About Le Pigeon

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (48)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Open Kitchen (30)
Tasting Menu (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (13)
Seasonal (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Organic (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very excited for this experience a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I was very excited for this experience and wasn't disappointed. The food was extraordinary but I wish I had ordered differently because my app and main dish together were too rich and I was left wishing I had ordered a salad to start. The portions here are so large I was beyond full. Wish I had a bigger stomach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Get the chefs tasting course. Amazing.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Get the chefs tasting course. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too many ingredients in each main course ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Too many ingredients in each main course. Too salty. Trying too hard.

We did not understand the attraction to Le Pigeon. We had tried to make reservations for a long time, based on other reviews, and were very disappointed with the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Foie gras starter was wonderful, as was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Foie gras starter was wonderful, as was pigeon, sort of duck/game bird flavors. Attentive service. Creme brulee, yum!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Danny was amazing and provided outstandi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Danny was amazing and provided outstanding pairings to the delicious courses. What a fantastic experience! The open kitchen adds to the appreciation of the magic and art delivered here. Thank you so much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding and. Are fully prepared food ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Outstanding and. Are fully prepared food. A tiny place and when alone the bar is probably best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect in every way. Delicious food fro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Perfect in every way. Delicious food from start to finish, great wine list, knowledgeable and professional service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, as expected. My onl ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was very good, as expected. My only gripe is the value. 7 course tasting menu is over $100, at that price, the tables should not be communal. On that note, the food was very good, but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great date night experience, creative an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great date night experience, creative and well balanced flavor profiles. The first time I ever tried a lamb tartare, and it was pretty perfect. The pork short ribs and the pork (feet) fried rice was so good, my plate went back to the kitchen scraped clean. And the fois gras dessert sounded a little out there, but it was such a nice balance of sweet and savory...I would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I am an avid cook, so when I dine out I ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I am an avid cook, so when I dine out I want an experience beyond my time limits and capabilities. Some ultra-fancy food veers so far into the unexpected as to lose sight of flavor. The happy marriage of imagination, flavor, and presentation at Le Pigeon makes for a truly rewarding meal. My only regret was that I didn't have enough capacity for the 7-course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baroque complexity of flavors, with some ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Baroque complexity of flavors, with some highlights (lamb tartrare and butterscotch semifreddo were on he mark)

Noise level impeded conversation

Exhaust fan for the grill inadequate: everything I am wearing smells like a melange of the night's menu. Not the memory I'd like to take home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was incredible but I did not fe ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was incredible but I did not feel that the presentation of the coursed dinner was well thought out. Each course was great in its own right, but did not flow well from course to course. The seating arrangements were awkward, and the restaurant is tiny, so don't expect an intimate experience. I was expecting more, but the food was great, no denying that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

awesome meal and service. ordered off t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

awesome meal and service. ordered off the tasting menu and everything was a delight. thought the communal dining would be less than private, but to the contrary it was still intimate and cozy. Loved the entire experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Imaginative food, very interesting, but ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Imaginative food, very interesting, but perhaps the imagination overwhelms the intrinsic character of the main ingredients. It's a small restaurant, with family-style tables. We enjoyed our conversation with the couple sitting next to us, but I wouldn't recommend the restaurant for a private, intimate dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I took my husband here for our first nig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I took my husband here for our first night together in Portland. He says it is the best meal we have ever had together. We had the 7 course chefs menu with reserve pairings. It was excellent from start to finish.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff, the food, the choice in pairing. Next time I'm in Portland I'm saving up to eat here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There was no air protection so every tim ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

There was no air protection so every time door opened a blast of cold air hit us...salad and entree were acceptable but not a good value...I will not return for average food with extravagant prices...seating was very clumsy

