Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Luce Ristorante

The setting at Luce is romantic. The Murano Lights, Venetian Plaster and Travertine floors create an exclusive dining ambiance. Luce means “Light” in Italian and the restaurant clearly “glows”
Luce provides an ideal dining experience whether you stop in for a quick lunch or settling in for a full course dinner and fine selection of extensive wines from Italy.
Luce offers fresh, authentic Italian cuisine rich in flavor and passion inspired by our Italian chef, Gabriele Grigolon.
The attentive and knowledgeable staff always provides impeccable service allowing you to sit back and enjoy your dining experience.
Conveniently located in the Hearst Tower Plaza in the business district of Charlotte’s Center City.
Luce opened in 2002 and has achieved outstanding accolades.
Helen Schwabb, Charlotte Observer Food Critic, gave Luce an “Excellent” rating.
ZAGAT has given Luce an “Extraordinary” rating from 2004-2010.

214 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North Tryon & 5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 344-9222

Website:
http://www.conterestaurantgroup.com/

Catering:
Bring the flavors of Northern Italy to your home, office or special venue.
Whether it’s a large hors d'oeuvres reception or an intimate multi-course dinner Luce can take care of it all. Pick-up or delivery is available, delivery fee varies upon location.
For more information or to place an order call 704.344.9222 or email info@luceristorante.net

Parking Details:
Luce patrons can park in the Hearst Tower parking deck. Entrances are located on 5th and 6th streets in between College & Tryon. We offer two hours free parking validation M-F before 5pm, after 5pm; on weekends parking is free with Luce validation.

Public Transit:
You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.

Private Party Facilities:
Luce would like to personally customize your special and private events. We can comfortably accommodate eighty for a seated dinner and over one hundred for a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres event. We also have a seasonal patio that can seat up to forty for dinner guests and is the perfect venue for a summer evening cocktail reception. Luce is available for private parties, rehearsal dinners, receptions, showers and all of your special event needs. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions and we look forward to hosting your events.

Private Party Contact:
Manual Camprese: (704) 344-9222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask us about our monthly Italian wine dinners and special holiday events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Luce Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (51)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Authentic (38)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and the service was outstanding!
"Our server Carlo was very attentive as well as the rest of your staff" "Please tell Carlo thanks for the great service" "Your food was excellent" "My wife and I are looking forward to our next visit to your restaurant"

Tags: Disabled Access, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Vegan, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

my parents enjoyed excellent food. reported amazing service. They were happy to spend an important night here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

We eat fairly often at Luce's sister restaurant ,Toscana, and thought we would return to Luce after not dining here for several years. It was my wife's birthday, and we were presented with complimentary prosecco upon our arrival. Food (rack of lamb and fish of the day prepared like dover sole) were very good. Excellent service as well. We will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Super attentive service, and great care was taken to serve me a delicious vegan meal. Not a lot of vegan options unfortunately, but what I had was great. There are many vegetarian options.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

One of our favorite places to go for special occasions and quiet celebrations .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was great and food was too! Very happy we chose this for the only night we spent in Charlotte

