About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (138)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Good for a Date (104)
See All
Romantic (95)
Good for Birthdays (83)
Notable Wine List (64)
Business Meals (55)
Live Music (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Bar Seating (36)
Modern Decor (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Private Room (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Cozy (21)
Fun (20)
People Watching (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (15)
Family Style (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Seasonal (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a a decent steakhouse. Food was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 19 hours ago

This was a a decent steakhouse. Food was very good (though not unforgettable) as was the service.

If you like a bit of pretentiousness with your steaks, this is your spot. If you are looking for something more refined without club music, this is not your spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love Mastro's Steakhouse. It's one of ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

I love Mastro's Steakhouse. It's one of our favorite restaurants. We always have great service. The food is delicious and the ambiance is great for a romantic dinner. We love listening to the live band. Always a great time at Mastro's.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my wife here for Valentines dinne ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

I took my wife here for Valentines dinner. I made reservations 3 weeks early and yet when we arrived there was a cattle call of waiting parties and they were running very late fulfilling reservation times . When we were finally seated, we were placed in the bar directly next to the loud live entertainment. We had to yell at each other just to be heard. I asked to a table change and were told it was not possible and I should had requested a different area on open table! Really? Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

They were behind schedule (20mins) from ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

They were behind schedule (20mins) from our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and food, however when pac ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food, however when packing our food they forgot to pack the lobster mashed potatoes. We did not notice till we arrived home.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's service is impeccable. I highly rec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

It's service is impeccable. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating location was not I would prefer. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Seating location was not I would prefer. I was seating in a corner with no lighting. Couldn't even read the menu without the aid of my phone. Other than that, food and service was top notch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Valentine's Day experience. Food an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Best Valentine's Day experience. Food and service didn't disappoint. Unlike most restaurants that serve hot box prix fixe menus that are overpriced and poorly executed on this day, Mastros provided a flawless experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mastro's Steak House is without a doubt, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Mastro's Steak House is without a doubt, the best restaurant in the United States. Please do not take my word for it, try it yourself. I can guarantee you that you will be very, very impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!! Great experience beginning to end ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow!! Great experience beginning to end with my lovely wife. We touch a bit of everything including the specialty cocktails, crab stuffed mushrooms. Hot spinach salad, wedge salad, filets, asparagus, twice baked potatoes and to top it off with pecan pie. Everything was FANTASTIC!!! I can't say enough good things about our experience on a special evening!! We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was just OK.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Server didn't check on our table at all. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Server didn't check on our table at all. He went to the table next to us atleast 10 times. Only time he was quick was when we asked for the bill. Not a good first experience dining here

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Mastro's is an absolutely great place. T ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Mastro's is an absolutely great place. The steaks and their preparation is exceptional, the sides are also--and so many great ones to choose from! Excellent wine list and a great corkage policy. The bone in filet is one of my favorites and don't forget the Butter cake for dessert. All of this is a wonderful contemporary atmosphere with superb service.

Having been a chef and also having cooked at a top steak house--I know. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect celebration place, outstanding s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Perfect celebration place, outstanding service and great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely come again! Lobster pota ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Will definitely come again! Lobster potato salad was delicious, along with the 22oz bone in ribeye. I believe Shane was our server, super professional. If I go back, hopefully he helps me out again.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for a special occas ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I made a reservation for a special occasion. I was disappointed that we were seated in the bar/Lounge area. Had I known that I would have to be specific to be seated in the main dining room, I would have requested it in my notes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great, service phenominal. A li ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was great, service phenominal. A little too loud because we sleeve seated next to the live music (good music, just loud for a date night). Tables were a little too close to the next table. Just nit-picking for perfection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It has been several years since we last ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It has been several years since we last dined at Maestro's in Costa Mesa. After the service and meal we had we will definitely be returning more often. The bread served was delicious and I had to be careful not to eat too much so I would be able to enjoy my meal. Our filet was flavorful and cooked to our liking (medium +). Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there celebrating family birthda ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were there celebrating family birthdays. Food was excellent. Oysters Rockefeller, spicy Caesar salad,and bone in ribeye were excellent. Gun mojito was very tasty with nice smooth mint taste. Would orderthatagain when we go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We frequent Mastros often and I have to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We frequent Mastros often and I have to say this is by far the most less than ideal visit we have had. Service was OFF! Which is not something I expect from a restaurant of this caliber. We come here about every other month and It's all about consistently. I had consistently known that this would be the best steak AND dining experience nearby. Well that didn't happen. I had to find someone and ask them to remove the empty appetizer platters from the middle of our table as they didn't do it when they brought the soup and salad and we couldn't pass back and forth to share. I could go on but it's really unnecessary. Point is, I was extremely disappointed and dissatisfied with the service I received for a bill of over $400 for 2 adults and 2 - 9 year olds (no alcohol).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Our server was great. In the past, the w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was great. In the past, the wait staff treated and spoke to us differently, then the table next to us that maybe an older guest. But the server on Saturday was great, he did not treat us any differently from the table next to us. Very well mannered, checked if we like our meal, and didn't discriminate us due to looking younger. The normal service you would expect at a fine dining restaurant. So kudos to him and his colleagues.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was amazing as always. Our server w ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was amazing as always. Our server was great, but the host was distracted, gave us no attention when I was asking her questions and my reservation for 8:30 pm turned into sitting at 9:00 pm (and we were right on time). I love Mastros, but this night I left a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food, service & company, we always ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service & company, we always have a enjoyable evening at Mastro's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing evening out with clients. ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointing evening out with clients. My petite filet was overcooked and the sides were nothing to write home about. It was loud and difficult to hear the table conversation. I canceled my reservation for another night with clients and booked a different restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Went on a Friday night and everything wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went on a Friday night and everything was great with the exception of bar was too crowded to get a drink and too loud to talk to some one next to you. Dining room is extremely loud as well. Poor acoustics. Excellent food and service but not a good date night or cozy place to dine. Better if in a large group.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been wanting to check this restau ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been wanting to check this restaurant out for awhile...did not disappoint!! Food was excellent and service was amazing, definitely a dinning experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Our server was awesome too. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food! Our server was awesome too. Such a bummer that we got sat basically in the servers station. Couldn't enjoy the date as I spent most the night overhearing the server's conversation and clanking plates. Spent $250 and probably would have had a better date experience at the Fridays next door. Food was remarkable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

