Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Le Chat Noir

À propos de nous...
Vous retrouverez une ambiance particulière à l'heure du lunch avec notre clientèle d'affaire et touristique et en fin d'après-midi ou en soirée vous ne saurez jamais qui se retrouvera assis non loin de vous, artiste, journaliste, chroniqueur...
Vous serez charmé par notre atmosphère très Vieux-Montréal, décontractée avec ses beaux murs de pierres grises, son plancher d'origine et sa musique appropriée.
Le choix de menu et notre carte des vins vous emballera et vous serez très admiratifs de la présentation des plats qui en surprend plus d'un. Nos ingrédients sont toujours frais et l'exécution de nos plats est faite avec beaucoup de soin et de précision. Tout est fait maison de même que nos desserts et notre pain !

39 rue Notre-Dame ouest
Montréal, QC H2Y 3S5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, French, Bistro

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: samedi - dimanche: 10h30 - 15h (menu régulier aussi offert)

Dîner: lundi - dimanche: 10h30 - 16h

Souper: dimanche - jeudi: 16h - 22h, vendredi - samedi: 15h - 23h

Cross Street:
Saint-Laurent

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 286-1200

Website:
http://www.lechatnoir-vieuxmontreal.com/

Parking Details:
Il y a un stationnement public payant juste à coté du restaurant.

Public Transit:
Métro Place d"Armes, autobus 55

Executive Chef:
Jean-Claude Razakalalao

Additional:
Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Chat Noir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.5

ambience

3.3

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

40% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
See All
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

A great find in Old Town Montreal! Stones throw from Notre Dame Basilica ! The best sole we had in Montreal and among the best meal overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

ce n,est plus un Pizzédelic. C'est changé pour un bistro français

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Ce restaurant n'existe plus! Nous nous sommes présentés à l'adresse indiquée, et c'est un autre resto qui s'y trouvait, Le Chat noir. Ça ne correspondait pas du tout à ce que nous voulions. En plus, le numéro de téléphone que donne votre site pour ce resto est un numéro de fax, donc pas moyen de faire une vérification avec eux, une fois qu'on s'est rendus compte de la situation.
Je suis très déçue de votre site. Vos informations ne sont clairement pas à jour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The only drawback was that the door slammed loudly every time someone entered or left and we were seated very close to the door.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Booked table of 8 on Saturday night at the last minute. Arrived to a completely empty restaurant. We were the only table all night LOL. The restaurant was poorly heated. Many of us had to eat with our winter coats on. This despite telling the wait staff we found it cold many times. The appetizers were actually quite good. Enjoyed my cauliflower gratin. The main courses took very long to arrive. The Beef Bourguignon was sent back by the 3 of us that ordered it. It had an uncharacteristically smokey flavour. We instead ordered 3 steaks all medium. One arrived Medium, one rare, one well-done. The chocolate mouse with raspberries was very good. Not overly sweet, very chocolatey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The restaurant had just reopened from a vacation. They had not received their liquor and wine order so our first couple of choices were not available. Nevertheless our waitress made an excellent recommendation. We were a party of 5 and each of us enjoyed our meal. On this Sunday evening the restaurant was not busy so it was quite quiet.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Extremely slow attending , the food was cold, French fries with too much oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Difficult new year eve night, with slow service due to a missing cook in kitchen... new year menu was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They were, I think, understaffed and a bit overwhelmed. It was Christmas dinner and not many places in town open so they were busy. Could have been really good but they forgot 2 of the 4 orders and they left our lamb and duck waiting, and were cold and lost all pop by the the time we got them. Too bad, liked the place, music, kinda everything but they got too many service basics wrong. Oh well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fun place with nice atmosphere. Steak was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is great, and it's in a fantastic location (just past the Basilica) but what really makes this place special is the service. Waitress was fantastic, went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our meal, made recommendations from the menu, explained how the taxes worked in Quebec and wrote a long list of things to see and do in Montreal! I would definitely return for that reason alone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Le resto est fermé!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Management needs to splurge on hiring a full staff. Waitress had entire restaurant and bar! Crazy for a Friday night. She was great but seriously.......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

A good neighborhood restaurant. Quick service and nicely presented and prepared food. Somewhat pricy but probably worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Friendly service. Unpretentious. Basic food and all home made.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The waitress was lovely however service from the kitchen was very slow and the food was a little bland. Expensive for the quality of the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

