Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi
  1. Distance: 1.71mi
  2. Distance: 1.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.88mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi

About Max's Bistro & Bar

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: (559) 892-9969

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

I always get a good meal here. The food is very consistent. I had the scallops and my husband had the chicken under a brick.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Max’s has really become our go to place anytime we’re looking to treat ourselves to a good meal in Fresno. The food is consistently good without being fussy and the staff is always first rate. If we didn’t have to drive 45 min. from Hanford we’d be here a lot more often. We’ve recommended it to all our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Perfect and Tasty Food. We are always happy when we leave. Best meal in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 28, 2017

As always, superb service and very delicious entrees! You must try their signature sweet potato fries with the jalapeno arugula aioli sauce, the best sweet potato fries in California!!! Today, I had the Crab & Shrimp Cheese Melt; it was to die for! Yum!! Love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great food and wonderfully friendly service.
This was a last minute decision and they were able to accommodate our reservation very quickly.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always a great meal, and superb cocktails. Service is always 5 Star!! One of our favorite "Foodie" restaurants.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food is consistently good! Killer trio of fries and dipping sauces! Service is always spot on good too! Great atmosphere - never a thing to complain about! Great place to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent food and service as always, I'm never disappointed when o eat at Max's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Service was the best I can remember and food was as expected...awesome.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This place was worth every penny spent! Service was amazing I can't remember our waitresses name but it's the Portuguese lady she was amazing. Food was magnificent!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was delicious except for the truffle fries. They were limp and undercooked. Server exceptional. Never hurried. Highly recommend as place to dine and have conversations.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Max's is consistently great. The meatloaf and halibut steak entrees were awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants to eat. Ambiance and food is awesome. A must place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was very good. My husband had fish, I had a chicken dish. We had a very nice bottle
of wine. Our server was excellent. The seasonal tort dessert that we shared was over the top.
The ambience was so relaxed we ate and visited for about an hour and a half. This was a truly
Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent food and great service. This is the best restaurant in Fresno.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Thank you staff for making a 98th Birthday Luncheon so special! We appreciate you accommodating our personal birthday cake for our honoree. The food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always our "Go to!" for any occasion. Love the specials, which doesn't mean a "special value meal" but rather a unique chef creation to try. Fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 25, 2017

One of my favorites, always great food and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had the best server, her name was Ashton . I was having lunch with a longtime friend and we were so busy catching up it took us a while to decide on our meals. Ashton was totally understanding and encouraged us to linger and didn't rush us a bit. She made good suggestions as to meal choices. She made our lunch date perfect. She's a gem!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent service and the food is very fresh and tasty. They go out of their way to accommodate our every need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our waitress was great and attentive. They made substitutions on the menu for us to meet our needs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good foot and the ambiance was great. I love their art work and design. It has a very "not Fresno" feel, like your out of town in LA or Bay Area. However, I paid the bill and went to me car and realized I left my sunglasses on the table. When returned, the wait staff has cleared the table and they were gone. They claim they were not found on the table which unfortunately I don't believe. Someone got a nice pair of Raybans. I was disappointed and it has tainted my view of the restaurant and the service help.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food and the best staff and service in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I got the seafood special for this meal, and it was pretty good, but what I liked most was the service. I was taking a test later on in the day and my nerves were definitely getting the best of me, but my server was really sweet and reassuring. I even voiced my concerns between two dishes and she was really helpful in helping me decide one what would be most practical for keeping me fueled for my test but not bog me down mentally. Overall great service!

My meal was also pretty good. The ahi was perfectly seared and served rare. I didn't love the sauce as I would have preferred something sour like lime to cut the richness of the risotto, but the asparagus was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

we go to max's frequently for great food and service and they have never disapointed us
the food is always tasty interesting and healthy. i have a sensitive stomach and i never have any problems at max's

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Food was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great dinner with my wife and 2 kids. Food was excellent and for the children as well. Enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We were driving through while traveling and were very pleased with the menu and the attentive service at this local gem. A first class menu and wine list await...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Outstanding table service from food server to food runners. Food was excellent beginning with appetizers, strawberry spinach salad then onto Kobe meat loaf and New York Steak. A+ all the way around! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a nice dinner experience in a colorful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service and ambiance was a ten . The food was plain and lacking flavor.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Yummy food. A new favorite bottle of wine. Impeccable service. Beautiful environment. Lovely art. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Consistent from the menu to the service. More restaurants could learn from Max's.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had the halibut fish special and seared tuna, both were excellent and would order both again!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Yes always maxes is our "go to escape" at home! We can always trust that will have excellent dining in our favorite place in the corner surrounded by unique artwork. Of course the food is stellar🙂

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great dinner, and great service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fun girls night out!! Great apps. And dinner... we all shared a coupe
Of Desserts... everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.