About Max's Bistro & Bar

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: (559) 892-9969

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Romantic (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
Private Room (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Short ribs were amazing!!!! Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great Food, Great People, very nice Artwork on display.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We are so happy to have a restaurant like this in Fresno. The location is not ideal but it is worth the drive. The food is delicious and innovative. My husband usually hates eggplant but loved their eggplant fries with aioli. I enjoyed my ahi. And my 4 year old commented that the bread was really good. ☺

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a lovely time, it was our 45 anniversary. The staff was friendly and attentive, service was excellent, the food was excellent.

It is our favorite restaurant in Fresno.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another great experience! Delicious food, beautiful presentation, friendly service, and plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great, waitress was awesome. Great food !!

Enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

My risotto wasn't cooked all the way. There were occasional undercooked grains of rice. The shrimp was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We usually have a great experience at Max's but did not this time around. The service was so slow. For example, we had to ask for refills multiple times. My son had no drink at all with dinner. The meat was also undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Max's definitely lived up to the hype. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Sat @ table 21/1. Room was perfect. Main room too noisy. Server was Ezzy: SHE IS A CROWN JEWEL. Best server I've had in many years. Give that woman a big "Atta boy girl," for me. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a bit of a slow star, bit everything was good once we got the ball rolling. Good service. Great "trio of fries" and very good steak. Mediocre dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went to Max's for dinner on Valentine's Day; it was our first time at this restaurant. Meal was expensive but the food and service was excellent. Will definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

30 minutes to get food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went to Max's for our 45th anniversary. The service was great, the food was great and the wine was great! Couldn't have been happier with our choice of restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was the perfect dinner and the server was so sweet and very attentative. Will be going back for sure!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food with great service. Had filet mignon which was excellent. Friend had veal chop which she said was excellent also. Definitely well keep as one of our favorite restaurants in Fresno.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Arrived 5 minutes early to an empty restaurant and waited 10 minutes to be seated. I ordered duck two ways and my duck breast was raw. Won't be back. Sad to say things have changed from the great dining Max's Bistro used to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

We arrived about 30 min's early for our 7:15pm reservation so we went to the bar and got cocktails. When our table was ready, they offered to close out our tab or to have it transferred to our table.

Our waitress was very outgoing, sweet, and knowledgeable about the specials and menu as a whole. We ordered the trio of fries which was absolutely delicious (sweet potato fries, truffle and parmesan fries, and eggplant fries; served with a pesto jalapeño aioli and yummy Siracha aioli).

For dinner, my husband and dad each got the ribeye special, medium rare, and they were cooked perfectly. My mom got the halibut with risotto and I got the jumbo prawns with risotto. Both the halibut and the prawns were cooked perfectly, however the risotto was crunchy; the waitress was very apologetic and took our plates to have the risotto fixed. My moms came back cooked better but unfortunately my risotto was still pretty crunchy. Again, the waitress was very apologetic (even though we didn't blame her) and offered me anything else I wanted (which I appreciated but declined). In the end she didn't charge me for my meal.

Aside from the risotto, everything was absolutely delicious and our waitress was amazing. We will definitely go back, especially for the excellent customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love Max's! Always consistent, fresh, great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

Never having dined at Max's Bistro, we gave it a shot after finding the restaurant on the Open Table app. We couldn't have picked a better place. We ordered the seared salmon, sea bass, filet mignon, and the clam chowder. The wine was perfect, food was delectable, and our hostess, Jordan was attentive, respectful, and polite. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service were excellent. However, the music was way too loud. We were there celebrating a birthday - it was very difficult to hear across the table. The restaurant is noisy to begin with but coupled with the loud music just about made it unbearable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Max's never disappoints! The cozy bistro charm always feels good. The open atmosphere of the restaurant lends itself to a great feel. The food was delightful! Everyone at our table had something different, Poke, Filet, Fish, pasta. All of it was prepared wonderfully and served with a smile!! Great place! Always ready to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good fantastic service fantastic - all around great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Love Max's always a family and friends favorite!! Food is always wonderful

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

I asked my daughter-in-law to join me for lunch and she selected Max's which is both our favorite. Lindsy was our server and did an excellent job with our orders and refills of our drinks. We selected the Ahi special of the day along with the Ahi tostadas, both excellent and well prepared. We visited for over 2 hours and never felt any pressure to move along!

This is a first class restaurant who caters to their clientele, we will return!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have dined here several times and always enjoy the atmosphere. The food is exceptional and never disappointing. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and always make sure my experience is pleasant. I will be back again for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food great service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and Excellent service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our table wasn't ready when we got there. 20 minute wait for it. Took an hour to get our bottle of wine. The food was just okay. Once I got my food, they wanted to box it up and rush me out! It was not the nice occasion we were looking for.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and ambiance is always wonderful. Food is usually great, but our food experience this time was disappointing. The presentation was very nice but the meal ( Mushroom Risotto)lacked flavor, consistency, and texture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner with friends could not have been nicer. Max's goes the extra mile to make you feel very important and a valuable customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happy to get a table on short notice. Not the best table but the service and food were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed the evening - great food & service! A little over the top as to noise level and limited parking, but both tolerable. Will visit Max's in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Max's is always a good bet for good, higher-end meals. Went for an office Christmas party & even the pickiest eaters among us were satisfied!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

we were concerned bringing a guest since we have had some bad meals and not back for awhile, in this case the food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Max's continues to be my favorite local Bistro for lunch or dinner. Love the bright artwork and hip decor. The food is always creative and fresh. This time for lunch both of us had the Ahi Tostada's. Although they were small for an entre' portion the flavors were good and enticed us to have a dessert ( fruit pie, yum.)

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Delightfully serene atmosphere- exquisite cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We love Max's, we are always happy with the dining experience. The atmosphere is great, the food is always wonderful, always friendly service, Kelsey was our waitress this weekend and she is adorable. We love seeing JJ in the restaurant, greeting and visiting with his customers. So happy for him!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We use to love to go Max's. It was consistence. But, I don't know what happened. I had the Prawn (4) with Risotto at $30. The Risotto was uneatable. Very starchy and no flavor. When I asked to get at least some mashed potatoes to go with, I was served them cold. We had to ask to have our appetizer plates cleared, we had to ask for refills on water and there just wasn't consistent service to our table. We were very disappointed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

It was our anniversary celebration & it couldn't have been better! The food was exquisite and the presentation unique perfection! I love the way they seem to know exactly what we need & like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

I only gave it a 4 star due to the pricing. Great food but just a little pricey, but very good!

As far as the food, it was a little on the cold side, but again very good! Over all a very nice evening. Will be returning very soon. Thank You Max's.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

I brought my high school athletes for a pre race meal. They have diverse diets so we needed variety in the menu. It was perfect and delicious. Everyone got what they needed and exclaimed how delicious it was. And our waitress was adorable. She treated my teenage athletes with respect and genuine kindness. We all walked away happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Friendly people, nice surroundings, easy parking, and wonderful food.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always, wonderful food and service. Many gluten free options!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Simply Excellent. Great Food, Great Wine, Great Service. Will definitely visit again soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

We had the pan seared salmon salad. It was excellent. Salmon was cooked to perfection. Service was friendly and first class as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

First time at Max's. I had the new York steak special and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. Definitely recommend the steak. Other people to my table had salmon halibut and prawns and all said were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was great but unfortunately 2 of the 4 meals were great the other just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.