About Maison Boulud

1228 Sherbrooke West
Montréal, QC H3G1H6
View Larger Map

Maison Boulud Montréal offers the cuisine of a chef steeped in French tradition, yet inspired by decades spent cooking in New York City.
Daniel Boulud's menu is driven by the seasons and bounty of Québec's local purveyors. The result: refined yet soulful contemporary French food, prepared here by Executive Chef Riccardo Bertolino.
While situated in the Ritz-Carlton Montreal, the restaurant, its bar & lounge and two private dining rooms have a vibrant identity all their own. Maison Boulud enjoys a view over the historic hotel garden and year round glass enclosed winter garden. Daniel Boulud's welcoming spirit, the casually elegant tone and glimpses of a partly open kitchen keep the focus on the cuisine, making this a daily gathering place for wonderful food.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm


Dinner

Daily : 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Saturday - Sunday :12:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Rue de la Montagne

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-4224

Website:
http://www.maisonboulud.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet from 6pm

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bertolino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Maquereau, Pommes De Terre Confites, Poireaux Et Vinaigrette A La Moutarde - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
mushrooms - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Madeleines - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Croissant - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Salmon Tartare - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Beef Bourguignon - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Trout - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Chocolate And Salted Caramel - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Raspberry Mousse Cake - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Truffe Noire - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Scallops And Truffles In Brioche - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Pear, Vanilla And Meringue - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Oyster Rockefeller - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Ravioli Riccota Filling And Black Truffles - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Sashimi - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Quebec Lamb - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Rhubarb and Tonka beans vacherin - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Chocolate tartlet - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Quinoa Salad - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Crispy Artichoke Hearts - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Beef Duo - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Salade De Printemps - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Portuguese Sardines - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Laitue Iceberg Façon Caesar - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Catalonia style octopus salad - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Mixed Cocktail drink - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Cheese Focaccia - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Cheese Bread - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Housemade gramigna pasta, basil pesto, pecorino - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Strawberry Mousse And Blanc Mangé Avec Meringue - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Heirloom tomatoes salad, watermelon, balsamic vinegar, African blue basil, tomato foam - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Vitello tonnato, veal carpaccio, tonnato sauce, capers, Spanish anchovies, celer - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Freshly baked madeleine cookies - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Strawberry And Fleur D'oranger Cake - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
"comme à la maison" cocktail - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Vacherin Aux Cerises - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Grilled Baby Octopus - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Roasted Pineapple And Passion Fruit, Almonds And Lime Biscuit, Passion Fruit And Lemongrass Ice Cream - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Crispy veal sweetbreads, artichokes, Parma ham, spinach, tomatoes, bay leaf jus - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Arancini - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Grilled Octopus - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Vacherin - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Fletan Haricots Blancs Humus Et Aubergine Aigre Douce - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Roasted Baby Chicken - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Crispy fried egg, sweet onion coulis, chanterelle mushrooms, green beans, lima beans, truffle jus - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Arugula and peach salad, pecorino cheese, almonds, balsamic vinegar - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Beef - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Almond Cake - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Veal Filet - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Scallop - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Celeriac Agnolotti, Wilted Arugula, Pecorino Di Fossa - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Seared Foie Gras - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Pintade And Foie Gras Terrine, Grape Must Mustard, Pickled Vegetables - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Chocolate Coulant - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Crab & Avocado Roll - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Dbgb Burger - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Coffee Cake - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Foie Gras - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Ricotta Ravioli - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Gianduja Mousse - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Panisses - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Pear Meringue - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Homemade Pasta - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
suckling pig - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Strawberry Cake - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Scallops - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Black Bass - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Pear Salad - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Pea And Farm Egg Pasta With Caviar - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Dungeness Crab And Celery - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Beef Duo, Red-Wine Braised Short Ribs, Roasted Rib Eye, Carrots Tian, Wild Mushroom, Bordelaise Sauce - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Truffle pasta - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Vacherin Cerise  - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Chocolat coulant - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Limoncello Hazelnut Gianduja - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Artichokes - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Jambon - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Scallop With White Asparagus And Morels - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Steak and Egg - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Tom Colins - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Chocolate Souflé - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Spaghetti Noirs Aux Fruits De Mer - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Brasied Beef Agnolotti - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Red Drum Endive And Walnuts - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake And Vanilla Ice Cream - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Fromage With Candy Almonds And Apricot - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Celeriac And Mushroom Soup - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Chilled Cucumber Soup - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Smoked Salmon, Hash Brown, Egg - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Rabbit Porchetta - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Rhubarb Vacherin - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Latte & Fresh Homemade Madelaines - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Homemade Sable Cookies - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Salade De Homard - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Magret De Canard Et Foie Gras - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Lobster Salad - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC
Braised Local Lamb Pappardelle - Maison Boulud, Montréal, QC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:30PM

