Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Gabriela Vielmas: (760) 776-6777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Vibrant Bar Scene (55)
Live Music (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (47)
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Romantic (41)
Hot Spot (34)
Business Meals (33)
Bar Seating (25)
People Watching (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Private Room (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Dancing (5)
Casual (5)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Terrific and so yummy

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The ambiance is classic steak house - lounge decor, no different than other high end steak places. The crowd was also resort classic - men in shorts and tee shirts, women generally expensively dressed but low key. The wine list was extensive, but significantly overpriced; I only located one reasonable priced quality white wine. The food was variable. My $26 shrimp cocktail came with a cloud of dry ice in a large sundae glass, but had only 3 large shrimp. My wife's salad was so spicy it was sent back, and graciously replaced with a different, but less than satisfactory salad. My rack of lamb, was to be slightly interior pink, but was red, but nearly burnt on the outside [the bones were nearly pulverized] so it could not be sent back. The key lime pie was as good as you would get in Islamorada. Service was good, but not extraordinary. All in all, a restaurant for folks who do not care about the cost of an enormous steak, but have no taste or value discrimination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I recently went to Mastro's restaurants in Las Vegas and Palm Desert. I like the restaurants but I was disappointed in the regular New York steak ( Las Vegas) and the regular bone in rib eye (Palm Desert). The New York was tough as though it has be frozen and defrosted. There was too much excess fat around the rib eye and it also was a little tough. Both steaks were cooked medium rare. Neither of the steaks was very flavorful. I was told by the waiter in Palm Desert that their steaks are mostly grass fed. In my experience grass fed beef is tougher and less flavorful that corn fed beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We celebrated our 24th Anniversary this weekend so of course we had to go to Mastro's. Our waiter was Bill (Blanche) and he was hilarious and on it. We even received a card signed by staff since it was our anniversary. We also had the famous 'Butter Cake' with 'Happy 24th Anniversary' written on the plate. We love these extra little touches that Mastro's always comes up with.

Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We've had incredible meals at Mastros in Chicago, Las Vegas, and Scottsdale and this is by far one of the worst experiences we've ever had. Cocktails were terrible and were sent back, all fish dishes from our group were overlooked and dry, took 20 minutes to get our bill. Spoke with the manager about this and little was done to rectify the situation while our bill was in excess of $1000 and we would have spent significantly more of the experience had been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our server was Sarah and she was wonderful. I go to Mastro's several times a month and the food is always outstanding. The service in the bar, especially when it's busy can be hit or miss. I find the cocktails very expensive for a tumbler full of ice. I get the Moscow Mule and it's been not great the past few times. Front of the house staff is always friendly.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Even on a Thursday night, this place is happening. We sat in the bar this time and I'd highly recommend that for a vibrant and fun experience. Live music, great service and cozy seating. The menu is always fantastic. Everything you'd want from a steakhouse done to perfection!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My husband and I chose Mastro's Palm Desert for my birthday dinner. It was a perfect dinner, well prepared food, a knowledgeable server and a completely professional staff. I very much appreciated the complementary chocolate cake. Thank you Mastro's Palm Desert for a very memorable evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always an amazing dining experience at Mastro's. fantastic food, ambiance and service. Celebrated my husband's bday. It was very personal and intimate. We love it here.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The staff is very professional and the food, most especially the steak, is superb. Overall, it's a great dining experience.

Only neg? The noise coming from the bar area. At times, it's deafening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have been to several Maestro's and this was the worst. The food was cold when it came out and was overly salted. I assume it was just an off night, but for a day like Mother's Day they should have their "A" game on.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The freshest seafood, excellent steaks, and service beyond reproach. Mastro's delivers yet again! Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Amy was fantastic. She was accommodating, cordial, and extremely personable. She made our experience even better at an already wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place never disappoints. We eat here yearly on our annual desert getaway. The food, service/teamwork, and ambiance combine to make this my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dinner here is always great. The steak is always perfectly cooked and we just discovered the scallop appetizer which was superb. And also just learned you can get half orders of the sides! Great experience as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

An excellent steakhouse; if you like steak, this is your place. Only problem is that it is a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were very pleased with the seafood tower and our dessert martinis, which included the
chocolate martini and the espresso martini. So delicious! The live band that was there were excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went to Mastros for a special occasion, but found the restaurant so loud from the music coming from the bar area that we left without dessert or coffee as it was too difficult to sit at the table. I wish we could have had a quieter table and we could have enjoyed out dinner, as it was we wrapped it up and took it home as the restaurant was too loud. Also it was so dark at our table we both had a hard time reading the menu. The food was great and the server was wonderful, it was just the overall ambiance that was lacking for a meal that was over $200 for 2 people.

