About Luce Ristorante

214 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

The setting at Luce is romantic. The Murano Lights, Venetian Plaster and Travertine floors create an exclusive dining ambiance. Luce means “Light” in Italian and the restaurant clearly “glows” Luce provides an ideal dining experience whether you stop in for a quick lunch or settling in for a full course dinner and fine selection of extensive wines from Italy. Luce offers fresh, authentic Italian cuisine rich in flavor and passion inspired by our Italian chef, Gabriele Grigolon. The attentive and knowledgeable staff always provides impeccable service allowing you to sit back and enjoy your dining experience. Conveniently located in the Hearst Tower Plaza in the business district of Charlotte’s Center City. Luce opened in 2002 and has achieved outstanding accolades. Helen Schwabb, Charlotte Observer Food Critic, gave Luce an “Excellent” rating. ZAGAT has given Luce an “Extraordinary” rating from 2004-2010.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North Tryon & 5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 344-9222

Website:
http://www.conterestaurantgroup.com/

Catering:
Bring the flavors of Northern Italy to your home, office or special venue. Whether it’s a large hors d'oeuvres reception or an intimate multi-course dinner Luce can take care of it all. Pick-up or delivery is available, delivery fee varies upon location. For more information or to place an order call 704.344.9222 or email info@luceristorante.net

Parking Details:
Luce patrons can park in the Hearst Tower parking deck. Entrances are located on 5th and 6th streets in between College & Tryon. We offer two hours free parking validation M-F before 5pm, after 5pm; on weekends parking is free with Luce validation.

Public Transit:
You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.

Executive Chef:
Gabriele Grigolon

Private Party Facilities:
Luce would like to personally customize your special and private events. We can comfortably accommodate eighty for a seated dinner and over one hundred for a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres event. We also have a seasonal patio that can seat up to forty for dinner guests and is the perfect venue for a summer evening cocktail reception. Luce is available for private parties, rehearsal dinners, receptions, showers and all of your special event needs. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions and we look forward to hosting your events.

Private Party Contact:
Manual Camprese: (704) 344-9222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask us about our monthly Italian wine dinners and special holiday events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Luce Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Authentic (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Business Meals (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! They didn't need to fill the water as much as they did though 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great experience from start to finish. Beautiful restaurant with lots of extra hands making sure your water is always full and taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food! Not great for kids but lovely meal altogether.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Outstanding food. Moretti La Rossa available by the bottle! Service is unbeatable. Great place for Italian food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Consistently excellent Italian food and service. Great atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was our anniversary and Valentine celebration. Food was great. It was one of the best filets I've had. Great flavor and very tender.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Luce is my favorite restaurant in Charlotte. The ambiance and service are always spectacular and the food is delicious. Perfect for dates and pre-theater nights!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant -- our favorite in Charlotte. Great service, deliciously prepared food, and lovely ambience. We recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

All the food that we tried was wonderful. Highly recommend the eggplant app. Gelato was a wonderful culmination to the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Small portions to be called an Italian restaurant... Great fresh food just small portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A most delicious meal, loved entertaining a guest from Chicago where excellent food is abundant. Service, etc. was a usual, fabulous! One of my top 3 restaurants in Charlotte!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always go back to this great restaurant. Never disappointed with food or service. Both are fabulous

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Slow night at Luce but we enjoyed so much! Cesare was very professional! Favorite restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Exquisite dining experience. A must visit.

The food is incredible and the service attentive without being obtrusive. Perfect night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were there for Charlotte Restaurant Week. The filled pasta appetizer was outstanding. I chose the haddock entree, which came with a delicious lobster risotto. Unfortunately, the fish was overcooked and too dry for my taste. The chocolate dessert was excellent. My husband really liked his lamb osso bucco.

One more comment: Our table was almost facing the entrance door and I would not recommend it in the winter. Every time someone came in, a blast of cold air would accompany them, which made for a less than optimal environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We recently visited during the Queen City Feast and had a great time. The atmosphere was fantastic and our orders were taken quickly by the owner himself. The food was delicious and the wine was great as well. We will definitely come back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went for the Restaurant Week and the service was great and food ok. The portions were somewhat small & I would assume due to the fixed price for the complete meal. Overall I would say a great place - the only trouble is trying to find the parking garage close by. Especially if customers from out of town and not familiar with uptown area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

wonderful food, service, and experience! thank you and keep it up!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Luce is consistently enjoyable--always great food and great service! Good for a date or evening with friends. Servers are attentive without being obtrusive or pushy. Food is authentic.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food & great wait staff! The apps & main course were very delicious. The desserts were excellent.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

WOW!!! We are so happy to find an Italian restaurant that prepares fresh, natural, and beyond delicious food. Awesome service. 11 out of a scale of 10!!! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing staff, service was 5 star, food was spectacular

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Luce Ristorante was absolutely amazing! We've been twice, and it is certainly one of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte. We had phenomenal assistance in navigating the wine list (suggestion we ended up with was fantastic!) and the menu options. The Gargonelli was incredible (hand rolled penne!!) and the Risotto on the specials menu was also very, very good.

