Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

6991 E. Camelback Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Goldwater

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 941-4700

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
George Harrison

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Suzi Ayers for your next event.
sayers@mastrosrestaurants.com
480.596.5250

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance for the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event. Our private dining rooms offer the perfect setting for every type of event for groups of 10 to 500 guests. It's an unforgettable experience!

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Good for a Date (77)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
See All
Good for Birthdays (56)
Romantic (55)
Business Meals (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Notable Wine List (46)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Groups (36)
Bar Seating (36)
Hot Spot (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
People Watching (34)
Modern Decor (29)
Fun (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Live Music (25)
Happy Hour (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Casual (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Private Room (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Family Style (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Sports (5)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

We are so happy we went to Mastro's. What an amazing meal. I had the Oysters Rockefeller, which were some of the best I've ever had. My wife had the shrimp cocktail, simple but perfectly prepared. We both had Filet's for dinner. I had the 12oz bone in and she had the 6oz petite filet. The steak was better than I've had at other top notch steak places in the area. The best part was the waiter - he was amazing. We weren't rushed at all and the place was packed. The band played at a great volume so you could still speak. I would highly recommend this place for a great dinner. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was my first time visiting Mastro's. It was for a first date , I couldn't have been more happier with the atmosphere, and the level of attentiveness we received from our serve Darren . Great first impression , will be visiting again very soon ...

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing food - here you get what you pay for. The portions are bigger than enough and look tastefully put together. Both the bone in rib-eye and filet mignon were perfect, and we were comped with an amazing strawberry and buttermilk cake. Perfect way to spend our anniversary :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our dining experience at Mastro's City Hall was Superb in every way!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We wanted a fine dining experience and that is exactly what we received! The service was incredible and professional. The food was top quality and delicious. It is expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Made reservations for my mother's 80th Birthday. Originally it was 6. I tried to add two more totaling to 8. I thought it changed it in the website. But I called just before to confirm and the hostess said the reservation was not changed and was only for 6. So we ended up having to sit in the lounge. The experience was great other than my mother said it was too loud and it was tough to hear conversations because of the bar noise.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Booked our table well in advance. We were seated in bar, table for 4.
Noisy. We asked to be moved and they could not accommodate.
Service was great until we ordered a "red blend" wine. Not given any choice, we were presented with Bill, a $35 glass of wine! This is not the experience worthy of a $350 dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were there to celebrate a birthday. The food was great. We all had filets, gnocchi and asparagus. It was all delicious. The butter cake is fabulous. It was a bit noisy because of graduation but always worth going too. Great service too!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Wine list is 3x retail. A more reasonable mark up would encourage a finer dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great Food & Service with great Ambiance on outside patio!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

GREAT SERVICE AND FOOD WAS OUSTANDING GREAT WINE SELECTION

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We were celebrating our daughter's doctoral graduation from ASU. Beyond momentous occasion. We had been to Mastro's once before while visiting Scottsdale.
We had such a great experience back then, I decided to plan our celebratory dinner at Mastro's City Hall. They reconfirmed and had everything ready. Sarah was our server and she was personable, professional and made our evening perfect. The manager stopped over for a visit as my husband wanted to compliment the entire staff who took care of our party of 9. We ended with a lovely dessert presentation for the graduate and two delicious desserts, compliments of the management. Then I received a follow up phone call personally thanking us for choosing Mastro's, hoping we had a wonderful time. We certainly did and we will be back. We highly recommend this upscale dining experience. Thank you for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of the best steak places, service is awesome, they know how to cook steaks just right.
presentation of food is excellent. Food delivery exceptional and well prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great Place ! The porterhouse steak is the best in the world

