About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available daily and during full hours of operation for $18 with our validation stamp. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Liberty Wharf Marina link: http://www.libertywharf.co/docks/reservations/

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're featuring the "Norwegian Miracle," an ultra-premium cod. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (85)
Scenic View (76)
Casual (43)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Fun (31)
Good for Groups (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Business Meals (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
People Watching (20)
Healthy (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Family Style (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great Beer (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Got the clams which were too fried, felt it was all fried breading and no clam, same with fish and chips. Bar on 3rd floor is great.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice lunch w my family at Legal Harbourside. Really like the different menu than general Legal restaurants. Service was knowledgeable, but the dude kept disappearing. Hate having to look for him for refills or needs

View is nice, so it was delightful to enjoy a warm day in Feb waterfront.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We have had generally positive experiences here with two notable exceptions: It is just ridiculously noisy and getting worse. Also, on one occasion we had to wait over an hour even though we had reservations. They did comp us a $100 gift certificate, but only after we called to complain. Food and service are generally good, waterfront location is great, but not sure I'll go back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Always good and always fresh!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

LOVED everything about this restaurant, sat on level 1, so much fun, food delicious, waiter so attentive, price reasonable!!

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went early for drinks on level 3 which was outstanding and a Fantastic view. We were seated for dinner on time.. nice table overlooking the water.. food was very good and waitstaff was friendly and attentive. overall had a great time and will plan a return visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food as always. Love the ambiance!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food, great service. A little overpriced. Great view as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful food and fabulous harbor view. We ate on the first floor and there were many many options for seating with great views -- the layout is designed well. There were four of us -- one had clam chowder and the crab cake, one had the tuna burger, one had the crab salad and one had the pizza with pepperoni and crab - we were all very very happy with our meals. The cappuccino was also very good. Absolutely no complaints -- we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a great time. Perfect service and great food. We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Although we had an 830 reservation we were told the table would take 10 minutes and we waited until 930. No one ever apologized to us and no one ever came up to us. The service was terrible the waitress kept leaving it took a long time to get our drinks the food order was incorrect. I don't think I'll go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

good food and nice ocean view, the wait was kinda long but we thought it was worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the harbor view and Linguini clam with pancetta pasta. A window seat, with great service, and "spirit forward" cocktails...We came early, so the place was calm.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Especially enjoyed the Raw Oyster menu and descriptions.

Fried clams (whole belly) were small, all one could taste was the crumb coating. may have been time of year.

Very busy and very loud...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

the food and service was excellent

Making a reservation was helpful

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I can't tear myself away from this place. I love the Harborside Salad with Salmon on top. cooked to perfection!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lobster roll was tough and chewy and not enough for $29!! My husband got the special and the "bay" scallops looked like the little little China scallops and presentation was very unappealing but our waiter was great!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great if you like seafood. High price point for portions given.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of my many times eating at Legal Harborside. Sat at the bar, great service and delicious food. Oysters to start then seared yellowfin tuna with Brussel sprouts and rice. Tasty New Zealand white wine too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great for a fun yet professional dinner. We had great food and service which was the perfect way to end a long business day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Smooth and quick service. Good lunch menu

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food with something for everyone. Fabulous location for a casual business dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food as always. Tuna burger cooked and seasoned to perfection. Solid beer and wine list. Attentive service.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Waterfront, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good food, great service. Our waiter was super friendly and helpful. The lobster mac and cheese could have benefited from more sauce, but it was great all the same.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have visited this Legal many times and keep coming back. We had an excellent server this time, she was so pleasant and so good at her job you did not even notice her there. We particularly like the menu and that it changes with the seasons. The sides are particularly good, I tried the sweet and sour eggplant and farro salad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service. Good food. Wish we were on 2nd floor. Very loud

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I was not very happy with this restaurant, the service was good but that was the only thing I would say was good. We were a party of five squeezed into a table for four. Hardly room for our main dishes let alone anything else. I was there on business and did not want to complain however, I don't think I would choice this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Seated on time and had very friendly staff. Waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great experience always love going to

Legal's Harborside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of my favorites when I'm in Boston!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great view. Biy this is Legal's flagship restaurant. Food should have been extraordinary. Instead, quite ordinary.Baked Scrod was bland, fries -- I've had batter at McD's. I've had many better meals at Legal in Natick/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Overall the experience was great. We were seated right away and the service was excellent. It's also a beautiful spot right on the water. I'll definitely be returning again in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was good outing for a birthday dinner. Service was good and food came out in adequate time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Colin O'Brien (Assistant General Manager$ and his server Jenna Wells made our night out to dinner great. We're in town since we have a connection flight tomorrow and wanted to try the Harbor restaurant. After a poor experience a couple of months ago In the DC restaurant, we were referred by Earl Howard District Manager to try the Harbor restaurant.

Earl, it was outstanding.

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Another great lunch. Service was great as was the food. Too many good items on the menu make it difficult to choose. Highly recommend the stuffier and mussels as appetizers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The table was delayed without explanation so we went to sit at the bar. While at the bar, the notification buzzer went off 20 minutes later. I went to the hostess to say that we had ordered an appetizer from the bar and asked to delay for another 15 minutes. She said that would be fine. When the buzzer alerted us 15 minutes later, we went back to the hostess and she said that the table would be delayed again. So instead of having a seat at the bar, we had to stand by the hostess for another 15 minutes until the table was ready. The lack of communication with the hostess was disconcerting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fun place to eat with good seafood, and excellent friendly service including the managers.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Made a reservation on line for 8 pm but had to wait 15 min, because our table had to "be cleaned". That should not have taken that long.......really?

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Burger was way overcooked. They seated us to a very large party that was noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our wait staff consisted of Chad and Lisa which I just surprised myself by remembering their names. Chad was especially affable even though we were forwarded on to a new server, Lisa. He continued to stop by and check on us with a smile and a quip. Lisa took over with another great smile and friendly recommendations for further sightseeing.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Sangria and sushi here are fantastic and not badly priced!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great time at Legal Harborside. Our waiter, Randy, was particularly terrific. He was friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive to our needs. We took advantage of the Clam Chowder deal, of course I always order that anyway, but for a buck, one cannot possibly go wring. I had Salmon, my daughter had fish in a bag, my wife had the fig/olive appetizer and a salad and my mother had trout. We were very satisfied with our food and drink choices. My wife and i split a creme brunet for dessert and my mother and daughter split the bon bond for dessert. Great time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Cozy, Wood Oven, Authentic, Family Style, Fun, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My Texan friend and I were in Boston for an annual event over near the convention center.

A short walk away, we were seated promptly and she was able to indulge her desire for clam chowder, which coincidentally happened to the day's special, and then crab salad, while I caught the soup of the day and then a swordfish gyro.

The service was personable and attentive, yet not overattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great friendly service even with our demanding party of 9. Food never disappoints and it's a good spot for large parties without breaking the bank.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great views, great wine selection, delicious food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great meal great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our waitress was very good, and the food was fantastic! We had the North Atlantic Char and avocado/crab salad. Delicious! Will be back again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Business dinner for group of 12 on January 11th. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Service was (intial order, arrival of entrees) slower than expected given it was not a packed night. As always , a great view of the harbor night scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Bright spotlights from nearby were distracting. Bench seating was not all that comfortable. Great selection of cocktails and food was fresh and well prepared. One person in our party shared his side of eggplant which got rave reviews. Great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The noise level is very high- uncomfortable- food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.