Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Lawrence Restaurant

Delicious

5201 St. Laurent Blvd
Montréal, QC H2T 1S4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairmount

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 503-1070

Website:
http://lawrencerestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Cohen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Lawrence Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Romantic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Lawrence stands out because of its eye on great produce, fresh meat n sourced seafood, and a penchant for creativity!
Unpretentious, Hugh quality and original food satisfies your palate, and makes you want to go back again.
Chefs n staff deserve praise for their novel approach to dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nice place! Food is creative and delicious. Second time. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As usual, consistently amazing!! From high-quality food, incredible wine list accompanied by a knowledgeable sommelier, you can never go wrong by choosing Lawrence!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

While polite and courteous, the sommelier lacked knowledge and any response from him was extremely general. Perhaps the clientele does not prioritize it, but the wine list needs improvement. Food was extremely salty and I spent most of the evening picking out chicken skin that was very rubbery in texture and not appealing to the eye as well as palate. On a separate matter, the table of two dining next to us were repeatedly told that they needed to surrender their table. Being told once is fine, not three times. This shows not only a lack of warmth, but lack of organization. Hopefully the above was an isolated incident.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Visiting from out of town and into the hipster neighborhood, we went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a nearby boutique owner. We made a reservation without checking the menu and were shocked to see tongue, brain, and other foods we would not normally seek out. We ordered octopus and lamb and the food and flavors were fabulous. I highly recommend it to you if you like these foods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was excellent, and the servers quite nice, however, we had to wait over an hour for our table in spite of booking well in advance. We were offered drinks and snacks to make up for this, which was appreciated, however, it was difficult to get the attention of the servers while we were waiting, for things like menus, etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had an amazing time at Lawrence. It's been on our restaurant list of "must eats" when we visit Montreal. Everything was great - from waitstaff to menu options to drinks to the food. I'd highly recommend to anyone looking for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for valentines and it was my second time! I loved it! Everything about it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good service! Food is good too! Makes me want to go back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Très bon restaurant. Agencement des goûts intéressant et audacieux. Service impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great restaurant. There are no vegetarian choices on the menu. Why not?
The service was excellent and food delicious but the portions are tiny.
Dessert and wine menu are excellent.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant, but beware if you're vegetarian or vegan.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We understood that the chef likes to use offal in his dishes and was open and ready to try some interesting food, but this was a bit too "inventive" for us. Gizzards as the star of the dish? Eel papardelle? We ordered the charcuterie platter and the fish/shellfish platter to start... they were fine, but we felt that the presentation was sub-par and over crowded. On the charcuterie platter, the food was just pilled on top of the plate, no distinction between meats, just a mass thrown on a tiny plate which made it very difficult to share.

We ordered two dishes for the three of us because there was not a third dish that sounded even remotely appealing. The lamb, my husband felt was perfectly cooked, but I found it gamey and we all agreed that the potatoes were not sufficiently cooked... still very firm inside, not raw, but neither were they roasted. Then the fish-- while beautifully browned with crisp skin, the inside was still pink and firm .. there were copious bones as well, but since it was mostly raw and was left only partially eaten, the bones became a non-issue.

The service was lovely, very attentive and ready to supply answers.

