Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Luce - InterContinental San Francisco

Awarded a Michelin star eight years consecutively (2010-2017), Luce - InterContinental San Francisco features an urban setting that is modern and sophisticated, yet stunningly warm and inviting. The main dining room features floor-to-ceiling-windows adorned with sheer metallic gold curtains. Hand-blown Italian bubble-like lamps provide a flattering glow to the dark tropical wood accents and elegantly appointed tables. The globally inspired New American menu reflects the bounties from the surrounding farms of San Francisco and changes according to freshness and seasonality. Each dish is artistically created and highlights an inventive flair for marrying diverse flavors with natural organic ingredients into a gastronomic delight. The wine program offers a superb collection that inspires daring pairings at prices that encourage exploration, and has garnered the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2010 and the Best of Award of Excellence since 2015.

888 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Sunday - Saturday: 6:00am - 11:00am

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Saturday and Sunday 11:00am-2:30pm (Special Brunch Menu)

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

*Tasting Menu offered Tuesday - Saturday until 9:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 616-6566

Website:
http://www.lucewinerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
$15 for the first three hours of valet parking for all Luce guests based on availability.

Public Transit:
BART and Muni Stations close by (Powell Street)

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Corey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Breakfast: Regular Hours - Regular Menu
Lunch: 11:30 AM-3 PM (3 course menu only)
Dinner: 4 PM-9 PM (3 course menu only) MENU - TBD

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:15AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:15AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For intimate gatherings between friends and family or a luncheon meeting with clients, our private dining room at Luce is the perfect place for any occasion.

Luce - InterContinental San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portugal)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dinning experience!!! We loved all dishes and the wine!!! Top!!! Well deserved Michelin rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The service at luce was outstanding. Our waiter waa polite, funny, and had in depth knowledge about the food. Furthermore he knew all the details of providing great service which is very rare these days - timing, never interrupting, putting napkin folded back when someone gets up, getting chair, serving and removing plates from the proper side and position, never reaching over someone, making personal exceptional recommendations when asked, and Keeping water glass filled even after the dessert is over. It was all about our dining experience. The rest of San Francisco has a lot to learn from luce.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I should have believed the reviews -- this restaurant is a solid 3 stars, but somehow has recieved a michelin star for the past 7 years in a row. God only knows why. The layout and food service (my boyfriend and I got the 9 course tasting menu) felt what what I'd get/eat on a business trip. Nothing special or personalized, nothing overly stuffy or comforting, nothing memorable about this except for the fact that we both left feeling underwhelmed and questioning why/how we just both dropped $170 each on a bland meal. The food: not inventive. The ambiance: sterile and trying to feel modern but felt outdated. The waiter: frusterated/angry that we didn't get the $65 wine pairing. I won't be back and would recommend you try a different Michelin star restaurant when in SF.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Phenomenal service. James was beyond amazing, we were thoroughly blown away. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is outstanding. We became "foodies light' after our daughter worked as a cook and sous chef in Los Angeles, so we have had our share of excellent meals at a number of restaurants with michelin stars and this meal in US and Europe and this meal was right at the top of our experiences. The sorrel granita with blackberry sorbet was one of the best dishes I have ever had, but others were excellent as well. We had the tasting menu and my husband had the accompanying wine selection. He can be a bit picky about his wines and he loved every one. I had a sip of several and was particularly impressed with how well paired they were with the food. They were all California wines, a wonderful range and we were unfamiliar with all but one.

Great experience that I would recommend to anyone for a special occasion. It was a bit strange that the restaurant was quite empty for a Saturday night. Perhaps they have extra seats for their brunch that they don't sell for the more complex dinners - or perhaps it is just a overlooked treasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Went to Luce for Michilin 1 star, and it turned out to be a delightful Sat brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed tasting menu med 7-8 dishes and everything tasted very well. But there was a lot of noise most from the bar. Service was very impersonal end cold.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Met up with some industry colleagues for drinks and a few appetizers. Great wait staff, knowledgeable about choices, as one of our party had food allergies. Great time, great drinks, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Even though the prices of the meals were expensive and the servings are small, the food was delicious. Service was top notch and it was a perfect location for our business meal, with the location right next to Moscone West. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My wife and I came to dinner at Luce for our first anniversary. The restaurant is elegant, well design, comfortable and welcoming as is the staff. We ordered the tasting menu with matched wines and that was really delicious. We really appreciated our dinner there, everything was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This restaurant showcases upscale dining in a modern setting. The service is prompt and knowledgeable, friendly and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were greated by the hostess and escorted to our table. Service throughout the meal was very attentive.
The food was seasonnal , corn soup, burrata, risotto, but kind of flat.
The risotto was not seasonned at all and the dishes were somewhat "boaring". Otherwise simply presented, but elegant.
Dessert (pannacotta) could have used less gelatin , little more strawberries and more originality in the presentation.
Our servers were very friendly and made us feel welcome.
Was expecting a little more from a 1star michelin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Absolutely incredible! The food was beautiful and the service excellent. Definitely a restaurant worth visiting. The steak was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Quite a classy restaurant with professional and assiduous staff - started off with the elderflower cocktail; the amuse bouche was zesty with cucumber; was not too impressed with the bread; chose seasonal dishes from the summer menu - the appetizer was grilled blue prawns in bisque-like foam and sauce with pistachio nuts that whetted one's appetite; then duck breast with stir fry vegetables and onions - the duck was tender and juicy despite the long hours of preparation put into it and matched well with the sides; tried a moscato from local vineyards as a dessert wine to pair with the pavlova with berries and raspberry sorbet - a fruity choice and totally spoke "summer". All that for $126 (gratuity not included) - really very reasonable and was like half of what other Michelin star eateries may charge. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Came here for extra points for a weekend brunch. The service was impeccable and food delicious. We ordered the grilled salmon and short rib hash. They brought some nice warm and butter came too. There aren't many restaurants in SF that do this anymore. Beer selection is good, even some local craft beer is available, and their cocktails are delectable. Very much recommended, especially for a celebration or special occasion. It was a little pricey for a simple brunch but you can always be assured of good quality. It wasn't busy either - bonus! Thank you Luce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Simply one of the best restaurants in the Bay Area

