About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're featuring the "Norwegian Miracle," an ultra-premium cod. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Casual (38)
Business Meals (35)
See All
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Great for Lunch (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Healthy (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Romantic (15)
Family Style (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fun (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
People Watching (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great Beer (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Private Room (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Sports (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for work dinner for 6 asked for private table and it was perfect table set in the back. Lobster ravioli fra diavlo was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, food was great I would suggest this place to anyone who is looking for a great meal

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

You can always count on good food at Legal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

While we were on time, there was a 15 minute wait. During this time a waiter came by with free pizza bits and other goodies. Nice touch for those who were waiting without a reservation for some time. The chowder is always top notch and the meal was very good...rainbow trout and cod...had to take dessert home...key lime pie which was excellent...service very good and attentive to our needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I always go to our dependable restaurant where we know the food is always good. It is also convenient to get to with plenty of parking. We ordered the baked stuffed lobster , our favorite, which happened to be a special this night. Our waiter, I think Brian, asked if we would like it lazyman's style and of course we said yes. This was our annual birthday dinner because my bday was Dec and my friends was Jan so we always go out and treat ourselves as our present. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always great @ Legal, but this new Braintree location pales in ambiance compared to the former SS Plaza restaurant. We were seated at a table next to the high traffic path for patrons and the service staff. Thus, we found it very noisy and agitating. However, the meal was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I have no complaints,,,it was excellent as usual

The food the service and the atmosphere

I would go back ,,,no problem

It's good every time I go there

One of my favorite restaurants

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place! Food was excellent and service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very overpriced for what it was. Haven't been to a legal sin quite a while but soon remembered after getting the check that I could have bought the same food and cooked it better myself for 1/4 the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very disappointed. Made a reservation for Valentines Day. We were stuck in back room. Meals came too quickly, seemed pre-prepared and served room temperature. We didn't receive our chowder and cancelled our wine because it was too late. Had to sit waiting for reheat when my meal got cold.

Very, very disappointed in Legals in Braintree. I have been a good customer for many years but after that experience, I'm not sure I will go back. Shame on them for not remembering we are paying customers first and deserve better .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and the wait staff were excellent and the waitress was very helpful and had a strong attention to detail

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Legal's is the go to place for seafood! I almost always get the seafood casserole. Worth every penny!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Historic, Casual, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had to ask for the lunch menu because it was Valentine's Day but it was also a regular business day so I feel the lunch menu should've been put out without having to ask for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent as usual. Busy night but table waiting for us. Service was fine-had to ask for rolls. Portions large and cooked as ordered. Always a great meal-top quality fish

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My salmon was slightly over cooked and risotto was tacky as opposed to creamy. It seemed like the foot sat under the heat lamp. Wine is overpriced. Can't get a glass under $11. Nice staff and apps.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

When it comes to seafood , Legals does everything right. The service was great and the food was well prepared.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very loud restaurant. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always reliable quality meal with options for all tastes. Reservations are recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Legal was great as usual. You can't improve too much on a top-notch seafood restaurant -especially in Boston. The food was as ordered and the service was on spot. For the quality of the fish and overall experience it was very reasonable. Make sure you get a reservation or you will be waiting for a table.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It's an oasis along the highway. Perfect ambience for decompressing after returning from Logan Airport.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Bar tenders not very friendly. Table servers were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I've had the tuna sashimi appetizer a few times now and absolutely love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is excellent but the waitress was exceptional. I also was impressed that a manager came over and asked us how everything was.

