About Lupo Verde

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Authentic (22)
Casual (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (14)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Upon arrival we were told that a number of items from the menu, including the entire beer list, was unavailable. This seemed surprising for 7:30 pm on a holiday weekend. The service was pleasant but exceptionally slow. We waited a long time for our drinks to arrive and then a long time for our dessert and bill to arrive. It wasn't clear why the service was slow -- the restaurant was busy but not overly so. The food was good, but it wasn't enough to make up for the service. I'm not sure we'll come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great vibe and friendly service. Portions on smaller side but flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Pastas are solid-sauces very good. Flavorful salads. Pizza for app satisfying. Tiramisu was subpar. Sat in a two top next to a young couple on a date-too close for comfort (clearly more appropriate as a table for four). Service ranges from solid to a bit too laid back. Been several times. It's been good but not outstanding. Good for a crowd - won't break the bank. Love the neighborhood. It will likely be a while before we venture back though-trying to find the place we want to be regulars. But patio looks inviting so perhaps will return down the road.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

place is great, its trendy nice not fancy nice, which is a good thing in my book. We were 6 people and we all tried eachothers entrees, they were all amazing. And for sure the best calamaris lve eaten in DC

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Love Lupo Verde. Their cocktail game is excellent, and the pasta is beautifully done. So happy to have a neighborhood Italian place in DC.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Our first visit was on Thursday Feb 16,the day the many immigrants didn't show up for work to make an important point. So my evaluation of service (poor) may reflect that. Food was terrific and so I will repeat visit to judge under more usual circumstances. We had fried artichoke hearts -perfectly done and with a great sauce. Burrata cheese -very fresh- was sensational. Our main courses short ribs, fettuccini with rabbit ragu and squid ink pasta with seafood were all very well done and nine were routine preparations. Definitely a great addition to the 14th Street strip

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My family and I had brunch at Lupo Verde for my birthday. While the food was good, our service was lacking. Our waiter was kind of rude and disinterested in us. Most of the time we were trying to grab him for coffee or water refills. When the food came out, it was almost lukewarm. There were only 6 of us and it wasn't that busy so there was really no excuse for that. I got the eggs benedict which was good and everyone else seemed to enjoy their meal but the service definitely took away from the experience. At the end we had to track down the server just to get the check. I would be hesitant to go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic meal--shared pizza, short rib, gnocchi, and donuts. Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

First time at Lupo Verde; we had dinner for party of three. Food overall was great from apps and pasta dishes. However, the service was awful. Waiter arrived after almost 8 mins after seating, and ask what we would like to order without a greeting or telling us of any specials; he poured olive oil and after asking for bread 3 times one of his helpers who dropped the apps went it got it for us; over poured our wine glasses as if he was rushing to empty the bottle; never asked if we needed anything or how the food was.

We would come again for the delicious food, but at all cost avoid the short ~40/50 yo male Italian olive complexion waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good restaurant in very busy neighborhood. I would recommend to people in the area. Chestnut soup was very good. Grilled Caesar salad was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. The cheese board, squid ink pasta, pear tart were all heavenly. Great cocktail selection and bar scenery.

What truly made our experience was our very friendly and helpful hostess. She waited on us for most of the evening. She made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good server. No space! Tiny tables. Crammed in. Noisy. Steak overcooked. Pasta overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Beautiful and tasty meal. All the pasta and deserts are made there, and you really notice the difference.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of the most authentic Italian restaurants you will find in DC. Can't recommend enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was good, but not great, and the server was uninformed on the food and drink menu. We loved the ambiance and would come back for meat and cheese and wine again, but we would not order prepared dishes. There are too many excellent kitchens in DC to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Lupo Verde was absolutely amazing! They accommodated our group adding people to the reservation so wonderfully. The food was spectacular and the atmosphere is great - love the exposed brick. I appreciate them so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our seventh time visiting the place. We were there the first time for drinks and the hostess was so hospitable that we decided to come back for dinner. Then we came back more and more time with different friends. Really charming restaurant with excellent pasta and main dishes, especially the duck. Very cozy top floor, a real gem on 14th Street..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great tasting gnocchi but was disappointed with the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We went for a business dinner with a group of 9 people...it was very enjoyable. Sharing a salumi and cheese board ( 5 each) at teh beginning set off the evening with a nice pace, then every person picked their individual main...great options are also to pick e.g. the pork belly from the appetizer menu and rappini and finocchio sides to create a main course. We shared 4 desserts in the end and the semifreddo was delightful.

Overall great evening, good food, good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I ordered a Lup Verde salad & the ink pasta. My husband ordered the calamari & duck. Great food, cozy atmosphere & great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Have been for brunch a few times and have been blown away by the food each time! While Italian may not be your typical brunch option, the food is spectacular and a nice change from your standard brunch fare (while still having some egg and French toast options for the less adventurous). This has become our staple for visiting friends, parents or just a nice lunch out. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Spilled on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Met some friends from out of town and wanted to impress them with a good D.C. Restaurant-this restaurant did not disappoint. Everything we ate was fabulous and the service was wonderful-even the guy filling up our water was friendly and making us laugh :) I can't wait to go back:)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Everything was incredibly delicious! Such a great meal and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Warm. Inviting. Great service. Great food. Will go back. I didn't feel as though I was in a typical Washington DC expense account restaurant; Moti the waiter seemed to really care about our preferences and what would be best for our tastes. Just a delightful evening. I'd go weekly if I lived in the neighborhood!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very disappointed they were only offering a brunch menu. We went for lunch at 1:30; it's an Italian restaurant, we went for pasta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Incredible food and great service. We LOVED everything. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great cheese shop! We get a lot of cheese plates, so it was a nice surprise to find such attention to this selection. In short, they have their own internal "shop" and the staff are properly versed in the offerings. Nice cozy spot with quality food and service. Laid back, hip vibe. We enjoyed it and will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had wanted to try Lupo Verde for a while and it's sad that we didn't enjoy it.

