About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommend the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (66)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (47)
Cozy (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Authentic (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Seasonal (14)
Fun (14)
Business Meals (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
People Watching (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Historic (5)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

If you're looking for a great dining experience, look no further: Little Bird delivers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was bland , service was awful. This was our anniversary and the resturant failed to live up to the Portland food culture. The server was to important to help or care . The soup was bland the main corse was mediocre and the dessert was great. At the end of the day if I was looking for terrible service and bland food I could easily find this at the local jack in the box. I left feeling like I had wasted my money and did not get what I had expected in return. When I voiced this to our server she simply said she was sorry and moved on. Andina on the other hand did not let us down. Service food and location was all incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

The worst food and most disappointing dining experience we've had in all the years coming to Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

This place has great food, the only complaint is the noise level. Booked a lunch meeting for 1:00-2:30, waiter was attentive although we were interrupted twice while in deep conversation. The duck special was terrific, as always the 'Bird' knows how to do duck. Kale salad with a very light lemon dressing quite nice. Bread and butter comes with the meal (not always so these days). I'm a fan of both restaurants, just wish I could dummy down the noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful time on our date at Little Bird. The setting was lovely, food delicious, and staff incredibly knowledgable about all of their menu items- the recommended drink pairings to go with our earl grey chocolate cake were perfect. The waiter was slightly stiff when reciting daily specials but easily made up for it when colorfully describing our tasty cheese plate. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great dinner with super service! Love that they offer 10% off bottles of wine on Sundays.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Just not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been to Little Bird many times. It is consistently always very good to great. The atmosphere is lively and the room is very smart, yet warm. Service is always top notch and the food fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As close to the ethos of a French Bistro as can be found in the Pacific Northwest. Great food, warm, professional service and good vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was outstanding. This is a no gratuity restaurant where the wait staff goes out of their way to attend to your every need. They were there when you needed something but didn't hover. The tables are snug and close together on the main floor so if you want to have a private conversation this isn't the place. The upstairs area seems to be a little more spacious especially with a table overlooking the venue. The food was ok for lunch. We had chicken fried trout, shrimp brioche, a cheese plate, beet salad and oysters. Overall, we liked the place but I would rate it an an above average.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time here, and we were quite pleased overall. My girlfriend got the special (Alaskan cod) and neither one of us liked it at all. Everything else we ordered was great, I would just recommend not trying the specials after our experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ambiance was great! Ordered the fried chicken coco vin which was fantastic! Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was looking for a nice Portland foodie place to celebrate Valentine's with my love. This place did not dissapoint. Great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Oh my, such delicious food. Very innovative. The smoked mussel appetizer was just over the top. Really loved the food and the service was absolutely perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food, service, and cocktails were outstanding. Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was on business to Hillsboro, and had the weekend in Oregon, so, wanted to treat myself to something better, rather than eating the standard stuff on a cold Sat night alone.

I had the foie gras and fried chicken coq au vin. the foie gras came perfectly done, soft on the inside and on a bed of crispy "i-dunno-what-but-it-was-so-damned-good" with chutney. The fried chicken coq au vin came as a little surprise, it was fried chicken on a bed of mash, with coq au vin red wine sauce by the side. Chicken was fried perfectly, but you will expect that from a restaurant like Little Bird, but not exactly the standard French fare. A nice little twist, but for those of you who are looking for the original dish, this is not what you should be looking at.

Overall I had a very nice Sat dinner, with wine and finished off with the Bons Bons (I leave it to you to go find out what that is).

Will definitely visit again in my next visit to Portland.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the food, the choices and the service. Also loved that the price of the meal included the tip - haven't experienced that since in Europe :-) I like it. The atmosphere is just perfect for date night and we both just loved our entrees.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Little Bird is a wonderful place for dinner. It's our 3rd visit and again exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

What a most wonderful find! Authentic French with fresh flair and ALWAYS par excellence. The Prix Fixe lunch is always divine. We love EVERYTHING but the Prix Fixe makes you go outside your comfort zone and never dissapoints. Wine selection even by-the-glass is unique and so complimentary.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Historic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Dishes were imbalanced and poorly executed. Too many competing flavors made the food unappetizing, and the sauces and sides all had a bitter quality to them. Really unimpressed, given this place's reputation. We sat upstairs, which was stiflingly warm (even on a cold evening), and the whole place seemed like a pop-up restaurant trying way too hard. We will not be returning, and we will not be recommending Little Bird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Once again a great meal at the bar at Little Bird. Staff, service and food were all outstanding. First time I've been to a gratuity included restaurant and that was pretty cool as well.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very good food. Kale salad especially good. Cordial staff and cozy ambiance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Outstanding food in a Foodie city! Service was fast, gracious, kind and impeccable. Were kind enough to modified plates as requested for gluten-free compliance. Wine list has lots of hidden gems at great prices. We sat upstairs which gave us a great view of the floor below -- great for people ( and plate) watching. Food is delectable. Charcuterie board beautifully varies with a plethora of flavors and textures. Double brie burger is to die for -- even without the bun! Scallops and fish of the day (true cod) perfectly prepared. Continues to be spectacular, with great service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the menu, wine options, service was excellent, and kudos to Management/Owners who have taken the initiative to increase prices sufficiently (although not excessively) to pay their staff a living wage, and eschew tipping.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overpriced but unimaginative, with a dated interior. Sarsparilla cocktail was too sweet and tasted like flat cola. Scallop appetizer lacked flavor. Duck breast had a bunch of what looked like olive pits in it?--watch out for your teeth! Burger was okay, but not particularly tasty for $17. Definitely going to Le Pigeon next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have mixed feelings about Little Bird, although everything was tasty, nothing was exceptional. Appreciated the excellent service and the no tipping format, but didn't reach the level of their sister restaurant Le Pigeon. Different formats bring forth different results, I preferred the more daring approach,tasting menu and energy at Le Pigeon

