About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sun thru Thur / Fri. & Sat till Midnight.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm till ... Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Good for a Date (79)
See All
Romantic (75)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Live Music (58)
Business Meals (54)
Notable Wine List (44)
Bar Seating (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Fun (23)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Cozy (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Authentic (13)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Went before going to see Hamilton and it was great! The food was outstanding and the service was out of this world! Took our 10 month old and they were all so great with her!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (México)·Dined 3 days ago

Whatever and ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Waiters are bitter about 25% tips and added $.01 to an even bill total... petty.

Don't forget this is just another chain anyways- better steakhouses in most cities with better wagyu options- also always disappointed no dry aging here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent cocktails, steaks cooked perfectly to order. Cocktails and some sides are over priced, but wouldn't deter me from coming back. The complimentary birthday dessert was a slice of chocolate layer cake and fresh whipped cream. Beautiful presentations all around and YUM.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great steakhouse, great service. I've been there several times, and never been disappointed. The only semi-negative I can say is that it is pretty dark in there. I couldn't read the bar menu without a light from my cell phone. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for. Our waitress was a somalier as well, so she was able to help me pick out the perfect wine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Mastro's to celebrate an anniversary and it did not disappoint! Food was outstanding, service was awesome, and it was very romantic. Thanks Mastro's for a great evening out!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding and service was god but not great. Waiter was very good when he was at our table, but sometimes seemed inattentive due to number of tables he was assisting. Remainder of wait staff made up for his absence very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice restaurant- just VERY expensive. I get it's a brand thing, but when dinner for 2 is $250 and you leave hungry there is a problem. It's not a knock on the restaurant, I'm just not their target audience.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

While our meal was superb, our service was pleasant but mediocre. After being seated it took over 30 Minutes to get our cocktails and the server was back only twice. He may have been busy but at $150/person the service needs to match the meal. It can't be one or the other.....they have to go hand in hand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service and servers. Food was best in class. We had a delightful meal and a great experience. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was superb as was the service. The noise level was so high we could not have a conversation without shouting. We will not be back to this restaurant until they get the noise acoustics fixed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Mastro's Steakhouse was very elegant, but a little pretentious. Most of the male customers wore suits or sport jackets, which is unusual in this day and age. The steaks were excellent, as was the warm butter cake, and the complimentary slice of chocolate cake with my name and "Happy Birthday" written on it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great first experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I enjoyed my meal very much, and enjoyed the full whiskey selection including my favorite brands however I was disappointed at the gluten free menu; some other steakhouses have a fuller selection of appetizers & side dishes and also provide gluten free bread.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

It is ok and nice. Food was ok but not "wow". By far too dark. Too big portions. Service is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Been to other Mastro's and was very impressed so I thought I would try the one in Chicago. The good was on par with the other, but the service was horrible. We had to ask for bread 4 times and when we finally got some we didn't have any silverware or napkins. We also ordered a nice bottle of wine, which they were out of and after we selected another bottle that was 50 bucks more, it did not come until we were half way done with our steaks so we sent it back.

They seemed very out of sorts at this Mastro's. Too many great steakhouse's in Chicago to pay this kind of money for poor or non-existent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I like to travel and one of the best parts of travel is being able to try different restaurants and have long, enjoyable meals. I have been to numerous high-end establishments and have had many wonderful meals. This was my first visit to Mastro's and I have to honestly say that this was one of the best meals and most relaxing environments I have been to in awhile if not ever. Highly recommend this establishment and look forward to my next visit to Mastro's.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our food and waiter, Omar, were both amazing. I rarely eat red meat, so when I do I want it to be perfect, which it was. Atmosphere was nice. Live music started as we were wrapping up our meal but if we had extra time I would have enjoyed sitting in the bar for an after dinner drink.
The only drawback is that they enforce a dress code but nowhere is it listed. I specifically looked it up before we went and could only find somewhere (not the Maestros site) that it is business casual. We were both dressed very nicely, but my boyfriend had on a cap. Not an athletic hat, but a nice newsboy hat. We were told he needed to remove it before we sat down. I told them they did not list a dress code anywhere on their website and I had looked before we came there. A manager needed to be called. I explained we would be absolutely fine walking around the corner to RPM. They made an exception but her attitude was condescending and I did not appreciate it. Don't point out the "dress code strictly enforced" sign, and not display a dress code. That is the only drawback to Maestros and now that we've experienced it, we will probably go to RPM or Ruth's Chris in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was awesome! Mastro's is one of our favorites. We can always rely on them for a perfectly cooked steak and accoutrements. The chocolate cake is dreamy! The service could have been a bit better for the price! They didn't refill our waters often enough and I had to ask for knives, twice. Other than that, everything was spectacular!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was excellent! Service perfect. Our waiter was particularly helpful and knowledgeable. Always at hand but didn't hover.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went to Mastro's to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had a 6:15 pm reservation on a Saturday evening. It was very quiet when we arrived but by 7:30 pm the place was buzzing! The food was too die for! Ordered a shrimp cocktail for an appetizer and the presentation was fun and amusing (see pic). For the entree we ordered the bone in ribeye that we shared and had unbelievable flavor and melted in your mouth. We also ordered main lobster which was more than enough for two of us to share! Brussels sprouts were charred to perfection with a nice earthy, carmel flavor. We were too full to order dessert but the waiter was so kind to bring a nice hunk of chocolate cake to the man of the hour. I will definitely return. For us, this was definitely a splurge! I recommend Mastro's for special celebrations and definitely a business lunch or dinner!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

