About Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

176, Saint-Viateur Ouest
Montréal, QC H2T2L3
View Larger Map

Seasonal tasting menus

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 pm -10:30 pm

Cross Street:
De l'Esplanade & Waverly

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 278-6854

Website:
http://www.lesdeuxsingesdemontarvie.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, paid and unpaid

Public Transit:
Metro Rosemont or Metro Laurier
Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.

Executive Chef:
Sean Murray Smith

Private Party Facilities:
For group reservations 7 people and more

Private Party Contact:
Nada Abou Younes: 5142786854x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
  • Scallops With Kiwi Pesto - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
  • Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
  • Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
  • Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
  • Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
  • Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
Filet - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
Scallops With Kiwi Pesto - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC
Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran - Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, Montréal, QC

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
11 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Mile End ›

Special Occasion (37)
Tasting Menu (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I booked this restaurant based on all th ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

I booked this restaurant based on all the great reviews on open table. The evening started off well with cheerful service from our waitress. The three of us ordered one meat and two vegetarian tasting menus. The dishes all looked great and obviously a lot of effort was put into food presentation. The food also tasted good but after a couple of dishes it seemed to become repetitive and the flavour was a little too acidic for our liking. It seemed there is always vinegar in the food. The size of the main entrees were also a little small and looked the same as the other dishes.

A big surprise came after we had desert and before tea/coffee, which was supposed to be included. A waiter just abruptly presented us with the bill without us asking. I thought that was unusual. Maybe they just had an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Delicious and very inventive food plus e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Delicious and very inventive food plus excellent service make for a great, special meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was amazing. Need to b ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food and service was amazing. Need to be inclined for a little exploratory eating. Marriage of tastes was an experience to remember. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Qualité/prix remarquable ! Bonne portion ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Qualité/prix remarquable ! Bonne portion ! Mélange de textures et de goût ! Belle présentation dans tous les plats ! Je veux y retourner à tous les changements de menu :-)

Tags: Ingrédients locaux, Cuisine créative, Cuisine ouverte, Une occasion spéciale, Romantique, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Il en vaut le détour, Décontracté, Menu dégustation, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellents menus dégustation ! Le classi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellents menus dégustation ! Le classique et le presque végétarien (plat de poisson) ! Tout était délicieux, fin, délicat, original et savoureux. Super service sympa et souriant ! Chouette playlist musicale pour une belle ambiance sonore ! Une très bonne et belle adresse ! Nous reviendrons.

Tags: Places au bar, Cuisine créative, Une occasion spéciale, Cuisine ouverte, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Menu dégustation, Une valeur sans pareille
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J'adore ce resto et compte y retourner. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 17, 2016

J'adore ce resto et compte y retourner. Comme d'habitude le repas fut très savoureux et la présentation des plats était exquise. L'accueil et le service étaient à la fois chaleureux et professionnels. Les plats du menu dégustation sont variés et la quantité tout à fait suffisante. Le décor est sobre ce qui contribue à un atmosphère détendu et sans prétention. Seul petit bémol est que j'ai trouvé le choix de musique un peu agressif et le volume un peu élevé. Par contre on le remarquait moins au fur et à mesure que le resto se remplissait. J'apprécierais également un choix de bière un peu plus varié.

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Ingrédients locaux, Une occasion spéciale, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, Cuisine créative, Cuisine ouverte
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal I've had in Montreal.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Best meal I've had in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Très bon rapport qualité-prix pour une c ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Très bon rapport qualité-prix pour une cuisine haute-gamme et créative, servie dans un cadre chaleureux et sans prétention. Bon choix de vins à prix très correct. On y retournera très certainement.

Tags: Menu dégustation, Chaleureux, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Cocktails artisanaux, Cuisine ouverte, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lived up to and exceeded the hype. Every ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lived up to and exceeded the hype.

Every dish was fantastic.

A real Gem.

Already looking forward to our next meal there!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service outstanding food and pre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing service outstanding food and presentation. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, delicious courses, g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Impeccable service, delicious courses, great ambiance, there isn't much more one could ask. Highly recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in Montre ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Montreal and I've eaten at all the best.

We chose to spend our 15th anniversary here..... never disappointed.

Everything from the minute we walked in to dessert was phenomenal.

We will return again and again. Thank you for always making our evening so special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small but very unique restaurant. Very i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Small but very unique restaurant. Very imaginative, fresh and delicious food. Would highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

la finesse ,la présentation, la qualité ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

la finesse ,la présentation, la qualité et l'audace de saveur font de ce restaurent pour nous notre nouveau numéros un a Montreal et on a bien hâte de retourné

Tags: Cuisine ouverte, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Cuisine moléculaire, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, Une occasion spéciale, Cuisine créative, Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I read some reviews about this restauran ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I read some reviews about this restaurant on TripAdvisor. All reviews seemed to agree that the food was extraordinary. Reviews were written mostly by tourists. It really got my attention as a Montrealer not knowing this restaurant. I had a brunch there a good 8 years ago. I was not overly impressed. At the restaurant last night I learnt that the restaurant had new owners and a new chef ( Shawn Smiths).

We were not disappointed because the food was out of this world. Each service was delightful, tasty, well presented and so creative, particularly the Vegetarian Pesco menu.... Both menus were really exceptionnel. As a Montrealer I will certainly go back to try their new menus that should be out soon. The chef will change both menus each 6 weeks. I look forward to tasting his great food again. I must also add that Shawn who looked after us was great and helpful.

