About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our special feature menu offers twelve wines by the glass as well as two flights. Raise a glass of South African wine!. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Casual (44)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for Birthdays (40)
Great for Lunch (36)
Business Meals (35)
Healthy (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Modern Decor (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Family Style (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fun (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Authentic (12)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Private Room (8)
Cozy (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Romantic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Spicy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Service and food were excellent. The only creepy thing being a female traveling alone was having a bus boy lurk and stare at me then actually ask me since I was alone if he could have my number....mind you no small talk...just my name is ...and your alone...I said I was traveling he went bussed a few tables and then came back and asked for my digits found that kind of in appropriate....flattered but that wasn't the first time at this establishment I was looking for...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

I had high hopes based on prior reviews, but was decidedly underwhelmed. Parking at lunchtime was impossible. The hostess couldn't be bothered to get off the phone and greet me; just left me standing there in front of her for 5 minutes. So rude. Our server did not seem to know the specials. The booth we were seated at was crammed and uncomfortable. The crab cake was tiny; lost on the plate next to a mound of dressing-less salad greens. Won't be returning, as the Cheesecake Factory across the street is a much better spot for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed with the portions and quality of the seafood. My son ordered the fishermans platter and there was one scallop, one small piece of fish and a big pile of calamari. I ordered seafood casserole and there was one scallop, one shrimp and I think some mushed up lobster and fish. My wife got the baked stuffed shrimp casserole and said it was very dry. On the other hand our server was very attentive and right on point. Expected much better from Legal Seafood. Very overpriced for what we got. Went to Jake n Joes the next day and got a much better meal for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Always an excellent choice based on consistently great food. No surprise that seafood always prepared perfectly. cocktails too. Good wine list. Love the predictably great service and welcoming, easy-going vibe. Very busy but well managed and well trained staff. Never feel rushed and never long waits for food. Plenty of parking. Popular and always a line so reservations are the way to go, even mid week. Essential on weekends. Great central location right off X-way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Average food at best...better seafood restaurants exist in the area. Also, a very noisy restaurant. Perhaps if they turn down the volume on their loud background music the patrons wouldn't have to shout over the loud music just to hear each other during their conversations at their tables. Don't go there unless you want a "roadhouse experience". Very disappointed and will not return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Went here with my family that lives in the area. I am from out of state and I have to tell you the experience was outstanding! Friendly staff & the Manager was very visible and checked on us to ask if everything was good. The four meals were excellent. I had the blackened swordfish and it was delicious! Seasoned just right & extremely moist! I will return the next time I am in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

So good it should be Illegal

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice spot, good food. Feel like the waitress might have forgotten about us but she was nice enough when we did speak with her

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Melissa our waitress was awesome. She was kind and patient but most of all quick to get us our food warm. She checked on us frequently.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great, my waitress was comprehensive and understanding and she smiled too. Time was awesome, that's where I took my wife for mother's day. I'm a Chef also, otherwise I'll call ( QCC). KEEP UP THE GOOD JOB CHEFS

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food generally excellent but had the lobster out of shell; was somewhat chewy. Waitress was just okay; not our usual Jennifer who is the epitome of waitstaff. Son asked for salad with fish on top; got two bowls of salad and fish on separate plate then asked if they could plate it on one plate as he originally requested. Don't know if it was the kitchen or the waitress who by the way never told us her name.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is always great. We go back time after time because of the food and the waitstaff. They are the best and always make us feel at home. Management must be doing a great job because they all seem very happy there compared to other places we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The staff is top notch! I'm always impressed to see managers helping to clear tables, deliver drinks, etc. They set the tone for everyone working there. Oh, and did I mention the food is always great, and they do not skimp on the drinks?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Whitney was our server and she was an absolute doll. Management was very accommodating in every way; particularly with our request to change our table to booth (we were in middle of floor and it was very noisy; we couldn't hear our own conversation).

Only complaint is the baked shrimp was really dry (stuffing and shrimp). Think it was a bit overcooked. Ordered some melted butter to put on top; didn't really help too much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was great and the service better. You can't miss here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As always, this Legal Sea Foods locations was humming on a Friday. Our meals and the service were excellent. Our waitress had a very nice personality and made our visit even better. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good lunch service. Food came out fast and was good. Really noisy but made for a lively business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Got the salmon rice bowl for the first time, so great! I am never disappointed by Legals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

A get together with old friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. I always love it there. Service is excellent and the food is superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Legal in Braintree was a great place to go for a small family dinner. Food was delicious! Server could not have been more attentive. And a special shout out to hostess who seated our group and was extremely patient and gracious towards an elderly member of our group that "forgot her manners." Hostess was professional and so very kind and understanding. I will keep coming back and hope I see this beautiful hostess again to thank her in person.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What an evening! Our server was attentive without being overbearing. She brought everything we requested in a timely fashion. I will recommend this location to friends, coworkers etc.

Tags: People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was great! The waiter was wonderful and the 4 of us enjoyed all of our meals. My husband and I ordered a salad to share and we also shared 2 entrees. We appreciated that the meals were split in the kitchen for us. We always enjoy dining at Legal Braintree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a lovely evening with friends. We celebrated our wedding anniversaries together we were married same day and year. The food was excellent! Seated right away. Very lively! The waiter was awesome!! I definately would recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love this place. Had a wonderful dinner with hubby and friends. Everyone was happy with their food. I had the crab cake combo. Crab cake, grilled scallops and shrimp with a seasonal salad. Delicious! Wrong drink was brought to one of our party but it was corrected immediately. Very nice server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was great! Service very good.
Place was busy but we were not rushed which was very much appreciated. We got to dine and enjoy a great lunch with family.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Buffalo popcorn shrimp with avocado was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

pretty good. food is good, bit over priced. thanks

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Legal has many restaurants, but for its novel interior design, smart staff and always expertly prepared seafood, I give the Braintree location 5 stars.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Healthy, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We always enjoy Legal. One of our party requires a gluten free menu--Legal has always been so gracious and accommodating...and the gluten free items are always excellent. We wish they would bring back their mussels au gratin.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Phenomenal meal, food was fresh. Will definitely be coming back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Legal has consistently good seafood. The seating was tight and the noise level was relatively high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice to get out with the wife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I never have a bad experience at Legal in Braintree. Waitstaff is the best. My wife and I go frequently and the staff always makes us feel at home. The food is delicious and made to order. They don't mind changing things up to make you even happier.Legal is a must try for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Birthday dinner was great ....server was nice! minor incident as I was walking to my table slipped on water ..all is well and overall good experience for first time visiting. Will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

An A+ experience from the time we were greeted by the hostess and were then quickly seated pursuant to our reservation request to the great service and food, this is a wonderful restaurant! All the food we ordered from the salads and chowder to the baked stuffed lobster, fried clam plate, baked scrod and jasmine rice special were beatifully presented and delicious! This was a Birtday celebration for my brother and he thoroughly enjoyed himself, as did we all. Thank you, Legal and Open Table.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Sat on the patio this evening. Excellent service, even with every table full.
Caesar salad was tasty -- croutons delicious. A couple of the romaine lettuce slices were starting to brown, so points off for that.
Nutty salmon entree was excellent. Salmon cooked perfectly.
Will definitely return when I'm in the area.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were craving Fish and Chips. It was amazing and the most basic thing on the menu. So fresh. But next time I'm trying something more adventurous.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent cuisine, atmosphere and wait staff. Too loud most of the time during lunch making it hard to hear each other.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.