Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Lovina (formerly Calistoga Kitchen)

Lovina (formerly Calistoga Kitchen) offers casual dining with exceptional food, wine, and company all day from Thursday-Monday. Find us in downtown Calistoga on the corner of Cedar Street and Lincoln Avenue. We are a chef owned restaurant that produces delicious dishes and we work with local farms, ranches, and orchards. Our wine list features small producers from the Valley, mostly Calistoga AVA with some exceptional finds from outside our area. Enjoy our industrial heaters on the patio near several fantastic antique stores on the east end of Calistoga's main street, Lincoln.

1107 Cedar Street
Calistoga, CA 94515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Thursday/ Friday/ Monday 11 am- 9 pm

Saturday/ Sunday/ Holidays 9 am- 9 pm

Closed Tuesday/ Wednesday

Cross Street:
Lincoln Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 942-6500

Website:
http://www.calistogakitchen.com/

Parking Details:
The private lot is located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Napa Valley's The Vine transit bus stop is located just half a block from the KITCHEN. Calistoga Shuttle, a local public van stops right at our front.

Executive Chef:
Jenna Hodges and Shaun McGrath

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lovina (formerly Calistoga Kitchen) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort by
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the decor and the charming location of Lovina. We were not that hungary when we arrived, and I guess that was a good thing. I felt the entrees were very small for the price. We each had a glass of wine. For a small serving of pasta, a small piece of fish and 2 glasses of wine the tab was $105.00 when we added in the tip.
I was underwhelmed. Maybe come back and sit outside in the summer and order a house special, or maybe not...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2018

Tried the new restaurant in Calistoga. Went on a Monday night. Rey limited entree menu. There was only one waitress working so good think it was not too busy. Hope they can stay busy and spandex menu options a little. Food we had was good so there is definitely potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Great food! Will be back often. Especially loved the Bolognese and the Mushroom Risotto.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Food was excellent, and server was very charming. But service was very spotty and we waited long periods between our courses, while the table behind us received their meals promptly. Ordered courses after we did, but received them 10 to 15 minutes before we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Little gems salad and branzino were excellent. Lovina is off to a great start

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Wonderful spot with charming street-side outdoor garden dining. Delicious/creative/healthful food and exceptional service (thank you, Isabela)! Great for people watching as they stroll by on the corner sidewalk or drive by. (Bridge construction across the street didn't impact us at all, though it is making for a little heavier traffic right now.) Beautiful indoor setting, too. Nice to have such a sweet place in Calistoga!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Unfortunately, despite the restaurant not being full, service was poorly coordinated and slow. Individual servers were well meaning but it felt like they just didn't assign anyone to our table, so each step of the meal we had to flag someone down or wait for a long time. Food was reasonable, but wouldn't go back at this price point and quality level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Locally owned. Great original menu- from start to dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Serious, thoughtful menu with excellent service--top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Party of five, we had a wonderful evening. Great food and service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2018

It was their second day open. Servers a bit too anxious overfunctioning. Understandable.
Was reconnecting with old friend and interrupted a lot. None the less enjoyed the experience.
Nice ambience and food and pleasant crew.

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2018

We wanted to try the new menu after Lovina opened with new owners. The first thing we noticed right away was the noise reduction panels on the ceiling. Makes a big difference. Everything we ordered was outstanding! Unique and delicious flavor combinations. We will definitely be back and highly recommend Lovina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2018

This restaurant has amazing service and wonderful food. The menu seems to be seasonal. We love eating in the garden.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We had brunch items - French toast, Breakfast burrito, Farmer's Market plate - all were fantastic. Quality fresh food, well prepared and presented in a pleasing manner. Service was attentive and friendly. We'll definitely be back when we're in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Another favorite place to eat in Calistoga. Unusual combinations of food and everything is perfectly prepared. The Egg Nog Bread Pudding was wonderful. Definitely worth a return visit!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Amazing in every way. Fresh, delectable dishes, amazing atmosphere, awesome service! Absolutely loved!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Amazing food. Completely delicious. I'd love to go back there in the mear future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Organic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by a local. We had no expectations. Wow! The food was phenomenal! I had the braised short rib (cooked to perfection), my husband had the seafood bronzini (also cooked to perfection, one side of the fish was crispy, it was scrumptious!) The flavors were delicious, like modern comfort food (if there is such a thing), but fit for foodies. Do not pass on the focaccia bread to start and try the avocado salad. We finished with the sunday, which was to die for! Atmosphere and service were top-notch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2017

This is a pleasant comfortable place to drop in anytime. There is nothing pretentious, no putting on airs. The outdoor garden is lovely when the weather allows. The food is high quality at all times with just a twist - like Model Bakery English muffins for the breakfast sandwich. I consider it one of my neighorhood places.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving Dinner...excellent! What a great surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2017

The Grilled Cheese sandwich was fine though nothing special. The Celery Root soup was outstanding. My husband's salad was very good though small for the price. I found this restaurant on Yelp and think the reviews over rate this average restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very good chicken and dumplings. Loved the chunky carrots and flavouring.
Expensive corking fee of $20. Yikes.
Good service, but I prefer not to be interrupted in conversation to be asked how the meal tastes. We were asked 5 times throughout our meal.
Overall good meal with room for improvement.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awkward getting seated, despite having made a reservation. Service was indifferent. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This was an awesome meal. The options seem to change with the season as we had a dish with press peaches that were fantastically delicious warmed with chili 🌶 and served over delightful bread. So good. We both fully enjoyed our meals and the desserts are not to be missed. We also went with the shiner, label-less, wine bottle and it was perfect with our flavorful meal, and a really good buy. We will certainly come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

It's a casual environment in a house-turned-restaurant. The food was exceptional. Definitely a great place to get 5 star food with a laid back atmosphere. Presentation of the food is on par with a more formal restaurant. LOVE!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

My husband and I had our 20th wedding anniversary dinner here. We were shown to a cozy table and then greeted with some bubbles. Food, service and ambiance were incredible. Everything was so great we went back the next day for brunch! Thank you Calistoga Kitchen. We will be back .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service was not very good. I saw multiple people get up before even getting waters. The food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Went to Calistoga Kitchen two years ago amazing rib eye steak .
Friday we left after appetizers due to poor menu selections.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Amazing food, great service the outdoor area is gorgeous! Would 100% recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is very good and the service is excellent. We sat outside so the Ambiance is even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Quaint restaurant with good food, I had the Opah and it was fabulous. Plus we could bring my friends dog!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Nice brunch. Surprisingly large portions (mushroom toast was a meal, though listed as an appetizer), and good variety. I would/will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

New owner seems to re-organizing. Very short menu, shorter wine list. Food was just ok.
Service was excellent. Room was extremely loud. Hopefully things will improve with time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing!!! The food was amazing from the appetizer to the dessert and everything in between.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a delicious brunch! The outside seating was quant, and really quiet despite all the tables being occupied. Recommend the breakfast sandwich and potatoes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was creative and good.
Good spot
Friendly personnel

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Had a great dinner. The peppers and everything ricotta crostini were delicious. The bolognese and chicken yum yum also great! Lonnie was excellent serverband Kaitlyn showed us how they make their rootbeer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was good but we had better food at less expensive restaurants in calistoga. Service was wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I thought the menu could have been more interesting. Limited menue and not very many heathy options besides one scramble egg dish and salads.
The breakfast sandwich was heavy and greasy. The bread was soaked in butter.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.