About Luce - InterContinental San Francisco

888 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Awarded a Michelin star eight years consecutively (2010-2017), Luce - InterContinental San Francisco features an urban setting that is modern and sophisticated, yet stunningly warm and inviting. The main dining room features floor-to-ceiling-windows adorned with sheer metallic gold curtains. Hand-blown Italian bubble-like lamps provide a flattering glow to the dark tropical wood accents and elegantly appointed tables. The globally inspired New American menu reflects the bounties from the surrounding farms of San Francisco and changes according to freshness and seasonality. Each dish is artistically created and highlights an inventive flair for marrying diverse flavors with natural organic ingredients into a gastronomic delight. The wine program offers a superb collection that inspires daring pairings at prices that encourage exploration, and has garnered the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2010 and the Best of Award of Excellence since 2015.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Sunday - Saturday: 6:00am - 11:00am

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Saturday and Sunday 11:00am-2:30pm (Special Brunch Menu)

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

*Tasting Menu offered Tuesday - Saturday until 9:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 616-6566

Website:
http://www.lucewinerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour at Bar 888 is here Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 5:30 pm.
During happy hour we are delighted to serve all our Snacks and Appetizers at a $2 reduction.

Parking Details:
$15 for the first three hours of valet parking for all Luce guests based on availability.

Public Transit:
BART and Muni Stations close by (Powell Street)

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Corey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Culinary Clash at Luce : 3 Course Dinner

Sunday Mar 5, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Culinary Clash at Luce : 3 Course Dinner

Sunday Mar 12, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Culinary Clash at Luce : 3 Course Dinner

Sunday Mar 19, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Culinary Clash at Luce : 3 Course Dinner

Sunday Mar 5, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Details

Join us for the 6th annual Culinary Clash! Please note that we are ONLY offering the special Culinary Clash menu March 5, 12 & 19. We will not be offering the a la carte menu during this time. $40 per person. $60 with wine pairing. Excludes Tax and Tip. We apologize we will not be able to accommodate substitutions for this menu. Special valid on Sunday Mar 5, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM.

Culinary Clash at Luce : 3 Course Dinner

Sunday Mar 12, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Details

Join us for the 6th annual Culinary Clash! Please note that we are ONLY offering the special Culinary Clash menu March 5, 12 & 19. We will not be offering the a la carte menu during this time. $40 per person. $20 with wine pairing. Excludes Tax and Tip. We apologize we will not be able to accommodate substitutions for this menu. Special valid on Sunday Mar 12, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM.

Culinary Clash at Luce : 3 Course Dinner

Sunday Mar 19, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Details

Join us for the 6th annual Culinary Clash! Please note that we are ONLY offering the special Culinary Clash menu March 5, 12 & 19. We will not be offering the a la carte menu during this time. $40 per person. $20 with wine pairing. Excludes Tax and Tip. We apologize we will not be able to accommodate substitutions for this menu. Special valid on Sunday Mar 19, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:15AM - 11:45AM 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For intimate gatherings between friends and family or a luncheon meeting with clients, our private dining room at Luce is the perfect place for any occasion.

