About Lupo Verde

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (42)
Authentic (40)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Cozy (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Romantic (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Fun (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
People Watching (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tapas (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Service, food and experience were awesome! Will be back !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Loved this place and the food was fantastic. A little on the slow side with the service. Did buy a tee shirt !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Organic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Menu here never fails to be full of delicious options - complex, interesting. Braised pork cheeks. Raw beef and foie gras... Wonderful to be able to get burrata. Always want to order more choices than a pair of people can eat. In fact, we rarely get past the appetizers. Great cocktails too. Negroni Reale was really awesome. Good selection of Amaros. A little loud upstairs on a Saturday night (who knew?), but if you can get a table outside, it’s much better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was very good. Food delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

What a great place, I regret having taken so long to come visit. The place is just beautiful, the service supreme and the noise level ok. I feel like the food was good but not great, but still would definitely come back, so many items in the menu I still need to try.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Overall, the dinner experience was decent. The lows... I had a 7:15pm reservation. We arrived early so totally understood that the table might not be ready. We waited another half hour beyond the reservation time before we were seated. There seemed to be some miscommunication at the front but it wasn't always communicated to us. Next the portions were inconsistent. One pasta dish was more like an appetizer and another was plentiful.

Highs-the server and woman filling water were amazing. Friendly and engaging. Food was tasty (great bite on the pasta). At the end of the meal as the check was being paid, the server brought over a round of limoncello on the house. This made up for the beginning of the evening.

I would give the restaurant another try to see if I have a different experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food/chef was amazing. Fresh ingredients, nice selection for both vegetarians and meat-eaters, and every course was DELICIOUS. The service did not match the quality of the food. Atmosphere was beautiful, ambiance was off with music selection. Traditional or current Italian music would have been a good fit. Staff aesthetics were on point, but could use fine tuning on attentiveness and flow of meal. If they can get service to keep up with the integrity of the food- it would have been a perfect 5 star.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and service. Love, love, love the cheese board and the brazino fish with corn and fermented cabbage was delicious! As well as the tiramisu and sorbet.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

A good neighborhood spot.... ambience is wonderful. Food very good - though not foodie-qualified!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2017

amazing authentic italian food, but incredibly uncomfortable chairs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This was not our first time at Lupo Verde. We have very much liked it in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were party of 4, we tried pork belly, octopus and calamari for appetizer and was amazing, pastas we had cacio pepe superb, linguine perfectly cook, cappellacci light and flavorful, for main course we had stone bass , steak and pork chop also very well done. Great atmosphere and service. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very attentive and knowledgeable servers. The rabbit ragu was spectacular!! We'll be back often!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food did not come as requested (requested no almonds), so sent it back. Have never sent a plate back before. Food was returned alarmingly fast, without almonds, but pasta and sauce was cold. Sent the food back again and asked for the meal to-go as my date was finishing up. Didn't end up eating it, so not sure how it tasted. My date's food tasted fine. Was not satisfied by the service. The waitress had too many tables to focus on us and didn't seem all that concerned about what was going on with us. Additionally, the glass of champagne I ordered was clearly not from a fresh bottle, but I didn't mention that to the waitress as nothing was going right for us. Also, we had to ask for water refills because they never proactively refilled our small water cups. Think there may have been a language barrier with our waitress. Lastly, we were seated very close to another table, and when a man from that table would get in and out of his chair, the back of his chair would touch my left forearm, trapping me in my seat-- the tables are too close if that is happening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Waitress was especially nice and accommodating for my annoying Dad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The table was a little bit cramped, but overall it was a really lovely meal

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Best Italian food in DC, best service from Anne Marie!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We like Lupo Verde, we like the ambiance, particularly the outdoor space, but we felt the food was not quite as good as it has been in the past. Not quite as creative and distinct as it has been. We also think it is a little overpriced. Best dishes were the fig salad, and the sides of asparagus and brussel sprouts.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Lupo Verde is a reliable source for fine, if not inexpensive, Italian cuisine in our neighborhood. During my most recent visit there, my first two courses — a seasonal salad and sea bass — were extremely satisfying and impeccably prepared. Dessert, a peach crisp, was good but lacked the flare of the first two courses and was served too hot (the ice cream on top melted almost instantly). The upstairs dining room continues to be the most charming place to have dinner on the 14th St. corridor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Sitting outside was great. Despite the mosquitos our waiter did everything he could to keep us comfortable, including even bringing us bug spray! The food itself was wonderful. The portions are not massive but in my opinion the quality makes up to the quantity.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Lupo Verde is the best authentic Italian restaurant in DC! This took me right back to northern Italy. I've now been there twice and the food is consistently mouthwatering, the service is exceptional, and the drinks are some of the best I've had. If you want pasta done the right way - au dente - this is the only place to get it! The most memorable dishes for me were the octopus burrata, smoked pork belly, and EVERY pasta dish on the menu. I'll will definitely be coming back again....and again...and again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nice place, good service, hectic, noisy, good for friends. Not recommended for families. I went with my wife and 3 years old daughter, despite the facts that it is a good restaurant, it is not the best to share dinner with the family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere. We love Lupo Verde. We will keep going back ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Glad I went but not sure that I will return. The food is ok for the high price. There appears to be more restaurants to choose from with better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The ambivalence both inside and the outside seating was lovely . The food was exceptional and the service was very good . Great location and someplace I would return to over and over again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This time we stayed at the bar, out bartender Maurizio was very good, pasta delicious as always, best cheeses and meats in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Water was spilled on me and my phone but staff was extremely attentive. Accidents happen and I wouldn't hold it against them. We ordered one bottle of wine and tried to order a second bottle of the same but they were sold out. They then suggested a more expensive bottle of the same region and grape but didn't tell us the price until after we agreed. So they upsold us which was a little strange when she sold it as a replacement for something they no longer had. Paying the difference hurt when we didn't expect it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The brunch here was extremely reasonably priced, and the restaurant is very cozy and homey. It is also dog friendly if you can get a table outside. The food is really great as well.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The waitress forgot our juice and a side dish. Service was abysmal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Loved this place. Some of the best pasta I've had in the dc area and I can't wait to go back! Definitely best for a special occasion since it's a tad pricey and make a reservation if you're planning to go on the weekend.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always, the atmosphere, food, presentation & service were outstanding! Anna Maria is the best waitress ever!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We loved this restaurant. Service was awesome and food was amazing. Homemade pasta was delicious. Desserts, especially the Tiramisu was to die for. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food, we love the pastas , always perfectly done. Beautiful atmosphere. Will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Rabbit ragu was the best to date! All of Mateo's pastas are killer!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Healthy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our dinner at Lupo Verde was special from beginning to end. We were given a great table upstairs by a window after sending an earlier request for a quiet table if possible. Our waitress and bus girl were fantastic and so friendly. Food was delicious from burrata appetizer to main dishes of Cappellacci, NY Strip, and Fusilli Campani. We had planned to leave and get dessert and after dinner drinks elsewhere, but everything had been so great that we stayed for Sambuca and the bomboloni, recommended by our waitress. They were warm, soft and delicious with the nutella and cream dipping sauces. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was good but not great. The service was good but not great - food was slow to come out. The ambience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Lupo's staff were very friendly and caring for or requests. We requested a nice table for for and got one of the best spots! Food is amazing, staff know how to give good recommendations on the menu and kitchen times are perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Another great dinner , love the new dishes.. will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This restaurant was awesome! I sat at the bar and the bar tender was great at making recommendations. I definitely will return the next time I'm in DC! Thanks for a great "solo" dining experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.