About Le Lyonnais fka Sonoma Grille

French comfort food that is simple and affordable inspired by time honored recipes from the chef owner's hometown of Lyon, France.

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Global, International, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: M-F: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: M-Th : 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Dinner: F-Sat: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://lelyonnaispgh.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking provided by Courtyard Marriott. Pay at Le Lyonnais.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Liz@bigygroup.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Le Lyonnais can accommodate all your special event needs.

Le Lyonnais fka Sonoma Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
See All
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
26 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 8 hours ago

Excellent all around. Great food, service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

The reboot of Sonoma Grille is definitely worth it. Le Lyonnais fills a void in Pittsburgh, as there are not many (if any) French restaurants. The menu is authentic and not overpriced. The Whitefish Dumpling was a unique entrée that is creative, and truly delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was wonderful. Service needs some work but should improve over time. Main course arrived while still eating appetizers. Ooops!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

I'd wait a bit to go again until the service levels even out. Food was good, interesting choices. Nice wine selection, but one glass was from the bottom of the bottle, full of sediment, and nothing was done other than a "sorry" after we told the hostess about it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived :30 minutes before our reservations and still were seated immediately!! After reviewing the wine list my wife chose a Reisling, in a French errstaurant, and I had a Rose. I enjoyed the Rose and had a 2nd with dinner. We started with the Chevre Chard, goat cheese wrapped in bacon and a sprig of rosemary. This was served with a sliced baguette. It was delicious.
I then opted for the endive salad. It was a nice cleanser between the chevre and my dinner.
Dinner consisted of the pork chop served with stuffing, and Brussels sprouts, it was cooked perfectly and was delicious.
My wife opted for the parchment wrapped salmon, which was also enjoyed.
We went to the Pirate game afterwards, when we got there, Le Lyonaiss called and informed me that I left my credit card there. We picked it up after the fireworks and the ballgame.
Quite the enjoyable evening!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent food. I ordered the lamb; my wife ordered the hanger steak. Both were first class. We will return soon to try the other options on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The meal was exactly what I was hoping. Only disappointment was they had run out of vanilla ice cream for the tarte tartin and substituted cookies and cream without telling us. This as authentically french you can get with the same truly helpful service that I experienced at sonoma grill ! Awesome meal!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is an excellent restaurant. They make sure the deserts actually are light and help you digest your food. The wine is all imported from France. This means you don't have the headache next morning that you do have with most American wines. This is due to chemical processes USA uses for wines which are less healthy (but they save money). I like that service people actually take their time servicing you. So you have plenty of opportunity to talk with your company, enjoy your appetizers, and actually not feel full by the time the main dish comes. You don't go to a high end restaurant like that to be in a hurry. If you want to rush, go to a fast food. The food have clean tastes. You know the meat or fish is high quality because it's not hidden under five layers of sauce and junk to cover imperfections. Amazing restaurant for its taste. Congratulations!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Historic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been to Lyon, and found the food quite authentic.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Approachable delicious French food. Loved the whole experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I went with a group of six people to check out the new Le Lyonnais downtown. We made reservations for the bar area and when we arrived, we were greeted warmly and professionally. Since there were so many of us, we decided to split a few appetizers to get a broader sampling of the menu. Two people in our group had never had French food before, so we were excited to have them try some new things. We went with the Chèvre Chaud (the clear favorite of the group; we ordered two), Tartine Aux Crevette, and two cheeses fresh from the Cheese Cart. It was served with warm, fresh bread and seasoned butter. It all was delicious. Their bread is from the local Five Points Bakeshop and it was amazing. Just based on the bread alone, I could tell I was going to enjoy my meal. The menu is nice and easy to read; especially because they have pronunciations next to some of the challenging words. Everyone had fun reading them and it made the experience seem interactive and casual; not always my experience at French restaurants. For dinner, I ordered the Onion Soupe Gratinée, my boyfriend ordered the Blanquette de Veau (veal), a couple friends ordered the Lapin Chasseur (Rabbit) and RAVED about it, Saumon en Papillotte (very light and fresh), and another had the Boeuf Bourguignon. Everyone was absolutely satisfied and said they couldn’t wait to come back and try other things. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable about the food and drinks. There’s something for almost everyone on the menu. The dishes are fun and different. The food is delicious and authentic. I think this is the kind of restaurant Pittsburgh was missing… an authentic, unique French bistro with affordable prices and a great happy hour. What a gem! Can’t wait to come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I have always been a fan of French cuisine, so when Le Lyonnais opened, I was very excited to try the new concept! I was certainly not disappointed. The wine was delicious, as was the food. Recommended!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One reason we stopped going to the Sonoma Grill was the slow inattentive service. Now that the Grill is operating under a new name & cuisine we hoped for a change in our negative feelings. Not so. While the food was quite good the service was slow & inattentive. We waited so long for our sandwiches we finally flagged down our server & told her to we had to leave & please put them in containers for us to take home. Most disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This was our first time dining at the relatively new Le Lyonnais restaurant. It is located on Penn Ave. where Sonoma Grill used to be and part of the same restaurant group that Sonoma belonged to. The food was very good. I had the lamb shank and my wife had the fettuccine basquai dish, which she had specially prepared without some of the ingredients. We both enjoy our meals but my wife would had preferred a larger selection of non-meat entrees. They did had an entrée that was listed as white fish dumpling but she was not brave enough to try it or the seitan (a wheat protein meat substitute). If the restaurant is going to make it as a French restaurant in Pittsburgh they will need to find a way to introduce the locals to unfamiliar cuisine. The service was only okay. Our server did not check if we wanted refills on our wine and then he forgets our coffee. There also seemed to be a lot of discussions around the computer. Since the place is new, some things can be overlooked. The managers did stop by the table to check on things. The prices are somewhat less then Sonoma’s which is a good sign. We will give them another try in a few weeks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great to see a classic French menu in this part of town. That said, guests who ordered onion soup gave it a so-so rating, one describing it as "watery", another thought it "bland." Sorry we didn't pass the comments on to the kitchen; we would like to see
Le Lyonnais succeed, and hope they'll follow a classic recipe more closely.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The authentic cuisine from the Lyon region in France is a fabulous addition to the Pittsburgh dining experience (we need more french regional restaurants). Quenelle, tripes, and chevre chaud were delicious. I will definitely be back and bring all my friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at Le Lyonnais last Saturday. The food was very authentic to the Burgundy region of France. We ordered the Trio of House Made Pates, which were alone would have been worth the visit to downtown Pittsburgh. They were outstanding! We also ordered the Quenelle Lyonnaise, which actually surpassed the quenelle we had in Lyon, France. The Boeuf Bourguignon was tender and rich! The wine list had plenty of wonderful French and California offerings, but we choose a a fabulous Ruilly that did not disappoint! Finally, we felt that the price was a very good value for our wonderful meal. We can't wait to go back and try more dishes!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A comfortable, civilized French restaurant with good food. Reasonably priced ($90 for dinner for 2, with wine). Very good atmosphere: low noise level, comfortable furniture, tasteful decor. Service was slow. The food was quite good. French classics. Some inexpensive wine bottles on the wind list - in the 20s which is a rarity in PA. We will be back.

