About Lawrence Restaurant

5201 St. Laurent Blvd
Montréal, QC H2T 1S4
View Larger Map

Delicious

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairmount

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 503-1070

Website:
http://lawrencerestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Cohen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Paris Brest - Lawrence Restaurant, Montréal, QC
  • Oysters - Lawrence Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Paris Brest - Lawrence Restaurant, Montréal, QC
Oysters - Lawrence Restaurant, Montréal, QC

Lawrence Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Mile End ›

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Local Ingredients (15)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service moyen, peu expérimenté, pas très ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service moyen, peu expérimenté, pas très confiante a propos de la liste de vins. Nourriture excellente, prix un peu cher et vestibule inexistant. Les tables près de la porte gèlent et demandent toutes à être déplacés.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We had a lovely dinner here mid-week. We ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here mid-week. We were a group of nine and were able to hear each other talk and felt like the meal was nicely paced and never felt rushed. The food was good to very good with several dishes outstanding. Wine and beer drinkers in our group were all happy with the selections. For good food, a warm and comfortable ambiance, and great service, Lawrence Restaurant is a good choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Authentic, Family Style, Great Beer, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My gal and I were in Montreal for our fi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My gal and I were in Montreal for our first visit, and were fortunate to find Lawrence. Refined without being pretentious, we had a lovely meal presented by a consistently gracious staff. High marks to our server Meredith for making this one of our most memorable meals of 2016. A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pas à la hauteur. Plat de morue beaucoup ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pas à la hauteur. Plat de morue beaucoup trop salé. Foie grillé quelconque. Bonne note pour le pudding au citron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service! except the waitress didn' ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service! except the waitress didn't know how to select wine.

Way too much salt in the main dish, way too much vinaigre in the salad, red wine served way too warm....

For this price, you can eat much better elsewhere in Montreal!

I would go back for all the staff! but not the food... too bad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The octopus and salted cod was too salty ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The octopus and salted cod was too salty. Everything else was good. Great service.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, attentive and friendly s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food, attentive and friendly service, great ambiance and decor, lovely corner unit in a great neighbourhood. Planning to return anytime I am back in Montreal. Loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food overall, but a bit too pricy. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food overall, but a bit too pricy. The place is nice and the service is very good, we had a good time, but again, for the price you can find better places (or less expensive).

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent cuisine, nice cosy room and - ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent cuisine, nice cosy room and - this is sufficently rare to be noted - not too much noise. Definetely a place to recommend for a nice evening dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Tout y est pour une soirée décontracté a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tout y est pour une soirée décontracté avec amis! La bouffe est superbe et le service est parfait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A lovely dining experience from A to Z. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

A lovely dining experience from A to Z. After some delicious cocktails and yummy home made bread, we sampled a variety of appetizers and main dishes.

Oysters, charcuterie, sturgeon, smoked eel, lamb and more. Each dish prepared with thought, attention to presentation and innovation. No room for dessert.

The Sommelier recommended a scrumptious Chardonnay which I actually went and bought for myself at the SAQ! Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was a bit slow but the food was ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was a bit slow but the food was very good and wait staff was friendly

