Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Metropolitan - A SpeakeasyMetropolitan - A Speakeasy
(9)
$$$$
American | Amarillo, Amarillo
Booked 1 time today
Imperial TaproomImperial Taproom
(17)
$$$$
American | Amarillo, Amarillo
Booked 6 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Macaroni Joe's

Macaroni Joe's, in Amarillo, serves up simple yet unique Italian-inspired dishes. Featuring an eclectic menu as well as diverse selection of wines, Macaroni Joe's is a great place to dine in an atmosphere with a real Tuscan feel.

Specialty pastas on the menu at Macaroni Joe's include green chili chicken farfalle, handmade lasagna, blackened bayou pasta and much more. You'll also find a number of chef's specialties such as the bleu tenderloin medallions, slow roasted pork shank and Mediterranean halibut. And don't forget to ask your server about the perfect wine to go with your meal, from a wine cellar offering more than 400 choices.

1619 S. Kentucky
Amarillo, TX 79102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - Close, Saturday: 5:00 - Close

Cross Street:
I-40 and Georgia (NW corner)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 358-8990

Website:
http://www.macaronijoes.com/

Entertainment:
Vino Lounge and Bar, Macaroni Joe's most relaxing setting, has 2 LCD TV's to show the Game of the Day. We also offer live music on Special Occasions and Holidays.

Catering:
Macaroni Joe's and it affiliates offer the most premier catering in West Texas. With thousands of selections to choose from, we can host an event for 20 to 2500 people. From formal seated dinners to casual buffet settings we can meet all of your catering needs. Call today for more information.

Executive Chef:
Will Owens

Private Party Facilities:
Macaroni Joe's loves to do parties. We offer various private dining facilities to accommodate groups of 8 or more. Please limit group size to 56 people. We can also customize special menu's to satisfy the most discriminating diner. Call today for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Nic Barton: (806) 358-8990

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Sort By:
S
22 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2014

Great surprise during road trip! Wanted a romantic dinner for our ongoing anniversary celebration. This far exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 19, 2014

We have been coming here for years. I have moved away, but whenever I visit my family we try to make a trip here. The green chili chick farfalle is the best. Portion sizes always allow for taking home some leftovers. Appropriately sized wine menu, but I'm not a wine aficionado.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 21, 2014

Pretty decent food but slightly on high side for portions. Service was a little slow but not derilict.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2013

Macaroni Joe's is my absolute favorite restaurant in Amarillo and this visit did not disappoint. This was for a landmark birthday party and was a flawless evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2013

Good food. Try the mob queso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 30, 2013

In Amarillo for a horse show, and I must say that it's not my favorite city, but none the less we booked Macaroni Joe's via Open Table. If you like fake ivy on the wall, and dark restaurants, then you're going to love this place. Food was OK at best. I'd recommend going to BL Bistro over this place, wishing I'd gone there both nights....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2013

What a great experience in Amarillo the home of the free 72oz steak! Why go there when you can come here and have a real deal meal! I had the pork osso busco, what a treat, also the wedge salad is one of the the best i ever had, it had along with blue cheese and a spicy dressing it also had capers and small torn up pieces of procuitto, out of this world. The house wine was Vina Robles 2009 Cabernet, what a great red wine, they also have a small but great selection of sherry and port.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 5, 2013

It's by far our favorite place in Amarillo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 3, 2012

We found Macaroni Joe's on the Internet and really didn't know what to expect. We were very pleased! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was very relaxing after a day of shopping. We will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 26, 2012

We go there on a regular basis. It has consistently been a good experience. Certainly on our top list for restaurants in Amarillo.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2012

Stopped over in Amarillo on way home from Colorado. Called some Dallas friends who had lived in Amarillo and they suggested Macoroni Joe's. It sounded like something you would expect in Amarillo. Huge surprise! Food was original and superb. Interior a bit over the top Italian but the service was excellent. Server was experienced and made some great suggestions. Menu was very diverse. We had nachos on wontons that were excellent. I had green chili chicken stew that was really good and wife loved her sea food dish. Macoroni Joe's would be a regular restaurant for me in Dallas. Unless you want a steak that is bigger and tougher than you can eat sold at a truck stop by a guy wearing chaps, for Amarillo it's Macoroni Joe's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 12, 2012

