaces. Close to 6,000 square feet of “wine cellar” environment, with original warehouse cement columns & exposed ducts–all accented with wine bottle candelabras, luxurious carpeting & beautiful art from local Austin artists.

MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
See All
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was able to squeeze our large group in without much notice and as always, the menu did not fail and the drinks were excellent. I brought my friends from Canada and they were impressed. They didn't know what to do with fried chicken before noon but they tried it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous! The wine, the food, the service were all great! We especially liked the stuffed peppers, fried chicken salad and steak salad. Don't miss this place!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Perfect for a casual dinner. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our server was great and very accommodating. The food was amazing, strongly recommend the fried chicken and the ribs.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I was waited on twice the entire hour I waited for my food. The coffee cup had lipstick stains on it and the cups were not clean! I was extremely disappointed as I waited for over an hour to be helped and to receive my food. I decided to leave and tell the manager what happened and she gladly took care of our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Nothing memorable. Upscale bar food in a slightly less pretentious atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with the gluten free food options. I have to say the gluten free fries chick was AMAZING! Great food and great service made for a very nice date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were in Austin for the first time and the gave some recommendations for after dinner music and things to do.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great place to take out of town guests for good food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great option for a casual business dinner. Not a ton of options on the menu, but it was enough! Loved the wine selection. This restaurant has multiple personalities - half wine bar and half dive bar. Overall, good choice.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 25, 2017

There were 4 people working at this restaurant during a weekday lunch. A host, a waiter and 2 cooks. It took FOREVER to get our food and we finally had to get up and find the waiter to give him our credit card so we could get back to work. The food took almost an hour to come and the waiter disappeared. Max's needs to close if this is the best they can do during lunch in the business district. I made the reservation and was embarrassed at how slow the service was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Absolutely the best comfort food ever! Huge selection of wines, friendly staff, clean and comfortable. Chef Robert came and checked on us after we'd been served, he was super great. Absolutely no complaints!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was not impressive. Sent back the blue cheese dip because there was no blue cheese in it at all. The waiter was terribly slow and uninterested. It took 30 minutes for our cocktails to arrive. What a waste of time! Definitely not going back here ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We come to Max's all the time. The food is always great. My issue is service/wait time. I've been a waiter for years in the past. I understand all sort of delays. What I don't understand is waiting almost 50 minutes to get our food order with our waiter ghosting us. Any number of things can happen. I get that. What I don't get is zero communication from wait staff or managers as to any delays. In addition, when raising issue with the delay, receiving a tone deaf response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Menu is a mix of their staples (Fried Chicken, Oyster nachos) and seasonal items. Wine selection is broad and both the food and wine are reasonably priced. It was a UT football weekend, and we didn't have trouble with a post-game reservation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The server acted like he had somewhere else he wanted to be. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great service! Dylan was very knowledgeable about my gluten free needs. Loved the Brussels sprouts and the fried chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We go to Max's a few times a year as my kids love chicken and waffles. We had requested s low top table (kids) and they had us setup for a high top but quickly moved us when we asked for a low top. Food is great but maybe a little expensive per plate (however portions are huge so the cost is in line with quantity of food).

They change their chicken and waffles ever so often but always a great meal. I have been to both Houston locations and the Austin one is always one step above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Sent the food back, over cooked and salty as hell on all dishes. I used to visit Houston location. Either this is a cheaper knockoff or the franchise has last its mojo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Didn't really give thought to my reservation as I was celebrating a special occasion. Service was amateur and didn't put much thought into our table. I may be s but more critic due to myself working in the hospitality industry. Food was good as well as drinks but felt a bit overpriced for similar resturants I have been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great service and wine recommendations. Food is always good - brussell sprouts were amazing. Quiet atmosphere with comfort food - will always return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I love the gluten free options here as I have celiac disease. The portions are generous and the food is delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great fried chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Gluten free fried chicken! They have a dedicated fryer and know how to keep you safe. My wife has cleliac and gets sick with gluten just touching her food. They were great. No cross contamination. The food was tremendous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great fried chicken and mac and cheese, good selection of wine and cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Two thumbs up for the Gryuere and mushrooms burger!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food wasn't anything special, ended up spending $70 and left us both feeling like it wasn't really worth it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went for a get together with 7 other friends. The service was pretty awful and you could tell our waiter had no interest in being there. When taking everyone's order he actually walked away after taking everyone but my order and had I not chased him down I don't think I would have eaten. One of our drinks was also very incorrectly made.

Food overall was good however the fried chicken they are supposed to be famous for didn't quite live up to the hype it really wasn't special or better than the chain chicken places. The shrimp and grits were unbelievable though and I'd highly recommend them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Everything was fine, but there are so many great restaurants in Austin that this wouldn't be my top pick.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Solid choice. Fried Chicken dinners are good - but takes a while to prepare (stated on menu). Worth the wait? Sure however would suggest getting an appetizer to hold you over cause it takes longer than one would expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food was good not very crowded on a Sunday night for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had some great German Riesling and the cheese board appetizer. Afterwards, had the famous fried chicken plate. Meal was good with large portions. Not my favorite restaurant in the area, but a good go to with a good wine selection.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The waiter waited on several other customers before waiting on our table. He never came back to wait on us until it was time to get the check. We had to grab other waitress to help us. We were highly disappointed. When he did come to help us, it didn't seem as though he wanted to. We were a table full of 8 African American women celebrating my birthday and he was very unhelpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I went to brunch for the second time at Max's and had a great experience. Our drink orders and food orders were really prompt ( I had the spiced apple French toast...yum!). It was my sister's first time and she loved the fact that thr collards greens contained no pork...they're vegetarian! Great table by the window. I just wish the noise level didn't get so high but it was brunch into late lunch so I guess it's expected. Definitely will return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Spot on as always

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good mac & cheese and macerated fig & cream cheese dip. Affordable good wine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We've been eating at Max's for years, however, it's been several months since the last time we dined there. I would say in the past everything we ordered was great- this time our experience was difference. My tomato soup was cool (approximately room temp) and my wife's dish was over salted. We will definitely go back though-statistically this just happens-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server seemed standoffish and disinterested, but despite that, the experience was worthwhile! We will be back for the amazing food and wine and hope next time for an experience where I can give everything 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife, son, and I had dinner on Saturday, June 17th for an early Father's Day celebration. The food was great and our server Troy was great as well. Unfortunately, our experience started out poorly as the hostess was rude, condescending and not customer focused. Our reservation was early....5:30. The restaurant was mostly empty...only ~ 3 tables seated. Hostess only provided 2 table options...one which was right next to the door. Told us there weren't any other options as they were expecting many reservations. I tried to explain we had a reservation and she just proceeded to ask my name and cop an attitude. Finally, she just dismissed us and told us to sit wherever we wanted. I tried to address the situation face to face with the manager, but he reacted in a somewhat bewildered manner and wasn't immediately apologetic. I didn't really believe he was sincerely committed to addressing the issue. At this point, we don't plan to return and won't be recommending to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.