About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 10pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 11pm

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available daily and during full hours of operation for $18 with our validation stamp. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Liberty Wharf Marina link: http://www.libertywharf.co/docks/reservations/

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

9th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 14, 2017 - Oct 11, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

9th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 14, 2017 - Oct 11, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and one shell-shocking event. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid Sep 14, 2017 - Oct 11, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (223)
Scenic View (181)
Great for Outdoor Dining (172)
See All
Special Occasion (113)
Fun (102)
Good for a Date (102)
Casual (99)
Great for Lunch (95)
Bar Seating (82)
Good for Groups (79)
Good for Birthdays (78)
People Watching (77)
Hot Spot (67)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (58)
Business Meals (56)
Local Ingredients (53)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Worth the Drive (51)
Romantic (48)
Seasonal (47)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Authentic (40)
Happy Hour (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Comfort Food (22)
Gluten Free Options (22)
Great Beer (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quick Bite (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Late-night Find (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Cozy (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Tapas (9)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Live Sports (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and ambiance. Never disappointed with the quality. Been going there for many years but this time the service was disappointing. Entrees were brought and placed on an already crowded table of finished appetizers. Had to ask for a spoon for my soup and had to ask twice for ketchup. At the end of the night they also ran out of tea. Waitress changed without notice too! Will reconsider going after 9pm next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We were seated promptly at our reservation time. The young wait lady was very friendly and the foods were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We had made a reservation for 6pm, arrived at 5:50pm, and were seated at almost 7pm. After we were seated we noticed that people who came in after us without a reservation were seated and eating before us. I guess the moral of that portion of our story is; don't make a reservation.

Once we finally sat and ordered, our food arrived and we noticed that a chunk of butter in the "fish in a bag" wasn't melted. When I pushed the butter aside we noticed that the fish was raw.
Note now that what I didn't mention above was that after waiting about 40 minutes for our seats we grabbed a manager, told him our story, and he rushed off (we assumed to find us a seat). That was the last we saw of him until our waitress got a manager to show him our food mishap mentioned above. He did offer to bring a replacement meal but by that point it was too late, as we had to be leaving for a concert at the Pavilion next door. He did cover our "meal" but I left without having one. My wife did have a glass of wine and fish tacos which she ended up sharing with me but I don't think that is an even exchange for the wasted time and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

1 hour to get food served. Food is average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful time taking my wife on a date. Our waiter was awesome and highly recommend the raw oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious, view wonderful, and wait staff very attentive but dining area was very noisy. Someone in our party was vegetarian so would also have liked there to have been some Vegetarian entree option.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Perfect location, great view. Menu had such a variety of food options. We were in town for the first time so we needed a little direction in what oysters to pick. Our waitress who we loved (Lisa) suggested variety of all. Soo good. Clam chowder was great. Lobster roll very good. Service was excellent

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

It was my last nights holiday in Boston. I was visiting with my partner. After we went outside for a walk on the deck and a waitress was outside tidying some tables. I politely asked her if she would take a photo of us with the bay behind and she said "No, I would but I'm kinda busy".. I was shocked and it was quite sad as we had had a nice evening and it kind of killed the moment.. it left my partner annoyed too! Anyhow we asked another server who was more than happy to take a pic..
Shame that was part of our last dinner in Boston...

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I went here for a birthday celebration at Floor 1 Restaurant and Market on a Sunday night. When we got there, there were a few snafus with the seating. Next time, if I specify a table with a view, I will be sure to say not outside. My mistake. The staff handled everything seemlessly (and were not angry, or at least did not show their frustration) and we were able to get a great table for 7 and have room for our baby stroller. To make things brief, this is a great place for a celebration, big parties, and if you want to be a part of the night life. Seaport of so lively right now and it's a change of scenery from the Theatre District or Back Bay which are popular spots as well! This location is perfect because it has metered parking, plenty of parking lots and of course public transportation. I think it's one of the best Legals locations because of the raw bar. For appetizers, we ordered oysters, steamers and fried calamari. Their apps are the best. We had prompt service and our waiter was simply the best at making sure we had everything we needed. The atomsphere was happy and lively. The 1st floor is usually loud because the place is (usually) always packed- but that's a good thing! The staff is great and the entrees came out in a timely manner. I enjoyed the linguine with clams and I like that it had pancetta. Such a nice touch. The pasta was cooked el dente and the clams were so fresh. My party was impressed and we had an enjoyable time thanks to our awesome waiter. We will definitely be back if we have another special occasion or friends/family in town looking for fresh seafood. Thank you Legal Harborside!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing! Will definitely be revisiting soon.

Thank you to all who were kind to my service to my party of 11 individuals.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Anniversary. Great service. Nice touch with free bob bon dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great experience! Went for our birthdays and food and service were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a must for dinner when visiting Boston
Our Son lives here & we visit every other month and always love Legal Seafood

