About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : (760) 776-6777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for a Date (48)
Live Music (45)
See All
Notable Wine List (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Hot Spot (32)
Bar Seating (32)
Romantic (31)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (26)
Good for Groups (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
People Watching (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Private Room (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Dancing (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Sports (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Only reason we went was that a friend ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Only reason we went was that a friend had sent me a Gift Card for the restaurant. I expected the negatives that I indicated above in my ratings and was not disappointed. The place is over rated and terribly over priced. Live and learn whether it's someone else's money or my own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Mastros is Great place. Service is alwa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Mastros is Great place.

Service is always great.

Food is exceptional

Great wine list and drinks.

Piano music in the bar area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at this locatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time at this location and unfortunately we won't be going back. The food and service were fine, but the noise level was unacceptable. It's not a very big restaurant and on the night we were there they had a piano player with a singer. The noise could be heard throughout the restaurant and was so loud I couldn't hear our waitress or have a conversation with my wife.

I understand that it was Saturday night and live music is expected, however, I felt like the ambiance was more like a bar or nightclub rather than an expensive restaurant.

My wife and I spent the weekend in Palm Springs and wanted a romantic dinner. I spent $200 on dinner and 2 drinks, which I'm fine with, but I expect the experience to equal the cost. I could have had the same experience at a local casino night club. Very disappointed in Mastro's and will have to find a new restaurant while visiting the desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

All was fantastic, but the noise level w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

All was fantastic, but the noise level was too high...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Went to celebrate my Dad's birthday. Foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Went to celebrate my Dad's birthday. Food was great. Energy was good. Service was a well-oiled machine. Downfalls: It was too loud to hear conversation as the night progressed. There was a mistake made on my drink (alcohol in a non-alcoholic drink) and we found after we left that we were charged for an appetizer we never received.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service was great

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu has so many great options. We ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu has so many great options. We opted for salads and seafood appetizers along with one steak split between 3 of us, which was more than enough (the kitchen had it sliced and served on a hot plate). The drinks are very generous and presented in a nice manner. The service staff were friendly and professional. Fun people watching if you are seated in the bar area. There's live music and dancing every night.

Tags: People Watching, Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome steakhouse … a few great fish se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome steakhouse … a few great fish selections too (although could be more fish selections like some of their other restaurants. Side dishes are AWESOME… don’t miss the mac & cheese or gnocchi (one or the other, both super rich). Great vegetable dishes too - and deserts over the top … totally worth saving some room for. We try to split an entree, which is plenty with salad and sides .. IF you want to get to desert ….

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still my favorite restaurant. I make it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Still my favorite restaurant. I make it here every time I'm in the desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall service was great!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed dining at Mastro's in ot ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We have enjoyed dining at Mastro's in other cities, so we decided to try it in Palm Desert. As anticipated, we were treated very professionally, seated quickly, a beautiful bread basket arrived and within minutes a fantastic Sauvignon Blanc by the glass was placed before me. I had a delicious lobster bisque followed by a crisp house salad. My husband ordered a ribeye cooked to perfection, medium rare. I wasn't hungry enough for an entrée, but I enjoyed the first two courses immensely. Our server was prompt and professional, and the food arrived in a timely fashion. The next day, I received a telephone message from one of the hostesses thanking us for coming to Mastro's and looking forward to seeing us again. No other restaurant has ever done a follow up call, I thought that was extra special!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service and food were impeccable! Th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The service and food were impeccable! The quantities are huge, even when sharing. The Lemon Drop martini over the dry ice, was the coolest drip I have ever had. Mastro's is pricy, but great for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the steak itself was exceptional t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

