Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Lidia's Restaurant

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made entirely from scratch with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in-house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh.

Every day Lidia's offers a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork, and beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs including gluten-free items.

Lidia's is located in the historic Freighthouse-- a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes three hand-blown chandeliers, a three-story slate fireplace, and cozy, New York style seating.

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located within short walking distance of the KC Streetcar stops at 18th and Main and the Union Station stop.

From both stops, you will find a staircase leading to the Freighthouse District just south of 20th and Main on the West side of the street.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Delectable dining, impeccable service, and unparalleled elegance accompanied by the delicious Northern Italian cuisine of famed Chef Lidia Bastianich await you and your guests in our two private dining spaces, The Loft and The Terrazza.

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (108)
Good for a Date (107)
Good for Anniversaries (96)
See All
Authentic (82)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Worth the Drive (63)
Business Meals (60)
Romantic (60)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for Groups (53)
Notable Wine List (46)
Casual (44)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Comfort Food (41)
Great for Lunch (39)
Great for Brunch (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Bar Seating (30)
Fun (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Tasting Menu (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Cozy (20)
People Watching (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Scenic View (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Seasonal (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Healthy (9)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Took mother for her 89th birthday and she loved the food and wait staff were very good and made her feel special!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate a daughter home for a short college break. We all got the pasta trio, which we often do. This time, the protein was lacking. The taste was creative and good, just too starchy this time around. We will for sure be back, probably trying other items from the menu.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Another incredible meal at Lidia’s!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Attentive, intuitive server. Pasta was perfectly cooked and delicious. Mussells were a little small but also delicious. Value priced bottle of Syrah was perfect with the pasta trio and the pork chop. The complimentary olive tampenade was so flavorful and such a nice change from the olive oil/ breads so many restaurants serve. It was a very busy Saturday night, so the reservation was definitely needed, but I loved the energy all around us. Can't wait for another special occasion to come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Love coming here! Food and drinks are always wonderful!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere. Tables are tightly packed and the room could use better acoustics. Great bar and patio areas. Good for business or groups but not for conversation. Nice wine list. Traditional Italian selections. The Cesar salad was impressive.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic birthday dinner for my wife. Kids joined and were blown away by the authenticity of the cuisine. Everything from the calamari to the prosciutto was great. Everyone had the pasta tasting. I enjoyed the fish special which was beautiful and plentiful. We will be back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good personable server. Food very good as expected. Nice table for a special family get together

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Good atmosphere, good food, good service, but ( & it's a big but!), the women's bathroom was filthy. One stall had a large amount of clear "liquid" ( I shutter to even imagine just what that liquid was) on the floor around & in front of the toilet fixture. If I had seen this prior to dining, I would have walked out. I will give the host credit though, after I told him about the situation, it was cleaned up immediately.
Overall, I would have probably given the restaurant an excellent rating, but for this reason I gave it only 4 stars.
Glad I had boots on!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent as always. The food was delicious and the service top notch.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Ceasar salad was quite good; lettuce was fresh and crisp and the dressing was thick and tasty. One of the better Ceasar's I've had. Followed this by the special three pasta assortment. The pork and veggie stuffed ravioli was the star of the 3.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Lidia's never fails to satisfy. We had Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday, and were treated to the usual very high level of service and an extraordinary and diverse menu, including the trio of excellent pastas. Fabulous view of downtown Kansas City, great wine list, and terrific food.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Celebrating my daughter's 50th birthday with dinner at Lidia's was wonderful! Very attentive waitress. Melt in your mouth food. A thorough dining delight. I definitely recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was quite good as we expected. We were seated in a row of 2 tops very close to couples on either side which made it slightly awkward being so close. The service was solid but unspectacular, and the overall meal including wine for 2 was just north of 120.00. Not unreasonable, but not a particular value either.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, skilled wait staff, delicious pasta trio, pork shank and seafood platter. Fresh ingredients masterfully prepared and a joy to eat. A return trip is on our list.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

I enjoyed the meal. My bronzino was not hot when I received it. It's hard to ask them to heat fish up because it will just dry it out. The dining room is a large hall with high ceilings; therefore, it can be a little noisy. I personally liked the environment. The service was very good. Bring your wallet. These are more like NY prices for a KC restaurant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We enjoyed Lidia's very much. My wife and I shared a Cesar Salad. It was tasty but lacked the distinct anchovie taste we associate with Cesar Salad. She had the lasagna which was surprisingly light and delicious. I had the pasta sampler of three different pastas. The ravioli were to die for, The spaghetti had a parsley pesto sauce which was right on target. But the small bow ties (I forget what they are called) had a marinara sauce which was described as spicy. It was anything but. The red marinara sauce was just plain bland. The meal was overall enjoyable and I would not let my nit-picking from discouraging a visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our dinner did not live up to Lidias good reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Disappointed because we have been before and good was great. I expect the dishes at an Italian restaurant to be great in this category, not average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

