Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Lidia's Restaurant

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made entirely from scratch with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in-house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh.

Every day Lidia's offers a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork, and beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs including gluten-free items.

Lidia's is located in the historic Freighthouse-- a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes three hand-blown chandeliers, a three-story slate fireplace, and cozy, New York style seating.

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located within short walking distance of the KC Streetcar stops at 18th and Main and the Union Station stop.

From both stops, you will find a staircase leading to the Freighthouse District just south of 20th and Main on the West side of the street.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Delectable dining, impeccable service, and unparalleled elegance accompanied by the delicious Northern Italian cuisine of famed Chef Lidia Bastianich await you and your guests in our two private dining spaces, The Loft and The Terrazza.

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (146)
Special Occasion (143)
Good for Anniversaries (94)
See All
Authentic (91)
Romantic (87)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Worth the Drive (74)
Good for Groups (73)
Business Meals (64)
Notable Wine List (57)
Bar Seating (52)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Historic (49)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Fun (45)
Modern Decor (43)
Comfort Food (41)
Great for Lunch (40)
Great for Brunch (39)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Casual (39)
Tasting Menu (38)
Cozy (35)
Fireplace (33)
Local Ingredients (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Family Style (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
People Watching (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Disabled Access (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Scenic View (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Private Room (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Organic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Wood Oven (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
4327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was amazing! Wait staff was on point and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Always excellent food, but this visit our server seemed as though she was doing us a favor allowing us to sit at her table. Very unusual in that we've always had great service as well as a great meal. The servers who brought our pasta trio and took care of our drinks were great, no issues there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Lidia's is a great place to go before a concert. We enjoyed the ambiance and the food. I thought the pork shank was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good menu with some unique choices. Service was excellent. Parking is very convenient. Nice renovation of an old building fits really well in downtown.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious! I had eggplant parmesan and it was outstanding. That and the spinach/chickpea soup. SO good. Lidia's daughter, Tanya, was there in the restaurant that day, so it felt even more special somehow. ;) I love this place for more than the food. Kind servers and plenty of attention by the wait staff to make your dining experience simply enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Special occasion restaurant for celebrating a high school graduation. Something for everyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was a great experience. My partner has pasta 3 ways. All 3 had great flavor and the pasta was perfect. I has the Osso Buco and it was so tender it fell off the bone. It came with Risotto, which was also perfectly done. The server, Erin, was knowledgeable and helped pick a great wine, and helped me decide on my meal since they were out of the Porchetta special. We ended the night with the Strawberry dessert. It was a highlight. It had sponge cake, fresh strawberries, fresh whipped cream, and a life changing strawberry gelato. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Antipasto was very good, along with salad. Had 3 pasta family style. Each pasta had a different downfall. One salty, one overpowered onion taste, the other just wasn't good. Our waitress was a doll, but the food took forever. Disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lidias' is an all- time favorite of ours, and we try to have a meal there whenever we are in KC for a visit. The wild boar ravioli is especially wonderful, and the pasta trio is always a delicious adventure. Hard to save room for dessert, but there is always a nice variety.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great atmosphere and innovative menu choices. All servers were great. Had. Very enjoyable time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Enjoyed the meal. If you are in the mood for pasta the trio is a great way to experience three distinctively different pastas. Add a salad and a glass of wine from her vineyards for a perfect dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Surprisingly low price point. Excellent Italian food wide variety and the menu great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The caesar salad was just okay. The bread and bread sticks we're excellent. The pasta trio was yummy especially the pear brie ravioli. My husband had the Branzino and said he would give it a 3. Our friend had the Osso Bucco and said he would give it a 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food, nice wine list and desserts were wonderful. Gave my husband a free dessert for birthday. We were there on a Thursday for an early lunch date. Best seat with city view. Everything was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had several dietary restricted folks at the table and everyone found something delicious. It is always fun to go to Lidia's. I will be going there for my birthday!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The wait staff, frankly, seemed to push us to finish every course, and they created a very hurried experience, even at one point taking one of our diner's plates while she was still eating. While the food was good (not excellent), the total experience left us somewhat disappointed from the Lidia's we remembered from 10 years ago.

The appetizers were delicious, and nicely presented. The pasta trio main course was served all at one time, and without asking anyone at the table if they wanted each of the three pastas being offered; with two of our group not eating shrimp, a key ingredient of one of the dishes, this was a fail. The ragu offering was flavorful, although the entire table agreed was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love Lidia's, I live in San Francisco and go to Lidias whenever I visit my son who lives in Topeka, I felt rushed at our Sunday early dinner. We were a party of 6 and ordered two bottles of wine, we weren't asked to taste the wines, one of the bottles was opened and then I discovered it wasn't the bottle I ordered. The trio pasta was great as always, flavors were elevated.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Usually love Lydia's service in Mother's Day was bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day menu was outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Organic, Family Style, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Don't ever go when the have a set menu at a fixed price as we did for Mother's Day. Food was less than average. Service was abysmal. The cost was absolutely horrendous. I have only been this one time and will never go back. As a restaurant like this that takes advantage of their patrons on a special day does not deserve their business on any average day !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Restaurant was extremely busy the night we went but I would have thought that they were used to being busy. We ordered the pasta trio however my daughter only wanted one of the three which was communicated to our server. We were served two of the three and were waiting for our daughter's to be brought out. Finally we went to the check in desk to request that she be served her food because we couldn't get our servers attention. Our food was now cold. My husband requested a refill of one of his selections which was never brought out. The server, while pleasant, did not follow up with us until late into the meal. The food was average, of course it might have been better when it was hot....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Make sure you have plenty of time and are willing to wait for your table, even if you have a reservation on a Saturday evening.

