About Legal C Bar - Lynnfield

220 Market Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

From Legal Sea Foods, Legal C Bar emerges - a focused yet full-flavored social urban venue, casual in style.

Legal C Bar’s menu complements the bar forward concept and features many items suitable for sharing while also offering options for more traditional coursed dining. Tried-and-true Legal favorites along with exclusive offerings, including sushi and pizza, comprise the menu mix. Oyster lovers will find at least 8 different varieties daily.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” (USA Today, 2013), “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:30am, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 406-2500

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/lynnfield-legal-c-bar-marketstreet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Skrei

Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're featuring the "Norwegian Miracle," an ultra-premium cod. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Feb 23, 2017 - Mar 22, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal C Bar - Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (38)
Bar Seating (28)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Healthy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (6)
Romantic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Live Sports (5)
Cozy (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to other Legal locations but this was our first visit to Market Street. We were happy to be able to make a reservation. We were seated promptly. We had a great waitress, food and drinks. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a preferred restaurant of ours that we visit frequently. They usually have the best oysters around including the top Boston restaurants. This past visit they were extremely disappointing and did not taste right. We should have sent them back. Luckily the fried clams were very good as was the tuna sashimi and the firecracker sushi. The mahi-mahi tacos were also not up to par this time either.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and food. Our reservation honored on time, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

All of the Legal restaurants are fantastic, legal C included. The Marketplace location is convenient, the food is wonderful. Great value over all.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came for Valentine's Day with my boyfriend. The Thai wings we got for an app we're absolutely delicious. I got a grilled scallop dinner which was really good and came with a really good size portion. My boyfriend didn't care for his patty melt but it was removed from the bill. Our waitesss was great but I did not get her name

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made a reservation and we were seated within 5 mins of the reservation time. I thought the food was excellent and the service was very good. Our server explained all of the meals and was very helpful with the selections of sides and toppings.

I would definitely go there again. The food was a little pricey, but I think the quality was worth it. Pomegranate and Espresso Martinis were good hits for the night.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

chicken wing appetizer was perfectly seasoned and cooked. Sushi was good as a main course. Unfortunately linguini with clams was a bit dry and unevenly seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and fun menu. Very knowledgeable of gluten free choices and safe food prep.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went here for Valentines Day. I made reservations two weeks in advance but still got stuck in the overflow make shift dining room on the heated porch. Food was good but some items on menu not available like the halibut which is what everyone in my party wanted.

Really need to get new menu items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amit was great! Personable, attentive, and didn't rush us out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was ok. We frequently visit and enjoy but tonight was odd. The waitress wasn't very responsive and then this strange thing happened where they suddenly couldn't accept gift cards because the Internet was down. My wife and I had to come up with ideas for the manager to figure out a way to do it. Eventually, the manager accepted our original idea of leaving the gift card with them for them to charge tomorrow. Strange behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outdoor patio section was pretty cold, otherwise great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love this restaurant! Food is delicious and always perfect and how you ordered it. And the service is outstanding. I have to give a special mention to Ryan! He is fantastic. Always professional, knowledgeable of the menu and always helps you make the make perfect choice from app, dinner and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service were perfect. We had a reservation and the table was ready on time despite it being a busy Saturday night. The only problem we encountered was that a large group that was at the bar kept backing up into our table area. The staff got them to keep their distance once I pointed out the issue but it was not long before they started drifting back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love coming here and are so happy it's here in our hometown! Katie M is our favorite waitress and she's seriously the best you have there! We love going to eat at the C bar and even more when Katie is working. Great eats at Legals - this continues to be our go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

After a rocky start, we had a great dinner. We made a 6:45 reservation but weren't seated until about 7:20. They ran out of pagers so they texted when your table was ready. It was so noisy that I didn't hear the text so when I saw it less than 5 minutes later at about 7, I think they had given away our table. We were standing right next to the hostess so we were a little perplexed/annoyed. Once we sat, our waiter was over immediately taking drink orders. The wait service was great and the food was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Disappointed that even thought we had a reservation for 6, we waited over 30 min for our table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A good local restaurant - good food and the service is generally great. The only issue we have had twice now is that it takes a long time for the server to pick up and return the check/credit card. The first time it took over 10 minutes and this past weekend, it took over 15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our party of 4 were at Legal C Bar for a birthday celebration; we had a 6:15 pm reservation, arrived about 15 min early but were thinking we would have a long wait since the restaurant was packed for an early Saturday night! We were barely able to order a drink at the bar when our buzzer went off and we were seated. As usual, the menu options were extensive (and a little overwhelming!!) but we had great recommendations from our server. Oysters on the half-shell, shrimp tacos and bang-bang cauliflower were delicious and just the right amount. From the scallops to the grilled seafood salad to the dover sole, the entrees did not disappoint - our server even accommodated one diner's request to have the tuna sashimi appetizer turn into an entree-sized dish which was outstanding! We had just the right amount of attention, and our server did not even flinch when we were surprised by a 5th person who joined us for an after-dinner drink - just scooted over another chair and took his order. As always, our go-to choice for a great dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server was fabulous! Attentive and knowledgeable about the entire menu!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Legal C Bar is a great place for lunch or dinner. Atmosphere is nice and area is great to walk around after lunch/dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Meal was excellent highly recommend the fish sandwich. Ask for the chipotle mayo to dip the fries into!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good but they gave away my reservation. Didn't get seated for 40 minutes behind multiple groups who came in after us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, great service!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Legals is always dependable for good food. I highly recommend the lobster avocado bacon wrap. It was delicious. I thought the lobster might not stand out next to the bacon but it certainly did. We also had the lobster mac and cheese, cod and seafood paella. Eveything was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had great service (by Stephanie) along with perfect dinner and wine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I have enjoyed eating at legal C, Lynnfield since they opened. Unfortunately since this summer our experience has not always been the best. This weekend our experience to date has been the worst. We made reservations via OpenTable, arrived a little bit early checked in and went to the bar for some drinks. They did not call us until a half hour after our reservation time. Our waitress was nice enough not overly friendly. We ordered appetizers and dinner, appetizers came out fairly quickly. And then our waitress disappeared never came back to clean up the appetizers never came back to ask us if we wanted drinks while waiting for dinner. When dinner finally came most of the sides were wrong and one meal was completely wrong. she went back to correct the order no apologies still never cleaned our appetizer dishes. Needed to let her know we wanted to order more drinks. After that, was the last time we saw our waitress was when she left us the bill. Ended up flagging down another waitress so that we could pay and leave. We ended up having dessert at another restaurant at Market Street and had a great night after that. Sorry to say we will no longer be going to legal C Market Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dinner with friends on Saturday evening. We arrived at 7 PM with a reservation and were seated immediately. Restaurant was packed. Service was excellent. We ordered fried clams and filet of sole and they were out of both!!! Everyone enjoyed their dinner except me. I ordered crab cake and grilled shrimp and my meal was barely warm when served. Everyone else's was fine so I didn't send mine back. I will be back again and hope for a hot meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our table was ready when we got there. We had a great waiter - Ryan. He explained the menu and the specials of the day.

