About Lavender Bistro

78073 Calle Barcelona
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Experience Lavender Bistro. At Lavender we combine the finest meats and seafood with the freshest organic ingredients to create unforgettable dishes. Dine indoors in a warm, cozy atmosphere or on our stunning tree-lined patio. Lavender Bistro also prides itself on providing superb live music daily to set a warm and friendly atmosphere for you and your guests.


For every occasion, to change the ordinary into extraordinary, come join us at Lavender Bistro, "the best kept secret of La Quinta", for a memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Join us nightly for our popular Happy Hour from 4:00 to Close.
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Desert Club Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-5353

Website:
http://www.lavenderbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Nightly - piano and vocals.

Catering:
Lavender Bistro's catered events will take our wonderful dining experience into your home or venue of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Raul Garcia

Private Party Facilities:
For private functions or special occasions, our private room, private small patio or semi-private large patio are available. For larger parties, weddings, or banquets, the entire restaurant is available for your dining pleasure.

Private Party Contact:
Nicolas Despras: (760) 564-5353

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lavender Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (132)
Romantic (125)
Good for a Date (113)
See All
Special Occasion (103)
Live Music (94)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Worth the Drive (52)
Notable Wine List (45)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for Groups (40)
Cozy (36)
Fun (26)
Seasonal (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Happy Hour (23)
Scenic View (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Authentic (18)
Casual (18)
Business Meals (17)
Fireplace (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
People Watching (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Private Room (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Dancing (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Prices were on the high end. We had a great meal and were not rushed at all. I only wish were seated where we could have heard the music. Might go back to the bar for happy hour to hear the music there.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

It was lovely as usual and the food was delicious and wonderfully prepared. My only complaint was the poached pear salad. The pear was poached and served on the side; it was the size of a fig and a disappointment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Lavender Bistro is a wonderful restaurant. The ambiance is exceptional especially outside. The food and service is outstanding. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a simply wonderful time. Great food, surroundings, atmosphere, service. A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

We had family from out of town and went there because of the beautiful setting and the menu variety. We had exceptionally attentive and courteous waiters.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the Top Five Restaurants we've ever been to !!! Beautiful Outdoor lighted setting , exceptional service and outstanding food !!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

We first visited Lavender for a drink in January, and knew we had to come back for dinner. The garden patio is outstanding! We were unknowingly seated next to a loudmouth man and his poor date, and management was quick to relocate us when we quietly complained. We were seated at a perfect four top near the garden wall. The ambience is top-notch romantic. It wasn't a special occasion for us but it felt like one! Our server Natalie, was delightful. She has a charming French accent that made us feel as if we were transported to Paris! I had tender and warm Sole and the chef kindly substituted mashed potatoes for rice at my request. My husband had the salmon. The portions were moderate, so we ate every bite and loved it. And to top it all off, it was half-off (Tuesday) bottled wine! You'd never know all this wonderfulness existed tucked behind this modest cottage-like exterior hidden behind Old Town La Quinta. Probably our favorite dining experience this winter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I enjoyed our meal. We started our evening with the salmon and ahi tuna appetizer and shared the lobster ravioli as our main entree. Everything was cooked and prepared to perfection and we can't wait to go back in a few weeks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding restaurant! Wonderful ambiance, excellent food and friendly staff. Highly recommended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We took out a f town friends here and it was our first time as well! We all loved it! You can't find a better place for ambience and romance! Our waitress was lovely and the food was really good! Lots of choices for everyone! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our Anniversary. We sat outside under the twinkle lights and heaters, listening to lovely music and enjoyed a delicious meal!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Old School in the best sense of the word. Great food...felt like 1975.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Phenomenal food and service. Superb romantic setting and great music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful setting. Great menu. Great service. Wonderful restaurant without being snooty. Love this place. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at this restaurant. Everything was wonderful. Very romantic, the service and the food were lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Would not go again unless I was seated in the patio. Too noisy and crowded everywhere else in the restaurant. We've always eaten in the patio before and would not recommend eating inside to anyone. In addition to the excessive noise, the service was subpar!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Meeting old friends