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Very creative fare. Great if you want a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very creative fare. Great if you want a culinary adventure. All the varied tastes and textures clicked in all the dishes except for the foie gras appetizer. That was a bit too sweet / savory different for my palate. Service was impeccable. Very attentive ,but not intrusive. Not a big fan of open seating, but that seems to be the trend. Overall it was a bit spendy, but an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was my third visit to Le Pigeon. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my third visit to Le Pigeon. We enjoyed the tasting menu food was adventurous, wine paired well. I will definitely will be back for the fourth meal!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best meal I had in the last year! I will ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best meal I had in the last year! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dear husband brought me here for the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My dear husband brought me here for the first time to celebrate my birthday... and we both can honestly say that this was the BEST meal we have ever eaten! Every single aspect of the evening was perfect... from the greeting at the door to the "happy birthday" at the end of the evening, EVERY dish, each wine pairing (we chose to do the 5-course pre fixe with wine pairings) - all could not have gone better! We chose to sit at the bar and watch the chefs preparing the food and will definitely do that the next times we come as well. Xan (one of the chefs) was so friendly and answered our questions cheerfully and informatively. Each course was brought to us with a wonderful description of what we would be enjoying and we were blown away by each and every course! Creative, delicious, presented beautifully. Our MOST wonderful compliments to the chefs of this outstanding restaurant!! Thank you to all of the staff who made our evening just perfect! (we did have to drive home in a snowstorm, but made it safely!)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I are big foodies. We'v ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I are big foodies. We've been talking about eating at Le Pigeon for a year, and finally got in for his birthday. When the restaurant confirmed the reservation I was able to plan the birthday dessert ahead of time so there was no stress the evening of. The restaurant is small, quaint, warm, and inviting. The people and overall ambiance is very "Portland" in the best way. One of my boyfriend's favorite dishes of all time is foie gras, so it was perfect that this was for dessert and we were able to try some other starter options. We had tuna tartare which was extremely fresh. There was a hint of spice but nothing over powering or too hot. We also had the beef dumplings that were rich in a French onion perfection sort of way, and incredible. This particular dish came with a Parmesan crust that you cannot forget to add to each bite. For entrees we decided on the fish of the evening which was steelhead with baked kimchi. The fish was very good even though we aren't the biggest fans of kimchi. We also had the beef cheek that was wonderful. One of the highlights of this restaurant in my opinion is their wine list. My only regret is not doing a chef tasting. Five or seven courses with wine pairings. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a wonderful dining experience! Incr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Such a wonderful dining experience! Incredible food, and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal, the short rib dumplings ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic meal, the short rib dumplings were a standout hit! Cozy space and TIGHT but worth the squeeze. A little pricey even after factoring in the automatic gratuity, but will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

pass on the tasting menu. order a la car ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

pass on the tasting menu. order a la carte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

I came here for my birthday with my fian ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I came here for my birthday with my fiance. We sat at the chef bar and it was super fun ! We spoke to the chef and it was a great experience! Both of our entrees were FANTASTIC and I will definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm an enthusiastic foodie and cook, and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I'm an enthusiastic foodie and cook, and had wanted to go to Le Pigeon for years. My prior partner refused to go because he'd once gone and had experienced such terrible service he wouldn't go again. I recently managed to go with a new partner. I loved the food--my entree may have been the best entree I've ever had in Portland. I also thought prices were perfectly fair for the quality and volume of food served. BUT I'm unlikely to return, and would only recommend it to a hard-core foodie. Service was decent, but nothing more. Noise verged on intolerable--it might be okay for two people who are louder, but both my date and I are very soft spoken, and with almost-shared-table seating, it was too much. Finally, we went on a freezing cold night (having made our reservation well in advance) and even though we were seated far from the door, I found myself at points too cold even to be able to enjoy my food as much as I should have. I was dressed warmly and eating hearty food, too! For such a small place, it shouldn't be impossible to warm it up a bit!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

This was our first trip to LePigeon and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was our first trip to LePigeon and we were very excited to go. When we got there though, we were disappointed to see that we were to be wedged in elbow to elbow at a communal table. The noise level was very high and it was not easy to relax and enjoy ourselves. But when the food and wine came they were mind-blowingly good, and the service was spot on. That made up for most of the uncomfortable atmosphere...and I would definitely go back. Also I love the no-tip policy and I applaud their efforts to pay their staff well in compensation (I hope!!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Had a fantastic Holiday meal with the fa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a fantastic Holiday meal with the family. It was great with the exception of the fish special (Sturgeon). No bar, great wine. $$$$

