Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Le Colonial - Chicago

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:00pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $16. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Quoc Luong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (89)
Good for a Date (85)
Creative Cuisine (81)
See All
Special Occasion (74)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Authentic (59)
Cozy (53)
Good Vegetarian Options (50)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Business Meals (38)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Great for Lunch (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
People Watching (30)
Fun (29)
Good for Groups (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Spicy (19)
Casual (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Scenic View (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Comfort Food (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vegan (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food here is always the best! Have been to this restaurant for more than four times, totally love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been here twice and love the atmosphere! Great food and a nice clientele. Service was a little slow/pushy last time but it was great the time before...I still plan on going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Unique French-Vietnamese dishes, great service, nice ambiance. Upstairs seating noisy and too dark to read the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Pho and main dishes made it a treat to experience the cultural food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I like eating well and spending for food. But this dinner was just too expensive for what we had. I would not recommend it based on quality/cost ratio...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Entertained friends from out of town and truly enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent, delicious and very friendly. Beautiful neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Their food is outstanding. Seating on a warm night on the outside balcony was romantic and wonderful. Highly recommend!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Le Colonial has been one of our favorite restaurants for at least the past 10 years. Always a priority to go when we are in Chicago and never disappoints. Phenomenal food in a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Just an all around fantastic restaurant...

Ambiance, food, service... all excellent ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Omg loved everything! We sat on the terrace and loved watching all the amazing cars drive by. The food was outstanding, we had appetizers, main course, dessert and the Vietnamese coffee was wonderful too. Nothing like we've had anywhere else. Celebrated our 20th anniversaries with another couple and walked to Zebra lounge after dinner. Perfect evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Appetizers were great -- spring rolls and short rib dish. Had soup and a chili shrimp dish -- all excellent. Also had a very nice white wine by the glass. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We celebrated a birthday and my wife's first visit to the great restaurant. The greeter had a special table for us on the second floor balcony and it was very special. The food was amazing, we had a great bottle of French wine, and even a birthday surprise for dessert. The entire evening was impressive and wonderful. Thanks to le Colonial for a grand time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had no idea of what to order but explained our tastes to server, Pat, who guided us throughout. Cocktails, appetizers, entrees and dessert recommendations were right on. Will certainly visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wife's 30th birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Never disappointed. Year to year is always worth the visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I took clients here and they raved about the entire evening and gave me 5 stars for choosing such a terrific place. They all want to return which I do year after year. The various appetizers and main dishes are so phenomenal along with an old world ambiance combined with excellent service. Even the desserts were a rave. I have converted many to this foodie haven. The New York one is great as well but my heart is at the Chicago location. Thank you Le Colonial, truly a memorable event every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderful evening, delicious food!
Great service!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Unauthentic food- wasn't quite Vietnamese and couldn't see the French fusion in the dishes ordered

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Slow service.....for everything...
They apologized and offered one more appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

just OK. menu uninspiring. food average. we were seated directly by the galley so had difficulty talking because of the constant clatter of dishes being cleared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Comida muy buena interesante fusion de comida Francesa con Asiatica

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My hubby chose the duck, he loves that. He was very disappointed because the taste wasn't good and it was tough.
I chose the salmon, I love that. I was also disappointed because it didn't have any taste and it wasn't cooked.
Otherwise the waiters are attentive and nice.
We won't come back because it's too expensive for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a 6pm Saturday evening reservation and even then the restaurant was quite busy.
As in previous visits, the service was very good. The white wine chilled just so, and served without our having toremind the server. Food was excellent as always. Only complaint is the tables for 2 are very snug and a bit too close to the tables next to you. Otherwise, a great choice for really excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food, wonderful service and charming ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I've been to Le Colonial a few times over the years. I always found their food to be delicious and their service fine, but this last time it was terrible. Maybe it's because it was lunch time and not dinner? We had to ask the server to come back to take our drink order, and then again for food, and then again for the check. In-between appetizers and after finishing dinner, no one was checking on us to clear plates. I had to keep turning around to wait stand find someone to help us. Also when I asked about appetizers for the group, he only had one recommendation and couldn't help with the other dishes. Might not be his fault though if he wasn't educated on the dishes and hasn't tried them - could be a training issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Salmon was not cooked to r liking!:((( It was removed from final bill!:))

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good food but very expensive. ......................................................................... .............................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Chicago because of its atmospheric decor and unusual delicious food.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a leisurely business meal, and the wait staff were very pleasant, patient and did not rush us. Food was fantastic. We sat on the balcony which was little chilly, but a nice blanket was provided.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had a reservation for 9:45. Unaware that kitchen closes at 10 (the Le Colonial in sF stays open into the later hours). We had all of about 2 mins to read the menu and order. Not a good experience as we were rushed through last call and short timeframe
To eat. Service was alright but rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food and decor were good but the modern American pop music was totally out of keeping with the setting which really detracted from the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Having enjoyed the Houston Le Colonial, we decided to try the Chicago version, granddaddy of them all. What a treat! Smaller than the newer Houston LC, the decor was perfect. Banana palms, dark wood shutters amidst white walls and dark, slowly turning fans took us back to our imagined French colonial days in Vietnam. The menus were similar, but the dishes we chose were different and great. Very quiet service by very knowledgeable staff, and the upstairs lounge was a perfect place to relax after a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great ambience. Excellent service. Food was great. Though, the sauce seemed to be on the sweeter side ( It could be sweeter for me). Overall , it was a great experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal as well as the ambiance. The curry dishes and salads were wonderful. We will certainly return in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love this restaurant the food is wonderful ❣️Luis (Jose)was my waiter he is very good at his job ! The only unpleasant thing that happened was I have it in my notes that I want by the window and the hostess was sitting me in the back of the restaurant and I said can I sit in the window and she said it was reserved and I had to request the window which I told her it's in my note and on my confirmation email she sat me so I could see the window and that table sat empty even after I left making me unhappy about my whole experience!! :(

Tags: Spicy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This place NEVER disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Le Colonial is always terrific... our favorite restaurant when we are in Chicago! The red snapper makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Sat on the second floor porch. Rain didn't bother us.
The food was well prepared, beautifully presented.
An old chestnut that has held up well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I have had much better Vietnamese food at other restaurants. The ambience and service were great, the food not so much.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.