Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Le Colonial - Chicago

Le Colonial transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920's French-Colonial Southeast Asia. Le Colonial invigorates the senses with exquisite décor and savory authentic Vietnamese cuisine. Le Colonial offers two unique dining options: The first floor dining room is adorned with louvered shutters, woven rattan chairs, potted palms, slow-moving ceiling fans and nostalgic black and white photos of turn-of-the century life in Saigon. The upstairs lounge includes a spacious, fully stocked mahogany bar, plush couches for enjoying light fare, dining tables and a veranda, for keeping warm in winter and cool in summer. Complete with unique, delicately prepared Vietnamese cuisine, Le Colonial is the perfect setting for an after-work social or a romantic evening for two.

937 N. Rush Street
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Late Café Lunch: 2:30pm - 4:00pm *Summer only/ weather permitting/ Café only*; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oak

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 255-0088

Website:
http://www.lecolonialchicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $16. Public lots & street parking also available.

Public Transit:
Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156

Executive Chef:
Quoc Luong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Colonial is celebrating 13 years in Chicago’s gold coast area on rush street. This noted up-scale french-vietnamese restaurant transports guests to another time and place, vividly recapturing the beauty, romance and spirit of 1920’s French colonial southeast Asia.

Le Colonial - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (94)
Romantic (91)
Creative Cuisine (88)
See All
Special Occasion (82)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Cozy (66)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Authentic (50)
Good Vegetarian Options (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Healthy (26)
Fun (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
People Watching (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Spicy (16)
Historic (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Casual (13)
Family Style (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Vegan (10)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
3106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Le Colonial is a great restaurant for a tasty dinner in a fun atmosphere. It feels special but isn't extravagant a the same time. A nice combination. On the food side, this visit didn't disappoint, but the service was lackluster. Our server was mostly okay, but the table staff made us keep our dirty appetizer utensils for our main course. For a good restaurant with fairly expensive prices, that should never be the norm. Clean silverware is easy to provide.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food and service makes the date special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fresh ingredients spoilt by heavy tasting sauces

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I mentioned when I made a reservation that it was our anniversary and asked for the same table we had several years ago. That accommodation was granted. The food is very unique and always tasty. Service started out slow, I believe because there were too few servers for the crowd. But, it improved as the night went on. Great location. There is a nice lounge upstairs too, if you get there in time to grab a couch.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and our servers were very attentive. Just one thing marred an otherwise very enjoyable experience. When I made the OpenTable reservation, I specifically noted that I was celebrating my guest's birthday. Despite that, there was not any acknowledgement of the birthday by the restaurant during the meal. Either the restaurant doesn't pay attention to OpenTable messages, or the restaurant doesn't believe in acknowledging a guest's birthday even when asked to do so. But for that disappointment, I would have given the restaurant top scores in every category.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

I am spoiled by the incredible asian, and asian fusion inspired food in the Twin Cities. And we probably paid double the price in Chicago. Beautiful space, impeccable service, and an incredible wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Congested, busy, loud, as only a popular restaurant in a busy city can be. We loved it! Energetic, noisy, bustling. Make a reservation or you won't get a table. Interior is dark wood, flickering candles, palms, fans, shutters, feels tropical too. Food is fancier than typical Vietnamese food, but totally fresh & delicious. We had stuffed shrimp beignets, Pho, sea bass, shrimp, and chocolate mousse cake. Very nice wines by the glass. Our window seat faced Rush St and the shops, which were closed that night. We enjoyed the Gold Coast Chicago location. Attentive service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Truthfully, I was disappointed. The food was just not good enough. I was really looking forward to an celebratory evening with overseas friends. I went away feeling I needed to apologize for the poor quality of the food. It was lackluster and uninteresting and tasteless. The Chilean sea bass was awful. This is my third time eating at La Colonial and likely the last. Sigh...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Le Colonial is always simply the best. My adult children and I had a marvelous dining experience. We will be back very soon . . .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was not bad. However, for what we were paying, I expected a lot more. I can get comparable Vietnamese food elsewhere at a fraction of the cost.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch for 9. Perfect round table for conversation. The Manager and staff were extraordinarily accommodating to our family group. Very attentive, informed and attentive staff. The presentation and timing for various courses was impeccable. Great menu with choices for all pallets and dietary requirements. All in all, a wonderful experience executed under challenging circumstances given the Mother's Day context!!

