Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Le Chien Fumant

Le Chien Fumant est un resto prisé par les restaurateurs, les oiseaux de nuits, les curieux et les bons vivants de la ville qui ne disent jamais non à une assiette qui surprend, des produits frais et cultivés localement, des cocktails étonnants, des brunchs réconfortants et une carte de vins distinctive. Bref, un restaurant mordant, mais facile à apprivoiser.

4710 Rue de lanaudiere
Montréal, QC H2J 3P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm;


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 6:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Rue Gilford

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 524-2444

Website:
http://www.lechienfumant.com/

Executive Chef:
Maksim Morin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Le Chien Fumant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

La table d'hôte à partager en spécial 30$/personne (5 plats) les mardi et mercredi soir est exceptionnelle pour le prix!!! Cuisine très créative. Décor et ambiance très bistro; parfait pour souper d'amoureux! Merci

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Après une superbe première expérience au brunch il y a quelques mois, je suis revenu bruncher avec quatre amis. Malgré un très bon service et un delicieux menu de dégustation, mes amis et moi étions très surpris d'entendre que les mimosas à volonté que nous avions commandé n'était plus disponibles après une heure de consommation. La serveuse s'est excusée et nous a dit qu'il n'y avait plus de mousseux...alors elle nous a amené de shooters de calvados qui étaient bien appréciés. Par contre, étant donné la situation de sécheresse, on s'est commandée une bouteille de vin blanc qui nous a été chargé par la suite. Pour un établissement qui se dit d'offrir des mimosas à volonté, j'ai trouvé ça quand même plate. Le restaurant n'était pas plein et honnêtement, ayant travaillé dans plusieurs restos, je n'ai jamais vécu une situation de manque de vin mousseux...surtout quand c'est une option sur le menu de brunch. J'aurai simplement apprécié plus d'effort de compensation, c'est tout. Je suis parti un peu déçu, honnêtement, et je ne suis pas certain que je reviendrais bruncher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant is quickly becoming our favorite in Montreal. We recently came with friends, and the four us enjoyed a diverse (and plentiful) tasting menu with lovely seasonal ingredients. It was a hit. It is a small, cozy spot and it feels like you discovered a hidden gem when you walk in the door. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Bonne bouffe, ambiance et décor authentique et intime, service attentionné. Parfait pour 2-3-4 personnes.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent comme d'habitude. Je ne me lasse jamais de la cuisine du Chien.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Third time in Montreal, second visit to LCF. I will be back whenever I'm in town, and will follow the chef around like an obsessed fanboy. The food is SOFA KING GOOD

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 28, 2017

J'ai bien aimé. Le steak frites était excellent. Bon service et le personnel très aimable.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Environnement bruyant et carte du brunch moyenne (peu de choix, et certain plats ne sont pas vraiment des brunchs)
mais la salle est belle, le service bon et la nourriture bonne aussj

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Nous avons donné carte blanche pour le souper à deux. La serveuse nous a demandé si nous aimions vraiment tout tout tout? Bien sûr. Nous nous attendions donc à un menu surprenant et créatif. Le plan principal etait du poulet accompagné de pâtes plutôt banales...

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cuisine EXCEPTIONNELLE. Service comme si on était chez des amis. Suggestions de plats intéressants hors menu (demande pour un plat avec du homard). Bien supérieur à plusieurs "grandes" de Montréal. Félicitations !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

J'avais une réservation samedi le 13 mai de 19h00 à 21h30. La table a été disponible vers 19h15 seulement (je comprends tout à fait que c'était hors du contrôle du serveur), mais à 21h20, on nous demande assez sèchement de quitter parce que les clients suivants sont arrivés... On s'est sentis de trop dès que les additions ont été payées. Disons que j'ai trouvé ça plutôt ordinaire. Avec une nourriture plutôt fade, je ne vois vraiment pas pourquoi j'y retournerais. C'est dommage, car l'endroit et l'ambiance étaient très plaisants! Tant pis...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Trop cher pour ce que nous avons eu. Aucun pain, aucune petite attention pour patienté. 3 plats et 2 consommations sans alcool pour 95$ + le pourboire. excessif.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Les fameux calmars chinatown sont toujours aussi surprenant en saveurs. Le meilleur tartare de boeuf en ville !
Merci Jacob pour ton service courtois :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant et il répond bien à la définition de restaurant de quartier. Tous les plats étaient bons et vous ne les retrouverez pas dans un autre restaurant. Je vais y retourner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nous avons passé une belle soirée dans ce restaurant le soir de la Saint-Valentin. Menu régulier et service attentionné nous ont permis d'apprécier l'endroit à sa pleine valeur. Tonic maison très intéressant et plats qui méritent à être découverts.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lieu très sympathique! Les serveurs étaient présents, mais pas trop. On a bien apprécié notre soirée!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

la bouffe était très bonne, mais les prix sont un peu élevés. Le service était impéccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 2, 2017

J'suis arrivée tôt, vers 18h30, la musique était assez forte. Au fur et à mesure que les gens entraient, le volume de la musique a baissé, fort heureusement. Quand on va manger, on va pas à une discothèque. Ils se sont ajustés.

