Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Little Bird

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommend the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (85)
Special Occasion (71)
Good for a Date (70)
See All
Creative Cuisine (61)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Local Ingredients (40)
Notable Wine List (36)
Authentic (35)
Cozy (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Business Meals (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Casual (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Seasonal (22)
Fun (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Organic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2057 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

When a member of our group requested the bread be left out of her main dish the server told her that chef insisted it be there for "the full dining experience". My friend is gluten-free. We appreciate the chef's creativity--- the halibut was perfect sans bread---but a pretentious server did nothing to enhance the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was good. I'd go back, no doubt. The water was room temp, I know they have ice. Where was my ice huh?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the lovely table by the front window for a quiet delicious dinner with friends visiting from Seattle and staying nearby at the Benson. The halibut special was outstanding and generous. In fact my guests were surprised at the serving sizes (Hangar steak and lamb shank). We also enjoyed the seared scallop appetizer, the lamb tartar, and as always the salted butter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Was one of the highlights of my Portland trip. I tried the prix-fixe option which was the lamb and sweet potato soup. Both were absolutely delicious. It was such a great value for the quality. The waitress was wonderful and helped me pair a cocktail that would go well with my meal. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Another excellent meal at Little Bird. When we travel to Portland and are staying in the area we try to eat here as it is walking distance. It is creative a with top notch ingredients and great wine list. Service was also excellent. Only complaint was my seared duck breast entree was not as hot as it should be when it got to the table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We took my mother-in-law there for a nice dinner out. It was the first time we have eaten at Little Bird and we were not disappointed. The service and food were outstanding! The food was seasonal and fresh and I'm excited to go back and eat there again on a date night with my husband.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and drinks! Our second visit in 2 months (we live in SF). Go. Now.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Been here twice and absolutely love each time. The coq au vin is one of my favorites (had it both times!), and the service is great: not pushy or pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was our first time here and it did not disappoint. We arrived to try some happy hour items, stayed for dinner and a drink. Yummy and fabulous service. Really nice evening. We'd return for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Had wonderful meal, creative use of ingredients. Helpful staff. Will return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our waitress Sophia was awesome and gave us remarkable service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had an amazing meal!! The marrow bones with chili octopus and elephant garlic chips were wonderful, perfect, decadent as was the seared foie gras. Fantastic halibut special and outstanding desserts. The truffled ice cream sandwich was particularly outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I took my husband here for his birthday, requesting a table in a quiet corner. We were seated upstairs which was slightly quieter than downstairs but was too dimly lit. The noise level was somewhat noticeable with the background music not enough in the background. Nearly all Portland restaurants seem to select pop style music. Why not something serene like classical guitar?
That said, we would definitely come back (and sit downstairs) because the food was excellent. We shared the halibut special, the melon salad and the crooked squash dish. The halibut was very fresh and soft, the melon salad refreshing with a strawberry dressing and the crooked squash dish very delicious.
We also got superb service from our server Matthew who was wonderful, literally running up and down the stairs to take care of us folks in the balcony.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fabulous creative food and very good serve. A bit noisy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

This was my first visit to Little Bird, and hopefully there will be many more visits! Great food, wonderful service, and relaxed but classy atmosphere. High quality place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a delicious meal (again). This is one of our favorite places to eat. We started with cocktails, that were excellent. As always, the bread and butter are among the best in town (seriously). We both had the cauliflower bisque, which was delicious. For entrees, we had the strip steak and the halibut special. Both were great. The service is among the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was our first visit and many more will follow. This is mostly a very creative menu
and the two different dishes my wife and I ordered were amazing. Our server was first rate
giving us excellent descriptions of just what to expect with any dish we asked about.
The place is quite small and the outside signing can easily be missed but make a reservation
and get there for a superb meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

wait staff were delightful. the room is warm and inviting. the food tries too hard. too many ingredients that did not mesh in several of the dishes. however, the halibut entree was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Poor service and so so ambiance...waited forever. They certainly don't seem to want customers dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was amazingly with everything brought out at right time. Very enjoyable evening - never felt rushed and made to feel very welcome. Great night spent with our grown kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I always enjoy dining at Little Bird. The wait staff is professional and friendly. I have never been disappointed with my meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent French bisto. Food is more creative than normal. Sauces are highest quality and combinations are inventive. Marrow with octopus, cilantro, chili, oranges, was full of surprise with every bite. The sauce for the chicken coq au vin was velvety rich with smoky bacon. Mmmm. I'd go back often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely superb service and excellent food!! Would definitely go back again or recommend to a friend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Delightful french bistro. Great atmosphere, very good service and excellent food. Really felt like we were in Paris!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Everything was very good, food, drinks, wine and service EXCEPT for the fish entree which was terrible. They did not offer a replacement, I didn't ask but an excellent restaurant would have offered one. I would still return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Recommended by someone during a business trip recently, I was dining alone so I sat at the bar. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

