About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday: 11 am - 11 pm
Friday: 11 am - 12 am
Saturday: 11 am - 12 am
Sunday: 11 am - 10 pm

Cross Street:
9th st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22durham.com/

Entertainment:
Live Blues guitar EVERY Thursday from 6 to 9 pm
DJ Late Nights from 11pm to 1pm

Catering:
Please call and ask for Jesse for any Catering needs
(919) 286-9755

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking in Erwin Square.
If you need directions please give us a call
(919) 286-9755

Executive Chef:
Yanni

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your reservations NOW for Graduation Weekend!!!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (23)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Great Beer (15)
Fun (14)
Cozy (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good, not wow awesome, but just solid. The service was uneven and not timely. Lots of rookie servers, or at least that's what it felt like. There was an entire list of Specials on the boards (not on menu) that were not even reviewed with us when we ordered. Disappointing experience overall, but could have been so much better with improved attention to service details, especially since the food is very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Cozy, Healthy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service, delicious food (sausage pizza...yum!), cool ambience! Went for my son's 12th bday & they brought him dessert w/a candle (very thoughtful!). Owner and wait stafff were very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waiter was very attentive! Food was delicious and reasonably priced. Great place in Durham! We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went to Local 22 for a special occasion. The drinks from the bar were great. The service (Selina R.) was terrific. The food, including the appetizers, the main course (tuna) and dessert (bread pudding), was excellent despite overcooking the hush puppies a bit. One minor complaint/plea - please do not let people take flash photos or at least limit the number they can take. It is rather disturbing in this smaller restaurant, which also has a bunch of mirrors. Despite this minor complaint I recommend Local 22 highly. It is a bit energetic but the food and service are worth it.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Organic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a wonderful meal with our kids and their friends from college. Food was terrific and service was great. We will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service was poor. The waitress ruminated on our request for separate checks and even when we offered to combine she perseverated on this issue. She was not very available throughout the meal if we had requests for additional drinks etc. She failed to bring a side dish that was ordered and even when asked made no attempt it appeared to talk to the kitchen so it was never delivered. Maybe she was new but that was the worst service we have received there and very disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We usually enjoy our time at Local 22, but brunch today was a miss. The food was fine, but the service was very meh. I had to ask if there were any special drinks for the day (no mimosas were listed on the menu - something I was looking forward to for brunch), only to be told that she needed to check. Nope, no specials. I ended up with the Shrubbery cocktail -let's just say that it was not what I wanted. The waitress seemed to be annoyed that I had inquired about specials at all; she didn't even share the daily soup or seasonal frittata until asked (we were sitting outside and couldn't see the menu boards). Drinks from the bar seemed to take a long time; they arrived well after our appetizer (delicious warm pimento cheese dip) was served. Food was good, but not all of the items listed on the OpenTable menu were on the current menu, so I my expectations were dashed. Breakfast flatbread was tasty and hubby's frittata and black bean soup were reportedly delicious. Just expected a better experience for a $70+ brunch for two with a few drinks... We will be back for dinner, but putting our hopes for a great brunch elsewhere for now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed the good food and fine service before our concert on Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I made the reservation on a Tuesday for 6 people. My mom was coming into town and we wanted to take her somewhere special. None of us had tried this restaurant before and felt based upon the previous reviews, it would be a good choice. We arrived a few minutes early and we were brought to our very narrow and short table that looked liked the kiddie table you have set aside at holidays. The table was fine maybe for 4 adults but definitely not 6. I asked the hostess to be seated at a different table because I didn't want us to be squished for the next 1.5 hours. The hostess was extremely accommodating and we were seated somewhere else in 20 minutes. We ordered our food and everything arrived in a timely manner except my husband's order was incorrect. There was a miscommunication in regards to what he ordered. Instead of the waitress apologizing for the miscommunication, she felt the need to prove her case in how she was right. As a previous waitress from my college days, the customer is always right. They did make him the correct dish and it was delivered after everyone had finished theirs. When your bill is $180 you expect a certain amount of service and even though the food was good, the overall experience lessened the taste. Not one time did the manager come over to ask how the meal was or to make sure we were comfortable nor did they comp their mistake for his dish. This is an another example of a Durham restaurant charging top tier prices but missing on the service/ experience. The only thing that saved the evening was the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Recent find for us but one of our favorites in no time. Service has always been awesome, the bar menu is fun and unique. The food is outstanding and everything we've tried has been great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is fresh and the service staff was super help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food selection, large portions and excellent taste!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Hosting staff and service was great! Excellent food and a good selection of beers. Small place but makes for a cozy feeling.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent and attentive front of the house staff. Food was also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The wine was under poured and the food was terrible. We ordered the lamb, pork, loaded fries and Brussels sprouts. Brussels sprouts were the only decent part of the meal. Skip this one the food is bad at the time and it comes back to get you the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food is consistently good, but then I get the bill, and think "Was that Bacon Mac & Cheese really worth $10?" And it's that way all through the menu. The tastes are amazing, but priced just over what I'd consider a "market price."