La nourriture était bonne. La morue perdait un peu de sa délicate saveur dans son accompagnement.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 31, 2017

excellent service. options degustation pour 30$ par personne au choix du chef. 3 entrées excellente . plat principal très décevant . viande quasi absente et mauvaise qualite. chow mein digne d'un buffet chinois sans plus. vin au verre froid et datant d'au moins plus de 4 jours. je n'y retournerais pas.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nourriture exceptionnelle, mon plat était succulent et les portions suffisantes. Restaurants que je vais sûrement visiter à nouveau.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

J'ai tellement aimé que j'ai réservé pour samedi prochain pour faire connaître le resto a d'autre amis

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Tout était parfait à l'exception d'une chose : nous avions réservé la table à 18h00, il était donc convenu que nous devilns quitter pour le service suivant de 20h00.
Mais à 19h30, on nous a demandé de quitter (il restait pourtant presque toutes les places du resto, il n'y avait aucune urgence!). Déjà que 18h00 à 20h00 est restreint comme plage horaire, il faut au moins y avoir droit au complet comme prévu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was recommended and it didn't disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Très décevant pour le prix.
La cuisine est approximative et peu développé.
Les plats était d'une simplicité digne d'un restaurant moyen de gamme avec des prix trop élevés.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Le menu brunch ne rempli pas le contrat d'un brunch dans la composition et la quantité.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Belle expérience au Chien Fumant ! Le chef maîtrise très bien le mélange des goûts et saveurs ethniques des cinq continents.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service! Vibe! Amazing food! I was solo. I'll be back again and would recommended to small and medium sized groups...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent, voisin de la Maison Publique et là aussi tout est fabuleux!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 16, 2016

As the wind was whipping up a storm outside, we were snug as bugs inside the warm and cozy decor. Laden with deep rich tones, the fragrances coming from the open kitchen were inviting and we couldn't wait to order. The menu was subdued but elegant, the fish and meats cooked to perfection. The wine list was varied and plentiful. The barman was experienced and recommending great drinks before hand. This jewel in the heart of Montreal's french quarters (Le Plateau) is by far a favorite of mine and I would gladly recommend it to all my out of town friends (which I have!).
Cyrille

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 8, 2016

formidable. certainement un des meilleurs restaus à montréal. un vrai bijou.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Haven't been for over three year and now been for brunch twice in the past two weeks. simply outstanding

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Repas peu digeste, service trop rapide, et addition démesurée. Bonne carte des vins toutefois.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very creative and amazing service.Keep it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

In a word, F A B U L O U S ! Great service and superb food; and the Gateau Coco was the best dessert from any restaurant -- anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Le service était très/trop attentionné. Les plats sont arrivés rapidement après la commande, alors que l'apéro n'était pas terminé et le vin pas commandé ni choisi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Beau bon et pas cher. Nous avons pris le menu degustation a 30$ et c'etait excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Très belle découverte.
Menu rafraichissant et original.
Un peu dispendieux mais délicieux.
Service impeccable.
Ma seule déception, le dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Spicy, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 27, 2016

While on a visit to Montreal, I kept walking by front window of this great neighbourhood spot and the energetic pull of this place was too hard to resist. They are open only in the evenings until late, so it took a few tries before I was actually able to sample the menu, but it was absolutely worth the wait.

The ambiance of the restaurant feels at once vibrant, comforting and intimate...a balance that is often hard to achieve in combination with throwback hip hop and a packed-to-the-gills room...but somehow, they did it.

The menu is a curated mix of local and hearty. Bring a date who has an appetite.

Alongside the great menu, the service was attentive, genial and always on point. A definite recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Pour le brunch, nous avons pris la côte de veau pour deux, avec bacon, œufs miroirs, écrasé de pommes de terre, girolles et scarole. Tout était délicieux et plein de saveurs. Cuisson parfaite pour la viande. Tellement satisfaits que nous avons pris un dessert en plus !
À recommender.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Overall good experience. Very intense smell from the kitchen

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.