About Legal Oysteria

10 City Square
Charlestown, MA 02129
View Larger Map

Legal Oysteria is a casual neighborhood restaurant serving coastal Italian-style seafood. Executive Chef Rich Vellante developed a menu based on the food he cooks at home for family and friends.

Legal Oysteria’s menu showcases the freshness and purity of its seafood offerings and other ingredients. Preparations are simple and authentic. A brick oven (with pizza oven and rotisserie) informs the menu. There are options for those who choose to table share or prefer more traditional coursed dining. Our bar program was designed to complement the cuisine. By tradition, an osteria is casual, comfortable and accessible and Legal Oysteria aspires to afford that same experience.

We are located along the Freedom Trail, overlooking City Square Park, and close to landmarks in Charlestown, including the USS Constitution Museum and Bunker Hill Monument. We are also in walking distance to the TD Garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday 11:30am – 11pm
Thursday – Saturday 11:30am – 1am
Sunday 10am – 11pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 712-1988

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/charlestown-legal-oysteria

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you savings. After 5pm daily, park for just $5 at the nearby Constitution Center lot. Before 5pm daily, take $8 off the daytime parking rates. Street parking is also available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Dine Out Boston

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Dine Out Boston

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're featuring the "Norwegian Miracle," an ultra-premium cod. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Dine Out Boston

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Celebrate Restaurant Week with a 3-course prix fixe lunch and dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Mar 5, 2017 - Mar 10, 2017 on Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Dine Out Boston

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Celebrate Restaurant Week with a 3-course prix fixe lunch and dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Mar 12, 2017 - Mar 17, 2017 on Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Oysteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (16)
See All
Open Kitchen (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

The Wellfleet oysters were delicious. Salmon excellent. Service wonderful!! Would DEFINITELY recommend and return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food but the all time worst service in boston. We live nearby and love the food but every time we go the waitstaff is awful. Good bartenders...so if you go, sit at the bar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. It just took forever to get anything. Water 30 min, beer, wine another 20 min, apps 1 hours, dinner another 45 min. Food was good I just wpuld never go here again as you wait forever and you can't even get a few cocktails whike you are waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love everything about this place! Our seat wasn't ready right away, but it was Valentine's Day. They made up for the wait with an awesome table, amazing food & drinks!

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Good food - friendly service. Only small complaint was the food came out really slow ... waited for a long time to get the main courses. Could have been because we were a large group. That said, the restaurant was slow that night...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

It was really a great experience that I would highly recommend. Very different than the other Legal restaurants but the food was to die for! I eat out many times a week and this was easily the best meal I've had in the last 6 months!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Server had a good attitude but they were understaffed and it took a little bit to long to get her attention

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We hadn't been to Legal Oysteria in almost two years, and we're really glad we went back! Everything was DELICIOUS, some of the best-prepared seafood we've had in years. Somehow we never knew they had a nice open back dining area, in addition to the area around the bar in front. We could easily hear each other when talking, which is something that is becoming rarer in restaurants today! Our server was really nice and informative about the food options. We also think the prices are very fair for what you get! Now we just can't let two years go by without coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for the first time on a Saturday night. Party of six seated in a quiet room in the back. Service (Natasha) was excellent. Oysters (three kinds) fresh, clean and properly opened. Grilled octopus was excellent. Wines by the glass were varied. Our group for entrees had steak, linguine with clams, fish stew and a few others, and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Met our son for an early dinner on Saturday. Personable staff and good though limited menu. All ordered apps and entrees and no one left disappointed or hungry. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Legal oysteria is a great place for a quick dinner before the Bruins game at the garden.

