About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sun thru Thur / Fri. & Sat till Midnight.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm till ... Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (112)
Good for a Date (105)
Romantic (100)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Live Music (74)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Business Meals (68)
Notable Wine List (62)
Bar Seating (52)
Vibrant Bar Scene (50)
Good for Groups (41)
Hot Spot (41)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Fun (32)
Cozy (32)
Modern Decor (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
People Watching (28)
Comfort Food (18)
Private Room (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Family Style (5)
Live Sports (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Dancing (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent dining experience. Highly reco ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent dining experience. Highly recommended, and looking forward to the next time...

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant hostess in the front wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant hostess in the front was kind of rude and we had a reservation.. I think they should be more accommodating to diners with rsvp.. but overall great food and service

Tags: , Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day was extraordinary thanks ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's Day was extraordinary thanks to Mastro's! My filet was divine; the Brussels, spinach and truffle crab gnocchi blew our minds! June gave exceptional service. I'm in Chicago often and I will be back to Mastro's asap!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding service! Diego, our s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always outstanding service! Diego, our server was more than friendly-he made our dining experience exceptional! Delicious Sea Bass! Slightly disappointed in the somewhat fatty filet. Nevertheless, always a wonderful dining experience! Big Fans!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Mastro's for Valentine's Day, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Mastro's for Valentine's Day, so my experience may be a little skewed due to the holiday's popularity and the volume of people at the restaurant that night.

Ambiance - It was a little too dark inside for my taste, but I did like the fact that it wasn't too loud. Often when we go to steakhouses, it's hard to hear the other person speak.

Food - For the price, the food was "okay" but nothing to write home about. The sauteed mushrooms were the best part of the meal. Our steak was over cooked (they comped us for it, which was nice) and the lobster mashed potatoes were lacking in flavor. We have been to many steak houses in Chicago, and the food just doesn't compare to places like Wildfire, Gibson's, or Chicago Cut.

Service - The service was a bit slow (possibly because of the holiday). It took over 10 minutes just to get a glass of water, and the food took almost an hour to come out. We had bread and wine to tide us over, but I would not recommend this place if you are in a hurry.

Overall, I'd give the place 3/5 stars. I cannot say I would go back due to the wide selection of Steakhouses in Chicago as well as having better options for the price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Mastros was very good. We celebrated our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Mastros was very good. We celebrated our anniversary there for Valentines day and the crowd, noise level, service, atmosphere were all perfect.

The food was good. I had the Chilean sea bass and the lobster mash. Very good and I would recommend trying. Our waiter was very good as well. Just an overall good experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for. A Romantic dinner experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We came for. A Romantic dinner experience on v-day waited 30 min for a menu a additional 15 min for our drinks and 20 min for bread however we watched the bread person literally skip us on fresh bread and give to the people around us then once we finally did get our food the girl "not our waiter" almost spilled the hot plate and food on me the waiter finally comes over and says oh let me straighten that out for you in turn he leans over me chest in my face to adjust a plate I already corrected the food was good however my dates steak was supposed to be well down instead it was Chared at this point I didn't have the energy to have them remake it we just took the food to go and left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

This was a valentine's dinner and my gf ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a valentine's dinner and my gf loved it! We had a great table and our waiter Brian was very helpful, polite and courteous. ..we already agreed to be back with friends..loved the atmosphere. ..the food , the wine...

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I went to Maestro's on Valen ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I went to Maestro's on Valentine's day. It was our first time in there. Food was great and prices were reasonable. Our server (Kelly) was very very attentive and helpful with the menu but when we were asked by a "helper" not our waitress if we wanted to box up the food, we gave him the plates and said yes please. We got everything boxed up including my wife's lamb rack's bones! we didn't see that until we got home so we couldn't say anything. After we left and got our car from the valet, the glove compartment was open where my wife's wallet was. she freaked out and checked it. my wife is very particular about the order of things in there so she knew someone had gone through it. Overall, the experience didn't ruin our valentine's but I wouldn't go back or recommend it to friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great meal! Everything was so good! Re ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal! Everything was so good! Really worth the money. Great server! Five stars!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the restaurant the food was grea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I loved the restaurant the food was great the service was good.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and great service

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very elegant, great service. I would def ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very elegant, great service. I would definitely recommend Mastro's for the experience of a comfortable yet elegant steakhouse.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Server was swamped a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was delicious. Server was swamped and took a long time to come back around to our table. The table itself felt like a card table with a tablecloth on it. It was extremely loose and felt like it could fall apart at any second. I notified the manager and they did wave our corking fee, but when I take my girlfriend to a restaurant like this and have over a 200 dollar bill, a rickety table like that is kind of embarrassing and definitely takes away from the experience. Between the table and the fact that we didnt see our waiter for 20 minute increments, made my experience at Mastros just good, not great. Again, the food was top notch and delicious. Just order 2 or 3 glasses of wine before dinner so youre not hunting down the staff to get one for you.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

