About Low Country Kitchen

435 Lincoln Avenue
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

From Southern hospitality to Southern comfort, Low evokes memories of a front porch swing and a squeaky screened door, from a warm gulf breeze to clean country air. Fine Southern cookin' created with the freshest of organic meats and produce, and the finest of seafood from the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Prepare yourself for classic Southern dishes, thirst quenchin' beverages, and the most delicious desserts this side of the Mississippi River.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - Close
Bar is open until at least 11pm nightly

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 761-2693

Website:
http://lowrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
There is a city bus stop in front of the restaurant entrance. During summer months the bus runs every 30 minutes and every 20 minutes in the winter.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Hoth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Low Country Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (30)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Authentic (14)
Casual (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Family Style (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Every single thing was to die for. We shared a salad, shrimp and grits, fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and the okra. Don't skip the okra. I have to say-- I was beyond annoyed that gravy is $6 extra even with the mashed potatoes. They of course have an explanation-- I don't care though. Others than gravy-gate, I loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have dined here 3 or 4 times and I think it just keeps getting better and better. The fried chicken is amazing! We also love the fried green tomatoes and the cheddar grits. I also like the chicken biscuit for Happy Hour.

Highly recommend this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the comfort style food and great menu variety! Great for families

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another great meal with great service. That's why we keep coming back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Low is one of our favorite restaurants in town. The food is very consistent every time we go. My husband always gets the fried chicken which he had on our last visit and, as usual, it was very good. I typically get the ribs but ventured out and tried the roasted chicken which was delicious. We had biscuits as a side dish and they were wonderful. Low never disappoints. It is a small restaurant so make sure you have a reservation.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always make it a pint to go when I am in Steamboat. Wait staff is great!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I am from the Northeast but LOVE this Low Country food! The food is fresh and so tasty!

One of my local favorite hot spots!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I love this place. The cocktails are great, the food is tasty, and the happy hour is truly wonderful. This was my first time for dinner and it was, again, amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service from kitchen slow. Cold near doors food good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner after skiing all day. I loved the bone marrow and then had

buttermilk biscuits and the pork ribs which were easy to eat, tender and tasty with a slightly spicy low country bbq sauce. My wife had the gumbo, cornbread and then the

"BLT." Excellent food. One of the top 5 restaurants in Steamboat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved LowCountry. It's right downtown, very easy to find if you're not from around Steamboat. They have a great happy hour menu and drink menu. The food has lots of flavor, and the menu has a lot of wonderful options. My family enjoyed the evening, 4 year old included. Service was fantastic, our daughter was extremely crabby and our waitress Paige, was so patient and kind to all of us. Loved it and will return.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

From the minute we walked in to when we left, we were 100 percent happy. Page, our server, was lovely and helpful. The menu was great even vegetarian options. We shared a lot and enjoyed the sides as well. Noise level was great, we were able to chat and enjoy it all. Not to be missed when in Steamboat and soon in Denver. Make a reservation!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food here is exceptional. Our server was attentive without bbc.co being too familiar. So much yummy seafood & comfort food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It's always a great experience at LOW. Their Mac & Cheese and Chicken Bisquit Sliders are my favorite!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was bland and over priced. The atmosphere was nice, but did not compensate for the lack of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was ok, service not so much. Wrong food and drinks delivered to table, asked to leave right after bill was paid (were there 1 1/2 hrs, skipped dessert). It was a very awkward and uncomfortable departure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fried Chicken and spicy ribs are great, large enough to share. The rest of the sides, Mac and cheese,biscuits are barley big enough for one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good value with a good vibe. Book a table on the weekends if you want to get in.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Should be called Slow Country. Took 1 1/2 hours to get food. No excuses while waiting. No restaurant is worth a wait that long. We won't be back. Been there one other time and the waitress was rude. Not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A fun spot with yummy food! Fun to share dishes. Not exactly health food. Well, not at all. But hey! Live a little!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

fried chicken was amazing.