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We hadn't been to Little Bird for a few years. I was pleasantly surprised that they haven't lost anything in that time. Our food was excellent!! The service was great, none of the hipster Portland ignore you server vibe I get so tired of!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Slightly disappointed that the food and presentation were not that great. Price point was high but would have understood if the food delivered...

Noise level was high and not a relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent Food, very good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Delicious food and super service I would go back again the next time I visit Portland.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had lunch. Tartare was fine, something appropriate for Little Bird. Hanger steak was a 7. Chicken fried trout was good comfort food. We have eaten at Little Bird for dinner twice. Much better.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My cousin and I went for a birthday celebration lunch! Ended up staying 2 hours and finished with coffee and dessert. Amazing food! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As always it was wonderful but I felt the portions are growing!!! I had to bring half my

Unusual but excellent Fried chicken with raclette potatoes home!!!

Then I got the incredible Creme brûlée ....

Also toooo large and of course I ate the whole

Thing....

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Always good food and service. No complaints.

One of the best in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Where's the bacon? The food was great as usual. I had coq au vin again. The mushrooms were apparently glazed with bacon; I guess I don't know what this means because I didn't really taste any bacon. Otherwise, excellent meal as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We love going to Little Bird every chance we get. The food is always outstanding, and the service is terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Both entrees, chicken coq a vin and pork shoulder, over cooked so they were dry and tough. The meals were disappointing compared to sister restaurant, Le Pigeon, where we always experience great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best cuisine in Portland. Full menu is excellent and each dish is prepared freshly and up to the point! If you like high quality, go there! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I really wanted to love this place given its reputation and price. And we did love the service, ambiance as well as the cocktails. However, our food, while very good, was not that showstopping speechless wonderment I have experienced at other highly touted restaurants in Portland. The vegetation options were quite limited so I had the fettuccine alfredo. It looked pretty with kale and lovely pasta and thankfully no gloppy cheese sauce but it was not fantastic. My companion had the bone marrow with octopus which she enjoyed but had found better in other places. The brussel sprouts were pretty tasty as were the desserts (a lemon tart and a poppy seed cake concoction) but again, not the wow factor. Two tiny macaroons at the end were sensational as we wish the whole meals could have been. I did like the fact there is no tipping with the prices reflected accordingly. I hope the lovely waitstaff really do benefit from higher wages as they were all wonderful. I would recommend this place as very romantic, good for a special date but you will spend a lot for something that didn't quite live up to its reputation.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The menu made our mouths water but everything we ordered slightly missed the mark.

Tartar was fresh but under seasonsed and kinda boring.

Cheese board was mostly dried fruit.

We had our expectations a little too high going in and were not really wow'ed by anything

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Chicken -fried trout a unique taste. Super friendly staff. Seated right away with reservation.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was great and JP provided awesome service. Great day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Lots of hype surrounding this little restaurant, but the food was very good. The restaurant is small(ish) and the tables are placed close together -- we ended up, essentially, sharing meal notes and recommendations with the table sitting next to us (so if you want a really private experience, maybe look somewhere else). The bone marrow was excellent and is so much more complex than most bone marrow options I've seen other places. I had the Salmon special and it did not disappoint. Desert (crème brule), wow. We received the right amount of attention and had a very good meal. Not a cheap night, but we did not feel cheated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Upstairs was a sauna, had to repeat everything to our waitress because she was half checked out, asked her if she could place a candle on the dessert we ordered 'cause it was my brother's bday- forgot to do, ordered coffee- tasted like it had been brewed in the morning, and the food was just okay.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I have been to Little Bird several times and have always been super pleased with the quality and variety of choices. This time the food was equally good, but the choices IMHO weren't great. I realize the menu changes with seasonal ingredients, but most of the main dinner choices felt quite similar. I ended up with a cup of the amazing soup and a burger, which was very good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food, wine and service were excellent at Little Birds

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Little Bird is has good food, attentive staff and a great ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This is our favorite lunch restaurant, and perhaps our favorite restaurant overall. The service is always top notch. The Belle Oiseau house wine is fabulous, and the bartender makes excellent cocktails. We both started with the soup that had a fantastic garnish on top. My spouse had the special, a root vegetable hash and I had the truffle pasta. Both were truly delicious and filling. We shared the maple ice cream for dessert, which was also excellent. Oh, and the bread service is superb. Note that Little bird does not accept tips, as it is included in the prices. At restaurants of this quality, I think this is the best way to proceed. I hope more places move in this direction.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

food was excellent, as well as the service. very enjoyable experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Little Bird never disappoints- the food and service are superior to any other spot in Portland!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.