About Matthew's Restaurant

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Romantic (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I love to try new restaurants on date nights out. Matthew’s is a small quant spot. The interior is lovely and fresh. We really enjoyed getting a peak in the kitchen. Our service was excellent but our food was just OK. Matthew’s is pricey and to just have an OK meal will not bring me back. So, overall: Matthew’s is lovely place, with great staff and a sweet and intimate feel but a little too expensive for the food output.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Service, Elements of great food, slightly overpriced but many times you get what you pay for so even though it seems high, what you get is of good value. The quality seems to be there so that is more important to me than the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to take your significant other. Great food and also a great service. I would come here again and recommend this place to my peers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were quite impressed with the overall expierence. It was our first. visit and whenever in town we will go back. Worth the visi

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A chef who understands how to blend flavors and textures to deliver an incredible meal OMG- Monday is half-price wine and the list is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The meal and the service were both great. The cocktail menu was a little disappointing. None of the specialty cocktails looked appealing on this trip. They also handed a cocktail menu that advertised Happy Hour, but then as you read through at the bottom it is listed that Happy Hour is only for the lounge area. Fair warning if you move the 2 feet from the lounge to the dining area your house wine goes from $5 to $12. When the bill came we tried to pay with a gift card and were told we could not pay with a gift card because we had a discount on our bill and both were considered "promotions" so we would have to save it for another trip. They then informed us that was good news because we could now come back. Overall it was a nice experience, but they are pretty cheap when it comes to payment. First place I have ever seen would not allow you to use a gift card as a form of payment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always an excellent meal with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The bartender,waiter and the wine guy were very helpful and friendly during our meal. The food was prepared well and it was tasty. I would return again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As always, Matthew's did not disappoint. The food and the experience was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 30, 2017

As always our food was magnificent...We had Sea scallops and the Halibut and everything was perfect thanks!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding evening. David did an excellent job, as did his support staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Truly a wonderful experience. Staff knowledgeable and very friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Probably the classiest restaurant in the area.

Some items are very good, and some aren't, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Outstanding dinner, service. The service was excellent, the food sublime.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We have been freqenting Matthews since 2,000 and ithas mostly met our expectations. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

What a great dinner! Everything from the bread to dessert was fantastic. I had the pork chop and it was excellent. My wife had the beef tenderloin and that was great as well. No complaints about anything with this meal!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was very well prepared and seasoned perfectly. It was delicious. The service from all the waiters was wonderful. They all were very attentive. My companion and I had a pleasurable experience and look forward to coming again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere. Brian at the bar made the best Mexican Mule. Our waiter, Nick was attentive but courteous because we were on a date. The food was excellent. Best escargot! KC strip was perfectly cooked. Lamb fell off the bone. Mac and cheese was to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food and service always top notch at Matthews. One of the best dining experiences in North Florida.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent service and the food was fresh and seasoned .

Birthday celebration with a creative birthday dessert.

Looking forward to another great dining experience at Matthew's soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always an excellent meal, excellent service and outstanding overall experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Modern Decor, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were outstanding. Would highly recommend Matthews for any special occasion. My wife, a vegetarian, was extremely pleased with the dish prepared for her by the chef.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent! Looking forward to heading back next time we are in town. Delicious!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was a pre-symphony dinner with three friends. One guest was visiting from out-of-town and we had hoped to treat her to a very special meal. Unfortunately we experienced Matthew's biggest problem--it is inconsistent. On my last visit a couple of months ago the meal was wonderful with great service. This visit both the food and the service were missing. This was the kind of visit that keeps me away from Matthew's for an extended period. Usually when I return food and service are again superior but why is there so much inconsistency?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent Restaurant all around. We went on New Year's Eve so it was loud which I'm sure isn't always the case. Highly recommend and I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our NYE experience was amazing! Food was phenomenal and service was perfect! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a NYE date with the wife. Another impeccable experience at Matthew's - service, food, and dining room ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was as good as I expected. Well worth every dime. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A truly fine restaurant in the Jacksonville area. I don't think there is one better. Excellent wine list also.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our waiter seemed to be inexperienced. He did everything properly however awkwardly. Our waiter reciting each dish as it is presented requires that he knows each dish rote. He didn't. Frankly, I wouldn't care if it wasn't done at all but, if he's going to do it he'd better do it like an expert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It's been a 50/50 shot when we have been to Matthews. The intent is there and the service staff is always polite but something seems to be amiss. The food is a little too over-complicated and loses its appeal and they have a tendency to do special limited menus frequently for holidays which always stinks because if you have a favorite you can be sure it won't be on the menu.

