Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Lawrence Restaurant

Delicious

5201 St. Laurent Blvd
Montréal, QC H2T 1S4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairmount

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 503-1070

Website:
http://lawrencerestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Cohen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Lawrence Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Local Ingredients (8)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Les plats sont cher pour ce qu'il y a dans l'assiette. Le service était bien, mais les prix sont trop cher pour la quantité qu'il y a dans les assiettes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It is a good place to go. But the night I went, I did not feel the warmth in the owners service. And for the second time that I have gone there the food was too salty. I was ready to spend 200$ for my evening. I thought it would be better the second time. I was wrong.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Started out fantastic. The place has a calm energy with fresh and comfortable vibe. My cocktail was great, and the appetizer was A+++++. I'd order the pea toast over and over again. My main plate was meh. Ordered the lamb, and it came with zucchini on top. It had huge chunks that were mushy (no texture). The lamb also overcooked (no red), but had good flavor. I rarely mention dissatisfaction, but I didn't eat the veg after trying three different pieces. I didn't complain, just told the server in case the kitchen might want to know. I had no expectation, and in fact, was about to order dessert. Then I saw the chef go through the garbage to look at my zucchini. The server was friendly, but now had to deliver the news that is how chef wanted the plate. Wait, did I just hear an excuse? I didn't order dessert after that fail. Note: it was just an FYI said out of a courtesy. Maybe I'm wrong in wanting vegetables to have texture and a bit of a bite, but telling me I'm wrong...?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice ambience; knowledgeable, approachable sommelier; very good food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service was excellent and very attentive.
I was personally disappointed by the lack of variety on the menu.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our service was incredible from start to finish. The sommelier was knowledgeable and our server was charming and also knowledgeable. Every dish was incredible -- fresh and flavourful. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very good, enjoyed everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Superbe expérience avec personnel très compétent! Nous avons adoré l'assiette de poissons et fruits de mer à partager et la paella avec du homard! Yummyyyyy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 16, 2017

J'adore aller chez Lawrence. Décor simple et de bon gout, une cuisine recherchée. Le service est impeccable . Je recommande fortement.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food! Great service.. tables a little tight.. our seats had a view of the kitchen which wasn't bad but also wasn't great.. overall VERY good experience..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Delicious food and great service! I recommend to all foodies who enjoy cozy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great! Everything cooked perfectly

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Lawrence stands out because of its eye on great produce, fresh meat n sourced seafood, and a penchant for creativity!
Unpretentious, Hugh quality and original food satisfies your palate, and makes you want to go back again.
Chefs n staff deserve praise for their novel approach to dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nice place! Food is creative and delicious. Second time. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As usual, consistently amazing!! From high-quality food, incredible wine list accompanied by a knowledgeable sommelier, you can never go wrong by choosing Lawrence!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

While polite and courteous, the sommelier lacked knowledge and any response from him was extremely general. Perhaps the clientele does not prioritize it, but the wine list needs improvement. Food was extremely salty and I spent most of the evening picking out chicken skin that was very rubbery in texture and not appealing to the eye as well as palate. On a separate matter, the table of two dining next to us were repeatedly told that they needed to surrender their table. Being told once is fine, not three times. This shows not only a lack of warmth, but lack of organization. Hopefully the above was an isolated incident.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Visiting from out of town and into the hipster neighborhood, we went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a nearby boutique owner. We made a reservation without checking the menu and were shocked to see tongue, brain, and other foods we would not normally seek out. We ordered octopus and lamb and the food and flavors were fabulous. I highly recommend it to you if you like these foods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was excellent, and the servers quite nice, however, we had to wait over an hour for our table in spite of booking well in advance. We were offered drinks and snacks to make up for this, which was appreciated, however, it was difficult to get the attention of the servers while we were waiting, for things like menus, etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had an amazing time at Lawrence. It's been on our restaurant list of "must eats" when we visit Montreal. Everything was great - from waitstaff to menu options to drinks to the food. I'd highly recommend to anyone looking for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for valentines and it was my second time! I loved it! Everything about it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good service! Food is good too! Makes me want to go back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great restaurant. There are no vegetarian choices on the menu. Why not?
The service was excellent and food delicious but the portions are tiny.
Dessert and wine menu are excellent.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant, but beware if you're vegetarian or vegan.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Très bon restaurant. Agencement des goûts intéressant et audacieux. Service impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We understood that the chef likes to use offal in his dishes and was open and ready to try some interesting food, but this was a bit too "inventive" for us. Gizzards as the star of the dish? Eel papardelle? We ordered the charcuterie platter and the fish/shellfish platter to start... they were fine, but we felt that the presentation was sub-par and over crowded. On the charcuterie platter, the food was just pilled on top of the plate, no distinction between meats, just a mass thrown on a tiny plate which made it very difficult to share.