In dining alone, I only needed wine by the glass. The waiter offered very little in the way of California Chardonnay to go with my delicious chicken pasta with prosciutto and peas. The sommelier happened to walk by and I asked if he had a reasonably priced CA chard. He offered me a nice Piedmont selection. Had he not happened by, I wouldn't have had a nice accompaniment to my dish. The house made balsamic viniagrette was good, but the greens were nothing to write about as they were straight out of the bag with only a couple of grape tomatoes and a little chopped olive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2012

I wanted to go to Macaroni Joe's for Valentine's Day because it's a very romantic place and NORMALLY very quiet. My husband and I were put in a room with a ton of other people and it was very loud. We had a hard time having a conversation. I've eaten at this restaurant several times though and the food and service are always great. It's a really good place for lunch with groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2012

This is a wonderful restaurant overall. I was however, disappointed that they did not honor my request to sit "side by side" or at a 4 top table. I requested this in my initial reservation and then again as I arrived. My wife and I were seated at a 2 top and advised all the 4 tops were reserved for 4 (and I agree they should be). However, 5 tables around us (4 tops) were eventually occupied by only 2 customers. The wait staff was great as well as the food; I was just disappointed in the reservation and seating scenario.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 1, 2012

Upon entering Macaroni Joe's you'll be pleased with the very inviting atmosphere of this restaurant. The bar just off of the entryway is inviting and attractive.

There are several dining rooms, my favorite being the one directly through the entry. There is an additional dining room and then a couple of private dining areas for parties.

I was seated and ordered a bottle of wine. They decanted without being asked and even offered a glass of champagne to sip while I waited for the wine.

The service is impeccable and the food is fantastic. I had their special which was a bone in ribeye cooked to perfection exactly how I requested it.

If you are in Amarillo you should make your way to Macaroni Joe’s. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 2, 2011

Always gotta stop there rollin' through town any direction!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 19, 2011

Great food and even better service. What a surprise to find such a nice place on a 3 week road trip across the western US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2011

What a great find! Outside you're in a strip mall, inside you might be in Italy. They have designed the entry so you feel as if you've just entered a grotoo. Excellent Italian food, with a smattering of other cuisines. Fried green tomatoes may be the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot as I order them where I find them on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2009

They claim they are Tuscan in style but what does Sashimi have to do with Italian fare? There is also a big influence of S. West seasonings and ingredients like NM green chili and the odd addition of Cajun spices. My wife started with the fried green tomatoes which were good, and followed with a nicely flavored tortilla chicken soup (Italian???). I had the shrimp bruscetta which had 4 nice shrimp atop some rather average baguette slices and smothered in some kind of Tex-Mex queso cheese sauce. My NY strip steak was great but a downgraded by a overpowering Mole sauce. My wife had an good pasta. The wine list is huge and extensive but a tad expensive for the lackluster menu. Who would order a $200 bottle of wine to go with a $15 entree?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 4, 2009

We were just driving through Amarillo and found Macaroni Joe's on Open Table. This worked out perfectly! Great for just passing through but also a change of pace from the typical restaurant in Amarillo. The interior is very quiet with dim lighting and a faux Italian village feel. The food was very good and the wine list is extensive.

We had Ryan as waiter and he was excellent! Very attentive and informative, but also not hovering so you never felt like he was watching you eat. Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2009

Too spicy, I do not like spicey food,the chicken was so hot I did not enjoy it at all

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2009

The Main Dishes were delicious, the service was perfect and the atmosphere was soothing. The whole pieces of roasted, sweet garlic gave a nice punch to the Confetti Spaghetti. I will defiantly be insisting that my husband bring me back for our Anniversary in March.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.