About Lidia's Pittsburgh

Lidia’s Pittsburgh opened in March of 2001, only two years after Lidia Bastianich and her son Joseph Bastianich opened the popular Lidia’s Kansas City, their first venture outside of Manhattan.

Lidia’s Pittsburgh menu concept is a combination of the New York restaurants, Felidia and Becco.

Lidia's is located downtown in the strip district near the Heinz History Center, Benedum Center, Heinz Hall, Byham Theater, PNC Park, and PPG Paints Arena so it's the perfect place to enjoy a great meal before your event.

The menu features a daily pasta tasting, with homemade pastas that incorporate the season's freshest ingredients in addition to hearty Italian favorites such as the osso bucco, a braised heritage pork shank with barley risotto, the scallopine of chicken breast with roasted lemon, capers, and olives, and grilled salmon filet with seasonal contorni.

1400 Smallman Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 4:30pm-6:30pm

Cross Street:
15th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 552-0150

Website:
http://www.lidias-pittsburgh.com/

Parking Details:
We offer on valet and public parking. Street parking is also available near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Walker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please join us for our Spring Garden Dinner on June 12th hosted by Lidia Bastianich. We will be offering a delectable 4 course dinner designed by Lidia for $55/person. To see the full menu being offered please go to our website We will be taking reservations throughout the evening starting at 5pm and ending at 8:30pm. Space is limited for the event so please either call 412-552-0150 to make you reservation or mark that you would like to attend the Spring Garden Dinner in the special requests section when making it through OpenTable.

Private Dining

The seasonal private dining menus capture the warmth of Lidia’s cuisine, evoking an authentic Italian meal in a lovely environment. Italian favorites are highlights of our three to four course dinner options along with our antipasti rustic buffet settings.

Lidia's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Authentic (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Good for a Date (41)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Casual (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Seasonal (14)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Lidia's never disappoints! We had such a great time and a great meal. Lidia's accommodated picky eaters and allergies. Our table of 5 was celebrating our son's 18th birthday and we had lots of different meals and appetizers and everything was super good and fresh! Our waiter was Chendo (sp?) and he was very patient and helpful and when we needed extra food or wanted to change a dish or even make one up he handled it with class and was nodding his head yes. Everything came out hot and perfectly done.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything was great, no problems. We have done the brunch before and love it. Everyone was very polite.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Lidia's restaurant and would love to come back when we come to visit Pittsburgh again as we are from Canada. The service and food were outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was excellent. Every dish is prepared with very fresh ingredients. Burrata cheese appetizer was also excellent. This imported cheese was enjoyable with nose. Wine by glass menu was ample. I ordered a restaurant regular table wine of Pinot Grigio which was very good and priced right. My husband ordered Chianti by glass which he said was very decent. Service was excellent and we felt very relaxed, never felt rushed. Ms T Manuali, Lidia's daughter, came to greet and check on us a few times, which was delightful. (I love Lidia's shows and cooking books.) As Lidia says, it was "Mmm...". We will definitely return when we are in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food and friendly service. A colleague and I were in town for a conference and the fresh ingredients helped us to feel at home. Everyone on staff was friendly and wanted us to have the best experience. WONDERFUL

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Delicious and adventurous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2017