We ordered two dishes for the three of us because there was not a third dish that sounded even remotely appealing. The lamb, my husband felt was perfectly cooked, but I found it gamey and we all agreed that the potatoes were not sufficiently cooked... still very firm inside, not raw, but neither were they roasted. Then the fish-- while beautifully browned with crisp skin, the inside was still pink and firm .. there were copious bones as well, but since it was mostly raw and was left only partially eaten, the bones became a non-issue.

The service was lovely, very attentive and ready to supply answers.

The best thing about Lawrence Restaurant is their locally sourced pink tonic that they use in their cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service very good
Somelier excellent
Food was good , special ( heart of turkey and beef ), a little bit salty but they give us 2 desserts on the house !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food is sublime and meticulously prepared. The wait and bar staff are superb and some of the best I've ever encountered. On the downside, once you eat a Lawrence you'll be ruined for almost every other restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Première expérience à ce restaurant. Le service était impeccable et chacun des items du menu que nous avons choisi était une réussite! Une soirée entre amis plus que parfaite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We for new years eve. Lovely meal, great wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and service despite the restaurant being super crowded. Great vibe!
A place to go back to, over and over.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was our first visit to Lawrence and it didn't disappoint. Between us, we tried the fish and seafood platter, the fish stew, the cassoulet for two, and the Sussex pudding, plus a couple of their signature cocktails. Everything was great. It was also a good value considering the quality of the food. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awesome food, awesome service and I love the location too. I wish they also had some dishes for non-experimental type since I'm allergic to seafood and fish too. They were very accommodating with the dishes for me! One of my favorite spots in Montreal, the wines are very good and unique import. The staff is great! Keep up the great work and smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Restaurant absolument décevant alors que soi-disamment sa réputation devrait en faire une des meilleures tables de Montréal. Nourriture ordinaire, apparence des assiettes décevante et nourriture à peine tiède. Beaucoup trop onéreux, y compris les vins. Dessert brûlé partiellement. Le froid régnait, nos compagnes étaient frigorifiées. Si on compare, parmi les dix meilleures tables de Montréal (duquel Le Lawrence se réclame !) avec le Toqué., c'est une insulte pour le Toqué.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service moyen, peu expérimenté, pas très confiante a propos de la liste de vins. Nourriture excellente, prix un peu cher et vestibule inexistant. Les tables près de la porte gèlent et demandent toutes à être déplacés.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here mid-week. We were a group of nine and were able to hear each other talk and felt like the meal was nicely paced and never felt rushed. The food was good to very good with several dishes outstanding. Wine and beer drinkers in our group were all happy with the selections. For good food, a warm and comfortable ambiance, and great service, Lawrence Restaurant is a good choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My gal and I were in Montreal for our first visit, and were fortunate to find Lawrence. Refined without being pretentious, we had a lovely meal presented by a consistently gracious staff. High marks to our server Meredith for making this one of our most memorable meals of 2016. A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Pas à la hauteur. Plat de morue beaucoup trop salé. Foie grillé quelconque. Bonne note pour le pudding au citron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service! except the waitress didn't know how to select wine.
Way too much salt in the main dish, way too much vinaigre in the salad, red wine served way too warm....
For this price, you can eat much better elsewhere in Montreal!
I would go back for all the staff! but not the food... too bad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The octopus and salted cod was too salty. Everything else was good. Great service.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent food, attentive and friendly service, great ambiance and decor, lovely corner unit in a great neighbourhood. Planning to return anytime I am back in Montreal. Loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food overall, but a bit too pricy. The place is nice and the service is very good, we had a good time, but again, for the price you can find better places (or less expensive).

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.