Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Gabriela Vielmas: (760) 776-6777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Birthdays (33)
See All
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Live Music (31)
Bar Seating (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (15)
People Watching (14)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

They were very accommodating when we wanted to sit at another table. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu, and was gracious enough to bring out more of their AMAZING pretzel roll.
The seafood tower was to die for. The filet and lobster combo was enough for two people to share. I can't say enough about their twice bake potato.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

We had Wonderful service & made my friends birthday very special!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Live music too loud for dinner conversation but the food is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

2nd visit to the Desert, but first visit to Mastro's after reading the reviews. The atmosphere was surreal-great decor, fabulous wine displays, and the food was reasonably priced for the delectable menu. My wife had the special prix fixe menu which include crab cake appetizer, cream corn, filet migon, and the famous butter cake with ice cream and whipped cream. I had the rack of lamb-2 large racks of 4 chips each-cooked to medium rare exactly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

we found the drinks and appetizers to be outstanding. However, the steaks were burned (not just charred) and one was overcooked as well. The "twice baked potato" was nothing more than a giant overcooked potato skin with cheese. The famous warm butter cake, was not warm and was disappointing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We didn't even take our food home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Marco & his staff were Outstanding as usual. Great Food & Great Service. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Steaks were great but the appetizers were soso. We ordered oyster Rockefeller and the French onion soup and both were disappointing. We had better ones in a lot of other restaurants.
We sat in the area behind the bar area and it was far too noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Beautiful location, great service, and spectacular food. And, the live band was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had a nice dinner the only Things was the steak and the tail lobster was cold

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Poor service, we had to pay $35 corkage for each bottle of wine and then poor most of it ourselves. The martini came and and specs in it so had to be remade, then they tried to charge us for 2 martinis. I ordered my steak medium rare and it came rare. They tell you this junk about what medium rare means, but all chefs know that medium rare is 135 degrees. I was probably generous giving them 3 starts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went to Mastro's while on vacation in Palm Springs. It was my first time at a Mastro's. We got to the restaurant early to get drinks at the bar before dinner. I had the best Mojito I have ever had! We were very pleased with the quality of food...our food was served piping hot....which is a rarity these days. Usually food is room temp by the time it gets to the table. The service at the bar and table was great. Mastro's delivers on great steaks and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great evening. Service was great we loved Amy!! Food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

As always the food and service was excellent! A must for anyone who loves great food in a great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Our server and the front of the house staff were over the top excellent! Nice live music in the bar area that we could also hear and enjoy from the side dining room. They were having a summer set menu promotion and that was a very good value. The pork chop is a hidden secret - best we have ever had! I wasn't very impressed with the side dishes, especially the creamed corn. I was expecting something like Flemmings creamed corn and this wasn't even close; lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Noe Maldonado is a terrific manager. Please make sure to say hi to him when you stop by!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great time celebrating our 10th year wedding anniversary here! The staff was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Phenomenal service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great place!! We celebrated a birthday and the service was over the top .The food was delicious!!! The Steak was excellent and melted in my mouth along with the potatoes with lobster!! We sat in the bar and listened to music while eating dinner. Thank you for making my boyfriend birthday special!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As steak houses go, I'm sure that Mastro's is among the very best of its class. I like steak and cook it at home frequently. I buy prime beef and carve whole sides of rib eye into 24 oz. portions and freeze them with a vacuum pack food-saver. My cost is about $16/lb. for my efforts. I can't recall the last time I went out for steak -- and at high end steakhouse prices, I doubt I'll be doing it again for the foreseeable future.

The food and service was certainly excellent; I had a lobster bisque that must have had a half cup of heavy cream and large pieces of lobster. My wife had the French onion soup whose stock was a work of art. Our two steaks (the 12 oz. bone in fillet and the 24 oz. rib eye) were just north of $60 each. Yes, prime wet aged beef is expensive, but this was breathtaking. I'm still recovering from my wife's $20 Bombay martini.

