Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

Seasonal tasting menus

176, Saint-Viateur Ouest
Montréal, QC H2T2L3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 pm -10:30 pm

Cross Street:
De l'Esplanade & Waverly

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 278-6854

Website:
http://www.lesdeuxsingesdemontarvie.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, paid and unpaid

Public Transit:
Metro Rosemont or Metro Laurier
Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.

Executive Chef:
Sean Murray Smith

Private Party Facilities:
For group reservations 7 people and more

Private Party Contact:
Nada Abou Younes: (514) 278-6854

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

4.6

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (31)
Tasting Menu (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Open Kitchen (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Cozy (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Authentic (13)
Seasonal (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Organic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Some of the best pork belly I have ever had.
Great vibe, food and service. The location is fairly small and fills up fast but the way it is set up it still allows for intimate conversation as the volume never seemed too loud. When entering just me mindful to push hard on the door to get in though because it can be hard to enter.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fun, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Pour la seconde fois, ce chaleureux et délicieux restaurant a tenu ses promesses de dégustation ! Nous nous sommes régalés. Le service est très sympathique ! Une superbe table, nous reviendrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Simplement, doucement, je réalise avec ma belle, que le bonheur se conjugue au rythme des services, au fabuleux des assiettes.

On sent l'amour dans l'élaboration et la tendresse dans la confection.

Merci, nous reviendrons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Hands down the Absolute BEST Meal I Have Ever Had!!! Would give it more stars if I could. You would be silly not to go here! Loved ever single thing about this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food and service.
I brought two out-of-town guests; one of them is a Vegetarian and he said the Vegetarian tasting menu was the best he'd ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Another amazing meal! This place deserves a Michelin star!!! One of favorites places in Montreal. Well done yet again <3

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Awesome fixed menu. As good as always

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Modernist cooking at its best. The dishes are uniquely flavorful, with each ingredient carefully chosen and placed. Overall, a great experience, and one that I would happily return to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This meal was incredible! Every note, from the cocktails and the amuse bouche to the post-dessert coffee, was perfect. The entire ensemble of each tasting flight, regular and pescatarian, were so attentively considered. The beauty of each dish was equally matched by the exquisite taste. Our servers were kind and informative. We loved our entire experience. Les Deux Singes de Montarvie has instantly become an installation in all future trips to Montreal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 21, 2017

chaque fois un véritable plaisir !!! un des meilleurs resto à montréal sans aucun doute, le bonheur !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excelent experience! Beautiful plates and amazing flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

5 course french meal. A meal to remember. The service was exceptional. The food was very different from what we are used to but interesting and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food and service were truly exceptional. This is a place to try

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Just had an incredible dining experience from the moment we walked through the door. The ambience of the decor, the friendly smiles of the staff, the herb garden by the kitchen, and the jazzy funk music selection set the mood of the food to come. We had the tasting menu paired with wine. The wine selection played up the food notes beautifully. And the food was outstanding pieces of edible art - fresh ingredients, colorful combination of flowers, herbs, and sauces. Such imaginative combination of flavors and ingredients! Three hours flew by in an instant, culminating in a citrusy dessert that left us smile. We were there with two teenage girls who loved and appreciated every dish. We travel a lot and love good food and this experience is at the top of our charts. Thank you to the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Every bite was unique and delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Simply extraordinary menu. Fabulous personal service and attention to detail

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We're in town visiting from Chicago an had heard the food scene in Montreal was good. This place was everything I hoped it would be and more. Every plate was carefully crafted and incredibly delicious. I wish it never had to end. I would definitely come back next time I'm in Montreal!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We loved it all - the best in Montreal!!
Everything was wonderful, food, service, ambience, noise level...!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Consistently outstanding ! This is the fourth or fifth time we've been to the Deux SInges...and the first since the tasting menus (vegetarian or meat) are the only option. This affords the chef and team superior control over every aspect of the meal and eliminates clients' previously near-impossible task of choosing what to order. Very special, from A to Z!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Un restaurant qui vaut le détour, agréablement supris du menu! J'y retournerai sans problème!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of the most beautifully crafted, taste explosive and creative meals I have had anywhere. Was recommended to me by someone who comes up from Vermont to eat there. I will definitely be spreading the word myself. Exquisite service on top of a wonderful meal. Thank you for a great night!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

J'adore !!! Les plats sont succulents et tellement beaux !