On par with the top steakhouses in Chicago. Great service and food. A little dark for my taste but an overall enjoyable experience. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Too dark, too noisy, servers too busy to check back on us frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Waited 20 minutes for a table after having a reservation and waitress said it would only be 5 minutes. Then the server did not check on us for 10 minutes until after the food came and was not able to order more drinks. The food was delicious just did not get a 5 star experience eventhough we paid for one. I will not go back to this location unless invited by friends. Also, they called to thank me for dining at the restaurant the next day. This is 2017 and no one likes random phone calls on their phones.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was excellent steak was good. Side was bad lobster mashed potatoes the lobster was hard as rock creamed spinach was room temp and mushrooms no good Tomatoe salad. Tasted of dish water restaurant called ask how was everything my husband explained they said we will have a mngr call u back they never did ?dont know why they ask and said a mngr will call back then never ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful! The bacon steak was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

After being seated at two of the worst tables in the house, we finally were able to get a nice corner booth and had a wonderful time. Food was outstanding, service was top notch, and we had a wonderful time. Will definitely go back next time in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

I took my husband to celebrate his birthday - we really enjoyed the evening. They took the time to wish him a happy birthday on several ocassions i.e., when we checked in, there was a birthday card on the table and when they served dessert - they made it special! The steaks and chop were cooked to perfection. Again, an all around enjoyable evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Mastros' is one of the best steakhouses in Chicago. Excellent steaks in a very nice atmosphere. Always enjoy the band playing in the lounge area. We dine there 3 to 4 times a year.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and service. Bone in filet was cooked perfectly and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food. Great. Justin was awesome. Family had a wonderful experience. One of the best steaks I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We always have a consistently excellent meal and enjoy the intimate atmosphere. We never eat dessert but everyone in the family is addicted to the butter cake which we have sometimes picked up for birthday celebrations. We especially liked our bartender who explained and helped us compare and choose cocktails with a sidecar for each. Unfortunately I did not catch her name as we were in the bar for only a short time before being seated.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was my 1st time at a Mastros steakhouse and the experience was excellent. The food and service was impeccable and I liked the atmosphere in the bar/lounge area. Definitely recommend this place for dates, birthdays and other special occasions. A+++

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

1) It's too dark inside.
2) The busboys are constantly attempting to remove dishes that aren't finished (sign of poor training).
3) I had the filet - it was fine (nothing special, though). My wife had the sea bass - she found it nearly inedible, leaving most of it behind.
4) The house salad was an over-engineered, distasteful mess.
5) The waiter did a decent job.

There are lots of steakhouses in Chicago - find a different one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This rivaled the most expensive meal we've ever purchased. However, it was definitely the best meal we've ever eaten. I cut my filet with my fork and it melted in my mouth. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our experience was amazing at Mastro's Saturday night. The food was amazing and the service was exceptional. Brittani and her team did an amazing job serving us and making my wife's birthday experience truly amazing. We will definitely be back in the future and will suggest it to many others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Mastros never disappoints. Another great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The service at Mastro's is absolutely amazing. They made our families last night together a special one. The manager came by our table half way through the meal to check on us, and wish me good luck at college. The food as always was amazing and came out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great experience as always. Tomahawk Steak was the highlight!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.