About Legal C Bar - Lynnfield

From Legal Sea Foods, Legal C Bar emerges - a focused yet full-flavored social urban venue, casual in style.

Legal C Bar’s menu complements the bar forward concept and features many items suitable for sharing while also offering options for more traditional coursed dining. Tried-and-true Legal favorites along with exclusive offerings, including sushi and pizza, comprise the menu mix. Oyster lovers will find at least 8 different varieties daily.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” (USA Today, 2013), “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.

220 Market Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:30am, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 406-2500

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/lynnfield-legal-c-bar-marketstreet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Wines of South Africa

Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our special feature menu offers twelve wines by the glass as well as two flights. Raise a glass of South African wine!. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid May 15, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal C Bar - Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (56)
Good for a Date (41)
Bar Seating (35)
See All
Fun (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Healthy (21)
Business Meals (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
People Watching (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Live Sports (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoy the food and meals! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I would have loved to stay longer and have more drink, but they had a problem with the hot water so they had to close early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent evening at Legal C. Waiter Scott was personable and efficient. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The garlic mussels were meaty and delicious! Highly recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice venue and the food was light but filling. Great service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I was looking for a good restaurant for dinner. Being from the mid-west, and unfamiliar with the area, I reviewed menus online and decided to try this place. I was not disappointed. The seating was quick (with reservations), the service excellent (the server was friendly and really tried to make all of us satisfied), the food was excellent and cooked precisely as we had asked, the place was packed with a line out the door. People watching was phenomenal. When I return to Boston, I will definitely return to this location for at least a couple of dinners. Just wish we had one in St Louis.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Lives up to Legal's reputation. C Bar has been in Lynnfield for about 2 years and it is consistently good. Food is fresh, especially seafood; famous Legal sangria is excellent. The service was good, the waitress checked in frequently in the beginning but then it got busy and we had to bring the check inside but that was a very small issue. We were not rushed which was nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service, good menu. We've eaten here before and have always been happy with both.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Casual, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful as always. Never disappointed
Always look forward to being there

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great as always, having the reservation was very helpful.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Legal food quality has slipped in out opinion.
We go for healthy options but the butter or oil they use is over the top. Have always liked the chain but feel that the quality isn't what it once was.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Legal Seafood does a wonderful job hiring their staff. Every time we go to a legal establishment we feel welcome and engaged. The recent menu changes at C Bar have made it a great place to swing into to grab sushi and a beer at the bar. We also have high compliments on the dessert menu changes with one exception. Tiramisu is not done with whipped cream, chocolate, and a cherry.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Legal used to be a great restaurant, but it seems to have gone downhill. There were 4 of us dining, and we all complained to each other how it just wasn't worth the price. Food was just eh.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Love Legal C. Always have fresh fish and love the menu!
Our server was amazing! Very friendly and didn't rush us.😊👍

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had an excellent swordfish this evening . One of the best Lobster bisques in Boston and my wife Lobster roll was so large , I got half of it for lunch. Thanks. We will miss Ryan who is an awesome server and wish him all the best !

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always great seafood, but the remodeled Peabody & the relatively new Lynnfield location have tables much too close together - feel like I'm dining with strangers - and way too loud, at any time of day or night, to catch up with friends or have any sort of conversation. No good for elderly folks or anyone who wants to have a relaxing meal. Too many hard surfaces, just not comfortable.
Waitstaff & food still very good but I have other seafood options I'll try before returning. Used to be my favorite restaurant! ☹️

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The menu is much improved from our last visit. We had Grouper with mango salsa, and the soft shell crab special. Both were outstanding. We cannot wait to go back to try some of the other new items.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food is Ok. Service is Ok. Ambiance not very good as it is very loud Nothing is great or noteworthy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great, but the restaurant was quite loud. The acoustics don't seem conducive to managing the noise level. It didn't help that we were seated next to a group with seven young children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The seafood is always fresh and awesome. We always enjoy coming here. Great atmosphere and food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. His meal was fine. I got the soft shell crab sub. I have had mixed experience ordering soft shell crab at other places but didn't expect problems at Legal's. The first few bites of the sandwich were ok but the taste got progressively worse as I ate more to the point where I found it inedible.

I probably should have mentioned this to the waiter but I didn't. Insult to injury: We asked for separate checks and got one check.

