Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

Seasonal tasting menus

176, Saint-Viateur Ouest
Montréal, QC H2T2L3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 pm -10:30 pm

Cross Street:
De l'Esplanade & Waverly

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 278-6854

Website:
http://www.lesdeuxsingesdemontarvie.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, paid and unpaid

Public Transit:
Metro Rosemont or Metro Laurier
Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.

Executive Chef:
Sean Murray Smith

Private Party Facilities:
For group reservations 7 people and more

Private Party Contact:
Nada Abou Younes: (514) 278-6854

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (29)
Tasting Menu (27)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Organic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We had an extraordinary meal at Les Deux Singes, with excellent service and one of the best cocktails I've ever had. The food was sublimely fresh, expertly prepared, and magnificently imaginative. It was an utterly lovely evening, worth every penny and more.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Magnifique à tous points de vue! Un incontournable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

This was an unbelievable restaurant! Unique and creative in every way. We are complete 'foodies' and we're completely amazed! Excellent, exceptional, wow! You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This place is amazing! From the amuse bouches which was breakfast themed to the spruce ice cream, this place was absolutely, the best ever meal my family has ever eaten. We were blown away with the attention to detail, perfect temperatures, and beautiful plating. It was an art show of food. This is a must eat in Montreal. Magnifique!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Every moment, every course, every one of the staff we interacted with, the overall vibe, the music - all of it - made this one of our most favorite dining experiences ever. My husband and I chose Les Deux Singes to celebrate our anniversary. And we are so happy we did. The tasting menu was phenomenal. Each course was artfully prepared, but not pretentious. The food was perfectly balanced with wonderful textures and flavors. Our server as well as the chef(?) were perfectly attentive (not too much/not too little), personable and professional. They even acknowledged the celebratory nature of our visit when dessert arrived. It was just lovely. So happy. We'll revisit on our next trip to Montreal, without question. Thank you, Les Deux Singes and staff for a truly memorable experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Limited menu: 1 fish, 1 meat and 1 veg. dish. The presentation was lovely and the food was a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fabulous. Very talented and creative chef. We enjoyed it greatly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was a unique and fantastic dining experience . The staff was attentive and the food was awesome. It was all fresh with a host of interesting ingredients. The place is furnished very simply but do not be alarmed. The food looked beautiful and tasted out of this world. There are only choices for either the vegetarian or regular tasting menu . We did regular and the wine pairing. I would highly recommend

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Another fantastic dining experience at Les deux singes. We have been here 4 times over the past 5 years and every time is better than the last. The menu was fantastic. The seafood menu was our favourite (we each got a different menu and split so we could try more). I wouldn't do the wine pairing as I prefer red and it is mixed. But other than that I would change a thing. Every bite was exciting and delicious and we will most definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Exceptional food served without pretense or pomp. Every dish was a delicate yet satisfying surprise for an incredible value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 4, 2017

One of the best dinners of my life. An explosion of flavors, colors, flowers and smells. On each new dish, a new big surprise that makes you want to eat with your eyes. You must visit this restaurant!

Tags: Vegan, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Loved it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing food and wonderful service. This place is a real gem.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food presentation artful. Very good though a bit expensive

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Les dumplings étaient particulièrement bons, tous les plats étaient magnifiques.
Le service était remarquablement bon et attentionné.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Quoi que déjà mentionné à la serveuse (qui semblait être la propriétaire), c'est la 2e fois que j'y vais et c'est le meilleur restaurant de Montréal, voire même au Québec. Et pour dire, j'ai fait quelques restaurants 4 diamants et 5 diamants dans cette province, et c'est simplement sublime.
Ce n'est pas seulement une expérience culinaire, mais c'est la prise de conscience que l'assiette servie est avant tout une recherche de saveur, suivi d'un esthétisme comme un tableau d'art.
Bravo !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Christine and I really enjoyed our meal Weds. night. It was one of the most creative meals we've had in recent years; every dish, including the amuse-bouche, was delicious and artfully prepared; Christine got the vegetarian tasting menu ($50) and I got the pescetarian tasting menu ($60). My only complaint is that the sea bass main course was really small, hardly big enough to split and not big enough to be a main course. It was very good, just not enough. The dessert was awesome.
The wine by the glass list is small but reasonably priced and our server, who was awesome, was very helpful with regard to matching wines; the wine-pairing, which we didn't opt for, seemed very reasonably priced to us and we would likely add that the next time we visit Les Deux Singes de Montarvie.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing...As Usual

I have been to Les Deux Singes de Montarvie on a number of occasions. In fact, every time I visit the city of Montreal, I make a reservation to dine here. My absolute favorite place to celebrate my birthday!

You will be blown away by the artistry of the cuisine. The flavors, colors, and ingredients are simply genius. They have a tasting menu with a meat and a fish option, and then they always offer a vegetarian selection as well. If you have a food allergy, sensitivity, or preference, they will also gladly accommodate you. Just make sure you let them know.

