Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 46 times today
Special offers available. See details

Lupa

4.3
119 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
Casual Roman trattoria located on Lake Kittamaqundi in downtown Columbia, the newest restaurant of Tony Foreman and chef Cindy Wolf.
Lupa, meaning she-wolf in Italian is the perfect neighborhood gathering spot. The freshly made pasta, pizza, and gelato are inspired by the places we love in and near Rome. The new space is beautiful and open for family-style feasts, dining al fresco by the lake, and gelato and cappuccinos to end your day.
Shareable antipasti open the menu while casual paninis and Abruzzo-style focaccia pizza are available for lunch and dinner. The main feature of the menu is handmade pastas, made with all organic flours, produced fresh daily. As for wine, Foreman created an accessible wine list at all price points and the restaurant offers 20 wines by the glass.
The companion gelateria offers 20 gelatos and sorbettos, made in-house daily, alongside Italian baked goods and full coffee service.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Dessert, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Tue–Fri 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Brunch
Sat, Sun 11:00 am–3:30 pm
Dinner
Tue–Thu, Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 964-9999
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Lewandowski
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Little Patuxent Pkwy
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Convenient free on-site parking is available in two parking garages and on a surface lot.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us for Mother's Day! We are serving brunch from 10:30am to 4pm, and dinner from 4pm to 7pm, with special dishes for Mother's Day.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 119 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined a day ago

awful dont go

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at Lupa. The menu offered a variety of fresh made pastas. We shared several plates and particularly enjoyed the shrimp risotto and pasta primavera. Our server provided several recommendations and service was fast and friendly. This was not our first visit and won’t be our last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

This was our first visit to Lupa and we were very impressed with the menu selection. Very few restaurants carry bronzino, and we both took advantage of it. The service was excellent; our server, Aaron was outstanding. Lupa will definitely be added to our A list!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Service was very good. Food was delicious. Ambience was lovely.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The wait staff needs to be educated about the menu. They also kept trying to take things after asked them to leave them. Find was good, but not special. I liked the asparagus salad, but some of the stalks were woody.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Met a friend for lunch. The food and service were wonderful! At the suggestion of our server, we shared a few items; portions are huge. Escarole salad had the perfect blend of flavors with the slightly bitter leaves and dressing. We next had a platter of assorted cheeses and cured meats (ask and served 50/50). That came with toasts but we ate them with the delicious bread, which was refilled without asking. We then shared delicious homemade tortellini, served in a pork broth that was a little too salty for me. Finished the meal with homemade gelato which was luscious. Can’t wait to return for dinner and those “secondi” on the menu. Yum!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent and I had no complaints

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Disappointed 😞 I have been to all of Tony Foreman’s restaurants and this dining experience was not up to par and did not met my expectations.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Very disappointing. 8 pm reservations, and, even with reservations, we were seated at 8:20. Did not receive food on the table til 9:30. Pasta was over cooked and seemed like it was everyone’s excuse because the place was busy, it was everyone’s excuse for poor service, experience, food and overall care. If you anticipate being busy, prepare and do not make the experience less for us because of your lack of experience in running a busy restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We really enjoyed our meal at Lupa. The food and drink prices were on the higher end, but the food was very good. We wouldn't go here regularly, but it's good for a special meal now and then. The pizza seemed like the best route to go for a more affordable meal. The service was great, and we were able to eat outside, so it was a great atmosphere. Overall, a very nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great atmosphere overlooking the lake. Food was on par with the best fine dining in Baltimore and DC without the stuffy pretense.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The arugula and lemon salad was outstanding. The kale and beet salad was very good. We had the lamb meatball and margherita pizzas, which were very good. The cinnamon gelato was delicious, hazelnut gelato was good, but not as strong a flavor as the cinnamon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Some dishes are good but rather small. Atmosphere is pleasant but noisy. Service is good but food choices are somewhat limited.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We loved one of our main courses - the lasagna was delicious. Service was well short of the expected level - forgetting multiple requests - criticizing our opinions [taste, one notes, is individual], getting the bill wrong. We'll go back after they've broken some of the rough edges off. Two of the dishes were exceptional. We might attribute this to being new - however this is the same operator and we loved their previous restaurant at this location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

