About Mader's German Restaurant

1037 N Old World 3rd St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

At Mader's German Restaurant, you'll get the best ethnic German cuisine that Wisconsin has to offer. Our menus are filled with ethnic dishes that raise the standards of fine dining in Milwaukee. Not many restaurants in the Milwaukee area have as much history as Mader’s. You’ll dine amid a stunning $3 million dollar collection of art, suits of medieval armour and antiques dating back to the 14th century. Browse through our menus, and you will be inclined to make a reservation to experience why Mader's Restaurant continues to be ranked among the top restaurants in Milwaukee, Wisconsin throughout the years.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
German, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Old World 3rd St. and Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 271-3377

Website:
http://www.madersrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Mader's catering is recognized for creating lavish or traditional dinners, sure to dazzle guests for celebrations of all sizes and occasions. Mader's catering can provide for any affair from gala cocktail receptions, elegant dinner parties, to large tent events accommodating from 35 to 2000 guests

Parking Details:
Mader's German Restaurant offers complimentary valet parking for you and your guests. The valet lot is located right next to our restaurant for your convenience.

Executive Chef:
Lucas Wenthur

Private Party Facilities:
Mader’s German Restaurant has been preparing for your visit since 1902 so that no matter what the occasion, we are fully focused on exceeding your expectations. Whether it's an intimate group or a lavish party, the unrivaled attention of our staff assures you and your guests a memorable experience. Please feel free to contact us to start planning your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Niland: (414) 271-3377 ext. 228

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mader's German Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Great Beer (15)
See All
Authentic (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Business Meals (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the service and atmosphere. Always ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the service and atmosphere. Always delicious with professional level servers. Thank you Maders

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, , Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic German food!! It is a must vi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Authentic German food!! It is a must visit every time I'm in Milwaukee. I always drag my friends to Mader's. Even the ones who swear they don't like German food find something to love here! It is worth a visit if only for the decor and historic value. The fact that the food is also amazing is just icing on the cake.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best brunch in town! Loved the different ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best brunch in town! Loved the different varieties of German food plus all the typical brunch foods as eggs benedict, bacon and waffles,etc.

The service was top-notch too. Always had a full beverage and dishes were cleared away promptly so you could grab a clean plate and go for more.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, , Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at the brunch. It ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my first time at the brunch. It was not as good as the regular menu order on a weekday. Good variety of foods those German and traditional American breakfast. Pleasant waitress.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

An enjoyable experience, great food with ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

An enjoyable experience, great food with an authentic German aesthetic decor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eaten here several times before, but wil ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Eaten here several times before, but will not return based on Saturdays food. The wrong appetizer was brought out, one in our party ordered salmon & got pork (?) and I had a beef dish - delicious juicy beef, covered in a gross brown gravy from a can. I'm German. ..been to Germany many times...this was not fresh authentic German food. Not sure if they were having an off night, but for a $200 tab, I should have enjoyed it a bit more.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were seated in a timely fashion. Ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were seated in a timely fashion. Service was slow but waiter was friendly and met our requests. At times it was hard to hear others in our party talk. Food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

19 of us dined there at noon on Sat Jan ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

19 of us dined there at noon on Sat Jan 28th for my Mother's 80th birthday. It's her favorite restaurant. The manager that day didn't like the way the servers arranged our tables. So she made them do it over so we would have a better experience. Outstanding and so thoughtful! Our waitress was absolutely outstanding as well! Just above excellent service!!! So happy how the event went!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful German food in a historic loca ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful German food in a historic location. Nice bar with lots of beer selections and amazing food!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say - I was born and raised i ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

What can I say - I was born and raised in Germany, and from time to time I have to have a dose of German food. I hadn't been to Mader's in a few years (there are other options), but someone gave me a gift certificate. Despite the outrageous prices (must be the only $30+ Schnitzel in the world) my wife and I were unable to spend the value of the gift card, which we were informed would be worthless after this visit regardless of balance. How much more clearly can one say "Don't come back"?

German food is pretty straightforward, and generally not fancy. Whoever runs Mader's now should check the Google for how to spell Munich (certainly not Münich) and the various food items listed with fanciful, yet poorly spelled names . Or, perhaps, the spelling is only a warning sign that the food itself isn't exactly German, either. Schnitzel with Sauerkraut? You don't have to be a traditionalist to find that combination disgusting. Substitute red cabbage for the Sauerkraut? The stuff that Aldi sells for $2 a jar is significantly more appetizing.

If you visit Milwaukee and want some German food, it may be worth going to the aforementioned Google and looking for another option. Pretty much all of them will be a better value.

Guten Appetit!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Good atmosphere, generous size drinks, e ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good atmosphere, generous size drinks, excellent beer selection. Two of four entrees ordered were the sauerbraten, and both were drier than desired.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a pleasure to stop in at Maders b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a pleasure to stop in at Maders before a Bucks game. Great staff, super bar tenders, tasty food and super historic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in a back room of the res ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were seated in a back room of the restaurant where the ambiance is reduced. Our table top rocked whenever anyone touched it. The waitress was pleasant but not very attentive. It took her quite awhile to check back with us regarding second beverages. Our food was tasty but seemed to take a long time to come to us. The soup would have been better if it was hotter. Our experience was just ok. Given Maders reputation I was expecting more. Perhaps it was an "off" night. We will try it once more to see if this was the case.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

If you like German food dining at Mader' ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

If you like German food dining at Mader's is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Epic place...authentic food from the Fat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Epic place...authentic food from the Fatherland. Would totally recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal of sauerbraten as recom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a great meal of sauerbraten as recommended by our waitress. My spouse had the goulash which was wonderful also. We will probably switch our choices the next time we go, and there will be a next time. Enjoyed every bite and dessert was wonderful also. Don't miss Mader's if you enjoyed good German food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THIS, folks, is why Milwaukee exists . . ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

THIS, folks, is why Milwaukee exists . . . . plain and simple. The food is German, real German, that Americans can eat (mushroom, beef strudel, Kassler's Ripchen, and the best Sauerbraten in the Midwest). I must also say that the service was outstanding. We had one head server for a family table of ten who made us all feel welcomed and special. The food was served by various servers as it became ready . . . there was nothing we wanted that didn't instantly appear.