Good section of seafood, fresh oysters and shrimp cocktail were delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The oysters were nothing to write home about and the dishes are anything but spectacular. Notably, with the poke. This dish qualified more as a tuna tartar app than poke. All foods at this restaurant are basic and lack flavor. The reason I find myself stopping in is that the restaurant is never busy. If it's crunch time and I've not yet made reservations anywhere, you are guaranteed a seat here. The staff also unfortunately lacked any knowledge of oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

So nice to have 2 rooms so the lively folks are lively, and the hard of hearing and kinda older have a smaller quiet room. Great for our neighborhood

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant computer had the reservation from Open Table incorrectly but they were still able to seat our party as the pen table reservation. Staff was friendly but our waiter was new it seemed as he couldn't answer some questions and an appetizer was not brought to the table. However, overall the quality and value is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Osteria our neiboughrhood restaurant . They never disappoint. Quality food, great cocktails and wonderful attentive staff. Always looking forward to dine theret

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really nice meal at surprisingly good prices. The oysters were spectacular (befitting the name) but all the food was really good. This is a neighborhood joint in rapidly gentrifying Charlestown but right on the Freedom Trail....if your visit takes you by it at lunch or dinner...it is a great stop.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Stopped in to the Oysteria for Sunday brunch with family before they drove out of town. Sat at the bar and ordered Bloody Mary's and coffee. Their coffee is SO good - strong and flavorful. The Boody's were the same. All of the food was fantastic, perfectly timed, and well presented. My favorite brunch menu item is the open faced crab cake sandwich - love it. I also had a small taste of one of the specials of the day - a plantain bisque - that sounded strange, but was absolutely fantastic in flavor! What a pleasant surprise! The staff here is all friendly and responsive. Overall, it was a great Sunday brunch!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is based on a Fri night dinner & Sun brunch. Great place! Walking distance from the Residence Inn, cool atmosphere, friendly & knowledgeble service. They offer wonderful, fresh oysters 4 ways: at MP each you can mix & match to your hearts content- and no one bats an eye when ordering 1 of each (raw, baked w lobster, grilled, fried). Definite mediterranen flair, the cod was excellent, the lobster PLT (pancetta) was delish. Dessert was a nice small portion and their after dinner drink menu extensive. A deceivingly small looking place, the bar is centered & long, both high tops (very comfy) and regular tables in front room with great view of the kitchen & brick oven. The back room is cozy & inviting: very old school New England. Yet another winner in the Legal repertoire!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was disappointed with the service. After making a reservation for what I thought was the main part of the restaurant, they placed our party of five in the back room, which lacks charm and ambience. The service was also lacking. I'm not sure I'd be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was awesome. Always is at a Legal Seafood restaurant. This particular restaurant was cold. We did mention it to our waitress but it never warmed up. We had to ask our waitress for the specials, for bread. She really didn't seem confident on the raw oysters. If I'm at a place that offers raw oysters, I'd like the staff to be very familiar with all of them. She seemed very inexperienced. And for us, having a great wait staff is half the experience of eating out.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Eating out on Thanksgiving is not my first choice, however this year was our first year away from home and my in-laws were visiting for a few days. We decided to eat out due to our small group and tiny apartment. I found Legal on the list of restaurants open for the day which included their Turkey dinner for $25/plate. I made an Open Table reservation for lunch and we enjoyed every bit of it.

I'm usually not much for chain restaurants but learned that each Legal is a different theme/concept. Our server told us this location is more mediterranean in flavors. We were greeted upon arriving, just after walking under the huge oyster on their black facade. The host took us to a corner booth right by the kitchen (which I enjoy and reminds me of when I worked in a restaurant).

The restaurant is not huge and features a bar straight down the middle with lots of natural light coming through the windows. The decor is simple and neutral, allowing you to focus on all the delicious food. Our server went over the oysters of the day and the Thanksgiving meal, then brought us waters and bread for the table.

We ordered a plate of four of each three oysters for the day to share. All were very fresh and the champagne vinaigrette was perfect to add some flavor. My in-laws who visited from KY are from Chile and miss fresh oysters. This was a treat for them!

Most of us ordered the turkey dinner for lunch. It's hard to beat mom's cooking but they came pretty close! The plate came with dark and white meat--juicy and full of flavor. Sausage and sage stuffing was perfectly cooked alongside mashed potatoes and a butternut squash puree. Oh- and they did not forget the homemade cranberry sauce! It was all so delicious and I could barely finish it. Worth the $25 for sure!

