Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Max's on Broad

Everyday Belgian & French cuisine served in a beautiful restaurant overlooking a plaza w/ patio dining. This is French countryside cooking at its best, using local ingredients and hormone free meats. We serve homemade desserts, soups, sauces, fresh salads, local raw oysters, cocktails, an extensive wine list, private dining, business lunches, local beers, Belgian beers, and outside dining.


305 Brook Rd
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, French, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11 pm
Sunday 10 am - 10pm.

Brunch served Saturday and Sunday until 3 pm. Full menu all day long, straight through until close. Catering & boxed lunches available. Call our Catering & Sales Manager Andrea Hughes at (704) 302-0049. Large parties welcome; prix fixe available for semi-private dining or corporate events.

Cross Street:
Adams and Broad Street and Brook Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 225-0400

Website:
http://www.maxsonbroad.com/

Parking Details:
We also offer complementary valet parking all day, everyday.

Free Parking during both lunch and dinner can be found at Joe's Auto, on Marshall Street between Adams and 1st Streets on the north side of the street. Please stay to the left side of the free standing building.
Parking can also be found at the south west corner of Grace st. & N. Adams.

Executive Chef:
Tim Clinton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's on Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (54)
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Great for Brunch (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Cozy (29)
Business Meals (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Casual (26)
Authentic (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Scenic View (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Fun (17)
People Watching (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 hours ago

Good food, Great bread... Very quiet on a Sunday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good food in a very attractive space. Service was prompt but way too wordy. Half the menu was described by the server in detail.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a late lunch at Max's with good friends and couldn't have been more delighted. We were seated quickly, with a reservation, and given time to visit while deciding what we wanted to order. Everyone enjoyed their meal, and each dish was well prepared and well presented. Desserts were great, especially the trio of chocolate beignets. I can recommend Max's with no hesitation for a leisurely, elegant lunch venue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the first time in the last 10 that I have been here where I was disappointed in the food. The short rib croquet was salty and over cooked. I was expecting the short rib meat that you have at dinner, but this was very different and disappointing. I should have gone with my standard croque monsieur. The rest of the people in my party were happy with their food. The service was great as always and the ambience and noise level were perfect for our business meeting. I'll be back. 1 out of 10 isn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

We (3 females) chose Max's because of its proximity to Richmond Ballet. One of 3 had never been, one had been few times and one only once. We all thoroughly enjoyed our selections although we were rushed, not by Max's, but we had tickets for 6:30 performance and our ETA to Max's was delayed because of traffic. Max's did all they could to work with our time constraints. Regarding service, our server failed to bring olive oil and escargot appetizer. Otherwise, would love to return for more leisurely dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Love Max's! It's a beautiful restaurant with delicious food. Brunch is awesome too. Something for everyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We often go to Max's prior to seeing a play at VA Rep. It is consistently excellent. Grateful for the valet parking!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We go to Max's when attending a performance at the November Theater. Service was outstanding. Valets had our car ready for pick-up when the play was over, nice touch. Food was outstanding.

Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love trying out new restaurants & me+boyfriend went out for a date and tried Max's. The ambiance is very nice and romantic! Great for a date! Staff was friendly and helpful! Our food was cooked perfectly. Only thing is, it could've been a bit more seasoned but overall the presentation and portion sizes were good. Even looking at other customers food orders as waiters took to their table, the food looked sooo good. Prices, entrees are starting from $20-$50 just *fyi*. The menu is precise so if your are that person who is a picky eater or sticks to the usual, check out menu before just dining in.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything was great, just wish they hadn't over cooked my fish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Valet parking made it easy to go and leave.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Friendly and competent staff. Server took the time to suggest alternatives and was very helpful.
Lunch was enjoyable and as usual the experience was great. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The most consistent higher-end restaurant in the city. Maybe not the most impressive, or hippest location, or most cutting edge...but never worse than a B+. Max's is consistently great and often terrific. We have had at least 5 meals here and all have been memorable. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We went for happy hour before going to the theater. The food, service, and ambiance was excellent. highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 13, 2017

A sub-par meal. We like to go here pre-theater for VA Rep and in the past have had an enjoyable time doing so. It's so convenient and the valet parking is a huge plus. Last week we had an early reservation ahead of another VA Rep production. They certainly accommodated us on time and the service was diligent if perhaps not a bit too much so. However our meals were disappointing: both the scallop and chicken entrees were bland and dry. The quality of the meal presentation does not seem to be where it once was when Max's first opened. Maybe it was just an off night for the kitchen, but harder to recommend as a "go to" place after our recent experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

