Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Maretalia Ristorante

Maretalia
Modern Coastal Italian

1300 Orange Ave
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday-Sunday 10:00 am-3:00 pm

Happy Hour: Daily 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Churchill Avenue

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 522-0946

Website:
http://bluebridgehospitality.com/maretalia/

Parking Details:
We suggest street parking. The Coronado Plaza does offer an underground parking garage and is available for your convenience at the fee set forth by the garage management.
We do not validate parking for the garage.

Executive Chef:
Marco Sedda

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Erin Rudolf, our Sales/Event Manager for Blue Bridge Hospitality. Erin can be reached via email at Erin@bbhca.com.

Private Dining

The "Oceano" room accommodates up to 90 people with views of the Pacific Ocean. The "Oceano" Room is the perfect room for wedding parties, rehearsal dinners or anniversaries.

Maretalia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (13)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Live Music (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the cioppino and received on large shrimp and on large scallop the rest of the soup was clams, calamari and some fish. I would not recommend the cioppino to others. My wife ordered the scallops and risotto and was happy with it. A little pricy but it was OK. The restaurant is very close to Lamb's Player Theatre which is why we were out on the town that night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fresh ingredients lightly breaded veal parmesan everything freshly cooked tiramisu outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This restaurant looks lovely from the outside and the menu is good. Unfortunately the tagliatelle bolognaise was tasteless and boring. The octopus and shrimp appetiser was Ok, but not worth the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

All entrees excellent. Branzini, swordfish plus arancini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very pleasant dining experience. Food was excellent and service had few flaws. Would recommend to anyone looking for a fine dining experience in Coronado.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Such a wonderful dinner. The ownership change at our favorite local restaurant has now raised the bar and made our date night even better! The menu is off the charts and Fabio is the best server ever! Looking forward to many more date nights!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of the party sent his pasta because it was not cooked . One pasta dish was very bland and the diner would not order that dish again

My Brazino was covered in dill sauce which overwhelmed the flavor of the fish. It was all a big disapointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very disappointed. Expected Vigiluccis food and service. We waited 15 mins to be greeted by our waitress and then only saw her again for our orders . Took a half an hr to get out appetizers and then a 55 mins to get our main course. Not once did our server come to check on us.
We won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were seated quickly and had a nice table in a relatively quiet corner. The atmosphere is very nice, and the wait staff was efficient. Italian food is my personal favorite, and I liked Vigilucci's and was hoping to like Maretalia just as much. The menu has been changed, but there were some nice choices....change can be good. I was disappointed with the dish I ordered, which was pasta "Carbonara." The pasta was over-cooked and somewhat gummy. An Italian restaurant should know how to cook pasta. Overall, I enjoyed the evening. One last comment: When the reservation was made, I noted that this was for a birthday celebration. There was no acknowledgement of this nor any celebratory offering (ie. dessert). Not a big deal, but at least a "happy birthday" or "buon compleano" would have been nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was delicious and the patio is awesome. Service was a bit off, didn't get bread till we finished our meal. I think it was just a new bus boy as our waiter was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had an excellent meal while here vacationing here on Coronado. They have a nice wine list and our meals were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was great! The check in staff was friendly and helpful. The bar was great with live piano. Our waiter was Fabio and he was very attentive without be obtrusive. The food was excellent!! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent marinara sauce, hand-made spaghetti, fresh local salad vegetables, friendly service, and a really nice location. 4 great dining areas in one location ...secluded, outdoor, people viewing, and bar. You've got to try their house made Limoncello. We loved our experience and will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were celebrating my cousin getting a promotion and moving to California and wanted to take him and his girlfriend somewhere special. Walking in the dining room looked pretty full for a Wednesday evening. We requested to sit on the patio. The host was very accommodating and cordial. She walked us out to the patio with a little bit of small talk to make us more comfortable.
Server came over pretty quickly, offered to open the bottle of wine we brought and offered us water. He briefly went over the menu and some of his favorite dishes. (He was very patient with us because we were so chatty we never really looked at the menu). We decided to eat everything family style so that we could have a decent tour of the menu

Starters:
Burrata, Peach, and Prosciutto Bruschette which was just as amazing as it sounds, light, refreshing and salty.
Melon & Prosciutto Salad which was light and delicious, the figs were fresh and sweet
Scallop Carpaccio is a MUST HAVE

Entrees:
Sweet Corn Ravioli- features 5 large ravioli with just the right amount of sweetness to the corn, lightly au dente pasta with chanterelle mushrooms not overly dressed in sauce YUMMY
Tagliatelle Bolognese- that was also lightly dressed with a tomato based sauce that wasn't too tart, it was delicious as well
My cousin ordered a Pasta that had lobster on it that was delicious as well but I don't remember what it was called :(

Dessert:
We had the Olive Oil Cake with Peaches and it was great! Not overly sweet, great texture!