We planned to go home for dessert but after the server told us about their pumpkin brulee we ordered one to share and taste. The custard was smooth and the caramelized crunchy topping wonderfully brulee-d.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waiter was great, Restaurant was not busy. Meal was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service could have been better. Staff seemed overwhelmed. We were seated 30 minutes after our reservation. Food was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Corey, the server, and his team were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We eat at Legal Oysteria every week. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Consistently avery good meal in a cool, hip location in Charlestown.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was very good. I had the swordfish and it was too salty. But the calamari appetizers were tender

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The seafood/fish selection was good. The swordfish I had was overcooked, but the restaurant was accomodating and recooked another piece for me. Price for dinner entree was $27 and up. It was on the higher end. The clam pizza was delicious, straight out of the brick oven. The shrimp fritter was ok, didn't really taste the shrimp. The lobster ravioli was really spicy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Oysters! @$3.50each this is no bargain. Especially for oyster week.

Other menus items were very good. Trout was excellent. Chick parm was plentiful & good. Pastas were good but not as generous. Cod was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great Food - Great Service (Natasha) and great recommendations on oysters!

We visited during the oyster festival and it was great

Lucky Limes (oysters) are fantastic now!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Fri at 7:30 was much noisier than weeknight. It was hard to have a conversation with friends from Calif. Food was wonderful! Service was friendly and great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sunday Brunch - Excellent service and liked the ambiance and feel of the restaurant. Food was very good but I was there for Sunday Brunch and was surprised that there were not more seafood/breakfast options....there were a couple of omelettes on the menu but one with prosciutto and the other with just onions. I mean salmon goes great with eggs and I'm sure there are some other more creative options that could incorporate local Boston seafood. Appetizers were more heavy on seafood but for main breakfast dishes I could have been at any restaurant, nothing stood out and let me know I was a a top seafood restaurant that was taking advantage of local fresh catches - seemed like lack of creativity. Also other than the oysters nothing really screamed Boston/New England to me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Needed to be near the airport. Great ambience and twist on standard Legal cuisine, which is always good. Service and food were top notch. If you go, ask to sit in the front area. Back room is quieter but less fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Quality of the food was excellent. Great drinks and wine list too. The waiter we had seemed new to the role though, and a bit clueless. Enjoyed some great oyster dishes, roasted octopus, and fantastic crabcakes. A great spot for a solid meal and the bar scene was hopping before a concert at the TD Garden. BTW - the martinis were spot on!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Had oysters on 1/2 shell-4 different kind-and they were great. Chopped Greek salad is one of my favorites. Had the clam pizza-never had it before-very rich and delicious. It was my first time to Oysteria and I will make it a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Outstanding ambience, food and service. Food was phenomenal 👍

If u haven't been, you must go. Great date night or casual setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The oysters were fresh and delicious. All food items were outstanding . appetizer arrived with the meal instead of before, but it was still hot when I wolfed it down. Meatball pricy but worth it. My wife finished her Tuna Jumbot and she never finishes anything , said it was awesome. It was a pleasant experience .

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was fresh and delicious. Crab cakes were real crab with almost (or no) breading--fantastic!!Attentive and friendly service. Made the gin martini to my exact specifications. Note that parking in the area is a bit of a challenge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Love this local restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great raw bar, seafood and drinks. Lovely ambiance in old Charlestown building. We loved the service as well. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

As usual, a great selection of oysters to chose from. Our server was especially helpful, working with the chef to accommodate some dietary limitations.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great atmosphere....very good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very beautiful scene outside. Nice place to eat lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2016

From the hostess to the Chef every one was very friendly the whole night was a blast food was awesome. The five other people in my group really enjoy it. Will be going back sooner than later

Tags: Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We usually go to Oysteria later in the evening since it is one of Charlestown's only "late" night spots. The food quality has been inconsistent - never bad - but never amazing either. Service at the bar really depends on the bartender; I have waited for nearly ten minutes for a drink in a nearly empty bar but I've also had a good service experience. Very inconsistent and sadly, mediocre, overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I had a great dinner at Legal Oysteria. We brought our boat to Constitution Marina and this restaurant was highly rated on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was terrible and clod. My sister had to ask them to microwave the pizza so it would be warm. The rest of our party suffered eating nasty cold food. Clearly there was no urgency to run the food while it was still hot. This is probably why it took forever to get the food. Do not waste your money here. Hopefully this place goes out of business so a decent place can open in its place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.