This was our first visit to Little Bird.....the food and service were excellant. I am glad that we dined during the donation time for the hurricane:) I will say,however, that returning may take awhile. We are firm believers in good tipping for good service.....with the cost of our meal and wine this was a very expensive evening! Portland has many wonderful restaurants that are more friendly on the wallet.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was my second visit to Little Bird after reading about it in some magazine perhaps Travel & Leisure. The first time I sat at the bar which was a great experience. This time, I made a reservation to dine in one of their dining rooms. The food and service were superb. Both times I enjoyed the fried chicken coq au vin. The chicken was perfectly cooked, crisp and amazing. And the mashed potatoes - pure creamy heaven. The oysters were also fresh and delicious. Even something as simple as their green salad was amazing. Service was attentive and well paced. I sat upstairs and probably would prefer downstairs or at the bar since I felt a little removed from the overall dining ambiance. I dined alone so maybe that affected it. I would definitely return when I am in town and always recommend to others.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Dined at Little Bird for a birthday lunch. The service was fast but not rushed. The food was fresh, seasonal and delicious. The prix fix lunch was a good value. The house made ice cream was perfect for a hot day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 27, 2017

get the chicken fried trout, literally the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The most interesting food I have had. All items were great with proper noise level on this date night of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Alway excellent.....we eat at the Little Bird whenever in Portland. Usually it is our first meal off the plane!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious celebratory dinner here and were very pleased with our entire meal. The ingredients in both our chicken and fish dishes were fresh and full of surprising flavors. Dessert of dulce de leche creme brûlée and a cup of local purveyor Smiths Tea was a great way to finish off the meal. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our first time at Little Bird was for lunch, and it was delicious and creative and had a veggie sandwich that was nothing short of revelatory (don't believe me? I don't blame you - you have to try it). You can tell how carefully the chefs choose their produce because everything we had was at peak ripeness. It makes an enormous difference, and very few restaurants can pull it off (yeah, even in Portland). Fantastic oysters (some of the best I've had anywhere), delicious cauliflower soup.

So we went back for dinner the next night with extremely high expectations. While everything was good, perfectly cooked and thoughtfully plated, the flavor profiles weren't quite as innovative as I'd hoped. The fried chicken coq au vin, for example, was excellent, but I feel like we were trained to expect a twist that didn't come (acknowledging that frying the chicken is a twist, but maybe put some Japanese curry spice in that batter - surprise me!). All that said, I'd go back in a heartbeat, especially for that veggie sandwich and oysters.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Perfect spot for an introduction to Portland. Great atmosphere, service, and the food was outstanding. High praise in all categories. A little piece of Paris - with a twist.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is my third time to Little Bird and, its ostensible, the staff in front and back of house are organized and respectful of every detail that goes into the dining experience. They make it look easy, but you can tell it takes an effort to do so. Don't hesitate to visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Cocktail and hanger steak were delicious. Not crazy about the chicken-fried trout. Service and ambiance were nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Little bird was very very delicious! Definitely not a casual spot, but absolutely worth the special occasion money!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We had a reservation, showed up on time, but the hostess forgot to check us in. When we arrived she said a table would be opening soon. We saw a couple parties leave and others being seated before us. We sat and waited patiently for 30 minutes and were ignored. While we waited we realized we were in the long haul (which shouldn't have been the case since we had a reservation). We then decided to order drinks with the hostess while we waited and that's when she realized the mistake and we were seated soon after. Later in the night when I checked my phone (I had put it away because I was on a date) there was a voicemail from the restaurant saying that they had released our table. Overall the staff seemed flustered and rushed. Despite all that though the food and drinks were amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.