About Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

6991 E. Camelback Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Goldwater

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 941-4700

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
George Harrison

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Suzi Ayers for your next event.
sayers@mastrosrestaurants.com
480.596.5250

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance for the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event. Our private dining rooms offer the perfect setting for every type of event for groups of 10 to 500 guests. It's an unforgettable experience!

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (56)
Romantic (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Business Meals (33)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Good for Groups (21)
People Watching (18)
Happy Hour (14)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (11)
Live Music (10)
Private Room (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Family Style (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

We had heard wonderful things about Mastro's so we greatly looked forward to our dinner here. Sadly, the hype didn't match our experience. We had reservations but still had to wait 20 minutes for a table. The place is so loud we often had to lean over the table to maintain a conversation. The servers were attentive and polite. The food was "okay." Both my dining partner and I asked for our steaks to be cooked medium well. Mine still had blood coming from the center and was medium rare at best. The good news is that once we finally got someone's attention to ask the steak be cooked a tad more, the server was quick to respond. The couple at the table next to us needed a hotel room so desperately that I was tempted to foot the bill just so the woman gyrating on the man's lap would actually have a more appropriate place to work. When following up with friends who had initially recommend Mastro's, we learned they were speaking of the Mastro's in Kierland. We'll give that restaurant a try in a few weeks. Would not return to City Hall again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

We couldnt hear our host. Very noisy. Seats were really close. Food was good. Overall good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great scene, expensive but very cool interior. Waiter was great. Food was above average except for Chilean sea bass which neither looked like nor tasted like sea bass. Very loud but full of people having a good time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

The warm butter cake is absolutely delicious! The portions for the sides are large enough to share amongst 2-4 people. Lobster mashed potatoes are a must have. Excellent food always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible food and atmosphere. Always a treat. Very good live music. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was fantastic as usual, the SEAFOOD TOWER IS A MUST.... Also the Mac and Cheese and also the Lobster Mashed Potatoes ,,,all fantastic👍👍👍👍👍👍

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was a birthday celebration on a Saturday night (so keep that in mind). I had read that this restaurant was really noisy but so I had called and asked for a table as far away from the bar as possible. It was really loud anyway. My friend's filet had to be sent back twice. Manager did comp it though. My husband's Salmon was dry. I had the Sea Bass which was awesome. There were no towels in the ladies room and it was a mess, no attendant.

The service was fabulous from Kristen and her helper (forgive me - not sure what to call him) but he kept my water full and that's super important to me.

I so wanted this to be a special evening for my friend and sadly it wasn't.

I wouldn't go back because of the noise level.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome meal as always! Petit filet and crab leg gnocchi WOW

The surprise of the evening was the sinful chocolate cake, it was light and delicious

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have visited a couple other Mastro's locations and had never got to this one, so we made a point to get there last Friday. Overall we were not too impressed. Crowded entry area - had reservations and still waited 20 minutes for an 8:45 reservation. Appetizer we tried the king crab stuffed mushrooms - nothing special and the mushrooms were rather rubbery. For dinner I had the bone in filet and my wife had Chilean sea bass. I ordered a Medium+ and it was a very good piece of steak, but horribly prepared - charred outside, near rare at parts inside. My wife did not like the sea bass - nothing special in the preparation. The sweat potatoes and brussels sprouts were good. Service was excellent - food/preparation was not. I have had much better food for a much better price. We liked the general atmosphere, but would likely just come back perhaps to have a drink and listen to live music.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Absolutely delicious and always worth it! Looking forward to the next time!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I would only recommend Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse depending on what one was looking for in a restaurant. If you like a loud environment for dinner where it is hard to hear the person you are talking too, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is the first time in my ten years of eating at this restaurant that I ever have anything negative to say. The service was so below standard and the suggested items on the menu or actually disgusting and arrive to the table burnt. I would still recommend Mastro's Based solely on their past performance....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall great food, service and ambiance. Loved everything about this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding experience, the food was phenomenal, and the outside patio was amazing. Best Valentine's Day dinner experience ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our first table was right in front of a wait staff station plus the room was cold. Given location, we asked to be re-seated. Seated in bar area which was very loud with a very loud band and thus made our special occasion anything but special - Valentine's Day. This was the second year in a row we had the similar problem. We have learned, never eat at Mastro's on Valentine's Day. We love the food and service but not on this night.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Normally Mastro's is a great dining experience with great food, music and atmosphere. On Valentines day it was a line of couples waiting to be seated (about 30 minutes with a reservation), they added tables to take in more revenue (advantage) of valentines day, thus is was way overcrowded, even the servers were irritated by the log jam, the food was just ok when it's normally very good at this restaurant, they did not have live music as usual to make room for more tables, er, revenue, and it just was not a great experience for a couple hundred dollar dinner. I will not go here again for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My hubby took me here on Valentines Day 4 dinner. The space was beautiful. The staff was friendly. The wine was wonderful. The caviar was amazing. This just might b r new annual Valentines spot!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A superb dining experience with exceptional service and very creative menu. This is what dining should be about in a family friendly atmosphere but still retaining that old 1960s feel of the customer is king and that the diner is a guest. The staff was incredibly helpful and interesting to talk to. As I told my wife during the meal this is what five-star dining is all about.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner ... excellent service, outdoor patio allows intimate conversation ... food was perfect ... highly recommend the onion soup ...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very noisy. Can't really visi across a table, but otherwise excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had such a great experience at Mastro's for an early Valentine's Day dinner. Everything from the food to service to atmosphere was amazing. You are really paying for quality of the overall experience. Highly recommend for anyone looking to enjoy a special night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a very pleasant dining experience celebrating Valentines Day. They food was amazing and the wait staff even better. They paced the meal so the timing was just right. We had steaks...perfect, and the lobster mashed potatoes delicious. Our server was knowledgeable and comfortable. We had a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