Luce - InterContinental San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Modern Decor (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Very attentive service, interesting flavorful food, very pleasant overall experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love everything about this amazing place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is rapidly becoming one of my favorite restaurants in San Francisco. The service is divine, extremely attentive. The food is equally exquisite. I started with a butternut squash and whipped ricotta appetizer that was phenomenal, the best part of the meal. I had halibut as an entree, a generally bland fish but superbly paired with a white sauce and a nicoise salad. Dessert was chocolate custard, positively delicious. A tremendous experience all around.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere away from Moscone Center traffic. Staff was great.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our meal was fantastic. The waiter helped us put together our own 'tasting menu' as we had dinner on a Monday night and they don't have their tasting menu available on sundays and Mondays. great service great dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dinner was as good as expected, considering this is a restaurant with a Michelin star. Service was good and the staff worked well as a team. Food was excellent, especially the razor clams.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had the winter tasting menu with pairing. The pairing wines were actually quite good.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Hostess rude. Service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food portions were ridiculously small. Prices very high. Overall value for the money spent, despite delicious food, was tiny. Not worth it. Owners should seriously reconsider what they are doing and offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner at Luce and it was a wonderful experience overall. Food was great and creative, James had a back story for every wine and champage and made great recommendations. Would definitely do it again - it is also close enough to the Orpheus theatre for shows afterwards.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a very nice restaurant, with excellent service and the food preparation was fantastic. Very highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful dinner and excellent service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing dinner at Luce. We had one of the last seating's of the evening at 9:45pm so the restaurant was quite uncrowded. The service staff were excellent, highly attentive and made some great recommendations. Although the tasting menu is not available after 9pm at this Michelin rated gem, the a la carte selections where amazing, as was the wine recommendation. Definitely worth the money and could be equally good for a romantic date, business dinner or group of friends. The location in downtown SF inside the Intercontinental Hotel is also very convenient. Overall, an excellent experience and would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was really good as was the service. It was not as busy as expected which was nice. I would go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My fiance and I came out to celebrate our move to the city. We got the restaurant week dinner, and enjoyed it immensely. The chocolate cake was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Excellent delicious meal! Love it. Great service at good price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Tried the special dinner for Restaurant Week. Absolutely delicious from start to finish, great wine pairing. The handmade ravioli with truffle, paired with a Pelerin from Santa Lucia (recommended by the friendly staff), is absolutely heaven on earth!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Luce: the three of us attending the fancy show came to restaurant Saaturday night. We all had the tating menu. The chef made accomodations for dietary restrictions but otherwise everything as per menu.

The waitstaff including James our waiter was impeccable. Lots of small portions served slowly or with time between but we were all full.. Best courses: salmon with persimmons, halibut with

potato puree, the roasted duck the lovely chocolate dessert and coffee which is wonderfully strong.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration during the California restaurant week. The food was delicious and very well priced. The service was prompt and attentive. The duck ravioli as an appetizer was definitely the highlight of our meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was very nicely presented but overall not that great. Our waiter was very nice but the food took forever to come out. Dessert was awesome.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Awesome, affordable Michelin-star dining experience for Canadians looking to stretch their CAD with a less than ideal exchange rate.

Food was delicious and unpretentious. Beautiful presentation.

Service was paced, knowledgable and wonderful. Didn't catch our fellows name, but he was very kind and respectful of our private time (date with my boyfriend).

Sommelier was a hoot! Very knowledgable and extremely personable.

Quiet setting with an great view of Burlington Coat Factory (haha), but the interior design makes up for the lack of view. Great ambiance and relatively quiet music.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food is consistently superior; it's creative and complex. Service is also outstanding. Don't be fooled by the somewhat austere decor. This is one of San Francisco's best restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The flavors were clean and unfussy, with the entrees in particular standing out. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

James, our server, was amazing. Very welcoming staff and intimate environment. Would highly recommend and eat here again, thank you Luce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We chose to celebrate the New Year by including Luce in our plans and so happy we did. Excellent starters. The sweetbreads ravioli were really amazing and the duck main was the best I've had in ages. Keith was our server. We missed Claudio but the lovely woman working understood our sourdough bread obsession and was kind. Great staff. Amazing chefs. Thanks for a memorable meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Delivers high-class city dining in an elegantly luxurious setting. Atmosphere, food, and setting live up to its excellent reputation, but we were especially pleased with the top-notch service! The wait staff were friendly, professional, helpful, knowledgeable (gave us an excellent wine pairing suggestion), and attentive yet appropriately distant: service perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

