About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sun thru Thur / Fri. & Sat till Midnight.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm till ... Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Good for a Date (73)
Romantic (72)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Business Meals (50)
Live Music (45)
Notable Wine List (42)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Fun (19)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (11)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Very good food and service. I would visit again in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Stephanie , Mykalla and even Charles were amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing best place we have gone to in a long time the waiter Jeff amazing the manager steve was awesome it was a perfect 10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was genuine. The rest of the experience was disappointing. The food was very dry and not seasoned well. I also specifically asked how many crab cluster come with a 1/2 Ib I was told 2 and given 1. After this it was explained that they weigh them (which I already know). The proper answer would have been that answer to begin with. I ordered the double porterhouse and I was also disappointed in taste and texture of the steak. It lacked seasoning as well as being overcooked. I asked for a mediium and it was cooked well done. Spending nearly $300 on a meal was not nearly as equal value as the experience I had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Anyone who wants ot know what a great steakhouse should be should come here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

There are better steakhouses than Mastro's, not because I know all of Chicago's steakhouses. But I have dined at dozens of upscale, high end steakhouses over the years and had without question the lowest quality steak (bone-in ribeye) a few nights ago. American steakhouses are all very similar in menu format and selection from gout inducing appetizers to wedge and caeser salads to chocolate spiked desserts. The ONE thing that makes a steakhouse is obvious. And they need to get the red meat right. This ribeye's outer band was woven with tendon and sinew that a chainsaw would fail to penetrate. Terribly trimmed would be overselling its merits. Even when I got to the inner rib meat, I had to saw the steak to get through it. Maybe it is the wet aging they used?...The other diners had a ribeye, and a NY sirloin. They had to saw theirs too. We all ordered a rare+ temp. Could it be that? Probably not. I was disappointed to say the least. I even question if it was a Prime cut. It had the characteristics of Choice cut. The marbling was lacking. The flavor was flat. Two other things stood out in the experience on the negative side. (I'll get to the positives in a moment.) 1.)The AC was blowing hard, usually a good thing, but it was directly falling on the table top. When the luke warm dishes arrived they turned cool in minutes. The normally juicy steak fat then congealed. Houston we have a problem. 2.) the noise was stadium level loud with live music cranked like it was a concert event and the diners having to shout at each other to be heard. On the positive parts of the experience - we were seated at reservation time (7:45 pm Sat night), our waiter was prompt and courteous, the support waiters always had water glasses refilled and ready to clear empty dishes. The pours on the scotch and whiskeys after dinner were slightly larger than normal. We dropped $800 for 4 people, about average for an allegedly high end place like this. But you CAN do better than Mastro's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience
Service was great as well as the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Superb staff and very accommodating for a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We had a great time! The food and service was superb. It was a Sunday night so we were expecting a quiet ambience but much to our pleasant surprise there was an amazing, talented musician duo playing in the lounge so we sat there and had an amazing time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Discovered original in New York a couple years ago! Was so impressed and kept
Talking about it. My son saw there was one in Chicago during our fall break trip. Had to go. It was great! Service was impeccable, food was exactly perfect😄

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Maestros was recommended to us as a great spot for a special occasion. My filet was the best steak I've had in my life. Amazing! Our server was attentive and very knowledgeable. Would definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

1st Time here, Steak was cooked just like I like it, and the Lobster mashed potatoes were to die for. Service was marvelous, Nice place for special occasions because it is a little pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Tremendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

i was extremely impressed with the outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised! From the excellent service to the tasty food. It is well worth the price! Mastro’s just became my favorite steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent evening- food was fantastic. Good value on wine list, but can also go big. Server was top notch ( Parker).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food is really good, but pricier than other high-end steak houses at similar quality. Not sure it's better than Maple & Ash, STK, etc. yet more expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Very slow but pleasent service. Average steak. The atmosphere was loud, augmebted by the live band. Tough environment for a business mean. The food was the most disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The Ambience was nice. My wife and I were there to celebrate our Anniversary. It was a Saturday night and it was understandably busy. The Bar was very busy so we ordered a drink. We were there by 7:45 and had an 8:30 reservation and were seated at 9:00. There was no apology for the late seating by either the hostess or the waitress. Upon settling in, we were asked if we wanted to order a bottle of wine. Our waitress June, promptly snatched up the wine menu when we declined and didn't offer any other drinks... For the rest of the meal. She came back to take our order and was very knowledgeable about the Japanese steaks that were priced at $145 and up. She did little to discuss and other menu selections as we felt the motivation was to increase the check for a larger tip. She visited our table only twice after lastly to ask if we wanted desert. When my wife declined she did not even bother to ask me. There was not one smile or pleasantries what so ever. VERY disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was absolutely excellent! Great atmosphere.