Pecan pie needs a lot of work

Overall great meal

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Some of the best southern comfort food I have ever eaten. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We come up toSB Springs from Evergreen Co & book to eat here at least once during our stay , our kids love the fried chicken & the shrimp & grits are superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been to Low several times and have always thought it was worth the price. We went when it first opened and to be honest that was our best meal there. It seems like it's changed a bit since it first opened. My husband was disappointed that they took the mussels of the menu. I had the catfish and we both agreed it tasted after a few bites, " a little muddy". I was hoping there would be a special or two, but the last few times I have been there, there aren't any specials offered. One last thing, I ordered a speciality drink for $14 which was the smallest drink I have ever seen. Although very tasty, very overpriced. I was a bit disappointed over all this time around. I still think I'll try it again but maybe just for happy hour. We are long time locals and have seen many restaurants go through their rough patches. Maybe that is what's going on with Low Country presently.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was very good, but our server interacted with us as if she was a robot. She was either grumpy or lacking in personality. She warned up a bit over time but did not reflect well on the warmth and welcoming environment that the owners of Low County want their diners to experience. Don't leave with out having the cinnamon beignets for desert - they we fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Low Country Kitchen is one of Steamboat Springs best. My husband had the pork ribs and I had the jambalaya and both were terrific. Sophisticated creative dishes give southern cooking a good name. Service is great and atmosphere is charming, country casual.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Nice attempt at southern cooking' however, I dined with 2 men who live in the south and the food didn't quite measure up. One described the shrimp and grits as flavorless and the pot pie as just ok. The fried green tomatoes were small and bland, the gumbo thin and not nearly rich enough. For those not used to actual southern fare, it might be ok, but we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

WAY BETTER THAN GOOD!

Read the reviews and expected to like it, though after we ate we LOVED Low Country. The fried chicken, okra and jambalaya was some of the best we ever had. Plus the peach habanero sauce was pretty special too. Amy, our server, was super friendly and very accommodating. Overall a great evening. We hope to be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and cocktails. Service was fantastic. My only negative would be the grits weren't up to my high standards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love this place. Fried chicken and okra is the way to go!!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! The mac-and-cheese, shrimp and grits, and BBQ lamb shoulder were insanely good, and our waitress Paige was so sweet. We couldn't have asked for a better New Year's Eve dinner. To top it off, we very much appreciate being able to buy the apple chili chutney!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The chicken was so dry, I could only eat a few pieces. Pretty dissapointing when you're paying that much money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We dined at Low Country Kitchen during our ski trip to Steamboat. The ambiance was great! Very warm and inviting. Their happy hour menu was very good. The wings and pimiento cheese appetizer were delicious, we would go back just to eat those. My husband enjoyed the jambalaya. The shrimp and grits were good, but not the best I've had. Would definitely go again and certainly recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a lovely experience!!!! The service was excellent. Dinner was divine. Huge bonus is their bourbon collection. Lastly they were so accommodating! This is a new favorite for us in Steamboat, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Awesome, friendly service in a modern, trendy space. Food was excellent. Fried chicken was wonderful, great salads, chicken biscuits, shrimp and grits, and even the homemade hot sauces. All excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food is always consistent and a crowd pleaser. I bring out of town family here all the time. We had made reservations a must during either season, they were busy. Our server was good but kept apologizing when things weren't fast.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The space is tight so it wouldn't be great for really big groups. Service was very good, and the food came out in a nice orderly fashion. Tight place. We had the biscuits (bland), okra (very good), mashed potatoes (good), and the 5 piece fried chicken (very good).

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great low country food. Musts include the chicken biscuits, fried green tomatoes, deviled eggs and shrimp & grits. Great bar too with creative cocktails.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Low Country was a great find in Steamboat. Authentic Southern style cooking complete with okra and biscuits! The food was excellent, but there were a few odd things: wines by the glass were served in a juice glass. But they were very nice about it when I had for a stemmed glass. Even thought the waitress had to get the manager to get a glass out of her office. Also, the other odd thing is that mashed potatoes and gravy are separate sides and about $5 each - that's $5 for mashed potatoes, and $5 for gravy. But the food was awesome and well worth a visit to this Southern style restaurant in Steamboat.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful wonderful food. Staff should cut the fake southern accents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had an early reservation, and they had lots of great happy hour specials, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We go here every time we visit steamboat. The food and cocktails are incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our service was outstanding and the food was truly delicious. The cornbread drizzled with honey makes an outstanding dessert!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great fried chicken, plenty of options for vegtarians, tasty cocktails and a very fun and friendly staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The atmosphere is better with the expansion but is still noisey. Service has not improved. The food is ok. It is southern comfort food a little overpriced but prepared well. There is no bread or rolls served with your meal. Some dishes are very good while others mediocre.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Everything we had was amazing. I shared the fried chicken with my husband and we each got the butter lettuce salad. Amazing. My friend had the shrimp and grits, loved it. My friend's daughter had the steak, we were all fighting over it. Great happy hour options, a lot of nice selections to choose from. Good service. Yummy biscuits. Bonus, I got to use my $20 Open Table Gift Certificate I earned from all of our dining out adventures.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Atmosphere, service, and food were all great. Definitely resort town prices...it's a treat for a most locals to eat there, but couldn't do it very often. The happy hour is a good deal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Could not rate the low country any higher. Great food, great service. Expensive but worth every penny. Loved it!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Low Country is a constantly good restaurant. Southern style cooking in the Rocky Mts is not too common, but this is a very popular restaurant with Steamboat locals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.