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Legals Harborside is consistently excellent. The food quality, the ambience and above all , the attentiveness and strive for perfection of the wait staff. Diego is fantastic. He cares about each diner and their dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We met friends at the close of their three weeks touring the east coast. This was a great place to meet - an easy ride into the airport from the restaurant for them, and the perfect view of the Boston Seaport. The always lovely food was great, too!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Went with a large group for a birthday lunch and couldn't have been better! We were seated right on the patio, with a great view of the water. I am gluten-free and there were so many options. Hello fried calamari! We even received a complimentary dessert which was a very nice touch. Attentive and friendly service. I will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We felt extremely rushed they removed dishes before everybody finished eating they took plates away with food on them and then asked me if I had trouble with the pen because I didn't sign the check Fastin off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The view is great. Food and oysters were very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My crabmeat salad seemed to be pretty slim on dressing and was really just (delicious) crabmeat on an avocado with a couple of bits of tomato. Server didn't come back so I could ask for some dressing for the salad part. Lovely venue, great view, cheerful place to go. This was ,y second visit. Not great options for people that don't eat seafood, and honestly even seafood restaurants need to cater to those people!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The setting is great, food is above average and service is excellent. I've only been to this Legal twice, and both times I've experienced a drunk, loud and belligerent guest. It pretty much ruined a really enjoyable dinner and experience. And, I'm sure for all of the diners surrounding these tables.

I'm hoping it's totally coincidental (both Thursday nights) on warm evenings to enjoy the outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great experience! Sat outside and the service was very good. Enjoyed all the fish selections we tried ...the ribeye was just fair.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I like the unique differences of Legal Harborside vs. regular Legal's. Like them too.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Came here to celebrate mom's birthday; the restaurant agreed to let us bring in Mike's cannoli for dessert, and even graciously plated them for us with a candle.

The food was super fresh and tasty.

It was super loud at times due to a concert next door (loud bass) but not much that could be done about that.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was great, service was good. The doors at the back open to the harbor and our table was right by the open doors which made for a great atmosphere. The bacon wrapped scallops were our favorite part.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Perfect seat on the water.. Outstanding.. Would go there again.. Good selection of food...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Almost as good as our first experience 40 years ago in Inman square. Can't get better clam chowder anywhere!'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Legal's offers excellent sea food in a beautiful, scenic environment BEst of all, they still had my sweater which I left on the roof top deck a month prior!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was good nice view of the water. Service was slow and very noisy hard to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Buffalo shrimp appetizer was a rip off. The Rhode Island stuffy's we're good however they were way too spicy for Rhode Island stuffy as I've made thousands of them in my lifetime and they're not supposed to be that spicy even using chorizo oysters were fantastic.lobster roll was very good but I've had better for that price. Fried clams with Bellis we're done to perfection however they were very small for clams with bellies. Where it was a business lunch I didn't care so much but if it was my own money I probably would've been disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great experience. a bit noisy but it was a holiday night. good food. server did a good job but I could tell he was a bit too busy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We dined on the first floor, which has the traditional Legal Seafood Menu. Portions were large and food was great. Those who ordered chowers and salads felt they wished they had shared becauses they we very large. Price was a little expensive but mostly because we should have shared starters (wish I had known that). In contrast we ordered one appetizer (crab cakes) which ended up being one cake with salad no one touched (would skip in future).
All and all cannot beat the atmosphere and food combination. Ask for a waterfront view!! It's worth the wait.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fantastic meal for 6 celebrating a homecoming. Started with thin crust pizza and small plate of raw clams, oysters, shrimp cocktail, cooked king crab legs. Large wine list with an excellent Muscadet, beers, seasonal cocktails. Unfortunately they were out of iced tea in the whole restaurant. Doesn't seem too difficult to brew up a new batch, but they did not offer. Excellent dipping sauces from traditional to asian to spicy. Two people shared the lobster bake which was full of steamers, mussels, corn, chorizo, and whole lobster. The best Clam chowder anywhere, was enjoyed by all. Seasonal caprese salad with local tomatoes and basil pesto was perfect bed for grilled scallops. A bit noisy, energetic, so not recommended for a romantic night out. But perfect for us. Even on a cloudy day, the view of the ocean is stunning. Very good wait and service staff; friendly, knowledgeable and always available without hovering.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good food. Unfortunately we had a 7pm reservation and weren't seated until 7:30. At 7:20 they tried to seat us outside but it was 60 degrees out. The manger spoke with others who were taken late. We asked but no one came to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I was so disappointed. The food was poor quality and very expensive. The portions for the fish were small, poorly cooked and the plates were unappetizing to look at. Not a garnish in sight just a plop of mashed potatoes and a small serving of undercooked plain fish. My salad was warm and wilted and overpriced.
The food took so long to get to the table and the excuse was that the swordfish takes a long time to cook. Again, ridiculous. Heswordfish was a thin piece and it was actually old and undercooked and cost $33.00. We asked for the vegetable to be steamed instead of sautéed in tins of olive oil, which they did, but they acted like it was a big impostion.
I have eaten here many times before and the quality and the service have conppleyely declined. There are many other lovely and also expensive restaurants on the waterfront that are much better for the money. Del Frisco's remains a quality restaurant as does Ocean Prime. I wood recommend trying those and skipping Legal Harbirside in the future. It made me sad because in the past, the food was much better and the atmosphere as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We booked late for a concert night and ended up with a 4:30 reservation . Thought we were going to be rushed through dinner but the pace was very comfortable and relaxed. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I have been to a few other Legal Seafoods. This one, has the best view of all I have been to, but the service was not particularly good and the food was over-priced for the quality. Still....if you want seafood and you are staying in the Seaport District, it is not a bad choice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tapas, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Beautiful view of the water, great service and excellent food.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Exceeded all expectations and we were expecting a great meal and great ambience

Fun place with a great view!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

food was fresh and delicious
service was great, we told the waitress we were in a hurry and she sped everything up
fish tacos were yummy

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.