I thought the 3 choice pastas were just ok and cheap dishes to make. I expected higher quality ingredients for the price. My eggplant, however, was delicious! It is a nice restaurant but should have more prix fixed meal options. The beschamel lasagna was also delicious! Would not run to go back, but all in all, a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Every time I come I get the pasta trio and it never disappoints. I love the atmosphere and the beautiful glass chandeliers. The servers are all well-versed in the menu and daily specials and can answer any question very knowledgeably. I always think of this place first for special occasions or to show folks who aren't from KC a good time. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We love Lidias brunch with all the salads, breads, entrees and desserts. Pasta trio was good but not as much meat as usual.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Terrific food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and service outstanding !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We went to Lidia's for our wedding anniversary. We were seated at a large table in a corner, private enough, but you still felt a part of what was going on. Our waiter, Matthew, was excellent. He made great suggestions and was attentive without being overbearing. My wife had the trio of pasta. I had the salmon. Both were excellent. The pasta was fresh. The salmon was flavorful. The real surprise was the dessert. It was Pavlova, Matthew's suggestion. I won't go into lengthy description here, but if it's listed when you're there, I highly recommend it. All in all, I couldn't ask for a better anniversary dinner. Thank you, Lidia. Your restaurant always makes the evening and meal memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food was spectacular as usual, but the service was slow. We we're left waiting to place our order for 20-30 minutes after our apps came out, and 10 minutes between finishing our entree and ordering dessert. Far and away the slowest service I've had here. That being said, the staff was extremely polite, we just wish they had been more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The service and food were great for the group. The venue was wonderful and the atmosphere was energetic and fun for the entire crowd.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Unfortunately, when we showed up to Lidia's, we were immediately made painfully aware that the quality of the food was going to be poor. The smell of rancid crab permeated throughout the dining room. The restrooms were in horrible shape and the wait staff seemed brow-beaten. First and last experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food was formidable. Chicken Diavolo (or something like that) was impressively tasty, as well as the lasagna. Desert was not so great, but the overall experience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Excellent food! Service was a little slow for a empty lunch but still worth the wait! Cocktails and food are top notch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great as always. Continues to be our favorite restaurant in the KC area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was my first time there. There were five of us for Sunday Brunch. Notable was the Porchetta: creamy with a poached egg on top. I inherited the second half of a very bland lasagna from my spouse's plate. She got the second half of my porchetta. Our assessments were mutual. The bloody Marys that two of us ordered tasted thin and watery though also booze. Why four stars? Hmmm, I guess it was the excellent waiter who seemed to know what was up with the bar and added more Bloody Mary mix almost unannounced. He was a lot of fun and made the experience sparkle. The desserts were good especially the Tiramisu! Nice big room with minimal noise and relaxed feeling.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great service and food. Everyone worked as a team. Everything cooked to a tee! Being Italian, we love the food. We also watch lidias show.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I am allergic to tree nuts and peanuts. The service was great and our server was very knowledgeable about what was safe for me to eat! I was even able to eat dessert, which is very rare with allergies like mine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The waiter did a fair job in service. She was waiting Too many tables that she forgot details of the order and even some extras we ordered. We have noticed that the ambiance is getting too crowded and the tables smaller and it’s uncomfortable to even pass the bread around. Italian meals require ample space at the table, Lidias is more of up scale restaurant and confort is essential. Wonder if the manager who walks by all time has noticed that as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This restaurant was excellent! Food was delicious, our server was very nice. The food was very similar to what we have had on Italy. We will go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Brunch was a pleasurable experience that was not rushed with well cooked and well presented choices.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great find!! Ambiance is special! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Two friends came over from St. Louis who have never been to K.C., and being St. Louisans,
they are accustomed to exceptional Italian food, and your restaurant seemed a logical place
to take them. But they thought you were a bland, commercial enterprise which would fail
in a month if you tried to open a restaurant in St. Louis. I kind of did, too. I wouldn't come
back.
My female friend who came to town is not only a wine lover but also a wine expert, and she
had to return the first two bottles she ordered as being inadequate.
To me personally, it was also dismaying to see so many teenage Latino boys scraping bread
crumbs off the table.
I checked above that you are "fit for foodies", but that wasn't a compliment, as "foodies"
are just a subspecies of the world of "groupies".

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We love the pasta trio menu. The food was great as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.