The best restaurant experience I have had in years . . . . and I live here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Great food, fabulo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great food, fabulous service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, friendly and efficient staff ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, friendly and efficient staff. Allison was our server & she was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambience aren't ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food, service and ambience aren't what they used to be. Has Maders gone corporate? Be careful! Look what happened to Karl Ratzsch's.

How I long for the good old days when these restaurants were the very best Milwaukee had to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was fantastic and the food was e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was fantastic and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Escellent authentic German cuisine serve ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Escellent authentic German cuisine served in an Old World atmosphere of stained glass and armor. Portions large enough to provide a second meal.

Tags: , Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great traditional German food. The best ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great traditional German food. The best in downtown Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there after a concert at Bradley Ct ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Went there after a concert at Bradley Ctr. Its just short walk. We did have reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival. We have dined there several times. Always a great meal. Would recommend the lamb or steak. Desserts are great alson

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was wonderful The wait staff w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was wonderful

The wait staff were all friendly and helpful. I like their costumes and the decorations that made me feel like being in Germany-- Gemütlicheit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A wonderful place to dine. The food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A wonderful place to dine. The food was of the German flavor with old world charm. Our waiter in Lederhosen was very knowledgeable and went over the menu with explanation upon our request. The decor is heavy German motif with Humbles, Steins, and Wood Carving. The bar has ample seating set in a traditional German beer hall with heavy iron clad lamps hanging from the ceiling. The food was EXCELLENT. Presentation was superb. I enjoyed the beef and mushroom strudel which accented the flavor of cinnamon and allspice. My partner had Weiner Schnitzel ala Holstein which was done superbly. They do have an extensive beer and wine selection. Thank you Maders for a wonderful food experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meals were well prepared and served ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The meals were well prepared and served hot & in a timely fashion. The water glasses were worn out (cloudy) from the dishwasher so YUK, who drinks public H2O anyway.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Mader's before the Trans-Siberia ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went to Mader's before the Trans-Siberian Orchestra for brunch. The kids loved the brunch and the atmosphere. Everything was very tasty and the desserts were fantastic. Vintage dress for the staff straight from Germany, outstanding!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be aware Sunday is brunch only (we didn' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Be aware Sunday is brunch only (we didn't know that when we made our reservation). It was under $25 including mimosa's and juices. Fabulous array of breakfast and lunch items, great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rueben rolls are the best

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Rueben rolls are the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and nice large portions. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very good food and nice large portions. A little bit on the pricier side but worth it. The waitress was very prompt and nice. Overall there were no issues.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very attentive. I would n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our server was very attentive. I would not order the Pinot Noir by the bottle it wasn't of the highest quality for a 4 or 5 star restaurant. Hostess also helped with Christmas Group reservation

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was enthusiastic and informat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our server was enthusiastic and informative. The food was spectacular. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch/lunch reasonable price wit ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great brunch/lunch reasonable price with German inspired foods.

Very good, salad bar great, awesome main course with lots of desserts.

We had a very good waiter as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a group of 15 and had reconfirme ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were a group of 15 and had reconfirmed our reservation. We had a private area, which was nice, and I didn't see that there was another big group before us. Yet, we had to wait 20 mins to be seated and another 20 mins before we had wine glasses (empty) brought to the table. We were close to walking out but decided to say something to the hostess. After that, it was the best service ever! Orders were taken, food was served quickly and drinks refilled as soon as glasses were empty. The food was very good - best pork shank ever, Wiener schnitzel was a bit thick, goulash was hearty, sausage platter was outstanding (minus the giant potato ball). Next time, we'll go at 5 pm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I haven't been to this restaurant for mo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I haven't been to this restaurant for more than 20 years. It hasn't changed much which was a good thing. It has kept it's great food and atmosphere. I also see that the Hofbrau is trying to compete with their restaurant a few doors away. Mader's is a Milwaukee original and they are hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing- lousy service and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very disappointing- lousy service and the food is just ok. I'd expected a great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I have been going to Mader's for 60 year ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I have been going to Mader's for 60 years. It has always been wonderful. We booked a reservation for 6:15. Upon arrival, the reservation was acknowledged but it took a search of the restaurant by the hostess to find a table in the corner at the very end of the second room. The waitress was harried and the service slow although we had ordered the specials of the house. When our entrees arrived, they were room temperature. We had tickets for an event and would have had ample time to have the food reheated and have dessert, but the wait had been so long, that there was time for neither and we had to go. We had driven from Chicago for a special evening and Mader's is frequently our dining destination in that City. Needless to say, after all these many years of good experiences, this was unfortunate, especially with a tab of over $50 per person, including tax and tip. We'll go back and try again. Hopefully, this one time will not be indicative of a decline in overall service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to have dinner before a Bucks game. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went to have dinner before a Bucks game. Everything was well done.. atmosphere, service, food and just 1 block to the game. valeted the car when I arrived and picked it up after game.

Only comment was perhaps too much dressing on house salad.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We haven't been there in years, the food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We haven't been there in years, the food was as excellent as we remember and our wine was very good, too. They serve a warm pretzel bread loaf and it was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.