Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Blue SpoonBlue Spoon
(394)
$$$$
American | Portland, Maine
Booked 2 times today
Grace - PortlandGrace - Portland
(1493)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Portland, Maine
Booked 5 times today
East EnderEast Ender
(235)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Portland, Maine
Booked 14 times today
David's RestaurantDavid's Restaurant
(1360)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Portland, Maine
Booked 12 times today
Vignola & Cinque TerreVignola & Cinque Terre
(908)
$$$$
European | Portland, Maine
Booked 4 times today
Solo ItalianoSolo Italiano
(338)
$$$$
Italian | Portland, Maine
Booked 10 times today
Union PortlandUnion Portland
(453)
$$$$
American | Portland, Maine
Booked 9 times today
Petite JacquelinePetite Jacqueline
(719)
$$$$
French | Portland, Maine
Booked 5 times today
EvoEvo
(221)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Portland, Maine
Booked 3 times today
Old Port Sea GrillOld Port Sea Grill
(497)
$$$$
Seafood | Portland, Maine
Booked 8 times today
Twenty Milk StreetTwenty Milk Street
(251)
$$$$
American | Portland, Maine
Booked 4 times today
Hugo's RestaurantHugo's Restaurant
(755)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Portland, Maine
Booked 14 times today
Ri Ra Irish Pub & Restaurant - PortlandRi Ra Irish Pub & Restaurant - Portland
(119)
$$$$
Irish | Portland, Maine
Sonny'sSonny's
(330)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Portland, Maine
Booked 2 times today
Street and Co.Street and Co.
(771)
$$$$
Seafood | Portland, Maine
Booked 13 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About lolita: vinoteca+asador

Lolita is a modern American restaurant that embraces the flavors, traditions and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine. Enter and be greeted by the warmth of the custom wood-fired grill, traditional hand-operated equipment, and rustic walls adorned with our thoughtfully curated wine collection. Reminiscent of an Old World bodega, neighbors and visitors alike gather throughout the day to share wine, small or large dishes, and a lot of congenial conversation.



Sit at the zinc bar, or cozy banquette, and savor an espresso from our vintage machine; linger over a leisurely lunch, or stay into the evening to sample our extensive menu which showcases the freshest ingredients. You can also enjoy a hand-crafted cocktail or explore our wine selection, with over 75 choices by the bottle and 15 by the glass.

90 Congress Street
Portland, ME 04101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Brunch & Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:30pm

Dinner: Every day: 3:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Atlantic Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 775-5652

Website:
http://www.lolita-portland.com/

Parking Details:
On-street parking is readily available in the neighborhood.

Executive Chef:
Guy Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

On a recent trip to Portland, we were lucky enough to grab a later dinner at Lolita. What a sweet and romantic little place. The staff was wonderful - our waitress was incredibly helpful with wine suggestions and wonderfully fun and light. She was there when we needed something without hovering. The food was incredibly yummy. To start, we got two toasts and a pot. Both the Rapini Toast and the Roast Pork Toast were really balanced and packed a punch. The Smoked Bass Pot was the only item that seemed less flavorful - there was little to no flavor of smoke to it and it was overwhelmed with dill. Next we got the Fire Roasted Marrow Bones (the mushrooms that accompanied the marrow were delectable!) and a special Beef Carpaccio which was beautifully cut and delicious. We finished by splitting it close to perfect Bucatini and the sweet and juicy Wood Roasted Clams. The wines we got were super tasty and the pacing of the different course was spot on.

We'll definitely be coming back on our next trip!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We are so lucky to have Lolita as our neighborhood dining spot - easily accessible even in a blizzard!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

What an absolute treat! Went with GF for brunch and the food and ambiance were just great. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Organic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It's our go-to super-fancy spot in the East End. The service and food are always spot on. It is always worth the splurge. Always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food, very unique flavors and perfect combinations. Love the small plate dining so you can try more diffent things. Loved it!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was ok, nothing special. A little too hipster-chic to be taken seriously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I love this place. Started going here before/after shows at the St Lawrence theater. I've never left hungry or unsatisfied. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful dinner. We have been to Lolita many times. It never disappoints. Cozy atmosphere. Unbelievable food. It remains one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great cozy spot on Munjoy Hill! Excellent shareable small dishes plus more substantial fare. Good drink menu! Very pleasant and helpful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Delicious!!! And our server, Ben, was wonderful! Highly recommend the leek tart with gravlax!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice vibe, cute place on Munjoy Hill. Food was disappointing though. I expected much more since the menu looked so interesting and tasty. Dare I say everything was a little bland, except dessert (Which was amazing!!!) The waitress was attentive and patient, but wasn't very warm and seemed a little annoyed by our questions.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fun place. Great starters & drinks. Staff is wonderful. Grilled meat & fish are the standouts for mains. Occasionally uneven.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We love coming here for dinner...the staff is welcoming and professional and the food is packed with umami--everything here has a punch of flavor. The drinks are always interesting and tasty. Love the experience every time!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

If the chef who prepared the pastas (mushroom and ink) had tasted either one he/she would not have let them leave kitchen

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lolita never disappoints! My two favorite times to visit are Sunday brunch/lunch and Monday happy hour (the latter especially in the summer when you can sit outside). The food, wine & service are always top notch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

casual but hip. Creative, beautifully executed food. Innovative but not trendy.
Favorite spot in Portland. Excellent cocktails--again, creative but not at the expense of taste or sense!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Not what it uses to be...
Years ago I gave this place 5 stars. Great food friendly service. Not tonight. First the food. I had rabbit liver with wilted spinach. The liver was tasty and warm but the wilted spinach was clearly wilted in advance and was fresh from the refrigerator. This is just poor food, with a we don't care anymore attitude. One slice of the speck was dried out and was probably sitting there uncovered and I got the first dried piece. The service matched the food, uninspired and very basic. Towards the end I spilled something on the table, it was boldly visible. The waitress came by 4 tines and couldn't miss it. But didn't care to wipe it off.
The bottom line. I senesced a "we really don't care" attitude. The warm Pellegrino blended right in.