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely beautiful venue. Sitting in the garden delightful. Staff was very helpful in finding a table for our 5 person table. Food was delicious, portions large, good selections. Music is loud and can make it difficult to communicate with tablemates. Otherwise wonderful venue.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was our third visit to Lavender, all for my wife's birthdays. As has been the case in the past, the place is gorgeous, and the food was outstanding. (My wife had the rack of lamb, and I had the roasted duck - both just succulent. We had also split a beet salad, maybe one of the best I've ever had!) However, as I mentioned to the manager on the way out, this time the service was mediocre, unlike our previous visits. It took quite a while for our waiter to present himself, and then our drinks were slow in coming. After he took our orders, we never saw him again, with other wait staff bringing our food, and we were rushed through the entire dinner (salad came while we were still sipping our drinks, for example. ) Not the amazing experience we have had previously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of our favourite spots for dinner in La Quinta. Beautiful garden tables and lighting. Great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

They have added more tables to the patio since our last visit. This makes it harder to hear because you are so close to the next tables and everything they are talking about. Two of our chairs were in the run way the staff took from the kitchen with food, dirty dishes and etc, so all evening we kept moving our chairs to let the staff pass by our table as they passed each other and around a tree next to our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great ambience. Wonderful service. Great wine list

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This a beautiful place to dine. The outdoor patio is lovely. Being Valentine's Day it was full, but in spite of that the service and the food was excellent. For a special night out the Lavender Bistro can't be beat.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It really was lovely. It was Valentines Day, so it was crowded and there was a fixed menu. Even so, we had excellent service and were not rushed. We had 2 complaints. First, our steaks were not warm. There was a dollop of butter on them and it wouldn't (couldn't) melt. But the flavor was good. The dessert plate was also subpar. My husband who is a sweet freak didn't even finish his. The complaints we had are things that you get on Valentines day. Even with the crowd, the patio was absolutely beautiful. We will definitely go back and look forward to a "non" Valentines Day experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for a Valentines dinner and was really excited to grab a table and was disappointed in the food experience. We had gone for happy hour and absolutely loved the food and overall experience and was VERY excited to go back for a dinner. Very disappointed in the prefixed menu, food was precooked and not even fully reheated, lack flavor and just felt like my food should of been warm for $80 a plate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

An iconic setting, off the main drag. Excellent service, food and ambiance. The perfect get-away right around the corner!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were not happy with Open Table for not letting us know that there would be a very limited menu and the set price was much higher than we would have typically spent for a nice Dinner at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed everything about our dinner with friends except the waiter was always in a hurry and we had to wave him to a stop every time we needed something. He was polite and courteous but not particularly attentive to good service. I got the feeling that he was managing too many tables.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just a wonderful experience. Wouldn't hesitate to send anyone there. Great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed. Had family here from out of state (first time in PS). We were SO excited to have our dinner with you but server/kitchen had us waiting too long between courses. Servers came by, cleared ALL our plates, silverware AND the salt & pepper and we hadn't even received our main course yet. We finally got our last course after being there 2 hours! My brother in law was REALLY disappointed to see his $36 Scallops special had only THREE scallops! That was way overpriced! Unfortunately this isn't the only time we'v had issues with the service here. But this time, when we mentioned to our server that we'd waited a long time she said "We don't even turn in your next course until you've finished the last one. That's how we do it here." We keep trying it again hoping for it to be better but finally thinking we won't be going back, just can't count on good service. Too bad because they have beautiful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We really like Lavender Bistro and have been there several times. This time the food was not up to our expectations; considering past meals and the $$$$. The risotto was under cooked and the scallops were good, but only 4 a little larger than a quarter. The lobster bisque was very good, not great.

Will give it another try, of course.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great patio ambience with live music.

Wonderful menu and excellent kitchen.

