About Lidia's Pittsburgh

Lidia’s Pittsburgh opened in March of 2001, only two years after Lidia Bastianich and her son Joseph Bastianich opened the popular Lidia’s Kansas City, their first venture outside of Manhattan.

Lidia’s Pittsburgh menu concept is a combination of the New York restaurants, Felidia and Becco.

Lidia's is located downtown in the strip district near the Heinz History Center, Benedum Center, Heinz Hall, Byham Theater, PNC Park, and PPG Paints Arena so it's the perfect place to enjoy a great meal before your event.

The menu features a daily pasta tasting, with homemade pastas that incorporate the season's freshest ingredients in addition to hearty Italian favorites such as the osso bucco, a braised heritage pork shank with barley risotto, the scallopine of chicken breast with roasted lemon, capers, and olives, and grilled salmon filet with seasonal contorni.

1400 Smallman Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 4:30pm-6:30pm

Cross Street:
15th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 552-0150

Website:
http://www.lidias-pittsburgh.com/

Parking Details:
We offer on valet and public parking. Street parking is also available near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Neely

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join us for our annual Winter Game Dinner on Tuesday, February 28th at 6:30pm. We will be offering a delectable 4 course dinner designed by Lidia paired with some amazing wines for $85/person. To see the full menu being offered please go to www.lidias-pittsburgh.com. Space is limited for the event so please either call 412-552-0150 to make you reservation or mark that you would like to attend the Game Dinner in the special requests section when making it through OpenTable.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The seasonal private dining menus capture the warmth of Lidia’s cuisine, evoking an authentic Italian meal in a lovely environment. Italian favorites are highlights of our three to four course dinner options along with our antipasti rustic buffet settings.

Lidia's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for a Date (72)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
See All
Authentic (52)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Business Meals (43)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Romantic (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Worth the Drive (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Modern Decor (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Family Style (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Casual (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fireplace (16)
Cozy (15)
Disabled Access (12)
Seasonal (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Private Room (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Historic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3713 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good but the lamb chop was still cold raw in the center, after asking for them to be cooked longer they came back perfect. The waitress, Cindy, was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Let me say that I have visited this restaurant on several occasions when in Pittsburgh. This is the first time that I can say it was horrible. The front of house staff was very good considering the kitchen couldn't send out food in a timely manner. We had one appetizer, one salad and two entrees which took the kitchen over an hour to serve us. The food overall lacked any flavor and was served lukewarm and undercooked. I've worked in the restaurant industry for many years and have the utmost respect for people who do this job. This is the first time I have every written a bad review of a restaurant, but it is necessary. Lidia you need to visit this location and fix what isn't working in that kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Our salad came out before our appetizers and the server said the word "sorry" too many times for too many timing issues. The salad and appetizer was just set at the edge of our table by another person. It didn't seem that any employee was there to ensure good customer service. Our meals were very good...especially the lamb dish.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best places I have eaten. The food was impeccable and the service was perfect. Friendly staff. THE BEST ICE CREAM I have EVER tasted! Delicious. All the food, delicious. I am going back for more. I want to try the entire menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

I visited Lidia's for a birthday lunch with two friends. The service was attentive, but maybe a little too casual? Once server berated my friend for not taking home leftover from her plate?? The menu options are quite expensive for lunch - $17 and up. The Caesar salads my friend and I were served were very wilted and over dressed. The salads looked like leftovers from the evening before. My friend was very pleased with her pasta tasting trio, which is probably the best value to order. I had the lemon chicken which was delicious as well. The bread basket had some interesting spreads, but the bread served with it was nothing special. I recall having a nice variety on previous meals at Lidia's. It is a beautiful space, but I am not sure I would return at least for lunch. Lunch for 3 of us was nearly $60 - and that is with water to drink and no dessert.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A classic case of a franchise sacrificing quality for quantity. The food is highly overpriced for what it is, which is strip mall level quality. Maybe this is only a problem in Pittsburgh. I wish the experience of this restaurant matched the experience of Lidia's cooking show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ahhhhmazing restaurant! It's a family go to for special occasions. The pasta trio on Mothers Day was delish! We couldn't decide which pasta was our favorite. They were all that good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch was a bit overpriced and the service was not as good as it used to be.
My last few visits have been very disappointing. Pasta trio is a great old standard, but everything else mediocre.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic experience! We enjoyed a celebratory dinner for my daughter's graduation and the food and ambience were exceptional.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had the three course pasta trio. The salad was amazing. The three pasta choices were very good, especially the tagliatelle with Bolognese sauce and the pea-mint ravioli with pesto. I was a little disappointed with the dessert I chose, the cannolo. I would definitely return for dinner again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My sister and I drove 2 hours (and brought her kids) for our favorite splurge - brunch at Lidia's. As always, the food was amazing! We both had the pasta trio and had our plates refilled multiple times. Our server, however, left a lot to be desired. When I informed him of my severe food allergy, he reassured me that one dish was safe but I had to ask separately about other items on the menu and in the antipasti buffet. He then recommended two drinks containing the ingredient I cannot eat! We had to ask for bread and again for butter (assorted breads and flavored butters are always included with brunch), and a third time to have the flavors named after they were brought to the table. I hope this was an exception rather than typical for the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals, Fireplace, Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have occasion to be in Pittsburgh about 5 times per year. Great Italian food though the menu will appeal to any appetite. Very responsive staff. Modern atmosphere. Highly recommend

