About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available daily and during full hours of operation for $18 with our validation stamp. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Liberty Wharf Marina link: http://www.libertywharf.co/docks/reservations/

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our special feature menu offers twelve wines by the glass as well as two flights. Raise a glass of South African wine!. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (144)
Scenic View (109)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
Casual (60)
Special Occasion (58)
Great for Lunch (54)
Fun (53)
Hot Spot (48)
Local Ingredients (48)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for Groups (39)
Bar Seating (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Healthy (33)
Open Kitchen (30)
People Watching (29)
Business Meals (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Authentic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great Beer (18)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (17)
Seasonal (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Quick Bite (15)
Family Style (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Cozy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Historic (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (0)
Sort By:
S
2665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and. Came here for our anniversary. Stayed for s couple of hours and just grazed on appetizers and drinks. It was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Most of entrees were perfect, except for Portugese Stew, small clams that did not open, small everything. Our reservation was at 12:30, table inside by window. The stew was my husbands and he was crushed how small clams and entire dish was. pbooker82@comcast.net OpenTable

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner, great scenery! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Wish you could make a res for outside. We lucked out and it was wonderful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Love sitting by the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Reservations for two made 3 days in advance. All I asked for was a nice table by the water and a birthday dessert for my fiancé. I even called the restaurant to make sure they could do it. Not only were we seated at a table inside the restaurant and right next to the server's station (which I wouldn't mind if it wasn't a special occasion), but they also brought us the check right when we finished our entrées. I had to return the check and ask to see the dessert menu, still hoping they would do what I kindly requested 3 days ago. Our dessert came with no candle, no happy birthday, no anything. Also, no taste or cream either (it was supposedly a Boston Cream Pie). When I called, the hostess even asked for my fiancé's name, I guess the idea was to write "Happy Bday Tim" on the plate. Our server was training and did a good job, drinks were good, the food was just okay. What really ruined our special night was the incredible poor customer service we were given. There was clearly no communication at all between front desk and servers. They never acknowledged my fiancé's bday, let alone fulfill my very simple requests. Hostess who was walking around with tablet was rude and sarcastic when I asked to move to a table by the water (which they had one open). I talked to the manager who managed to move us, but didn't seem to care a lot about it. She walked by when we were eating our dessert and said "happy bday" to my fiancé, we said thanks but that we wished our servers knew, she then said "well, you got the patio table". I guess they can't make it perfect, right? It's either one or another. Two very simple requests made 3 days in advance and I had to stress about both. After the the bill was paid, the actual server came over to apologize about the "situation" and asked if there was anything she could do for us... too late.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place! Decided to go here for a pre -college graduation dinner w/my family. We arrived not more than 5 minutes past our reservation time, the place was packed, cars TRIPLE parked out front and I was IMPRESSED to walk in, give my name and be immediately taken to our table.

Waitstaff was SO great, food was amazing, beautiful view! Pricey, yes (a bit), but for all that you get WELL worth it, especially for a special occasion. I definitely recommend and hope to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great service. Great food. Everything we get is very good. Very fresh seafood. The specials are always excellent too. Great patio too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and drinks ! Fun atmosphere !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to other Legal's several times before and I have had a wonderful experience every time. This, my first time at Harborside, on the other hand, was not as good. It felt like a tourist trap...the hallmark being over priced food. The appetizers in particular were expensive and the portions were stingy. Two of us had lobster which was market priced much higher than what I encountered earlier in the week at another seafood restaurant. The location, atmosphere and very good service made up for everything else, so it was still worth the trip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall a great experience. We were seated on deck with fantastic view and quieter than inside dining. Service was excellent and food was great . My only complaint was food was lukewarm.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Sadly, the lobster roll I ordered that was supposed to be hot, was cold and way over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Good for gluten free folks looking for seafood

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Greatly enjoyed our lunch on the patio this week! Reservation honored on time, perfect table with the best water view, wonderful waitress (Jessica), great food. Everything about our experience was excellent! Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Fabulous as always. I love me harborside venue ans were lucky to have a beautiful dayive been enjoying Legals since the '60s

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is my go-to business lunch spot. Great setting, service is spectacular and it's the best seafood in town.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I made a reservation to take my 89 year old mother to a special dinner to celebrate Mother's Day - one day late.

I was running late and knew I would lose my reservation. I asked to speak to the manager and Alex came to the rescue. He not only held our reservation but enabled us to get a table with a beautiful view of the harbor. We were originally planning to eat in the first floor but then opted for the fancier menu on the second floor.