I've eaten here many times and this is the first time I've been disappointed. So, next time I go, I'll definitely avoid any soft shell crab entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great night out with the family. Food was great as was the service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I went to lunch with a friend of mine on Saturday and I have to say I really enjoy Legal C over the regular Legal Sea Foods a lot more. The food is creative and fresh and the atmosphere is fun. This particular location really plays up the nautical theme and it works. The interior of the restaurant is open and comfortable. Love the decor, esp the lighting. This location has outdoor seating as well, but we dined inside. Our lunch was a delight. I had the red salad and my friend had the fish and chips. Everything was really fresh and prepared and served well. Our server (and the manager) paid particular attention to my friend's food allergy and were attentive to us, but not cloying. Highly recommend and definitely make a reservation if dining at night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent as always at the bar as were the oysters. The halibut special was a large serving but a little heavy with the lemon butter and the pea risotto was rich. Since it was low on peas, a vegetable side should have been offered. I feel many people go to Legal for fish and are looking for healthier choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great meal at Legal C in Market Place. Very busy night and had reservations, sat with 5 minutes. We have bee to Legal C a dozen times since its opening. Our waitress, Kimberly, went above and beyond for my child and got her special sushi rolls and was able to get my husband a side vegetable. Great experience and will request Kimberly again. Thank you Legal C!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food/menu not as good as Legal Seafood. Tuna was cold and rice was hard. Save your money and go to the REAL Legal Seafood!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We are regular diners at legals and it is usually excellent
This time my husband's meal was excellent and I had the Lobster bake one of my favorite dishes. My lobster was over cooked and tough. The mussels were tasteless and more than half were not opened. Needless to say I did not enjoy mine and left most. Guess you can't be perfect every time
The waiter saw all that was left and asked if I wanted to take it home . I usually don't complain but told him the problem He said I'll tell the chef. But he just returned with check and nothing else was said

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was exceptional. Very comfortable atmosphere. Noise level though was almost unbearable! Would still go again but
would hope they can do something about the noise.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent meal and the service was great. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service is always hit or miss. Either you get someone who is on point or someone who lacks experience. We didn't want to rush our lunch but the waitress we had although polite and nice- waited too long to come back to the table in between our food orders. My silverware was dirty, and I noticed there were a lot of floor waiters/tresses but they just walked around a lot.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic seafood with great service in an energetic, dynamic environment! Reservations are a must!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lunch was perfect and a great way to head into the weekend. Our waiter started with a great recommendation for the sunrise sangria and things continued to be stellar from there - tender shrimp cocktail, always perfect fish and chips and delicious blackened mahi mahi tacos with fruit salsa.. perfect way to have a Friday lunch with mom! Can't wait to go back..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Very consistently good quality food and service. I go to the Lynnfield location often for business lunch meetings, and they never disappoint. Thank you.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food and drinks were amazing. We also had a knowledgeable and very friendly server!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Mens room was a mess. The table was messy too. But the food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was great. The food was okay. I had fish and chips. The fish was overcooked and a bit mushy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Ate lunch at Legal C with family. Initially were placed against the windows that were drafty. Asked to be seated at a booth and were switched quickly without reservation. The waitress was professional and attentive. The drinks were large. We ordered tuna sashimi and was excellent and the fried pickles very good. For lunch the we ordered fish and chips. The fish was very thickly battered, overcooked, and there was not much fish. Each plate came with a piece and a bit of fish. Compared to other fish and chip plates like at the British Beer Works which has two large pieces of fish, Legal served meager portions. The chips were excellent. Another family member ordered Fish tacos. Mahi Mahi was the fish and they were very good but again the portions were meager.-only two tacos were served. At other restaurants including Legal's in Salem 3 tacos are served with an entree. Check-out was made very easy. Nose level was low which made it easy to talk. Overall a very good experience but could have been excellent if portions had been larger and the fish not overcooked and overbattered. Reasonable value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Same menu as regular Legal Seafoods (I was hoping for some difference). Service was fantastic both at the bar while waiting for our table and tableside as well. Accommodated requested change in a menu item. All in all, exactly what I expected.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was delicious. Our server Katie was wonderful. The only drawback was the note regarding a Birthday Celebration was forgotten. It was okay though as we needed to get home.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.