The entire visit was great and would rec ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The entire visit was great and would recommend the restaurant and the location...thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. The cocktails ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The cocktails were great, we both ordered medium rare petite fillet, and the steaks came perfectly prepared. The 6oz steak was just right. We shared the giant baked potato, and the spinach. We could have shared the spinach with 2 more people.it was a lot, and so good! They brought a large slice of chocolate birthday cake for the birthday celebration, along with a dish of freshly whipped cream. All quite delicious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Across the country the best seafood towe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Across the country the best seafood tower there is. The Chicago restaurant has the same great seafood tower. The steak was flawless ....beyond any criticism. The servers were exceptional and quietly present. It was a worthwhile dining experience

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, so so service for price, good ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good food, so so service for price, good location, not enough privacy to talk business tables are too close to each other.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Normally, we really enjoy our dinners at ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Normally, we really enjoy our dinners at Mastro's however, our last visit was very disappointing. Our food took a long time to arrive. Our pork chop, which we normally love, had an odd consistency and was a bit overcooked. Most disappointing was the crab gnocchi. The gnocchi was overcooked and there were many inedible pieces of crab shell or membrane mixed in. We complained about the gnocchi and were provided with a new order however, it was just as in edible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent good, superb service, great at ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent good, superb service, great atmosphere, overall an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love beef and well prepared sides ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2017

If you love beef and well prepared sides, this is the place for you. I had the bone-in filet mignon and it was served perfectly on a hot plate and was so tender and delicious. The gnocchi was outstanding and the mixed mushrooms were also wonderful. No fancy seasonings as the food didn't need it. I will be back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Considering this was my first time at Ma ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Considering this was my first time at Mastro's i was always told it was very good and it's nice. I would say it wasnt what i expected the food was Ok, but what bothered me the most was the noise level. I was looking forward to having a nice quiet dinner with my husband and it was loud in there i was getting anxiety. I dont think i would ever go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I have dined at this Mastro's many times ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I have dined at this Mastro's many times in the past and over the years, the quality and service have declined considerably. I and my colleague dined in the bar area and our server, Shane was mediocre at best. He did not attend to us unless I called his attention or asked another staff person to get his attention. He ordered crab cakes instead of crab cocktail as an appetizer. He made us feel as if we were interrupting him. I still tipped him over 20%, however I will never dine at this Mastro's again just to pay $400 for poor service. I will be sure to post a message on Yelp as well.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Service was great one of our entrees was ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Service was great one of our entrees was undercooked but the waitress and management were on top of it and made it right . They went above and beyond. Had a great time we will definitely be back

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this location. Usually go ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

First time at this location. Usually go to Newport Caost. Our waiter Alex simply didn't seem interested in proving excellent service as we expect from Mastros. Never even shared the specifics of the daily specials with us. Service was not bad. Just not excellent. It was simply ok. We did hear him sharing the specials with the table next to us. We were the first table of the night he served. Maybe he just was a bit off to start the evening. With dinner drink valet and tip our party of 2 spent $250.00 the service by Alex did not live up to our expectations.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

All I can say about the restaurant and f ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

All I can say about the restaurant and food is omg it was so elegant and delicious. Waitress, jeshana, was nice and helpful. She explained the menu and the items not on the menu. She then explained about the caviar, and it's the first time me and my gf trying caviar, she was helpful on how to eat it and stuff. My gf was sick and offered hot tea to help her cough which was thoughtful. She was really happy that we enjoyed the food and that I was going crazy on the fois gras and 8 Oz wagu. The caviar was less fishy and salty than i thought it would be which is great. The fois gras was omg so good delicious. The bone marrow was fatty and juicy. The crab cakes was delicious. I got the 8 Oz wagu, and it was so fatty marble it was so worth it. Not too much fat and every inch of the meat was joyful. I also got creamed corn and king crab gnocchi for the side and it was 2 great choices. I love cream corn so im really picky on how it tastes, and it didn't disappoint. The gnocchi was great. It had black truffles which I don't like the smell of it, but that's me. My gf got a free birthday cake which was delicious. I ended my dinner with chocolate covered strawberries. Strawberries was sweet, chocolate was good, and the whip cream was house made and taste better than store whip cream. I hate whip cream but I enjoyed it. I would definitely come back on my date night and get the fois gras and 8 Oz wagu again. Awesome.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OUTSTANDING SERVICE TOO! Thank ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was OUTSTANDING

SERVICE TOO!

Thank you 😊 so much for such a wonderful evening

Only one thing is negative: it's too cold inside!

Some guest didn't took off their winter jackets

I needed my vest and it was still chilly with it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.