Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Le Pigeon

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Tasting Menu (36)
Open Kitchen (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Cozy (22)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (15)
Fun (12)
Seasonal (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous, creative food. A metal band was playing upstairs--loud bass and drums crashed and boomed. Quirky I suppose but hard to keep a conversation going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Le Pigeon for a special occasion of sorts, and found it to be a lovely gem, on par with one of our other favorite restaurants, but in a very different way. We did the 5-course tasting menu, which was more than enough food for the two of us, and the wine pairings, which were generous pours, of lovely wines, some of which went better with dishes than others. The food was incredible in flavor and composition, and kept to the French roots of Le Pigeon while still getting creative. It was all plated beautifully as well, and came out in a timely manner. We very much enjoyed the restaurant, and I have no doubt that we will be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful flavors. Foie gras appetizer portion was generous, to the point that we were unable to finish our entrees (but was so delicious we didn't mind). Both meats in the entrees (pork and beef cheek) were cooked well, but the accompanying vegetables were the standout to us. Complimentary champagne as we were celebrating our anniversary was a thoughtful gesture.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent. Attentive but unobtrusive service. An evening to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 18, 2017

For foodies what a great spot!! I had the 5 course pairing dinner and was not disappointed. Better go hungry as the 4th course stuffed me. My only suggestion to the chef is just a bit smaller portions would be great. My spouse had the beef cheeks and enjoyed her meal as well. The portion size again was large but delicious. We will go again for sure. Also enjoyed sitting at the Chef's counter. Cheers!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, great wining pairing, great service. We come back every time we visit Portland. Creme de lapin was AMAZING.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fun decor -- eclectic and interesting. The menu was quite whimsical and I enjoyed the variety of choices. We chose two starters and a main course followed by dessert. All were very good. But my favorite was the prawn and prosciutto Benedict. YUMMY. The wine selection is great and I love that they have a great amount of half bottles. Overall was a nice dining experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Though it's pricey I experienced food in a way that I never thought possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Superb, extraterrestrial taste!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It's really hard to say anything about this restaurant that has not been said before, but the bottom line is it is great. This was our 3rd visit and this time we dined at the counter and watched the food prep and talked to the staff, including the chef, Gabriel Rucker. We did the tasting menu and let them pick the courses, plus the wine pairings. It was all great in every way and we made an evening of it. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We are from Denver and I did my "foodie" research before coming to Portland. Le Pigeon didn't disappoint. We sat at the chefs table and watched with excitement while the made each plate in front of us. Our food, foie, rabbit, fried chicken and the house fish Halibut were all exceptional. The flavors were layered perfectly and paired so well together. If we ever come back to Portland this will be my first stop!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our server Chris was awesome! We ordered the 5 course tasting menu and opted to not do the wine pairing tasting menu with it but he had some great glass suggestions for us. We really enjoyed talking to him. The kitchen is open so it was cool to see the chefs working, next time we will request to sit at the bar so we can watch. The food was so amazing as well. Hands down the best meal we've had in Portland.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We did the seven-course tasting menu with wine pairings. Overall very tasty, but we were surprised that three of the courses were sweet. Also, there were two courses with foie gras which we thought was one too many. We loved the ambience and sat up at the bar where we could watch all the action in the kitchen. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful, taking care to explain each dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was ok. Not up to the expectations I had for this restaurant

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The Portland restaurant scene is amazing. But there is one that stands out in a class by itself. Le Pigeon is quite simply a world class restaurant. Astonishing how Gabe Rucker pushes the envelope without waiving the flag of "I'm creative". The food is a masterpiece. And Andrew Fortang's wine selection refuses to take a back seat to the food. Which creates perfect pairings and an exquisite dining experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 24, 2017

From the host to the server to the chefs everything about the service at Le Pigeon was phenomenal. We felt so welcomed and taken care of and the tasting menu was perfect. The wine list offers enough choice but is not overwhelming and is obviously conscious of the menu options. If I didn't live in Canada, I would make this spot a regular date night restaurant. Thank you so much for taking care of us. I will be back as soon as possible!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This restaurant is expensive, has unique food combinations, and had promising reviews so we expected positive experience. My husband had the special, halibut with scallops and fresh made noodles. The halibut and scallops, though cooked well and tender, were ruined with excessive liquid smoke flavor and the noodles tasted like top ramen. That was a real surprise.

