Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Mader's German Restaurant

At Mader's German Restaurant, you'll get the best ethnic German cuisine that Wisconsin has to offer. Our menus are filled with ethnic dishes that raise the standards of fine dining in Milwaukee. Not many restaurants in the Milwaukee area have as much history as Mader’s. You’ll dine amid a stunning $3 million dollar collection of art, suits of medieval armour and antiques dating back to the 14th century. Browse through our menus, and you will be inclined to make a reservation to experience why Mader's Restaurant continues to be ranked among the top restaurants in Milwaukee, Wisconsin throughout the years.

1037 N Old World 3rd St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
German, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Old World 3rd St. and Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 271-3377

Website:
http://www.madersrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Mader's catering is recognized for creating lavish or traditional dinners, sure to dazzle guests for celebrations of all sizes and occasions. Mader's catering can provide for any affair from gala cocktail receptions, elegant dinner parties, to large tent events accommodating from 35 to 2000 guests

Parking Details:
Mader's German Restaurant offers complimentary valet parking for you and your guests. The valet lot is located right next to our restaurant for your convenience.

Executive Chef:
Lucas Wenthur

Private Party Facilities:
Mader’s German Restaurant has been preparing for your visit since 1902 so that no matter what the occasion, we are fully focused on exceeding your expectations. Whether it's an intimate group or a lavish party, the unrivaled attention of our staff assures you and your guests a memorable experience. Please feel free to contact us to start planning your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Niland: (414) 271-3377 ext. 228

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mader's German Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Historic (28)
Authentic (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great Beer (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Private Room (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Family Style (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Praised by many celebrities; what else can I say! Authentic German cuisine; as close to Germany as you'll get in the Midwest. Outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

First trip to Milwaukee. This was the first reservation we booked. Excellent meal. German food is not my favorite but I think this was the best I've ever had. Excellent (Justin) waitstaff and history. Stop by the bar to make a new friend or two before heading out. Zackary made the best old fashioned sweet! A new drink for me and now a new favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Berentzen shots!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went to Mader's spur of the moment before a concert while in from out of town. German food will never be light or healthy, but if you can make honest, homemade food, I'll worry about healthy later. Was surprised at the quality of the food. Good, old-fashioned, authentic German food in an old setting (the restaurant has been there since 1902). Waiter made sure we made the concert in plenty of time. I'll never go out of my way for German food, but my pork shank was great, the spaetzle wonderful, and had a great beer. My wife's pork schnitzel was wonderful. Good honest food, well-prepared. Bring your cholesterol medication, but don't skip Mader's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ordered two sampler platters and were quite happy with each platter. The Schnitzel and the Sauerbraten were excellent, as were the three selections of sausage in the Bavarian Platter! Our waiter was courteous and friendly, and when he was busy with other patrons, a waitress saw to it that we were being looked after and our order taken. BEAUTIFUL interior, quite authentic! The food is pricey, but for authentic German food, served in an authentic setting, the value is maintained for a special occasion. We WILL be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our server was excellent and the food was really good. I would go back for sure

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Mine and my girlfriends dinners were absolutely phenomenal. We started both with soup, her onion soup was great and I really loved the liver dumpling soup. She had the Rhineland platter I believe she really thought the Weiner Schnitzel was great and the sauerkraut was also good. I believe we both could of ate her dinner. I had the Bavarian platter which was also more food than I thought. The sausages were good but I believe the pork and the potato dumpling stole the show. Needless to say we both left with a meal for the next day. The waitress was not the fastest but was real knowledgeable and a great help on deciding our choices. We had dinner at 9:00pm the dinner room was rather quiet in there. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Milwaukee to stop there for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I had been told if you go to Milwaukee dining at Mader's is a must. We were briefly in town with my in-laws celebrating Mother's Day a week early, so we had a chance to finally get there. I decent (although portions are huge and it's all a bit too salty), but I think all 4 of us ended up leaving a bit unimpressed, especially given the cost. Service was VERY slow, despite not being packed, and my in-laws commented on the meat being a bit dry and over cooked. All in all, I think we were happy to try the restaurant given it's history, but I am not sure the food and service are worth a second trip. Sorry!

Tags: Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Pro: The steak was 11/10 delicious. The appetizer was 11/10 delicious.
Con: The beef strudel was bad. The area we were sat in by the bar was so dimly lit you could barely see. The tiny candle had a cover so dark it did ZERO help. The potatoes tasted like cheesy goo from a can. both me and my wife hated it. Prices have gone up too. Last time was about 70$ for two people this time it was 100. There was no way to tip the valet without having cash. This is 2017...let me pay with a card or park my own car. Might not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Lunch with team from work as a thank you. First time at your restaurant for one of the team members. Food portions were very generous for lunch and exceptional flavor. Two of the samplers were purchased and was a great way to try something different. Lunch, so no beer or alcoholic drinks purchased, but would have been great for a dinner to try a great German beer.