3 Pasta dinner just missed the boat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Read some reviews that were less than complimentary, especially on the service. Eric did a very nice job for us. He was available when we needed him without hovering and had a good knowledge of the menu. Our guests arrived about 45 minutes before us, thank you highway construction and they were comfortable and well cared for. Food was good, especially the Osso Buco. My pasta trio was very good, not earth shaking, but I would order it again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful. We tried various things from the menu in our group and everything was just average overall. It seems to be a bit messy with the tastes versus a clean taste. We didn't like the trio pasta flavors and most didn't enjoy the Marinara either. The Salmon was dramatically over salted. Salads were delicious and the chef appetizer Ravioli with Chocolate everyone liked very much. Dessert was very good as well. Had some issues with check out. Amounts were rung out wrong and checks to wrong people. Change that came back was incorrect as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We are never disappointed when we dine at Lidia's! From the minute we walk into the restaurant until we have paid our check and are leaving - we are treated as valued friends. Last Saturday evening was no different. We were seated at one of Lissa's tables and she came over and immediately took our drink order wondering if it was the same as previous times we were there. How can someone remember what everyone likes to drink? She does. When I questioned her if an item which had been removed from the menu had been reintroduced, she said she would go and speak with the chef. While this item is still not back on the menu, Daniel, the chef, made us his rendition as this item for our appetizer! What a wonderful and tasty surprise! We ordered the pasta trio and each one of them was better than the other -- homemade fettuccini, bowties and ravioli! There is no way I can even begin to remember what was in each of the dishes but they were very delicious! It is so rewarding to go out to dine and be treated like a 'king and queen' which is how we feel when we are walking out of this restaurant. Terrific Food - Wonderful Service - Great Value.
Thank you to Lidia's for another remarkable meal.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

All of our servers were personable and attentive and knowledgeable. I had the pasta trio, and it was delicious - all three types. One of us had the Friday Seafood special and was less impressed with the meal. The Rockcrab was very chewy, and she couldn't eat the octopus at all. Another had the steak and deemed it perfect. The Caesar salad and Tiramasu were very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Very disappointed in the food. The pasta trio was flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Grossly overrated and overpriced. Pasta was terrible. Appetizers overpriced and average to poor at best. Many other better restaurants for the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was deplorable and would never return. Table had dirty butter dish, waitress took ages to come, never removed spare 4th table setting, took order but never checked on us during meal, never repoured water or wine, had to wait 15 minutes after finishing first course before main dishes arrived (after we complained), then only one part of special 3 part pasta dish was served while other diners still waited, server dumped pasta onto dish staining customer's shirt w/ sauce... endless other deficiencies. Such bad service and staff training simply can't make up for any quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The L'Americano scrambled eggs had a weird consistency. The pasta trio tasting was served recklessly, splattering the sauce across the table and at us. The servers each time touched the serving spoons to our plates contaminating them to our germs and likely to every other table before and after us. THe food was OK...not wow.
THe desserts outshined the brunch. Not a great value for the $35 a plate.
Can't think of a reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Pasta sampler was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

If we lived in Pittsburgh, we would eat here on a regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I love lidia's. Been there many times over years both in pittsburg and ny.

Usually the food is memorable, this time cant say the same. We had the tri pasta, rhe ravioli was awesome, the linguini was underseasoned. We requested for a vegetarian version, it seems the sauce had seafood smell. When asked they said it was the raw tomato. I would think shrimp and tomatos smell differently.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Seven friends with varied tastes, all enjoyed an amazing evening of tremendous food, excellent service, and delightful conversation. The zucchini fritter was a light-as-air suffle that we shared and could have lived on for the evening. We all ordered different entres, so we could try them all. The osso buco was hearty & tender over a divine barley rissoto, and the various pastas were delicious. The desserts were scrumptious. If you get a chance, try the violet limoncello, it will be az magical end to your evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Very nice, we tried the pasta sampler all inclusive dinner. It would have been helpful if the server explained each pasta. Corn ravioli was my favourite and the black squid ink was very good, the Sea Urchin was more intense in flavour. Our server was not that busy and could have been a bit more attentive but the wait staff was very attentive. Chicken dinner was amazing, all the food was great. I did purchase a signed cookbook, so nice that the cookbooks were available. The restaurant was within walking distance of downtown. I came home to find the Cannoli recipe was in the cookbook, super find.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We always have a great dinner and overall experience at Lidia's. The food is excellent and our server Laurie was great. My favorite dinner is the pasta trio. You get unlimited servings of three homemade, fresh pastas served table side. Lidia's is an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I was actually disappointed in Lidia's. I was with two others, one of whom is a big fan of Lidia, so we were excited to try it. We each had a cocktail which was delicious - a blueberry Bellini.
Our server and his support staff were perfect, very professional, attentive, and friendly. The atmosphere was nice, nothing exciting or super different.