We are members of a local wine club that allows us to bring our own wine without corkage to some 3 dozen restaurants in our area (Mastro's included), so our total bill with tax & tip was $240. You be the judge of whether that's a good value. For my money -- anything north of $200 on dinner for 2, I'll always choose more creative food that I don't cook at home.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This was the second year I celebrated my birthday at Mastro's. Service was fantastic. Servers all had smiles and made sure all our needs were met. Love the band also. Felt like not only celebrating birthday but received a free concert also.
Great job. Enjoyed and will be back.
Great food from pretzel rolls all the way to butter cake dessert.
Thanks again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Came for babes birthday dinner. We went all out and was completely worth every dollar. Kristi was our server and she was amazing. Really knew her stuff and made great suggestions. She made the experience that much better. Babe enjoyed his birthday and all the special treatment that night. Will be back in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I really enjoyed our dinner, the service was great, the food was amazing, but I was there to celebrate my husbands dinner/anniversary, and was extremely disappointed when a party of 15-20 people sat right next to us, they were SO LOUD, it was so hard to enjoy the moment. I was disappointed that Mastros wouldn't take that kind of consideration. most people make reservations, maybe you should seat small parties away from BIG parties or small parties in a different t room from big parties. I hope to be back maybe next year with a different seating accommodation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 16, 2017

My husband and I came to dinner on a mini getaway. We forgot to bring dress clothes and they did not mind at all. They also did not treat us like children like a lot of restaurants do for young couples. It was a delicious meal with excellent service. Make sure you save room for dessert!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best restaurant in valley !! Needs a minor dress code. Needs a eariy time frame for guests under 16 years of age !!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best steak I've ever had, butter cake was crazy good too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant had a 3% surcharge that was not disclosed at anytime until we looked at the check. The double cut pork chop was dry and our server served bottled water and no one at our table requested it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was my 1st time eating here and it was excellent. I have always been a big Ruth's Chris fan and I have never been able to find a steakhouse that even compares, until Mastro's. From their Caesar salad, to the side dishes, to the steak and all the way to the creme brulee I had for desert was outstanding. Definitely not cheap, but worth every penny. I will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was excellent, as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The usual good food and great service. We enjoy going to Mastro's knowing it's going to be a wonderful dining experience. Lots of food cooked perfectly. The Palm Desert location is our favorite.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Recently celebrated an anniversary at this location, and it seemed that everyone from the restaurant acknowledge that fact. The food was excellent, service was unquestionable, and the attention to detail that ALL staff members showed ALL diners was extraordinary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The service was top notch, the food was some of the best I've ever eaten A great place to celebrate a special occasion. we will return

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Normally we have a great experience and meal here, but this dinner was far from it. Our table was for 7, we were sat at a beautifully clothed fold up round table that myself and my dinner mates kept hitting our knees on and knocking the table. TERRIBLE! The food wasn't it normal amazing meal. The appetizers were great, but the main steaks just didn't taste good at all. The server was really nice, but sucked. Forgot to put our salads in (he didn't charge us for them!) and was slow to check on us and bring drinks. I left unsatisfied and with a bruised knee. Our meal with tip was just under $1000.00, with a great bottle of wine. Wasn't worth it and I don't think we will be going back to this location. Sad! We've had many great memories there.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Mastro's never disappoints! Excellent menu and consistently great experience. Does not disappoint!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have been coming here for years and this last dinner, my steak was the best I have ever had there. The seasoning and preparation was spot on and I was truly impressed. Hats off to Rebecca the GM, Marco another manager and the new Executive Chef Gene who I just met for making my buddy and I feel like honored guests. You will see me again soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Our special occasion being our anniversary was a consistent message and theme with their staff throughout the evening.

For example, the hostess greeted us for our special occasion prior to taking us to our table. Numerous other nice touches was performed such as a white envelope with our handwritten names on it waiting for us at the table that had a personally written congratulations note, complimentary desert with Anniversary written elegantly on the plate, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

An off night- my first time dining in the dining room.

Three ladies at Front desk did not seem very organized/or maybe they were training a newbie. (?)

Our waitress was not great in the attention to detail or service. ( I have high expectations for $$$$ places) Drinks arrived right away, yay. We were last to receive the promised bread basket (asked for it 3 times) waiting 20 mins..Manager came over and finally made it happen just as our meal arrived. Food was amazing and prepared perfect. My friends birthday celebration was a bust when they delivered the birthday dessert and candle with another persons name in the design-oops. A good laugh and seemed par for the night.

I will go back enjoy the live music and food in the bar nextime.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.