About Lüke San Antonio

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.
<
To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Lunch: 11:00 am- 2:00 pm
Daily Dinner: 5:00 pm- 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Waterfront (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Scenic View (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Fun (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have always enjoyed Luke and are very ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

We have always enjoyed Luke and are very sorry to see them close.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

waaay over priced. paid $140 for 2 for v ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

waaay over priced. paid $140 for 2 for valentines day. food was good but not great and not worth the cost. should have gone to chilis or olive garden instead. dessert was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Nice restaurant. Didn't know it was in t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice restaurant. Didn't know it was in the Embassy Suites hotel. Was looking forward to New Orleans style cooking. The menu was limited but the food was good. I enjoyed the shrimp and grits. My wife had the scallops and enjoyed them. For dessert we shared the ice box key lime pie. It was delicious. The staff were very attentive. The acoustics of the room made it difficult to hear the staff. Lots of echo in the room. Overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It just lost its touch. The oysters look ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

It just lost its touch. The oysters looked bad, smaller than usual, and then my entree was not worth the price. Don't get the fried fish! The service was not very good as well. I'm really bummed about this experience and the price we paid! Wish I could get at least 50% back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My boyfriend and I went here for a night ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I went here for a night out while staying in San Antonio for the weekend. The food was incredibly good - our favorite parts of the meal were the gumbo and the bread pudding. Delicious - can't go wrong with this decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Slow service. Very limited menu. Nothing ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Slow service. Very limited menu. Nothing like the one in New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Good was absolutely delicious and the se ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good was absolutely delicious and the service was impeccable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful meal with a business ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful meal with a business partner. Great service and delicious food.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke is a must visit for foodies in San ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Luke is a must visit for foodies in San Antonio. There is no detail left untended and there is nothing else like it dining wise in SA. Don't miss it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The charbroiled oysters were so deliciou ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The charbroiled oysters were so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was very good, if a little a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was very good, if a little absent at times. (A mistiming of my party's decision making? Too spread out an area?) but the staff was very helpful and evidenced a team spirit to take care of us promptly and without incident or discomfort. Food is amazing. I highly recommend the brussel sprouts and the Bloody Mary. Going back for a full meal most definitely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious, the waitstaff ex ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was delicious, the waitstaff excellent, and the restaurant itself gorgeous.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, would come back in a hea ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent Food, would come back in a heart beat! Server needed to smile and engage more, that won't keep me from returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was awesome, cocktails were remarka ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was awesome, cocktails were remarkable and the service was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. The service was st ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was stellar. Highly recommend it to anyone

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great restaurant. Had 2 apps 2 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was a great restaurant. Had 2 apps 2 drinks each 2 entrees with tip was $150. Reservation was at 8:15 and got really busy around 8:30 but service was on point. Steak perfectly cooked. Very tender. Charbroiled oysters were phenomenal. Could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not that great. Average food, a little ...

 
 (Cumbria)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not that great. Average food, a little on the noisy side, and not very polished service. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Location is convenient; ambiance is grea ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Location is convenient; ambiance is great; food tastes good yet a little bit pricey.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

South Texas Heritage Pork Ragout was exc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

South Texas Heritage Pork Ragout was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Outstanding Shrimp & Gr ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food. Outstanding Shrimp & Grits. Good wine choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been to Luke for everything from an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I've been to Luke for everything from an Anniversary dinner to mid-week date night to just because Happy Hour. All of the food is delicious, and the menu changes a little throughout the year but the shrimp and grits are always on point and the happy hour $1 oysters is always a great bet!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered shrimp and grits and steak. M ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We ordered shrimp and grits and steak. My girlfriend and I shared meals and we both got stomach aches. Not sure what it was but didn't fee good. For the price I expected more presentation and tastier meal. I have been to NOLA many times and feel this missed the mark and at an end downside price! May give it another try but not on top of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Servers were excellent, bar service to t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Servers were excellent, bar service to the table was a little lagging but not detrimental to the overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Joined friends from out of town that din ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Joined friends from out of town that dine at places such as The French Laundry and they raved about the food. Awesome weather on the patio

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful outdoor lunch overlooking the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful outdoor lunch overlooking the Riverwalk. Phenomenally prepared food, and a real treat to just enjoy the great venue and food together.

