About Le Lyonnais fka Sonoma Grille

French comfort food that is simple and affordable inspired by time honored recipes from the chef owner's hometown of Lyon, France.

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Global, International, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: M-F: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: M-Th : 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Dinner: F-Sat: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://lelyonnaispgh.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking provided by Courtyard Marriott. Pay at Le Lyonnais.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Liz@bigygroup.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Lyonnais fka Sonoma Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (37)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Authentic (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Romantic (16)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (9)
Late-night Find (8)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I love eating here. The food is always delicious, but the servers are never friendly. They are not rude, but not friendly. I love the Big Y group restaurants, but was disappointed this past visit. My wife had a free entree up to $25 for her birthday. So we both ordered a meal and we share them both. When given the coupon the waitress took off the cheaper meal even though they were both under $25. When I asked why they wouldn't remove the more expensive one, she told me that since my wife technically ordered the cheaper one, then that's what they discounted. I told the lady they have never done that in the past, and she acted absolutely annoyed. And honestly, we weren't being cheap. We ordered many drinks, an appetizer, two meals, dessert, and cappachino. So the fact they tried to save a couple of dollars even though we spent a great deal of money. Overall, we still love the restaurant, just beware of the servers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service, outstanding and reasonably priced food. A good addition to the Pittsburgh restaurant lineup. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Especially loved the pâté appetizer! My rabbit could have been more tender. I lived in France and cooked rabbit a lot, mostly in a cream or mustard sauce. Heirloom tomato salad was excellent! We have been twice and enjoyed both times.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I was looking forward to trying Le Lyonnais after reading that it was one of the "xx best new restaurants in town." It was my understanding that it was to be excellent regional French cuisine so I came expecting that.

My companion and I began with cocktails. They were lovely. The server was helpful and more than willing to give us lots of time and space as we had lots of time. Getting a reservation was quite easy and they were not busy. The ambience is quite nice if a bit dark....thank goodness for those phone lights.

I was however, completely disappointed with my meal. At the server's recommendation I had their soup special--New England clam chowder..Okay, if I wanted regional French then why did I order it? Because he made it sound great. On the other hand, why were they serving it?? Anyway, there were big chunks of peppers, almost no clams, and little to no flavor. For my main course I had salade nicoise. I'm not sure why it was "they way they make it in Nice" when it had curry in it. The olives were cured and therefore overpowering. Rather than potato salad there were slices of boiled potato. It wasn't bad necessarily but just not particularly French.

In fairness, my companion ordered the pork tenderloin and it was quite nice. It was exquisitely tender. The butternut squash was also delicious. I had a nice glass of the house chardonnay and enjoyed it. So, while all was not a complete loss it was not at all what I expected.

Meanwhile, we took advantage of the valet parking and were happy to be able to leave our car there and return after attending our PSO concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and amazing food. I had the bouillabaisse and it was perfect. Even the calamari was tender! My partner raved about the chocolate mousse dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was a dissapointment. The food was ok, but for a Saturday night it was veeeeery quiet, and the environment felt like old fashioned and targeted for elderly people. We are definitely not going back, not so much for the food, mostly for the environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

