Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 5.49mi
  4. Distance: 5.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.65mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 5.49mi
  4. Distance: 5.71mi

About Log Haven

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurant in the U.S.' by USA Today! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (81)
Romantic (81)
Special Occasion (79)
See All
Scenic View (74)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Worth the Drive (63)
Fireplace (55)
Cozy (54)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Historic (44)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Local Ingredients (30)
Authentic (29)
Live Music (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Seasonal (18)
Fun (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Healthy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Private Room (11)
Casual (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Organic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Waterfront (4)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience. Everything was fantastic. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Routinely rated as best restaurant and most romantic, and deservedly so. I've eaten here twice in the past few months and both times the food was exquisite. The ingredients are perfectly combined, the food perfectly prepared, and the setting is sublime. Food and dining as fine art.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great getaway up the beautiful canyon for some of the best food around. We had the bison and goose and both dishes were amazing. The plating was beautiful and portions were perfect, my sincere compliments to the chef. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Log Haven is a wonderful place to eat for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic; absolutely my favorite spot in SLC! Beautiful, cozy mountain/cabin ambiance; great views; live piano and/or string music; amazing food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great date night! Some of the best food in Salt Lake City!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My business associates from San Francisco, who came to Salt Lake for the first time, were extremely impressed with the location, the drive up the canyon, the beautiful site and the amazing meal. They were not expecting little Salt Lake City to have such a nice place in a stunning setting.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow, I did not like the wine and sent it back and was still charged for it . The salad looked wilted and the pork was bland. It was quite noisy. I expected a nice experience and was disappointed. Overrated and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A beautiful place to celebrate a special occasion. The ambiance is delightful. Delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent meal for mothers' day!
The menu was creative, highlighting local ingredients.
Definitely our favorite restaurant in SLC.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great meal but desserts were not as good as expected. Great service!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Could have been better, I didn't like being treated like I didn't matter that much. I know I'm not a regular dropping 600+$ but to be treated like I didn't matter wasn't fun. They placed us in an odd location, off by ourselves, which was fine, but our view was the entrance, so we got to watch people walk in on out of the restaurant rather than a waterfall or something more enjoyable like nature. Our waitress was... good, easily forgotten and didn't seem too concerned with us, I had to ask for more bread, water, check etc. Honestly I've had better waiters at much cheaper places. When eating I bit down on either some elk bone, or squash seed, something really hard that hurt my teeth. I placed it on my bread plate and pointed it out to the waitress and she just shrugged it off. Not very good customer service from waitress or staff. They did fulfill a special request from me which was nice of them, so thank you. Honestly if id spent 75-100$ here Id been fine, but to spend 200+$ and leaving wishing id taken my wife to a red robin instead isn't worth it for me. The Elk was great 8/10, the salad wasn't good 4/10, portion size was small, and my upside down pineapple cake wasn't great 5-10. We did really enjoy my wife's coconut scuffle, that was 9/10. My wife's Bison was okay 7/10. Id say this place is a solid 6/10. Could be an 9/10 if service was better or pricing was cheaper.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The four of us had a great evening. The service and food was outstanding. The setting was great that evening. We would consider returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Went for an early Mother's Day dinner. Food and service were excellent as always. One of our favorite "special occasion" places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I don't know where to start - from the decor, overall ambience, location, attentive staff - this place is amazing! Take a walk in the courtyard and up to the decks to experience the view and peacefulness of the mountains. Then go into the restaurant for amazing food! Every single person in our party (there were 6 of us) wiped our plates clean and we all had different dishes. Dessert was amazing to top it all off! I can recommend every single thing on the menu without hesitation!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Thank you for accommodating my early Mother's Day celebration.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great ambiance, upscale but not stuffy. The food was inventive but not pretentious. Everything we had was delicious. Our waiter was spot on with recommendations and service. Fantastic place, I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A wonderful historical place for an intimate dinner or a gathering of any kind. Service is attentive but not bothersome. Food is delicious. The drive up the canyon is lovely. All in all one of my favorite places in Salt Lake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Ahi tuna served with French fries?
Potato chips with truffle oil?
$19 corkage
Valet parking with no service of opening the ladie's door?
Not impressed!
Will not be back. Will not recommend. Salt Lake City has many choice restaurants that are worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was excellent and our waiter very accommodating. Nice variety on the menu. We had bison and ahi tuna which were both excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This was a birthday celebration and what a pleasant experience we had. The service was very professional and accomodating. The surroundings are beautiful and the customers are friendly too. We'll be back!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant. We have never been disappointed, have always enjoyed our meals there.
They prepare local ingredients, change the menu according to the season, and have a very creative chef.
You won't be disappointed, plus it is worth the vue on the water fall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Easy to make reservations on website. Friendly staff, good food. Elegant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Vegan, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Decided to surprise my husband and take him here for his birthday. He absolutely loved it, as did I. The atmosphere is comforting, cozy and romantic. The food was amazing and unique. It was quiet and the live music was a perfect touch. We took our time and highly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

