About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sun thru Thur / Fri. & Sat till Midnight.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm till ... Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Good for a Date (111)
Romantic (101)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (98)
Live Music (71)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Business Meals (68)
Notable Wine List (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (50)
Bar Seating (50)
Hot Spot (42)
Good for Groups (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Cozy (31)
Modern Decor (31)
Fun (29)
People Watching (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Comfort Food (18)
Private Room (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Authentic (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (4)
Live Sports (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Dancing (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Celebrated my husbands 30th! Amazing meal & Everything was exceptional. My husband ordered the ribeye and I had the bone in filet. I will say the ribeye with the black truffle butter was out of this world good. You must try the lobster mashed potatoes and the black truffle gnocchi! The signature Mastro's lemon drop martini was also the best I've had anywhere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Diego was my waiter and the service was incredible! Only made the food a plus to the time spent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Delicious! The steaks are wonderful. The lighting is dark and the bar is vibrant. The bar and dining area are separated so that you can enjoy your dinner without the bar scene intruding. If you are looking for a steakhouse you found a great one!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I dined at Mastro's Steakhouse on Saturday February 18 for the first time with my lady. We had a great time. The food was amazing, especially the sautéed shrimp. The drinks were tasty, and the live music was a nice surprise. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant, and will be back myself.

P.s. We had a great server named Parker, who made our experience that much better. He was a great waiter!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

-Waited 30 more minutes beyond my appointment time with no waiting seats which makes so inconvenient for seniors and kids.

-Some waiters are less trained, others are wonderful.

  • A female manager who was managing upstairs was highly professional and emotionally intelligent. She changed our mood positively when she apologized for some disturbing behaviors by some workers and gave us a $104 discount.

  • Fantastic food

  • A big-body male manager downstairs lacks communication skills (tune, eye contact, facial expression, etiquette).

  • So, waiting time, waiting seats, less trained waiters, and the male manager downstairs would change my rating for better if they met expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Mastro's never disappoints, the food was fabulous and the service outstanding. From the shell fish we had as appetizers to the steak for dinner and the cherry crisp for dessert the meal was extraordinary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food excellent service, very neat restaurant but overpriced.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Mastros food quality is always fantastic, the bar lounge has great energy but the prices for small items and martinis is getting out of control. We paid $22 per martini. They're good sized martinis and they leave a shaker with extra at the table however this price has increased a lot over the years. We also were shocked when we got our bill that truffle butter was $15 additional per steak!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service! That butter cake though!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best steak I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was great, but the server didn't come to check on us. We would have had more drinks if he were present.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious! Every single thing from the salads to the butter cake was amazing. Yes, the butter cake is that good. The bill was a lot but that was to be expected. Special occasion and fancy date night, other than that its too much to spend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent dining experience. Highly recommended, and looking forward to the next time...

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great restaurant hostess in the front was kind of rude and we had a reservation.. I think they should be more accommodating to diners with rsvp.. but overall great food and service

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day was extraordinary thanks to Mastro's! My filet was divine; the Brussels, spinach and truffle crab gnocchi blew our minds! June gave exceptional service. I'm in Chicago often and I will be back to Mastro's asap!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always outstanding service! Diego, our server was more than friendly-he made our dining experience exceptional! Delicious Sea Bass! Slightly disappointed in the somewhat fatty filet. Nevertheless, always a wonderful dining experience! Big Fans!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to Mastro's for Valentine's Day, so my experience may be a little skewed due to the holiday's popularity and the volume of people at the restaurant that night.

Ambiance - It was a little too dark inside for my taste, but I did like the fact that it wasn't too loud. Often when we go to steakhouses, it's hard to hear the other person speak.

Food - For the price, the food was "okay" but nothing to write home about. The sauteed mushrooms were the best part of the meal. Our steak was over cooked (they comped us for it, which was nice) and the lobster mashed potatoes were lacking in flavor. We have been to many steak houses in Chicago, and the food just doesn't compare to places like Wildfire, Gibson's, or Chicago Cut.

Service - The service was a bit slow (possibly because of the holiday). It took over 10 minutes just to get a glass of water, and the food took almost an hour to come out. We had bread and wine to tide us over, but I would not recommend this place if you are in a hurry.

Overall, I'd give the place 3/5 stars. I cannot say I would go back due to the wide selection of Steakhouses in Chicago as well as having better options for the price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Mastros was very good. We celebrated our anniversary there for Valentines day and the crowd, noise level, service, atmosphere were all perfect.

The food was good. I had the Chilean sea bass and the lobster mash. Very good and I would recommend trying. Our waiter was very good as well. Just an overall good experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came for. A Romantic dinner experience on v-day waited 30 min for a menu a additional 15 min for our drinks and 20 min for bread however we watched the bread person literally skip us on fresh bread and give to the people around us then once we finally did get our food the girl "not our waiter" almost spilled the hot plate and food on me the waiter finally comes over and says oh let me straighten that out for you in turn he leans over me chest in my face to adjust a plate I already corrected the food was good however my dates steak was supposed to be well down instead it was Chared at this point I didn't have the energy to have them remake it we just took the food to go and left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a valentine's dinner and my gf loved it! We had a great table and our waiter Brian was very helpful, polite and courteous. ..we already agreed to be back with friends..loved the atmosphere. ..the food , the wine...

