About Lupo Verde

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Cozy (37)
Authentic (35)
Romantic (34)
Special Occasion (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fun (29)
Hot Spot (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Casual (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
People Watching (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Scenic View (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere, very friend staff, and food is amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated our daughter's 21st birthday here - fabulous night! Dinner was delicious and all the young people loved the menu and ambiance. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

It was college graduation and it was casual yet a really fun place. We had a great server who recommended a wonderful wine and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and outdoor patio. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a party of 10 and the waiter barely paid attention to us. Our sat down at 830 and we didn't get served dinner until 10. Each person only had about 2 drinks because it was near impossible to get the waiters attention and he never took full drink orders for the whole table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything tested very good, but, we wait a lot for our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While the food at Lupo Verde is very good, your meal will suffer from the lackadaisical service. The water glasses are very small and in constant need of a refill from the disappearing staff. The wait staff must be summoned to order. At the most recent meal, our waitress brought a different pasta from the one I ordered and then argued with me about. Owner was apologetic but left the $21 charge on the bill...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I treated myself to a mother's day meal, as I was away from my family on a business trip. I did not know this restaurant before but it looked good, and I'm glad I went. Informal, nice seating outside though I chose an inside table - that would have been a communal or large table, but I was on my own the entire time, though most other tables around me were occupied by small or medium-sized groups. The service was just right - not too much, there whenever I needed the attention. The food was very good - pasta with a salmon, fennel and capers in cream sauce. They had a nice selection of Italian wines, but also others. All in all, I'll go there again, hopefully with family or friends this time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If not the best, top three best pastas. Food was phenomenal for brunch. Drinks-incredible. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best fresh pasta I've had in the U.S. The portions were perfect and the price was super reasonable for the quality. Also, the service was great and we had a wonderful time with our waiter.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love this place, Antonio and his staff are doing a great job. The menu is interesting and well executed. Love the wine list also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

great italian food, , awesome drink and beautiful location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Another great meal.. thanks Lupo Verde stuff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Definitely one of the better Italian restaurants in DC. Authentic cuisine with an authentic decor. Borders on hipster-modern but maintains a strong traditional look and feel. Charcuterie is some of the best in DC as they know how to serve it...beyond paper thin and solid room temperature. Hand made pastas are all wonderful. Wines are great if you have someone who knows what they are looking at. This is a place where the bartender (get the guy who is Italian) knows Italian wines and can guide you very well. Management is all Italian as well. Very good place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous real Italian food. I have never had a better cook bream fish in the US. It was cooked whole, perfectly filleted and delicious. The artichoke appetizer was a perfect share and the wines were amazing. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the wines and food pairing. I would love to return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was great overall. Wish they recognized especially occasion that I left note which was birthday dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

AnnMarie and Julian are delightful. We had a fantastic and tasty evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was delicious - we had the special, an arrabiata made with guanciale with house-made fettuccine. And the guinea hen was spectacular, tender and smoky and savoury.

The service was also great. We were well-taken care of, drinks came quickly, and the servers were well able to answer questions about the food and make recommendations for indecisive eaters. :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

training needed for servers and busboys no understanding of dining

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The decor and menu draws you in, the cocktails at the bar grab you, the food wows you, and the service keeps you coming back. Looks upscale & trendy -- and it is -- but treats you like you're family. This is becoming one of my go-to restaurants in D.C.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The overall ambiance is quite lively and somewhat rustic. Menu is ample but not overwhelming. Having never had brunch here, did not know what to expect, but the portions were quite well sized, and menu options fairly diverse. Having ordered the eggs benedict (believe it was Benedette Ouva on their menu), it was one of the tastiest iterations of the dish I have ever had. Highly recommended. Wait staff was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food , great cocktail and great service- will come back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always love coming here. Good is always creative and tasty. Especially liked the pasta with ramps - chef is always doing interesting things with seasonal items

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

family dinner, great spring menu.Delicious tomato tart

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent squid ink pasta and cocktail selection. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Lovely cozy space for a small group weekend brunch. Would definitely return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had an absolutely delicious meal and lovely evening at Lupo Verde recently. The ambiance/decor, the service, food, drinks, all noteworthy and worth a return visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

another great dinner al fresco... love the patio atmosphere and the team make you feel like you are in italy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Love this place's selection of cheese and meats for charcuterie. The pasta (gnocchi and pappardelle) itself is delicious, tastes homemade, but the flavors for both our meals were off. Mine was overly fishy and my husband's was overly gamey. Wouldn't say this is typical but we were bummed. Our waiter Tony was the best--we didn't mention displeasure with flavors so didn't expect anything out of it. We really like him--will come back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I came to meet my girlfriends parents from France for the first time. The service was absolutely horrible. Ordered a $90 bottle of Champagne that was not served properly, the server often left us without checking in or if we wanted more wine, did not clear plates unless asked, did not removed extra setting places, dishes did not come out together with one coming almost 20 minutes after the other had landed. While the food was good for a +200 dollar meal service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We were seated promptly outdoors. Service was courteous. Food was excellent, the porchetta and gnocchi were delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

What a great night. Loved the place. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had reservations for 7:15pm on Saturday 4/15, but we didn't get seated until 8:10pm! When we arrived, we were told that our table would be ready soon, so we decided to go to the bar and have a few drinks while waiting. When I walked by our table, I saw that the people sitting at our table were done eating and drinking, so I was hopeful that our table would be ready shortly, as we had been told. Except that they didn't get their check until 7:45pm...! I went and spoke to the receptionist twice; the 1st time to make sure that he had not forgotten about us, and the 2nd time to ask how much longer it would take to get seated (my pregnant friend could not wait much longer). We were offered half a glass of prosecco each (yep, not even a full one) as a sign of appreciation for our patience, I suppose. That was clearly not enough. We eventually got seated, but didn't get menus for another 15 minutes. The food was good, but we felt rushed (how ironic!). I had barely taken the last bite of my ragu that a second waiter came and grabbed my plate. All in all, I was very disappointed in Lupo Verde's customer service. I expected more, especially after having an amazing first experience back in December. Not sure if I will be going back after last weekend's fiasco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went to Lupo Verde for the first time for an anniversary dinner and had a perfect evening! The service was prompt, friendly, and helpful and the food and cocktails were delicious! The patio was beautiful but if it had been raining the inside of the restaurant was equally romantic. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I'd been trying to come here for a few months, and having the fam come up for Easter was the perfect excuse. Servers were knowledgeable, especially for helping determine meats & cheeses/wines to suit our tastes. Pasta was really excellent, and the pizza looked good too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I love the Italian ambiance at Lupo Verde! My date had the rabbit ragu, I had the guinea hen, both were excellent. Our server was able to recommend a dry white for us out of their large and diverse wine selections. For dessert, we had the bomboloni (Italian doughnuts) and I had a Macallan 10. Would recommend for a date or a nice night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was our second time at Lupo Verde and it won't be the last. We were here with friends after a matinee at Studio Theater - short walk from the restaurant. At 6pm on a Sunday it was quiet and the room was bright and inviting. Our server recommended an excellent and well priced wine - so good that we had a second bottle. All of the dishes we ordered were well prepared and tasty. My pork chop big enough to take some home was juicy and the bok choy were still bright green and tender. The mango sauce was a nice complement. Desserts are vg too

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very nice food. It was my wife's birthday. We really liked the food. We went for brunch. Not too many options for kids even though the pancakes were outstanding. The waiter was kind of bored, he barely explained the dishes... in the end he got more friendly. A good place to have brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

spring menu is on.... great job, very beautiful and tasty dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Love this place - great food, great ambiance, great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.