Friendly, great service. Love this place!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very busy as it was just before Valentines. Service was good but food was not as good as usual. Soup was only warm and main entree very much on the cool side as if it had sat for sometime before being served. Always been impressed so will not flush them on just this one so so experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Tomato soup was excellent. Service was ok The steaks were cooked to order but both were cold when served. This is the second time this has happened. I can't say that my wife and I will ever come back. Very expensive for so so service and cold food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was by far one of the best dining experiences we have ever had in the Palm Springs, CA area! I would say that it is in our top 5 best dining experiences ever and that is saying a lot since we travel and dine out often! Great place and we will be back the next time to the area!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is our second time and it was just as good as te first time. One of our main go-to restaurants in Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We specifically made our reservations for Thursday night knowing that roast Beef was going to be on the menu. We were very disappointed that it was not available . Our food was good but not fantastic. The food looked like it had been plated and heated up as needed and even with that, it could have been a little warmer. The service was good - so no complaints as far as our waiter is concerned.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great ambiance, Anita our server was on point! Kitchen ran out of prime rib at 8pm :(

but we will return and request our favorite server at Lavender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our last visit was very disappointing. It was so busy and noisy and the service was very slow. The food was also not up to usual standards. Will give them another chance as everyone has an off day, hopefully this is not a trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing food service and beautiful setting

Loved it

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Train your wait staff! Worst service ever!

Very disappointing experience!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Patio is charming, cocktails were outstanding, wines by the glass are a little limited, but adequate. Prime rib was cooked perfectly and very tender. Tons of wait staff. A little pricey but not outrageous. I will be a repeat customer and I would definitely feel comfortable recommending to others.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We celebrated our 26th anniversary and was promptly seated outdoors on a balmy Thursday evening. Live background music along with trees covered in lights added to the ambiance.

Service was excellent and the prime rib and baked fish were perfectly prepared. We shared a delicious pear walnut salad and the waiter brought a complimentary chocolate dessert when he learned it was our anniversary.

We are new in town and this was our first visit. Based on our experience, we will bring visitors when the temperature allows for outdoor dining as it did this week. There were several tables of large groups and the next time we will bring additional couples and spend more time enjoying their venue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was great except we arrived 15 minutes early for a 5:30 reservation. We were asked to wait in the bar. The bar was crowded and their was no seating. One in our party was disabled and was very uncomfortable with not being able to sit. We finally left the restaurant and there was a bench outside where we waited. Otherwise we might just have continued to our car and gone elsewhere.

Once seated the service and food was great. It was "prime-rib special" night and it did not disappoint. The live music was also excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We met our friends of 60 years who are also in the Valley and had a wonderful time. The food and services were impeccable. We love the Lavender Bistro.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had such a wonderful time at Lavendar Bistro! The outdoor patio is gorgeous. The live music was fabulous. And the food was delicious! It was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary--very lively and fun, but still beautiful and romantic. We loved everything we had--steelhead salmon, lobster ravioli, french onion soup, tomato basil soup... everyone made us feel very special and we just couldn't have had a better time. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:30 and were a few minutes early so waited up front as they told us that the table would be ready shortly. There were a couple of tables of apparent "regulars" that were seated before us and the hostesses (I think there were 2) seemed to be a little flustered about getting us our table. But they were very pleasant and kept us updated on the table so we were ok with waiting. We were seated against the back wall by where the waiters all congregated to put in their orders and run the credit cards so a lot of traffic. The rest of the area down below where we were looked lovely and I wish we were seated there, but we figured we weren't by the kitchen so we'd live with it.

Wait staff was very attentive but we felt like we were a little rushed through our courses but it was crowded and the tables were turned over repeatedly.

It was all worth it because the food was excellent. I had the Fig and Prosciutto salad to start, and would have ordered a second one if i could have... excellent!!! I had the chicken which was moist and had a lovely flavor. It was a lot of chicken so I couldn't eat it all, which was a shame it was so good. The rest of our party had salmon or the sole and they all said the fish was really good!

Would recommend this as a great place to go for a special meal, great atmosphere and good food,

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our group enjoyed a wonderful meal in the outside area. Staff was very accommodating by moving us to a quieter table upon request.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.