Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Legal Oysteria

Legal Oysteria is a casual neighborhood restaurant serving coastal Italian-style seafood. Executive Chef Rich Vellante developed a menu based on the food he cooks at home for family and friends.

Legal Oysteria’s menu showcases the freshness and purity of its seafood offerings and other ingredients. Preparations are simple and authentic. A brick oven (with pizza oven and rotisserie) informs the menu. There are options for those who choose to table share or prefer more traditional coursed dining. Our bar program was designed to complement the cuisine. By tradition, an osteria is casual, comfortable and accessible and Legal Oysteria aspires to afford that same experience.

We are located along the Freedom Trail, overlooking City Square Park, and close to landmarks in Charlestown, including the USS Constitution Museum and Bunker Hill Monument. We are also in walking distance to the TD Garden.

10 City Square
Charlestown, MA 02129
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday 11:30am – 11pm
Thursday – Saturday 11:30am – 1am
Sunday 10am – 11pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 712-1988

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/charlestown-legal-oysteria

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you savings. After 5pm daily, park for just $5 at the nearby Constitution Center lot. Before 5pm daily, take $8 off the daytime parking rates. Street parking is also available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our special feature menu offers twelve wines by the glass as well as two flights. Raise a glass of South African wine!. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Oysteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Casual (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
People Watching (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Live Sports (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Historic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Family Style (2)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (0)
Sort By:
S
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

great food, service and ambiance. Every dish was superb, and we could talk comfortably.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was a typical Friday and the waiter was extremely unattentive to our table it took him and hour to get our drink orders and apps then another whole hour to take our entree. At the end with our checks he took his time giving the copies out to sign. My friends had to talk to the manager multiple times

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Atmosphere is great, although a touch noisy for a Sunday afternoon. They really need to improve their kids menu and options. The adult cheese burger is actually on the kids menu for the same price @ $14. We went with a meatball for the 7 year old since provolone was the only cheese option and when the waiter asked if we wanted some pasta with that I said yes, not realizing it would be an additional $5+ ! My mother ordered a baked lobster and something I can't remember dish special at $39. The potatoes that came with it were a bit tired and tasteless. Could have benefited from being fresher and more seasoned, especially at that price. The asparagus was very good but there should not be any complaints with a $39 dish. The brunch menu could use a cod or halibut dish- or even swordfish. I'm not a salmon or shellfish eater so I got the burger. It was good but not spectacular. My nephew liked his shrimp and pasta dish and the oyster appetizer was also good. Overall, a good place but I feel a bit put off after spending $130 (including tip) on lunch (with no alcohol) for 4 people (including one 7 year old) for what amounts to pretty standard fare. I rarely leave a negative review but I'm still ruminating on this experience two days later...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The oyster dishes were especially creative.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Thanks to chef Ryan for making my food the way I wanted and Francisco who really took care of me

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Family of 5, including 3 young adult sons, met up for an early Sunday evening meal together. Legal Harborside has been our usual, but wanted to try Legal Oysteria with its promise of a warm, inviting neighborhood trattoria serving Italian seafood made in a scratch kitchen - with a brick oven even!

Parking was easy and free on the square. Our table was set up and ready for us. We started with a table full of shared appetizers including the Raw Oysters, Grilled Octopus and Potatoes, Tuna Crudo (sushi tuna with cucumber and fresh made chips), Roast Beef Meatballs, and Warm Burrata. Everything was delicious.

Next was the clam chowder, brick oven Marguerite Pizza, Roasted Pear and Blue Cheese salad. Even the non-seafood lover amongst us was happy!

Only one had room for an entrée (might have been me!) of Prosciutto Wrapped Salmon with Asparagus on a bed greens and cantaloupe. Really loved it. It should be noted that one of us (might have been me again!) had a seafood allergy which was handled with the greatest of care by the staff.

Desserts that we shared included Chocolate Caramel pudding, Tiramisu, and the Ricotta Pie - really yummy.

A visit to our table from Chef Ryan Landry - right before the place filled up with locals as well as tourists leaving the nearby Bunker Hill Monument and USS Constitution- REALLY MADE OUR NIGHT!

We'll be back as this is now our new family meet up!

Tags: Historic, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was extremely slow although the staff was nice. They wouldn't do egg whites, bacon was undercooked, potatoes were over cooked. Pizza was pretty good. Probably would only come back in here for a beer at the bar.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a lovely dinner and our waitress was fun and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Consistently good food. Calamari appetizer was delicious, as was the soft shell crab appetizer over a capers salad. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

They just changed their menu for the summer. Lots of new items. Love the trout with crab salad

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

They had just updated their menu and the food was still as amazing as usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We are huge fans of Legal Oysteria - this trip was a bit of a disappointment. The new 'Spring' menu was probably going through some early hickups. Two of us ordered the scallop dish - there were barely any scallops and very little flavor. Certainly not a deal breaker but it was definitely disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very crowded and therefore slow service. The food was great, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always enjoy eating at Legal Oysteria. Always five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant. Cod dish was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyed the location at City Square in Charlestown with a view of Lenny Zakim Bridge at sunset. Quiet the nite we attened. My daughter says it's usually packed and loud.

