About Le Colonial - Chicago

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:00pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $16. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Quoc Luong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (89)
Special Occasion (84)
Good for a Date (83)
See All
Creative Cuisine (70)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Authentic (55)
Cozy (45)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Business Meals (36)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
Great for Lunch (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Healthy (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Spicy (21)
Historic (20)
People Watching (19)
Fun (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Scenic View (10)
Casual (9)
Vegan (9)
Family Style (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a favorite when we visit when we visit Chicago!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a good Thai restaurant which never disappoints. The sever was very helpful and gave us good suggestions. The seafood is great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Le Colonial has been here for a long time but it is still an excellent choice. With delicious, French Vietnamese food and excellent service, it makes for a wonderful evening. Why go with so many good choices in the area? The food is exceptional and the personal and professional attention of the staff make it special, still.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was top notch and the food was fabulous. It was the best meal I had while in Chicago!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect experience for someone trying to branch out of the norm. I got there a little early to sit at the bar where I was greeted and given great suggestions about drinks and special foods le colonial has to offer. When we got to our table the menu was very foreign, however the menu touring by Terry was fantastic. Every question my group had was a quick and easy answer which made the experience all the better. Our party ended up getting a few recommendations Terry had mentioned. I was blown away when I tried the shrimp curry. I took the plate after everyone was done and it took all of my will power not to lick the plate. I could have if I wanted too, the tables were not on top of each other and it felt like we had a ton of room to talk, eat, and people watch. Overall amazing experience. I was a bit nervous in the beginning to try something new, but I will be back soon and often to get number 27 (shrimp curry).

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Everything was just wonderful. The service was perfect. The food was delicious. And the venue was beautiful. We have been a few times and can't wait to go back!

Try the monkfish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food always excellent. Ambiance and atmosphere perfect for a date or special occasion. Enjoyed our anniversary there very much.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We only went for dessert and wine. Loved the atmosphere! We didn't care for our desserts. Totally thought we were going to have these amazing desserts but they were flavorless and mine was so dry. Good news is that the wine was delicious!! I would for sure go back there to try dinner but, not dessert.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Decent food but nothing special. I guess my expectations were too high. I loved the desert though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love Vietnamese cuisine and eat it about once a week. There were a couple of disappointments. 1. I noted gluten free on my reservations. The menu was complex and it was impossible to tell if something was gluten free. After several iterations of asking , the server asked if I wanted a gluten free menu. It would have made it easier had I had that from the beginning. I would also have expected a server in such a nice place to know more as well as know how a dish might be modified. Service in general was not great. 2. They forgot my wine and after reminding them 3 times, it was delivered. 3. They forgot my son's dish completely. It was not brought out until we were almost done with our food. They were terrible with water refills. 4. Some of the dishes were great and others were very mediocre. One dish was just luke warm. Shrimp were overlooked. The duck was delicious. 5. It was over $400 for 5 was pricey given the service and quality of he food. The atmosphere was nice. The drinks and wine were good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful ambiance & service. The pho was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The ambiance, people watching and good were terrific. It was one of great big city Saturday lunches.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been coming here for years and it's still our favorite place to go to for a delicious meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Le Colonial never disappoints. Good wine selections. Good service. Great food! Keeps us coming back

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

only the appetizer grilled pork ribs was good, the sea bass was cold and no flavor, the seafood soup was ok but i can taste the lobster wasnt fresh. disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

All I can say is outstanding in all regards. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. I love everything about Le Colonial.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Returning to Le Colonial after 2 years and the experience was awful. The food was horrible (no flavor or over salted), the waiter (though nice enough) had no idea what he was doing, the busboys stopped in every 2 minutes to spill water or grab half finished plates all while speaking completely incomprehensible english, and all at the VDay special of $75/pp for the same food they normally sell for less. To add insult to injury, they automatically included 18% tip. I usually leave more than that, so its not about the money, but how it was presented--typical tourist trap approach. Not sure what happened to you Le Colonial, very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

If you are vegetarian or vegan and plan on dining during Valentine's day, do not go. The preset menu will potentially cost you over 200 bucks for eating vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We came to celebrate our anniversary and the atmosphere was perfect. The food and service were great. I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere what more did you need.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife loves this place and try to dine here every time we visit Chicago. Food on this latest trip was excellent. We especially like the sugar cane shrimp appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We love Le Colonial, and have been many times, whenever we visit Chicago. I especially love the decor and atmosphere (Vietnamese/French Colonial), but also enjoy the interesting up-scale Vietnamese food. The menu is varied, and I usually get either the salmon or trout wrapped in a banana leaf. Both are delicious! If you have a sweet tooth, the Vietnamese coffee is great, and also the banana beignets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was not too good. Music was way too loud for a dinner environment. Maybe they should turn this place into a rap joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Best whole fish! Wonderful flavorless of the French Vietnam.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent service, food recommendations and flavors that sparked your taste buds.

Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A group of 4 of us went to Le Colonial during Restaurant Week. Such a lovely setting. The Cha Gio appetizers we had were delicious. Even though they were fried, they were light and airy. The chili limi dipping sauce was great, and we followed our server's instructions to wrap the spring roll in a lettuce leaf, add some garnishes, and then dip. Perfect! The Goi Cuon appetizer was also wonderful. We all enjoyed our entrees - 2 of us got a chicken dish with rice, one a noodle pot with mushrooms, and the other a beef dish. We all got to bring some food home and it was just as good the second day. The sorbet dessert was a fine way to end the meal. Refreshing times ten! The wine that we ordered was reasonably priced and went well with the courses. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a flavorful fresh tasting meal in a cozy elegant setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The best French Martini in Chicago!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion and it was the perfect spot. Le Colonial had amazing food and great service. The overall atmosphere was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had a cast of 7 for my wife's B-Day and all were happy with food which I regarded as exceptionally creative and well-considered as to flavor, presentation and portion. Waitress went to great lengths to help my nephew, saddled with significant REAL allergies (I am a physician and find much of the attention given to this subject very tiresome given how many "allergies" are more imaginary than real) to find suitable choices. Only sl misstep was distinctly poor espresso, an all too common failing, but especially disappointing when dealing with a venue with French roots. Allegedly, per my niece, the chilled coffee drink (Vietnamese coffee?) was also a dog. Will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I loved the European feeling with small tables crowded but it gave me the Italian freling!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a great lunch for Restaurant Week. Delicious food and generous portions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Le Colonial is always a wonderful experience. We had opportunity to taste the 3 course menu for Restaurant Week and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and although the place was full, you can always have a conversation. My favorite part is the decor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've dined at Le Colonial more than a half dozen times, and it is always a delight. Cuisine is lovely, and service is attentive but not obtrusive. My experience in Chicago has encouraged me to go to the sister restaurants in San Francisco and Manhattan. Standards are consistent coast to coast. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was excellent. We went for Chicago Restaurant Week - only qualms are that we were seated 20 minutes past our reservation time and each course took an extended amount of time to come out. So we left about 2 1/2 hours after we arrived. Not ideal. But again, the food was delightful and the decor is fun and different.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious food in such an exotic and enjoyable atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great place for a delicious lunch! Wonderful for dinner as well but today was a business lunch . It was restaurant week, they offered a great menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent service & extensive gluten free menu for my friend!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

My partner and I went here for Chicago Restaurant Week and tried the tasting menu. The food was fantastic, as were our cocktails. We had an asparagus soup, tofu stir fry, salmon over noodles, and lemon tart for dessert; I recommend all of them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Le Colonial is one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. My favorite server, Francisco, was our waiter. He is the best; always smiling, very accommodating, and passes along his favorites on the menu (and they're spot on.) The food is always good, plus the ambience is lovely - very romantic and different than any other restaurant in Chicago. Number #1 and #4 for appetizers (spring rolls, one rolled in sugar cane) are delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had a group of 6 traveling out of town. Everyone loved their food. It was a great value. Lots of healthy options. Everyone also had desert and loved them also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Another perfect evening at Le Colonial. From the moment you enter the restaurant you are greeted with warmth. A beautiful space and exceptional service. Dinner was delicious. We were a party of 5. We ordered several appetizers to share and each ordered an entree. Everything was delicious as usual. We will be back again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Empty, yet we were seated next to kitchen door and traffic. Delicious food and attentive wait staff were a plus. Dark wood privacy screens and palm trees set a cosy tropical mood. Vintage photographs throughout were an interesting feature. Many families with young children were there for Sunday brunch and were accommodated well by the staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It's rather dim when dining on the second floor, difficult to read the menu or even see the food. Tables are rather close together, I almost fell over going to and leaving from the table. Other than that, this is a wonderful place to dine in regards to both food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Much too cramped, in appropriate music for the scene (we are in a fine dining establishment, not a night club) but the worst part is the staff that run food to your table. I went to the restroom and was nearly run over by one of these staff members - apparently his job is more important than the fact that I was a paying customer. He actually clipped me and didn't even stop to apologize. And the same thing happened when exiting the restaurant and still no apology - and this was a completely different person. Overall, is say the staff there are generally snobby, arrogant and rude which is a shame because the food is delicious. I won't be returning and I wouldn't recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great dinner! Fresh ingredients. The pho was amazing! Well proced

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent as always. Great food. Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome experience until the manager kicked us out to use the table for waiting guests. We were about to leave anyway but it definitely left a bad taste in our mouth.

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.