Worth the trip!!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good. Nothing blew my min ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Everything was good. Nothing blew my mind. The Brussels sprouts tasted exactly like a dish from another restaurant (Hot Joy) but were significantly more expensive. The setting and tables were far too casual for the price range. My cocktail came in a snifter, a glass typically used for serving whiskey, and it looked fairly unprofessional. Everything was prepared correctly but I didn't feel that the all around experience was worth the extremely high price point. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I went to Luke because of th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My wife and I went to Luke because of the San Antonio Restaurant Week. The restaurant had advertising on open table for the event. When we arrived I was informed that they were not participating in restaurant week because of recent changes in management. This was unfortunate, because my wife and I had traveled downtown and paid to park ($20) to visit this restaurant. However, the staff made up for the miscommunication by suggesting the express meal option along with providing a free dessert. We were very impressed with the food and timely service and left with a reasonable bill. Overall, I plan on returning with my wife for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

absolutely amazing food, atmosphere, and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

absolutely amazing food, atmosphere, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was poor. Drinks arrived very l ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Service was poor. Drinks arrived very late and after we had our first course. Also after waiting about 15 minutes, the server came back and said they did not have a drink we had ordered. We had to ask the server to clear our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very loud, service was very slow, came b ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very loud, service was very slow, came back after a show a few blocks away and they would allow us to have a drink, 11 pm and indicated they had already had last call. Very poor for the only Hotel bar and on a Saturday night after a Broadway performance a few blocks away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

I expected a higher end dining experienc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I expected a higher end dining experience. This restaurant was only slightly above Popeye's Fried Chicken is terms of Louisiana cooking and ambiance. Will not return. Service was awful.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I come to Luke a lot and am a big fan. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I come to Luke a lot and am a big fan. It is the perfect place to go before going to a show at the Empire or the Majestic, valet park your car, have a great meal and then so see a show. Your car will be waiting after the show.

We always order the French 75 cocktail at Luke. They are the best I have ever had, anywhere! The appetizers are also fun to share. This time we tried something new on the menu - the hand empanadas filled with crawfish etoufee. They were fantastic!! We could have eaten two orders of them, but restrained ourselves. The fried brussel sprouts are always on our order, as is the beet salad and fries. This time one of us ordered the gumbo. It is usually fantastic but the roux tasted burned. If I had been at home I would have thrown it out and started over. I was also sad to see that east coast oysters were off of the menu. :(

I'll be back though. Luke is worth the drive downtown. It is a gem that we are lucky to have in San Antonio

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The complimentary boudan balls, thanks t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The complimentary boudan balls, thanks to our theater tickets, were fantastic. My almondine fish was wonderful

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been to Luke in NOLA and was blow ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been to Luke in NOLA and was blown away. While the food at this location was good, it was not as memorable as the NOLA location. Service was a little slow but professional when around.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfect place to celebrate my husbands b ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Perfect place to celebrate my husbands birthday! Great food, drinks and atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here was really good. I had oyster ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food here was really good. I had oysters in the half shell which we fresh and delicious. A also had a side of the jalapeño polenta which was outstanding!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My experience at Luke's was ver

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My experience at Luke's was ver

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Had a mediocre meal at Lüke. The sever s ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had a mediocre meal at Lüke. The sever seemed was minimally attentive- as if he just wanted his work shift to be over- checked on us a little as possible. The meal was delicious however the creme brûlée was terrible. I know the sugar is supposed to be "burnt" but the middle or our was literally blackened and there was a thick layer or granulated sugar left underneath the brûléed layer that was really unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

They were out of Moscato. The waitress c ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They were out of Moscato. The waitress couldn't tell me the type of house beer. She just said it was drinkable. My wife's drum looked like something from Long John Silvers. The Shrimp and grits were good however. Just wasn't a good experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was delicious, although richer than ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was delicious, although richer than we usually eat. Large portions. Attentive but discrete service. Excellent overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.