Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi

About Max's Bistro & Bar

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: (559) 892-9969

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Modern Decor (17)
Casual (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Healthy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (0)
Sort By:
S
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 18 hours ago

We had a great dining experience to celebrate my wife birthday. Thanks to our server, Jordan who always provide excellent customer service to our family weekly.
Loyal customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food as per usual...best creme brulee in town. We only had one problem - the incredibly long list of ingredients for the halibut dish. Good lord, the poor waitress had to repeat it for my uncle, because she just kept adding layer upon layer of ingredients. I heard it was delicious, but sometimes, less is more. That being said, my filet mignon was excellent, and Max's makes the best Manhattan around. We had guests in from out of state who have a fairly picky palate, and they enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 22, 2017

My kids and I went for a belated Mother's Day dinner because on Mother's Day they were already booked and they can't take anymore reservation. So, we went on the following Sunday to celebrate Mother's Day. The place is nice and the food is good! I would recommend it to others.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely Mother's Day brunch. The staff was super attentive and the food was excellent- the tangerine mimosas were the highlight of brunch. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Max's is always my go to place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best local fine dining in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We took our mom for an early mothers day meal. We were not disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food here is always excellent. Our waiter kept checking back with us and made some great recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Ezzy was our outstanding server! The food was delicious!!
The cocktails were yummy!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Maxs has consistent excellent cuisine as always.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great as always, pleasant and prompt service. Good meals and appetizers always with interesting flavors. Always seems a relaxing way to start a weekend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Carefully prepared dishes and a selection of well made cocktails. Our waitress was a delight and very helpful. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch. Great concept with the buffet and ability to order egg items separately. Only issue is one egg item came out early, and the other one when we were almost through! Tangerine mimosas were delicious, and prime rib a nice touch to buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Been many times, excellent food! Great service and a wonderful overall experience. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best local restaurant in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Max's has never disappointed me for the 20 years I've lived in this town.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Overall the ambiance was good, but too noisy, esp for those with hearing loss. A bit pretentious. Need salt and pepper on tables. Risotto gummy, lacking flavor. Vegetarian options needed on menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Enjoyed very much . Everything was tasty and very good service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My friends love Max's. Love the ambience and staff was great.
Thanks!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing night out good was amazing and server Kelsey was the best I very ever had was so sweet she deserves a raise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Just a beautiful experience. Exactly what you expect from Max's.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I think our waitress was new. She took the order for Cakebread Chardonnay with 4 glasses but failed to ask the other couple what they wanted. She did ask one of them the next time around, then we had to get her attention for the next one. Food was good and hot when served. I did review my bill the next day nd think $47.00 is a little pricey for a NY strip. It was all in all a good dining experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

One of my favorite lunch and dinner spots. The Superfood Salad and Salmon was delicious. We also shared the Fries combo. Great service and quick during lunch time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Thank you so very much for the good food and beverages for our birthday party. Our family spent a very enjoyable evening with you and appreciated a very efficient and responsible service provider with you. We enjoyed the dinner, appetizers, bar service, and desserts. You handled it all for our party of 8 extremely well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere is always outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

excellent food, great service, fair prices. We will return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Short ribs were amazing!!!! Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great Food, Great People, very nice Artwork on display.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We are so happy to have a restaurant like this in Fresno. The location is not ideal but it is worth the drive. The food is delicious and innovative. My husband usually hates eggplant but loved their eggplant fries with aioli. I enjoyed my ahi. And my 4 year old commented that the bread was really good. ☺

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a lovely time, it was our 45 anniversary. The staff was friendly and attentive, service was excellent, the food was excellent.
It is our favorite restaurant in Fresno.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Date night on Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another great experience! Delicious food, beautiful presentation, friendly service, and plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great, waitress was awesome. Great food !!
Enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My risotto wasn't cooked all the way. There were occasional undercooked grains of rice. The shrimp was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We usually have a great experience at Max's but did not this time around. The service was so slow. For example, we had to ask for refills multiple times. My son had no drink at all with dinner. The meat was also undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Max's definitely lived up to the hype. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Sat @ table 21/1. Room was perfect. Main room too noisy. Server was Ezzy: SHE IS A CROWN JEWEL. Best server I've had in many years. Give that woman a big "Atta boy girl," for me. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a bit of a slow star, bit everything was good once we got the ball rolling. Good service. Great "trio of fries" and very good steak. Mediocre dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went to Max's for dinner on Valentine's Day; it was our first time at this restaurant. Meal was expensive but the food and service was excellent. Will definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

30 minutes to get food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.