Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Low Country Kitchen

From Southern hospitality to Southern comfort, Low evokes memories of a front porch swing and a squeaky screened door, from a warm gulf breeze to clean country air. Fine Southern cookin' created with the freshest of organic meats and produce, and the finest of seafood from the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Prepare yourself for classic Southern dishes, thirst quenchin' beverages, and the most delicious desserts this side of the Mississippi River.

435 Lincoln Avenue
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - Close
Bar is open until at least 11pm nightly

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 761-2693

Website:
http://lowrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
There is a city bus stop in front of the restaurant entrance. During summer months the bus runs every 30 minutes and every 20 minutes in the winter.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Hoth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Low Country Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (16)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
People Watching (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The mussels were to die for! We also loved the lamb over rice grits! It was accommodating to the gluten free and had an excellent Bourbon list! We would definitely go back!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Read the reviews on Low Country before dinning there and found it to be just awesome. They were out of the Sangria we wanted but since it was the day after Labor Day we gave them a pass!
You'll enjoy EVERY bite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Been here many times and we always come back! Lived in South Carolina and we miss the low county food.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. The fried chicken and lamb are the best dishes in Steamboat!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good food although the wait to get our food was a bit on the long side. Tables are a little too close together inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was delicious and our server had very in depth menu knowledge. I was especially fond of the beet salad and the seasonal peach dessert. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Excellent southern dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was extremely slow and the food was mediocre at best. Biscuits were cold & tasted like flour - fried chicken was good, however, we ordered the 6 piece basket and only received 4 pieces of chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was great. Staffed was informed that we were on a theater time schedule and committed to service so we could meet our schedule. They failed significantly in this effort. We had to rush our meal as the entrees were very late, and we were late to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My son and I had dinner together. His fried chicken and collard greens were outstanding; My shrimp and grits are the best I've ever tasted. A wonderful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Steamboat. Always on our lists when we have guests.
Wish there was a Low Country Kitchen in Dallas

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is the second time visiting Low Country. The service was not very good & reflected in the food. Was disappointed; as loved our meal the first time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Low Country Kitchen is not a restaurant that you would expect to find in Steamboat Springs, Colorado but it is a refreshing mix of dishes with selections that appeal to a wide range of tastes and diets. I had the catfish with a side of mixed vegetables - it was beautifully seasoned and perfectly cooked. The two people I was with had the fried chicken with a side of mashed potatoes and gravy and the gumbo and a beet salad. Everything was delicious!
The staff were welcoming and I would have given the service and overall experience 5 stars except for two things:
Our drinks and then our meal were a little slow in coming out and the waitress forgot to bring the collard greens I had ordered and took so long to check back with us on our meals that by the time she did, I was too far into the meal to want the collard greens at that time.
We were seated at a bar height table which was uncomfortable for older people to sit for what turned out to be over an hour and a half. There were no other regular tables that were open and quite a few of their tables are the bar height. Next time I would make sure to reserve a standard dining table!
All that being said, I will definitely return and I will also recommend it to others!!! The food made up for the other small issues.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Being from the South, I love this spot. Best meal I've had in a long time. Low has charm and style and you need to go asap!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Organic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I love this restaurant. Every time I go there, I am reminded of how fantastic the food (and cocktails) is (are). The vibe is laid back, unrushed. It makes for a great special occasion, business meal, or happy hour with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were there for an hour and a half before any food was served. Appetizers were served with the main course. My chowder had separated into oily potatoes and greasy broth because it had sat so long. Second glass of wine never received but we were charged for it. It was not a busy night but service was deplorable. Only the grits and vegetables and the fried chicken were good. We will not return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

So glad we visited Low. A fun, new fave place. Had the fish special pictured. Delish!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love the food! Always super tasty! Cocktails are creative and refreshing. Always gets a good review from visitors we take there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Spicy, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is one of our family's favorite restaurants, and the food was amazing as always. This particular time I was on a very restrictive diet, and they were completely amenable and modified dishes for me and another member of our group. Our food was just as fantastic as the others in our party.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The salads are awesome! As is the chicken sandwich and that's about it. I'll go back but for only those two items.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always a good choice when in Steamboat, be it a quick bite or more formal meal. Very good happy hour specials and friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The catfish was the most amazing I have ever had! Worth the visit!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were in Steamboat for the weekend with family and everyone, from the 6 year old to the sixty year old, loved Low Country.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was very good. Lots of creative touches added to traditional southern dishes. Also had some very good cocktails!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The service was exceptional. Everything else, meh. I had the fried chicken dinner; the pieces were very small and the chicken while fresh and cooked well had little spice. Sauteed seasonal vegetable dish had a lot of mushrooms and potatoes, guess I was looking for more greens.
My wife had a steak dish and the meat was stringing, chewey. I had a couple cocktails that I would call experimental (white Sangria?) Really didn't like them and even for happy hour they were not cheap. Wife had one cocktail she didn't like and switched to wine by the glass, not particularly good, not good choices and overpriced.
This place tries to take southern comfort food to an experimental level and they just try too hard, they veer too far off the path of traditional recipes and the prices are a little high.
Not suggesting they do only traditional recipes, but they really are taking things a little far.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Loved the food, service a little slower than we've experienced before. Creative menu, pretty outdoor courtyard - one of our favorite spots in Steamboat Springs!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

