About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

9th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 14, 2017 - Oct 11, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

9th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 14, 2017 - Oct 11, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and one shell-shocking event. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid Sep 14, 2017 - Oct 11, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (41)
Casual (39)
See All
Good for Birthdays (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Business Meals (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Fun (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Romantic (12)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
People Watching (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Always excellent kids have allergies and they always do a great job with them. I'm vegan and never have a problem eating there.

Tags: Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It feels like due to Legal's growth that they lost what made them a truly great restaurant. The food is not of the same quality as it was in past years. The Anna's Baked Cod was unedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Best restaurant in Braintree. Great wine list, great oyster selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The rolls which were delivered were moldy. They brought new ones with an apology. I would have figured a bit more than an apology.
Still great food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was good but the service was a mess. We had multiple servers to start who were not coordinated

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our family had not been to Legal in a couple years and I decided I wanted to go for my birthday. We were seated quickly and then had to wait a while for our server to show up, but once she did, she was very attentive. Unfortunately the food didn't live up to our expectations. My daughter ordered the baked cod dish and it was essentially hospital food. I had the spicy fish and chips and it was just fish with batter that had been mixed with Frank's red hot sauce, and not every appetizing. My wife and other daughter's dishes were OK, but certainly not worth the amount of money we paid. I was very disappointed and will not be dining at Legal again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I hate to say this after eating with legal at Braintree , the food & service really took the cake this time.
I am a White card holder, I asked for a table in the back room 2 days prior to my reservation for a party of 8. As I was seated at a table before the back room in which was right next to a waitress station. That is not what I requested! I also was seated on a chair that the last person spilt a drink all over the seat & floor. My pants and hands got all sticky and my shoes were sticking to the floor. A real nice start to celebrate my Wife's Birthday surprise dinner with friends.
Then we were moved to the back room that we asked for in the first place.
The waiter Tom was very nice and tried to make everyone comfortable, but then when the food came out most of it was over cooked. My wife & I have been eating baked stuffed lobsters with you since the 1970S before Braintree. Three weeks ago we were there and ordered 2 baked stuffed lobsters 1.5 to 2 lbs each & the stuffing was 90% onion, not good. Then Friday @ 5:30 pm we ordered 2 baked stuffed lobsters same size & this time the lobsters were cut but not spread open and the so called stuffing was one shrimp cut in half and a half a scallop with no peppers or stuffing mix just some crumbled crackers placed on top of the lobster the body was empty and way overcooked. When I opened the first claw the meat was like eating an elastic.
There was no knuckle meat to be found it was all dried up.
I was already embarrassed from the initial issues with the wrong seating, the sticky clothes & hands. So nothing else was said to the waiter about the bad meal.
I am going to mail this letter to Roger Berkowitz and see how he feels about the way this location is doing to his long time "The Hundred Club" member of Massachusetts customer.
I hope things will change to the good old ways with quality instead of this
Ron Bethoney

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Off night. Start of an oyster fest, but apparently only had one shucker. Result, 3 of our 6 oysters were delivered well after our appetizers, we sent back to wait for all and expressed concern that our dinners would sit under hot lights. The second 3 oysters came out minus the first 3, we cancelled the oysters. And guess what, meals arrived, fried food soggy and fished over cooked. Group serving model compounds a problem when things go wrong.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent experience. Conscientios wait staff. All enjoyed their food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our server was lovel, friendly, and very accommodating.

Our food service, on the other hand, took an exceptionally long time , both our server and a manager came to the table to apologize for the delay more than once, all food items were from the menu with no special requests.

Two of our party ordered chocolate mousse for desert. There again, we were told the mousse had not set correctly so a new batch was being made. Finally, the manager arrived again with the news that there would be no mousse.