Hélène

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. The food was exc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Outstanding experience. The food was excellent with amazing attention to detail. I loved the home made ricotta, the leeks, the salad with ingredients from the

beautiful inrestaurant herb garden, and my name written on a small board on the table. I dined alone and was made to feel very welcome by the owner-hosts and staff.

A wonderful 9 table gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exquisite gastronomic art that pleases a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

exquisite gastronomic art that pleases all the senses.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OMG. We just finished our meal at this r ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 27, 2016

OMG. We just finished our meal at this restaurant. It was the best meal I have ever had in my life. Not kidding. Hands down. And I have eaten at some great places. The fennel salad was a great example: as the fork passed my nose, the floral notes teased the senses and then when the food settled on my tongue, the flavors told over. All of our courses were like this: fragrant, flavorful, fantastic. Please do yourself a favor...make s reservation and go to this place. Enjoy the meal, the paired wines. Take your lover, your friend, whoever - and sink into the sensation of food that transcends nutrition and becomes an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in all respects. Just a won ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Outstanding in all respects. Just a wonderful variety of flavors and textures in every course. Service was impeccable and matched the charming ambiance. The size of the place limits the number of tables, which keeps the noise level to a minimum. No problem with the price, considering you get 5 courses (including dessert) of some of the most exceptional food that will ever cross your taste buds! We left happy and full, and will return. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our dinner. The food and servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We loved our dinner. The food and service were as wonderful as the amazing presentation! We would not hesitate to recommend this little gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an awesome experience!

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Just an awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb in all respects. Best meal we had ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Superb in all respects. Best meal we had in Montreal after one month of dining out. Great flavors and texture for all dishes. Great presentation

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, tiny gem of a restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fantastic food, tiny gem of a restaurant. Liked how they had their own little herb garden they used on the spot for dishes

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, comme toujours! Amazing food, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent, comme toujours! Amazing food, attentive, professional service, all in a relaxed atmosphere. Have been here every time we're in Montreal for several years and LDS remains as amazing as the first time. Merci bien! Continuer pour longtemps SVP!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'est la deuxième fois que nous mangeons ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 7, 2016

C'est la deuxième fois que nous mangeons à ce restaurant et ce n'est pas la dernière fois! Excellent rapport qualité-prix et service très sympathique et sans prétention!

Tags: Romantique, La perle du quartier, Une occasion spéciale, Décontracté, Cuisine ouverte, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Menu dégustation, Cuisine créative, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une valeur sans pareille, Santé, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, De bonnes options pour les végétariens
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

3rd time here, was fab food, wonderful s ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 7, 2016

3rd time here, was fab food, wonderful service. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its too strong seasoning for us.

 
 (London)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Its too strong seasoning for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

From start to finish, our experience was ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

From start to finish, our experience was fantastic. Everything was delicious and well presented. Fantastic service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming to this restaurant re ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I have been coming to this restaurant repeatedly for years. The experience is reliably superlative. This is the highest praise I have given any restaurant, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant. We booked a rese ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Loved this restaurant. We booked a reservation well in advance and it was a packed room. I was assured by calling ahead that my families' food allergies would not be a problem. We were seated immediately, drinks followed--well made and our foodie adventure began. This restaurant sets a gold standard for anything we sit down to. Wonderful food, wonderful service staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The presentation & flavors from each dis ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The presentation & flavors from each dish was wonderful! Menu is fixed with two four course dinner choices. One of which is vegetarian. So picky eaters are limited. Although the experience is exceptional.

One of Montreals greats!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was a pleasant surprise. Located in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was a pleasant surprise. Located in an eclectic neighborhood, in a store front. The food was beautifully presented. Choice of only 2 options - vegetarian or non-vegetarian. Each course was a treat. Loved it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

What a fantastic little restaurant!!! Th ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 14, 2016

What a fantastic little restaurant!!! The food was wonderful and so beautiful looked like art on a plate! I almost didn't want to eat it just stare at it. We had the four course tasting and each course exceeded my expectations. When in Montreal it's a must place to eat at. Plan in advance its a small place and fills up well in advance.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very pleasant way to enjoy bea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is a very pleasant way to enjoy beautifully presented food with wonderful blends of flavor. Since they have only prix fix options, picky eaters may want to consider whether it will work for them. We found our courses to be terrific, without being over the top exotic. Service is super. Wonderful young vibe.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience and would re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic dining experience and would recommend to any friends: great service, each dish was perfectly executed & decorated to feel like I was eating art. Highly impressed and it's hard to impress me as Ibe eaten at many great restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is tops for innovation, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This restaurant is tops for innovation, taste and ingredients. Meets all the reviews I've read.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great menu, amazing service and cozy env ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great menu, amazing service and cozy environment. Recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was equally impressive this is a restaurant that is a must for all Montreal natives and tourists alike..a definitive redo

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing culinary experience! Honestly de ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Amazing culinary experience! Honestly deserves a Michelin Star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Notre restaurant favori à Montréal: les ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Notre restaurant favori à Montréal: les plats sont d'une grande finesse, toujours conçus à partir d'ingrédients de saison de qualité. Le menu change toutes les 2-3 semaines on est donc surpris à chaque visite!

Bref, une excellente adresse à Montréal!

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Ingrédients locaux, Une occasion spéciale, Cuisine ouverte, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, Menu dégustation, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.