We arrived at 7:28 for our 7:30pm reservation and were finally seated 22 minutes after our reservation time - ONLY because I asked to speak to a manager (who instead of apologizing profusely for the delay stated that we were only partially arrived which was not true). Finally at dessert, the waiter offered free dessert due to the "mix up" on the reservation. The acknowledgement was appreciated.

We've enjoyed plenty of delightful meals here over the years and this was to be a special 21st birthday dinner for our son, but they really got things started on the wrong foot. Better management of the front end of the restaurant would be appreciated. The food was delightful so obviously the kitchen is in great shape.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The tasting trio was mediocre at best. Two of the offerings​ had very little flavor. All three were barely warm. There were several large parties, and the rest of the tables received very little attention. My friend waited over 20 minutes to receive a drink from the bar. Our water was empty frequently, and we had to ask for refills. I was never offered a second glass of wine. Overall, not the best dining experience, and overpriced for the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fabulous food and Kristen and Cody so friendly and welcoming. Busy and you need a reservation.
Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I think if there was one word that described the food at Lidia's it would be "inconsistent." I have eaten here twice in the past two weeks (once on a Friday once on a tuesday. Both dinner). I have ordered the Duck Ragu Gnocchi x2, the Canneloni, the Chicken Limonata, the Pasta Trio, the Antipasti Misto and a Milano Mule x2. The first time I went to Lidia's (on a friday evening) the duck gnocchi was divine. I truly thought it was one of the better dishes I have had in KC. The duck was perfectly shredded and incorporated into the sauce of which there was a perfect amount. When I returned, I excitedly ordered the same dish only this time it was not remotely similar. The duck was in chunks, there was hardly any sauce, and it truly was bland. In terms of the other things we tried the Canneloni is not woth ordering. It is like some weird, overly ricotta flavored italian enhilada. The Chicken Limonata is good albeit not spectular and it was a little overcooked. One of the 3 pastas in the pasta trio was excellent (the pear ravioli) but otherwise they were very bland. The antipasti which is composed of salami's and cheese is not a very good value. The two cheeses are in no way standout and all and all this was reminescent of a light cheese and crackers lunch I might make myself. The milano mule was a winner both times. They use great ginger beer which really makes the cocktail plus it's only $6 during happy hour.
So would I recommend returning to Lidia's? Yes, although not for the food. I think that Lidia's is probably the prettiest restaurant in KC and I think that it is an impressive date restaurant especially if you are just going for a drink.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food, quiet space for a good meeting. Fast and friendly

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Visting Kansas City and needed an early dinner before jazz event. Lidia's hit the spot - accessible, adequate free parking, on the way for us, great service attentive to our schedule needs, and really good food. Would go back for a more leisurely meal.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Lovely venue with modern decor. Varied menu. I have diet restrictions at this time and the server and chef were incredibly accommodating! They literally made me my own versions of each course and they were all delicious! Highly recommended!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lidia's is consistently great in service (prompt but not rushed), food (great seasonal specials) and ambiance. The staff know the food and wine and I always ask for recommendations and usual take them up on what they recommend. I am constantly surprised by nice/expensive restaurants that rush your dinner by bringing out your main course while still finishing your salad/appetizers. I have never felt rushed at Lidia's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

excellent food, had a 7:30 reservation and they were able to get us in early. surprising since it was prom night

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great place to eat for a special occasion or for a family meal or business lunch or dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were seated right away for our reservations. Our waiter was attentive and was knowledgeable about the wine list. The entrees were delicious. Even though the restaurant was crowded, we were able to talk easily and not "shout" at each other. Love the building and watching the trains pass by is a real plus.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lidia's was a good, not great, experience. The food was solid, but not what I expected for the price and the service was just okay as well. That said, it was good. I had the Saturday night special, porchetta, and the flavor was delicious. The meat was a little dry, but still very good. My date ordered the pasta trio, which was all delicious as well, but her second and third pastas didn't come out until she was nearly almost finished with the first when I believe they were supposed to be out at the same time. I don't mean to sound like it was all bad because we enjoyed the meal greatly and would definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Have gone here several times. This time the service was terrible. The waitress only had three tables when we arrived, but stood off to the side talking with other servers. Could not get her attention. Eventually the place filled up and then it was even more difficult to find her. Finally got out check, and she simply tossed it on the table and walked off.

Usually enjoy this restaurant, but this time was by far the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have eaten here on numerous occasions from birthdays to simple dates. The pasta tasting trio is our usual selection. While the antipasta and dessert tables have been scaled back, the food was still good. Just missed the ample selection of options they used to have.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Took my spouse here for our anniversary although the food and service was excellent. I wouldn't recommend such a place for such a special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I dined alone. My server was FANTASTIC! She was able to offer wine pairings and didn't rush the meal. Lovely!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Dessert was delightful .... beautiful and yummy! Our server was exceptionally helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

When my husband and I lived in Kansas City 9 years ago, we would have dinner frequently at Lydia's. We were visiting Kansas City this past weekend and decided to have dinner at Lydia's one of the nights we were in town. We had the trio pasta meal that was featured that night (this is what we would always get in the past!). We were a little disappointed in our meal. One of the pasta's featured was amazing and the other 2 were OK. I think we were most disappointed with our waitress. She was very rude. If we still lived in Kansas City I would try coming to Lydia's again (in hopes of having a more pleasant waitress or waiter!) because we have such great memories of dining there in the past. We probably will not visit the next time we are in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

In my hundreds of dining experiences, I have never seen anything like this: our waitress, Jill, spent 18 consecutive minutes talking to the people at the corner table (they were acquaintances of hers). For the last 15 of those minutes I was trying to get her attention. And they didn't even order, she came back later to that table and spent several more minutes taking their order. We weren't in a hurry, but this was inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.