Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday: 11 am - 11 pm
Friday: 11 am - 12 am
Saturday: 11 am - 12 am
Sunday: 11 am - 10 pm

Cross Street:
9th st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22durham.com/

Entertainment:
Live Blues guitar EVERY Thursday from 6 to 9 pm
DJ Late Nights from 11pm to 1pm

Catering:
Please call and ask for Jesse for any Catering needs
(919) 286-9755

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking in Erwin Square.
If you need directions please give us a call
(919) 286-9755

Executive Chef:
Yanni

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your reservations NOW for Graduation Weekend!!!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (22)
Casual (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Cozy (8)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a lovely dinner here. We are outside. The food was great, the meal was very relaxing and our server, Heather, was excellent . I would recommend trying this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed a lovely meal outside on a warm September evening. The hamburger was huge, two patties!
The French fries were very tasty.
The chicken in beer was juicy and tender, but needed some herbs to enhance the flavor. The asparagus were delightful. No problems with the waitstaff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent find that was really a chance choice - wanted somewhere close in Durham that I hadn't been before, that also had an interesting menu. It was simply an enjoyable relaxed brunch/lunch; weather was perfect for sitting outside, service was top shelf and very friendly. Ended up eating mostly the specials they were offering, so we'll have to go back to eat through the menu! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

unfortunately I ordered ribs with the Cheerwine bbq and instead got a very spicy order, obviously the wrong ribs. I could not eat them and they went home with the friend I was with! I won't try that again!
Our server was great and gracious, though-- a delight.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The outdoor seating at Local 22 was incredibly charming. We went for a casual dinner date and loved the seasonal specials on their menu - Mac and Cheese with BBQ Pulled Chicken and the Jalapeno, Cheddar, and Corn Hush Puppies. The food is all locally sourced and had a good selection of beer, wine, and cocktails. The restaurant is nestled away from downtown Durham, so there's limited traffic and a convenient parking deck. We'd highly recommend Local 22 and will be back again to check out their latest specials.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food is amazing! I ordered the Shrimp & Grits with the featured salad of the day. My friend ordered the Lamb Pizza, and after I tasted hers, I ordered one to go for the next day! My only complaint about our dining experience was the service was a bit slow. This wasn't the fault of our server, who was quite pleasant, and apologetic for the wait. It was apparent that they were terribly short staffed, and she had way too many tables to service. This experience will not prevent me from returning to the restaurant and recommending it to my friends and colleagues.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent value. Pleasant atmosphere. Great service

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My mom was just released from the hospital and it was 5 oclock so we decided to have a nice meal and miss the traffic. I'd heard of Local 22 and it was close by. The feel of the place is great, decent lighting, beautiful décor, relaxed but also very hip. I didn't think the seating was very comfortable. some chairs are metal. I was seated in a booth that seemed to have seen it's better day 10 years ago so i'm guessing they purchased used seating. The menu is intriguing and we chose a variety of items. The beer brined chicken with fingerling potatoes, the BBQ chicken mac and cheese, scortched brussle spouts, and the mussels fra diavalo. let me first say the chicken is worth every bite. it was so delicate and beautiful. definitely order that if you go, by far my favorite. the mussels were my next favorite. i'd have preferred for the bread to be placed somewhere other than the sauce when served b/c when I received my plate two of the five pieces were mushy and unedible. but the sauce was good, reminded me of a light summer with a kick. the mussels were large and flavorful. i'd suggest as well. the brussle sprouts were good - they were charred but also had some sort of liquid over them, maybe a vinegar that gave them some acidity too, a nice touch. the mac and cheese would be good for a youngster but it was just noodles, cheddar cheese, and cubed chicken with some BBQ sauce - not nearly as elevated as the other dishes (but hey it's mac and cheese). ref pricing - I was pleased - the mac and cheese was $10, and the mussels were $10 as well but it was a really nice portion for the price. the staff were friendly and helpful. the atmosphere was definitely fun. i'd go back with friends or on a relaxed date for sure. I'd actually like to go back and try the pork labeled as "farm" on the specials menu.....hope you enjoy. they had a great sounding beer dinner coming up- sounded like fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We sat outside, which was pleasant if not exactly atmospheric. Food was fantastic - especially the seafood stew special and the pimento spread appetizer. Nice drink menu and great selection of beer. Our server was taking care of the entire outside, so she was very capable but over worked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was good but food was just ok. My friend got the chicken and waffles and the chicken was on the bone which is not easy to eat together. I got the shrimp and grits and it didn't have any flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious! The pimento cheese appetizer was great as well as the specials....enjoy it for a date night or special occasion!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food. Bartender was great and made special cocktails off the menu but food service is SLOW

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great Experience!! Yummy Food!! Enjoyable Drinks!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