While the steak itself was exceptional the balance of the meal was not. However the real problem was that they packed people in to maximize sales and minimize ambience. We had people bumping into each other. Chairs being carried over our heads to set new tables and overall a poor experience due solely to management decisions on how many tables they would sit. The staff tried but it was not enough. When you are going to charge premium prices for food you have to include a premium experience. Mastro's does not provide an experience equal to the price they charge nor to that which they hold themselves out as offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Extremely disappointed in the final even ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Extremely disappointed in the final evening dessert. We came to celebrate Valentines day and along with that special event, it was out 30th anniversary of our engagement. Love the food and ambiance and was really looking forward to the famous butter cake dessert. To our disappointment, it arrived quickly and was cold. Not at all how it is normally served. Normally it is served hot with a crispness to the outside edges of the cake and like buttery melt in your mouth center. Ours cam cold and hard. This desert is what we were so looking forward to the end of our evening dinner. Normally I never make a bad comment but this was a huge disappointment to our beautiful celebration. We went elsewhere for a wonderful dessert as they were trying to move along tables. Very sad!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The tables were packed in, people kept r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The tables were packed in, people kept running into us. We were rushed through our meals, yet at one point we had dirty plates in front of us for 15 minutes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

This was our date for Valentine's Day. T ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our date for Valentine's Day. The food was very good and plenty of it. The side dishes were enough for two. It is a bit noisy particularly in the bar area where many people are seated for dinner. It is pricey but fine for a special day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there with 500 other people to c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there with 500 other people to celebrate Valentines day. You could tell they brought in extra tables and chairs to put together more seating for that evening. The tabletop was not screwed down to the table base tight enough, and the table wobbled every time we leaned against or touched the table. Made for an interesting night trying to keep the wine from spilling ! The tables were pushed so close together that you could hear the table next to us whispering. The lobster mashed potatoes were phenomenal and would highly recommend them! My New York steak was just average, and not as flavorful as other good steak houses like Morton's or LG's. Overall, there are several better options for steak in the desert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Really nice time with great food wonderf ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really nice time with great food wonderful music and joyful service.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was excellent as noted ab ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our experience was excellent as noted above. We had a corner table at the rear of the quiet room. Our server was Melissa and she was perfect, very pleasant and giving us exactly the right amount of attention. The rest of her team were unobtrusive and very efficient. it was just the evening we had hoped for

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love mastros!! My only issue this vi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love mastros!! My only issue this visit was our very annoying neighboring tables. My husband and I couldn't wait to get out of there as one guy complained the whole time about how big the portions are and the other lady was a vegetarian. What are you doing at a steak house?!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I've been to 3 other locations (Beverly ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I've been to 3 other locations (Beverly Hills, Costa Mesa and Chicago) and this is our favorite location with attentive staff and impeccable service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ladies at the front were really rude ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The ladies at the front were really rude. We arrived very early for our reservation and asked if they could squeeze us in early, or at least put us on a waiting list but they refused. I then went on to Open Table and found a spot available in 5 minutes, booked it and then they had to seat us. Yikes.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

We are huge fans of Mastro's, that is wh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We are huge fans of Mastro's, that is why we were so extremely disappointed in our service here. We felt rushed from the second we were seated. The server dropped a spoonful of mashed potatoes on my purse, promised to come back with a wet cloth, never did. Ordered my steak medium, was served rare, actually raw. By the time I got it back, my husband was nearly finished with his meal. Never apologized, no discount, no comp, no nothing. Didn't even come back to the table until we got the bill. Oh, and by the way.. if you say yes to the truffle butter, it's a $15 up charge per plate. They may fail to mention that up front. Not a big deal, but still worth the mention. Asked for the remaining portions of our meals to go and only received half of it. Just an all around poor experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

