Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Low Country Kitchen

From Southern hospitality to Southern comfort, Low evokes memories of a front porch swing and a squeaky screened door, from a warm gulf breeze to clean country air. Fine Southern cookin' created with the freshest of organic meats and produce, and the finest of seafood from the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Prepare yourself for classic Southern dishes, thirst quenchin' beverages, and the most delicious desserts this side of the Mississippi River.

435 Lincoln Avenue
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - Close
Bar is open until at least 11pm nightly

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 761-2693

Website:
http://lowrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
There is a city bus stop in front of the restaurant entrance. During summer months the bus runs every 30 minutes and every 20 minutes in the winter.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Hoth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Low Country Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (32)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Casual (17)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Family Style (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Fun (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is excellent and the service is friendly and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A coworker told me this place has the best fried chicken he'd ever had. I thought he was exaggerating - he was not. Now this place has the best fried chicken I'VE ever had. There are other things on the menu - but seriously - start with the fried chicken!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful food. Easygoing atmosphere. Best buttermilk biscuits not made in my own kitchen.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is a bit pricey, however it's so delicious you barely notice the bill when it comes.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent unique dishes. Good service. I had the Catfish and it was delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent corn crawfish chowder and catcish. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Ordered the chicken pot pie. Tasted ok but was soooo small. Ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner was better this time than the last time we were here. All our dishes- fried chicken, beet salad, chowder, vegetable grits and jambalaya were quite good! Cocktails were great too! Only negative was a slow kitchen that night. Pricey, but this is a resort town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was amazing - expensive but worth every penny! Waitstaff was attentive and very helpful. Great experience- will definitely be back. Our new favorite restaurant in Steamboat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Love this restaurant! So tasty - very kid friendly:) they have some new menu items and we loved the BBQ lamb (in fact I am eating the leftovers right now in a yummy open faced sandwich).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Low has reliable good food and drink, and excellent service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have dined here before, and the food does not disappoint. The restaurant was very busy the night we had dinner, so it took awhile for our food to arrive. That said, it was still a pleasant experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lowcountry kitchen never disappoints make sure to get the Fried Green Tomatoes, Carolina Pork Ribs, Shrimp and Grits with an Old Fashion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Low Country is one of our favorite restaurants in Steamboat, we love the fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, with a side of fried okra. The service is great and their Happy Hour is also very enjoyable and a good value.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food was good - portions were small. Good Southern cooking.... Carolina and Louisiana kinds. Excellent Fried Chicken - just small pieces.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Awesome place, food, and waitress!
Have been here several times and is always good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Both my wife and I grew up in the Deep South and have reasonable knowledge of Southern and Low Country Cooking. Pleasantly surprised at most of our sampling.
Fried chicken and fried okra were great. No tartar sauce for catfish but rather another sauce that did not measure up nor did they understand Carolina BBQ sauce. Ribs were neatly and tender but where in the South have you found bbq lamb or rice grits??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We visit Steamboat every year for Spring Break and we always book Low Country because the food is great and they are always prepared to handle groups with kids. The portions are larger than you usually get so come hungry. Only complaint was the shrimp and grits were a little heavy on the grits.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We always enjoy an excellent meal here. It is one of our favorites! We've qlways had very friendly and helpful wait staff too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

In town visiting family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Bar B Q shanks was very rich and flavorful so beware if you cannot handle rich food. Fried Chicken is was you go here for and is family style. Well worth it. Roasted chicken is you do not like fried was fantastic. Pecan pie is not traditional and a nice change. recommend.

Tags: Family Style, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food is good, but portion sizes small. 5 small pieces of fried chicken for $18+??? Sat at table 40, in front of door & every time the door opened, blast of cold air enveloped us & ruined the meal. If they are placing a table in front of a door in a cold climate, need to add a double door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The clams in broth were very flavourful as were the devilled eggs. The lamb was succulent and the grits were toothy, but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Awesome meal and great service. As always!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Really fabulous! Great atmosphere! Super food! We are from Atlanta and know real southern food! Spot on!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent food, albeit in a very industrial cafeteria sort of ambiance

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

THE food arrived cold. My order of chicken and biscuit tasted like a large, dry chicken nugget with (Chinese) duck sauce. The biscuit itself was dry, crumbly. Shrimp and grits came out cold, although once warmed, the shrimp were okay. Consistency was like etouffee. The grits were not traditional: consistency was more like chopped hominy. Cornbread was dry. Mississippi catfish was overcooked but the sauce was tasty. Two original Southerners dined, we expected something totally different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

very good food and overall positive service and atmosphere

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Yummy! I recommend chicken biscuits, pot pie and gumbo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was amazing!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

One of our favorites. Took out of town friends and they loved everything they ordered!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great table, excellent staff, excellent food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Seasonal, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was great. Service wasn't. Waited 30min to be seated after having a reservation. We're told they'd comp first round of drinks, we were charged for our one drink. Once seated, didn't have any kind of service for 15min, server apologized a couple times but I would say mediocre service throughout. I guess they are busy because the food is great but I usually don't return due to service.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband and I had a great time. The food and drinks were outstanding. Definitely one of my top restaurants in Steamboat. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Every single thing was to die for. We shared a salad, shrimp and grits, fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and the okra. Don't skip the okra. I have to say-- I was beyond annoyed that gravy is $6 extra even with the mashed potatoes. They of course have an explanation-- I don't care though. Others than gravy-gate, I loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have dined here 3 or 4 times and I think it just keeps getting better and better. The fried chicken is amazing! We also love the fried green tomatoes and the cheddar grits. I also like the chicken biscuit for Happy Hour.

Highly recommend this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the comfort style food and great menu variety! Great for families

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another great meal with great service. That's why we keep coming back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.