Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Le Chien Fumant

Le Chien Fumant est un resto prisé par les restaurateurs, les oiseaux de nuits, les curieux et les bons vivants de la ville qui ne disent jamais non à une assiette qui surprend, des produits frais et cultivés localement, des cocktails étonnants, des brunchs réconfortants et une carte de vins distinctive. Bref, un restaurant mordant, mais facile à apprivoiser.

4710 Rue de lanaudiere
Montréal, QC H2J 3P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm;


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 6:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Rue Gilford

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 524-2444

Website:
http://www.lechienfumant.com/

Executive Chef:
Maksim Morin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Le Chien Fumant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
See All
Casual (8)
Authentic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Fun (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Trop cher pour ce que nous avons eu. Aucun pain, aucune petite attention pour patienté. 3 plats et 2 consommations sans alcool pour 95$ + le pourboire. excessif.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Les fameux calmars chinatown sont toujours aussi surprenant en saveurs. Le meilleur tartare de boeuf en ville !
Merci Jacob pour ton service courtois :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent restaurant et il répond bien à la définition de restaurant de quartier. Tous les plats étaient bons et vous ne les retrouverez pas dans un autre restaurant. Je vais y retourner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nous avons passé une belle soirée dans ce restaurant le soir de la Saint-Valentin. Menu régulier et service attentionné nous ont permis d'apprécier l'endroit à sa pleine valeur. Tonic maison très intéressant et plats qui méritent à être découverts.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Lieu très sympathique! Les serveurs étaient présents, mais pas trop. On a bien apprécié notre soirée!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 4, 2017

la bouffe était très bonne, mais les prix sont un peu élevés. Le service était impéccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

J'suis arrivée tôt, vers 18h30, la musique était assez forte. Au fur et à mesure que les gens entraient, le volume de la musique a baissé, fort heureusement. Quand on va manger, on va pas à une discothèque. Ils se sont ajustés.

La nourriture était bonne. La morue perdait un peu de sa délicate saveur dans son accompagnement.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 31, 2017

excellent service. options degustation pour 30$ par personne au choix du chef. 3 entrées excellente . plat principal très décevant . viande quasi absente et mauvaise qualite. chow mein digne d'un buffet chinois sans plus. vin au verre froid et datant d'au moins plus de 4 jours. je n'y retournerais pas.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Fun, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nourriture exceptionnelle, mon plat était succulent et les portions suffisantes. Restaurants que je vais sûrement visiter à nouveau.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

J'ai tellement aimé que j'ai réservé pour samedi prochain pour faire connaître le resto a d'autre amis

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Tout était parfait à l'exception d'une chose : nous avions réservé la table à 18h00, il était donc convenu que nous devilns quitter pour le service suivant de 20h00.
Mais à 19h30, on nous a demandé de quitter (il restait pourtant presque toutes les places du resto, il n'y avait aucune urgence!). Déjà que 18h00 à 20h00 est restreint comme plage horaire, il faut au moins y avoir droit au complet comme prévu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was recommended and it didn't disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Très décevant pour le prix.
La cuisine est approximative et peu développé.
Les plats était d'une simplicité digne d'un restaurant moyen de gamme avec des prix trop élevés.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Le menu brunch ne rempli pas le contrat d'un brunch dans la composition et la quantité.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Belle expérience au Chien Fumant ! Le chef maîtrise très bien le mélange des goûts et saveurs ethniques des cinq continents.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service! Vibe! Amazing food! I was solo. I'll be back again and would recommended to small and medium sized groups...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent, voisin de la Maison Publique et là aussi tout est fabuleux!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As the wind was whipping up a storm outside, we were snug as bugs inside the warm and cozy decor. Laden with deep rich tones, the fragrances coming from the open kitchen were inviting and we couldn't wait to order. The menu was subdued but elegant, the fish and meats cooked to perfection. The wine list was varied and plentiful. The barman was experienced and recommending great drinks before hand. This jewel in the heart of Montreal's french quarters (Le Plateau) is by far a favorite of mine and I would gladly recommend it to all my out of town friends (which I have!).
Cyrille