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

La cuisine est raffinée, bien parfumée, équilibrée, créative, savoureuse et bien présentée ; le service est attentionné. Notre seul bémol concerne la musique qui est un peu forte et déconnectée par rapport à la délicatesse des mets et du service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Bravo pour la Cuisine les chefs venant des Cantons de l Est très surprenant très Bonne Table surement une des meilleurs depuis Longtemps et nous allons y retourner c'est sur

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Outstanding Value, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere were excellent. Will definitely be back as well as recommending to everyone we know!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 9, 2017

De belles assiettes fabriquées par un artiste.
Une grande variété de saveurs.
Mais aussi, plein de textures agréables.
Peu de choix au menu mais peu importe, tout était excellent.
Le bâtiment et le décor ne sont pas à la hauteur de la gastronomie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Menu original, saveurs au rendez vous, une agréable surprise gastronomique. Service irréprochable. 270 dollars pour deux avec bouteille de vin.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A truly unique experience. Fabulously creative food, efficient and friendly service, and a beautiful decor and ambiance. We had been recommended by a close friend and were not disappointed. While the price point is on the high side (~$60 each) we were celebrating a new job and wanted to mark this was a very special occasion. Brand new flavours paired perfectly with expert preparation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Perfect like usual. Everything was wonderful, from eating with the eyes and tasting after….wonderful experience

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went to Les Deux Singes for my anniversary. We love tasting food and wine and the restaurant met our expectations. Shaun, the waiter, made our diner enjoyable.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Il n'y a pas de qualificatifs assez élogieux pour décrire ce restaurant.
Voilá de nombreux mois que nous retournons régulièrement pour déguster leur "menu dégustation" qui change tous les deux mois et,à chaque reprise,la découverte est surprenante par le soin et l'amour unis pour une nouvelle oeuvre d'art.
Ce restaurant est un "incontournable" à Montréal!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was my second time at the restaurant in late January 2017. I dined on the vegetarian tasting menu -- which was exquisite! The chefs created a menu with many winter ingredients that came out tasting light, vibrant and healthy. Every course was a taste and visual masterpiece. I hardly wanted to put my fork into the beet/avocado creation it was so beautifully presented. I had a mild Sauvignon Blanc that complimented the food nicely. This restaurant is excellent value and the service is highly professional yet personalized. The waiter (who is completely bilingual) made mention that I had visited before, which was a nice touch. The restaurant's situation is changing -- the owners will be enlarging the space and probably changing the name. All the more reason to go as it should be easier to get a reservation! I cannot recommend Les Deux Singes de Montarvie highly enough!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 26, 2017

OMG. Don't know where to begin. First of all, everyone there is friendly and helpful. No rushing patrons. We sat at the bar and watched everything being made. The herbs are cut freshly for each dish! Each dish is a work of art. It felt almost like disrespecting the artistic creation to bite into the various dishes. There are 2 choices: pescavegetarian or with meat. I chose the former. Everything was not only delicious, but like an explosion of my taste buds with so many creative combinations of flavors. I was so excited that I took photos of each dish and was showing them to friends the next day, while recommending the restaurant to them. We will definitely be back, perhaps with friends next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and the service were among the best I've had in Montreal. I will return to this restaurant and will absolutely recommend it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our second time at "Les Deux Singes". This time I had the vegetarian option and my wife the meat. every dish is a feast for the eyes: I mean there are like 40 ingredients in each one! So many flavours, well thought out and put together. Our plan is to come at least once a month (they change the menu every 4-6 weeks, I am told). This place is on the top of my list anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Disabled Access, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants! Been here 3 times and I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Super découverte à essayer! Si vous êtes ouvert à essayer des nouveautés, c'est l'endroit approprié.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very inventive dishes, non-solicitous service, very limited wine list. I didn't love everything we had and the menu was a bit pricey but the dishes were very inventive and pretty to look at. The service was the traditional slower pace, which was mostly fine, and very nice when they did stop by. If you are into tasting menus with interesting flavors and textures, give this a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was an unexpected surprise. From the outside, it looks like an unassuming cozy cafe however, the food is mindblowingly delicious. The best meal I've had in Montreal by far! The service was amazing, they worked with our dietary restrictions and explained every plate thoroughly. I wish I lived in Montreal so I could frequent this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

For my son's birthday: great food and the servers took time to explain each plate. I'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.