Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Max's on Broad


A new Belgian cuisine restaurant in downtown Richmond, Virginia.
Max’s on Broad serves food nonstop from 11 am until 10 pm daily, with a weekend brunch on Saturday and Sunday, 7 days a week. For Reservations Call : (804) 225-0400

FRESH SEAFOOD
STEAK FRITES
HORS D’OEUVRES
FRUITS DE MER
CRAFT COCKTAILS
FRENCH WINE
BELGIAN BEER

305 Brook Rd
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, French, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11 pm
Sunday 10 am - 10pm.

Brunch served Saturday and Sunday until 3 pm. Full menu all day long, straight through until close. Catering & boxed lunches available. Call our Catering & Sales Manager Andrea Hughes at (704) 302-0049. Large parties welcome; prix fixe available for semi-private dining or corporate events.

Cross Street:
Adams and Broad Street and Brook Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 225-0400

Website:
http://www.maxsonbroad.com/

Parking Details:
We also offer complementary valet parking all day, everyday.

Free Parking during both lunch and dinner can be found at Joe's Auto, on Marshall Street between Adams and 1st Streets on the north side of the street. Please stay to the left side of the free standing building.
Parking can also be found at the south west corner of Grace st. & N. Adams.

Executive Chef:
Tim Clinton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. We're offering over 75 by the bottle selections half- dine in or delivery!. Special valid Mar 13, 2017 - Jul 13, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's on Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (85)
Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (56)
Romantic (53)
Great for Brunch (52)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Business Meals (46)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Cozy (38)
Authentic (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Fun (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Scenic View (31)
Hot Spot (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Casual (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Historic (17)
People Watching (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Great Beer (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Family Style (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Popular French bistro- styled restaurant in downtown Richmond. Place is smartly decorated. Cocktails are pretty standard with a little innovative flair. Service is friendly but slow and not very attentive. Tuna tartare app very good, pear salad just OK. Mussels portion is large and very good. Steak Frites disappointed; frites were great, sirloin steak was tough. Wine list is long and nicely varied, priced a bit high but they offer half off on Mondays.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed lunch with friends. Great food, excellent service. We ate too much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

The valet parking is ingenious! I was really disappointed in my meal ( traditional eggs Benedict). The eggs were cooked through and the meat was thick and chewy on top of a thick chewy English Muffin. My friend had a wonderful French dip sandwhich and the truffle mayonnaise was great. Our Bloody Marys were watery and lacked flavor, but our mimosas were delicious. The ambiance is great, but they sat us in a booth on a low volume morning instead of the window seats. When asked to take a window, they said the server was full.
I will try again - not for brunch - and see how it goes because I wanted to love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly service and delicious brunch -- pancakes and Eggs Benedict with Soft Shell Crab were wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been to Max's for dinner and for brunch and the food is exceptional. On each occasion, members of our group ordered different entrees and were thrilled with their choIce. Our waiter was very efficient and friendly without being intrusive. We will be returning to Max's on Broad!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

It took a really long time to get the first round of drinks and then about 45 minutes for apps to delivered. Unfortunately dinner landed on the table before we had finished the apps. Servers were trying to place dinner plates without removing the first course. Timing in the kitchen was definitely off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was our first dinner experience at Max's. We had previously been there for Sunday brunch and were very favorably impressed. Our dinner was equally rewarding. I had the Waterzooi, a special Belgian dish. It featured the catch of the day, Mahi Mahi with lump crab meat on a bed of carrots, potatoes and leeks. It was covered with their signature lobster sauce. Excellent!
My wife had the salmon an was also very pleased. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

After reading other reviews, I wish I'd have been at brunch on Mother's Day instead of dinner. My parents were visiting from out of town and I wanted to take them out to a delicious dinner for Mother's Day. I had been to Max's before and really enjoyed it so I was looking forward to our meal.

Unfortunately our experience was nothing like my last visit to Max's. After ordering our meals and receiving our appetizer, there was a kitchen issue that resulted in the sauté station being out of commission. I understand that certain things are beyond control, but the way our server and the manager handled the situation was what was most disappointing. My whole family had to re-order our dinners and had to select from very limited options. We had all ordered seafood (scallops and mahi mahi) and our options ended up being short ribs, steak or a burger. Because we had to reorder it took quite a while for us to receive our entrees. Our server was clearly irritated about the kitchen issues going on, and rather than being apologetic he came across as being annoyed with us.

At the end of the meal, not only did the manager NOT take the 1 drink we ordered or the 1 appetizer we had off our bill to thank us for our patience and understanding, but also charged us for the much more expensive entrees we were forced to order instead of the ones we had originally wanted. Sadly we paid $200 for a meal that took twice as long as it should have, was mediocre in flavor, and had elements substituted out from what was on the menu due to the kitchen malfunctions.