I did have just two issues. We sat for a fairly long time with dirty salad and soup dishes in front of us. They had to clear them as we were being served our meal. This seems odd at such a nice restaurant. Also, we split the checks 4 ways, just right down the middle. There were 8 of us but none of us were provided the original bill. So we weren’t sure if the tip was included and couldn’t find the server to ask. So we all tipped. For a total bill of 1,400 dollars our server made out pretty well if a gratuity was already included. Would have been nice to know.

Other than that, it was a very nice dinner that we all enjoyed. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This dinner was for my birthday. I had a wonderful time the food was great, and the server was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

My family and I Love Mastro's a lot. The food is amazing, the steaks were melting in our mouth. It's worth the price. The very important thing about it was our server.. Omar he was awesome we never look around looking for him, he checked up on us often enough.. his personally made us look the place even more. Thanks Omar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Absolutely hands down the best filet out there. Nothing really compares. Consistently great also. You just can not go wrong with the filet and then the butter cake for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We try and go to Mastros on our trips to Chicago. Always top notch, excellent food, well worth the price. Unfortunately this time just really fell for us. Waiting for our table was fine and they offered a free glass of champagne while waiting, very nice touch. From there though, it went downhill. The waitress never lit the candle on our table, she didn't remember a drink and had to ask again and then it was wrong. We ordered and waited, and waited and then our entrees showed up. Never got our salad. Everything was just off from usual. While the waitress did comp our drinks and a shared dessert, it had kind of put a damper on things. This is not typical for this restaurant so hopefully things will return to normal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

This by far is one of my favorite restaurants in the city. Love the live music, steaks are impeccable. Butter cake is out of this world!!!! If there is only one complaint it would its a large room so it can get very loud. There are upstairs rooms though that are quieter but darker. Depends on what you are in the mood for.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service we received from Stephanie was some of the best we have had ANYWHERE. The steak was amazing--the side dishes just the right size...we didn't care so much for the lobster sushi roll that we had but the DESSERT MENU more than made up for that... incredible selection/options for dessert. The 2 of us had 3 of them...you can't go wrong at this restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Muy buen ambiente y muy buena comida, 100% recomendable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our waiter Tone was one of the best we have ever had....great recommendations and even better service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Mastro's. The service was excellent and we'll definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was very tasty and cooked to perfection. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Always amazing! Food incredible, service always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had very high expectations for Maestros after being referred multiple times by a few colleagues. After frequenting Joe's Stone Crab, Chicago Cut and GT Prime, we assumed it would be a very similar experience.

The oysters came out about 5 mins before our wine, both steaks were undercooked and unevenly cooked. Was definitely hoping for much more, especially when entertaining clients from outside the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Went before going to see Hamilton and it was great! The food was outstanding and the service was out of this world! Took our 10 month old and they were all so great with her!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (México)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Whatever and ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Mastro is a amazing steak house, the food as well as the services received from the staff. One of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Waiters are bitter about 25% tips and added $.01 to an even bill total... petty.

Don't forget this is just another chain anyways- better steakhouses in most cities with better wagyu options- also always disappointed no dry aging here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent cocktails, steaks cooked perfectly to order. Cocktails and some sides are over priced, but wouldn't deter me from coming back. The complimentary birthday dessert was a slice of chocolate layer cake and fresh whipped cream. Beautiful presentations all around and YUM.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great steakhouse, great service. I've been there several times, and never been disappointed. The only semi-negative I can say is that it is pretty dark in there. I couldn't read the bar menu without a light from my cell phone. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for. Our waitress was a somalier as well, so she was able to help me pick out the perfect wine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went to Mastro's to celebrate an anniversary and it did not disappoint! Food was outstanding, service was awesome, and it was very romantic. Thanks Mastro's for a great evening out!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was god but not great. Waiter was very good when he was at our table, but sometimes seemed inattentive due to number of tables he was assisting. Remainder of wait staff made up for his absence very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.