Dinner was delicious. We shared the calamari appetizer. My husband had the swordfish, my mother had the first and crab (I sampled quite a bit of the filet and it was outstanding) and I had the lobster 3 ways. All were wonderful . The restaurant was busy but you don't feel crowded. Excellent service and beautiful setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mothers Day lunch was great except we found a piece of plastic in the mussels. The piece of plastic looked like it was the piece that connects the tag on the garment to a actual tag. The staff did not apologize nor did a manager come over to apologize. To top it all off, it was still on the bill!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I wasn't disappointed nor impressed. The locale on the water is worth the average experience. Prices are too high for quality of food, IMHO. Our waitress, Jess, was excellent but our food was delivered separately. I watched my husband eat, and vice versa. My soup du jour was delicious but lukewarm. The house salad was very good. Lobster roll average, even with butter😬 They were very busy, but still.... If you stroll along the wharf, same view, better prices.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

seated 1 hour after reservation time, very disappointed in the food:limited unimaginative menue, bland, location is stellar but does not make up for the second rate cuisine,. would not return.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had a reservation for 7:30 and wasn't seated until 8:25, after asking multiple times about my reservation. It was very frustrating, but once we sat down our waitress was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fresh fresh seafood

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We waited 45 minutes to get chowder waitress was too busy or just ignoring our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great experience, friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

the ambiance is wonderful.....however I had a crabmeat sandwich...it was not snow crab and was very mushy......hated to send it back because that really disrupts the meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous lunch. We love fresh seafood and this was the best! The service was excellent. All around great! I had requested a window table and that is what we got, it was appreciated.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were just in Boston for the weekend and knew we wanted to get some good seafood before we took off. We are so glad we were recommended to come here. While there are several Legal locations, Harborside is, as you guessed it, on the harbor and provides floor to ceiling windows and even some outdoor seating that gives you amazing views of the harbor.

We were most impressed with just how gluten free friendly the restaurant is. Their GF menu is almost as big as the main menu. We had hummus with GF bread, GF calamari which was AMAZING and included some random fried peppers, green onion stalks, and even fried lemons in it, and a GF caesar.

For mains, I had the lobster roll which was not gluten free but was delicious, and my wife had the salmon with polenta and brussel sprouts which was all very good. The polenta was a bit salty but that works to her advantage due to a health condition she needs a lot of salt for.

The service was great and our server was personable and friendly. Everyone who came to our table to bring food or otherwise were all great.

The one downside is parking. Findings a meter is like winning the lottery and the public parking lots are $9 for the first hour and $18 for 2. Valet is $18 with validation so cut your losses and just valet, unless you know you will be there less than an hour.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I was very specific that I wanted a table with a good view because it was a special occasion. Did not! Unless I wanted to look past all the tables for a brief glimpse of the harbor. I think that walking in would've worked just as well. Our waitress was too busy with her other tables to pay any attention to us. We were pretty much ignored & needed to ask for another set of dinnerware ..... 4 of us, only 3 place settings. Needed to ask another waitress for the soda my son wanted Also Very loud, Food was good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had dinner with friends and we enjoyed the evening very much. Food and service were terrific.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food! Great view!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Made a reservation for 8 people and got a great corner table with a beautiful view of the water! The service was very attentive - our servers came by frequently to make sure we were doing well. Food was great - two members of our party mentioned they were going to split a lobster and the servings actually came out on two separate plates, which we thought was a nice touch.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food and drink menu. Great service... our server was very cordial. Nice view of the harbor.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Mediocre food, slow slow service. Restrooms very dirty. Legal has lost it's appeal. The Legal near the Aquarium is even worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great service from our server Kaira! Legal's always a good choice for business lunches and this time was no exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Brought 5 clients here for lunch. Lunch took an hour to come out and two of my clients had to leave before their food arrived. Server was trying her best but she doesn't make the food. Once we had brought to her attention how long we were waiting there really seemed no urgency by management to rectify issue. Main manager on floor could not even be bothered to come over. And took one item off check "to apologize". I am a regular here (once a week) and after the way we were treated I will not be back. I expect so much more from this establishment. More concerned with collecting as much money as possible than quality of service and maintaining relationships.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My favorite spot in the seaport district. Food is always awesome. great view and staff very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Legal Harborside was an excellent location and excellent food choice for our first time in Boston. She seemed like we had the freshest Seafood, beautiful view of the water and a very helpful, friendly staff complimented the experience. It was within walking distance of a famous, local brewery which added convenience to our visit to the Seaport area of Boston.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server was terrific! The oysters were chilled perfectly. The wine was a great choice for the food too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Although the food was good as always at a Legal Sea Food restaurant, the service was horrible, didn't even get lobster bib and crackers until 10 minutes after lobster came, had NO service from server who was also handling a table of over 20 people by herself. Although we got a waterfront table as requested, we were jammed next to the server pay station where multiple service people stood on top of my shoulder talking and entering data and often using xxxxx language. AND this was a birthday celebration! Legal Sea Food should not be proud of their level of service and ambiance. It will be a long time before I go to that particular Legals again especially on a weekend night.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great evening, service was a little slow but food was excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.