The server noticed the mostly uneaten food and asked how everything was. My husband is too polite to complain so just said "fair." At 40.00+ a plate, the answer should never be fair. You could see in the servers face that he recognized something was not ok but instead of responding to that, we just didn't see him again. Would never go back

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food here is excellent.
The dessert was outstanding.
The Burger is the best that I've had.
Service is dry, but gratuity is included in the menu prices.
Had to book weeks in advance.
Weekends are likely impossible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First of all, read the menu, but then order the tasting menu with wine pairings. My husband said it best: The food was particularly good.
He noticed. that's saying something. I got the cookbook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was great. Sauces were flavourful like they are dancing in your mouth. Personally, I think if the seasoning can be a little lighter so I can taste the freshness and natural flavour of the main ingredient will bring to it perfection. For example, my first plate has a horseradish sorbet and it overpowered the geoduck while geoduck shall be a really fresh shellfish. Dessert is very well balanced tho.

Service was A+. Their tasting menu portion size is very generous. I would definitely recommend this place. Just remember to book early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food. Outstanding service. Too noisy but enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food and service, distinguished and beautiful presentation of dishes

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always an amazing experience at the pigeon! Great food and wonderful staff.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Quite simply the best Portland has to offer, this in a city of great food

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Wonderful combinations of very fresh ingredients. Had the 5 course chefs choice and it was all excellent. Staff was helpful and very friendly. Wine service was good. Had reservations about the communal tables, but it wasn't an issue. I understand why they have communal seating, it's a very small restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food! We went for a business dinner and we're a table of 7. It was perfect. I'd recommend this place for business or pleasure, especially for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Second time here, the meal was delicious again. Beautiful to look at as well as a wonderful taste experience. Great knowledgeable service. Overall my favorite restaurant, a little too pricey to eat here as often as I'd like, but well worth the money

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We loved the food here. Very well presented, and the wait staff knows a lot about what they are serving you. We chose the 5-course, and I dropped our own bottle of champagne pre-dinner ($30 corkage). There was not any part of the meal we did not love, and I even got a lovely substitute from the chef for the foie gras part of the tasting menu (it does not sit well with me), but the bite I had of my partner's was pretty amazing.

Love that they do no gratuity... it makes a difference.

On the downside, I do not understand the communal table thing. I had to get up 3+ times to let people sit down, and/or go to the bathroom. They were not part of our party. They were loud, pretentious, and annoying--so loud that we chose not to talk a lot because of them. When I am paying over $200 for a meal, I kind of like some privacy, and I really do not want to have to accommodate other people. Communal seating is not trendy, or cool, and it does not bring me closer to anyone. It's annoying, and it is probably part of the reason I will not go back even though the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing food. All was on point. Appetizers, entree and dessert all flawless

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Thanks for a memorable time . Pairings and courses were fantastic. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Even though this tiny restaurant was rated #1 in Portland in 2016 we were not impressed. The 4 of us ordered different entrees and two different desserts. Only the desserts were considered good. One of us ordered coffee with dessert but it was never delivered. We had so looked forward to a fine meal our first night in Portland so we were sorely disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We had the 5 course Chefs choice. Every single course was an imaginative mix of wonderful interesting flavors. Every course was also something I couldn't or wouldn't create at home. We had a VERY lovely evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Three of us dined at Le Pigeon on a Saturday evening. The restaurant is small and seating is at communal tables or the bar. Bar seats allow you to watch the food being prepared. We had three courses and were able to split/share items whenever we requested. The butter lettuce salad was huge and extraordinarily fresh. Highly recommended! The sweetbreads were a different preparation than we had had before but were excellent, as was the foie gras. The quail entrée was good but the salmon special was outstanding. Service was friendly and efficient. There is a good wine list with a wide range of prices for bottles and glasses.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Absolutely fabulous!!! Incredible food & wine. A must, if you haven't already!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. This was the first tasting menu for any of us, but everyone loved the meal, even the items that had ingredients that they aren't usually willing to eat. We had the seven course version and every course was a winner. I had the wine pairings and the other three in our party had the non-alcoholic pairings. The wines were lovely and presented with a lot of information about their characteristics, but the non-alcoholic pairings stole the show. They were inventive and in combination with the foods, the result was greater than the sum of the parts. Highly recommended for a special occasion for those who want a comfortable casual environment for their fine dining experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Not only did we love the food, we had fantastic conversations with the people who sat next to us. We will return.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Predictably and reliably fabulous food. The minimal attention to ambience reinforces the message that it is about the food. Wine list is excellent and reasonably priced, with a nice selection of half bottles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great experience and taste, a culinary masterpiece! Only drawbacks include limited space and communal seating makes it more difficult to have an intimate, romantic evening.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Exceptional dinner with my bride....a must are the foie gras profiteroles.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Hadn't been in many years and was a bit apprehensive but out experience was every bit as thrilling and enjoyable as I had remembered from the first visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.