Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Matthew's Restaurant

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (31)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived about 30 minutes before our reservation to enjoy a drink at the bar. However, it took the bartender almost 5 minutes to acknowledge us (We were literally the only two people in the room besides him) and then he didn't seem too happy & even complained out loud about having to get a bottle from a high shelf to make my husband's drink. It wasn't the way I wanted to start our anniversary evening but after that, everything was great.

Food was really delicious - fantastic quality & technique without being overdone + entree portions are very large - pleasantly surprising for fine dining. I would definitely come back for dinner but might not plan on happy hour at the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

This was an off night starting with an inattentive valet. Fois gras which is usually impeccable wasn't properly trimmed leaving some chewy stringy bits. A very raucous group of 5 came in making normal conversation difficult but can't blame the restaurant for obnoxiously loud customers. Service was also a bit off. Normally I would give this restaurant 5 stars but this time it wasn't earned.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

This is my third time at Matthews but the first one in more than a year. The two previous visits, the food was outstanding and that is why we decided to celebrate our 11 yr wedding anniversary there. We were disappointed with the food, specially the Tuna entree. It was recommended to ordered rare and I went with that suggestion but the tuna was served medium well and by the time the pour the sauce, it was well done. Also, we made reservation for 7:30 pm and we were not sited until 7:55 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Davis our server was outstanding. The entire staff was warm and welcoming from the valet to those who assisted our server. Great meal, and we will be back soon. Thanks to all who assisted on this special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was our second time at this restaurant. Good ambiance and food. Great service. Excellent bar selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Asparagus with crab starter was 5-star. Bass main was 4-star. Petit fours 3-star. Still one of two of the best fine dining experiences in the area.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Over rated and overpriced. Very limited menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Jason is fantastic!! Wonderful knowledge of wine and the menu. Can't wait to dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was by far the best dining experience that we have ever had in Jacksonville ! Everything was exquisite , from the service to the presentation . The food was amazingly diverse in selection and complexity of flavors. And our waiter was beyond wonderful . Thank you Dalvin , Perfect !!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Like always, both the service and food were impeccable. Without a doubt, the best restaurant in Jacksonville.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife and I heard of Matthews from a friend and decided to make a date night out of it. Coming from Atlantic Beach and negotiating the construction detours made for an interesting trip. However, once we arrived we settled in and enjoyed our meal. A tad far from the Beaches but worth the one time dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The fois gras appetizer is a favorite. Monday is 1/2 price bottle night for almost all of their extensive wine list. Service is impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We've gone to Matthew's many times. Not sure what has happened, but the tasting menu was pedestrian and the food poorly done. The beef tartare was uninspired. Tasted like something you could find at any mid-tier restaurant. 2nd course...Salmon was over done...the flavors overall were decent, but we could not get over the temperature of the salmon...extremely dry. Next we had a scallop that was cooked perfectly. It was certainly the highlight of the evening for us. The duck was full of flavor, but my wife had grizzle pieces in hers. She was forced to take two full bites out of her mouth. Lastly, my dessert was a toffee cake that was slightly burnt and extremely dry. Having gone here multiple times, I was extremely disappointed with the choice of food on the tasting menu. It seems to have come a long way since my last dinner a year ago. On the bright side, the service was phenomenal as usual. Attentive staff and the wine pairings were enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I were in Jacksonville for a convention and picked Matthew's for dinner one night based on Open Table. A classy top notch restaurant with excellent service and nice ambiance and definitely fit for foodies. The outstanding thing about Matthews is the different twist put on classic main courses to enhance the eating experience. As a side, their Mac and cheese is the best I have ever eaten. The grouper Seviche starter was also unique and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Jason our waiter / sommelier was amazing and made the night even more special !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Saturday, April 22 was the first visit to Matthew's Restaurant for a friend and me. It will not be my last. Everything was wonderful from the host/greeter to service by Jason and Ryan to atmosphere to food and dining experience. Chef Alex dropped by to say hi. I had the escargot with prosciutto and spinach in a sherry reduction that was to die for; lamb ribs that melted in your mouth; roasted beets and citrus that were delicious; accompanied by Argentinian Malbac; and chocolate souffle with mocha creme anglais. My friend enjoyed it as well with the Scallop and Mayport Shrimp starter, beef tenderloin with mixed vegetables, and key lime baked Alaska. Absolutely fantastic! We are both still raving about our experience. Thank you to everyone at Matthew's Restaurant for a great evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in northeast Florida. The food is superb; the service equally good. Wonderful location for a business meal with a good client or date night for that special person

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food at Matthews is always terrific. The menu seemed a little more limited this time, but still lots of good choices. The waiter, however, was not as attentive as we are used to at Matthew's.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The escargot appetizer was excellent. The soufflé is very delicious.The service is always outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I love the ambience the space provided. All the dishes I tried including the bread were spot on and made with fresh ingredients. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time ordering their Prix Fixe dinner - We ordered two different dinners & tasted each other's, of course! Soup & escargot for appetizers (soup a little too sweet, though very flavorful; the latter a tad too salty though nice blend of textures & flavors). Between the beef tips over risotto & shrimp over polenta, I preferred the shrimp. Between the chocolate soufflé & carrot cake, I'd opt for the soufflé-- moist, light, heavenly! All in all a great dinner before the symphony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