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing service, food and ambiance. Tables are a bit cramped though so be prepared that there will be people sitting on both sides of you. And if you sit by the wall and want to go to the restroom you will have to pull the entire table out in order to get out. For me it did not matter but people who want a lot of personal space might not like it. Still 5 stars are well deserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I usually love the food there and my favorite plate is #49! Yesterday I tried the sea bass and it wasn't cooked well and no flavor. Other than that, amazing appetizers and great noodles!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Love this place. It is always a pleasure to take an out of town friend here. The ambiance and food just blows them away.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent food. I am a picky meat and potatoes guy and my partner is Vietnamese. We both enjoyed the food.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Tables are very close together. Wait staff 'stalk' a bit which for me was uncomfortable. Food was not presented with any flair. There was just a whole lot of chicken on a plate with a little bowl of dipping sauce. No presentation. Talk low as you are right on top of your neighbor. Did not see the bill so not sure of the value/cost.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Never disappoints. Tried New York and Chicago. Took a friend and they were amazed

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delicious, as always. Flavors are excellent and makes for something more special than a steakhouse

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service started out slow but once he got going food came quickly. Food was very good but wished they had taken tails off my shrimp dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very enjoyable, consistent with all I've seen and read about French Indochina. We lived the Tom Xao Sate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Such a fun restaurant to try new things. Excellent service, knowledgeable and friendly. Our server made several recommendations to our larger size group and found options that everyone enjoyed. The food was absolutely delish. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Tight spacing/seating on tables, but the food is outstanding. Hands-down the best pho in the city, but hard to pick just one item to love!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent consistent neighborhood restaurant. Great ambience and very knowledgeable waiters.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the US. Food, service and atmosphere are all exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the world! Authentic and delicious food every time, clean, excellent service, beautiful decor - just perfect!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The overall experience of this place was fine. Nothing crazy stood out to us. It was a very basic dinner. I'd only come here if everywhere else was packed. I don't think I would come back again, not because anything in particular was bad but it was just a very basic restaurant.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I would highly recommend Le Colonial! Food was great, the atmosphere is awesome, and the service was outstanding. It's got a unique vibe compared to restaurants in Gold Coast/River North - perfect for a special occasion or date night. It was raining the night we came, but I'll definitely be back for dinner on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food is always amazing. We love the healthy options. Waiter was so helpful with shellfish and pork restrictions. Atmosphere is authentic yet romantic. One of our favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I'm not a stranger to Le Colonial, but this was an especially good experience. We had a great server - he advised me on an entree when I was undecided between two, and when he noticed that I had stopped eating, he asked if I wanted him to bring me the other entree instead (I was just full - the food was SO good). Very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is my Favorite place to dine in the City. Beautiful atmosphere, impeccable service, delicious cuisine and such reasonable prices. I visit this restaurant every time I'm in town!! I recommend Le Colonial to everyone!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Family Style, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I have wanted to dine at Le Colonial for some time now. My only disappointment was that I waited so long! Four of us tried 3 appetizers, tuna tartare, monkfish and beef spring rolls all fantastic. I also ordered the Pho. Never had it before, it was my highlight of the evening. Had to eat most of it with a fork, but the broth was complex and delicious. I had the Chilean sea bass, melted in my mouth. All in all a wonderful evening. Thanks to Alfredo and his team for great service without being annoying. This will not be our last visit to Le Colonial!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I have been coming to Chicago for the last 6 years on a, very consistent basis..I have had many a great meal in all of the restaurants that I have dined in. However, this meal made all the past meals pale incomparrison to the food and service I had at Le Colonial...This was the best food I have ever had in this city..Period. I cant eait to come back again in June.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I ordered the duck was expecting something much better. I've had duck many times in many restaurants it's usually melt in your mouth delicious . This was dried out and overly gamy with skin that was not crispy at all . Almost like it was warmed up in a microwave. Some pieces, I couldn't even chew. The dipping sauce was a watery bland concoction that didn't help .Very disappointing. My wife had the shrimp curry which was a definite improvement over my meal. Beautiful restaurant , just don't order the duck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We are in Chicago once a month and go to this restaurant twice during our time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It has been 15 years since we went to Le Colonial and looked forward to going back for our 25th Anniversary. I made the reservations about a month in advance for a weeknight. When we got their the host tried to seat us on some run down weird, super hot space on the 2nd floor near the windows. BTW, the first floor is the only place to get a table at this place. The 2nd floor is step down from the 1st floor, and the ridiculous seating area near the 2nd floor windows is horrible, the ambiance and their inability to control the temperature is just awful. Do not sit there.

The food is okay, much of the menu items all looked the same. The appetizers tasted the entree, the same seasonings, etc. Too much shrimp on the menu. The tapioca dessert was horrible and should be taken off the menu, it was like porridge. Very disappointed in the dinner, pretty expensive for a very average meal and experience. FWIW we did ask to be moved to from our original table on that that hot ugly porch and they moved us to a 4 top table on the 2nd floor which was just meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Maybe my favorite restaurant in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great dinner! Always good food and service.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Once a year my two very good friends and I have a birthday dinner at Le Colonial. The food is always delicious and the service is outstanding. We've been coming here at least for 17 years. Just an overall lovely restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were in town for the weekend only and looked at everything withing walking distance of our hotel. We wanted something different than we would get at home or on any of our other travels, so we selected Le Colonial because of what we found for reviews and the different selection.

Our waiter really helped answer all of our questions, and also helped select a wine that he thought would work for what we were wanting with our meal. The entire staff was very attentive and courteous. They helped explain what was brought to our table and made changes to the Pho, so that it wasn't too spicy for one person and normal for the other.

Everything about the experience in Le Colonial was worth it. So many different options, that it is easily a place we could come back to, if we are in Chicago again.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.