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Visited Lidia's in celebration of my daughter's graduation from college. The meal was superb and the service excellent (thank you, Steven!) I recommend the 3 course tasting menu. Next time I visit Pittsburgh and am deciding where to go for dinner, Lidia's is at the top of my list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Use to like Lidia's however, found food bland, service slow and moderatly attentive. Lidia's really should step up thier game with so many chooses now in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We've been to Lidia before and liked it. This time it was not a particularly busy night in the main dining room, although there was an upstairs party, but service was incredibly slow and the food was not particularly hot. It took a while to get additional pasta on the pasta trio. When we ordered dessert we waited 40-45 minutes for it which was surprising because it should have been prepared already. Our dinner took over 2.5 hours. The food was good, but overall we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I wonder if Lydia has anything to do with this restaurant. The food is mediocre. I've been here twice. Just bland food. The space is lovely. It doesn't come close to her restaurant in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Was so excited for this meal. We'd already been to the one in NYC and it was excellent.
Unfortunately, my husband's lasagna was cold (when was it made?) my dad's sauce was ordinary and my gnocchi was ordinary.
The cappuccino tasted like the ines I make at home in my keurig.
Meh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service, super friendly waitress and extraordinary food! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was our first time here and would definitely go back. Service and food was excellent. Would recommend the trio.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our experience at Lidia's wasn't horrible, but wasn't all that great either. Our sever was a bit slow and there was some confusion over our orders. Everyone at our table's food came out at different temperatures, and my salmon was ice cold. The wine by the glass options are very limited. The only thing that I will say was amazing were the crunchy breadsticks brought with the bread basket. Overall, I thought it was overpriced and not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We looked forward to this dinner for several months. Sadly we found the atmosphere to be very lacking in the Italian charm that we expected. We went, expecting to enjoy an Italian experience but other than the food, there was nothing Italian about our evening from music to décor to wait staff. Very disappointing. The food was very good although mine arrived lukewarm. Also, even though the restaurant wasn't full, it was very noisy. When the reservation was made I was asked if it was a special occasion, however there was no acknowledgement of that, even though I said it was a birthday. Why bother asking? We watch your show and love your program Lidia, but your restaurant did not do you justice. We drove a long distance and I honestly wouldn't do it again. Not worth the cost or the effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lidia's is lovely. This is our second time there and I was less thrilled with the pasta trio selections this time. All were cheese or butter sauces, no red sauce or something lighter. Still delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lidia's is a moderately-priced, comfortable and pretty establishment with reasonably good food. In the colder months the fireplace is quite nice. Our waitress was not great which lent the dining experience a lackluster quality. We had to ask for and wait for parmesan cheese, then for coffee, then for milk, then the coffee was cold. We had to wait for our check, then for her to pick up our payment and then she never brought our boxed up leftovers so we left without them. She was overly chatty. Pleasant enough, but a bit intrusive. The trio of tasting pastas were nice and the salads were delicious. The lemon chicken was so-so.

