Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Luce - InterContinental San Francisco

Awarded a Michelin star eight years consecutively (2010-2017), Luce - InterContinental San Francisco features an urban setting that is modern and sophisticated, yet stunningly warm and inviting. The main dining room features floor-to-ceiling-windows adorned with sheer metallic gold curtains. Hand-blown Italian bubble-like lamps provide a flattering glow to the dark tropical wood accents and elegantly appointed tables. The globally inspired New American menu reflects the bounties from the surrounding farms of San Francisco and changes according to freshness and seasonality. Each dish is artistically created and highlights an inventive flair for marrying diverse flavors with natural organic ingredients into a gastronomic delight. The wine program offers a superb collection that inspires daring pairings at prices that encourage exploration, and has garnered the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2010 and the Best of Award of Excellence since 2015.

888 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Sunday - Saturday: 6:00am - 11:00am

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Saturday and Sunday 11:00am-2:30pm (Special Brunch Menu)

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

*Tasting Menu offered Tuesday - Saturday until 9:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 616-6566

Website:
http://www.lucewinerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour at Bar 888 is here Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 5:30 pm.
During happy hour we are delighted to serve all our Snacks and Appetizers at a $2 reduction.

Parking Details:
$15 for the first three hours of valet parking for all Luce guests based on availability.

Public Transit:
BART and Muni Stations close by (Powell Street)

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Corey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:15AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:15AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For intimate gatherings between friends and family or a luncheon meeting with clients, our private dining room at Luce is the perfect place for any occasion.

Luce - InterContinental San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Tasting Menu (21)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We recommend this restaurant! The service was good, the overall food were good as well. Foid gras was amazing! And the shrimp! The steak was kinda over cooked tho, and the milk chocolate custard was too strong taste. And it was a little bit noisy that night. But overall, we will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service in an upscale bistro style atmosphere. Perfectly poached eggs for eggs benedict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

I had a simple lunch at Luce... I knew that the salad was going to be pricey but $24 for what was ultimately a pretty small, simple (and admittedly tasty) salad with some cold grilled chicken was crazy, especially with no bread service. It's a very nice space but construction noise from the hotel lobby was intense and left me just wanting to get out of there as fast as possible. On the upside, service was attentive and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had a great dinner here - our first time at Luce. Some really nice flavors artfully presented. The salmon was a beautiful plate with a nice mix of colors and flavors. We've recommended Luce to others several times already.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The menu is not extensive but there do not appear to be bad choices on it. The sweetbreads ravioli appetizer and duck, steak, and snapper appetizers all were unusually prepared, beautifully presented, and with few false notes despite great ambition. The chocolate dessert was the best of the three that we tried, although the others were delicious, as well.

Service was fine, with the waiter and assistants engaged and attentive. The dining room is a beautiful, uncrowded space and that rarest of San Francisco finds, i. e., a place where you easily can converse in normal tones as you eat.

On the other hand, portions are smallish or downright small. Think spa food when it comes to the quantity. At the same time, the smallish portions command prices that are among the highest in town. For a dinner with appetizer, entree, and dessert, figure on about $75 a head before beverages, tax, and the generous tip you will want to leave for the excellent service staff.