Fairly expensive if you plan on drinking wine, but well worth it for the quality and the environment.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

WE met friends out for dinner and had a great time! Our waiter was excellent and we ate every last bite of food. Favorite dish was pollipo and then the scallops. The pasta and grouper were excellent as well. My husband had the gnocchi and lived em.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent meal, great service and wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Went for dinner before the theater. A lucky find for us since we are new to Charlotte. Service was very good, food was also great! I had the risotto del giorno(where do they get those mushrooms!), preceded by the pasta fagioli...perfecto! Bread and salad was super too. My wife had the branzino and really enjoyed it. Great wine and cocktail list. We will return!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had a wonderful time with friends. Service was particularly noteworthy and food was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We took a family member here for a special birthday celebration. Our group of 4 was all very happy with our meal. Even though Luce is not a cheap restaurant, the quality is worth the price. We will continue to come here for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our party of four dined here prior to a symphony concert. As always, the service was efficient, personable but not overbearing, and the varied menu selections (special pasta and fish choices) were described as "delicious." I have never had a bad experience at Luce and look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always Luce provided a great dining experience. The suggestions provided proved to be excellent choices. Our meals were excellent The service is the absolute best in Charlotte. They make you are the only diners present.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was born in Italy and I can say this is one of the best Italian restaurants I've ever been to. The service is outstanding. They take really good care of you and the food does not dissapoint. Although a bit pricey and not reccomended for an everyday meal, I think this is an excellent choice for a special occasion. Very intimate space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cesar and his staff were attentive and supper. Great food and dining experience.

Excellent wine selection and ambience.

Cesar makes a point of rembering repeat clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Luce was our choice for New Year's Eve dinner with family and friends. We were very pleased with this repeat visit. The service was welcoming and attentive from greeting throughout our stay. As we remembered, the food was wonderful. We started with calamari for the table. It was crisp and tender with a great flavor. Our entree choices came from both the specials and regular menu. The specials included a risotto with butternut squash topped by prosciutto wrapped lobster. The flavors blended very well and the lobster wasn't overwhelmed by the meat. It was also well cooked and not rubbery. The lasagne was excellent as always. We think it's the best of Charlotte. The osso buco was falling off the bone tender with a reasonable portion of risotto to accompany. There wasn't a speck left on the plate. We couldn't skip dessert on such a special night. The cannoli offering was three mini pastries; yummy bites that didn't overwhelm. The ricotta cheesecake was silky smooth and so good my husband didn't want to share. Loved our evening and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautifully-prepared wonderful cuisine, nice wine selection - served by true professionals. This is consistently one of the very best restaurants in Charlotte!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding, authentic experience each and every time. Wonderful food and excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Authentic. Delicious. Nothing to improve on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, and amazing ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love love love. Food and service always fabulous. Augusto Conte and his wonderful staff never disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Luce's was great! The bartender made wonderful drinks and bar was well stocked! The food was superb and true Italian fare! Waitstaff was well trained and attentive to our large party. Would recommend to all!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went here on a date. I had a wonderful time and service was great. Only complaint is that we were seated right next to the front door on a really cold night but other than that it was really good. Loved the Carbonara pasta dish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Luce continues to satisfy. We dine at Luce as well as other favorite Conte restaurants (Toscana, Mezzanote) and we are never disappointed. Our favorite "uptown" place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always great food, great service & a great time! One of the best in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2016

i have eaten Osso Bucco in dozens of restaurants all over the world....Luce's was exquisite and by far the BEST I have ever had

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Good food, attentive wait staff, owner who is eager to please. I enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I love this place! Everyone is Italian and it shows.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellence - food, service, wine selection, employees. A great restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful from the seating to exit. Staff was professional, courteous and knowledgeable and service impeccable. Complimentary Breadsticks, table bread & Appetizers (Brushetta, Cheese Plate) were excellent and well plated, Drinks (Lemon Drop & Wine) were well poured by an experienced bartender. Entrees were not over-farcified but were done with attention to detail where it counts making each outstanding (there were 4 of us). I had the Pollo Parm which was pounded flat, breaded and fried without being too oily, topped with a good marinara and fresh mozz cheese. Served with hand made fresh pasta and marinara. No room for dessert but no doubt it would have been on par with the rest of the dinner. Coat Service & Validating parking in Hearst Tower make this an all over impressive experience. My new Favorite Italian restaurant in Charlotte and right up there with my Northeast (Philly, NY, NJ & DC) Favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a fabulous meal we had there on Saturday evening. The mussels in white sauce was off the chart wonderful! I had veal piccata and hubby had the veal chop....both dishes exceptionally good. This foodie was very happy!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

EXCELLENT!! One of our favorite restaurants downtown........we always try and book at Luce when we are going to Belk Theatre or some event downtown. It never disappoints!!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great gnocchi. Setting a quiet and warm. Solid service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.