First the server was almost non-existent and served people who were there after us before us.

The cocktails were overpriced and amounted to water with a splash of bourbon...we ordered manhattans

The pasta was decent but the portion wouldn't even be a lunch portion at any other restaurant.

Overall it's disappointing and I'd recommend Floriana if you want decent Italian food and great drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The service was quite poor. Hosts and waiters with attitudes when asked the simplest things. Shame. Food was medium. Nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We visited Lupo Verde a couple of nights ago and were a little disappointed. I made a reservation through open table, and when we arrived we were seated at a communal style table. I think it was the only one they have. Normally, I wouldn't mind, but this was a special occasion we were celebrating so I hoped for something a little more private. The service was very good, but the food was mediocre. I wish it tasted as good as it looked. We sent my first pasta dish (the seafood carbonara) back because it was bland and not as described at all and I didn't enjoy it. I replaced it with the ragu, which was also underwhelming. Our server was very good and the restaurant has a beautiful atmosphere, but the cuisine was not worth returning for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wow, what an amazing experience. The best authentic fine Italian restaurant outside of Italy. From the moment you walk in the staff and owners ensure you have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

great waitress and service. Good and trendy drinks and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous meal with friends - assisted by engaging, knowledgeable server (Anne Marie). Owner came to chat as well, on a busy Friday evening. All comfortable, accommodating and fun! Beautiful flavors and presentation of food. Portions were perfect and atmosphere was cheerful and casual. We're eager to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved it. Delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere with first date service. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was good, and the atmosphere was good for the time I walked in with my friend. Probably because it was early in the evening on a Friday, it felt like the food was rushed out in order to keep the kitchen from being backed up. Still, I would recommend Lupo Verde as nice place to sit down and have a meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The very good food at very reasonable prices understandably draws a good crowd. But, the place is so congested you wonder if the Fire Marshall has been through lately. Prepare to be bumped a lot, even once seated. Aside from the snarky blonde at the hostess stand, service was outstanding (Ann Marie), the manager stopped by to say hello, and the place has a lot of charm. The overall rating takes a substantial hit from the overcrowded space, however; otherwise, there's a lot to like here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What fun! What food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We've lived in the neighborhood for over 28 years and are never disappointed when we have a meal here. Bravo to the Chef for consistency in the quality and tasteful dishes. The service is always top notch. We will return...often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of the best restaurants in DC, Lupe Verde features house-made pasta and imported charcuterie. Our go-to dishes include the duck speck and artichoke flowers. They make some liquors in-house also, but the selection varies. There's usually a Fernet. Antonio makes this place run smoothly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious food and amazing place. I felt like I was in Tuscany, Italy. However, the meals could be more well served.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lupo has the best mix of amazing food, beautiful atmosphere and good vibes. Hands down place to go if you want to eat on 14th Street. Food takes me to Italy every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Convenient Italian style restaurant. Average range of dishes. Unusual or hard to find Italian wines. Excellent Mediterranean salad though overpriced for volume. For vegetarians the vegetable sides (Contorni) were very attractively priced and above average presentations. Broccoli raab was the best of the three. Rukola fritter's were fine and obviously not what you'd expect to find on a menu very often. Fennel was above average. Dining tables are essentialy on second floor with bar protruding on most of the room. Makes the tables adjacent narrow and the feeling overall of being cramped for both those at bar and those at the tables. Wait staff are extremely attentive until the place gets packed and then they take care of you as quickly as they can. They're champs for running up the stairs with your food from the first floor kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was great except that I had made a reservation under the assumption we would have a private table upstairs. Once we got there we were seated at what seemed to be a community table downstairs which we shared with another couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were in town visiting and had Christmas dinner here. The restaurant is charming and cozy and the food is wonderful. I have always had great meals. Wonderful meat and cheese options for a plate, great vegetarian options and everything has been very well done. Always happy to eat at Lupo Verde

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Exceptional specials in a fine location. Perfect pasta and a cocktail list to suit your day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was my second time to Lupo Verde and unfortunately, is was a bit disappointing. We were a family party of 6 for Christmas Eve and chose their prix fixed 'Festa de sette pesci' (Feast of 7 fishes) meal. The food overall was very good, (only 1 fish dish - octopus with chick peas, we unanimously did not like) but the time in between courses - 20-30 min, was too long. When our dessert came, we were never asked about coffee or after-dinner cordials, but admittedly, after 3 hrs we were ready to head home. The staff is friendly and accommodating, but we got the feeling, despite the early seating (6:45p) they were struggling to keep up. I'll go back again, their pasta's are excellent, but maybe not on a 'special' night.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We've been several times and fell in love with this restaurant. Most of the time the service is excellent but last night we had to repeatedly ask for bread and weren't provided with all the food we ordered. Since we usually have excellent service I would accept this as a problem with a particular server but would I believe in giving an accurate review so others can make their own decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.