Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Lawrence Restaurant

Delicious

5201 St. Laurent Blvd
Montréal, QC H2T 1S4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Thursday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairmount

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 503-1070

Website:
http://lawrencerestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Cohen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Wine

Lawrence Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I had the brain as an "entrée", the tongue a main dish and the chocolate pie as a dessert. Every dish was savoury and of good quality. They also bake their own sourdough bread which is nice and fluffy with a crisp crust that makes you just want to eat more. However, one of us ordered the cod dish. We expected a cod filet, but we were a little dissapointed to find out that the cod fish was actually cooked overnight in a broth giving the impression the cod fish was basent from the dish. Overall, the service was casual and professionnal and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

My second visit was as as delightful as the first. The food was creative and very good (including the excellent sourdough bread), the atmosphere was chill, the wait staff attentive. Perfect (higher-end) neighbourhood restaurant for a date or get-together with friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Il fait froid dans le restaurant en hiver par journée très froide

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Excellent food and superlative service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Best duck breast I have ever had! Staff was completely respectful of our time and allergy constraints. I'll look forward to going back when I have more time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great place. Great atmosphere. Creative dishes. Great wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Best oysters I've ever had. Very fresh. Food was creative. Service was excellent. My only complaint is that my dish (chowder) was too salty, and I like salt.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Always a great place, small discrete but tasty restaurant! Never disappoints at each visit :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Mouth-watering food! Savoury and satisfying, with ample sized portions.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Vraiment une découverte incroyable. Ambiance feutrée. On y retourne, c'est sûr... et dans pas longtemps!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

My brother and I heard lots of good things about Lawrence. We dropped in and had a negroni to start whilst our table was getting ready. Immediately we noticed the quaint ambiance, it was full yet relaxed. Our server was very polite and efficient. A sommelier recommended a nice bottle of montepulciano which we enjoyed with our delicious meals. The food was top notch, so much decadence with the cooking. I had the lamb, he had the short ribs, both exceptional. We ended our meals just the way we wanted to, with an espresso and a sweet. Overall the experience was excellent, we both walked out raving about dinner and giggling about the stories we shared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant twice over the span of several years during visits to Montreal. Given the quality of the food, the professionalism of the staff, and the size of the restaurant, I am amazed I can still get a reservation. It seems like this is an overlooked, undervalued spot for those interested in an excellent meal and a relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I was unsure if to go to Lawrence or not due to some mixed reviews. But it was lovely from the moment we walked in, to the moment we left. The staff were warm, helpful and friendly. The food was top notch, delicious and spot on time. It was awesome really.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Was very nice. Good food, nice wine. Missing the wow factor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Had an amazing night at Lawrence. The food was so tasty and the staff is professional yet very friendly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I've been going to Lawrence for a few yeas now. The food is consistently good. There is always a new dish to try and the staff is uber friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Some of the best soup I've had, with clams and a very flavorful broth. Service very friendly and attentive. Main courses of cod and braised lamb were well-prepared and very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

J'y étais avec des amis français.
Je me suis donnée la peine d'écrire au resto pour les informer de l'anniversaire de mon ami et rime n'a été fait.
Nous avons été très déçu du peu de variété au menu.

Nous sommes sortis au restos avec nos amis pendant tout leur séjour et le Lawrence a été la plus grande déception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fabulous food, terrible service. Our server was distracted and aloof.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Repas Trop salé

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Menu original, carte des vins diversifiée, plats succulents, service impeccable! Une excellente adresse.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Un petit Resto du quartier Mile-End très sympathique, des bons cocktails et des petits plats savoureux avec un super service amical et professionnel. Je reviendrai... Hélène

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great tasting food, as always! Been coming here for years and still loving the food and finding new things to try.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Les plats sont cher pour ce qu'il y a dans l'assiette. Le service était bien, mais les prix sont trop cher pour la quantité qu'il y a dans les assiettes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It is a good place to go. But the night I went, I did not feel the warmth in the owners service. And for the second time that I have gone there the food was too salty. I was ready to spend 200$ for my evening. I thought it would be better the second time. I was wrong.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Started out fantastic. The place has a calm energy with fresh and comfortable vibe. My cocktail was great, and the appetizer was A+++++. I'd order the pea toast over and over again. My main plate was meh. Ordered the lamb, and it came with zucchini on top. It had huge chunks that were mushy (no texture). The lamb also overcooked (no red), but had good flavor. I rarely mention dissatisfaction, but I didn't eat the veg after trying three different pieces. I didn't complain, just told the server in case the kitchen might want to know. I had no expectation, and in fact, was about to order dessert. Then I saw the chef go through the garbage to look at my zucchini. The server was friendly, but now had to deliver the news that is how chef wanted the plate. Wait, did I just hear an excuse? I didn't order dessert after that fail. Note: it was just an FYI said out of a courtesy. Maybe I'm wrong in wanting vegetables to have texture and a bit of a bite, but telling me I'm wrong...?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice ambience; knowledgeable, approachable sommelier; very good food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Staff here are friendly and you can get conversational with them and others if you're at the bar, very lively atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service was excellent and very attentive.
I was personally disappointed by the lack of variety on the menu.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Good food from a limited choice. Fresh ingredients, well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our service was incredible from start to finish. The sommelier was knowledgeable and our server was charming and also knowledgeable. Every dish was incredible -- fresh and flavourful. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very good, enjoyed everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Superbe expérience avec personnel très compétent! Nous avons adoré l'assiette de poissons et fruits de mer à partager et la paella avec du homard! Yummyyyyy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 16, 2017

J'adore aller chez Lawrence. Décor simple et de bon gout, une cuisine recherchée. Le service est impeccable . Je recommande fortement.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food! Great service.. tables a little tight.. our seats had a view of the kitchen which wasn't bad but also wasn't great.. overall VERY good experience..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Delicious food and great service! I recommend to all foodies who enjoy cozy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great! Everything cooked perfectly

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Lawrence stands out because of its eye on great produce, fresh meat n sourced seafood, and a penchant for creativity!
Unpretentious, Hugh quality and original food satisfies your palate, and makes you want to go back again.
Chefs n staff deserve praise for their novel approach to dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nice place! Food is creative and delicious. Second time. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As usual, consistently amazing!! From high-quality food, incredible wine list accompanied by a knowledgeable sommelier, you can never go wrong by choosing Lawrence!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.