Our meal was very tasty but the delays really were annoying

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great dinner. Food and cocktails were great as was the waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was up to the usual Legal standard, which is to say high. Our server seemed to be a bit distracted, but she nevertheless managed to provide adequate service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Just a great place with great food. Legal Seafood is wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The lobster was over cooked and desert was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Have been to LSF many times and always appreciate the fresh seafood and usually good service. This occasion our server was very pleasant and courteous but lacked sufficient training and supervision. Spend some more time with him and he'll be quite good. For us - not so much. Espresso, two cappuccinos and a regular coffee were all served luke warm. .. a trend we have noticed on past visits. As a special treat to recognize our anniversary- he brought us THREE chocolate bon bons- however there was 4 of us at the table. :) He did recover and brought one more. Overall- we enjoyed the meal - but for the pricing Legal needs to step up its service game!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Me and my friends love this restaurant. Nice environment and excellent service. Thank you so much. We definitely will be back!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had a very good lunch. The food was delicious and plentiful. The wait server, Jennifer, was excellent and very pleasant. Any thing we wanted to substitute was no problem.
We would definitely recommend this Legal Seafood to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great Food and service from Katie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

65 birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was great, sat out on the patio on a clear night, excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My client's meal was wrong, and had to be returned. Another 15 minutes went by and the correct version arrived . I had already finished my meal, and our business had been completed. I will not go back after years of patronage. Advice: Do not bring an important client here. Try Davios!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

It was nice but I wish they acknowledged my son for his 25th birthday as it was mentioned a few times.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our meals were excellent. I had the trout with salad and fried risotto. It's so good with a mildly spicy corn relish. Hubby had oysters and seafood casserole. Vanessa was our waitress. We always ask for her. This night she was training Tommy who was excellent as well. Very nice personality and very accommodating. Great night!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We frequent Legal's often. Usually I'd rate 4.5 but this night everything was a bit off. (From service to menu items not coming out correctly or together)
However, we will be back, as Legal's offers great GF options, delicious cocktails & more often than not great service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Seasonal, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My meal was luke warm. The trout had no flavor at all. I asked for lightly cajuned but it was tasteless. The onion strings were just warm. This is the second time in a row that I didn't enjoy my meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I have moved to Florida so when I am in the Boston area I always go to Legal Seafood for my seafood fix. Never have had a bad experience there. Food is great and service is wonderful.
This trip of 11 days I went to Legal Seafood for 5 meals. Once at Braintree an 4x in Burlington. Both excellent. All meals great. Cannot beat Boston seafood and Legal Seafood does it well.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Enjoyable first time visit! Good drink and food menus. The outdoor patio was nice, although not much of a scenic view in Braintree.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My waitress was excellent. One of the best services I received as a customer. I would go back and specify ask for her to serve me. She's very friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The oysters were wonderful. The grilled halibut was perfectly cooked and delicious

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great waiter! Patient with us when we couldn't decide and were too busy talking! Great voice for singing happy birthday to my Mom!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I had the Faroe Islands salmon. When it arrived it was obvious that it was farm-raised. The menu never specified that it was a farm-raised fish. Even the wait staff admitted that the menu should state so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was truly noteworthy as was the food! We had a table that gave us a perfect view of a beautiful sunset. A perfect night!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent evening, tasty fish, moderately slow service

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Courteous , friendly staff. Nice ambience. Delicious food. Nice selection of food choices.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food! Best sea food I have ever had! Had a lot of gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great seafood restaurant and service above and beyond-one of our party was allergic to seafood. There were non-seafood items on the menu and the staff took great pains to cook and serve the non-seafood meal to avoid cross-contamination. Truly exemplary service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I had Cajun grilled salmon that was excellent along with a perfectly baked potato and fresh green beans. Others in my party loved their meals, too. Good service and friendly waitperson. Sat outside which was great on a warm summer evening and other than music being much too loud, it was great. Been before and definitely will go again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had the strawberry sangria and baked stuffed lobster, both were phenomenal! The service by Eda and Chris was 5 star, we will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I couldn't wait to celebrate with my friends at one of my favorite restaurants. The service was so bad and our waitress appeared inattentive and off, which led to a disappointing evening. Extremely disappointed in the way our server handled the bill and annoyed that the manger offered no additional assistance in handling the situation. When your friends are taking you out for your birthday, setting the bill should be effortless, not uncomfortable. What should have been a great evening with friends, celebrating my birthday, was embarrassed. It will be a long time for me to go back😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Vanessa was so good with our two little ones, provided stickers which was an awesome idea, kept them busy! Food and drinks were delicious. Manager came by to check on us. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.