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 8, 2016

formidable. certainement un des meilleurs restaus à montréal. un vrai bijou.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Haven't been for over three year and now been for brunch twice in the past two weeks. simply outstanding

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Repas peu digeste, service trop rapide, et addition démesurée. Bonne carte des vins toutefois.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very creative and amazing service.Keep it up.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

In a word, F A B U L O U S ! Great service and superb food; and the Gateau Coco was the best dessert from any restaurant -- anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Le service était très/trop attentionné. Les plats sont arrivés rapidement après la commande, alors que l'apéro n'était pas terminé et le vin pas commandé ni choisi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Beau bon et pas cher. Nous avons pris le menu degustation a 30$ et c'etait excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Très belle découverte.
Menu rafraichissant et original.
Un peu dispendieux mais délicieux.
Service impeccable.
Ma seule déception, le dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Spicy, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2016

While on a visit to Montreal, I kept walking by front window of this great neighbourhood spot and the energetic pull of this place was too hard to resist. They are open only in the evenings until late, so it took a few tries before I was actually able to sample the menu, but it was absolutely worth the wait.

The ambiance of the restaurant feels at once vibrant, comforting and intimate...a balance that is often hard to achieve in combination with throwback hip hop and a packed-to-the-gills room...but somehow, they did it.

The menu is a curated mix of local and hearty. Bring a date who has an appetite.

Alongside the great menu, the service was attentive, genial and always on point. A definite recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Pour le brunch, nous avons pris la côte de veau pour deux, avec bacon, œufs miroirs, écrasé de pommes de terre, girolles et scarole. Tout était délicieux et plein de saveurs. Cuisson parfaite pour la viande. Tellement satisfaits que nous avons pris un dessert en plus !
À recommender.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Overall good experience. Very intense smell from the kitchen

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Oreilles de cochon excellentez!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Le service est sympathique
Les ris de veau et os a moelle succulent
Grosse déception sur le dessert qui n'était pas frais et sans finesse.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We really wanted to like this place. It is very French-bistro charming, and the servers were nice. My entrée and plat were good, but my husband's choices were not well-prepared, especially the fish, which was supposed to be swordfish, but was not, and was served swimming in oily fried pepperoncini and eggplant. His strawberry tarte was just okay, but my nougat glacée was not frozen and was served on a cold, chewy cream puff. The wine list was extremely expensive, especially compared to the quality of the food. Too bad, because we spend a lot of time in this neighbourhood and wanted to make it one of our regular stops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our second trip to Le Chien Fumant. Our first visit was fantastic. Perfectly paced evening, great food, lived up to our expectations.
This year, same great food but the service was poor. We asked after ordering that the courses be paced out and then the three courses were all delivered at the same time. She took the main course back and brought it back later but it wasn't hot. On top of that, we had to make 3 selections of a wine till we found one in stock. The restaurant doesn't seem to be concentrating as much on quality as it was getting us out the door for the next seating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Cute and tiny neighbourhood resto. The food is very good. They have a nice selection of wines, but we stuck to the house cocktails, which are good, but not something to write home about.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Cannabis friendly perfection. Inventive entrees and mains; exceptional service; great value; cannabis friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Easily an underrated spot in Montreal. Wine list is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The ricotta gnocchi with peas and confit lemon creme was unbelievable. They were very accommodating with our 8 year old who ordered off menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've never had a disappointing meal in this restaurant and I've been going since it opened up 6 years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Dans l'ensemble, tout était délicieux. Cependant, j'ai trouvé que l'avocat se faisait rare dans mon entrée de salade tomates, avocat et pita grillé. Aussi, j'aurais aimé qu'il y ait plus de sauce dans mon plat de fazzoletti au homard, mais ça, c'est parce que je suis "du type sauce"... :-) Par contre, côté quantité homard, c'était plutôt généreux. Finalement, le sandwich crème glacée était dément. :-)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Un bloody ceasar, un verre de rouge et un tournedos de veau purée PDT et pois verts pour 6$, C'est somme toute trop cher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.