Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Luce Ristorante

The setting at Luce is romantic. The Murano Lights, Venetian Plaster and Travertine floors create an exclusive dining ambiance. Luce means “Light” in Italian and the restaurant clearly “glows” Luce provides an ideal dining experience whether you stop in for a quick lunch or settling in for a full course dinner and fine selection of extensive wines from Italy. Luce offers fresh, authentic Italian cuisine rich in flavor and passion inspired by our Italian chef, Gabriele Grigolon. The attentive and knowledgeable staff always provides impeccable service allowing you to sit back and enjoy your dining experience. Conveniently located in the Hearst Tower Plaza in the business district of Charlotte’s Center City. Luce opened in 2002 and has achieved outstanding accolades. Helen Schwabb, Charlotte Observer Food Critic, gave Luce an “Excellent” rating. ZAGAT has given Luce an “Extraordinary” rating from 2004-2010.

214 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North Tryon & 5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 344-9222

Website:
http://www.conterestaurantgroup.com/

Catering:
Bring the flavors of Northern Italy to your home, office or special venue. Whether it’s a large hors d'oeuvres reception or an intimate multi-course dinner Luce can take care of it all. Pick-up or delivery is available, delivery fee varies upon location. For more information or to place an order call 704.344.9222 or email info@luceristorante.net

Parking Details:
Luce patrons can park in the Hearst Tower parking deck. Entrances are located on 5th and 6th streets in between College & Tryon. We offer two hours free parking validation M-F before 5pm, after 5pm; on weekends parking is free with Luce validation.

Public Transit:
You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.

Executive Chef:
Gabriele Grigolon

Private Party Facilities:
Luce would like to personally customize your special and private events. We can comfortably accommodate eighty for a seated dinner and over one hundred for a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres event. We also have a seasonal patio that can seat up to forty for dinner guests and is the perfect venue for a summer evening cocktail reception. Luce is available for private parties, rehearsal dinners, receptions, showers and all of your special event needs. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions and we look forward to hosting your events.

Private Party Contact:
Manual Camprese: (704) 344-9222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask us about our monthly Italian wine dinners and special holiday events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Luce Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (31)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Authentic (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful setting with attentive service and excellent food. My pasta with oxtail ragu sauce had a rich, wonderful flavor but some of the noodles were stuck together. Only criticism is that they charge New York prices, but don't quite deliver New York quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing as always! This is my go to lunch spot with friends and business associates. Would be good for dinner too.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was my first time dinning at Luce and it was a great experience. Our server was very knowledgable and helped my girlfriend and I pick a nice Italian wine to pair with our dinner. We shared calamari the pasta special (fettuccini with wild boar ragu) Filletto and a cheesecake and every single dish was wonderful! I would definitely recommend for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best Italian restaurant in Charlotte! Great food, great service and atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 11, 2017

5 stars to Luce Ristorante, if you have not tried them and are contemplating it please do yourself a favor and give this place a try. You will not be disappointed, the pasta, appetizers, and entrees are all great. The food was hot and freshly prepared and the portions are perfect and filling.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wow!! When my husband asked me to meet him here I was surprised as he is not a fan of Italian food. And now he can't wait to go back!!! One of the dishes we ordered was GARGANELLI and wow! Such fresh amazing pasta!! You can tell by the way it looks and definitely by the way it taste that it's 100% made in house! To quote my husband "I feel like I am back in Venice eating in a small family owned restaurant" The owner takes great pride in every little detail. Will definitely return soon!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It's always hard to say which is better -- the food or the service -- Augusta Conte has set a wonderful standard for both. I had the halibut with risotto (the risotto never disappoints). Thanks to Augusto's team -Manuel, Cesare, Rosa et al. My favorite Charlotte restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday here and it was wonderful. Having traveled to Italy and spent time in Tuscany, Luce is a true Italian restaurant. I had the Shrimp Milianese which had four of the largest and tastiest shrimp served over risotto. My wife had the ravioli which were light and served with a wonderful sauce. Our server was excellent, attentive but not hovering. Her recommendations on the menu selections were great.
This is the place to enjoy real Italian cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Most of our food choices were good. Very disappointed in the veal piccata,very tough would not recommend it. The best spinach I ever had. Crime brûlée was missing the creme. Great atmosphere to eat in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Seafood pasta and chicken parm were amazing! Great atmosphere and great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Eat here every time I come for a visit. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Another great evening with friends at Luce the other night. Cocktails were sophisticated, one of the best Negroni ever. The food was excellent and wine recommendations were spot on. Professional service as always, great atmosphere and lighting completed the experience.
Definitely one of Uptown's classic restaurants you should visit. Conte Restaurant Group is to be commended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