So much fun to celebrate my birthday- se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So much fun to celebrate my birthday- service & food are always fabulous plus the live music at the bar was fantastic! Love me some Mastros!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kelly our server was great!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Kelly our server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Corner where seated very dark. Very lou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Corner where seated very dark. Very loud in that specific area. Ordered the chefs cut ribeye very fatty and a little over seasoned. All other pieces of the meal were great but steaks are expensive should be of quality for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

This was our second visit to Mastro's Ch ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second visit to Mastro's Chicago. We again enjoyed it very much. I am still blown away by their prices though. It is a very, very expensive evening and as long as you're prepared for that sticker shock, it is very good food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome food, outstanding bartender, wai ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food, outstanding bartender, waiter and bus service, very responsive to your requests and friendly. Its pricey but worth it. Signature Lemon Drop Martini is the BEST I ever had. Seafood tower is to die for! Breads are fantastic. Save room for the butter cake. My only regret is that my GF got sick with the flu, so I didn't get to finish my dinner\dessert and fully enjoy this outstanding dining experience. I cannot afford to put down $300 on a meal often, but this experience I would save for again. I'm not a big ambience guy but it was acceptable. Facilities were clean and orderly, restroom entrance was small for such a large restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Underwhelming all around! Took forever t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Underwhelming all around! Took forever to open the dining room..my husbands filet was suppose to be larger than mine and was exactly same size..larger price of course rho! Butter cake was excellent tho!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant week

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Restaurant week

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

This was my first time dining at Mastro' ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was my first time dining at Mastro's. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. One of Chicago's finest steak house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, live band, Restroom Cour ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Delicious food, live band, Restroom Courtesy Valet... The sashimi is unbelievable and the salmon fantastic. The filet is like butter. Highly recommended but bring your deep pocketbook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined during restaurant week. Food was t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Dined during restaurant week. Food was tasty, noise level not so much. There were several groups in our section of the restaurant. That made it difficult to have conversation at our table. Other than that, it was a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my favorite restaurant! I love t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant! I love the desserts and drinks. I celebrated my 60th birthday here and it was a memorable occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambience! I real ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food, service and ambience! I really enjoyed the live music as well, that was a plus!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak and fish! My Gf and I were i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great steak and fish! My Gf and I were impressed with the food quality and the attentiveness of the staff.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the chain but I must tell you I'm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I love the chain but I must tell you I'm disappointed when compare to the Newport beach or the New York restaurants. The service was ok , specially when four people have $700 bill. we were seated in extremely loud noisy area and was promptly moved on request Sides came much later than at the start of the meal. Doesn't have the same atmosphere or service as there their other restaurants. Another point Ca/NY restaurants usually call me afterwords and ask about their service. never received a call only a call to confirm the reservation. Chicago has much better steak houses worth the value such as Gibsons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Felt extremely rushed at dinner. Made i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Felt extremely rushed at dinner. Made it a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great music, great steak followed by ove ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great music, great steak followed by overwhelming dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great place, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, made to feel welcome and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great service, made to feel welcome and tremendous food!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak, very good quality, exce ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent steak, very good quality, excellent service, stylish room, great location!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok not what I expected, little fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was ok not what I expected, little food for a big price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Thanks. Just fantastic every single time ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Thanks. Just fantastic every single time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints. Always a favorite wh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Never disappoints. Always a favorite when in Chicago.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation, but were seated 20 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a reservation, but were seated 20 minutes late because it was a busy Saturday night. We got a drink from the bar while we waited. They had live music, which was fun.

Once we were seated, we were greeted by our friendly server. We were given the menu, wine list and special menu, but had to ask for a cocktail menu.

Everything we had was excellent. The decor is lovely and sophisticated. It's rather loud between conversations being had, but we could talk without shouting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is outstanding, the steaks are ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is outstanding, the steaks are so tender....💯

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Steak was over cooked, ordered medium ra ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Steak was over cooked, ordered medium rare and got well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We went here for restaurant week as it h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went here for restaurant week as it had been recommended by friends of ours who frequent Mastros. The food was impeccable, but the service was lackluster. This was a great opportunity for Mastros to show us their fine dining experience and we were sorely unimpressed. The waiter was curt and unhelpful. He asked bluntly if we were going to order a side, which we didn't realize wasn't part of the restaurant week menu. I asked for suggestions and he rattled off a few items without any enthusiasm. We didn't order a side. The staff reached across the table in front of us multiple times without apology and tended to drop/toss plates, glasses, and silverware. Also, we were not warned that the plate with the steak was sitting in an oven and was extremely hot. This is a huge liability and luckily none of us were burned. When we requested more bread during the meal, it was not brought out until our dessert had been served.

I'm not a demanding patron, but assumed Mastros would be providing 5 star service. We've been to other steakhouses in Chicago and were treated as though we were guests in a home. If service matters, do not go to Mastros. If you're ok with mediocre service and excellent food, this is your place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.