About Maison Boulud

Maison Boulud Montréal offers the cuisine of a chef steeped in French tradition, yet inspired by decades spent cooking in New York City.
Daniel Boulud's menu is driven by the seasons and bounty of Québec's local purveyors. The result: refined yet soulful contemporary French food, prepared here by Executive Chef Riccardo Bertolino.
While situated in the Ritz-Carlton Montreal, the restaurant, its bar & lounge and two private dining rooms have a vibrant identity all their own. Maison Boulud enjoys a view over the historic hotel garden and year round glass enclosed winter garden. Daniel Boulud's welcoming spirit, the casually elegant tone and glimpses of a partly open kitchen keep the focus on the cuisine, making this a daily gathering place for wonderful food.

1228 Sherbrooke West
Montréal, QC H3G1H6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm


Dinner

Daily : 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Saturday - Sunday :12:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Rue de la Montagne

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-4224

Website:
http://www.maisonboulud.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet from 6pm

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bertolino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:30PM

Maison Boulud Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Birthdays (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (37)
Business Meals (32)
Tasting Menu (30)
Fireplace (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Cozy (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Brunch (17)
Authentic (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (9)
Private Room (8)
Casual (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Scenic View (7)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
964 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nous avons beaucoup aimer et nous y reto ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Nous avons beaucoup aimer et nous y retouurnerons. le service etait impeccable..cuisine delicieuse..ambiance chaleureuse! Merci

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really ordinary for the pri ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was really ordinary for the price, apart from the desert, the rest didn't taste very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

It was amazing. Our server Olivier Berg ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

It was amazing. Our server Olivier Bergeron was amazing. He paired our meals and explained everything on the menu and wine list.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner with a very at ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner with a very attentive staff. The food was very well-balanced and beautifully plated.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Historic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, , Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience and the food was ma ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic experience and the food was marvelous and well prepared. Will come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Une belle découverte, de savoureux plats ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Une belle découverte, de savoureux plats et les dessert pour un fin sublime. J'y retournerai c'était incroyable et délicieux

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, , Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grande table. Repas exceptionnel servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Grande table. Repas exceptionnel servi par une serveuse avenante, à l'écoute et surtout flexible. Le sommelier nous très bien conseillé. Mention spéciale au pâtissier (ère)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tasting menu was very nice and fairly pr ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Tasting menu was very nice and fairly priced, however cocktails were pricy. Service was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Maison Boulud is an excellent culinary e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Maison Boulud is an excellent culinary experience -- the food was outstanding every time we went there for dinner; and the staff are great and very helpful. It's strongly recommended!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating New Year (on January ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were celebrating New Year (on January 2nd) and it was definitely a good way to start 2017.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a wonderful evening at Maison Boul ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Spent a wonderful evening at Maison Boulud on January 1st.

Le décor était magnifique, le service tout simplement impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 2nd visit to this beautiful restaura ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our 2nd visit to this beautiful restaurant, the 1st was excellent, this 2nd was just Ok. Seems they were shorthanded (was the 1st of the year). Service was spotty and inattentive requiring repeated requests for food items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Cuisine exceptionnelle! Menu adapté aux ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Cuisine exceptionnelle! Menu adapté aux intolérances alimentaires tout en conservant la magie du repas. Menu dégustation avec harmonie des vins à privilégier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was on point at this Daniel Bou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was on point at this Daniel Boulud restaurant as one might imagine and the service was mostly on point. A bit slow to start and an unnecessarily surprised server at my order of champagne (why the surprise?). The tables were also very close together and it was somewhat quiet. At one point, it was obvious that the table next to us was eavesdropping, not so subtlety at all, which made things a bit uncomfortable. The setting is lovely but it would be nice if the experience felt less intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Friday lunch at Maison Boulud with ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Friday lunch at Maison Boulud with friends. We ended up staying for 2.5 hours, but we could have been done in 1.5 hour or so. Eating in the greenhouse was lovely and cozy, with a lot of natural light on a gloomy winter day. It was not noisy or loud; it was just comfortable and relaxing, really. Both the food and service were excellent. The lady at the coat check even took a picture for us! Yes, it is on the expensive side, but this is what this restaurant is about so it is all good as long as you go with the appropriate expectations. I would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutly outsanding...the "ambiance" an ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutly outsanding...the "ambiance" and services make it unforgettable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. The only comparable dinning e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent. The only comparable dinning experience is to be found in Lyon, France, at Bocuse's Place Bellacour.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine cuisine and great service in a rela ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fine cuisine and great service in a relaxed atmosphere. Very pleased by my visit to Maison Boulud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. I've already recommended th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Outstanding. I've already recommended three times to friends. Interesting menu, wonderful wine selection. Will definitely visit again next time I'm in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food very good. However dining room is ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food very good. However dining room is very disjointed and there are many bad tables. Very expensive and don't expect your fellow diners to be dressed well. Guys in t-shirts etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

How does one describe the perfect Christ ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

How does one describe the perfect Christmas dinner meal?