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went to Maestro's on Valentine's day. It was our first time in there. Food was great and prices were reasonable. Our server (Kelly) was very very attentive and helpful with the menu but when we were asked by a "helper" not our waitress if we wanted to box up the food, we gave him the plates and said yes please. We got everything boxed up including my wife's lamb rack's bones! we didn't see that until we got home so we couldn't say anything. After we left and got our car from the valet, the glove compartment was open where my wife's wallet was. she freaked out and checked it. my wife is very particular about the order of things in there so she knew someone had gone through it. Overall, the experience didn't ruin our valentine's but I wouldn't go back or recommend it to friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great meal! Everything was so good! Really worth the money. Great server! Five stars!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I loved the restaurant the food was great the service was good.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The end of January, I had the best meal ever...at Maestro's Phoenix!

wow!

Oysters Rockefeller, fantastic. Lobster Bisque, best ever anywhere! Hot Steak perfectly cooked to my request!

So ValentinesDay... I told my wife you'll have your best dinner ever describing those three dishes. The Oysters Rockefeller had a smoky cheese and couldn't taste the "rockefeller", the LobsterBisque was luke warm and had almost all lobster tips which are like eating rubber. My steak was fantastic. My wife had the exact same steak. We compared bites and hers was chemically tasting! What?

Your staff was fantastic, very attentive. and much appreciated!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and great service

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very elegant, great service. I would definitely recommend Mastro's for the experience of a comfortable yet elegant steakhouse.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was delicious. Server was swamped and took a long time to come back around to our table. The table itself felt like a card table with a tablecloth on it. It was extremely loose and felt like it could fall apart at any second. I notified the manager and they did wave our corking fee, but when I take my girlfriend to a restaurant like this and have over a 200 dollar bill, a rickety table like that is kind of embarrassing and definitely takes away from the experience. Between the table and the fact that we didnt see our waiter for 20 minute increments, made my experience at Mastros just good, not great. Again, the food was top notch and delicious. Just order 2 or 3 glasses of wine before dinner so youre not hunting down the staff to get one for you.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So much fun to celebrate my birthday- service & food are always fabulous plus the live music at the bar was fantastic! Love me some Mastros!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Kelly our server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Corner where seated very dark. Very loud in that specific area. Ordered the chefs cut ribeye very fatty and a little over seasoned. All other pieces of the meal were great but steaks are expensive should be of quality for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second visit to Mastro's Chicago. We again enjoyed it very much. I am still blown away by their prices though. It is a very, very expensive evening and as long as you're prepared for that sticker shock, it is very good food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food, outstanding bartender, waiter and bus service, very responsive to your requests and friendly. Its pricey but worth it. Signature Lemon Drop Martini is the BEST I ever had. Seafood tower is to die for! Breads are fantastic. Save room for the butter cake. My only regret is that my GF got sick with the flu, so I didn't get to finish my dinner\dessert and fully enjoy this outstanding dining experience. I cannot afford to put down $300 on a meal often, but this experience I would save for again. I'm not a big ambience guy but it was acceptable. Facilities were clean and orderly, restroom entrance was small for such a large restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Underwhelming all around! Took forever to open the dining room..my husbands filet was suppose to be larger than mine and was exactly same size..larger price of course rho! Butter cake was excellent tho!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Restaurant week

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was my first time dining at Mastro's. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. One of Chicago's finest steak house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Delicious food, live band, Restroom Courtesy Valet... The sashimi is unbelievable and the salmon fantastic. The filet is like butter. Highly recommended but bring your deep pocketbook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Dined during restaurant week. Food was tasty, noise level not so much. There were several groups in our section of the restaurant. That made it difficult to have conversation at our table. Other than that, it was a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant! I love the desserts and drinks. I celebrated my 60th birthday here and it was a memorable occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food, service and ambience! I really enjoyed the live music as well, that was a plus!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great steak and fish! My Gf and I were impressed with the food quality and the attentiveness of the staff.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I love the chain but I must tell you I'm disappointed when compare to the Newport beach or the New York restaurants. The service was ok , specially when four people have $700 bill. we were seated in extremely loud noisy area and was promptly moved on request Sides came much later than at the start of the meal. Doesn't have the same atmosphere or service as there their other restaurants. Another point Ca/NY restaurants usually call me afterwords and ask about their service. never received a call only a call to confirm the reservation. Chicago has much better steak houses worth the value such as Gibsons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Felt extremely rushed at dinner. Made it a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great music, great steak followed by overwhelming dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great place, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great service, made to feel welcome and tremendous food!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent steak, very good quality, excellent service, stylish room, great location!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was ok not what I expected, little food for a big price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Thanks. Just fantastic every single time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.