Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About Lavender Bistro

Experience Lavender Bistro. At Lavender we combine the finest meats and seafood with the freshest organic ingredients to create unforgettable dishes. Dine indoors in a warm, cozy atmosphere or on our stunning tree-lined patio. Lavender Bistro also prides itself on providing superb live music daily to set a warm and friendly atmosphere for you and your guests.


For every occasion, to change the ordinary into extraordinary, come join us at Lavender Bistro, "the best kept secret of La Quinta", for a memorable dining experience.

78073 Calle Barcelona
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Join us nightly for our popular Happy Hour from 4:00 to Close.
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Desert Club Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-5353

Website:
http://www.lavenderbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Nightly - piano and vocals.

Catering:
Lavender Bistro's catered events will take our wonderful dining experience into your home or venue of your choice.

Executive Chef:
Raul Garcia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lavender Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Romantic (25)
Live Music (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food, fabulous service (Natalie) and wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This place is an absolute dream! Great food, great atmosphere and good service. You can't go wrong!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We loved everything EXCEPT as a vegan I was left out. I've tried twice and even my servers are stumped as to an entree for me. The rest of my non-vegan family was happy but reluctant to return a 3rd time because there's really nothing for me.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the Valley!
Always a beautiful time and amazing food!

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always great food, service and ambiance. Beautiful patio.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We always have a good experience at Lavender Bistro!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food and service were outstanding; the only thing that could be improved is to not feel rushed. The first course came out way too fast - we would have liked more time to enjoy our cocktails. And our reservation was for 7 pm, so it's not like they needed to turn the table. No one was waiting when we left at 8:15.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Celebrated a birthday - excellent atmosphere, tasteful menu, attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Beautiful setting with spacious outdoor dining with lovely lighted trees.Food and service very good especially the rack of lamb.Excellent soft guitar musician completed the atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I didn't answer if I would recommend Lavenders.....there is no maybe as a choice. We had a nice enough dinner during restaurant week...didn't think it was anything special. My rack of lamb came out VERY rare, almost raw. Service was ok, but server didn't have much of a personality...although that is not a criteria for dining out. The atmosphere is lovely, music is good. I haven't done the bar menu in a few years.....maybe need to try that. Last time I did it was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Delightful experience. We will return often. Our entrees were delicious, possibly only surpassed by the spectacular outdoor setting. Overall I can't say enough about this lovely venue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was our second time at Lavender Bistro. We are visiting from San Francisco and come out every year in June. Excellent food, wine, ambience . Outstanding wine and good pairings, very satisfying to the palate

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I loved this restaurant. Wonderful creative cooking with great ingredients. Nice wines. Great service in the most beautiful setting one could imGine. This place is perfect.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This is by far one of the best restaurants in the Coachella Valley. Granted, it's a haul from Palm Springs, but worth the trip. We went during restaurant week, where participating restaurants create a specific menu for guests. LB may you feel as though it was a normal dining experience and treated us as regulars. We had a party of six, and everybody had very positive comments regarding the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Best meal we have had in La Quinta! We ere delighted with the food and even surprised with an anniversary desert. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

When I arrived I noticed the beautiful lighting and flowers. It seems that they added to the ambiance. I hadn't been there in a year.we were seated and waited on immediately. We were a group of six and ordered rack of lamb and filet of sole. Both were delicious. The taco appetizer was so good and served in a cute way. We also liked the Caesar Salad. Dessert was delicious and our meal was enjoyed by all. A special evening with a special meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great night time spot for a relaxing, desert casual meal. Menu varies with the seasons, and is closed down for the hottest Summer months. Plenty of spaces for large groups. Atmosphere is above average.

Tags: Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very nice courtyard and live music but the meal was highly overpriced for the quality. My steak was so tough that I only managed to eat half of it. Plus, I ordered it medium and it was blood red. Should have sent it back but did not want to cause a problem in front of friends. Probably will give the place another chance but not any time soon.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Always on of our favorites and they never disappoint us. Exceptional dining

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I have wanted to try this restaurant for awhile, and so I made a reservation for Tuesday night during restaurant week; the place was busy but not slammed ... we were served water right away by the busboy, but after waiting 15 minutes for a server to come take our drink order, one of us went back to the hostess stand and asked where our waiter was ... he did come over rather quickly after that and we placed our cocktail/wine order ... bottles of wine start at $45, glasses were each $15 ... food was presented very nicely and was tasty; we dine out a lot and this meal was at most 4* ... there are many other very fine restaurants closer to us so we probably won't go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Lavender is our favorite restaurant and we alway bring guest to the desert there for the great, enchanting, outdoor eating. We came early this time and unfortunately had some trouble with flies. They seemed to die down as we were leaving around 7pm however. The food was interesting and tasty. When the bill came is was for way too much! This was restaurant week so it was easy to calculate with the fixed price. The waitress said it was a computer error but I believe she should have picked that up before giving it to us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This is a review of the 3 course Restaurant Week dinner with a date. The short review -- 5 star wonderful!!

From the moment we arrived until the time we left, it was a perfect evening.

For our first course, we each had the poached pear. It was beautifully presented, perfectly prepared and tasted terrific.

For entries we had sea scallops and the rack of lamb. Again both dishes were attractive and mouth watering. The rack of lamb was a generous serving of three double chops -- indeed it was a rack of lamb. Every chop was meaty relatively lean and perfectly done.

