Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Matthew's Restaurant

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
1197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and atmosphere! Chefs table is the best seat in the place! My very favorite restaurant by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went for my husband's birthday, tried the adventure chef menu. Great dishes! Loved the special perks. Pricey but worthit

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This meal was truly a delight from start to finish! Matthew's takes care in ensuring every desire is met. Our waiter was knowledgeable and kind. The staff took such attention to deal. The tasting menu is out of this world! We cannot wait to celebrate our next occasion at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food overall, I got to try escargot and it was excellent, the fresh bread being served was a great compliment to the starter. Maine diver scallops were great as well, the corn puree was amazing with the blueberries. The souffle was great, however the order was not sent to the kitchen with the meal so we had to wait a little longer. The only thing that was really missing from the evening was the atmosphere in the dining room, it seemed a bit dated.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent!
We go to Matthew's for special occasions and we are never disappointed. Our waiter, Sara, was lovely (as she always is). We started with a nice dry glass of champagne with a salmon appetizer and shared a salad. Both were so tasty. The split salad was a huge portion that I thought Sara had given us each our own full salad. We had a french pinot noir that was recommended by the Sommelier. He did not steer us wrong! I had a fish dish that was fantastic! It was a white flakey fish called fluke. The preparation was like nothing I had had before. My husband had the filet. He loved it. Perfectly cooked! We did not order dessert because my husband had 2 cakes during the day at work but they gave us a delicious birthday dessert anyway! Can't wait to return to Matthew's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service was exceptional and exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Everything was perfect. Took a friend who'd never been there. Fois gras was plate licking good although I refrained and used bread to get every bit of sauce. Scallop entree with a side of brussel sprouts also perfectly prepared.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent. Never disappointed at Matthews. Food and service top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Truly excellent service and really nice, quiet ambiance. The entrees are a bit expensive for what they are and a little uneven - my pasta with salmon was lovely, while my husband's veal scallopine was tough, very disappointing. The short rib entree was exactly that - one short rib on a bed of risotto. I'm not a big meat eater, but for those that are I imagine they might be underwhelmed with that as as a $30+ entree. The escargot was delicious as a starter, and the creme caramel for dessert (with blueberry sherbet! Inspired!) was a delight. Next time we go I think we'll order the tasting menu to ensure we try the chef's favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Anniversary dinner. David, who had been our server before, made us feel very welcome and added to the celebration with great service. The only negative was that the short rib special, though tasty, had a large amount of fat and since it wasn't a sizable piece to start with, left my husband wanting more than he had left. It is our go to place for special occasions and we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a treat to go to Matthews. High level of service and outstanding food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Enjoyed the eggplant burrata appetizer as well as the mussels and shrimp appetizer. We had the potato crusted fish which was delicious and the orange mariner soufflé was oustanding! The service was very attentive and had a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Anniversary dinner, the ambiance, wait staff and food were phenomenal. Everything about the evening was magical.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was a very lovely experience and the service and food was impeccable.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The experience was great. I had the radiator I pasta. The waiter recommended adding a meatball and it was excellent. Great atmosphere. Love the place.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food and service is at the top of any restaurant in Jacksonville. Great wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went for my birthday. The food was amazing, especially the beef tartare appetizer. I had the new fresh fish dish, which was a potato wrapped fluke, it was outstanding. The restaurant does well when you're celebrating, always a complimentary dessert platter and champagne for toasting. I will always recommend Matthew's for a beautiful night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Expensive, but you get what you pay for. We've been many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Matthew's has never disappointed me over the years. Dalvin is my favorite server, but tonight's server, David, did a fine job too. The food is Michelin Star consistent, as is the artistry with which eat plate is created. Salmon bucatini for my wife and the pork blade chop for me tonight, both cooked perfectly. The citris souffle with lavender creme anglaise was a perfect desert to share after a big meal. Matthew's is as close to European dining as you can get without being in Europe. Try it. You won't be disappointed either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Expertly prepared food and attentive service. Great place for a date ora celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent service [as always...], great food, perfect ambience for a special dinner date [35th anniversary]