A fantastic meal, great service and the best food in Jacksonville.
We will be back soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wow! I went here for a proposal. Let's just say it could not have been a more perfect night! Sarah our server was amazing and the food was exceptional! We received a complementary tempura shrimp in a strawberry gazpacho shot and some celebratory champagne. We will be returning for our anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I'm a recent relocation to Ponte Vedra and would say that our meal at Matthews was the best we've had yet in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I've had a better steak but, overall it was quite nice.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The fois gras app was amazing as always. NY strip was huge, took 1/2 home. Monday was 1/2 price bottle night so tried one we rarely have from their impressive wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server, Pavel was attentive, helpful and charismatic. We were celebrating our anniversary and every staff member wished us a happy anniversary. The attendants made sure our waters were never empty. Our food was delicious. I ordered the duck special, my husband had the beef tenderloin, highly recommend each of these dishes. We greatly enjoyed the entire experience. When we return, and we will definitely make sure to ask for Pavel. I will note that we were a tad under dressed, I would recommend wearing a coat for the gentlemen, and a black cocktail dress for the ladies. No one, however, said anything about this, for which we were thankful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hats off to Nicholas our server and Rebecca who made our wonderful souffles! Great place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fourth time and we are done for awhile. Its such a shame with so much potential but each visit has been worse than the last. Came in prepared, knowing everything I wanted to order based on the Open Table menu and the whole thing was different. All for mixing things up and adding new seasonal features but I was disappointed. Update your menu on here. People look. I was ok though, excited to order the egg noodle only to be informed they were out. No explanation and would have been nice if they'd mentioned it when we sat down. So I ordered a steak. No exaggeration, It was so bad i didn't eat but a handful of bites. The steak wasn't seared so the fat wasn't rendered and it contained so much I legitimately struggled with my knife. Also ordered the risotto. It lacked flavor or salt. And the fingerling potatoes were cut up like baby carrots with what i think was bacon but it tasted like jam. Again all for new and creative dishes but make sure you have nailed it before you add to menu. It was just so clumsy. Husband had the halibut, said the fish was good but the rest was "meh".

Ill admit I didn't send anything back. Perhaps i should have but it was so disappointing that i just wanted to get out of there. I did however expect the when the wait staff cleared the plates and saw virtually everything untouched to be asked if there were issues but alas no.
Our waiter was friendly but always confused. Didn't appear to be new but acted awkwardly. Never did hear any specials or cocktail recommendations. That would have been nice.

Coming from a big city with so many options we thought we had stumbled onto a place that could become our "go to" restaurant on the weekends but we are moving on. Its too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food and service were excellent! I wish they had some kind of a card for the birthday celebrant although they didn't lack greeting at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with incredible food and wine! Pavel is by far the best server/sommelier we have had the pleasure of meeting! Highly recommend dining here

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always enjoy a wonderful meal! Food was fabulous. Like a 5 star New York restaurant in Jacksonville.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing dining experience. I will definitely be back for my next special occasion. It was great to get out of my comfort zone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Matthews keeps pushing the envelope and improving on what already is our favorite spot in Jacksonville. My wife and I have probably done the chefs tasting menu 20 times and this past experience was the best we've ever had. From the beef carpaccio, to the Hawaiian Tuna, to the pasta to the duck with foie gras...it was truly a special experience that we will not forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I love to try new restaurants on date nights out. Matthew’s is a small quant spot. The interior is lovely and fresh. We really enjoyed getting a peak in the kitchen. Our service was excellent but our food was just OK. Matthew’s is pricey and to just have an OK meal will not bring me back. So, overall: Matthew’s is lovely place, with great staff and a sweet and intimate feel but a little too expensive for the food output.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great Service, Elements of great food, slightly overpriced but many times you get what you pay for so even though it seems high, what you get is of good value. The quality seems to be there so that is more important to me than the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place to take your significant other. Great food and also a great service. I would come here again and recommend this place to my peers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were quite impressed with the overall expierence. It was our first. visit and whenever in town we will go back. Worth the visi

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A chef who understands how to blend flavors and textures to deliver an incredible meal OMG- Monday is half-price wine and the list is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The meal and the service were both great. The cocktail menu was a little disappointing. None of the specialty cocktails looked appealing on this trip. They also handed a cocktail menu that advertised Happy Hour, but then as you read through at the bottom it is listed that Happy Hour is only for the lounge area. Fair warning if you move the 2 feet from the lounge to the dining area your house wine goes from $5 to $12. When the bill came we tried to pay with a gift card and were told we could not pay with a gift card because we had a discount on our bill and both were considered "promotions" so we would have to save it for another trip. They then informed us that was good news because we could now come back. Overall it was a nice experience, but they are pretty cheap when it comes to payment. First place I have ever seen would not allow you to use a gift card as a form of payment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.