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was perfect: ambience, servic ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything was perfect: ambience, service, food, beverages, and value. We loved the attention to detail which was obvious in every dish, and we appreciated their "no big deal" attitude in accommodating our dietary restrictions. Just a simple lunch was made special by outstanding fried potatoes, tangy dressing on rich buttery salad greens, and the always unsurpassable soup. I must also give huge props to the dessert chef for a lighter-than-air cranberry meringue pie! I encourage everyone to go to Lawrence. This is an experience that will nurture you in every way!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my dinner at Lawrence w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at Lawrence which was my first time. I started with 6 oysters from NS which were impeccable. We then shared with my two friends the octopus appetizer dish which was yummy. I then ate a grilled maquereau main dish (fish) which was delicious. the atmosphere was very nice. Service between the appetizer dish and our main dishes took quite long to arrive. The wine recommended (pinot noir) went went with all our dishes. Overall, a very nice evening with great food in a nice atmosphere. The restaurant was full at the time of visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brutal service, slow and rude. Felt like ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Brutal service, slow and rude. Felt like particular bottle of wine was pushed on us (did you overstock? Honestly what it felt like). Server was rude and ignored us. Was our fifth time back so there has been enough to bring us back before but honestly this time I'm not so sure. We'll see in a few months but seems to be trending downwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Expertly crafted dishes that don't have ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Expertly crafted dishes that don't have too many ingredients to distract and annoy. Creativity and freshness that is unusual and reflected in the deep but subtle flavours. Simple dishes make very well; local ingredients used in pleasing combinations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal . I had hear ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal . I had heard many great things about the menu but it's was intimidating to me, I'm not an adventurous diner. The menu included items like flattened pigs head and heart. I'm glad I decided to go outside my comfort zone and try something new. It was delicious and well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice place

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Very nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very delicious and the serv ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was very delicious and the service was great. An unexpected, yet extremely pleasing find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were introduced to Lawrence on a food ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were introduced to Lawrence on a food tour of mile end. It is affiliated with the organic and sustainable butcher 2 doors down. We came back that night and it was our favorite food of the 5 day trip. 4 of us got double appetizers. Good onion soup, great corn and sturgeon soup, fresh side salad, the shredded rabbit with artichokes, olives and capers. The only one we would skip is the shrimp with grilled zucchini. Excellent fresh oysters and our favorite was the octopus nduja with a chorizo spread on toast. Yum. Ah but the other 2 had stellar entrees ! A huge dinner plate sized pork chop that was fork tender and melt in your mouth with the most amazing potatoes fried in beef fat! And the perfectly seasoned and cooked lamb with cauliflower and salt lemon was only a slightly smaller portion. Good wine selection, casual atmosphere, great service!

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Finally went to see what all the hype ha ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Finally went to see what all the hype has been about. I would go back but not for a main dish but rather a couple of appetizers. The two main dishes we had were not great: the lamb dish was not as tender as you'd expect nor as flavourful. The chicken liver and seaweed& pasta dish was moderately good. Service very pleasant though and a fantastic wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A wonderful, cozy atmosphere paired with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A wonderful, cozy atmosphere paired with wonderful drinks and unique, local food. Service was perfect, too. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I only have one word to describe our eve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I only have one word to describe our evening: AMAZING! It was a perfect dinner for a special occasion. Thank you very much Lawrence! We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good overall. My husband and I were in t ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good overall. My husband and I were in town and met my son for lunch. We all enjoyed our food. Service was attentive and pleasant. The menu wasn't extensive but adequate for us. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We visited Lawrence twice on our vacatio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We visited Lawrence twice on our vacation to Montreal, after an amazing meal the previous year.

The service was impeccable and the food is spectacular. My husband and I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, staff, and food are all per ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service, staff, and food are all perfect at Lawrence. The food is always amazing and the experience I was able to share with my friends will, for sure, be a lasting memory for all eleven of us. I look forward to dining at Lawrence every year, it absolutely never disappoints.

The beef tail for two with the corn risotto, by the way, is a dish I will surely never forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing! The food was real ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The staff was amazing! The food was really good, with a menu that had much more than the old standards. Small, cozy, friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, as was the wine. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was very good, as was the wine. Service was also very good. Decor was kind of industrial grunge, not too bad nevertheless. The big problem was the incredibly high noise level. Hard to hear what others were saying. Hard to hear what you were saying yourself.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We dined at Lawrence with a group of 11, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dined at Lawrence with a group of 11, and the restaurant was gracious and accommodating. The food and service were excellent and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and atmosphere. It cam high ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. It cam highly recommended by a foodie that knows the Montreal culinary scene inside out and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Excellent ! Je suis intolérante au glute ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent !

Je suis intolérante au gluten, malgré tout plusieurs choix m'ont été proposé ! Je pouvais choisir pratiquement dans tout le menu, ce qui est très rare! J'y retournerai, c'est certain !

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Romantique, Une carte des vins remarquable, Idéal pour le repas du midi, Parfait pour les groupes
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Très agréable soiree passée au Lawrence. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Très agréable soiree passée au Lawrence. Les cocktails, entrées et plats principaux étaient tous de véritables plaisirs en bouche. Nous avons particulièrement apprécié le service et la gentillesse de la sommelière qui nous permis de faire de belles découvertes.

Tags: La perle du quartier, Une carte des vins remarquable, Idéal pour les plus fins palais
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal for our big group. Great lamb ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great meal for our big group. Great lamb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. Way too noisy!

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and service.

Way too noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Large group, 10 of us. This place was p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Large group, 10 of us. This place was phenomenal, everyone of us was blown away by what we ordered. Wine pairings were great, cocktails were perfect. I'd absolutely go out of my way to have dinner here the next time I'm in Montreal. The whole staff was incredibly kind and helpful as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place that I return to every ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

My favorite place that I return to every time I am in Montreal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We stayed in the neighborhood on a recen ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We stayed in the neighborhood on a recent trip to Montreal. Great little place with a wonderful menu and wine list. If you are a bit adventurous, this is the place for you. We shared three plates a seafood sampler, a tomato tart, and a lamb with cauliflower dish. All were delicious. We also had a nice bottle of red wine, there selection was great, not overwhelming like some places. We went to Liverpool House and Pastaga while we were there, and this was our favorite meal of the 3!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such an enjoyable evening at Lawrence! A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Such an enjoyable evening at Lawrence! As San Francisco area residents, we set a high expectational bar, and Lawrence 's talented English chef reached that bar with most dishes. The staff are young and enthusiastic, knowledgeable about what's in the food they offer. Cocktails were very well-made. A highlight of this very good meal was the seafood assiette starter, an assortment of perhaps eight small, well-conceived and beautifully executed ceviches, salads, and smoked fish slices. The corn, clam and smoked sturgeon soup was outstanding. We knew at that point we were in very good hands and relaxed! Next, meltingly tender lamb shank was accompanied by an over-exuberance of flavorful roasted cauliflower, and the smoked salmon and roasted garlic / goat cheese toasts my husband had as his main dish were very good as well. There was a bit of a drop-off in focus when we hit dessert: a deliciously tart summer pudding needed a more-sweetened whipped cream to balance, while the flavors of a pistachio/chocolate trifle were muddled. Minor quibbles, though. Overall, we recommend Lawrence highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Party of 11 to celebrate a bachelorette ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Party of 11 to celebrate a bachelorette and not many places have reservations for such a large party. Lawrence was accommodating with our delayed arrival (sat down at 9:15p) and server was friendly. The menu choices are more on the acquired taste/exotic end and everyone ordered foods that are familiar - we were hesitant to try new things (i.e. sturgeon fish dish). We had the lobster, the poached duck leg and the lamb. Feedback was that the mix of flavors for the lobster and duck were too varying and it wasn't a nice mix. Lamb was good.

We ordered appetizers and entrees but the wait time for our entrees to arrive was over 1hr. We had to order a second round of bread. By the time we finished our meal, the restaurant was closing (~11p) and we didn't have time to order coffee even if we wanted to.

I had read great reviews for brunch and therefore, had high hopes for dinner. I was disappointed in the overall food/experience but would go back to try their brunch menu. Hopefully, they'd win me over then.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

The liver was buttery, but not cloyingly ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The liver was buttery, but not cloyingly so, and caramelised, but not burnt or fire-hardened - in a word, delicious! The garlic and goat cheese dish was also splendid (and splendidly 'like buttah'). And relaxing environs to boot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.