They were so nice. On Open Table we could only get 8:30pm reservations. We walked over At 7:00 and they took us early.
I had the very best lemon drop martini.
It was lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A very enjoyable evening...early dinner reservations, and surprisingly quiet for a Saturday evening. We were fortunate to get an outside table on a beautiful evening, and enjoyed the experience thoroughly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was our first visit to Luce and we were definitely pleased! My husband's Petit Filet was to die for! It was full of flavor and smooth as butter!! My salmon was wonderful and cooked to perfection! Because I think I am a Brussel Sprout connoisseur, I would say that they were good but not magnificent! The prosciutto was the star of the veggie and I would add more zing (maybe more balsamic vinaigrette) to make the flavors pop! Before our meal, I ordered the most refreshing martini made with a cucumber vodka! During dinner, we ordered a Barbera wine that was so wonderful that we drank the entire bottle! I will definitely look for this brand!
Thanks for a wonderful evening! We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great house made gnocchi and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I think . . . one of the best restaurants in Charlotte. For almost a decade we lived literally across the street and have ventured here many times. Always superb service and food quality.

Tonight we celebrated Lori's birthday. They greeted us with a complimentary flute of Prosecco. Nice. Off to a great start. Lori ordered Pilipo (grilled octopus and potato--their riff on Spanish Octopus Galatia): the olives and pine nuts brought the dish back home to Italy. Sublime. For my appetizer beef carpaccio with arugula and parmesan reggiano shavings. Elegant.

The star was the Mare although Lori's grilled halibut was expertly prepared. Really no losers. The chef prepared the dish in such a manner that all the seafood was perfect. No small task when cooking lobster, mussels, clams, shrimp, and squid served on a bed of linguine. And the sauce: silky, buttery, with some back heat. I got the evil eye when my wife thought I was about to lick the plate. Mmmm, mmmm, mmmm.

What else can I say? Looking to lay down some change and get it back with style, class, service, and flavor? Luce's. Uptown. I say Give 'em a Whirl!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

food was excellent and the service was amazing. We had dinner on the patio and the environment was so nice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fresh pasta is made in-house daily and is delicious! The service is excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

When we received the bill I noticed that I was charged $35.00 each for two glasses of wine (instead of $9.25 each). Since they had already charged my credit card, I was assured this would be taken care of and they ran my card again for the correct bill amount. Upon arriving home, I checked my credit card account and BOTH totals are showing charged to my card. Now I have to contact the restaurant to rectify. Very frustrating........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte.....love the menu, the staff and the white tablecloths!! It's very sophisticated and elegantly European.
Ann Smith

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We visited with out of town friends. As usual, the service and food were outstanding. Luce provides a consistent, fine dining, Italian experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Perfection in everyway!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Our. Japanese friend, Mr & Mrs ISEDA attended this special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We go to this restaurant for one of their entrees that we love - that is the veal chop - stuffed with spinach and cheese.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised with this restaurant. The food was authentic Italian and featured house-made pastas. The servers were very attentive and we appreciated that the noise level was low enough we could it have a conversation easily.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Rosa was fantastic! We will definitely return for dinner .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful wonderful!! Loved everything. The salmon was so great. Thanks for the great time!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, but we were disappointed. Our party ordered pollo parma and lasagne and both entrees were just average, with no presentation. We were surprised at the lack of creativity. The wait staff were brusque almost to the point of being rude. We will not dine at Luce again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food perfect as always. Any risotto option is always a winner.
Had 2 options Friday night. One with shrimp but I chose the grouper (perfectly cooked) with a light lobster cream sauce. The lobster/asparagus risotto in the side was to die for. I ate every bite on my plate. Also had the special salad with berries, candied pecans and Gorgonzola. -- yummy. Love to the Luce chef and team

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic delicious food. Excellent service. Friendly staff. One of my favorite uptown restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very Nice! Good food, romantic setting, excellent service!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lovely evening at Luce while we were visiting in Charlotte. A brief disconnect on arrival, as the maître d' greeted guests in Italian, while the hostess was saying things like "Your guys table is ready." Our server was a bit informal for the setting, but certainly prompt (service might have been a tad more leisurely given the ambience. My stuffed veal chop was delicious; my husband was slightly less impressed with his tagliatelle bolognese. The bruschetta was quite good, as was the torta chocolate for dessert. I confess I like my limoncello icy cold, not just chilled, but it was nice to see it on the menu. Despite being quite full on a Friday night, the noise level was very reasonable and we could actually hear each other to converse. Prices were quite reasonable--pastas were under $20 and the veal chop was $36 (the most expensive item on the menu). I've seen much higher. We'd definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was excellent as always. Thank you for the wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It is now 1 of my favorite places the best lasagna I've ever eaten. My husband had the veal chop it was just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Waiter was excellent. Osso Bucco is out standing as was the scallops.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Businesses

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! They didn't need to fill the water as much as they did though 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great experience from start to finish. Beautiful restaurant with lots of extra hands making sure your water is always full and taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food! Not great for kids but lovely meal altogether.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.