As always, we ordered too much food, but every morsel was fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Celebrated my husband's first Father's Day with dinner at Low Country Kitchen. We enjoyed bourbon cocktails and started with their fried green tomatoes which came with avocado sauce. Oh my! My husband had their gumbo and I had their pepper bisque. Both were delicious! For our main course we enjoyed their house favorite fried chicken and shrimp and grits. Both were excellent. We also had a side of hushpuppies and fried okra. My husband especially enjoyed the hushpuppies because they reminded him of the ones his Grandpa used to make. We finished our meal with pecan pie with bourbon infused whipped cream. It was an amazing meal for an amazing man! They were especially great with our six month old. Next time we are in Steamboat Springs, we are definitely returning to Low Country Kitchen. Our server was Bethany and she was great! When asked, she made wonderful recommendations and was extremely helpful with her knowledge. She was very friendly too. We wanted a laid back no rush dinner and Bethany accommodated that experience for us!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food. Great service! My favorite restaurant in Steamboat Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Due to beautiful summer weathe during our visit, we chose to be seated by the hostess outside on the patio, in comfortable chairs lit with fairy lights. We enjoyed music from the bar next door for 20 minutes before our server realized where we were, allowing us plenty of time for people-watching along the busy sidewalk. We ordered the fried chicken, ribs, grits, and collards for a survey of their southern offerings. The chicken's breading was pleasantly crisp, but did not hold together very well as we ate, leaving much of the juicy chicken naked to the elements. The ribs, five to an order, fell from the bone, and were moist and flavorful if a little bit chewy. We particularly liked the tangy, Carolina-style barbecue sauce, on both the ribs and the chicken. The collard greens, cooked with thick bacon, were also tasty and tender, and without bitterness. The rough-ground yellow grits blended with white cheddar resulted in an appealingly dense and interesting texture. We finished off the meal with a slice of chocolate cheesecake, of which the chocolate-chip-cookie crust was unfortunately lackluster. The filing, by contrast, was ganache-like in deep chocolate flavor and paired very well with the summery raspberries and apricot puree served alongside. The meal came to just over $70 before tip, which is more than one would expect to pay for a comparable meal anywhere but Steamboat. Overall the meal was enjoyable (three-and-a-half of five stars), but the price does not make it worth experiencing more than once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Anniversary, 1 birthday & an early Fathers Day. Thank you very much for the desserts!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Being of Southern extraction we know southern cooking and were intrigued by a Southern restaurant in Steamboat. The Negroni was right on. We ordered the Low Country clams and Fried green tomatoes to start. Clams were superb in a fabulous sauce, but served with 2 tiny slices of bread. We had to ask for more to soak up the amazing sauce. The tomatoes were a disappointment. Green tomatoes should never be deep fried in a gummy batter, but dredged in cornmeal and flour then pan fried. There was no tart flavor that green tomatoes should have. If you can't do them right, leave 'em off the menu. That said, the hush puppies were good, as was the okra (but again, dredged in flour and cornmeal with cubed green tomatoes and pan fried is proper), shrimp & grits very good (that tomato & bacon gravy!) as was the fried chicken. Wait service was lackadaisical, had to ask for flatware (!) plus spoons to serve portions with, our waiter knew virtually nothing about the menu items and continually cruised by with no glance at us or our table. We had to resort to asking the manager for things. Unacceptable, especially at this price point. And on a Tuesday night with a half-filled room! All together, would probably return but not for the service or green tomatoes. Maybe takeout.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

great food, great ambiance and most of all great staff

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food is excellent and the service is friendly and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A coworker told me this place has the best fried chicken he'd ever had. I thought he was exaggerating - he was not. Now this place has the best fried chicken I'VE ever had. There are other things on the menu - but seriously - start with the fried chicken!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful food. Easygoing atmosphere. Best buttermilk biscuits not made in my own kitchen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food is a bit pricey, however it's so delicious you barely notice the bill when it comes.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent unique dishes. Good service. I had the Catfish and it was delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent corn crawfish chowder and catcish. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ordered the chicken pot pie. Tasted ok but was soooo small. Ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.