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had Foie gras appetizer, beef cheeks ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had Foie gras appetizer, beef cheeks and a pork dish. The main ingredient in all three dishes was lost in an unappetizing mish-mash of waaay too many incongruous ingredients. We literally could not stomach the completion of any of the dishes. The foie-gras (?) was overly sweet and sour, the foie gras was not cleaned properly and I got a mouthful of raw textured sinew/membrane on top of too many ingredients, many unidentifiable. The beef cheeks were very smokey, dry, and clashed with what ever else there was in that dish. The pork dish was also dominated by an unidentifiable pile of something. The first bite was...shrimp(?!!)...this was probably the worst dish of the three. We wanted our 25th anniversary to be memorable and it was! This was one of the worst dinners we have ever had in Portland. My husband was too embarrassed to say anything. There is something very wrong in this kitchen. Who ever is in there is not tasting this yuck before it goes out to diners expecting to experience some of the best food in pdx. I would title this review "The emperor wears no clothes".

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

So good!! Make your reservation. Must e ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

So good!! Make your reservation. Must eat when in Pdx.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great like always! Fois gras & Jerusale ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great like always! Fois gras & Jerusalem artichoke soup were lovely. One of our group got the always excellent beef cheeks bourgegogne (she refused to share), two got the pork short ribs, I got the sturgeon. All excellent. Sometimes I think the dishes have too much going on & the flavors get a little muddled, but I would go here every day of the week over any other restaurant in Portland! Service was excellent. First time since tipping removed. Prices reflect this, but we always tipped well anyway. Beware the $30 corkage fee (if you buy 1 of their bottles, they waive the fee)!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was wonderful up until the cheese ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Dinner was wonderful up until the cheese course. The timing was delayed by about 10-15 minutes.

We were seated by the door and the next party of four that was scheduled for our seats arrived. The two desert courses were served to us at almost the same time by an unsmiling female waitperson. There was pressure for us to vacate our seats for the people standing at the door and the unsmiling waitperson. This marred our dining experience. We just didn't expect this behavior from this caliber of dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Probably my favorite restaurant in Port ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Probably my favorite restaurant in Portland. Great food, cozy atmosphere. Love to sit at the counter and watch the chefs work. Recommend the beef bourguignon, but everything is fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted for the 7 course chef tasting m ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We opted for the 7 course chef tasting menu with wine pairings for my partner's birthday. Although it was expensive, every penny was worth it and it was honestly a bargain for the amazing food--an experience I will never forget and I hope it becomes a birthday tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a special birthday. Le Pigeon ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was a special birthday. Le Pigeon was reputed to be tasty and innovative. It didn't disappoint! Everything from tuna tartare to aged pigeon to foie gras profiteroles was unusual and tickled the taste buds. We were glad we came.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative and delicious (but not precious ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Creative and delicious (but not precious or trendy) food, prepared with attention to detail, and presented by an extremely knowlegeable and personable staff.

We enjoyed their well timed tasting menu with unusual but perfectly paired wines, all done in a cozy room with an open kitchen to let you watch the show (super cool copper hood).

Seating was at communal tables, but the people we sat next to were very nice and fun.

The experience is one of fine dinning without any of the accompanying stuffiness or formality. Come as you are and you will be treated like the King of Portland.

The food and the experience was so good that my parents almost seemed to enjoy the Sex Pistols (don't panic, it was just one song) playing on the sound system.

Must have: "Breakfast for dinner" - seared foie gras with peppered pancake, proscuitto, and little "yolks" of pumkin puree, finished with a chestnut, date, and maple compote.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, , People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was outstanding in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The entire experience was outstanding in every aspect from the time I entered the restaurant until I departed. The staff was friendly and professional and the food simply remarkable. Well worth the time to explore this amazing place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, , Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb! Love that the kitch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food was superb! Love that the kitchen is open. The music stream was a blast from the past, but very fun! We really like the fact that you don't have to pay a gratuity (it's built in to the price of the meals) which equates to higher wages for the staff. This restaurant continues to impress.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed an amazing Birthday dinner here ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Enjoyed an amazing Birthday dinner here with my love and had the best fine dining meal of my life in this cozy, quaint and casual restaurant, because this is Portland after all. I made a reservation the night before on open table and requested to sit at the Chef's Table for my birthday. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and and our seats were waiting for us. We had the 5 course tasting menu with the wine pairing and it was the perfect amount of food. I was pretty full by time dessert came out so I'm glad we opted for the 5 course instead of the 7. We were lucky to see Chef Gabe Rucker in action and he was even so kind as to sign my menu. Highly recommended this place and I look forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.