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great German Food, Server was wonderful! Great evening with our Customers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very historic building and furnishings, service was okay, but the food was just mediocre.
We had pork shank which was tender, but had very little flavor. The Wiener schnitzel was fried in less than fresh oil, the spätzle was gummy and the sauerkraut could have come from a can.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a gem for Milwaukee. Wonderful food year after year. Can't wait till I can visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wow! What a great find we discovered in Mader's! My wife and I were in town to enjoy time away from our home in St. Louis. I had found Mader's on a travel website and figured we had to try it. We were extremely and pleasantly surprised! The drinks were tasty (beer for me and cocktail for the wife) and, oh my God, the food was delicious! We stuffed ourselves silly! My wife enjoyed her dinner and my German Sampler tasted like it came straight from Germany! All the flavors and amoras were spot on. The next time we're back in Milwaukee, we're definitely stopping in for a dinner, lunch or just a dessert and drinks.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Private Room, Historic, Fun, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We were in Milwaukee to see the special exhibit at the Museum of Art and decided to try some German food because we were stationed in German when I was in the US Army back in 1970's. The food reminded me of what we ate back then. Very nice atmosphere, and as I said original German food. The portions are large, so you should not go home hungry. On the pricey side, but we are used to that in the Chicago area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My 1st time at the restaurant and everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very good food. Great service. especially the valet parking service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We stopped by Mader's for dinner on a Saturday night. There was a lot of events happening around downtown Milwaukee, but inside Mader's it was an escape from the commotions. Our service was individualized and personal. We felt that our server wanted us to have a great experience and enjoy our meal. We had a great experience. The only caveat to our meal was that the noise level was a little loud. We could audible hear every word from the table next door.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Time has not been kind.

Restaurants these days right to get and keep good help both out front and in back. This means compromises for some, especially if they are not the trendy places people flock to these days. Sadly Maders is far from what it used to be. Our service was less than professional and not very attentive. We waited way to long for several things including ordering, paying and in between. It was not especially busy in the transition time between lunch and dinner.

The food is not bad. Nowhere near as it was in years past but acceptable for German fare. The schnitzel was done appropriately but the spaetzle was way overdone. The apple kuchen was great however and while we had to wait while they made it, was very worthwhile.

Maders is not bad. Just not the premier German restaurant it once was. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great find! Recommended by a friend for a birthday lunch before a baseball game. Our waitress was lovely, the food was delicious- even my 10 year old raved about the food! There is a lot of cool history with weaponry, stained glass, celebrity photos, etc. we never made it to the upstairs antique store. Maybe next time!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food. Appetizers are a must. The large pretzel was the best.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. The selections of breakfast and german fare were outstanding. The service was second to none. Our server was attentive, friendly and able to answer any questions we had. I will say I will recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Really plain tasting food. The veal Weinner schnitzel came in 3 overly fried dry no taste pieces.. The combo platter of schnitzel, roasted beef and pork medallions was also dry , but the beef had a brown gravy to moisten it up a bit. My wife had the fried salami salad which was actually pretty good. The spattzle was soaked in pig fat flavoring. The sausage and cheese appetizer Was ok but nothing special. The liver dumpling soup had a strong pork liver flavor but the onion soup was good.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Tourist Trap. The food is good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of our favorite Milwaukee restaurants. Every time we travel to Milw from Chicago suburbs, we love to have dinner at Mader's....for many years. Love it! The food and service is amazing and well worth the trip.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent German food with generous portions, a healthy pour at the bar and friendly prompt service. All this at a reasonable price and with free valet parking 30 feet away. What's not to like? may not be haute cuisine or 5 star Michelin food but really hard to go wrong on coming here (unless you expect to have a real German Fraulein in a drindl skirt or a waiter in Liederhosen speaking fluent German). Viel Dank!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had an excellent meal, service, and dinner at Mader's.
We have had a meal there many times, after the poor service at our last visit we were cautious but the excellent service that has been there for years remains. Just a bump in the road.
Don't miss this outstanding German restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I read mixed reviews online and hoped for the best. The ambiance was nice, felt like you were at a German restaurant. The service was good. The food was just ok. We ordered 2 appetizers, pretzel crostini with beer cheese dip and Bavarian weisswurst with pretzel. We enjoyed both.

Our party consisted of 2 adults and 4 kids. We ordered the German sampler, wiener schnitzel, ruben sandwich and chicken fingers. The 2 adults ordered the German sampler which included the schnitzel. The sampler and schnitzel came with the soup of the day which was ruben soup. Wasn't sure how it was going to taste, but it was weirdly good. At first, I didn't love it, but as I ate it, it grew on me and the others enjoyed it, too. Since I had the sampler, I will share my thoughts on the sampler. The sauerbraten had an odd flavor (not sure what) and the meat was a bit dry. The schnitzel was greasy and flavorless . The goulash was the best, but I've had better.

I wouldn't come again, but we had a nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The pork shank was fabulous.
Tried same fare at the OTHER German restaurant and yours was ten times better!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

Unbelievably slow service.......came 2 hours before bucks game and barely made the national anthem......first time here. Very dissapointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great food and service. Loved the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Although somewhat expensive, the food is very good, authentic German fare from appetizers to dessert. Enjoy.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have been to Mader's many times for brunch, lunch, and dinner. The brunch was outstanding as usual but we were very surprised by the service. We always have had excellent service, our waiter was not friendly, gone for long periods, and we had to ask for almost everything. He never offered mimosa's , coffee till we asked. Dirty plates sat. We tipped him based on the service we received. We will return because of the excellent food and the excellent past service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Every time I visit the Milwaukee area I make it a must to go to Mader's for a meal. I lived in Germany for many years and Maders makes me feel like I have taken a mini trip back. Great Food! Anne was a dream.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We love Maders but don't come to Milwaukee that often. We forget how expensive our favorites are! Still, we are always pleased and would suggest a lunch visit to keep the costs down. The Sauerbraten is delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food, great waitress, nice atmosphere
Not sure what else to say

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was exquisite! The flavors were as wonderful as the presentation.
Our server, Sarah, was attentive and friendly. I only said one time something about my husband's birthday, she brought a yummy strudel over along with 4-5 servers to sing happy birthday.
Thankyou!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I visited with a group for lunch. The appetizers were all very tasty and fun to share. The soup and entrees were delicious. This is German traditional cuisine with a modern twist! The service was terrific too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the service and atmosphere. Always delicious with professional level servers. Thank you Maders

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.