Tags: Dancing, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband went to Mastro's on a "date-night". We had a wonderful dinner! Our filet mignon was prepared perfectly and the salads and side dishes were delicious. I had requested a QUIET table many weeks before when I made the reservation. While out table was not quiet, it was in a nice corner and not in the same room with the band. Overall-a nice evening! Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was good as usual. Friday night and the bar scene was in full swing. Extremely loud. We had the first table , off the bar, in the dining room. We couldn't hear the people talking right across from us. A heavy curtain between the dining room and bar would be a great investment by Mastro's.
Service was good, but with his heavy Spanish accent and the noise from the bar, it was almost impossible to hear him. I have no idea if or what the specials were. Also, the staff really, really, really wants to sell you on bottled still or bubbly water. We tried to say 'no thanks' the waiter just kept asking. Overall good, just annoying acoustics.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Made reservations to eat here before going to a show. The food was amazing (as always). Menu items are a la carte but portion sizes are meant for sharing. We always end up with enough food for another meal. Definitely a gem in our desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife's birthday!! The meal was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My 40h birthday. Everything about it was wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Beautiful place to eat but the steaks were exceptional. Best creamed spinach ever anywhere. Bar prices a way too high for us to be regulars. Will go back for dinner - and skip the cocktails.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food. Beautifully prepared and presented. Wonderful Service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We asked for seating away from the VERY NOISY and loud bar area. We were seated in a room that was right next to the bar and the "entertainment" was so loud that it did not make for a pleasant dinner. For the price they charge, they should provide a quiet room to dine. We will not be back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

NEVER a let down, always consistent.
It is not a budget place and they do not accept EBT cards......................Pricey to say the least, but worth every penny for a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Mastro's is always a good time. Will see me again soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our evening at Mastros was a huge disappointment. From the moment we were seated at a table that was practically on top of the tables around us. We had to keep repeating what we said because it was so noisy we couldn't hear each other. The waitress spilled my drink all over the table and on both of us. They didn't change the soaked table cloth so it was wet there all night and she charged us for 2 drinks when she brought me a replacement for the one she had spilled! The food had no flavor, we both had the filet mignon and it was boring. When the bill came, we were surprised that they had done nothing to make up for spilling on us and even charged for the drinks. They took off one of the drinks when we reminded them of what happened. They should have had that taken care of as well as done something for us since we both needed our clothes dry cleaned. We had noted on our reservation that it was our anniversary and that was never acknowledged.
We have been to different Mastros over the past few years and they were much better than this one. We will NOT be going back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I gave Mastros a 2nd try and this time everything was exactly how a good restaurant should be. I must say I was surprised that they would let a companion dog in the restaurant, I almost tripped over it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and service is top notch. Mastro's provides a memorable experience and never disappoints.

Tags: Dancing, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, People Watching, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is an expensive and supposedly nice restaurant. Although it had the potential of living up to this expectation, my experience fell far short. There was a rugby team singing songs, drunk and unruly customers, and a sports bar environment. I was embarrassed that I chose this restaurant. The food and service were good but not great. I truly felt like it was a big mistake to dine here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Mastro's is our go-to for our annual Girl's Birthday Dinner. Upon making a reservation and requesting a table "on the quiet side" as we have had less than great experiences on the non-quiet side. I was told "no problem!" Not only were we sat on the "wrong" side and told we couldn't move because the "quiet" side was entirely booked for a private party. Then a family with four children sat near us and proceeded to be allowed to bang their utensils on the table for 10minutes...perfect...
Rebecca, the manager, who was lovely! Came over and explained why we couldn't be moved and apologized that the private party wasn't mentioned at the time of our reservation. The family of spoon-bangers we had to live with...here's to a loud and slightly annoying birthday dinner. But kudos for Rebecca for her efforts and clear explanations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A terrible disappointment. The place was SO loud, crowded, and dark. Honestly, we could barely read the menu and finally took the small lampshade of the light on the table. The table for two was SO small, it was ridiculous. Once the server brought 2 large menus, 1 large wine list, another smaller cocktail menu, there was no room for the water glasses, bread or butter. We were seated next to a large table with at least 4 servers running past our table bumping into each other and us. We finally asked to be moved.

I ordered the Ruby Slippers cocktail which was served in a large wine goblet and filled only half-way and 2/3s of that was ice. I took one sip, my husband tried one sip and I realized that there were probably only 3-4 sips left for $18.00. I sent it back stating the above and asked for a full pour. I got it back just about the same as the first one. Really? For $18.00?? At least serve the drink in an appropriate glass so the customer "feels" like they're getting their money's worth.

The mashed potatoes tasted like instant potatoes out of a box. The mac and cheese was dismal. However, the steaks were excellent.

Did the guy who owns these restaurants (the loud, rude, tacky guy on television) ever check on the design of this place? The size of the tables? The acoustics? The appropriate glassware for serving drinks? Come on....... We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we were seated next to a table for 7 that included 5 middle aged men and 2 much younger women. There were 6 bottles of wine on the table. After about 1/2 hour the conversation at this table degenerated into pretty much shouting and continuous profanity. We were reseated in a different room at our request, so Mastro's deserves credit for that. But our evening was already spoiled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I of course knew the prices were on the higher side but well worth it. Our waitress was outstanding it was our first time there and she took the time to explain everything. The food was amazing good portions great sides overall great experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great entertainment & food was good as well , service was attentive and knowledgable

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

5 star service with 5 star food. Finest ingredients and food preparation...such a treat!!

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This restraunt is a must visit on every trip to Palm Desert , food and device outstanding !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

"Incredible food, service, perfect fit for our friends birthday celebration"

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.