High quality food, attentive service, appealing surroundings. What more can you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Drinks were good, wine was good, appetizers were good and all of my friends' meals were good... except mine. I had the filet mignon, mid-rare. But it was tough and kind of dry. The sauce also was not very good. With that said, I will still eat here as the restaurant is a gem. I just won't order the filet. ;)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Lovely all around. Excellent food and service, beautiful ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our waiter was amazing and took the time to discuss each dish with us and even ran to a nearby sister restaurant for a different type of fish for my mom! He definitely made the meal. We also sad outside which had a lot of flies but that's richmond in the summer! Great special occasion dining!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The fish entree I ordered was dry and had no seasoning. Our table was right by the bathroom so every few minutes my view was of the bathroom as the door would open and close. Have been here before and it was good but after this experience may not recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My wife and I had an impromptu date night and Max's on Broad delivered. Drew our server went above and beyond to make our evening wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Our first time here. Food was phenomenal. Service was very attentive. Frankly, one of the best restaurants in the City. Best French Onion soup hands down.

Very nice place for an anniversary or birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Dinner was amazing! We were celebrating a birthday and everyone we interacted with made the night special. We ordered the catch of the day and the salmon, I highly recommend both. You will certainly not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Really enjoyed my husband's birthday dinner here. Felt like we were being attacked by flies while sitting in the corner "lovers table" spot but our waitress kindly and quickly moved us to a different table and we had a great meal/experience. Can't beat the view upstairs! Will definitely be coming back and have already recommended it to a friend.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Terrific food and service with a lovely outside dining area, just a tad expensive with an overwhelming menu. Also a lot of flies outside because of the construction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Good food spot but read menu in advance to make sure your taste that day fits the menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Mussels were great. Scallops were only three-for the price-Four would have been better but too salty-the rub on the scallops too salty
risotto good
i thought a shot of johnny walker black at 16.00 was a tad high when a fifth costs 39.99 so you sell three drinks--your costs are met???? I would back that down a bit. We will drink before we dine next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Complimentary Valet Parking in Downtown Richmond - YES!
Asked for a seat in the corner - YES
Nicole - our server was very nice, pleasant and attentive - YES
Nicole made recommendations for brunch and provided the specials.
Since this was a friend get together, we were having good conversation and taking our time and Nicole was very accommodating. Ken, the manager, came by several times throughout the room and checking everyone's meals and service - YES
Food was excellent, since the restaurant was very busy with brunch, anniversaries and birthdays. Had eggs benedict Florentine - good! the pommes frite are really good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I was craving a good hamburger and got one of the best burgers I've ever had at Max's on Broad. I would not classify it as a burger place, though. It's fine dining, but it feels comfortable. The bread was the best I've ever had! I would definitely go again and try something a little more upscale.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We enjoyed our meal there. Good menu choices. The service was reasonable not outstanding. The ambience is very good.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Max's on Broad is one of our very favorite restaurants in Richmond. Given the national-class "foodie" status that Richmond now has with many excellent dining places this says a lot (and we go out a lot!). Occasionally, Max's is a bit too loud, but really you can't go wrong here if you're willing to pay full fare (but worth the price).

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great experience. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Used to be a little quieter, now seems to be more of a nice group gathering- you'll talk loud or not be heard. The staff was okay, but the attention obviously fell with the larger tables. Overall, a great experience but I'd expect a little more for the price. Table could have been a little cleaner, the staff could be a little more personable at times. They weren't bad, they were good. They just don't necessarily match what you pay at every step. But like I said, still great and I'm sure we will go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I came to Richmond for a anniversary weekend and decided to try Max's for our Saturday night dinner. Reservations were easily made, and we were seated as soon as we arrived. The waitress was great, answering any questions we had and being very attentive to our table. The wine was excellent as was the meat and cheese tray appetizer. My steak was cooked to my specifications and was nice and tasty. My wife's salmon was cooked well and also delicious. If you are looking for a non stuffy but still nice atmosphere Max's would be a great choice.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was excellent, food was good. Only complaint were that the tables are too close together, and it gets uncomfortable because you can hear the conversations from the tables next to you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food and great service. Really enjoyed it. We plan on coming back soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was our third time at Max's and they did not disappoint. Food was great and service was very good. We will go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was great. Service was very good. It was a little louder than I would like for a date, but I could deal with it.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always reliably great food and service. I'm local and dine here at least monthly. If you are visiting Max's is a must go.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our order was perfectly prepared. Our waiter's wine suggestion was spot on. Max's never disappoints!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.