Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Legal Oysteria

Legal Oysteria is a casual neighborhood restaurant serving coastal Italian-style seafood. Executive Chef Rich Vellante developed a menu based on the food he cooks at home for family and friends.

Legal Oysteria’s menu showcases the freshness and purity of its seafood offerings and other ingredients. Preparations are simple and authentic. A brick oven (with pizza oven and rotisserie) informs the menu. There are options for those who choose to table share or prefer more traditional coursed dining. Our bar program was designed to complement the cuisine. By tradition, an osteria is casual, comfortable and accessible and Legal Oysteria aspires to afford that same experience.

We are located along the Freedom Trail, overlooking City Square Park, and close to landmarks in Charlestown, including the USS Constitution Museum and Bunker Hill Monument. We are also in walking distance to the TD Garden.

10 City Square
Charlestown, MA 02129
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday 11:30am – 11pm
Thursday – Saturday 11:30am – 1am
Sunday 10am – 11pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 712-1988

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/charlestown-legal-oysteria

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you savings. After 5pm daily, park for just $5 at the nearby Constitution Center lot. Before 5pm daily, take $8 off the daytime parking rates. Street parking is also available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Wines of Chile

Special valid Oct 23, 2017 - Nov 19, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

We're open and serving up yuletide cheer.

Wines of Chile

Special valid Oct 23, 2017 - Nov 19, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our special feature menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Oct 23, 2017 - Nov 19, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Oysteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Morgan was great! Air conditioning was very cold although Morgan asked to adjust it a little which worked for most of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Look the atmosphere and crab cakes I know the chickpea has been on the menu for awhile but it is way to lumpy won't order it again

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great ambiance, food and service. My only complaint is that the portions were too big. We're more the "small plate" type diners, and would have been happy with less on the plates. Would definitely go back, just order a little wiser.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We enjoyed our meal a lot. A real neighbourhood gem.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always great food and menu for a Legal! The Oysters are great and of course the fish entree. This Legal also has a number of non seafood menu items. Great Bar and TVs to watch a game.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

legal oysteria is a little different then other legal seafoods. The menu is smaller but very good. Great Italian based wine list. Neighborhood type place. Nice bar with good sports coverage

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I no longer enjoy the bar scene-the front room is incredibly noisy. Request the back room if you want to be able to talk.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely meal with excellent wine and service. I did notice that this particular Legal does not offer as many gluten free choices as others do; in particular the gluten free chowder and rolls that are a favorite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I had a friend in town and we needed a lunch/brunch situation. i checked on open table and from there we found legal osteria. it's a half mile from my house . over we went and had a delicious breakfast: eggs/ hash browns / toast. and a glass of wine and bloody mary. the waitress, Sabrina, was awesome. very informative. we had a lovely brunch and continued out day. Have been here for dinner and their dinner menu is awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Love the restaurant, food is great, servers are great and helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

A fun night.. not crowded and the food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have been eating here for several months (mostly on Saturdays). We have found the atmosphere, the service, the food, and the fellow customers to be outstanding. We can't say enough about the service staff and especially the manager. They are always welcoming, accommodating, efficient and above all really friendly not just business friendly. This restaurant is very family friendly. While we have no children it is very nice to see families with young children (all very well behaved) eating together and interacting with staff and fellow customers. The menu is excellent and the chief is very receptive to cooking the entries "your way". The Oysteria is a tremendous addition to Charlestown and Boston. It is only a few minutes walk to "The Garden", the U.S. Navy Yard, and the many other historic sites of Boston and Charlestown. Prices are reasonable, food is terrific, staff are wonderful, patrons are friendly-go and find out for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Restaurant week just happen to land on my anniversary. My wife and I enjoyed a cocktail before dinner. We were able to substitute the wine parings with the meal we chose with no problem. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Dave

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our waiter, Lyle, was excellent. He was very attentive, courteous, helpful and funny. It was my wife's birthday, and our dessert had a birthday candle in it, and Lyle and I sang Happy Birthday to her.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and excellent service from our waitstaff, Corey

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Natasha was fabulous! Excellent service with a smile! Love her!! The food was amazing! Lobster Fra and charred octopus were to die for!! Don't forget to end with a budino and a spumoni sundae! Perfect date night location. Thank you guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Lively atmosphere. I'm a regular and enjoy consistently good food and friendly service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Waitress refused to serve my 26 year old girlfriend who gave her proper ID. Took 10 minutes of arguing to get a manager to come over and sort things out. Received a free appetizer in the end from management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We can always count on the fresh seafood and pastas at Oysteria. Service is great and I appreciate a varied and moderately priced wine list (for Boston, that is!).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