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is the 2nd time we have had Keith as our waiter. He is excellent! All his recommendations were spot on. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Thank you James for being an excellent waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great date night spot. The tasting menu with wine pairing was spectacular, and the staff were so personable. Really an all-around fun night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Not worth the money......................::::::....:

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Profoundly disappointing. This is easily the worst one-star Michelin dining experience I've ever had (and I've had many). If I would sum up the experience in one word: BLAND. The amuse bouche was a pickled cauliflower and it was bland. The bread service was weak - the sourdough was reheated and completely lacked the tang of a san francisco sourdough. The appetizer was the foie gras, which was OK but underwhelming. It was a hold and cold dish - a hot seared foie gras and a cold foie gras ganache. Neat concept, but didnt hold up. The seared foie gras was lukewarm and lacked the right kind of sauce to counterbalance, while the cold ganache was overpowered by a jelly so you could barely taste the liver. The main course was the worst of all - a sous vide steak. It was lukewarm, dry, completely devoid of flavor, and chewy. Shockingly bad, in fact. Dessert I had the semolina cake. Interesting concept - but incredibly bland and I only got it down with the assistance of the cherry sauce it came with. Stay away from this place, my foodie friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Courteous staff, impeccably clean tables, food arrived timely and was intricately balanced and splendidly delicious. Important to note-amazing wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Fabulous server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great great meal. Truly a Michelin star 🌟 have the ravioli and halibut are true stand outs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Post IMAX - wanted something upscale mainly based on a strong wine list and this was just right. While the list is a bit more on the higher priced end, there were a few great value choices. The meal was great - from the breads, to the fish/avocado app, to the steak. Great grappa bar as well. Servers were all attentive. Only comment - is that the tables are a bit close together - so not the ideal choice if you're there for private conversations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great tasting menu with wine parings expertly chosen to highlight each dish. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food -- foie gras and halibut -- small portions but intense flavors. Michelin star restaurant with deservedly acclaimed food but marred by uneven service and a poor location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing ambiance. Incredible food served in an incomparable way. I wish I could eat here everyday.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great service! Food was exceptional! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was exceptional. Tasting menu was adapted for allergies with no fuss. Pace was very good. Service was among the best.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent! Great menu, excellent wine selection - we had a perfect evenig there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

With all the competition of 5 star restaurants in San Francisco, it is easy to pass up a restaurant in a hotel south of Market. That is the only reason we can imagine that Luce was not fully packed and with a line out the door. Every single dish was amazing, inventive and beautifully presented. Every staff person was on point, from the person who served the delicious breads to the charming waiter to the gentleman bringing the amuse bouche (3 times as we devoured the first two) to the servers who whisked away the dishes. Our amuse bouche friend even stepped out onto the sidewalk to welcome us back another time as we waited for our Uber to the theater.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Let me start with the food, which was superb, as usual. I started with a salad of peaches and chicories and moved on to garganelle pasta with short ribs. Dessert was butterscotch pot de crème. My colleague had a burger, which he really enjoyed. The service, though, was abysmal. I have eaten here several times and this was a real aberration. The place was really crowded and the staff simply couldn't handle the pace, but this restaurant has a Michelin star, so it needs to do better. We weren't waited on for several minutes and then my iced tea was poured into a water glass. My appetizer and enter were delivered at the same time, a huge mistake. Moreover, the salad didn't have peaches, a problem that was quickly rectified, but for a restaurant of this caliber, it's inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Perfect evening with die for food! Foie gras was just divine! The best I've ever had. Poached Halibut with grilled Octopus left us breathless, We asked our waiter if we could lick the plates ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It has been a while since I have been to Luce and it did not disappoint. Friendly service, great food as always. Glanced at their wine list and saw some beautiful wines. The gem salad was just right followed by risotto and the short ribs were just perfect. The sparkling wine went well with our meal, ending with a chocolate dessert. A fine celebratory lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The deguststion menu us the best in SF. Every visit is a culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. We dine out a lot, this is one of the best restaurants in the Bay Area. A little known gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great attention to detail, amazing service and the food is just incredible along with beautiful local wines...Thanks Luce :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Lovely venue in my hotel. Superb service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

James was our main server. He did a great job!!! He was very attentive to my wife's gluten allergy. He knows the menu very well and made excellent recommendations. Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.