Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 5.49mi
  4. Distance: 5.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 5.49mi
  4. Distance: 5.71mi

About Log Haven

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurants in the U.S.' by USA Today and America's Most Scenic Restaurants (as featured in Forbes)! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (78)
Scenic View (77)
See All
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
Worth the Drive (65)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Cozy (37)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Authentic (20)
Healthy (19)
Business Meals (18)
Live Music (16)
Fun (15)
Seasonal (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (8)
Organic (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Waterfront (6)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 17 hours ago

Always a winner for special occasions. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and everything was perfect. Thanks, Log Haven, for making it right every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Terrific restaurant with excellent food, service and ambiance. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

This is an extraordinarily beautiful restaurant and I always feel so spoiled whenever I have the opportunity to go. Everything was delicious. We usually go with a larger party but my husband and I decided to go and get away for a bit. I think my one recommendation would be to not put your party of "2's" so close together. We had a nice conversation with several of our neighboring tables but it was difficult to have a private conversation. Just a thought. Overall 5 stars!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The Log Haven was fantastic. Nestled in the canyon with beautiful views and a very cozy feel. Our server was wonderful and gave us perfect recommendations and wine pairings. The food was absolutely amazing! It is pricey but it is worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great! A wonderful ambiance with fabulous service. An excellent filet. Wonderful evening in the canyon.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Scenery is awesome. Food was great and staff attentive. Visiting from out of town and found the drive from Cottonwood relaxing. Menu is creative and tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Restaurant was busy with patrons and a wedding party and you wouldn't have known it with the great service. The food was great and all the menu options were available, even the specials. They have a great wait staff and the food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Ambiance cannot be beat. Food and wine selections awesome
Food well prepared. Service was spot on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Best steak I have EVER had! The ambiance was one of the best. What a fantastic patio! I really enjoyed myself.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The best place to celebrate an anniversary or to just have a romantic date. My wife and I enjoyed a beautiful dinner and the very best part... There's no phone service so you can also have a nice conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We went with friends and the ambiance was amazing, both inside and out. All of our dishes were amazingly delicious and we will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was a la carte. So it turned out to be an expensive meal for 11.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Ali, our server, was especially good at blending friendliness with professionalism

Staff didn't rush us even though it was slow and we were among the last diners.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Muy muy bien
Sehr sehr gut
Perfect, very very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We went to log haven for our anniversary. There was a wedding in the venue simultaneous to our reservation. As this is not uncommon (per the staff), if have expected them to be equity to run the restaurant while hosting a wedding. They weren't. We couldn't have a drink while waiting, because the party was in the bar area. The food was mediocre. It was cooked to perfection, but the flavors were unremarkable. The wine list was ling, but over priced bottles that were only okay. We dined on the patio, which was small, and one of the seats had a nice view. Inside the cabin there was little air circulation, so we opted to wait an extra 45min so we could breathe comfortably while dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Soooo yummy! Great steak! The service was also wonderful and you can beat the ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was great!!! Good service and the quality food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful and surprising experience.
The setting was magical like being in the mountains.
Lots of twinkling lights around the restaurant
The wait person Eric was excellent knowledgable and professional

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Truly exceptional. The food hands down was the best food I have ever had. Our waiter, Erik was amazing! Great personality with a great dining experience. Win!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Magical experience. We sat inside listening to a jazz duo perform for the patio and dining guests. Appetizers were exceptional. We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The ambiance of the restaurant was great. We loved the patio and the waterfall. I would recommend this place for its scenic beauty of the place and the drive to get to it.

Food was ok. My bison was a little overcook but was still good. My wife's sirloin and lobster tail was good. The presentation was lacking for my wife's dinner though. When we saw it, it was like a 'oh... hmm'. The tail was split and looked like curled up something, not what a lobster tail should look like pulled out of its shell. It tasted fine, but presentation was lacking. We were disappointed. Would have been someone smashed on wall of Hell's Kitchen.

In addition, it was our anniversary, I was expecting something done to make it special. We've been to Morton's and Ruth Chris where they did a great job making it special. The table was set up for us, rose petals, printed menu that had our names on it and wishing us Happy Anniversary and the date, etc. My wife still has the menu.

