About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sun thru Thur / Fri. & Sat till Midnight.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm till ... Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (128)
Good for a Date (122)
Romantic (102)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (94)
Business Meals (89)
Good for Birthdays (89)
Live Music (77)
Notable Wine List (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Worth the Drive (47)
Bar Seating (45)
Hot Spot (41)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Groups (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Modern Decor (34)
Cozy (29)
People Watching (27)
Fun (26)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Comfort Food (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Private Room (17)
Authentic (16)
Casual (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Family Style (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

It was wonderful. We went fir dinner after my daughter's graduation from her masters program. Our waitress congratulated her when we sat down and brought her a beautiful delicious dessert. She made my daughter feel so special. It was a great way to end a fabulous day. Thank you!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great and service would definitely recommend to friends. I really enjoyed my birthday dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The hostess wasn't very friendly when we first arrived. She was talking to one of the other three hostesses standing at the front and looked annoyed to have to break her conversation before helping us. She informed us that our table wasn't yet ready and we could wait in the bar and then went back to her conversation.

Other than that, the entire experience was great. Our server was extremely friendly and the food was fantastic. A few of the sides/steak toppings were a little over-priced, but overall, a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service, outstanding meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was great and the service was fantastic. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Disjointed service. Pacing was horrible. Food served on a "400 degree plate" is ridiculous. The steak was delicious, as was the carpaccio. The sides were OK. They can do a lot better, and their are many better steakhouse options in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers' Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was excellent for us, we order Lambchops, herb chicken, baked potatoes, cream spinach also corn. The food was delicious and our waiter was excellent. Yes, we plan on going back again one of the best restaurants I have been too. We give Mastro's the highest review. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.Overall the service was the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Kelly was excellent and we appreciate the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pricey. We only went because we had a gift certificate. A steakhouse indistinguishable from any other steakhouse...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day family dinner (8).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love this place! And our server Justin is always amazing!

Tags: Private Room, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing. Sat immediately upon arrival, with a reservation. Wine was great. Food was better. The sides are HUGE portions so share or get ready for leftovers. Chocolate layer cake is so good. Parker was our server and we've never had that good of a server, ever. He was truly perfect, accommodating and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Upon arrviving and checking in, the customer service greeting could of been more welcoming.

Our waitress was great and gave great customer service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Unfortunately a very disappointing visit starting with checkin - front desk said they would come and get us at the bar but unless the person had photo memory - no way. I went back 3 times, on the fourth she realized I hadn't't been seated in the midst of empty tables in the dining room. In fairness management apologized but then the kitchen ran out of my bone in filet, only had one bottle of my wine and ran out of two vegetables we tried to order. I know their food is good but to have this big of a miss on service is a big deal. While they compensated with a comp on the check and free dessert, I do not understand how at 8 PM the menu could be this empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Love it here!! Only place we go for steak!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The servers here are always fun. Great food, live music!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Everything was top notch until we got the check. No Apple Pay or wouldn't let me pay through Open Table app. I had to talk to 5 people and fill out a manual credit card form to get out of there. Get with the times, Mastro's! Otherwise you are great

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great environment ! Great food! Great time!
Will return for sure, if back in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We've always enjoyed going to Mastro's and this time was no different. The food is delicious, they have a nice wine list, the location is good, and the service is very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent meal and ambience. Really celebrated my husbands birthday.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were celebrating my graduation and my fiancé's birthday. This was our 2nd time dining at Mastro's and both times our service was horrible.

This time, our server was very disinterested in making any conversation with us, and rushed us through ordering our dishes. This is exactly the same way were treated the 1st time we came. This place is so pretentious and uninviting, and we probably won't be back. Our server was not friendly at all!

On top of the horrible service, our steak was so dry and terribly burned. It was crispy and charred all around. I showed the server, and instead of offering to bring another steak, he offered us a free dessert. Really? You offer a $10 dessert for a $60 steak? The first time I dined here, my steak was absolutely delicious, and I was hoping to get that again, but the kitchen failed tremendously this time around.