To expensive for the food served. Service was excellent. We had the breakfast buffet and it was below average. 3 persons, $118 without tip. I dont mind paying, but food has to be excelent, not just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and were immediately seated, one member in our party of six is a vegetarian and the chef made beautiful and delicious plates just for her. Service was impeccable, the sommelier was quite knowledgeable and each course was presented beautifully. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our dining experience. Definitely recommend this restaurant for special evenings and celebrations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had lunch with the kids to celebrate the holidays. Had a wonderful time. Meals were delicious and service was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is the restaurant at the Intercontinental Hotel and it's won a Michelin star for eight consecutive years. I know why. My wife and I had lunch. We started with artichoke veloute (one appetizer) and a salad of burrata with chicories (a second appetizer). Both were superb. I had a chicken salad sandwich for an entree. She had a quinoa bowl with salmon and kale. Again, terrific. Desserts were chocolate pot-de-creme and butterscotch budino. Wonderful. Service was extremely attentive. A definite hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was great except that they say the only other table dining at the time right next to us when every other table was open. They were a bit obnoxious and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was my first Michelin star restaurant, and was not sure what to expect.

What I got was an excellent meal, excellent service, and well prepaired food. Each item my wife and I had was well balanced, and flavorful without being over the top.

The only down side, was that the location inside the hotel was not ideal. The seating was rather plebeian, and did not reflect the rest of the fine dining atmosphere...the crying baby in the background didn't help ;-)

That said, I would recommend the restaurant highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went there for a lunch and there are not many people during lunch time and it is very quiet. I ordered the king salmon entree and my friend ordered the rib. We also had a salad for the starter to share and one order of fries. Really a lot of food for us, I can not even finish half of the king salmon and it is so delicious and worth the price value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ridiculous Christmas brunch so not worth the money! Quite a disappointment from a Michelin-rated restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We decided to go to Luce for my dad's 85th birthday. All of us had a great time. The food was oustanding and the staff made my dad feel special. We could not have asked for anything more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Outstanding service, elegant yet comfortable setting and delicious food. Recommended for business meals, special occasions and dates with someone you love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Duck Delilah! Waiter James fabulous! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food and service. I would recommend it to anyone who loves fine dining. Service staff was exceptionally friendly and enjoyable. I have eaten and many M Star restaurants and most are up tight and nervous. The staff at Luce was comfortable and clearly enjoy what they do. Service was the clear winner of the night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The amberjack appetizer was perfect. Prawns with chili's sauce was excellent. Sweetbreads were great. The ginger Panna cotta could have used more ginger. The chocolate butternut squash tart with brown butter ice cream was a revelation. Great juxtapositions so flavors. An extensive wine list, but I can't drink a bottle on my own, so had hoped that the by-the-glass selection was broader. That being said, I prefer old world wines, so if you're a fan of California wines, you'd probably find things to your taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Busy hotel,busy restaurant. Tasting menu was good. Service was good too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Luce is located near a bar on the lobby level of InterContinental hotel, which obviously is noisy but we didn't know since it's our first time. Service was tentative, responsive, and professional. Autumn menu is as expected from a Michelin one star restaurant. Our seating booth was so uncomfortable since the cushion were not even, and almost felt out, we had to move right, and left many times during dinner.

Overall, we think Luce has excellent service, and it's just a good place for casual business eatery.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great ambience. Food and service wonderful. Would definitely return for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great dining experience. Will likely return in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Had a good business lunch there. Food was good- not 5 star but good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a wonderful experience dining at Luce for a 21st birthday celebration!!The staff and chef were extraordinarily attentive and accommodating (numerous food allergies) and we couldn't have asked for a better food/wine pairing experience. Thank you for a fantastic evening that my daughter will never forget!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was really cozy and comfy. They took care of my allergy very well. Food was good. I love their panna cotta very much. Only thing bad about the place was that there was a small fly flying around.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary. All the workers made the dinner memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. The food and the service were excellent. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Thank you for the efficient and professional service. In a short scheduled lunch we were able to enjoy our hour. The food was fresh, unique and beauty. We couldn't have hoped for better. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.