I was a little disappointed in our visit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was a little disappointed in our visit this time. For having visited this location about 10 times, this particular time was kind of underwhelming. First off, when I made our reservation through OpenTable, I specified that we would have 2 babies with our party and as such, requested a table in the bar area (louder, would give us the ability to stand/hold them if we needed to). When we arrived, they had not read the note and had our party designated to be seated at a table in the back room (not bar) with absolutely NO room for 2 babies in car seats. To be honest, the hostess should have realized that when 4 adults walked in with 2 car seats, but I'll cut her some slack. When we saw the table and told her that that particular table wouldn't work for us, she made it seem like a hassle to find us another table, but finally did in one of the front rooms (again, not the bar, as requested). Our server was not the friendliest, which I've never encountered at ANY Mastro's location. I don't know if he just wasn't stoked to serve a table with 2 babies (who, for the record, did not make a single peep over the course of our 2-hour meal), but he definitely wasn't of the caliber that I generally associate with Mastro's. Our steak was well overcooked (my husband and I always order rare plus and split a large filet so that we have a fully unseared side to our steak), as they had either cut the meat prior to cooking, or had let the inner portion fall onto the hot plate, which cooked it. I would say by the time my meat got to me, it was about medium, not even medium rare. I can only imagine because they had me seated in a really difficult location, I was also served (and I'm not joking) 3 halves of brussel sprouts and one tiny spoonful of mashed potatoes that could maybe be considered two bites, while everyone else at the table was served normal-sized portions. WTF?! Don't put me at a crappy table AND not give me enough food! At least the butter cake was still good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, People Watching, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The best steaks in the desert. Not the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best steaks in the desert. Not the cheapest, but clearly the best. Service is impeccable and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was very good. It was our first e ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dinner was very good. It was our first experience and wasn't clear when I made reservation that we would be in the lounge. A great place for drinks but not where you want a romantic evening with your husband. I will make sure to get into the dining room for dinner and maybe after dinner drinks in the lounge. Music every night is nice.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, service and ambiance! Mu ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance! Musicians are amazing. Ask for Server, Rose. She's fantastic!

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit. We had except ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is our second visit. We had exceptional service. The food was delicious. Loved the warm butter cake for dessert. One issue is the noise with the band. We asked to be moved to a quieter location as we were in a room where the band was too loud to talk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff at MASTRO'S are awesome. Great ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The staff at MASTRO'S are awesome. Great food , music and service.

A great special occasion restaurant. Enjoy

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were exceptional. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. The only flaw was that it is quite loud, but when compared to everything else, it is a very small issue. From Melissa our server, Hector our buster, Charles our food runner, Noe the manager and the incredible food....my girlfriends birthday was perfect. Thank you all.

Michael

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my mother here for her 87th birt ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We took my mother here for her 87th birthday. Everyone went out of their way to make her feel special. They had a card waiting and she got a yummy cake for desert!

The food was terrific and our server was great. The food was delicious. It was a little noisy for my dad but the live music was incredible!!! Really crowded bar scene. A lot of fun! Thank you!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the food! It is always excellent! ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love the food! It is always excellent! I was put off by our server who seemed not as attentive as I expected for this restaurant. I would definitely return but I would not be his area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We have dined at Mastros many times over ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have dined at Mastros many times over the past several years and have always had great service. It was very disappointing this time. We felt ignored and waited almost an hour just for bread and our wine glasses were empty for quite a while before the waitress even came back to see if we wanted more wine, and this was before dinner. We brought a friend and we were very disappointed with the lack of service. The food was exceptional as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Had much better service than the Mastro' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had much better service than the Mastro's in Malibu, food was excellient

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was delicious but make sure they g ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Steak was delicious but make sure they give you the bone in your doggie bag if your steak came with one!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Had an amazing time! Celebrating my son' ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Had an amazing time! Celebrating my son's 6th birthday and the staff went all out for him including the lounge singer who did 2 songs for him!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My most favorite place in PS area! Food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My most favorite place in PS area!

Food is delicious! Service is wonderful! People - friendly! Love The Troubles Band as well, wish they would have permanent residence :-))) at Mastro's

Tags: Live Music, , Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great ! This was my first Ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Service was great ! This was my first Mastro's experience. Food was perfection. And the live music was on point. Anthony and Aisha are awesome.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and everything wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was very good and everything was prepared perfectly. The staff was very professional and the service was excellent. The place is very busy with good entertainment in the bar on the Saturday night we visited. This does make for a fairly noisy and bustling environment so it's not ideal for a romantic, intimate date. However, if you are looking for a fun and happening atmosphere on a date this is a good spot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.