I would recommend the place base on the ambiance of the place but that would be about it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I had the Elk loin and my wife had the filet mignon. Both were awesome. Waitress was very detailed and prompt. Overall just a great dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

What an amazing restaurant! Gorgeous setting with food and service to match.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I took my wife here for our first anniversary and it surpassed all of our expectations. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great place, or a special occasion. Love the service and the food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The outdoor seating is amazing with a natural spring waterfall right there. Even the indoor seating is great by the window with views of the canyon.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

el lugar es precioso. La comida exquisita. El precio del vino es alto como en toda USA . El servicio en la mesa perfecto. El único inconveniente es en la entrada que te hacen esperar 20 minutos sin ninguna razón, ya que había mesas libres y la cocina no era ningún cuello de botella ya que nos sirvieron con una rapidez increible teniendo en cuenta la perfecta elaboración de los platos.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Unfortunately two of our meat dishes were over cooked. Restaurant corrected the mistake and took the charge off our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

While in Salt Lake City area visiting our son from Wisconsin we searched online for a quality dining consideration for the occasion.

Log Haven did not disappoint!

Noting the temperatures in and around the time of our reservation appeared to be quite warm, particularly for what we are accustomed to in the Midwest, we reserved dinner requesting indoor dining. After spending a few days in the dry desert air we realized 85 F in UT was more than tolerable. Upon arrival, and although the restaurant was quite busy, we asked the manager if they could possible accommodate us outdoors, and were pleasantly surprised our request was realized. Surrounded by the Wasatch Mtns the ambience was absolutely serene and majestic. Note that we would have been completely satisfied with the indoor dining as well as the restaurant was simply charming throughout - complete with piano player!

Our waiter was Jason, who was extremely personable and professional and very accommodating to our questions for recommendations. Appetizers consisted of Alpine House Chips and Korean Cauliflower which were delectable! Dinner for our group included the Elk and Bison steaks, Salmon and the evening special of Lobster Tail and Top Sirloin. Our foursome all marveled at the tremendous flavor and taste to the extend we all shared bites around the table.

Despite having had plenty to eat, none of us were about to pass up on desert given how outstanding our experience was up and until that point. Desert treats of upside down cake and hazel butter cake and ice cream was every bit on par with our dinner - we were tickled at how our every expectation for the evening were exceeded by Log Haven and staff.

If you like great food and aren't tight with your wallet - make the drive, you won't regret it

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, friendly service and an all around good experience

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Stumbled across Log Haven online. What a find. Stunning location in the hills above SLC. INCREDIBLE staff. Big hat tip to Brenda, Jason and Stephan. Make the effort to get out of town and see a beautiful part of Utab. Recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Terrific dining experience for our party of 8. New to all but 2 and everyone loved it. Kasey was a fabulous server!! Thanks for a super evening.👍😀

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had our wedding breakfast at Log Haven in 1978. After some changes it better then
it was back then. We enjoy log Haven a couple of times a year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The ambiance and service here was excellent. We went in August but I think this place would be really awesome in the winter with some snow on the ground. The food was so so unfortunately. There was only one vegetarian dish and it was a bit lack luster. It seemed like a frozen peas and carrots blend in the risotto. The meat dishes seemed a bit nicer however.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Log Haven. There are many great choices on the meny.

We are never rushed and are always treated well every employee we encounter. Our server this time was, Kacey. She was very knowledgeable about the menu items and was very attentive. She is a terrific employee and deserves praise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We could not have been more pleased with Log Haven. Jonathon, our server, made our experience even more enjoyable. We had the loin chop with jalapeno Mac-n-cheese and deep-fried rice balls in a marinara sauce. The desert was a s'more-inspired creation served a la mode with whiskey ice cream. De-lish!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Went for our 11th anniversary. The food was amazing and the service exceptional. Our waitress explained all the options and provided excellent wine pairing suggestions. We had a quiet little table in the corner with a perfect view of the waterfall across the way. The seabass was cooked perfectly and so was the steak. The sweetcream and berries was amazing and so smooth and creamy but without being overly sweet. The alpine nachos were spot on and well balanced. A bit on the pricey side but well worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent! This was a last minute recommendation from a friend. What a great find! I have already recommended this place to coworkers and will continue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Absolutely perfect evening. Better than I had hoped. Food was amazing. Recommendation for pairing was incredible. (Uinta Baba Black Lager with the Bison will be something I forever crave. )

The wife loved the Elk, and the Soufflé was to die for.

Too much hyperbole? I think not. A truly memorable night, and a spectacular way to spend our 18th Anniversary.

Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Love, love Loved this place. Very cozy not crowded. Elegant and casual. Perfect for special occasions or if you want to enjoy nature's beauty and bounty. Delicious food, desserts, drinks. Servers kind, knowledgeable and welcoming. Definitely a place worth experiencing.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.