The food, though, was a disappointment. Our Lidia fan had the Chicken Parmigiana , and it was delicious. The sauce was very tasty. Another friend started with the Cesare salad, followed by Lasagna. The salad was delicious, but the Lasagna was overcooked - perhaps even reheated in the microwave - and very dry with not much seasoning. I ordered the Insalata Mista salad, followed by Osso Buco. The salad was okay although not very flavorful. Osso Buco is a slow-braised pork shank, and it's served over barley risotto. The pork shank was very tender but flavorless. The risotto had bits of vegetables in it, so it look like it was going to be good but, again, very bland.

Overall, very disappointing. I hope it was just a bad day for them.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was good. The wine list was unfamiliar. The server whispered but the background noise was loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Some dishes appeared a bit pricey, and the noise level can sometimes be rather high, even when the bar is not terribly busy. Otherwise, it is a nice place.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food! Knowledgeable and friendly staff! Atmosphere very inviting!! Loved the entire experience! !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We are frequenters of Becco in NYC and we were happy to see that she had a restaurant in Pittsburgh. I booked reservations for dinner on our recent mini vacation. While the service was fine the food was a disappointment. My son who loves spaghetti and meatballs said the meatball was disgusting. My husband who also loves meatballs did not eat his which came with the baked ziti. I ordered chicken parm. It was just ok. It doesn't come close to the amazing Beccos chicken parm. We would not dine here again and would not recommend it. We ate at Smallwood Galley the next night and had an amazing meal. We wished we had discovered this spot first as we would have been happy to dine here both nights of our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We met friends that we had not seen in 10 years and it also was our anniversary. That said we had lots of catching up to do. We almost closed the restaurant and were not rushed at all. Food was amazing! They also acknowledged our anniversary with a lovely cookie treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great to be there since we are big fans of Lydia's show

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Service was very slow. Food was ok but bland. Had to ask for my glass of wine and dessert. Overall took a long time and was overpriced for the food and service. Have gone in the past and enjoyed a lot. Could have been a glitch, but overall was not satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Super fresh and delicious pasta. Not overdresed, perfect in every way. Gigantic and fabulous ceasar salad. And the tiramasu..... to die for.
Lovely atmosphere and a great wine selection

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great meal offered during Restaurant Week. Will definitely look forward to coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing pasta! Focus your entree choice on pasta. This is definitely lidia' specialty. We had incredibly personalized service from Danielle. Ask for her!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The burrata bruschetta was EXCELLENT. However, the Pasta Trio Sample was not. The crab and corn ravioli was okay. But the other choices were a disappointment. There was flat spaghetti (thinner than tagliatelle) with olio and shrimp. The shrimp tasted fine but the dish was beyond bland. The bacon flavor on the spaghetti with tomato and bacon dish overpowered the pasta. Disappointing evening.

The valet price was $7. I handed $10 to the valet and he didn't even attempt to give me change back. Added insult to the evening.

Thank goodness for the burrata bruschetta though! Will try this restaurant again as other friends went recently and enjoyed... but will definitely not ask for the Pasta sampling...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I was very disappointed with my visit to Lydias. My friend had the eggplant parmigiana and it was very mushy. I had the the spinach lazania and it was tasteless. Very limited menu. It mostly consists of pasta, pasta , and more pasta. I thought it was almost equal to Olive Garden.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was spectacular I had the fava beans salad light perfect for summer nice acidic bite with the buttery richness.
Second course was porcella and greens great treatment of a classic combination
I also was able to convince my table mates to share some pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

All you can eat pasta trio! Our food was delicious, as always here! The service was impeccable. We came to celebrate a special occasion and we felt like family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I would strongly recommend this restaurant for a date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We went there for the Restaurant Week menu and were not disappointed. The arancini were flavorful, and the beet salad was absolutely beautiful. Likewise the pasta course was creamy but not heavy. And the tiramisu was ultra-light and ultra-delicious. Lidia's new head chef has not disappointed with his menu or presentation.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great meal and great service by Laurie (sp?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Service was very slow and food was not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.