About Le Chien Fumant

Le Chien Fumant est un resto prisé par les restaurateurs, les oiseaux de nuits, les curieux et les bons vivants de la ville qui ne disent jamais non à une assiette qui surprend, des produits frais et cultivés localement, des cocktails étonnants, des brunchs réconfortants et une carte de vins distinctive. Bref, un restaurant mordant, mais facile à apprivoiser.

4710 Rue de lanaudiere
Montréal, QC H2J 3P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm;


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 6:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Rue Gilford

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 524-2444

Website:
http://www.lechienfumant.com/

Executive Chef:
Maksim Morin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sud Americain - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Mexicain Breakfast - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Eggs Benedict On Homemade Saussage And Waffles - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Cafe Latte - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Mimosa With Orange Zest - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Pork Belly, Fried Polenta, Two Eggs And Greens - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Double Espresso Long - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Porc Braisé, Betteraves Rôties & Perogies   - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Epaule D'agneau Piperade & Roquette - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Breakfast Sandwich - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Paris Brest - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Fresh Pressed Orange Juice - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Poulet Frit Et Oeuf Miroir Sur Gaufre - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Oeufs Miroir, Bacon, Corn Bread, Potatoe Cake Et  Saucisse Maison - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
"Hot Brown" Turkey Sandwich - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Waffle - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Pulled Pork And Waffles - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Assiette De Charcuterie - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Singapore Style Dungeness Crab - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
French 75 Cocktail - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Lobster Benedict - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Steak N Egg - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Southern Breakfast - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Bar Rayé - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
deviled kidneys - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
spiced pecan cake - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Clam Chowder & Crab Cake - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Pulled Pork Waffle - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Charcuterie plate - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Moscow Mule Cocktail - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Eggs - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Carré Guimauve Caramel - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Sea Salt Salmon - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Riz De Veau - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Toblerone Cheesecake - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Triple S - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Cocktail - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Faro Spaguetti À La Chitarra Et Chanterrelles - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Shortcake Aux Fraises - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Pekin Duck Crepe - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
Fried Chicken & Waffles - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC
French Toast Stuffed With Sausage - Le Chien Fumant, Montréal, QC

Le Chien Fumant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Le menu brunch ne rempli pas le contrat ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 2 days ago

Le menu brunch ne rempli pas le contrat d'un brunch dans la composition et la quantité.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Belle expérience au Chien Fumant ! Le ch ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

Belle expérience au Chien Fumant ! Le chef maîtrise très bien le mélange des goûts et saveurs ethniques des cinq continents.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service! Vibe! Amazing food! I was solo. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service! Vibe! Amazing food! I was solo. I'll be back again and would recommended to small and medium sized groups...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, voisin de la Maison Publique ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent, voisin de la Maison Publique et là aussi tout est fabuleux!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As the wind was whipping up a storm outs ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As the wind was whipping up a storm outside, we were snug as bugs inside the warm and cozy decor. Laden with deep rich tones, the fragrances coming from the open kitchen were inviting and we couldn't wait to order. The menu was subdued but elegant, the fish and meats cooked to perfection. The wine list was varied and plentiful. The barman was experienced and recommending great drinks before hand. This jewel in the heart of Montreal's french quarters (Le Plateau) is by far a favorite of mine and I would gladly recommend it to all my out of town friends (which I have!).

Cyrille

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

formidable. certainement un des meilleur ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 8, 2016

formidable. certainement un des meilleurs restaus à montréal. un vrai bijou.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Haven't been for over three year and now ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Haven't been for over three year and now been for brunch twice in the past two weeks. simply outstanding

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repas peu digeste, service trop rapide, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Repas peu digeste, service trop rapide, et addition démesurée. Bonne carte des vins toutefois.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very creative and amazing service.Keep i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very creative and amazing service.Keep it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In a word, F A B U L O U S ! Great serv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

In a word, F A B U L O U S ! Great service and superb food; and the Gateau Coco was the best dessert from any restaurant -- anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Le service était très/trop attentionné. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Le service était très/trop attentionné. Les plats sont arrivés rapidement après la commande, alors que l'apéro n'était pas terminé et le vin pas commandé ni choisi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Beau bon et pas cher. Nous avons pris le ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Beau bon et pas cher. Nous avons pris le menu degustation a 30$ et c'etait excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Très belle découverte. Menu rafraichissa ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Très belle découverte.

Menu rafraichissant et original.

Un peu dispendieux mais délicieux.

Service impeccable.

Ma seule déception, le dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While on a visit to Montreal, I kept wal ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2016

While on a visit to Montreal, I kept walking by front window of this great neighbourhood spot and the energetic pull of this place was too hard to resist. They are open only in the evenings until late, so it took a few tries before I was actually able to sample the menu, but it was absolutely worth the wait.

The ambiance of the restaurant feels at once vibrant, comforting and intimate...a balance that is often hard to achieve in combination with throwback hip hop and a packed-to-the-gills room...but somehow, they did it.

The menu is a curated mix of local and hearty. Bring a date who has an appetite.

Alongside the great menu, the service was attentive, genial and always on point. A definite recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pour le brunch, nous avons pris la côte ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Pour le brunch, nous avons pris la côte de veau pour deux, avec bacon, œufs miroirs, écrasé de pommes de terre, girolles et scarole. Tout était délicieux et plein de saveurs. Cuisson parfaite pour la viande. Tellement satisfaits que nous avons pris un dessert en plus !

À recommender.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good experience. Very intense sm ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Overall good experience. Very intense smell from the kitchen

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Oreilles de cochon excellentez!