After all is said and done, I am giving Luce five stars here because the food is creative and delicious, the service is excellent, and the room is quiet enough for one to enjoy a lovely evening with your companions. Just know what to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, but way too expensive for what it was, even by SF standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I booked this restaurant from OpenTable (they play a major hand in this review) due to their recommendation for Mothers Day Brunch. Booked it no issues. Get to Luce and they have a dismal breakfast buffet at a third of the cost. No clue why they would turnover a brunch buffet in the middle of brunch but this was simple a failure in my opinion. put a damper on an otherwise great Mothers Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It was a Monday night at 7:30 and we were a party of 4. We were seated right away but it took a while for our waiter to stop by. Not incredibly long, but enough that we started wondering if we'd been forgotten. We were then treated to what seemed like an actor's audition selling us on the restaurant’s merits. That was fine, I suppose, but we were hungry and needed drinks. Two ordered wine from the very nice, extensive list. I ordered a martini and the other person had a coke. The drinks arrived 10-15 minutes later, which did not meet my expectations. Next, the waiter (still auditioning) told us about the menu. I didn't necessarily follow what he was saying, partially due to his dramatic delivery. He made a point to mention the portion sizes weren't small, but they definitely weren't the standard American “large” portions. Totally fine. We got it. But just FYI: They ARE small. Again, that’s okay, but don't go on about how they're not so small, when they really are. After we placed our orders, the waiter vanished and the clock began to tick. After 10 to 15 minutes our drinks were empty but nobody stopped by to see if we needed another round. Eventually I flagged an attendant and asked about the waiter, but then just said I wanted a beer. This appeared to cause an alarm or confusion (I suspect it wasn't her job), but she relayed the message to one or two others and ultimately I got the beer. No one asked if my friends wanted another, of course. The food arrived after another 10 minutes (an hour after we arrived). It was exquisite, so no complaints there. However, we were running late at this point because two of us had to catch a plane. Given the large spans of time between interacting with the waiter, we feared additional delays might make us late, so we asked for the check. Presto! Waiter reappears and is very apologetic. Overall, my friends seemed to have a good time. Personally, while the food was astounding, I was not satisfied with the level of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was well executed and tasty; service was exceptional, made you feel special. Appetizer list is creative, but would be lovely to see an addition of salad on that list.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our dinner here was an awesome experience. We chose the tasting menu and were delighted with the taste and presentation of each course. The staff here were so friendly and helpful - we lacked for nothing. The sommelier was excellent and gave us some wonderful tips for our trip to Napa. They also handled a difficult food allergy very professionally.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food off the charts and the service is great waiters are very attentive seem to know what you need before you ask .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The service is superb but not perfect, which prevents me from giving it a 5. The wait staff is very attentive and knowledgeable. The food is nearly perfect. I started with a salad of little gem lettuce, dates, pumpkin seeds and cheese. My entree consisted of pasta with beef short ribs in a wine reduction. Dessert was chocolate pot de crème. All were spectacular.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My first experience at Luce - fantastic. We did the tasting menu with wine pairing. Super interesting, creative and delicious with interesting mix of local wines. Worth mentioning is our excellent waitstaff. Present without hoovering, responsive, knowledgeable and friendly. This was a business dinner and I have already booked a return dinner with friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The three of us thoroughly enjoyed the tasting menu. Each dish complemented the others for a complete experience. Nicely done, Chef!! The wait staff identified each offering and answered questions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I had the food & wine pairing. Unbelievable. I knew Luce was a highly rated Michelin Award winner, but they still exceeded my expectations! The staff was super friendly & knowledgeable and the service was exemplary. What a great chef in Daniel Corey. The guy's a genius.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The chef at Luce is solid. The halibut was good but the octopus even better. Stellar wine list. Knowledgeable waiter. Portions are small but tasty. A bit on the pricey side but the customer is truly paying for the expertise of the chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It's a nice place . The waiter/waitress there is very nice and friendly. Also, the food there is great! very creative and tasty. Fresh ingredients. I would recommend this place for a date night or for some special event. Not super serious place. Don't have to dress up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went to celebrate our anniversary prior to going to Hamilton. One appetizer was outstanding, the other was not at all. The entrees were good, but not what I'd expect at a Michelin rated restaurant. The service was on par with a Michelin one star though.
Hamilton was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Luce is an underappreciated gem. The food is innovative, but not over the top. The service was impeccable, and the ambiance, while not exactly intimate, does lend itself to quiet conversation. All in all, we felt we received value for our money.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is one of the finest restaurants in San Francisco. The food is outstanding: creative, beautifully presented and incredibly yummy. The hotel ambiance is not the most charming but on the plus side it's quiet enough to have a conversation, which is rare these days. The service is exceptional. Although it makes for a pricey evening out, every time I've dined here I've decided it's well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was satisfactory except we reserved the last seating (at 2:30) for Easter brunch which I regret because no sooner we started to eat we felt pressured to finish our food. The omelet station closed down soon enough that I missed out (this brunch cost the two of us $185). The food, including the cakes, very high quality however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Would have been 5 stars except we went for Easter brunch with 11:00 reservations and they were not ready to seat anyone until 11:20. Was this their first rodeo? Good was very tasty and mimosas and service were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was terrific. Sending a glass of bubbles for my husband's 50th was a very nice touch. Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The food was fine but the wait staff just made the whole experience tense. It might have been a few off key jokes or just lingering a little too long around the table but we weren't able to relax