Prices are reasonable for a clean, quiet environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exceptional service. Amazing food. Sarah was incredibly gracious in making sure that every detail of our special night was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I recommend the duck breast with a side of green beans and a glass of Chenin Blanc. For dessert, splurge on the soufflé of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our expectations were high. Unfortunately they were not met. The service was excellent. The food was unique, but not great. My wife chose the Maine scallops and I had the gray grouper francaise. Her scallops were cold. My grouper had a strong fish taste that is not commonly present in a grouper preparation. If the food had been more to our liking the price would have been in the ball park. In this case I do not feel we received a good value.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great place for drinks. Unique cocktails, however, I think they could do better at promoting drinks or making custom drinks. Food great but pricey! Atmosphere wonderful and good parking options for the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Limited menu. Had to ask for wine refill from our bottle and for utensils for our dessert. Trying too hard to be trendy with the menu, and the quality of the food suffers. We have been to Matthews many times and considered it to be our special occasion restaurant. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Simply the best restaurant in Jacksonville. The cuisine is always creative, and the service impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I took a friend to Matthews for his first time. He was so looking forward to the steak.

It was twenty minutes before our meal arrived, not a problem, when my friends meal arrived, along with ours, the steak was cold.

Now the steak had to be done over while the three of us slowly eat.

My friend said that the steak was very good when it arrived the second time, maybe ten minutes later.

The wait staff was unhappy with what had happened and apologized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The grouper and Japanese Sea Bass were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great meal

Francaise was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had dinner at Matthew's prior to heading the Theater Jacksonville for a play we we were there very early -- at 5:30. Not surprisingly, there were only a few other people in the dining room and the service was outstanding as usual. We noticed that the prices had gone up in the past year, typical for many restaurants in the area. Almost all entrees exceed $30 and sides are extra. So, my husband and I each ordered a side as an appetizer. The portions of the roasted beets and the Asian green beans were generous and both were delicious. This was a good way to get our veggies since we ordered pasta as our entrees. Our waiter indicated that we could have an entree portion for $6 more but we opted for the menu portion so that there might be room for dessert. My husband's seafood pasta was outstanding, with several large shrimp and other pieces of seafood along with rigatoni -- a decent sized portion. My tortolloni (with duck) pasta was equally delicious but was a very paltry portion for $20 -- no matter how excellent the ingredients were. We split the sorbet/gelato trio for dessert choosing the Asian 5-spice gelato, the currant sorbet, and the grape sorbet. This was a light and refreshing note to end a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Matthews is our favorite restaurant in Jacksonville, but our experience this evening was not up to its usual high standards. Despite making reservations, it took a while to be greeted, sat, and then acknowledged. Our server was very gracious and gave us champagne for the wait, but the rest of the meal seemed rushed and not timed in the way we have come accustomed to at Matthews. The dinners were not split, the dishes came out on top of one another, and we were disappointed for the first time at this amazing restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Some of our party needed food prepared in a specific way which can't always be accommodated so is understandable. The server tried to communicate to the chef on what wouldn't be acceptable and came back to our table several times with "sorry the chef just realized you can't have that item either". In the end a mixed green salad was the only option on the menu she could have which was unfortunate.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely dinner with friends. We each had a different appetizer (nice selection including pate, fois gras, steak tartar, etc) that were delicious and well-presented. Entrees were delicious and filling. Nice wine selection. Dessert souffle was okay -- probably would have been better had we not been rushed (hence the 4 vs 5 star on service).

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always look forward to Matthews visits. One of three places in town that serve seared Foie Gras and the presentation is the best. little to no deviation since 2001, and it still works. (a classic when pared with an older sauterne) on top of that the serving size has been quite generous the last two times we have gone, and I like that...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday, because we heard they had good lamb shank, though I wasn't excited about the other menu choices. Somehow, by 7:30pm on a slow night they were sold out of the lamb shank.

Waiter was pretentious, " I am Jason your main waiter ". Mainly meant one waiter with a helper for 8 tables, very little attention and an hour and a half before we got our main course.

Food was average, but the pork chop was excellent.

The 17$ stuffed squid appetizer was quite a rip. About the size of your thumb ( no hand size jokes ) and not as good as the stuffed squid on a stick street food we buy in Manila for a buck.

Beet sides were especially bad as they were chilled to near freezing temperature.

The free birthday desert was so small my wife was embarrassed to post it on Facebook.

We won't be back Matt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent dining experience from cocktails to food and wine. Nice menu selections and creativity. Great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

High on prices, not on taste. Like they are trying too hard to impress you with a big total bill, but not much better then any other middle of the road restaurant. If we remove the prices from the equation then the portion sizes need to be looked at. My desert was super tiny. For $11 I felt like I was left asking why not give me a full serving of desert. Yes, it was yummy, but was 4 bites big, smores left me wanting mores.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Matthews is a very professional and polished restaurant. Two members of our party had the duck and raved about it. Another had the "francaise du jour" which was grouper and was very pleased. I had the 21 day aged steak and found it fairly grisly, and not up to many other aged steaks I've had. The flavor was also not quite where I would have expected it. The service was excellent. I would certainly return, but would try something other than the steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.