I was irritated and just ready to go at that point, so I just agreed to the free dessert. I hate to be treated like I'm only complaining to get something for free, so I didn't stress the issue.

We ordered the King Crab Gnocchi as a side, and that tasted like something out of the freezer section at the grocery store.

The Sautéed Shrimp and Crab Cake was out of this world delicious as usual, and my "free" Pecan Pie was absolutely divine. I probably will never dine here again though, because this establishment is clearly not concerned about the way diners are treated, so I'll just take my hard earned dollars elsewhere.

After spending almost $200 on dinner and cocktails for two, I would expect a better experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is my favorite steakhouse, the meal is always made to perfection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, food and service. We decided to try this spot on a recommendation from a friend, we will in turn recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great attentive service. Good portions for food and awesome food. Dessert good as wellZ.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

While the food was exceptional, the service was slow. We waited an exorbitant amount of time for our drinks and food. The guy in the table behind us passed out with his head on the table added to the subpar evening - overall a disappointing experience - which is out of the ordinary for Maestros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was extraordinary. Service was adequate. Not up to the standards of a restaurant with the quality of food and prices as Mastro's. From a service perspective I felt like I was in a diner. I had to flag down someone when I needed something. You guys can do better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was good. Service was good. Manager of restaurant (Stephen) was arrogant and ruined the overall experience. Too many other good steak houses in Chicago to go here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very very average, I expected it to be like the Beverly Hills location,
Top price but not top notch unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Love this restaurant. The steaks are the best in the city and the presentation of the seafood tower always thrills my guests.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Four words... Warm brown butter cake. It was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love Mastro's everything is great there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The restaurant was great and our server Kim was so amazing and understanding about me getting sick while at the restaurant. My husband said the food was great. The music was a little loud and it was a little cold but loved the atmosphere. Can't want to go back when I feel better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had one of the worst, most disappointing meals we have ever had. The service was sub par, the food was not good especially the "seafood tower" which consisted of boiled overcooked shrimp (6), one lobster tail and about 6 crab legs. Nothing had any flavor. My sons steak was flavorless. It appeared that our waitress was overwhelmed by the table next to us - who were so loud that she actually had to shout at us so we could hear her. All of her time was spent at that one table that we could see. This really goes on the worst experience ever list including that we were told to order too many desserts for 5 people. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good food and good service. Some of the portions are huge (beware of the profiteroles unless you can eat a lot!!) The place is noisy - although maybe it was because it was Saturday. Our evening was tainted by a fellow beside us who could only seem to talk at a shout level, perhaps due to too much alcohol. Take a flashlight. Menu is difficult to see.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our food was delicious, but the service was terrible. Took 15 minutes for someone to come over and take our drink order. Then when the food came, they put half on our table and left the rest on the serving tray by the side of the table and just walked away. We had to ask someone else to give it to us.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was the highlight but food extremely diasapointing. We went for our 6th anniversary and upon arrival received a Happy Anniversary card on our table on arrival. The table location was great, ambience great, bread basket great. The Caesar was good enough but the entrees were the big fail. I had the Chilean seabass-the dish looked great but tasted fair nothing special about it and slightly fishy which typically that fish is not at all. We ordered the king crab gnocchi which was tasty and good very rich. My husband ordered the Kansas City steak at the referral of the server. It was tough, chewy, and he was unable to cut it with the late steak knife. Absolutely not edible and needed to be returned. After this we didn't think it was worth trying another item on the menu as the meal was so mediocre. It's unfortunate as we had been really looking forward to eating at Mastros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

40th Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Beautiful dark bar, food excellent, service not up to par tonight.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

If you want to great steak with a great atmosphere this is the place to go !
Great service great food beautiful people !
Lots of trendy new places out there this is the place to come home to if you want the best

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.