As always......great! The restaurant has livened up Charlestown.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was great as it always is. They accommodated our last minute request for a seating change (for our group of 6) cheerfully and with a minimal delay. Morgan could not have been more helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good place. Seems like more of a typical lunch spot given the neighborhood. The menu was a little limited but the options they had were all good. Where the name of the restaurant is Oysteria I expected more oyster options? But, they did have great Oysters!
I did expect a few more seafood options, for example the really wasn't any lobster to be had, and you're literally a block away from the ocean so for Boston, that's surprising. But the service was excellent the ambience was great, the restaurant appears to be brand-new. This is a nice little place if you want to duck and grab dinner with a date. Which is what we did before we went to a concert at the TD Garden which is a very short walk down the road. The other area options appear to be mostly tavern in Legal Oysteria is a bit more upscale.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was a wonderful place! Our waitress was perfect- knowledgeable and attentive- even the manager stopped by with our oysters appetizers. Beautiful decor with huge windows- will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always an excellent meal. Bring back the Branzino!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The atmosphere was great but the food was lackluster. I had the linguine and clams and the linguini was over cooked as were the clams...almost as if they came out of a can but stayed too long on the grill. There wasn't even much sauce/wine in the dish to accompany the pasta. The swordfish my date had was overcooked and extremely salty (caesar salad with swordfish). The ambience, place and service was great but the food left something to be desired. The meatball was good as were the fresh oysters but the other dishes were not. I'm hoping we just had an off night /unlucky night with the food prep as we will continue to try other dishes there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Have enjoyed this spot several times, good location, bar, selections... only criticism is clams and linguine - non local clans used, didn't really taste fresh - some of the best hard shell clams in the world are from New England waters- use them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I was through impressed with Legal's gluten free options, as always. Highly recommend the grilled oysters + the oyster pizza. Everything was to die for.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Service and food were wonderful. From the oysters to Legal's famous clam chowder, we enjoyed all of it. Pizza has great crust, just perfect texture. Loved the feel of the place as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Un hermoso lugar en ina hermosa cuidad. Muy buena atencion

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The swordfish I ordered, which usually has a tendency to be dry, was moist and delicious. The presentation of the food was beautiful, vegetables were fresh and delicious. I would eat here again any time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Always great. We love it and go there often. We highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Go to place. Near my home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

great food, service and ambiance. Every dish was superb, and we could talk comfortably.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was a typical Friday and the waiter was extremely unattentive to our table it took him and hour to get our drink orders and apps then another whole hour to take our entree. At the end with our checks he took his time giving the copies out to sign. My friends had to talk to the manager multiple times

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Atmosphere is great, although a touch noisy for a Sunday afternoon. They really need to improve their kids menu and options. The adult cheese burger is actually on the kids menu for the same price @ $14. We went with a meatball for the 7 year old since provolone was the only cheese option and when the waiter asked if we wanted some pasta with that I said yes, not realizing it would be an additional $5+ ! My mother ordered a baked lobster and something I can't remember dish special at $39. The potatoes that came with it were a bit tired and tasteless. Could have benefited from being fresher and more seasoned, especially at that price. The asparagus was very good but there should not be any complaints with a $39 dish. The brunch menu could use a cod or halibut dish- or even swordfish. I'm not a salmon or shellfish eater so I got the burger. It was good but not spectacular. My nephew liked his shrimp and pasta dish and the oyster appetizer was also good. Overall, a good place but I feel a bit put off after spending $130 (including tip) on lunch (with no alcohol) for 4 people (including one 7 year old) for what amounts to pretty standard fare. I rarely leave a negative review but I'm still ruminating on this experience two days later...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The oyster dishes were especially creative.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Thanks to chef Ryan for making my food the way I wanted and Francisco who really took care of me

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Family of 5, including 3 young adult sons, met up for an early Sunday evening meal together. Legal Harborside has been our usual, but wanted to try Legal Oysteria with its promise of a warm, inviting neighborhood trattoria serving Italian seafood made in a scratch kitchen - with a brick oven even!

Parking was easy and free on the square. Our table was set up and ready for us. We started with a table full of shared appetizers including the Raw Oysters, Grilled Octopus and Potatoes, Tuna Crudo (sushi tuna with cucumber and fresh made chips), Roast Beef Meatballs, and Warm Burrata. Everything was delicious.

Next was the clam chowder, brick oven Marguerite Pizza, Roasted Pear and Blue Cheese salad. Even the non-seafood lover amongst us was happy!

Only one had room for an entrée (might have been me!) of Prosciutto Wrapped Salmon with Asparagus on a bed greens and cantaloupe. Really loved it. It should be noted that one of us (might have been me again!) had a seafood allergy which was handled with the greatest of care by the staff.

Desserts that we shared included Chocolate Caramel pudding, Tiramisu, and the Ricotta Pie - really yummy.

A visit to our table from Chef Ryan Landry - right before the place filled up with locals as well as tourists leaving the nearby Bunker Hill Monument and USS Constitution- REALLY MADE OUR NIGHT!

We'll be back as this is now our new family meet up!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was extremely slow although the staff was nice. They wouldn't do egg whites, bacon was undercooked, potatoes were over cooked. Pizza was pretty good. Probably would only come back in here for a beer at the bar.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a lovely dinner and our waitress was fun and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.