First and foremost, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, but SLOW. We arrived for our 7:30 reservation on a Friday night and didn't leave until 9:45. We waited forever for our main courses to arrive. It was pretty ridiculous and no apology was offered whatsoever; like the staff didn't even notice we had waited an hour and a half for our food. We got the burrata appetizer with arugula salad and candied orange that was delicious, but that was by far the highlight of the meal. My husband got the oxtail ragu pasta that was incredibly (and unexpectedly) spicy. He liked it well enough, but I couldn't eat it. I got the gnocchi with mushrooms for my entree and it had no flavor whatsoever. The mushrooms were just rubbery and bland and the sauce on the dish tasted like it had not been seasoned. It was way better reheated the next day when I was able to doctor it up. My husband had the crispy rabbit leg for his main course and it was okay - tasted like fried chicken and was unremarkable. I know Lupa is pretty new in the area so we may give it a year or so to give them the chance to get their act together and try again. In the meantime, however, we won't be returning. Blah.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

My wife and I ate here last evening and I was surprised by the experience. We had eaten lunch here a few weeks ago and had a wonderful experience. This time, things were very different. The wait for the food to come to the table was long! 43 minutes between appetizer and the main course. It's frustrating to see everyone else getting their meals prior to yours, especially when they were seated after you. Had to ask the server what the problem was twice in an effort to try and figure out what had happened. All of the food was extremely salty. Especially the Rissoto and Hake. Couldn't even eat it the Risotto. I informed the waiter about this as well and he informed me that others had complained about the same thing. The service from our waiter was great, staff professional and apologetic, but things need to improve with the food and the timing of the food from the kitchen to the table!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The grilled chicken panini was a disappointment. The chicken was tender but lacked seasoning and the panini was too thick and hardly grilled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We have been to Lupa three times now and we are very impressed with the quality of the food. We were frequent visitors to Petit Louis on the Lake and we believe the change to the new concept was a good one. While we haven’t tried all the dishes yet...the branzino and Cacio e Pepe are excellent. Will be curious to see how the restaurant progresses after they’ve had a few months of experience. But we would highly recommend giving Lupa a try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Amazing as always!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I will say that the food at Lupa was good. The service left a bit to be desired. Our server didn't identify him/herself when we sat down. We ordered with a server who came to our table. Food runners brought the wrong food to us. Eventually I think our server did come to us but again he never identified himself. I'm not sure whom we tipped when we paid the bill.

Not sure if this is because the restaurant was recently reopened with the new concept -- usually service in a Foreman/Wolff establishment is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I love discovering new restaurants in the area. Lupa did not disappoint me. Got their Spaghetti Neri (squid ink pasta) and husband had their Gnocchi. All good and delicious. Will recommend to anyone and absolutely going back. Service was great! Server explained very well the menu and provided recommendations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great meal! Love the transformation to LUPA.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Lupa was absolutely fantastic. I love all of Cindy's restaurants and am extremely pleased that this one has opened in Columbia. Always top of the line food, always exceptional service, always a great atmosphere. 5/5

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Four of us had a delightful dinner at Lupa on Saturday night. We had a 7:30 reservation and were seated promptly. The place was packed with a lively happy crowd of diners. It really gives off a good vibe. We loved our meals. The veal scallopini, gnocchi, and spaghetti and meatballs were all delicious . Our waiter was competent and helpful. The only things I felt were missing were more salad choices that had a variety of fresh vegetables and more hot green vegetables like broccoli, green asparagus and zucchini. Otherwise it was great and we will return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great menu. Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

If you're looking for a typical "Italian" restaurant that is basically a pizza parlor, look elsewhere. Lupa is a genuine Italian restaurant in the Roman tradition. Portions are extremely generous, so bring a big appetite and plan on bringing home some leftovers, too. You'll want to eat it all, but the lamb meatballs are a particular high point.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I was quite disappointed considering I adored Petite Louis.
It was noisy - not a horrible thing for a new Resturant but just to note it.
The food was really awful. Although my husband devoured his pasta & liked it, I had the arugula salad - didn’t like the other choices - it was way too lemony - mouth puckering - & boring - no other taste to it. I had the cod which was overcooked, the favs beans had no taste & the potatoes were overcooked & dry.
My friend had the cavatelli & only ate half of it with no box to take home... this is an eater that finishes every time so I know she didn’t like it. I had a taste - slippery pasta with a lot of garlic & no character.
We will give it a try again after you get some practice in & require the staff to taste everything... hoping it gets better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great starters, fresh made pasta, excellent creative entrees, something for everyone. And great great great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

My husband and I made reservations for a Friday night and were seated right away. Our server was knowledgeable about the wine list and gave wonderful suggestions. Overall, the wine and food was fantastic and the service was amazing!!!!!! We will definitely be returning!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Another amazing dinner at Lupa! We are working our way through the menu and there isn't anything we haven't absolutely loved.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Compliments: Refreshing addition to lakefront offerings and linguini primavera was excellent!