a great experience for our 55th wedding anniversary celebration

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great mountain location, great service, great food - well worth the drive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Was a very nice night out for my husband and I. It is a bit pricey but has a unique and charming atmosphere with delicious food. We had tender filet mignon and succulent lobster. Was romantic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I took my now girlfriend to this establishment. The staff were phenomenal. The ambiance perfect, and the food delicious. I used this setting to ask her to be my girlfriend. And the environment just made it the perfect evening. Thank you everyone

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

A great place for an excellent evening! Its atmosphere, the very tasty dishes, the great wines and the very supportive service make this the place for a perfect evening.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

A dinner at Log Haven is always so very special. Ian is such a marvelous host and so knowledgable about wines. Our waiter, Erik, was simply delightful. This is truly one of my favorite restaurants in the world.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Historic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is by far my favorite place I've been to since I moved to Salt Lake city. It isn't cheap, but if atmosphere, good food, and a great wine list are important to you, this place is a jackpot. On top of that, the views are amazing and it's nestled in a nearly magical little corner of the canyons. Must visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Charming location, great food, wonderful ambience, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was good, location beautiful, but the service was disappointing. The server was thoughtful but painfully slow. The manager was kind enough to comp one dessert after noticing my frustration. I apprecate his proactivness to get our bill so we could get our 2 yr old home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Awesome place! One of the very best in the Intermountain West. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Live Music, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Amazing food, amazing atmosphere!!! The experience is amazing, the views are astonishing. I would recommend this place to everyone!!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came here for Easter dinner with my family. Was excited to receive a table near the window as it overlooked the beautiful canyon, however right outside my window was a large dumpster with garbage piled high. I was very disappointed with the food. Heavy, oily, salty, even the fish was dense, heavy and chewy and covered in a heavy sauce that was unpalatable . All the courses of all 5 meals weren't good. Even the strawberry cheesecake came with a preservative like strawberry paste instead of fresh berries. $300 out the door was very disappointing. Beautiful drive to get there. Maybe the regular menu (instead of the Easter menu) has more fresh and tasty options. I can think of 100 other places in Salt Lake was just as great ambiance and 10 times better food. 🙁

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful top notch dining experience.we would love to recommend it to friends and family

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Haven't been to Log Haven for several years so thought Easter would be a good opportunity to visit it again. The food was just ok. Ordered the lamb and it had gristle and was overcooked with not much sauce. The swordfish was a little dry and not much sauce either. The spinach salad was nothing special. The cost of the dinner at Log Haven was $48 per person. The cost of the buffet at Grand America is $55 and my friend raved about the food and presentation even though it is a 'buffet'. We have been to Grand America for their Easter buffet and it is well worth the money. Probably won't visit Log Haven again even though it is in the Hall of Fame from Salt Lake magazine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful setting, great service and a great meal. This is a great place. It's expensive but worth every penny. I absolutely recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed this wonderful place we will be going there again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.