This is sad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very nice for brunch. Interesting new (to us) baked dishes of eggs, meat, pancake combos. Delicious & delightful. Try it for a different taste treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We really loved the atmosphere and had very good servers. The food missed the mark for us, the mussels had a good taste but were rather small and very little was given, the flatbread spread was pretty good and the best of what we had. I recommend the Old Cuban for their mixed drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The quality and creative dishes are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Beautiful, modern, upscale dining! Plenty to like here, from the extensive wine list, great food, terrific and knowledgeable service, to a decor that is gleaming, clean and gorgeous. There are plenty of small bites and larger fare to suit all. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Tasty and innovative food - we especially liked the 3 for $10 appetizer options. also ihe medium-sized entrees were very good and different. But with one cocktail and one glass of wine, the total quickly hit $100 for two - which seems rather pricey for not enormous portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Limited selections and very average food/dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent. Went for a Monday tapas night, wine pairing with a small bite of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

intimate dining area, very creative meals. we enjoyed the small "pots" as appetizers. cooking done in the open in an open wood fired oven. great wine list, wait staff, very knowledgeable and friendly. a bit out of the downtown area, in a residential neighborhood. Unfortunately, there was sand in the bottom of the clam cassoulet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We cannot stay away from this restaurant! see my review on 9/10/16!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

this was just a great night out - very much enjoyed the food and atmosphere - many different dishes just made the night out even more pleasant

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Best steak in Portland! Served Italian biftecca style... this porterhouse for 3 is delicious and a great value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Charming neighborhood bistro away from the Old Port touristy hustle and bustle. Excellent wood oven roasted clams and most flavorful ever mixed greens salad. You will feel like you escaped to Paris for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Dining at this restaurant was a wonderful and different culinary experience. The food was fresh and most was from the local region. Our servers were gracious and patient as they explained the various options on the menu and that all of the food is prepared over an open fire. Our meal was delicious and the interior of the restaurant is very unique.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had Sunday brunch and though the menu was limited there were still a number of options that made it hard for me to decide. My server was welcoming, warm, and patient with answering questions and allowing me time to decide. The dish I chose was more of a lunch item, since I was not going to be able to try a dinner. (I am not a resident but was visiting Portland)
I enjoyed the pasta dish and side green salad, the sauce was interesting and had a nice bit of spice to it. I could tell they care about quality of ingredients, flavor and creative cooking. (Local and in season matters to me and I strive for those kinds of places as much as possible.) If I were to return for Brunch again I would try a more "breakfasty" item to see how they do eggs and such. The atmosphere was low key at the beginning of brunch. The environment was fun and I can imagine that on a busy night it could be louder and a very "happening" kind of vibe. Lolita was one of the places recommended by the host of the airbnb I stayed in and when choosing on line for where to actually go, Lolita appealed and I was not disappointed. (They did not have availability for a night visit when I made my reservations, so I opted for trying the Brunch.)

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have heard amazing things about Lolita for a long time and I was so pleased that it lived up to its hype. I went with a friend and got some of the 3 for $10 toasts, pots, and snacks (I really recommend the tuna , the steak tartare, and the eggplant! So delicious! We also shared a bowl of the gnocci with sage broth and carrots; which was cozy- but in comparison to the other bites we had, it was bland in contrast. The duck confit served in the little cast iron pan with the egg and jalapeno was my favorite of the night! Our servers were absolutely stellar as well. Katie was a sweetheart and Montana was divine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great waitress, amazing food and wine. This was our second time there. Can't wait to go back to Maine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We cannot stay away from this restaurant! All of the awesomely wonderful restaurants in Portland that we've tried and this is one of four that we return to frequently. the bresaola was so tender and tasty; the marmitako ( perfectly cooked tuna topped with mussels in a broth) was deliciously different; the asado was lamb that was so tender and delicious with the skordalia and fennel! and always, a great bottle of wine! The waitstaff is always friendly, extremely knowledgeable and just plain awesome. We walk away, happy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Lolita never disappoints - food, wine, staff always great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The appetizers were the best part of the meal: Chicken Liver Pate was creamy and super tasty. All the entrees were just "meh": and while some were supposed to be served room temperature (brisket), most of them came out room temperature.

They forgot to put in the order for one entree (mine, with an allergy alert), and didn't realize it until all other entrees were up and served. I sat at the table while everyone ate around me, since I couldn't taste many of the other dishes because of allergies (the server did tell me one dish that I could taste from). They offered to get me more bread to tide me over, I declined as I didn't want to fill up and not be able to eat my dinner. At that point, they didn't offer any other compensation (i.e., discount/free desert; glass of wine).

Server was kind; but overall---none of us were wowed by the food enough to come back or recommend to others.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very good food, very eclectic and somewhat limited if you are a very fussy eater.
We really liked the neighborhood feel

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love Lolita and they even provided gluten free crackers to go with my meal. Gluten free bread would have been even better so maybe this is something they will consider in the future. Many restaurants are realizing that some of their guests prefer gluten free whether sensitive or not. Lovely wine list and wonderfully prepared dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.