Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Little Bird

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommend the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (102)
Good for a Date (95)
Special Occasion (87)
See All
Creative Cuisine (84)
Romantic (72)
Local Ingredients (66)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Cozy (49)
Notable Wine List (45)
Authentic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Worth the Drive (33)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Business Meals (25)
Fun (24)
Seasonal (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Casual (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Late-night Find (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Historic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1941 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved everything about it, food, service and great ambience. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Very unique experience. High quality and wonderfully creative dishes. Would love to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Little Bird is phenomenal! Food, service, and atmosphere are all five stars. Make a reservation and go!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a unique experience but not what we expected. Knowing it was French, there was not a single crepe offering on the menu. Expecting touches with yummy sauces or more than that their signature dish was the hamburger, I tried their burger. It was tasty but nothing unusual. The best part was the bun. My wife sampled the chicken-fried trout that ended up being fine but again nothing out of the ordinary. This was a good spot before a theater night but the big question - would we return for another meal? - probably not. Spendy spot for what we ate. Location-wise too the parking was minimal and the ambience more like a reconstructed office site than a romantic dining room. On a scale of 1- to 10 = 5 at best.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Little Bird Bistro is charming, cozy, and totally worth checking out. My daughter and I recently moved to Portland from Chicago (she's a freshman at PSU, I'm a wandering new divorcee). We've been searching for spots that make us close our eyes and go "ahhh...." with every bite. I know, that sounds snobby, we just really like great food. Portland has a lot to offer, and we realize our bar is set pretty high. That being said, Little Bird hit many of the right notes: oysters: great. Bone Marrow: great. Onion Tart: great. Mushrooms: great.

Then there was the Duck Breast entree. The ONE thing we figured was a slam-dunk for a French bistro. But nope. It's just not worth the calories and the fat. The menu described it as "roasted" (I believe), but it may have well been a sous vide preparation. Salty yet uninspired. No medium-rare bits. No delicious crispy skin. Nothing about it was worth the price of admission.

Definitely go to Little Bird, just skip the duck.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was a disappointment.Not worth the$200 we paid for four of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our wait person was outstanding. Her suggestions for wine made the evening more special. Attentive service without being intrusive is a skill. Delicious starters and equally spectacular mains. Gallette topped it all.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Appetizer selection was better than the selection for entrées. Truly delicious food. Great wine selection. Strongly recommend the bone marrow appetizer. Absolutely worth trying

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous place, great food and an all-around gem. The bone marrow with octopus was amazing and I appreciate the no-tip approach as a great restaurant is a collective effort.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Endive salad, salmon, steak and cappuccinos were delicious. Service was exemplary. Nice not to have to fuss with gratuities as they were included in the price of the menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Only complaint is the noise level, which makes it challenging to have a conversation. Food excellent, service excellent, seated on time on arrival. Do miss the duck confit and the original burger.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

In a word : Magnifique!!!! Service was superb ( Elaine) and food was terrific ( prep and presentation). I didn't like the "no-tipping" option as Elaine would have received much more, I suspect. I have only positives to say, except of course, be prepared to get your wallet out! :-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food. The burger was the best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This time our visit was for our 20th wedding anniversary -- Yes, this place is THAT good! Perfect dining experience ... as always! So happy to visit Le Petit Oiseau aka Little Bird!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

As always, dining at Little Bird was a delight. We often take out of town guests there, to show off the best of Portland's restaurant scene. This time we were there for lunch. Two of us got small plates as we wanted to leave room for dessert. Each dish was so delicious, and the creative use of local ingredients was perfect. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Consistently outstanding service and menu in a comfortable atmosphere that has a touch of France without being a cliche'. The charcuterie selections might be my favorite -- a great assortment with perfect condiments. The only problem with lunch at Little Bird is having to return to work afterward.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

One of the best Portland restaurants. Everything is delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fit for foodies. Very original flavours and presentation. The local oysters were particularly delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Had a great meal with excellent service . Nice ambiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic food...mediocre location. Just outside of the Pearl, in semi-shady part of town. The foie gras and the bone marrow are fantastic. Can't wait to try the chicken friend trout next time! Oh oddly they didn't comp the birthday dessert. Kind of unusual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First time at Little Bird, seriously impressed with the ambiance, service and amazing food...wonderful date night...we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We visit Portland every year and Little Bird is our favorite place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food with flair! Little Bird is consistently creative and delicious cuisine. Service was excellent. I was surprised to see they did away with tipping. Upstairs seating is a bit noisy for 3.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The only reason I didn't think I was in a bistro in Paris was the fact that everyone was speaking English. The food was fantastic. Would recommend this restaurant for those who are looking for great french food in authentic french setting. Make a reservation this place was packed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Perfect place for a special occasion. The tables are a little close so there is no privacy. The staff was very knowledgeable and informative. The food was creative and delicious. It is a fun environment resembling a cafe in Paris. Great, but not inexpensive, wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was a cast and director dinner for a successful film shoot, and nothing could have been more perfect than our epicurean evening than your restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent unpretentious and original. Wine list is adequate if not extensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Just a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Always an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

It was outstanding. Food, service, and ambiance came together for a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Visiting Portland from Seattle- Wonderful service and cuisine! Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The hype about the food is accurate! Some of the best food I have had in years and, my favorite, it was served up in a very unpretentious manner. Everyone from the host to the servers were friendly and polite; although one staff member seemed a little taken back by our Poly Triad. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

To be around classy people and food is always a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I've been to Little Bird before and always loved it. Sadly this time I was less than impressed. They've gone to a tip-inclusive menu so everything looks (and perhaps is?) super expensive. Sadly, the meal did not really live up to my expectation. The steak was good but not great and my husband's lamb was the same. The steak frites were just okay. The wine was great! Maybe we just hit a bad day but it just didn't seem worth the high price of admission. The space itself is always gorgeous.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very good updates on classical dishes, but sometimes a bit too far. Coq au Vin needs vin - a deconstructed dish with a reduction doesn't really cut it - it may be another dish and delicious, but not hearty, rustic and soup like anything that is called Coq au Vin should be. Other plates were really delicious and fresh - I particularly liked the pairing of different oysters that really brought out flavor differences.

Excellent service from all staff. Excellent wine pairing advice and all staff were knowledgeable and informative about food being served. Timing of courses was just right and he overall flow of the meal was extremely satisfying.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Delicious food, great service, a bit pricey but definitely worth trying at least once

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Always having been fans of Little Bird — I think we'll have to take a pass for awhile. Food was just ok — nothing outstanding; service was less than desirable; menu remains pretty much the same after years of being fans. Sad to say, this proved to be a disappointing Easter supper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
·Dined on April 16, 2017

Friendly service, excellent starters. The onion tart and beef tartare were highlights of the meal. The main courses fell a bit flat, especially the deconstructed coq au vin, which was very "beige" on both the plate and the palate. We skipped dessert. We'd give them another try, but there are a lot of other good restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had to wait wait wait for the rare hanger steak. Then it was very very garlicky. Meat was cooked perfectly though..... Trout preparation was somewhat odd. Not the greatest lunch experience but will still return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.