Maison Boulud Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (52)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Cozy (28)
Tasting Menu (27)
Fireplace (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Scenic View (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Private Room (8)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Historic (8)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Simply outstanding mood, food, staff, de ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Simply outstanding mood, food, staff, deco; zero-snub, simplicity, friendly ; all perfect.

We have previously visited the Ritz in NY and it seems that the culture is the same for all Ritz Carlton because we found the very same quality in Montreal.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

thanks for a magical evening! Food, wine ...

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

thanks for a magical evening! Food, wine and service were wonderful!!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply Wow! Exceeded our expectations, w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Simply Wow! Exceeded our expectations, we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous avons passé une très belle soirée . ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nous avons passé une très belle soirée . Le repas a été excellent du début à la fin et nous avons eu droit à un service très professionnel . Nous avons hâte d'y retourner ....

Tags: Romantique, Le thé de l’après-midi, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour le repas du midi, Chaleureux
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used to be much better!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Used to be much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Une expérience inoubliable! Service exce ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Une expérience inoubliable! Service exceptionnel! Merci.

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience The food and servi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful experience

The food and service were exceptional

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went at Boulud multiple times before ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We went at Boulud multiple times before this one and it never disappoints! Amazing food and service in a 5-star location.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disapointong brunch, lack of decorum, bu ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

disapointong brunch, lack of decorum, busy staff not too smilie. for the price ( and it is not too expensive) food quality, creativity and originality was very average. We were there for a graduation celebration but never had the feeling of a celebration ! a bit of creativity, better food, more research and a more froendly staff will help. In fact this restaurant is definitively not what it was at its bigining!! rise your price if you want but be more creative !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Loved the brunch - was a wonderful exper ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Loved the brunch - was a wonderful experience all around. The food is delicious- interesting - and worth it. The service could have been slightly more attentive and we found that charging us for decaf after having already ordered coffee ( to the tune of $20+ {for 4} + tax and tip ) was truly excessive. Without a cocktail - brunch was roughly $80/pp. Not given away but was very delicious and very special for a big occasion. Would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mon fiancé a choisi ce restaurant pour c ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Mon fiancé a choisi ce restaurant pour célébrer son anniversaire. C' était une excellente soirée, et nous avions adoré le service et l'ambiance.

Tags: Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Idéal pour les fêtes, Le thé de l’après-midi, Chaleureux, Une occasion spéciale, Environnement paisible
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was one of the most wonderful eveni ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was one of the most wonderful evenings I have had in a long time. The atmosphere sparkled. There was a welcoming large fire in the middle of the room. Golden glass partitions/ walls glowed and sparkled. Blond wood added to the warmth. Our waiters were superb. Service was impeccable. My dinner was one of the best I ever ate. The flavors of each dish were perfect. The somalier pared a delucious wine for us . I can't wait to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, food was very tasty. Servic ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great place, food was very tasty. Service was quick and respectful. I would go again anytime

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, presentation is amazi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent service, presentation is amazing and very unique flavors.

Tags: Une vue pittoresque, Une valeur sans pareille, Romantique, Authentique, Idéal pour les anniversaires
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Un merveilleux restaurant dont le chef R ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Un merveilleux restaurant dont le chef Riccardo est vraiment super, il a toujours des plats nouveaux et on voudrait tous les essayer.

