Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (125)
Good for a Date (110)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
See All
Good for Birthdays (88)
Romantic (88)
Business Meals (60)
Notable Wine List (51)
Live Music (43)
Good for Groups (39)
Worth the Drive (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Cozy (24)
Fun (23)
Authentic (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
People Watching (12)
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
4048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 20 hours ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was excellent, food was excellent, however I noticed the following day that they overcharged me $66 for wine that I did not have, I called the Restaurant and so far they have not returned my call to correct this issue, I find that sad. Do I have to keep calling them now?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Server Simon was helpful and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was our first time to Mastro's. We were very disappointed. I asked for well done, yet my steak was overcook, charred actually. The scalloped potatoes were undercooked in the center and the mac and cheese lacked any flavor. We had high expectations for the food, yet were very disappointed. Not a great birthday treat for my husband!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and good food well worth the
Price it was a good value

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to Mastros to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food at Mastros is excellent and their steaks are the best. But our steaks took an awful long time to come out, which turned out to have been a mistake in their ordering. My wife and I also ordered separate loaded potatoes but only one was brought out as the waiter thought we were going to share. He got another one in a few minutes but we should have gone with the mistake as we were too full to eat it, so we took it home. Because of the errors they comped us the potatoes and desserts, so what could have been a negative because this was a birthday dinner, was turned into a good time. They acknowledged the problem and fixed it without our even having to ask.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Terrible service
Seating too crowded
Food was over cooked
Never saw our waiter after he took our order
The worse experience I’ve ever had at a Mastros
Only at this location
Otherwise the desert , ocean club, Beverly Hills perfect
Not managed well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

We ask for a quiet table . They gave us a table that was so noisy you could not talk. They music was so loud we kept asking them to turn down the music they had to ask manager it would be turned down slightly then it would turn up again. Very bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

To busy. Servers are way to rushed. They want you in and out. Not cool

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Mastro's is rather expensive, but the food is worth the price. We had just an excellent dinner and the service was outstanding. We highly recommend this restaurant so long as price is not an issue.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

All around great. Best steak place in OC I know of...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Restaurant decor was beautiful and the food is excellent. The waiter was friendly but a bit too chatty and another alternative waiter atteneded to us. The service was not so great considering the price. The room was also very dark. We can hardly see the menu and had a difficult time appreciating how the food looks like. The waiter said that the restaurant was too dark compared to other days. We noticed that a lot of lights were turned off. This made the experience uncomfortable.
I still rate this restaurant high because of how the food tastes and the friendliness of the staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We were a party of six and had excellent service. Food was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have dined at Mastro's before... always good food & wine. The restaurant is VERY load, so much so it is hard to hear your tablemates. Surprising, since it is fine dining/expensive.
Service was ok, didn't hover but adequate.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Such a GREAT dinner! Food, Service, Atmosphere all outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Thank goodness for the butter cake! The sides were sub-par--burnt, dry scalloped potatoes and gloppy macaroni and cheese. I don't eat red meat so I can't review the steaks. The service was terribly slow. Loud and didn't feel very special for our occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Such amazing service and respect from every server. The food was delicious. A great family style of side dishes to share with everyone! Had a wonderful time and hope to come back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were taken right to the bar/lounge for our reservation. I was almost offended. If I wanted to eat at a night club I would have made a reservation at a nightclub not an expensive steak house. I wanted to make my daughters birthday a special night. We asked for a better location and got one a little better. Thankfully our waitress made up for the way we were treated in the beginning. The food is always spectacular and worth the cost. Generous portions make it worth the money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Outstanding on every level. From the excellent service to the amazingly delicious food to the decadent warm butter cake dessert. The ambiance was chic and "happening". Very much like a supper club. I highly recommend and I'm already planning my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The steaks were amazing and the service was top notch. They even personalized the dessert plate because it was our 15th wedding anniversary. Yes, it's pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Best Steakhouse in CA- perfect service and menu. This is a great place for a special occasion or business meal.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent service from beginning to end. The butter cake deserves its reputation, it was outstanding! The steaks were just fine, but not so outstanding to even come close to deserving the price. Of the two sides we ordered, we sent back the shoestring fries because they were both burnt and limp, which is a tough combination to achieve.

I'm glad I tried it, but at best we would go back for dessert and coffee, not for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent Birthday evening!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

