About Lidia's Restaurant

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made entirely from scratch with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in-house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh.

Every day Lidia's offers a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork, and beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs including gluten-free items.

Lidia's is located in the historic Freighthouse-- a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes three hand-blown chandeliers, a three-story slate fireplace, and cozy, New York style seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located within short walking distance of the KC Streetcar stops at 18th and Main and the Union Station stop.

From both stops, you will find a staircase leading to the Freighthouse District just south of 20th and Main on the West side of the street.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Delectable dining, impeccable service, and unparalleled elegance accompanied by the delicious Northern Italian cuisine of famed Chef Lidia Bastianich await you and your guests in our two private dining spaces, The Loft and The Terrazza.

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (140)
Good for a Date (121)
Good for Anniversaries (98)
See All
Romantic (86)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Authentic (80)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Good for Groups (63)
Business Meals (60)
Worth the Drive (58)
Fireplace (57)
Notable Wine List (54)
Historic (50)
Comfort Food (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Lunch (45)
Modern Decor (44)
Fun (43)
Sunday Lunch (42)
Bar Seating (42)
Casual (41)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Cozy (37)
Great for Brunch (32)
Hot Spot (25)
Tasting Menu (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Family Style (20)
People Watching (20)
Seasonal (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Scenic View (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Private Room (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Healthy (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sunday evening 630. Busy. Took about a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Sunday evening 630. Busy. Took about an hour to get the food. Minor considering they were full.

It is a big room that is poorly organized. Seating was crammed together in the middle of the main dining area. Felt like we were eating with the two tables on either side of us.

Had the osso buco, which was prepared well. It just tasted like it had been cooked in a crock pot with little flavor though. The sauce they put on it was good, but there was a tiny amount that mixed into the bed of rice instantly.

Expected better meal and experience for the price, which is mid-to-upper $ range for what the plaza has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We did not have good service. Ordered ap ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We did not have good service. Ordered appetizer we never received, all our meals came at different times, did not get refill on tea, did not get leftovers before we left. I emailed the manager and never received a reply. Will not be returning get to Lidias.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Great food, wish there were more vegeta ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, wish there were more vegetarian options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice place with great atmosphere an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice place with great atmosphere and excellent food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 1st time there and we will be ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our 1st time there and we will be going back. We both had the pasta trio and it was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was a mess from that start. Didn' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was a mess from that start. Didn't have the wine we selected, twice. Then I ordered their 'signature' pasta trio served table side. Only got 2 of the 3 pastas. Inexcusable.

They did comp the wine and my meal, but it was a bad experience. They really should have picked up the whole meal rather than charge me for my wife's meal. I would have been left with a much different impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Best service and Italian food I have had ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Best service and Italian food I have had in ages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After attending an afternoon theater per ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

After attending an afternoon theater performance of Phantom, my wife an I wanted to have a nice dinner. We were not disappointed. We ordered grilled salmon with brussel sprouts and Costoletta -

Heritage Pork Porterhouse with Fennel Pollen Rub, Grilled Peaches, Arugula Salad. Both entrees were prepared to perfection. We finished our dining experience with Tiramisu. Our server was knowledgeable and most helpful, completely answering all our inquiries about the food and beverage selections. They have a very nice selection of wines and beers. It has been several years since we last visited Lidia's, as we live approximately 75 miles away. We plan on returning in the near future.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took the wife for her Birthday and it wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Took the wife for her Birthday and it was our first visit to Lidia's. It was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed at all. Great atmosphere, Great service, and Superb Food .

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Simply the food (three course pasta spec ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply the food (three course pasta special) lacked overall flavor. More than half of my spouse's ravioli didn't have filling. I had attended Lidia's prior for an event in their private room and had a different experience which we were hoping to replicate for Valentine's Day but expectations were disappointing. For the price of the food I'm unable to recommend.

That said the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Went well. Loved the pasta. Could have ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Went well. Loved the pasta. Could have been less cramped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food and outstanding service

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food and outstanding service

Tags: Hot Spot, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Matthew, was excellent. It ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Matthew, was excellent. It was our first time and he made us very comfortable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual. Thanks once again for a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great as usual. Thanks once again for a wonderful evening and Valentine Day dinner

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was average. We went for Valentine' ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was average. We went for Valentine's Day and expected an amazing menu but it wasn't as good as I wanted it to be. Very mediocre Italian food.. service was good though

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

3 course Fixed price Vslentines Day dinn ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

3 course Fixed price Vslentines Day dinner geared for quick prep and table turnover, not geared for the guests. Major innovation: A no other option for the appetizer which was an uninspired lobster ball that did taste a bit like lobster. Our grillled tuna and lamb chops tasty and served as ordered medium rare. Dessert was also obligatory ho hum petit-fours. Ordered a la carte this was a $50 dinner max but their fixed price was $60.