At one time, Sonoma Grille was one of our favorite restaurants, from the food and wine choices, to the wine tastings that they had. We hadn't been there for over a year since we had a very disappointing Father's Day Brunch for my family (I am the Dad). We saw an email from Yves, the owner, for a dry- aged cowboy rib steak, and it looked very interesting, enough so that we made reservations and went this [past weekend. Although the wait staff were attentive enough, I was sorely disappointed in this expensive dinner. I too, at home, use a sous vide device for my steaks, as does Le Lyonnaise, so getting this large cut of meat to the perfect medium-rare temp is not an issue. What we were served was an extremely fatty pice of beef, all done to the correct temp, when you could find the meat! This was a meal for two people served on a large platter. The meat and the veggies were under a blanket of sauce. It was hard to tell what was on the plate. I've joked about some restaurants, that what they served was 'slop-on-a-plate', but I NEVER expected this from Le Lyonnaise. I don't know if I'm willing to give it another try.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The Sonoma Grille now serves French food. Because the only thing that's changed is the menu. Food and drink were good. The service and atmosphere were not good and not something one would expect from a restaurant that attempts fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Pretty restaurant with Good service. We ordered baked goat cheese and Jambon Cru tartine appetizers, both were excellent. Endive salad and Heirloom tomato salads were OK. My wife ordered grilled chicken for her tomato salad which was somewhat dry and mediocre. I ordered the Fettucine Basquaise which was very thick and heavy, not what I expected from a seafood and tomato pasta dish.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This is the nearest thing Pittsburgh has to an authentic French bistro. Everything we ordered was executed beautifully -- good, hearty comfort food in the French manner. And both food and wine prices were extremely reasonable for the quality offered. A new favorite!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing food and wonderful atmosphere. Best wine list in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This venue is FKA Sonoma Grill. Same Venue, same Chef, new name and new Country French theme.
While what we ate was very good and prepared to our satisfaction we had to send one of the sides back. The Brussel sprouts were under cooked and had no flavor.
I had the salmon on a bed of vegetables and my wife had Beef Cheeks over Creamy Mashed Potatoes. Both of which we would come back for . The french Baguettes were outstanding but unless you like Honey Butter, Which I do not, then ask for regular butter.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We chose Le Lyonnais to celebrate my parent's 40th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived to the end of the night the staff made sure to acknowledge the special occasion and presented my parents with the most beautifully prepared desert plates which spelled out "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on the rim. They loved it! Le Lyonnais is a lovely restaurant and the food is fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent food with wonderful service. A nice accomplishment on French food. Wonderful desserts to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner - excellent food and attentive service. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an interesting menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We enjoyed the dinner very much. Bobby, our waiter was attentive and friendly. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great menu selection-cheese plate selection was wonderful (along with the candied cherries that accompanied it), but we were disappointed that the presentation did not include the "wagon" that we have seen on other occasions. The lamb in the puff pastry was fabulous.
Our server, Alex (f.), was very accommodating to all of our requests and needs. Plan to return soon.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Much quieter than our last visit but it's mid August and we dined early before a concert so restaurant was not full. Food and service were very good although one entree was less than warm when served. The cassoulet and vichyssoise were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food here is excellent and the price is right. Hubby had Jambon Cru tarting and Beef Cheeks Bourguignon. I had Salad Laurie and poussin Provençal. Generous portions. Nice cocktails and small but decent wine list. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This the second time we've eaten at Le Lyonnais and was not quite as good this time. The Blankett De Veau was disappointing with white noodles, white cream sauce and white veal and a little spinach and carrots. It had very little flavor. My husband had the special porchetta dinner which he liked but thought it was overcooked. We'll come back and try other menu items.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The erstwhile Sonoma Grill is wonderfully reincarnated as La Lyonnaise. We were told by our server, Aria, that it features food from the Lyon region because that is home of the owner. I had the Quenelle Lyonnaise and my wife had the stuffed pork chop. We shared a salad verte which had a wonderful dressing. We both enjoyed excellent food and will return to La Lyonnaise again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server was extremely knowledgeable without being pretentious. Made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was excellent! Service was excellent! I loved Sonoma Grille and was very disappointed with the change but I was wrong! I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful food experience. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had dinner here for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday. We came early and enjoyed some of the Happy Hour specials at the bar. For dinner I had the lamb shank and my wife had the hanger steak in a pepper sauce. Both were excellent. My wife said the hanger steak was one of the best meals that she could remember having. Service is very good and the pacing of the meal was nice. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had the salmon & the chicken dijonnaise. Both were delicious. When we couldn't decide between 2 wines, our server brought us tastings of both to help us choose. She was attentive & helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Nice atmosphere for such a large place. Excellent service. Interesting menu. Good French bistro food. Quenelles in lobster sauce were fantastic!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food very good my dates food came out cold. They fixed. Music selection for a french restaurant not very appropiate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Nice, but disappointed no traditional mussels available at a French Bistro!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Dinner before a show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Not much has changed in the atmosphere from the Sonoma days, in fact, the Sonoma sign is stil on the side of the building. Arriving at 12:30pm, it wasn't very busy, and after the hostess said something about getting a table together for us (there was literally 90% of the restaurant ready for diners), she showed us to a table. For lunch time, it was a bit dark, almost too dark to read the menu. The menu was good, nice change for Pittsburgh which has been lacking in French food for some time. Service was friendly although the server had difficulty pronouncing the French selections. The food was really good, I really enjoyed it. I can't wait to go back to try some of the other items and to make it for dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Went here for lunch during the week. The food was excellent. The service was great and the location ideal. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I was very thankful for a rarely-granted substitution to accommodate my dietary needs. Our food was delicious and our service great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was terrible! If they're trying to be an authentic french restaurant, they failed. My lamb dish tasted like Alpo! My wife's beef cheek special could not be eaten; way too tough to chew & tasted horrible. Must admit, the carrpacicco was only fair. Not with the price. The food was better when it was The Sonoma Grill. Only high point was the manager credited the beef cheek special & the service was good even though the waiter TRIED to impress is with his poor French. Overall, we won't be going back & do not recommend this place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Not a foo foo place. Great american style entrees with a french twist. Reasonably priced wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife loves french food and having never been, i decided to treat her here. We had 2 apps, 2 meals, and 2 desserts. Needless to say we each only had a few bites of dinner (veal and steak) but it was fantastic. The prices are very fair especially for finer dining and portions of the soup and main courses certainly adequate. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was delicious and as advertised casual comfort French. The staff was friendly, attentive, and genuine. The manager checked in with us and wished the person celebrating their birthday his gratitude for us choosing to dine for the occasion at Le Lyonnois.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch. Food was very good as was service. Definitely will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Nice Bar Area but very slow service. Happy hour prices are good. Food is average. Never been to a French restaurant that doesn't have escargot on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

My friend and I were both pleasantly surprised with this well conceived and executed transformation of Sonoma Grille into Le Lyonnais. Sonoma was truly excellent, but I also applaud this arrival of very fine French cuisine and wine in the Cultural District. The chefs and staff and ambience are all to be commended. Every dish was very delicious, and Le Lyonnais is very fine in every respect. Merci beaucoup!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.