Words that may come to mind might be incredibly delicious, beyond expectations, superb, wonderful, creative, eventful, absolutely perfect. The service was perfection!

We love Maison Boulud and plan to return as soon as possible!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, , Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their brunch is not wow... lot of other ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Their brunch is not wow... lot of other places better than this... but diner is worth trying

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

For a date the place was superb service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

For a date the place was superb service food wine list extraordinary. My company the handsomest man with it was such a pleasure that our first date was Chez Maison Boulud

the pleasure to

Know Roger P LeBlanc

Tags: , Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant. Food is beautifully ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Food is beautifully prepared presented. Service is impeccable.

Fantastic wine selection. Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food!!!

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Amazing food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Well though buffet table with the essent ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Well though buffet table with the essentiels! Very quiet in early am!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I reserved for the Jazz Brunch. We were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I reserved for the Jazz Brunch.

We were sited in a separate room were we couldn't hear the music.

After a while someone sitting at the table next to us asked if the doors separating our sitting area from the main area could be be opened. One of the waiters was kind to try but was unable because a table was in the way. He did leave the door a bit open. Every time another waiter will pass by he will close the door. And it went like that for 1 hour.

So it is logical that if you advertise a Jazz brunch and charge for it, you should deliver. in that instance they failed to deliver and should have given all the tables that reserved for the Jazz Brunch a re-invitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I reserved for my birthday. It was not m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I reserved for my birthday. It was not mentioned at all.

I reserved for after nine dinner to enjoy the special menu offered by the chef. I was told it was not available with no further explanation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

The food and ambience were wonderful but ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food and ambience were wonderful but the length of time it took to deliver the main courses (we had lunch) was too long. That worked fine on this occasion, as we were mainly there to visit and chat with old friends from Australia whom we had not seen for some years. So we had plenty of time to do so.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I ate at Maison Boulud with my friend fo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I ate at Maison Boulud with my friend for a special occasion. I was totally shock to find a fly in my glass of wine. I told the waiter, and he only replaced it with a new glass and filled back the amount I have left in the glass before. They charged me full price for the wine at the end. Regarding Maison Boulud as a property of Ritz and the prices they've charged, I expect it to be a highend restaurant, and they should offer a better service. This is totally unacceptable and disappointed. I will not come back to this restaurant anymore, and will not recommend any of my friends to come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Simply outstanding mood, food, staff, de ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Simply outstanding mood, food, staff, deco; zero-snub, simplicity, friendly ; all perfect.

We have previously visited the Ritz in NY and it seems that the culture is the same for all Ritz Carlton because we found the very same quality in Montreal.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

thanks for a magical evening! Food, wine ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 5, 2016

thanks for a magical evening! Food, wine and service were wonderful!!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply Wow! Exceeded our expectations, w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Simply Wow! Exceeded our expectations, we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous avons passé une très belle soirée . ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nous avons passé une très belle soirée . Le repas a été excellent du début à la fin et nous avons eu droit à un service très professionnel . Nous avons hâte d'y retourner ....

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive for nothing. For $200 per pers ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Expensive for nothing. For $200 per person I would have expect a little bit more, a"wow" , Something to make me come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Used to be much better!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Used to be much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Une expérience inoubliable! Service exce ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Une expérience inoubliable! Service exceptionnel! Merci.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience The food and servi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful experience

The food and service were exceptional

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went at Boulud multiple times before ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We went at Boulud multiple times before this one and it never disappoints! Amazing food and service in a 5-star location.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disapointong brunch, lack of decorum, bu ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

disapointong brunch, lack of decorum, busy staff not too smilie. for the price ( and it is not too expensive) food quality, creativity and originality was very average. We were there for a graduation celebration but never had the feeling of a celebration ! a bit of creativity, better food, more research and a more froendly staff will help. In fact this restaurant is definitively not what it was at its bigining!! rise your price if you want but be more creative !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.