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We went to celebrate our 19th anniversary and it was outstanding. We were greeted with complimentary champagne and given a lovely corner booth. The service was impeccable as was the meal. First time we've tried wagyu beef and it will not be the last! Overall a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Just like their sister restaurant Medure, this is a great place for special occasions. The wait staff is excellent with extensive knowledge of the menu items and the wine list. The two of us split three appetizers and a dessert accompanied by a bottle of wine for. We were able to taste a variety really unique flavorful items over a leisurely hour and half dinner. The setting is quiet and elegant so you can have a conversation with your partner. Highly recommend Matthew's.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

30th Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had such a great time, great service and a wonderful food experience tonight. The salmon special was delicious, and my husband loved his pork chop. Our dessert was not at all what I expected, but it was delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

So much enjoyed the food and service. The escargot are a must.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Matthew's has been on the Jacksonville scene for many years. It has always been good but still had some inconsistancies . Lately it has been right on target , in food ,presentation and service.The menu remains interesting although I would like to see more frequent additions.Our server ,Pavel,has been outstanding , and I am confidant he will advance in the food industry.They are not afraid to make adjustments in the evenings offerings to meet the needs of their customer. Matthew and his brother deserve our thanks for maintaining high end dining establishments in Jacksonville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent meal but would aopreciatie some variation on future menus. It has not changed in some time and probably limits my visit given the concern of having the same meal frequently.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Best place in Jax for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We went for my 59th birthday. Our waitperson, Sarah, was as amazing as ever. There's a reason we go for most special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic. Must be the top 1 or 2 best meals in Jacksonville

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great service and food. We we're there for our anniversary and our server was wonderful as was our meal. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Still our favorite date night spot in Jacksonville. The best cuisine and wine pairings around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Another fine dinner at Matthew's. This restaurant continues to be a strong candidate for best "fine dining" restaurant in Jacksonville. Our skillful waiter steered us to the escargot starter, and we took his recommendation even though we typically do not order escargot. We were rewarded with a sublime combination of escargot (out of the shell), combined with shiitake mushrooms, spinach, prosciutto and a creamy broth; delicious. The "polenta cake" starter was another dish that provided unexpected pleasure; definitely worth ordering again. The scallop and Mayport shrimp starter was another winner, although it did not rank as highly as the previously mentioned dishes because the grilled shrimp were just a little tougher than ideal, but the huge scallop was super fresh, sweet, and the best scallop we have tasted in a long while (and we order scallops frequently). The Hawaiian Tuna entree was notable for its extremely high quality tuna, served very rare. Our waiter also recommended the shoyu green beans as a side dish, and they were so good that we ordered another serving to take home with us. Even the decaf coffee was good (brewed in a French press). This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but prices compare very favorably to other high end establishments. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We arrived about 30 minutes before our reservation to enjoy a drink at the bar. However, it took the bartender almost 5 minutes to acknowledge us (We were literally the only two people in the room besides him) and then he didn't seem too happy & even complained out loud about having to get a bottle from a high shelf to make my husband's drink. It wasn't the way I wanted to start our anniversary evening but after that, everything was great.

Food was really delicious - fantastic quality & technique without being overdone + entree portions are very large - pleasantly surprising for fine dining. I would definitely come back for dinner but might not plan on happy hour at the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was an off night starting with an inattentive valet. Fois gras which is usually impeccable wasn't properly trimmed leaving some chewy stringy bits. A very raucous group of 5 came in making normal conversation difficult but can't blame the restaurant for obnoxiously loud customers. Service was also a bit off. Normally I would give this restaurant 5 stars but this time it wasn't earned.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is my third time at Matthews but the first one in more than a year. The two previous visits, the food was outstanding and that is why we decided to celebrate our 11 yr wedding anniversary there. We were disappointed with the food, specially the Tuna entree. It was recommended to ordered rare and I went with that suggestion but the tuna was served medium well and by the time the pour the sauce, it was well done. Also, we made reservation for 7:30 pm and we were not sited until 7:55 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Davis our server was outstanding. The entire staff was warm and welcoming from the valet to those who assisted our server. Great meal, and we will be back soon. Thanks to all who assisted on this special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.