Tags: Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent service & food. Greatly enjoyed the Tuscan Grill menu: salmon was amazing, as were all other items that came with meal. Spouse greatly enjoyed the endless pasta. Had 4 day vacation in Pittsburgh with Lidia's being the highlighted food choice of the trip for an early birthday celebration. Although it was one of the more expensive meals we've eaten, it was well worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had a great time AGAIN. Lydia's does not disappoint, ever.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Had a business luncheon with someone who had never been there before. He was very impressed with the pasta trio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very disappointed with our dining experience at Lydia's in Pittsburgh on April 30. The purpose for the dinner was to celebrate our daughter's graduation from Pitt. We arrived around 6:05 for 6:15 reservation and hostess informed us that we would be seated closer to our reservation time. In the interim 3 other parties arrived after us (one with a 6:15 reservation) and 2 others with later reservations and they were all seated before us. It took more than 20 minutes for our first round of drinks to arrive. Our server was very good, but she seemed to be over-extended. She apologized several times for our wait. I would describe the food quality as mediocre at best. My wife order the lamb chops which appeared to be for appetizers not an entree. I order the Sunday special, and while the meat was tasty the pasta and sauce had no flavor. This is our second dining experience at Lydia's and our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was great
But the manager brought out our desert and basically threw the desert on the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Many of the dishes were bland including soup and pasta sauce. Could of just used salt and pepper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were pretty disappointed with this "famous" chef's restaurant. The service was very slow. Appetizers were good and the portions were large. The pasta trio sampler was excellent but the other dinners were just average. We would not rush back here. i am sure there are better italian restaurants in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

There's trouble here. Turmoil in the kitchen, trash in the bathrooms, cold food, and a long wait to get it. A shame. Staff told us the turmoil has been steady for months. We had been there two years ago and it was first-rate. Now, it has all the quality of a deteriorating chain. We won't take the risk of returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I dined at Lidia's with four others for a business dinner. The service was lovely, the food was delicious and I LOVED the fact that we could easily get separate checks, as we were each needing to pay with our own business credit cards. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a very nice evening with family. The lemon chicken was filling. The ziti casserole with meatballs was delicious. The pasta trio was good. It was pea and mint ravioli, farfalle bolognese and tagliatelle with shrimp. The tagliatelle was very dry, did not enjoy it. The other two pastas were delicious. The gnocchi with duck ragout was delicious. Our server Jason was very good. For dessert we shared the cannoli, ice cream sampler and apple croustade. All were very good. Nice wine selection. We enjoyed the Montepulciano off the $36 wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were visiting Pittsburgh and were delighted to see Lydia's there. It is a very nice place with a great food and excellent service. There is a three pasta tasting menu but we ordered great dishes, Gnocchi and Zuppa di Pesce, and the most delightful grappa (Berta Grappa di Nebbiolo da Barolo) as our after dinner drink. Our only problem is the location - the approach, particularly for the out of town visitors, and in the night, is not very appealing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

What can you say. It's Lidia. Our expectations were high and it met them. The trio pasta was great. Location was sweet. Service was excellentl. We will go back should we visit Pittsburgh again. Great city. Beautiful time.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was wonderful. We were disappointed in the ambiance and overall feeling of the physical restaurant. Watching Lydia cook on television is more rewarding than being in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Four of us dined sunday evening so it wasn't a busy time for them. We were seated immediately. Took our drink order quickly and were served 4 wines. Service was good except that we had to ask for the bread which we thought was odd in an Italian restaurant. We each ordered something different. Melanzane Parmigiana, Ziti con polpettine both tasty. Lidia's Italian American Sunday Sauce with Rigatoni was good but I ordered it because of the rigatoni and I was served ziti so I was disappointed. Rigatoni is my personal favorite. The grilled salmone was ok.
Would still recommend this place because everyone is different and it wouldn't be fair not to recommend it. Every place has times that are better than others. Overall it was OK. Somewhat disappointed because of the name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were disappointed. We have been here 3 previous times for brunch. The quality and selection of the antipasto and dolci tables were lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Attended brunch at 11am. Service was great. Antipasti table was disappointing. Tiny portions. Soup extremely salty. One frittata was small , the other fritatta was missing where the name plate was standing. Caesar salad was good. Shrimp salad was tasteless. The pasta trio was passable but dry, not very much sauce on any of the three. The dessert table had little that was appetizing. A few plain cookies, some tiny cheesecakes, something that was called tiramasu (not anything like any tiramasu I have had before), and small carrot cake 1.5" squares that were extremely dried out. For the price charged, I expected a higher quality of food. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very enjoyable, great menu. Staff very accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.