I was so looking forward to my meal and to showing my parents a great Richmond restaurant, but sadly I will not be returning to Max's in the future. Had they handled the circumstance differently, I would have a totally different opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for brunch on mother's day and had a wonderful time. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mother here for mothers day and she loved it! The service was great and they treated us well. And they had a nice food menu that wasn't over priced. The food was a good portion as well. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for a mother's day brunch and the food and wait staff were great! Good choices for food and beverage as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We arrived at 10:00 AM for our reservation and were immediately seated in the section and at the table we requested. The food and drinks were excellent and it was a very pleasant and enjoyable Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was awesome and food was delicious! Can't wa

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waiter was very good, and the brunch was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our first time there (from Raleigh, NC) Pre college graduation celebration. Rainy delluge outsde. Very warm inviting and *authentic* Belgium/Bruxelles ambiance inside. Phenomenal moulles frites ! Could not have been more pleased !!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We hosted our daughter's college graduation party for ten people there and had a wonderful time along with a great dining experience. Our server was professional and attentive. He was right there every time we needed him.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Delicious wine, great atmosphere and yummy food! Would definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing!!! Loved it- the service was great and the food was excellent.. the menu was also just right 👍🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I asked for large table even though there are just 2 of us by the window. Even though I made the reservation early and was not informed there Would-be a problem I did receive a table for 4 located with a view of the bathroom . This is the 2nd and I'm afraid last time that will happen at this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We've been here many times and this was one of our best experiences thanks in most part to a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our first time at Max's. We were there on the recommendation of a friend who dines there frequently. It was everything we were told it would be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I usually don't have anything bad to say about Max's. They were off their game yesterday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A very good place to dine. Great food , don't pass up the bread. Good service. Can find no fault. A praiseworthy eatery from cocktails to dessert. Recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very busy sat. night!!!! Food was good. Service very slow!! We were not in a hurry , so Long wait between bread, drinks ,apps, dinner, etc. As I said VERY busy night. I would go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Historic, People Watching, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were enjoying a pre-theatre birthday dinner and everything was delicious. The wait staff is attentive and helpful. Bread was replenished without asking, and plates removed quickly. The meal was scrumptious and the setting lovely. We'll be going back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love Max's -- been there many times--will definitely return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I recently dined at Max's on Broad and I was so impressed with the food, service and ambience. Such as chic setting with wdelivious bites (ecsoecially the pre-meal cinnamon rolls)! I definitely recommend dining there. Perfect for brunch with girlfriends or a date-night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My wife and I ate a Max's to support the Richmond Restaurant Week. We ate out Mon thru Fri and Max's was easily the best meal we had all week. The service was spot on and every course made us just love the fact that we were there. My main was the port osso bucco and hands down one of the best things I've eaten in a long time. The steak frits my wife had was also just a classic comfort dish and cooked perfectly.

Thank you Max's for a great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Disappointed not what we were expecting. Should have gone to Tarrants instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Went with friends during Richmond Restaurant Week. Waitress provided good information on the menu and helped with wine selection. She kept her eye on us without hovering. I have been there before and will go back again. Valet parking a big plus in downtown Richmond.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We came for Restaurant week on a Wednesday night. The onion soup was good but a little salty. The bread & French fries were good. The steak was flavorless even with the herb butter put on top. It was a very poor piece of meat. It may have been the type that is chemically treated. The chocolate cake was the best part of the meal. I would never come back to restaurant week.
I am not sure I will ever return to Max's. The first time I came I loved it. I have been a few times since and been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I would've liked to see at least one more wine by the glass option priced at the lower spectrum. The tuna tartare was terrible. You should reassess that dish. We expected a raw dish. The tuna was unrecognizable in some oily, housemade mayo? Couldn't taste the tuna at all. It was also tasteless lacking seasoning in the form of at least salt. This was the only dish that was bad. The sausage and ham soup was great, as well as the pork shank and steak frites. The chocolate cake was rich and incredibly light.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great food, service and ambience. Nice treat. A bit overpriced despite my kudos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It's Richmond restaurant week - the menu selection and value were superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was pretty good. I was happy with my meal for restaurant week but my wife's salad was missing salad dressing and the chocolate cake dessert she had was dried out and not very good. The fish special was excellent and the steak frites were also very good. I like this restaurant and will return but was disappointed in two of my wife's three courses.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Went to Max's and maybe had the worst time we've ever had...which still is better than a lot of places around town. They sat us literally in front of the front door. Every time someone came in or out they'd almost hit my wife's chair. Several people did. Totally not a place for a table...we came in right between the early crowd and late crowd so tables were tight. BUT, food was good as always, and restaurant week was great for the price. BUT the service was a little poorer than usual for Max's. So that was disappointing. I'm always concerned at a place like Max's when I have to almost tackle people to get water refills, etc...just a bit surprised. Maybe they were swamped for restaurant week...anywho, we'll be back, love us some Max's.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We were seated in a booth just outside the entrance to the kitchen and the restrooms so it tended to be very busy/noisy. For the most part, our meals were very good, although my steak (Steak-frites) was not very tender and the dessert wasn't great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We had the onion soup and pork osso bucco which were excellent. Waiter was very personable and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great dinner after a show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely flawless meal. We were in Richmond visiting colleges with our daughter. I had tried to get a reservation at Can Can (we dined there a year ago and loved it), but they were booked. I found Max on Open Table and am so happy I did! The best Manhattan cocktail. Excellent appetizers and delicious seafood. Our server was friendly, attentive and knowledgable without being intrusive. Wonderful!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.