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Luce! The service was spectacular - James was knowledgable and entertaining. The appetizers were the star of the meal. We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was exceptional and the staff was as good. It surpassed our expectations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I used to love this place. The Easter Brunch was fantastic and the dining room is beautiful. I suppose I'd return for a buffet-style brunch, but never again for table service.

The last two times I've come here for table service brunch, I've ordered a bowl of meusli. And both times the bowl was presented to me without a spoon. My table setting didn't have a spoon either and in both cases the waiter dropped the food and ran off so quickly that I couldn't timely call him over to ask for a spoon. I sat there for close to five minutes unable to eat my food. My companions let their food get cold out of politeness to me.

Once, I can see, maybe wait staff is having an off day. But twice? Not the fine dining service one can expect in restaurants of the same price point.

It's too bad because I love the interior ambiance of the space and the food is good. But a spoon isn't too much to ask, is it?

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Was a guest in the hotel and made a lunch reservation via Open Table indicating it was a celebratory birthday lunch. Nothing was mentioned and service was lacking. It took quite a while for a server to approach us in a near empty restaurant and only after inquiring about one. Drinks were never refilled. Food was cold, obviously sitting for some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fine fit for gathering friends for improvisational dining Unique creative cuisine in a posh upscale setting

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was a little too precious and pretentious without much substance. Sous vide fish is melt in your mouth, but do you really want fish to lack any texture at all? The prawns were excellent and, surprisingly, the cheese plate was the high point. The waiter was a true professional with a warm personality, but the person distributing bread was so rude and cold that she almost ruined the whole experience single handedly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dinner before Hamilton at the Orpheum. Convenient since we were staying at the hotel. Delicious and appealing presentation. Duck, chicken, risotto, and vegetarian meal were all delicious. Service was also great. Overpriced but it is the Intercontinental.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and presentation. The tasting menu is very good and most of the wines were all paired well and all California wines.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Most excellent local tasting menu one night short of our "official" 7th anniversary (actually just the same short of our unofficial anniversary of one final close look to seal the deal).

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous. I've increasingly become sensitive to the high cost of dining in The City, but between the service, the high quality of the food, this is one tasting menu that I feel is worth the cost. The service was impeccable and the food sublime and imaginative without being trendy. I can't wait to go back again. They have certainly earned their Michelin rating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We were there for Biz Breakfast: while the food, setting and the service were very good, the cost is unreasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Luce is simply outstanding. The cuisine is creative and sublime. The server Keith was outstanding in his recommendations, friendly and knowledgeable.
Went for my birthday and the staff made me feel special. Order the Milk Chocolate Custard dessert, Wow! The cappuccino is the best in the city. My dinner companion raved about the NY Strip Steak.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Outstanding experience - came for late dinner and superb service and food. Would love to come back asap! Are foodies and consider Luce at top international class for fine cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Service was the best I've had in a long time: interesting, right speed, non intrusive... and the food was simply amazing: great combination of tastes. Highly recommended

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We traveled to this restaurant for the culinary clash and found a friendly elegant new favorite!
The staff was professional and we will definitely return when back in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Tasting menu was great. Excellent business dinner place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.