Food was delicious, came out quickly. We had a 3 year old with us. Kids menu & crayons were perfect to keep her happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We celebrated a friends birthday. The food was delicious. The service was excellent. We didn't feel rushed and got to enjoy! THank you.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was very good and the food as high quality as always. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was over cooked. Clams were like the old Howard Johnson's, just strips although waiter said there were bellies. They were small and over cooked. Shrimp and scallops also came out dark and dry. Too much money for lousy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Busy Friday night - we had a reservation but still wound up waiting around for a table. The food was good but slightly less special than what we would have had at Legal Seafood, which always nails the food. My "Old Fashioned Old Fashioned" tasted good but seemed very watery for an $11 cocktail... that was a disappointment.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always enjoy Legals. This location tends to be s little louder than others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food is always exceptional. But it is always freezing in there. It's hard to enjoy the meal when you are shivering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I've been here many times and always enjoyed the food. Their sangria is amazing and the freshness of the fish can't be beat. I had crabmeat and avocado, outstanding. My lunch partner had the salmon and said it was great.

The only reason it didn't get 5 was because it was an extremely busy day and we had a little bit of trouble getting service. The couple around us and the family on our other side, both of whom arrived after us, were serviced ahead of two women! The couple was offered a free dessert, we were not!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good, fish was fresh and tasty. Service was great, food delivery was staggered appropriately allowing ample time between coarses. Though it was New Year's Eve we never felt rushed. The C Bar is a neighborhood go to for us!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I am never disappointed when we visit Legal C-Bar. The food and service are consistently excellent 👍😃

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and food very good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful food, the Rhode Island style calamari and the spicy cauliflower were stellar. I was the DD so I can only comment on my observations about the chai White Russian - both my wife and son loved them.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome server, very attentive to our needs. Food was excellent

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We go to Legal C Bar quite often and this was the only time we were disappointed. The food was good but not as good as usual. My son had the cod which he really liked but my green dragon roll wasn't as good as in the past. It didn't seem quite up to Legal standards. We ordered two appetizers that were never delivered and since we didn't see our server again until well after receiving our entrees, we didn't have a chance to tell him. We had enough food so it wasn't a big deal. I just missed having my bang bang cauliflower which I order every time. We'll go back again because we are usually quite happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Seated right away attentive service and they even noticed we were celebrating a birthday and poor a candle in the dessert....subtle yet special

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service can be a bit slow, but we always enjoy the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Luv this legal's location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner at Legal C Bar was a comfortable joyous experience!

Food and service were awesome! Will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always a great meal here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our kitchen was being remodeled over Christmas, so we booked this last-minute. It ended up being a wonderful experience with great service and friendly staff. We have a 4yo and a 1.5yo and they were very understanding/accommodating. We really appreciate them making our Christmas dinner comfortable... and the food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Restaurant was crowded when we arrived, but because we had a reservation we were seated promptly. Waitress was very pleasant, took our drink order and when she arrived with the drinks, she took our order. And that was the last time we saw her. People from the kitchen delivered our soup/salad, which were wonderful. And our food. Another waiter brought our bread, when we asked. Another waiter got us additional drinks and cleared our dishes and brought coffee. Asked him where our waitress went, and he said it was the end of her shift! Strange, but all in all, the food was wonderful and the other waiters provided very good service. We would definitely return...food was worth it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was Christmas Day so it could have gone either way. Our waiter was nice. The food and drinks were timed well. They only complaint was never received the extra sauce requested. It was asked of the person who delivered food (maybe a manager) not the waiter. Also the special was a little overpriced for the amount of food (

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.