HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Le Café at the National Arts Centre - Le Café au Centre national des Arts

3.9
980 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (1319)
  • Scenic View (1173)
  • Fit for Foodies (840)

Similar Restaurants

About

Le Café is an establishment in Ottawa, Ontario that offers up contemporary Canadian cuisine. The eatery is a nice place to visit whether you are having dinner with a friend or a corporate lunch. It offers some delicious options for starters, including baked eggplant, sockeye salmon and beef tartare.

Le Café has some excellent main course options, too, including shrimp & pappardelle pasta, lentil ragout, Cornish hen, bone-in pork chops, beef tenderloin and striploin. Le Café also offers side dishes, such as potato wedges, roasted beets, mushrooms and wilted greens. Make sure you try some desserts, too, such as the spiced apple pie cheesecake or the carrot cake.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am to 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (when Southam Hall is open).
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 1:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 594-5127
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 980 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9
  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Paul (Ottawa)
5.0
Dined on January 18, 2014

Food and service were excellent. Practical for dining before attending event at the NAC

Report
Helpful
like2experience (Ottawa)
5.0
Dined on January 11, 2014

Our evening turned out to be a great experience. After attending a joyful matinee at the NAC featuring "the Hockey Sweater", my wife and I enjoyed a delightful dinner at the Cafe. The lamb sweetbreads appetizer was well prepared. We stuck to two other appetizers on the menu and found them just as delicious.
The service was superb.
Hats off to the restaurant staff.
Thanks.

Report
Helpful
BBFamily (Ottawa)
5.0
Dined on January 8, 2014

We are subscribers of the NCA Orchestra and half the time have dinner at the NAC Café before a show. The food is exquisite, ambiance between casual-chic and formal and the service is excellent. It is walking distance to the Ottawa Byward Market and tourist attractions like the NAC, Museums and Parliament Hill.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Ottawa)
3.0
Dined on January 4, 2014

Food was good .Service excellent. Nice view and convenient when attending a show as we were. We found the prices high though.

Report
Helpful
repeat2 (Ottawa)
4.0
Dined on January 4, 2014

Been there before,great food,will definitely go again;will make it part of the entertainment--show included.May go to brunch if in the city. It took awhile toget service but when it finally came it was very good.

Report
Helpful
Happy (Ottawa)
4.0
Dined on January 3, 2014

Excellent place to take friends or business colleagues for an elegant meal where you can talk uninterrupted. Menu is always interesting and varied to please all tastes. The service is on par with what you would experience in Paris or London.

Report
Helpful
lawprof (Toronto)
2.0
Dined on December 31, 2013

The choice for the different servings could be much better, for such an expensive new year's eve dinner. The cauliflower soup was too heavy, the quail was too fatty and the desert which tasted like a sugar/maple tart was terrible. For a meal that came with wine to $208 was not up to expected quality

Report
Helpful
beaulieud (Toronto)
3.0
Dined on December 31, 2013

We visited for valentine day and we were disappointed with the food. We started off the meal with a smoked haddock soup. The broth was very bland and there was only one minuscule piece of fish in the entire bowl. The veal chop was nicely cooked but the sauce was heavy. As for desert, we had the special which was some heavy dough with a chunk of melted chocolate surrounded by a passion fruit sauce.
Overall, our dinner experience was very disappointing. We had been in the past and had always been pleased. I'm not sure what has changed at the Café, but that change is not good.

Report
Helpful
LostandFound (Ottawa)
5.0
Dined on December 31, 2013

Truly enjoyed the Chowder offered on Valentine's Day. Never tastied anything like it before!

Report
Helpful
MamaMia (Ottawa)
4.0
Dined on December 31, 2013

Went to Le Café for lunch before a show. Got a lovely seat by the window. Our waiter was professional and pleasant. Menu has a good variety. Can satisfy the foodies and the picky eaters. Our entrées were all excellent and disappeared in no time. Had the red & white quinoa salad, was beautiful and excellent. I had the duck as did my daughter. Mine was a little dry but hers was excellent. The gallet and red cabbage salad that came with it were so yummy. Decent wine list as well/. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
98

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am to 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (when Southam Hall is open).
Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 1:30pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Albert
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 594-5127
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
http://nacmeetings.ca/en/eventspaces
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
http://nac-cna.ca/en/visit
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Morris
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
http://nacmeetings.ca/en/eventspaces
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
http://nacmeetings.ca/en/eventspaces: (613) 594-5127
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
http://nac-cna.ca/en/