Tags: Parfait pour le brunch, Décor moderne, Lieu huppé, Une occasion spéciale, Foyer, Une carte des vins remarquable, Salle privée, Cocktails artisanaux, Chaleureux, Places au bar, Ingrédients locaux, Il en vaut le détour, Romantique, Environnement paisible, Le déjeuner du dimanche, Menu dégustation, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Idéal pour le repas du midi, Repas d’affaires, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les plus fins palais
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I am a fan of Boulud's New York establis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I am a fan of Boulud's New York establishments, so I took the opportunity to have lunch at Maison Boulud while in Montreal. The restaurant is beautiful, but in terms of food it was hit-or-miss. Yes, it was lunch, so I expected less magic than when I am at Daniel. Mushroom soup was made slightly less standard with the surprise addition of pickled lemon peel and rosemary oil. The pate was quite nice, but Montreal is a city of pate. IGA has 20+ varieties and the ones I tried were at least as memorable as what I had at Maison Boulud. The real disappointment was the croque monsieur. Why would I order that? The entrees weren't calling to me and I assumed there would be some surprising twist on a classic. It should have been called a gargouillis monsieur. It was just squishy soggy bread - a LOT of squishy soggy bread - with very little of the suckling pig ham, dropped on top a random scattering of mesclun. I have faith that Maison Boulud can put on a good meal and my experience was just a misalignment of my choices and my expectations. But when it comes to lunch, Toque the day before was fully spectacular. And cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great evening. Attention to de ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great evening. Attention to detail, excellent service that was prompt and attentionate. Food was rich and to die for. This was our third visit, and we intend to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our experience was ok at those prices, ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

our experience was ok

at those prices, I was expecting to be blown away and I wasn't

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Expérience de brunch du dimanche excepti ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Expérience de brunch du dimanche exceptionnelle sur toute la ligne: décor chaleureux et beaucoup de cachet, remarquable service de tout le personnel, excellents plats très bien présentés.

Tags: Cuisine créative, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une carte des vins remarquable, Une occasion spéciale, Il en vaut le détour, Foyer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent ingredients , very tasty and f ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent ingredients , very tasty and fresh. Superb service.

The meal was a brunch. Original tastes (lobster with mild curry), creme of mushroom with a hint of lemon and so on.

On the down side, well, it is in the Ritz Carlton so the clientele is "upscale". But for someone on a teacher's salary I can only go to this restaurant on VERY special occasions.

Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I really enjoyed my evening and the food ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I really enjoyed my evening and the food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Diner ,spent some time with a customer ( ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Diner ,spent some time with a customer ( 2 couples ), in an ambiance that let you talk and a diner with a special taste . A service very efficient , discret and always there when you need .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not what I would call fine dinning espec ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Not what I would call fine dinning especially at a Ritz Carlton. The food was good not fantastic but plastic placemats, young staff dressed very informal and not trained well. Wine served in glasses that looked like they came from Wal-mart. Did ask for a nicer wine glass which they did supply on request.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This is our second time at Maison Boulud ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is our second time at Maison Boulud and again we were very impressed with the simplicity but yet wonderful flavours of our dishes. My wife had the Vitelo Tonato & Egg Ravioli, I had Figue Kale & Pintade Hen, we both enjoyed our dishes and would recommend. Dinning at here is always a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Un moment magique, un menu découverte ex ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Un moment magique, un menu découverte exceptionnel , raffiné et exquis .

Une équipe discrète et très attentionnée.

Une sommelière très attentive et un chef exécutif Ricardo à la hauteur de ce merveilleux restaurant dont la réputation n'est plus à faire.

Je le recommande vivement,

Khadija

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced. Lack of choice on dinner me ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overpriced. Lack of choice on dinner menu. No vegetables served with main entree with snapper entree. Lack of flavour on Cornish hen entree.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The entire dining experience was AWESOME ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The entire dining experience was AWESOME. Service was excellent from the sommelier who directed us to a reasonable, very good wine, to the excellent wait staff.