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was outstanding (though the service could have been better). The bone in Kansas City strip was perfectly prepared and my wife's Chilean sea bass outstanding as well. The other couple both had filet and both were extremely pleased. The restaurant has great ambiance, an extensive wine list (we had the Trefethen Cab) and delicious food. I highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Total fine dining experience. Service was attentive and the food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is outstanding. Service was excellent. When making reservation I requested special acknowledgement for my wife and sons girlfriend's birthdays. They did an excellent job with birthday desert, but botched the acknowledgement. Overall it was a great restaurant, great well prepared food and good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service. I rarely order steak in a restaurant because I am usually disappointed. Instead, I buy aged prime beef and prepare it at home. This is always better than what is served in a restaurant. Mastro's is a notable exception. Their steak was absolutely outstanding. The service was impeccable. The ambiance was great. I will definitely return and highly recommend it to others.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was a great way to spend my 30th Birthdayyyy!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Do NOT waste your time or money going here! It used to be fabulous, now it is mismanaged, poor service. I had a reservation, they made us wait more than an hour. We gave up and left. There are much better places that deserve my business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always, a great upscale experience at Mastros. We sat in the bar and enjoyed the live music and scottsdale scene!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I don't think I've ever had a better steak & all the accompaniments we had are also world-class. Great, unbeatable spot for a special occasion where fun and people watching are enjoyed. Be prepared to dig deep into your wallet. They'll get you for $150-$200 per person, but in all honesty, you probably won't regret it.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing experience. We were celebrating my Brothers college graduation after 30 plus years serving in the Air Force. The restaurant went above and beyond to honor him and make the evening special. This is definitely a little pricey but an all around experience that is quite memorable. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Overall great meal, fantastic service, but the dining room is way too dark, bring a flashlight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

From everything I heard about Mastros that is was amazing. People told me the service was top notched. Well we went into it with the bar set high. We were greeted very rudely and coldly by the hostess. She didn't even look us in the eye, or ask how we were doing. Then once we got to our seat, it took us 10 min to even get a water, and it wasn't from our waiter. We then sat for another 15 minutes waiting for our waiter to show up. In fact a waiter who wasn't even ours, saw how we were angry and annoyed at this service, that he jumped in an took our order. This set the mood for the rest of the night. It was bad. We then thought hey, maybe they will take our drinks off the bill, or something to help compensate for the horrible service. Nope nothing at all. I do compliment Alan, who wasn't our waiter. he had a busy night for himself and he still managed to check in on us and make sure we were being taken care of. If it was up to me, that man should get a raise and our tip. But overall the food was great, the service from the start was bad.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great service and great food. A little noisy because they were renovating the hallway, I'm surprised they were doing it during dinner time. But it was still a great dinner. Lobster mash potatoes are amazing!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lots of fancy restaurants in Scottsdale, but not all of them have caviar. I chose Mastros 4 Valentines & my birthday just 4 that reason. Yum! Great wine & food and super friendly staff!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had a great date night with my wife! Everything was perfect, from the service to the food, everything was fantastic! We will be back very soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Best NewYork Strip I have ever had. The waitress is nice to the guest.
Nothing to complain except the high price. But it is worthy of it

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Poor service. Very slow. Very crowded and loud

Not a good evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was my third time dining here in as many years.

I am considered by my friends to be a steak connoisseur/snob an I will say the steaks here are FANTASTIC...as is the service.

Sushi appetizers very good

One side I would not recommend is the Lobster Mashed potatoes. They are pricey, lobster was overcooked and not alot of flavor. Kind of thought this when I had them last visit, gave it another try and results were same or worse. Will not order again. Mac n cheese was up to standards.

Had butter cake and Creme brulee for the table, both excellent

Cocktails are a generous pour as would be in line with prices

Overall a great restaurant, expect lively noise level (Even late...our reservation was 9:15) and a check in line with other high end steak places

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The waitress made our experience so much better. Please let her know she did an amazing job and we would love to be seated in her section again if she's working that night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great mashed potatoes with lobster, excellent service and best of all a great ny strip!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Half of our steaks were overdone. Very disappointing from Mastros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was great, but service was a little slow. While the service was attentive at times, it seemed like it was spread a little thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Here are the knowns:
Steaks, 10/10 always, never had a steak better. Changed it up this time and went with a bone in 12once, best decision I've ever made in life!

I've had people look at me funny at Mastro's before because yes I'm chocolate, and that's cool, I don't care... I have money. Never have I had someone that worked at Mastro's treat me as if I didn't belong. My friends were with me as well and this was their first time and they don't want to come back because of the way they were treated.

If you want good steaks, it's the place the to be.
Good service, most of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Mastro's City Hall is our favorite restaurant in Scottsdale and in the Valley of the Sun. We always have a lot of fun, especially with our dear friends, Tammi, Jess and Alan. They are simply the best. We have often driven from Tucson just to have dinner there. Enjoy!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The steaks were really dry, not cooked well. Asked for medium and most of it was medium well. The side of potatoes was burned at the bottom. Overall, not impressed especially with the price tags we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a fun evening and will be back soon!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.