With the prices being as high as they were (food well worth it) seats /tAbles way too close for comfort of enjoying the meal

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service, seated right away (had reservation), food was perfect it is not cheap but it is really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely terrific dinner. Steaks were perfect - the bone-in filet melts in your mouth. Side dishes were plentiful; beef carpaccio app was fantastic. Cocktails were great and wine list is very nice, albeit an expensive list. Beware the price tag, but if you're not afraid to spend a bit, this place will not disappoint. Oh, and get the butter cake for dessert.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing anniversary dinner! We each had a bottle of wine and shared appetizers, soup, rib eye, and butter cake! Thank you for the prompt and friendly service Kristin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Unreal food!! So delicious. Best food in Phoenix love it

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Fantastic food, everything was top notch. The ribeye was one of the best I have ever had, and the butter pound cake was criminal it was so good... Try your best to save room...

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Steaks were very salty. Calamari was very salty. Petite filet was no bigger than 3 oz. and charred. It was so dark a flashlight had to be used for the wine list. We would not recommend this restaurant. A very disappointing family event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food and service was very good. A bit noisy spilling over from the bar area. Service good but slow.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Still the best steak in the Phoenix area. The service was excellent, even on a busy Saturday night during the Phoenix Open.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We've always had a great experience, fabulous every time we've been at Mastros. Except this time! But...by the end of the night, the manager made it right!!! The bad experience started with service, continued through dinner that was prepared wrong, more slow service, to billing errors. Everyone can have a bad night and we have always been extremely pleased, even surprised how consistent the experience has always been and at such a high level. Our waiter was 'off', perhaps on something, stressed, but it went beyond that. The manager got involved, comped a dessert platter, gave a courtesy discount, then when the waiter went home without telling anyone, deducted 50% of the remaining food bill. He made it right!!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A perfect spot for our anniversary. Corey was excellent as were all the staff.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was amazing. Our server was on point. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling or looking for a place to dine. Awesome😉😉😉😉

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fabulous as always!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Terrific service from Randy, our waiter. Seafood tower was terrific, as was my rib eye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was excellent with the exception of having to wait +40 minutes after having made reservations through OpenTable several days prior. And with the bar area over capacitated, there's no where to stand or sit while you wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food, excellent steaks, courteous and attentive wait staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful food and service very upscale

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our server was easily distracted or she assumed the support staff would be more attentive than they were. Steaks were great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse never disappoints! Delicious dinner, energetic atmosphere and outstanding service. Looking forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent Restaurant. Service was great and food was outstanding. Ambiance good. Filet Mignon was the best ever. Alaskan King Crab Legs were also some of the best I have ever had. Highly recommended with friends and special date night. Can't wait to go back to Scottsdale to visit Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse again.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

They flipped our steaks - mine was supposed to be medium and my dates medium plus. They got them mixed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Don't sit in the bar area if you want to be able to hear each other. Very noisy..loud!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Mastros was a disappointment. It was very dark in the restaurant and pretty noisy. I had a petite filet which was good but my husband had a ribeye steak that had very little taste. For dessert we ordered a cherry crisp to share. It was quite large, more than enough for the two of us but when my husband asked the waitress if it contained nuts she asked if he had an allergy to nuts. He replied that no he did not but he simply didn't like nuts. She then replied that she was sure it did not contain nuts. Well, guess what, it contain lots of nuts! She did take it off our bill but we left the restaurant less than satisfied. This is quite an expensive restaurant and we were disappointed that it wasn't the experience we hoped it would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

In from Denver for Auto Week in Scottsdale. Great food and the Bartenders were most professional and engaging.

Patrick

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Horrible service. Even the manager is pretty pathetic.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food. Great service!! Great atmosphere for all ages.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service. Too noisy for a quite intimate setting. I wasn't sure why the very first question in our entire experience that evening was directed towards my occupation, but nevertheless, I didn't think anymore about it at the time. I will say however that as I ponder that it does seem rather odd as that could be used in judgement as to how much attention or service a consumer may receive based upon the response to the question. I make very good money and whether I dress casual formal or formal, and enjoy eating at very nice establishments, dropping hundreds of dollars. The fact that perhaps my occupation was question to my fiancé my her feel uneasy and taken back a little bit. She is very successful in her own right as a director in a large health care organization that employees thousands of trained personal of all kinds and all specialties.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.