The waitress was very friendly and attentive even though it took some time to get our drinks and food.

Even though the menu and food had a slight Italian theme, it is behind the curtain a Legal Seafood restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A nice location with good food and decent service. Prices were reasonable. Noise level was moderate and ambiance was satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love this neighborhood restaurant. Biggest problem is the noise level. When the restaurant fills, they should turn off the music. You can barely hear your friends. They need to pay more attention to this.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brunch is always amazing here!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was good but nothing special. I
Had recommendation from a friend so I was expecting creative distinct food. But it felt like eating at a mainstream restaurant. White clam pizza w pancetta. Never tasted a clam on the pizza and about two small bites of pancetta on each slice. Good flavor but disappointed w skimpy ingredients. Mussels were good but nothing special. Enjoyed chopped Greek salad. Chocolate budino for our table didn't tempt me but the others said it was like supermarket chocolate pudding. It's a pretty place and lively environment but it felt like a let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not your typical Legal Seafood. Has a neighborhood pub feel with great food. Parking was accessible by the Marriott validated at $5.00. Would definitely return.

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was very good, and the service superb. It wasn't the best for a romantic date night dinner. It's a very small place, and it was very noisy. It's still a great spot, if you don't mind having to yell at the person across a table to be heard. It's ideal for after work get togethers, happy hours, etc., but not for a date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The Wellfleet oysters were delicious. Salmon excellent. Service wonderful!! Would DEFINITELY recommend and return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I had the grilled octopus appetizer with a side of the roasted busses sprouts. It was excellent. My husband had the tuna and it was wonderful. We where visiting Boston for a couple of nights and staying nearby. The night before we are on Hanover St. In the north end it was not that great. So glad we ate here the following evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Good food but the all time worst service in boston. We live nearby and love the food but every time we go the waitstaff is awful. Good bartenders...so if you go, sit at the bar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. It just took forever to get anything. Water 30 min, beer, wine another 20 min, apps 1 hours, dinner another 45 min. Food was good I just wpuld never go here again as you wait forever and you can't even get a few cocktails whike you are waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love everything about this place! Our seat wasn't ready right away, but it was Valentine's Day. They made up for the wait with an awesome table, amazing food & drinks!

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Good food - friendly service. Only small complaint was the food came out really slow ... waited for a long time to get the main courses. Could have been because we were a large group. That said, the restaurant was slow that night...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

It was really a great experience that I would highly recommend. Very different than the other Legal restaurants but the food was to die for! I eat out many times a week and this was easily the best meal I've had in the last 6 months!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Server had a good attitude but they were understaffed and it took a little bit to long to get her attention

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We hadn't been to Legal Oysteria in almost two years, and we're really glad we went back! Everything was DELICIOUS, some of the best-prepared seafood we've had in years. Somehow we never knew they had a nice open back dining area, in addition to the area around the bar in front. We could easily hear each other when talking, which is something that is becoming rarer in restaurants today! Our server was really nice and informative about the food options. We also think the prices are very fair for what you get! Now we just can't let two years go by without coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for the first time on a Saturday night. Party of six seated in a quiet room in the back. Service (Natasha) was excellent. Oysters (three kinds) fresh, clean and properly opened. Grilled octopus was excellent. Wines by the glass were varied. Our group for entrees had steak, linguine with clams, fish stew and a few others, and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Met our son for an early dinner on Saturday. Personable staff and good though limited menu. All ordered apps and entrees and no one left disappointed or hungry. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Legal oysteria is a great place for a quick dinner before the Bruins game at the garden.
Good section of seafood, fresh oysters and shrimp cocktail were delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The oysters were nothing to write home about and the dishes are anything but spectacular. Notably, with the poke. This dish qualified more as a tuna tartar app than poke. All foods at this restaurant are basic and lack flavor. The reason I find myself stopping in is that the restaurant is never busy. If it's crunch time and I've not yet made reservations anywhere, you are guaranteed a seat here. The staff also unfortunately lacked any knowledge of oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

So nice to have 2 rooms so the lively folks are lively, and the hard of hearing and kinda older have a smaller quiet room. Great for our neighborhood

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant computer had the reservation from Open Table incorrectly but they were still able to seat our party as the pen table reservation. Staff was friendly but our waiter was new it seemed as he couldn't answer some questions and an appetizer was not brought to the table. However, overall the quality and value is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Osteria our neiboughrhood restaurant . They never disappoint. Quality food, great cocktails and wonderful attentive staff. Always looking forward to dine theret

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really nice meal at surprisingly good prices. The oysters were spectacular (befitting the name) but all the food was really good. This is a neighborhood joint in rapidly gentrifying Charlestown but right on the Freedom Trail....if your visit takes you by it at lunch or dinner...it is a great stop.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.