You can't just walk off the street and get a table here. It's pretty popular. I make my reservation 6-8 weeks in advance. Try their speciality cocktails to begin your meal and then ask for a wine pairing for an extra $30. It's totally worth it.

You'll start your meal with crunchy warm bread and whipped butter and, before you have a chance to gobble it all down, a creative amuse bouche will arrive that will delight you. The last one I sampled looked like a miniature breakfast plate. It was incredible. The courses will follow with perfect time to savor and linger over each one...onion dumpling soup so pretty it's almost a shame to eat it, fried oysters atop creamy risotto and dotted with fiddleheads, and a delicately cooked sea bass with paper thin sliced scallops and caviar. Dessert was a chocolate, caramel, spruce and black garlic combination that was truly one of the best dessert I have ever tasted.

Go here to be impressed and, above all, spoiled. This will be "one of the best of the best" for each and every person that enters their door.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Mon restaurant préféré à Montréal. Service impécable, les assiettes sont de toute beauté en plus d'être délicieuses le menu change tous les 2 mois donc, impossible de se tanner. Menu végétarien disponible. Ambiance intime. Un gros Wow!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 9, 2017

C'est devenu mon resto préféré. Un véritable coup de coeur! Longue vie aux deux singes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was fabulous and the service amazing. My one complaint is that the dessert had too many things going on with it. Keep it simple could go a long way.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Quaint restaurant with original menu. It was a set menu served in a casual and relaxed manner. Service was excellent and the food was enjoyable. Would go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Second time eating here - couldn't be happier with the experience. The tasting menu (both times) was among the best meals I'd ever had. Service goes above and beyond expectations. The tasting menu price is entirely reasonable, with the wine pairing being of particularly good value. I couldn't recommend it more strongly. I will be coming back whenever I'm in the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wow! I was bowled over by the quality and inventiveness of the food and the excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 1, 2017

experience unique, incomparable nul part ailleurs! Une agréable surprise en bouche à chaque bouchée!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Ethereal! Amazing food served in a casual yet professional establishment. Tasting menu only concept that delivers with each course. A must try if in Montreal. Should have a Michelin star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

One of my most memorable dining experiences. Each dish was playful in the flavors creative and unexpected. Service was exceptional and knowledgeable. Truly one of the best tables in Montreal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I wanted to try this place for a long time having seen other reviews, and was not disappointed. Excellent quality food, locally sourced, beautifully presented and innovative dishes. Also, great service....highly recommend the wine pairing as really not overpriced. I like the fixed menu, but may not work for picky eaters, as you get what you get....but for anyone else, I highly recommend. I've been to more renowned, way more expensive places that were nowhere near as good as Les Deux Singes de Montarvie.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Every course on the tasting menu was a work of art, from the exquisite tastes, the interplay of flavors and textures, to each perfectly placed leaf, blossom, petal and mustard seed that made each dish so visually appealing as well. Get the wine pairing, it puts the whole experience over the top. I live near NYC and have never had or heard of anything like this, so it was worth going to Montreal for the weekend -- and even if I could find this kind of meal and experience in NYC I'm sure it would be priced in the upper stratosphere, although this was not. If you can get a reservation - GO.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Installés au comptoir nous avons vu à l'oeuvre une équipe professionnelle et coordonnée nous préparer des plats d'exception pour le palais et les yeux. L'accompagnement des vins était recherché et harmonieux. Un service attentif, personnalisé et empressé.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Truly an amazing restaurant! The attention to details was excellent. It was indeed both a feast for the eyes and the "tummy".

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really great and underappreciated place in Montreal. The place has a great atmosphere and outstanding service, the tasting menu is always delicious and creative.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and amazing food!! Definitely recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Unforgettable experience. We enjoyed everything, will definite be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Some of the best pork belly I have ever had.
Great vibe, food and service. The location is fairly small and fills up fast but the way it is set up it still allows for intimate conversation as the volume never seemed too loud. When entering just me mindful to push hard on the door to get in though because it can be hard to enter.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fun, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Pour la seconde fois, ce chaleureux et délicieux restaurant a tenu ses promesses de dégustation ! Nous nous sommes régalés. Le service est très sympathique ! Une superbe table, nous reviendrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Simplement, doucement, je réalise avec ma belle, que le bonheur se conjugue au rythme des services, au fabuleux des assiettes.

On sent l'amour dans l'élaboration et la tendresse dans la confection.

Merci, nous reviendrons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Hands down the Absolute BEST Meal I Have Ever Had!!! Would give it more stars if I could. You would be silly not to go here! Loved ever single thing about this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent food and service.
I brought two out-of-town guests; one of them is a Vegetarian and he said the Vegetarian tasting menu was the best he'd ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Another amazing meal! This place deserves a Michelin star!!! One of favorites places in Montreal. Well done yet again <3

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.