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We celebrated a birthday here in early September. The food was excellent and the wait staff was super nice. Highly recommended, enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Sat outside, it was beautiful a beautiful atmosphere, the service was on point and the food was even better. I was looking for an upscale place for a date and it met every expectation I had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Luce is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte. The atmospher is wonderful, the food is great and the location downtown is ideal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great restaurant and full of ambiance! We went to celebrate my birthday and we were not disappointed. We made reservations and arrived and they seated us immediately (others were waiting). Immediately we chose a great bottle of Prosseco and took our time looking over the menu. Our waitstaff was excellent and offered some great suggestions. If you like beets - get the beet salad - amazing! The seafood pasta - unbelievable! The desserts - fabulous and large enough to share. We've come here many times in the past and are always pleased and actually surprised that they continually set the bar higher every time. Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Yet another fantastic evening courtesy of Augusto and his staff, particularly, Karlo. Great food, great service, great patio -- just greatness all the way around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our server, Ceasar, was top notch!!!!!! Food over the TOP! Beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was excellent. The eggplant parm appetizer was not your typical but it was very good. The ratatouille served with the salmon was also delicious. Service was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nice Italian place in downtown. More of business dinner atmosphere then a romantic date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fabulous meal at Luce on a Friday evening. We ate inside .... outside dining looked nice. Inside was attractive with soft lighting. Though we were seated near a table of six it was easy for two to carry on a conversation over dinner. Service was attentive. Food was some of the best Italian cuisine we have had, including Italy. Tagliatelle with ragu was out of this world....wonderfully fresh pasta and flavorful meat sauce. Caprese salad was excellent...very little basil but good quality balsamic vinegar, flavorful tomatoes and rich mozzarella. Tomato and beet chopped salad was delicious. Risotto with mushroom and lamb also delicious. Semifreddo for a shared dessert was wonderful. Meal was well priced for the quality of the food. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Low quality food. Ravioli was flavorless and may have been microwaved (plate itself was very hot, ravioli insides were cold). The service was on par with what you would expect from an Applebee's or Chili's (friendly but disconnected from job, little to no knowledge of the menu, unattentive, etc.). Overall not a restaurant you should be paying $30+ per plate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great dinner! Beautiful restaurant! Will recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is the Italian restaurant we have been looking for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Cool restaurant in downtown charlotte. Food was great.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had an excellent meal and the service was outstanding. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good business meal on a Wednesday evening. The service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This was the perfect place to celebrate my husband's 40th! The service was great and the food didn't disappoint either! We had ordered salads for starters and then the ravioli and chicken parmigiana for dinner. Both were exceptional! We were later treated with a surprise dessert since we were celebrating a birthday! Who can resist a tiramisu? We will definitely come back when visiting Charlotte again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was great! Would go again for sure!👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I can't say enough great things and Luce. This is our second visit ( we are not from Charlotte) and both times, the food was incredible..the service amazing, very nice wine selection. We will continue to visit every time we are back in The Queen City

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Without a doubt Luce is finest Italian restaurant in Charlotte. Food and ambiance are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was awesome! The food and the service were great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive. We enjoyed the food and I really loved the gelato of the day, Coconut.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Once again we enjoyed a wonderful evening at Luce. This fine dining restaurant is our favorite restaurant in Charlotte. The staff will treat you like family, the food is authentic and creative Italian and exceptional. This is a beautiful restaurant that should not be missed. Try the Mare, it is the best I have ever had, whether in the best restaurants of New York City, Las Vegas or Italy.
Thank you Luce for a great night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Linguine was a value for money menu. Do not eat veals - the acidity is overt.
Definitely go for pastas. Meat not so much.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had a great time at Luce for my birthday with family. The wait staff was very attentive and nice, even though we were the last ones in the restaurant. I had also come here for another event with friends, and the service was also amazing during that time (not to mention the food).

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Making an overnight stop in Charleston we found Luce on open table. The reviews great reviews are spot on food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Some of the best Italian in Charlotte. Outstanding service, thanks to Karlo, a true professional waiter in the European style. Genuine bufala mozzarella -- pretty good, but not fantastic. The carbonara, exceptionally good. And the chocolate torta, one of the best desserts we have ever had.

All of Augusto's restaurants are fantastic, each with its own Character. Luce is elegant, quiet, intimate. The patio is delightful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was TERRIBLE, our waiter literally said he didn't care what was online and that the menu was take it or leave it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Tremendously enjoyable! We wanted to introduce friends to one of Charlotte's great restaurants and we were not disappointed. The service and food were excellent! It happened to be restaurant week , we took advantage of the three course meal and each of us raved about the food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was our first visit to Luce. They do pasta well and they have one of the better wait staffs in Charlotte.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Perfect dinner as always! Service is the best in Charlotte. Manuel is wonderful as well as all the servers. Our favorite restaurant in Charlotte!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My meal was fully terrific. Others in our party weren't quite as excited, but everyone really liked it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Overall food is fresh with fine sense of good Italian food. The deserts were exceptional and quite a surprise.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had an amazing expirence here for dinner. I can't remember the name of our waiter but he was very professional and helped make the time even better. Easily the best restaurant in Charlotte I've eaten at so far. Make the trip here, it's worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We went for a weekday work lunch and the food was great! Timely service, very nice staff, and good lunch portions. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.