Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (171)
Good for Anniversaries (132)
Good for a Date (124)
See All
Romantic (116)
Good for Birthdays (96)
Business Meals (75)
Notable Wine List (71)
Live Music (57)
Worth the Drive (53)
Bar Seating (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Hot Spot (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Good for Groups (41)
Modern Decor (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Fun (31)
Private Room (27)
People Watching (23)
Cozy (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Authentic (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Tasting Menu (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Family Style (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Casual (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (3)
Dancing (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

It was great! I really enjoyed dinner with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

I brought one of my really good friends to celebrate her birthday and we had an outstanding time. For starters Mastro's accomodated us even though we were 30 min late for our reservations. We ate at the bar for the first time and the music was fantastic - really airy and relaxed setting. This is definately not our first time dining at Mastro's and it certainly won't be our last. It really tells you something when two weeks prior to your reservations your dreaming about what you will eat. Thank you for making my friends day so special!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

This was the second time being there for special occasions and they were very good experience. Highly recommended for all special occasions and take your love ones that never been there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Noisy, waiter did not explain menu items well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We were at the Restaurnt inn Sat 6/20/2017 out rsvp is at 7:30 PM. Everything was perfect until the bill came. I was the one who ordered the food cause my date he did have his glass at the time and I know exactly how much each dish ordered but I was very disappointed that 2 dishes were totally different price. It was the appetizer sea scallop on the menu was $25 and the bill came out $29 ??? The second dish was chef choice bone in ribeye and it was $65 and the bill came out $76? I still have the bill with me. It was a very bad date for us that night because of this :( because of this I would never want to go back to Costa Mesa Mastro. Very disappointed !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Our evening was exceptionally memorable due to the server we had. She was excellent in timing, menu knowledge and very personable! I'm sorry I do not remember her name but she was new to the area from Mastro's LV. She made our special night one to remember!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Dennis is an awesome waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Very noisy, food was good but not exceptional and for the price, would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic as usual, this restaurant never disappoints. Took a couple first timers and they loved it, food was excellent, everything cooked perfect and the service was as always top notched.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

E X C E L L E N T. Tried to think of one thing wrong and couldn't

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Another delicious meal at Mastros! We arrived early and were given the option to be seated immediately or wait at the bar. We decided to grab a drink at the M Bar and were greeted and served by a friendly bartender who made our drinks quickly and they were good! We were seated at our table and our steaks were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Consistent fine dining and service. Pricy but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I loved my experience at Mastro. I bought the Chef's special... I couldn't finish my meal so I brought it home and ended up feeding me my wife and 3 year. Moral of the story yes I paid $60 for a steak but it was worth four meals! Totally worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Second time at this Mastro's Location and once again...SPECTACULAR!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

dined in the piano area. EXTREMELY dark. Misunderstood the waiter reviewing the menu and ordered a 10oz Wagyu steak. My guest heard me extoll how good they were and he also ordered one. May have been the finest steak I have ever eaten. But I was stunned when my bill arrived at $155 each steak. Because of the darkness I missed the price on menu. bring a flashlight.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Cozy, Live Music, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The piano bar is way, way too loud. Can't have a conversation with a person sitting next to you. The dining area is more ambient and quiet. The service and the food were excellent. I am planning on returning soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I always enjoy my dining experience at Mastro's. No other restaurant can compete with their creamed corn or the broccoli sauteed in garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went to Mastro's Steakhouse for Mother's Day. The shrimp cocktail was good. I never seen any shrimp that big and juicy. The porter house steak and ribeye steak were really good. The lobster mashed potato was nice and creamy. It was a perfect compliment to the steak. We had the creme brulee for desert which was also good.

All in all, it was a perfect Mother's Day dinner for the family.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall experience was just ok . Chefs cut ribeye was not cooked to how I would like .

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Aged beef, expertly prepared. Fresh seafood, great bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Live Music, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Been to Mastros many times. Celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and they tried to seat us at the bar where it was loud and they had someone singing. Couldn't even talk to one another. Asked to sit in the dining room so we had to wait an additional 1/2 hr for a table. Had reservations for weeks to sit in the bar area? Then they took us from the bar to a table and the girl spilt 1/2 a drink. Said sorry I'll get someone to clean that up. Never did nor did they offer to replace it. At the end of the night the bus boy cleaning up the table spilled a whole glass of iced water on my daughter. Apologized and left. Manager came over and said everything ok? We said yes we are just going to go upstairs and dry her off he said "ok" and left. Really? Were we suppose to say what are you going to do about it? He should of done or said something other then "ok". Quite surprised about all this mishaps and how management handled it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been to this restaurant before. This experience was disappointed. Steak came out severely underdone despite being ordered Med-well and cut in half. When steak came back sides were cold and steak was over cooked. The butter cake was amazing but besides that the food wasn't great. They had a lounge singer who was off key and the music was turned up so loud outside I couldn't hear my Wife. Will probably stop off for a desert, but doubt we will go back for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my wife here for her birthday. It was my first time there. I will be returning again. We had the best time! The service was outstanding. The food spectacular. The atmosphere was excellent. Very nice live music. Not to loud. I recommend Mastro's to everybody for fine dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really was looking forward to a nice Mothers Day celebration, the food and service was great.
All was well until about 2am, my wife and I both experience extreme gastric distress......... It was ugly. Not sure if it might have been the wild mushrooms or the fantastic Lobster potatos with a pound of butter coming out of them.
We had steaks and enjoyed them

not sure what happened but I doubt we will ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall had a wonderful experience at Mastro's. The food was absolutely amazing and the service was great. The restaurant was a bit noisy, hard to hear our conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was great as well as our food. Steaks were cooked perfectly and the side dishes were very good as well! It was a great experience and we will definitely come
back again!
Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

13th Birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of my favorites. Everything from the pretzel bread to the seafood tower, topped off with the butter cake are a must.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Worth it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2017

First time eating here and I'm very impressed. Food was amazing drinks were great. Server was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

First time at Mastros steak house and i gotta say i was impressed. Wish they had a little more selection on the "chicken" menu, my wife does not eat red meat but overall loved it. Drinks were great, service was great, steak was delicious, mac n cheese was delicious. Definitely would recommend it for any dates or special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service was excellent, I highly recommend Mastro's Steakhouse in Costa Mesa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been regulars at MASTROS for many years with BJ our server last Saturday night was distinctly different
Our waiter was most nice but had his hands full
Our food was fair as compared with prior visits
Maybe we were just spoiled by BJ and his impeccable service but I have been a MASTROS fan and think they lost the pennant

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was excellent, great service, waiter let us know all options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food, not "value" food.
Great service.
Went for birthday, and had to leave to make a show; we were told they would put the complimentary cake in with the "left overs"; they forgot the cake.
Difficult to get too upset about a free dessert, but it was a let down after a $500 meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great place for a dinner before the theatre or concert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Can't believe that this place is owned by Landry's. This place is awesome. The rest of their holdings not so great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was amazing. The bone in ribeye was excellent. This is one of my favorite steakhouses. It's always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.