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Oreilles de cochon excellentez!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Le service est sympathique Les ris de ve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Le service est sympathique

Les ris de veau et os a moelle succulent

Grosse déception sur le dessert qui n'était pas frais et sans finesse.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We really wanted to like this place. It ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We really wanted to like this place. It is very French-bistro charming, and the servers were nice. My entrée and plat were good, but my husband's choices were not well-prepared, especially the fish, which was supposed to be swordfish, but was not, and was served swimming in oily fried pepperoncini and eggplant. His strawberry tarte was just okay, but my nougat glacée was not frozen and was served on a cold, chewy cream puff. The wine list was extremely expensive, especially compared to the quality of the food. Too bad, because we spend a lot of time in this neighbourhood and wanted to make it one of our regular stops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our second trip to Le Chien Fumant. Our ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our second trip to Le Chien Fumant. Our first visit was fantastic. Perfectly paced evening, great food, lived up to our expectations.

This year, same great food but the service was poor. We asked after ordering that the courses be paced out and then the three courses were all delivered at the same time. She took the main course back and brought it back later but it wasn't hot. On top of that, we had to make 3 selections of a wine till we found one in stock. The restaurant doesn't seem to be concentrating as much on quality as it was getting us out the door for the next seating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Cute and tiny neighbourhood resto. The f ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Cute and tiny neighbourhood resto. The food is very good. They have a nice selection of wines, but we stuck to the house cocktails, which are good, but not something to write home about.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Cannabis friendly perfection. Inventive ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Cannabis friendly perfection. Inventive entrees and mains; exceptional service; great value; cannabis friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily an underrated spot in Montreal. W ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Easily an underrated spot in Montreal. Wine list is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ricotta gnocchi with peas and confit ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The ricotta gnocchi with peas and confit lemon creme was unbelievable. They were very accommodating with our 8 year old who ordered off menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've never had a disappointing meal in t ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've never had a disappointing meal in this restaurant and I've been going since it opened up 6 years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dans l'ensemble, tout était délicieux. C ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Dans l'ensemble, tout était délicieux. Cependant, j'ai trouvé que l'avocat se faisait rare dans mon entrée de salade tomates, avocat et pita grillé. Aussi, j'aurais aimé qu'il y ait plus de sauce dans mon plat de fazzoletti au homard, mais ça, c'est parce que je suis "du type sauce"... :-) Par contre, côté quantité homard, c'était plutôt généreux. Finalement, le sandwich crème glacée était dément. :-)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Un bloody ceasar, un verre de rouge et u ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Un bloody ceasar, un verre de rouge et un tournedos de veau purée PDT et pois verts pour 6$, C'est somme toute trop cher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great breakfast and super interesting.

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I ordered the egg with fiddleheads, cheese and croutons served with a country mustard. Yum. The staff were great and even though I was there alone and new to the restaurant, they treated me like I was regular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a bit annoying. They seemed ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was a bit annoying. They seemed to interrupt us at exactly the wrong time every time. Besides that, food was very tasty and cocktails were well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

this was one of my best food memories of all time

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

this place was great. i screwed up our reservation and we arrived on the wrong day, but they seated us anyway despite being quite full. the menu was great and the chef's selections were out of this world. literally every dish was rave worthy. thanks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, except the millana ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was amazing, except the millanaise veal was a little bit too salty. It was the best gnocchi I tasted my entire life though! I definitely recommend this restaurant, always. It is my favourite place to celebrate and I like its small cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Repas au Chien Fumant

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellente cuisine et très bon service en général, bien que nous nous sentions un peu pressé de libérer notre table pour accueillir de nouveaux clients. Il faut comprendre que le resto ne compte qu'environ une cinquantaine de places. J'aurais aussi aimé une plus grande sélection de vins entre $60 et $75.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and food!

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious food and the best service I've ever had even if it was during friday night peak time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must go, must come back, must share wi ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 18, 2016

A must go, must come back, must share with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Toujours un plaisir pour le palais. les ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Toujours un plaisir pour le palais. les vins sont également délicieux....je rêve de mon prochain donair...humm

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

À pied ou en métro

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Belle place, accueillante.

Par contre, j'ai trouvé ordinaire de me faire exiger un dépôt de 30$ sur carte de crédit pour confirmer ma réservation...

J'ai compris pourquoi ce dépôt quand je cherchais un stationnement (25 minutes !)... après 10 minutes à tourner en rond je serais aller souper ailleurs n'eut été de la perte de ce dépôt de 30$...

Je le sais mais je me fais prendre encore... : quand on veut souper au resto, on oublie le Plateau !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Go for tapas and ambiance

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Great ambiance but two main courses were disappointing. The (most expensive) lamb dish was not moist, as you'd expect, and the pulled pork dish should have bin called a chickpea dish with pork garnishing (very moist and flavourful though). We noticed that a number of other tables were simply ordering appetizers and drinks and, in fact, the appetizers we had were creative and delicious! Cozy setting. Great date spot. Nice service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great ambiance and food

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2016

They offer great food on the menu, every meal is well put and tasty! Good music and a very Montrealish ambiance/people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Le chien fumant is a HOT dog

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 19, 2015

We love le chien fumant for its laid back atmosphere. The cooking team clearly knows what they're doing, serving amazingly fresh and inventive cuisine that borrows as much from Japan and Korea as Italy, France, or even Lebanon. Unpretentious, delicious, and cool!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Find

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2015

Was on holiday in Montreal and was recommended by a local to try this place for brunch. Brunch was great experience, the service impeccable and the food divine. This is a must do if you're in Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.