The food was one of the best preperations of squab I have ever had and the kale/fig salad was exquisite. The chef later came out after we raved so much and gave us the salad recipe.

Wish we lived in Montreal. The following night we had dinner in one of DC's new Michelin Star restaurants that turned out to be very disappointing in comparison.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food is out of this world ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always the food is out of this world and the service is amazing. They always go above and beyond to satisfy their customers and I think this is what makes them one of the best places in Montreal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C était parfait La cuisine exquise et l ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

C était parfait

La cuisine exquise et le service irréprochable

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Familiale, Décontracté, Le déjeuner du dimanche, Environnement paisible, La perle du quartier, Romantique, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Chaleureux, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Salle privée, Mets pour diète Paleo, Il en vaut le détour, Cuisine ouverte, Idéal pour les fêtes, Historique, Une carte des vins remarquable, Parfait pour le brunch, Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant À tout point de vue ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent restaurant À tout point de vue mais il faut payer le prix évidemment

Tags: Environnement paisible, Repas d’affaires
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to come to Maison Boulud ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were excited to come to Maison Boulud once again. We have been in the past for both lunch and dinner and always thought it was good. This time, we found the food to be quite different. Although the menu is quite complicated (why would you add eel to a "terrine de foie gras"?), the execution was lacking. Every dish received was way too salty, this made it impossible to enjoy the food. The pasta (with clams) tasted odd: was the pasta made with a different type of flour? Was there an addition of fish broth to the sauce? We couldn't quite put our finger on it but the taste was off. We have had this dish countless times in Italy (it's my husband's favourite) and it never tasted this way. The burrata was loaded with ingredients (raisins, pine nuts, bitter greens....) which completely masked the delicate taste of this cheese. The gnocchi (puffed up bread) which came with it would have been delicious if it wasn't for the fact that it was way too salty. We probably won't go back to this restaurant for some time, there are so many other fantastic tables in Montreal we can enjoy at this price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been to many Michelin-starred resta ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Have been to many Michelin-starred restaurants. This one definitely competes. Was very pleasantly surprised, and will return as well as recommend to friends.

Tags: Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is always great. I was surprise ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food is always great.

I was surprised to see a hamburger item on the noon menu - it did not match the other exquisite offers.

The madeleine's they serve upon request are the best in town. You can also order little boxes of these madeleine's to go.

The service is always attentive and well informed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing dining for the discriminating pa ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Amazing dining for the discriminating palate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. My fourth ti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. My fourth time eating here. Never disappointing. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magnifique! My wife and I had a fantasti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Magnifique! My wife and I had a fantastic experience. Amazing food and our waiter Olivier was awesome. We will certainly be back the next time that we visit Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maison Boulud is an exceptional restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Maison Boulud is an exceptional restaurant in every regard--outstanding food/wine/cocktails as well as caring and attentive service. For a venue that specializes in fine dining, the atmosphere is very warm, something that is often missing in such places. My family of three had a wonderful time at Maison Boulud. It was a high point of our weekend in Montreal, and we will remember the evening with great pleasure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect attentive service as usual. The ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Perfect attentive service as usual. The signature cocktail wowed us all - cosmopolitan with an oriental twist- ginger, white cranberries and a frozen orchid. Everything you'd expect from a great French restaurant, and a relaxed, unpretentious ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing in every sense

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Amazing in every sense

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointing menu. Supplements of 12$ a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Disappointing menu. Supplements of 12$ and "extras" are tacky in such a place. Vegetarian options were very limited. The chef said he would substitute any dishes with veg. choices but really how do you make a lamb burger vegetarian? A hair was found in the salad and was graciously replaced. But aren't hair nets mandatory? Prices have increased on the lunch menu and have made it prohibitive. I wont go back for lunch or supper and will only go for drinks in the future. The wait staff are wonderful, professional and attentive. I want to love Café and have been going there since it opened in Montreal but i am dissapointed with the price increases and the recent menu.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.