It was a very busy night but we were made to feel very welcomed and to enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I love this location. We were seated right at 7. Our waitress was very attentive. We both ordered sangria which was delicious as always. I stared off with a Caesar salad and he ordered the kung pao chicken wings which both tasted yummy. I ordered the char grilled scallops it's broccoli and mashed potatoes. Everything was so good and the portion of scallops as pretty decent. My boyfriend ordered the filet mignon with mashed potatoes and jasmine rice. He loved his food too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I will never eat there again.The food was over done we are eating fish cook it right.The sever was pushing the menu at me to push bill up not the thing to do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We received the booth we requested, and our server was particularly on top of things, which made our usual dining experience even more pleasant than usual.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious as Legals always is! Been going to Legals since the 70s! Great service! Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This restaurant was very busy with business people on a Friday at lunch. My friend and I didn't take that into consideration when we booked it. The food and service were good as with the other Legal locations

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Love your oysters both cold and fried! The best in Braintree!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As long as you are not expecting this to be the Four Seasons, it's a nice place to go for dinner. But the noise level is very high---they could use some acoustical help. You are not going to have a quiet romantic date here. But the lighting, interior design and ambiance are more upscale than you'd expect. Our waitress could not have been nicer. Food was fine--we split crab cakes and salads (unfortunately the salad greens were the course curly kind that you choke on if you're not careful). Also tried the sautéed kale, which was incongruously topped with a large dollop of cold yogurt and peanuts. That should be rethought in my opinion. Better food at Cheesecake Factory, but overall, it was a convenient location to meet up, free parking, upscale feel and not overly expensive. Staff very very nice. Was seated straight away for my 6:30 reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Legel's is one on my favorite seafood restaurant. You are always going to get the freshest fish available and, they cook it to perfection. The Braintree location is my favorite - awesome view.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Legal is one of my favorite go to restaurants. The manager and servers were very attentive and even brought us complimentary appetizer (in celebration of girl's night) and birthday dessert!! The food was excellent!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food is great and always well-prepared.

A tad expensive though.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is my favorite Legal Seafood in my area. The service is always great, food is prepped the way I like it. Staff are friendly from bar service, to wait staff, to management. They are even prompt for take out. Great place to eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This location had some very noisy areas and some quieter areas, but overall it was a bit too noisy and crowded - really packed in. The temperature varied greatly around the restaurant, some locations being uncomfortable.

Nonetheless, the food was good; however, the service was very slow.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We ordered the raw oysters, oysters legal, tuna shashimi, and Thai calamari. It was all delicious! For dessert, we split the chocolate mousse, which was heavenly!

Service was great and the food came out quickly after ordering. The only downsides are it is pricey and noisy, but the quality of food makes up for this.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Manager Gina came over and was very welcoming. Food always consistently good - we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We joined another couple for a Friday night dinner. We had made reservations through Open Table which I would recommend as the wait would of been 1 hour. We were seated immediately, our waitress was attentive and efficient. The food was delicious, and the wine selection was great! We enjoyed an unhurried dinner at a comfortable booth and stayed for dessert and coffee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

always a favorite. we are regulars. kid friendly and good service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I love fish and it is always fresh at Legal. The clam chowder is a must.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The chowder is always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always Legal Seafood never disappoints. The food is great and the wait staff just as good. Home away from home.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Made a reservation for my Mom's 78th bday. We arrived and there were many empty tables but still waited 10 min only to be put in the corner by the wait staff stand where a waitress spent my entire meal leaning on the back of our booth talking to her colleagues. The food was mediocre and I have noticed it has declined significantly since this location opened (was much better at the mall). The waitress was great but that's it. My daughter took ill after her meal. They won't see me again. Sad decline of a great institution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As always, LEGAL serves up reliable, quality food-- primarily fish-- which is the draw there. Their preps are simple and somewhat low on creativity, particularly for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I took my wife to Legal's on our 29th wedding anniversary. It was exactly what I wanted - the food was spectacular. It was fresh and flavorful from the appetizer to the main course. The excellence of food was exactly what I wanted for the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very disappointed--our food arrived barely warm, including a baked potato which should have been piping hot. And such small portions too given the prices. Not up to par with other Legal locations. The waitstaff were courteous and friendly however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Rather overpriced for a piece of greasy, somewhat tasteless salmon. Everything was drowned in oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always we had the yummy bang bang cauliflower and our entrees were delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Noise level is quite high. My guest has hearing problem an had trouble communicating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Use legal for numerous business meetings and out of town guests. Everyone always enjoys the experience and the fresh fish. Great value and very dependable. Always have a great meal and experience.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.