Recommendations: more attention from servers, to include warm-up of coffee during dessert and offer for more wine when glasses empty during main course, less delay between courses, and much less parmesan cheese on margaretta pizza.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Ordered squid appetizer; expected fried squid but it was a sauteed version that was very tasty. Bread was very good. Oxtail ragu with fettucine was heavy and noodles were overdone and loaded with grease so wouldn't reorder. Sage butter chicken ravioli was good but nothing special. Gelato of pine nut/honey was old tasting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Lovely atmosphere and creative menu. A nice new addition to the Lakefront in Columbia!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We ate there for a birthday celebration with five in our party. The service was top-notch and friendly, and the food was delicious. The menu is quite varied, and the wine list is very affordable (and also has good variety). Our dishes included grilled calamari, bronzino, roasted lamb, and lasagna (made with house-made pasta, which is very light). All were absolutely delicious. The desserts were tiramisu, again delicious, and panna cotta, which was wonderfully light and tasty. It definitely carries on the fine tradition of its sister restaurant, Cinghiale.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Try their arugula salad for a starter. It will not disappoint. It's perfectly dressed. For the main entree, I tried their bronzini. The fish itself was good, but I was not fond of the fennel that accompanied it. It's not that anything was wrong with the fennel. I just am not a fennel fan. My friend ordered a pasta dish which he said was unremarkable. Sides ordered included mushrooms (yummy) and white asparagus (yummy). Waiter recommended wine for us which was exactly what we were looking for in taste. Would definitely go back to Lupa and try another entree.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We had an excellent lunch for our first time at Lupa. Our service was great, the food was delicious, and the wine list fit wonderfully with the menu. We'll definitely be back for dinner.
The only thing we'd mention for first-time diners was that the Primi pasta courses were HUGE portions - enough for a full entree. If we had both tried an antipasti, primi, and secundi, it would have been impossible! Even with sharing an antipasti, having a primi each, and sharing a secundi between two people, we had plenty of food to take home. So, the value for how much food you get is certainly there! :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Service was very good. Our waiter did get a bit stretched one or twice but other staff stepped into help for a seamless experience. Ambiance was very nice. quiet to start and only moderate noise by the end of the meal. Food was overall excellent. We had a great wine recommendation from the sommelier. The sizing of the pasta portions was a little inconsistent. So, in a traditional Italian restaurant with a pasta course I would expect the pasta dishes to be small to mid sized to accommodate having the main course as well. My tortellini was sized appropriately. My husbands Fettuccine special was large enough to be a main course. Only a month in so this might get better. The fettuccine was excellent very delicate and tasty. The tortellini was very good, but I wish the pasta was as delicate as the fettuccine. We had the Veal scallopini and crispy rabbit leg for main dishes and both were excellent. The meatball appetizer on Polenta was also very good. Very relaxed pleasant atmosphere to enjoy a special meal. Desserts were good and the red sparkling dessert wine was definitely worth a try.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Celebrated Easter brunch with family. Greeted at front desk by Tony!!
Food was excellent, particularly the pasta, pizza and fish dishes. Service was very good. We expect to be regulars at this restaurant as it has potential to be one of the best locales in Howard County.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had a wonderful surprise for our Easter Brunch when we chose Lupa. The service was impeccable and the menu was fantastic. We were pleasantly greeted as soon as we walked in and were seated in a terrific side room with a warm ambience as well as a wall of wine. Our table started with a shared Antipasti Misti that had some of the best prosciutto and mortadella we've ever tasted. Our entrees were beautifully presented and delicious. The Arugula salad with lemon was outstanding, also. We topped our meal off with dessert as a holiday treat and were incredibly happy we did- Absolutely the best gelati ever! We will be back without a doubt.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The restaurant is a winner. We enjoyed the Selezione di Afettati (charcuterie) as an appetizer. Our main courses were pasta dishes, the Spaghetti alla Chitarre with lamb meatballs and Lasagna Marchigiana. Both were delicious. Coconut gelato for dessert was outstanding. Service on a very busy Saturday evening was up to par. I like the menu which allows you to dine at a range of price points.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3