My daughter and grandson and I thoroughly enjoyed the food - so well prepared. And the service was pleasant and prompt. Who could ask for more on a night out in Montreal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I found the restaurant through Open Table. We were on vacation and staying in Old Montreal so we wanted a restaurant we could walk to. There were only 2 other tables occupied, one by a couple and one by a group of 8. The waitress was pleasant and brought our cocktails, wine and salads at a reasonable pace. The entrees we ordered (grilled duck breast and grilled chicken breasts) came an hour after we had finished our salads. The waitress apologized and said they only had one chef on that night. While we were waiting and looking out the open folding windows, there was an altercation between a group of men walking in one direction and a car driving in the other when the driver jumped out of the car. While the food was very good, there are better places to eat in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Perhaps it was our food choice but the pasta alfredo was very boring - we had it with chicken which was literally 6 pieces of reheated meat. There were no herbs in the dish and no Parmesan or black pepper was offered when it was served. I could have done far better myself and I am not a chef! My pavlova desert was a slight improvement but there was so little cream that the fruit coulis it was served with was overpowering and too sweet. Overall we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance. Would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Salmon tartare great - skip the burger but the fries rock. It's not a pizza delivery anymore so there is no pizza at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 9, 2015

Nous sommes allés au Chat Noir surtout parce que nous aimions cet endroit lorsqu'il était le Pizzédelic. Nous avons étè déçu. Le nourriture était très ordinaire et l'endroit était presque vide. J'ai pris le foie de veau qui goutait rien. La pizza de mon épouse n'avait rien de comparable à la pizza de Pizzédelic. Décevant surtout que les prix sont assez corsés. Même la bière en fût n'avait pas de gaz. Nous n'y retournerons pas surtout que ce n'est pas les restos qui manquent à Montréal. C'est dommage que le Pizzédelic n'y soit plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2015

slightly quirky but we had a great meal here for two and had also entertained a larger business
varied menu with some french classics
group dinner here the week before - so versatile
out of season so slightly quiet

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 29, 2015

We came to this restaurant based on reviews from Trip Advisor. When we arrived, we were greeted and promptly seated. Our server was there to attend to our needs and help with wine recommendation. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and still rave about the ambiance, our server and the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2015

This is a cute Parisian styles bistro in the heart of old Montreal. Very typical French fares done very well. No complaints on the steak frites, onion soup, bouef bourguinon ..... I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2015

My Wife and I stopped in at this little restaurant for a late evening meal. Let start with the good. The food is absolutely great! No worries at all here. Flavourful and delicious. We tried to order a couple of Bourbon Old Fashions and they couldn't make them because the bar doesnt stock Bitters and only 1 type of Bourbon. Okay.... thats fine I guess. I asked she make us Crown Royal and Cola pressed.... they brought our drinks out with the water and cola on the side. This was also fine with us. Whe nthe bill came we were charged $60 for 5 drinks plus an extra $3 for the cola. This puts each drink at $12.50 which is the cost of a double!!!! Ripoff if you ask me... and for this I wont return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2015

Great service, food and ambiance with the European flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2015

The place is a real find! Great menu (try their veal kidneys in mustard sauce), very friendly staff, very accommodating and great wines at reasonable prices. Their desserts are a must with great presentation (chef used to be a pastry chef).
Location is OK in the old town, close to the cathedral but in a less visited street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2015

Great Salad Niçoise! Overall, very nice and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 26, 2015

Food was cold and very cold in restaurant - kept my winter coat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2014

for a place with the word 'Pizze' in it's name. We ordered the square 'Mega' style pizza and the crust was basically inedible. It tasted like some toppings thrown onto a big 9"x9" soda cracker. If you're looking for a thin crust pizza that is round and familiar, then this is not what to expect.
Sure the outdoor space is great on a nice day, but more often than not you are sitting right next to the STM buses that are waiting for the traffic light to turn. Suggest ordering another food item or trying a different crust type.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2014

I don't understand how this place is still open. The pizza crust tastes like stale crackers. Absolutely the worst pizza I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2014

We were looking for a lovely meal for our first night in Montreal. We wanted something special since it was our honeymoon. We found it! The ambience and the food were outstanding. If we come back to Montreal, this will always be a stop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 29, 2014

Good ambience. Friendly waitress. Good food. Good service. No complaints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.