Suggestion: lose the phonetic spelling of French words. It's bush league.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our appetizers were great but our entrees were not! I would wait awhile to try them again. Staff was very concerned over our dissatisfaction with entrees.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We wanted to have a nice dinner before the night out in town, but we had to wait 45 mins for our first drink! It took way too long for everything water, drinks, bread and food.. and the restaurant did not even look busy! It was a big dissappointment in the whole experience although the food wasn't bad.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The quenelles are delicious. I was told the rabbit confit was great. I would recommend for a real French dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food with large portions. Still some kinks to work out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Vegetarians go home hungry: This place has only one vegetarian option on the menu. This particular day they were out of the vegetarian entree. They didn't even have a viable substitution. The "green bean salad" - the single other item on the menu without meat- was insubstantial, and nothing special (lettuce and green beans with oil and vinegar dressing). This spoiled the special occasion for me. I will never go back to this place (pity because I really liked the Sonoma Grill - which had good vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Unfortunately this is not a great review for a newly established restaurant .. we were staying in the hotel where the restaurant is located and it was convenient to go down for dinner. The web site was quite nice and presented a delightful selection of some French dishes - but what we were served was quite underwhelming; we had "boeuf bourguignon" and "blanquette de veau" - both had meat that appeared to be reheated, dry and tasteless. The cheese try was was great - good selection of cheeses with a delicious warm bread. We were seated at a side, behind some partition, while there was a lot of empty tables in the other, larger section of the restaurant - don't understand the choice that the hostess followed. We were lucky to have a nice server who made the meal more bearable. Maybe this is the "growing pain" but the restaurant competition at the Penn avenue is fierce and we hope that this restaurant will sufficiently improve to succeed in such competition.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We originally made reservations before knowing the cuisine would change to French. We decided to give it a try even though French is not our favorite food. However, after a very nice dinner before attending the symphony, we were very pleasantly surprised. Michael, our server, went out of his way to ensure we received the wine selection we preferred. Throughout our meal, he remained both attentive and entertaining. The appetizer part of our meal was especially enjoyable, including various cheeses, wonderfully fresh baguette (with fabulous homemade herb and honey butter - yum!) and steak tartare. Our entries, (steak and salmon) were equally enjoyable. And for dessert, it was hard to choose from so many delicious choices! What started as a dining experiment (after having a previous mediocre French restaurant experience out of town) turned into a definite repeat visit in our future. After all, there are still more great menu items to try! As a bonus, that elegant, yet relaxed Sonoma Grille atmosphere and extensive wine list we always enjoyed has not changed. Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Not sure this review will help as it will become a new restaurant "Le Lyannais" starting today June 24 it wifi be a French bistro with a new menu and new wines. I did meet the new owner and I am sure it will still be excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.