Maretalia helped us celebrate the special occasion with a champagne toast which was a very nice touch. The manager noticed that we were taking pictures and came by to offer to take a picture of the group. Over all the experience was over the top hospitable. They made us feel very special and service was very attentive even with it being pretty busy. It was a great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food, setting, service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Name change. Slow start. I like to be greater by table or bar staff within 5min and an order taken. I think that's reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and fantastic service! Nick was very friendly and helpful. All of the food was delicious! I can't wait to go back and try their brunch menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The menu had items we never tried. The pasta did I had was outstanding. My wife got the sweet corn ravioli it was off the charts. We sat on the patio and it was like we were in a get away place but right here in our back yard. Look forward to the next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants in Coronado. When we heard there was new ownership, we were concerned it might not be as good. However, it was fantastic. The food and service were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Outstanding dining experience. The new ownership great job upgrading the previous establishment. The food was outstanding and the service just as great. I'm looking forward to returning on many occasions

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great property in a great location. Wait Staff were friendly, attentive and supportive.
Quality of the meal, coupled with cocktail and wine selection was awesome. I will go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

What we have here is a multi-restaurant corporation that bought out a 4 star venue but has not changed much. Thier other venues are mostly family, beach town, sidewalk tabled and this previous quality venue may be suffering from the corporate management style. The menu selections are fine as is the wine list, but the food was bland and not seasoned to 4 star quality. The service was better than recent reviews but not every staff member we came in contact with was a varsity player. On duty management never visited us as you would expect from a top shelf eatery. Give them a try and voice your desires with hopes they can improve.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a lovely location. Tasty food and stellar service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I had the cioppino it was not good at all. Very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Nice change from the typical Coronado restaurants. Enjoy the outside patio if available. Very good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We've enjoyed this restaurant so many times before the change from Vigiluccis . We were happy to see our favorite waitress, Jackie, was still there. It has beautiful decor & ambience. We both ordered the veal chop, but very disappointed...tough & chewy. Hard to cut! Caesar salad was amazing . Will return for pasta!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Waiter unable/unwilling to request the chef to fix a simple pasta dish for my wife's birthday. Or the chef told him "no". Really? Tomatoes and olive oil over any pasta at an Italian restaurant and they can't do it? Must be a new philosophy since Vigilucci is no longer involved?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Now under management by Blue Ridge, same folks that operate STAKE, Little Piggy's, Moo Time, Leroy's, and Village Pizza, this one is a fantastic gem for homemade pasta and fine Italian cuisine! You are gonna love it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service was excellent, room very well appointed, food presentation was good, entrees looked good but were very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I think they should be able to do better as good management at various other restaurants. The food was sub par. Again probably a function of newness. Same with service. I may try again in a couple months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Disappointing after the turnover in ownership. Over priced on all items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was good, not as good as the previous restaurant, Vigaluccis

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The most delicious bread. Service was excellent as was the food. I hope the new owners manage to keep the same bread recipe. Hands down favorite spot in Coronado.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Recently changed from Vigilucci's (which I had been to once) but it still has the same vibe. Very good food and atmosphere - however price is too high. Save this for special occasions or an expensive date.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a lovely table on the patio. Our appetizers and salad were very good. We shared a Veal Chop Entree and it was very under cooked (almost raw). However it was taken care of and the wait staff/manager were very attentive. Only complaint was almost every food item was under seasons which was surprising. My husband normally doesn't like salt and he mentioned the same thing. But this is a lovely restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Menu limited and not nearly as good as the old menu as Vigilucci's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The staff's treatment was excellent. Fabio made sure we had everything we needed and made my mom (the birthday girl) feel very special. Our appetizer and salad were delicious but my main course wasn't what I was expecting. I know they are trying new dishes since they recently changed their name but the older menu was more to my liking. Either way, it was great and I'd be happy to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent food, nice seating, clean and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The restaurant was under another name for a long time. They were bought out and the name changed along with the menu. Didn't know what to expect but we decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised. Our family will definitely come back again.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.