Bottom line: Lidias embarrassed itself on Valentines Day but possibly was victim of its success. Perhaps they did a high output overpriced product out to meet demand but the overpricing was shameful. Diner beware on special nights at Lidia's it seems. I've been there many times and always had far better experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Went to Lidia's for Valentine's Day. Wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went to Lidia's for Valentine's Day. Was seated on time which surprised me since the place was very busy. The food was wonderful. Waiter was great and attentive. Was a bit louder than expected but the place was packed. It would probably be less noisy on a regular night. Would recommend Lidia's to friends and family.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I enjoyed Valentine's D ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I enjoyed Valentine's Day dinner here! Our waitress was very nice the food was amazing. Overall this place is an awesome place to go and everyone should go there at least once in their lifetime. I would recommend this for any occasion it is dimly lit and romantic but would also be a fun place for a business meeting or something. Me and my boyfriend a week later are still talking about the amazing experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Disabled Access, Great Beer, People Watching, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great all around experience...love the n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great all around experience...love the new bar area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for a valentine's lunch. Looking fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for a valentine's lunch. Looking forward to going back another time. Perhaps this summer when the wisteria vines are in bloom. Would like to go for dinner so I can have some wine ;-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was excellent -- prepared to pe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent -- prepared to perfection. The room temperature was warm and comfortable. Many restaurants are chilly, but not Lidia's. The service was perfect -- attentive but not overbearing. The tables are a bit small and perhaps too close together, but overall it was a great dining experience. I will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Organic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband surprised me with an early Va ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband surprised me with an early Valentines dinner following a play at Starlight. We were there at dinner time, so the service was understandably a little slow. However, the food we got was worth the wait. We both had the Caesar salad, which was delicious. My husband loved the Sunday Sauce special and I enjoyed the Pasta Trio. We topped it off with a fabulous Tiramisu ... everything was sooooo good. All of this, combined with a very nice atmosphere made for a super nice date night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My chicken livers were served raw and so ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My chicken livers were served raw and so was my sweetie'S pork sausage and scrambled eggs. A manager stopped by to tell us we were wrong then they brought my re-cooked entree back so overly cooked it was inedible. Server left glasses empty for up to 10 minutes. How did she get in the weeds at brunch? I grew up on Lydia'S TV show and can't believe she would be proud of this food or hospitality. We ignored the low Google ratings. Do so at your peril.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Our son took his Sweetheart dance date h ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our son took his Sweetheart dance date here with one other couple. The pasta trio was ordered and everyone at the table raved about the dishes.. Great fine dining experience with great food. They were treated with respect and they enjoyed themselves so much. Great place!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My food was good. My fiancé was not that ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My food was good. My fiancé was not that impressed with his pasta trio saying that it lacked a lot of flavor. Service was mediocre but it was also Valentines Day weekend so it was pretty busy. Overall, it was average. The ambience however was above average. It's gorgeous and has a nice feel.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was absolutely wonderful, from ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful, from preparation to presentation, very pleasing. We especially enjoyed the misto fritto, and the Plazzo Della Torre-Allegrini wine which was exceptional (even took photos of carne cruda salad so we could try to replicate at home). All in all we would recommend to our friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Using OpenTable was super easy! The rest ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Using OpenTable was super easy! The restaurant was beautiful and perfect for a date night out! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated immediately with our rese ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were seated immediately with our reservation. Dinner was delicious! Server was very friendly. She was knowledgeable of the menu and food items including gluten free items. She brought out the kids dinner already split among two plates- very helpful. The kids loved their gnocchi. My salmon was tender and delicious! My husband loved the pasta trio. Our water glasses were filled throughout our meal. Wonderful dinner! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hot items were a bit lukewarm. Other th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hot items were a bit lukewarm. Other than that it was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great experience and have always wanted ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience and have always wanted to eat there. Big fan of Lydia when she was on PBS

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The special four course Valentines menu ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The special four course Valentines menu was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We liked our waitress. Also Danny Walker ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We liked our waitress. Also Danny Walker came out to talk with us about the menu, the food in general, - it was a most pleasant experience. We'll be back. Of course we have been there many, many times.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here several times and alwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We have been here several times and always enjoy. The service has always been very good and we love the pasta tasting trio.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch panini menu is outstanding and a l ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Lunch panini menu is outstanding and a little lighter than the pasta dishes. Recommend a request for a quiet table in the corner because the center area can be very, very noisy and not conducive to a business lunch.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Visiting KC and asked a local who recomm ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visiting KC and asked a local who recommended Lidia's. Made a reservation for 7:30, got there a few minutes early and though busy, we were seated promptly. Our server was great, and made a few recommendations. Wine was great, Caesar salad was average, pasta trio wasn't great. Would probably give it another try and go for something else. Other menu offerings looked good. Value was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our reservation was for 6:30 but didn't ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our reservation was for 6:30 but didn't get our food until 8:00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a wonderful meal with unbelievabl ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a wonderful meal with unbelievable service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a special menu. The food was w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for a special menu. The food was wonderful and we had a great time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went to Lidia's Carnevale Venezia ni ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We went to Lidia's Carnevale Venezia night. Lidia was there for the event. The event seemed to be sold out. The service was great my food was excellent. The Limoncello Tiramisu was the absolute best. I had the Baccala alla Trevigiana sauce, Pan Roasted Quail in a Amarone and Tart Cherries. All a gourmet's delight.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.