My husband got a burger and said it was very good but thought for the price that the fries should have been included. My son and I got shrimp and grits which was good. I also had the beet and goat cheese salad. The salad was fine but a little on the bitter side. Maybe a sweeter pickled beet or dressing would have offset some of the bitterness.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great place for small gathering with friends and family. Staff is friendly and very helpful with suggesting menu favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a great meal. The vanilla and orange bourbon drink is a must. Benjamin did his best to take care of us. It was obvious that the were understaffed the Saturday evening I went. If you go during a busy time, you may have to practice patience.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My girlfriend and I went for a date night and to celebrate her birthday. Not only was the food great, the wine was great, cost wasn't outrageous and our server was super friendly. Will be going back to try more of the sides (Brussels and cheese dip looked amazing)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server was attentive, suggested favorites, explained specials. We love the patio when the weather cooperates. Good vegetarian options!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Had the salmon pizza and have to say it was outstanding! The chef took care to add certain ingredients we requested, and came to our table to see how we liked it. Our server was personable and attentive without being obnoxious. Quinoa salad is excellent and don't forget about dessert! Love this place and will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I had my Bday dinner party at Local 22 and I had a great time. The service was exceptional, the food delicious and the ambiance was great! I strongly recommend this place for dining. Thank you for everything!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Everything was great except for the temperature. It was sooo hot at dinner that I just sweat all meal long. They really need to fix the AC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food and service. Would recommend, and would dine again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Nice and appropriate setting...great service...menu was creative and food was perfect. Definitely will return and recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food Loved the Brussels sprouts, salmon and fish tacos Interesting wine and beer list Highly recommend for business or date dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our table ordered the lamb burger, beef brisket quesadilla and Burger with Pimento Cheese along with brussel sprouts. All excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The hostess and waitress did a very good job. The food was also very good. The drink that I ordered which was a margarita with salt was not very good at all. I sent it back and it was returned with lemons and limes which also did nothing for the taste. Do you think I could get a gift certificate for another beverage at this restaurant?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I thought everything about Local 22 was wonderful! The space is unique, and comfortable. The food was yum, watched the bartender make all sorts of delicious looking craft cocktails. My husband and I enjoyed it very much, and we will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I chose this restaurant because I had guests and one of them is both vegetarian and gluten-free. The food was delicious, and most of the time the ambiance was fine. Near the end of our meal the table behind us became quite loud. We were happy and relieved when they left. Our waiter was excellent, very accommodating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was our first time here and it was wonderful! The food was magical and out server, Selena, was attentive, friendly and made the experience even better. The Brussels sprouts are not to miss! The chili rubbed salmon was the best salmon we have ever he'd. The desserts were incredible. We had the red velvet bourbon conviction and it was wonderful with fresh coffee. We had so much fun watching the other food plates walk by. The burgers looked incredible. We will try that next time we visit Durham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The specials are always great! It has a nice charm to it, a nice restaurant without feeling pretentious or stuffy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I had been here once before probably a couple of years ago, but this time was much more memorable. The menu was great, really varied which is what I was looking for since we had family come from out of town for my birthday. LOVE the decor/ambiance- warm, rustic, farm style. I really appreciated the ingredients being sourced 90% local. And the food was truly delicious. Everyone got something different and no one had a complaint about their meal- we were all pleased! The service was great as well, everyone got drinks and our server went out of her way to make me a "mocktail" since I'm pregnant, it was beautiful and made the experience a little more special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was my second time coming to Local 22 and I was not disappointed. My family and I shared a charcuterie board and loved the cheese selection as well as the pickled vegetables. The entrees were delightful, not too filling, and reasonably priced.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I've been to Local 22 on two occasions now. It's not a terrible place. They have awesome ambiance, a great beer menu, and what looks like a hefty bar. However, I would advise sticking to the mixed drinks they have on their menu. As far as food goes, the apps and shareables are where it's at. Main dishes are tasty, but in two visits I've yet to be blown away. In fact, I got sick after my second visit. Prices are a little high (esp. for drinks), but I do highly respect that this is likely due to the locally sourced food - the only reason I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Grouchy waiter. Flavorless food. Was expecting this to be a great meal and it really disappointed. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was good, but service was very slow which seemed to be a kitchen issue.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was very good, not wow awesome, but just solid. The service was uneven and not timely. Lots of rookie servers, or at least that's what it felt like. There was an entire list of Specials on the boards (not on menu) that were not even reviewed with us when we ordered. Disappointing experience overall, but could have been so much better with improved attention to service details, especially since the food is very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Healthy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I have dined here for 2 years now when we come in to town to visit our son. It is a GREAT atmosphere for a relaxing drink and a munchie at the bar, or for an entire dinner and dessert. Our last visit was the first time we brought someone with us and she was THRILLED with her meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Organic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service, delicious food (sausage pizza...yum!), cool ambience! Went for my son's 12th bday & they brought him dessert w/a candle (very thoughtful!). Owner and wait stafff were very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waiter was very attentive! Food was delicious and reasonably priced. Great place in Durham! We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went to Local 22 for a special occasion. The drinks from the bar were great. The service (Selina R.) was terrific. The food, including the appetizers, the main course (tuna) and dessert (bread pudding), was excellent despite overcooking the hush puppies a bit. One minor complaint/plea - please do not let people take flash photos or at least limit the number they can take. It is rather disturbing in this smaller restaurant, which also has a bunch of mirrors. Despite this minor complaint I recommend Local 22 highly. It is a bit energetic but the food and service are worth it.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Organic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.