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went here with work friends. Had a great time--amazing food and beverage choices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

it was warm, friendly, excellent attentive service and a very good food and service and all at a very reasonable price. Everyone we came into contact with appeared to be focused on our having a great dining experience, and we did, thank you. I even spoke to cook staff upon leaving and said a big thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Casual, Healthy, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place! Cute farm to table restaurant. Great staff, food, and ambiance

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Everything was wonderful! We started with the cast iron pimento cheese and it was divine. While the wine menu was not robust, it was still delicious. The whole table left raving about their meals. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I choose Local 22 as a business dinner spot for customers prior to a Duke game.

I made the team at Local 22 aware of the short amount of time that was had to enjoy dinner.

From the reservation confirmation call to the hostess to the server (Richie) all were aware of the timing and did their best to ensure the group enjoyed their fabulous meal and we were at the game at tip-off.

Thank you Local 22, great atmosphere, food and team!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The brunch food was delicious. All four of us got something different and we all liked it-a rarity!

However, conversation was difficult because it was so loud. We asked the waitress to turn the music down and she did - we appreciated that, and the noise from other diners was still loud. We would still go back!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were promptly seated . Service was attentive and quick . Food was awesome .

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Managers at Local 22 are among the friendliest, most accommodating folks in Durham. Requested a space for 18 to celebrate special event and they went above and beyond. Totally flexible, great service, great food for a very reasonable price. Convenient to Duke so ideal for large family/families' gatherings like ours. For the late nighters the bar is hopping and open until 2. We couldn't have had a better time!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Haven't been to many restaurants in Durham so I surveyed Open Table's top five picks...great choice! We were very pleased with food and service. We'll definitely go there again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was my second visit and everything was very good. They always have a unique menu and several vegetarian options.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was my first time dining at Local 22 and was thoroughly impressed. The food, from sides to main course, was excellent. My guests also thoroughly enjoyed their meals as well. One had fish (tuna) and one had a burger. The wait staff was excellent too. The only minor drawback is that It can get a bit loud but it is not overly noisy. I would recommend it for a range of occasions including business dinner or just a casual family night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was our first visit to Local 22, and we will be back! The braised beef short rib was amazing! Our server was knowledgeable, gracious, and attentive, and the manager offered expert advice on the beer menu. We felt very welcome and well cared-for.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food and service are always top notch and dependable. It's my go to suggestion for people looking for a fun, local restaurant. Benjamin is very knowledgeable and entertaining. Love Local 22

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This place is great!! A friend was in town and we decided on Local 22. We were at the restaurant for a while chatting and the manager let us try some dessert for free!!! It was amazing and I will definitely be coming back for more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Even given recent snowstorm, Local 22 had a good menu and thoughtful service. Excellent for conversation with friends or business

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Out of town guests who were super impressed

Great drinks and appetizers

Hush puppies awesome

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time, service and food was exceptional. Benjamin was our waiter and he did amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE "anti-NYE" said champagne every hour. Asked about that after the hour and was told she could get us some. Next hour, none was offered. Nothing special. Lamb was raw had to be sent back and cooked, nothing said about that. Service was good . A disappointment over all, but not terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Cheerwine BBQ ribs were amazing. Rosie was our server and was awesome. Ticket times were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for an early first night dinner. Chicken was undercooked and pork chop over cooked. When told about the chicken the waitress was dismissive. Same Justin Biber's repertoire was played over and over for our entire dinner. That and the chicken were the worst. I couldn't eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fun and laid back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waitress was super sweet and was very attentive. Thanks so much and happy new year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was great! Couldn't ask for more. The service was a little slow and it was a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The white beets and the scallops were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent experience

Food was great.

Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were a party of 6 for lunch on the day before Christmas. The restaurant seemed understaffed considering the rush. The service was slow.

Besides that, the food was excellent and the beer selection was nice too.

Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place for a girls night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

awesome. this is my favorite place in Durham. keep up the good work

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Nice place...great pizza, Caesar salad, and loaded tater tots

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great to find a casual spot to take my two young adult sons- one who loves meat and one who doesn't eat meat! Service and food were very good though I thought some of the vegetable dishes were overpriced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The menu was unique and the food was very good. The service was wonderful and since we were having fun visiting the waiter did not hover, which was nice. I would definitely go back and highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

So glad we happened to find this restaurant. The local ingredients were highlighted. The craft cocktail known as Hulk Smash was awesome, as were the veggies (can be shared family style) and the mason jar desserts!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Came for the Beer Dinner. Food and atmosphere were fantastic. Staff is energetic and friendly and a great location. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.