The best thing about Lawrence Restaurant is their locally sourced pink tonic that they use in their cocktails.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service very good
Somelier excellent
Food was good , special ( heart of turkey and beef ), a little bit salty but they give us 2 desserts on the house !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food is sublime and meticulously prepared. The wait and bar staff are superb and some of the best I've ever encountered. On the downside, once you eat a Lawrence you'll be ruined for almost every other restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Première expérience à ce restaurant. Le service était impeccable et chacun des items du menu que nous avons choisi était une réussite! Une soirée entre amis plus que parfaite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We for new years eve. Lovely meal, great wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and service despite the restaurant being super crowded. Great vibe!
A place to go back to, over and over.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our first visit to Lawrence and it didn't disappoint. Between us, we tried the fish and seafood platter, the fish stew, the cassoulet for two, and the Sussex pudding, plus a couple of their signature cocktails. Everything was great. It was also a good value considering the quality of the food. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Awesome food, awesome service and I love the location too. I wish they also had some dishes for non-experimental type since I'm allergic to seafood and fish too. They were very accommodating with the dishes for me! One of my favorite spots in Montreal, the wines are very good and unique import. The staff is great! Keep up the great work and smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Restaurant absolument décevant alors que soi-disamment sa réputation devrait en faire une des meilleures tables de Montréal. Nourriture ordinaire, apparence des assiettes décevante et nourriture à peine tiède. Beaucoup trop onéreux, y compris les vins. Dessert brûlé partiellement. Le froid régnait, nos compagnes étaient frigorifiées. Si on compare, parmi les dix meilleures tables de Montréal (duquel Le Lawrence se réclame !) avec le Toqué., c'est une insulte pour le Toqué.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service moyen, peu expérimenté, pas très confiante a propos de la liste de vins. Nourriture excellente, prix un peu cher et vestibule inexistant. Les tables près de la porte gèlent et demandent toutes à être déplacés.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here mid-week. We were a group of nine and were able to hear each other talk and felt like the meal was nicely paced and never felt rushed. The food was good to very good with several dishes outstanding. Wine and beer drinkers in our group were all happy with the selections. For good food, a warm and comfortable ambiance, and great service, Lawrence Restaurant is a good choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Authentic, Family Style, Great Beer, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My gal and I were in Montreal for our first visit, and were fortunate to find Lawrence. Refined without being pretentious, we had a lovely meal presented by a consistently gracious staff. High marks to our server Meredith for making this one of our most memorable meals of 2016. A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pas à la hauteur. Plat de morue beaucoup trop salé. Foie grillé quelconque. Bonne note pour le pudding au citron.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The octopus and salted cod was too salty. Everything else was good. Great service.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service! except the waitress didn't know how to select wine.
Way too much salt in the main dish, way too much vinaigre in the salad, red wine served way too warm....
For this price, you can eat much better elsewhere in Montreal!
I would go back for all the staff! but not the food... too bad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food, attentive and friendly service, great ambiance and decor, lovely corner unit in a great neighbourhood. Planning to return anytime I am back in Montreal. Loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food overall, but a bit too pricy. The place is nice and the service is very good, we had a good time, but again, for the price you can find better places (or less expensive).

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent cuisine, nice cosy room and - this is sufficently rare to be noted - not too much noise. Definetely a place to recommend for a nice evening dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tout y est pour une soirée décontracté avec amis! La bouffe est superbe et le service est parfait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

A lovely dining experience from A to Z. After some delicious cocktails and yummy home made bread, we sampled a variety of appetizers and main dishes.
Oysters, charcuterie, sturgeon, smoked eel, lamb and more. Each dish prepared with thought, attention to presentation and innovation. No room for dessert.
The Sommelier recommended a scrumptious Chardonnay which I actually went and bought for myself at the SAQ! Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was a bit slow but the food was very good and wait staff was friendly

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything was perfect: ambience, service, food, beverages, and value. We loved the attention to detail which was obvious in every dish, and we appreciated their "no big deal" attitude in accommodating our dietary restrictions. Just a simple lunch was made special by outstanding fried potatoes, tangy dressing on rich buttery salad greens, and the always unsurpassable soup. I must also give huge props to the dessert chef for a lighter-than-air cranberry meringue pie! I encourage everyone to go to Lawrence. This is an experience that will nurture you in every way!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at Lawrence which was my first time. I started with 6 oysters from NS which were impeccable. We then shared with my two friends the octopus appetizer dish which was yummy. I then ate a grilled maquereau main dish (fish) which was delicious. the atmosphere was very nice. Service between the appetizer dish and our main dishes took quite long to arrive. The wine recommended (pinot noir) went went with all our dishes. Overall, a very nice evening with great food in a nice atmosphere. The restaurant was full at the time of visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Brutal service, slow and rude. Felt like particular bottle of wine was pushed on us (did you overstock? Honestly what it felt like). Server was rude and ignored us. Was our fifth time back so there has been enough to bring us back before but honestly this time I'm not so sure. We'll see in a few months but seems to be trending downwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Expertly crafted dishes that don't have too many ingredients to distract and annoy. Creativity and freshness that is unusual and reflected in the deep but subtle flavours. Simple dishes make very well; local ingredients used in pleasing combinations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal . I had heard many great things about the menu but it's was intimidating to me, I'm not an adventurous diner. The menu included items like flattened pigs head and heart. I'm glad I decided to go outside my comfort zone and try something new. It was delicious and well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Very nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was very delicious and the service was great. An unexpected, yet extremely pleasing find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were introduced to Lawrence on a food tour of mile end. It is affiliated with the organic and sustainable butcher 2 doors down. We came back that night and it was our favorite food of the 5 day trip. 4 of us got double appetizers. Good onion soup, great corn and sturgeon soup, fresh side salad, the shredded rabbit with artichokes, olives and capers. The only one we would skip is the shrimp with grilled zucchini. Excellent fresh oysters and our favorite was the octopus nduja with a chorizo spread on toast. Yum. Ah but the other 2 had stellar entrees ! A huge dinner plate sized pork chop that was fork tender and melt in your mouth with the most amazing potatoes fried in beef fat! And the perfectly seasoned and cooked lamb with cauliflower and salt lemon was only a slightly smaller portion. Good wine selection, casual atmosphere, great service!

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.