This is a lovely steakhouse with an excellent ambiance. The wait staff were friendly and informative but subdued so they did not dominate the dining experience, which I appreciate. I think that the food could be a little more creative. But it's hard to judge what's being offered when they do not provide a description of anything on the menu. I found this especially frustrating when it came to choosing our salads. The spinach salad I had was heavy on bacon but rather bland. In fact, none of the salads looked very enticing. The crab cake was excellent; the filet mignon good; the mac and cheese tasty.....But the lobster mashed potatoes were bland. (So disappointed!) There were no other sides that were at all interesting to me. I will stand by the warm butter cake. It was very good. My advice is to let it sit for a moment until the ice cream starts to melt into the cake. This causes the brown sugar and butter to sort of carmelize, add to that the occasional tiny crunch of salt and it's pretty amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was good with one exception; the scalloped potatoes were not cooked through. I know vegetables need to be al dente, but not scalloped potatoes. Although thinly sliced, they were hard and should have been cooked more.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Once again, Mastro's lived up to its reputation. Steaks were perfect! Still loud, but if you want great steak, look no further. Just bring your ear plugs. Excellent service again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My first time dinning at Mastros! Defiantly met all my expectations. Made reservations for 5pm on a Saturday and was seated right before. Our waiter was very knowledge of the menu and explained every time and offered and any advice and questions. Started off with a Dream Berry Martini which was AMAZING! The waiter left the shaker at the table which contained a whole other full glass! Also had the crab stuffed mushrooms and bone marrow as appetizers, both were great! But I would have been satisfied with just the variety of breads in the basket! Next we had a Cesar salad, not too impressed but can't go wrong with a Cesar. Our main course was the Chefs cut ribeye! 33oz! Ordered medium and was cooked perfect, along with creamed spinach and mac and cheese. By this time I was so stuffed I got to being home a meal and a half! Can't wait to go back and try new things!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our service was not the best and did not provide the level of customer service I would have expected.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our server Dennis was excellent in guiding our group through all courses. The tomahawk steak & pork chop we're prepared to perfection. We will definitely go back to Mastro's.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our favorite steakhouse reserved for special occasions. Outstanding food, romantic and intimate ambiance and upscale experience. Service was a great strength but not upon this visit. Server didn't smile, was not very attentive and made us feel like customers, not friends or family. Tried to up sell us at each opportunity. This is an expensive place to begin with which we understand and expect. But we felt overlooked and taken advantage of. Maybe just a one time experience. Hadn't been here in a couple of years. I'll give it another go... But we've been regulars for many years. Had always been a positive and memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Wonderful restaurant...the service is always top notch. One of our favorite date night spots! Great music in the lounge area!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2017

My friends and I had such a wonderful time celebrating my birthday and our Server John was just amazing. It was our first time and we were already checking our calendars for our next visit. Customer service, the food, the atmosphere was jus amazing. The call today just to see how our experience was, was just the icing on the cake.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was out first visit here and we definitely will be returning. Our waitress Christy was awesome and space did out our order perfectly!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Awesome time
Robert our service was perfect
Our fav bartender even came over to say hi, Patty
Best local spot!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We felt very accommodated and welcomed. Everything was amazing especially the food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always, Sara and Mario play lovely music at the piano bar!

Food was extremely delicious, and the pork chops were tender, and not overcooked! My friend Gusto really loves the asparagus as much as I do, and we would have purchased more, but the sides are costly! (one reason why we stuck with drinking water and not ordering wine was the fact that the vegetables absorb the alcohol, and the asparagus wouldn't have been enough)

We LOVE the staff! Very friendly!! They always seem happy to see me, and happy to see me with friends in tow!

We will be back in October, as Gusto's birthday is near Halloween, and mine is 2 weeks after his!

Thanks again!!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

My chef choice steak was cooked perfect on the inside but the outside crust was burnt. My side order of roasted bussel sprouts was burnt as well. The bone marrow appitizier was super salty. Me and my wife has a horrible first time for the food and would probably never come back. The wait staff and host was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

First of all grateful to go, it's always a treat to eat at a steakhouse. Went there for my daughters birthday. She loved being there as it was her first time at Mastro's. The waiter was a little bit cold, maybe it's a cultural thing, not sure. Seemed to be from somewhere in Europe and maybe where he's from, they don't smile much or have a welcoming energy about them. Definitely wasn't a people person as in happy and kind so to speak, but rather dry. Just blah energy about him.

Anyhow we ordered the chef's cut rib eye. The seasoning wasn't uniform as one end wasn't seasoned at all. It wasn't a big portion that didn't have seasoning but it was noticeable.

We also had the Gargonzola mac and cheese. That wasn't good at all. It was barely creamy, just barely, but rather it had just melted cheese on top of the macaroni.

The butter cake wasn't that great. It was a little bit dry. Don't know what happened as it used to be awesome. Soft, moist and awesome. Now it was a little dry. Oh well, I didn't say anything as my young daughter loved it, so that's all that mattered.

The servers who brought the water and bread were very kind, they were great! The waiter, forget his name, maybe Jans or ? I don't remember, something with a Ja in the first part of his name, should take a cue from them on how to interact with folks. When he walked by and brought the receipt and my card he just walked by and put it on the table and kept walking without a thank you or anything like that. I was going to say something to him and check him but I didn't want to make it uncomfortable for my daughter.

Anyhow, I was grateful to go to Mastro's but next time out for steak, I'll hit up Ruth's Chris. They have much better service and steaks and it has less of a club atmosphere.

CC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Delicious food and impeccable service as always. We love having date nights here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

I made reservations at this restaurant to celebrate a friend's birthday last week. Service was outstanding, food was great, and the ambience was perfect. I received a follow up phone call from the restaurant the next day to ensure our visit exceeded our expectations. Excellent customer service! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.