The timing between courses was excellent and our waiter attentively refilled our wine glasses when needed.

The desert was special! Almond ice cream and a crepe filled with perfect chocolate moose.

As an extra bonus wine by the bottle was half price. Since Lavender's normal wine pricing is not out of line, half price makes it comparable to retail wine shop pricing.

We dined outdoors because we wanted the beautiful setting. We knew that there might be a few flies but accepted that as part of the trade-off. There were a couple. However the diners at the next table were not happy with the fly problem and asked to be moved inside. As they were moving I heard the waiter say, no problem we're sorry and we will prepare a new entry for you. Now that is classy!

Lavender Bistro has the well deserved reputation as the one of best restaurants in the valley because they are and they earn it every time.

Thank you for another a memorable meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This restaurant was reccomended by a friend and we're glad we took the time to drive to La Quinta to give it a try. We met friends there and enjoyed the Palm Springs restaurant week menu, a 3 course, prix fixe dinner. Everyone enjoyed his choice and our cocktails were well made. We look forward to dining here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Have enjoyed dinner here before. Came in for the Sunday no corkage on the bar menu. After showing the no corkage on the open table website for Lavendar Bristo to our server and manager on the bar menu who both said this did not apply in the bar. The manager was very argumentative with me when i showed him this and said this did not apply.

We then sat at a dining room table and for ten minutes servers walked by, then our server appeared as we were preparing to leave. He said he was working a private party across the restaurant along with tables.
We left. It appears that most of the inseason servers who perform exceptionally have left before the summer closure. May return in the fall if there act is together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had an amazing time and our server Regi was absolutely fantastic. We go back all the time just because of him!

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Lavender Bistro never fails to meet the expectations and then some. Service is good as the wait staff always try to go the extra mile. Food is delicious and has just a little difference to make you appreciate the quality of the ingredients. Normally the ambiance is the best in the area, both inside and out. Unfortunately, the first hour of our dining in the beautiful patio was disturbed by the many flies. Our waitperson did her best to situate a floor fan to blow away the pests however, it took a while for the flies to subside. Not sure if it is fair to hold the restaurant responsible for the flies. Probably this is the reason Lavender's shuts down during the summer.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

What a gem this is. It serves amazing food done very well. Service was top notch. Starting with a cocktail in the bar, which we carried to the table, we went for restaurant week , meaning a complete dinner was $39 per person for three courses. I had the flank steak and my wife had the Nantucket scallops, both of which were outstanding. We spoke with the chef to congratulate him on his excellent preparation and presentation.

One issue was the presence of annoying small flies, since we ate outdoors. Seems that it is not uncommon since the flies come from a nearby lake bed, according to Chris, our server. We would have rather not had the flies, but that's a small thing compared to the meal we had and enjoyed,

A fantastic place for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

everything was excellent beautiful setting love the lavender napkins etc and the music

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Almost everything was excellent. The food was great. The ambiance was very charming. The service was perfect. The only caveat is the "older" red-headed hostess made an unnecessary, derogatory quip about my name. If I go there again, I will most certainly avoid her.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first dining experience at Lavender Bistro. We took advantage of restaurant week to try their special menu.
We ordered the ahi tacos as starters that were delicious. I had the Lamb chops for my main course and my husband had the flat iron steak both made to order.
We ordered the white and red wine pairings to accompany the meal which were a perfect selection.
We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food, but truly awful lemonade and I sent it back once to try to allow them to get it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 3, 2017

we were there for restaurant week the outside patio was VERY crowded and it was very hot out there were a ton of flies getting on our food and glasses. we finally requested to go inside to finish desert.. A friend became ill after eating the wedge salad. Usually this place is wonderful this experience was uncomfortable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went here to celebrate our 15th anniversary and were surprised at the delicious meal selections and the beautiful garden setting. The menu was thoughtfully crafted and our server was fantastic. We did end up going during the first ever Restaurant Week in Palm Springs for this restaurant, so service got delayed near the end of our meal when the restaurant got too overwhelmed by the crowds. However, that was a special week, and clearly this restaurant is of high caliber and makes everyone feel special. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Ambiance on the patio with the trees lit and the live music by singing guitar player was delightful. Food was well prepared and well presented. Hanger steak was a bit tough to work around the connective tissue, Pear with Roquefort was excellent as were the lamb chops. Server was great and it was restaurant week so that was an added bonus.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching, Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The beautiful patio is larger than you think. Very pretty with raised "cabanas" a few steps up from the main floor. That's where we were seated. Down side is the lack of overhead fans. They really need those up there. It's a great vantage point though and I would ask to be seated there again.

Music was not appropriate to the venue, mediocre and a little too loud. All in all though, it was a lovely dinner. Food is beautifully presented and the service was excellent. They seem to be very well staffed. Large patio was packed but no delays in getting our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Overall the food was good. My food was not hot and almost cold when served which was disappointing. We dined on the patio and flies were a problem. I had several bites on my feet. I had mentioned in my reservation that it was my birthday. No effort was made to help me celebrate. My friend actually asked the waiter after he brought to desert to put a candle in the crepe. The singer playing on the patio was wonderful. The overall setting is beautiful. The food presentation was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Had a reservation and when we arrived we were told it was Palm Springs Restaurant Week.
What a plus!!! The trio of cold soups was amazing and the pear salad was beautifully presented
and delicious. Lamb chops were cooked to perfection and scallops were fabulous.
The desert crepes were good. Wish they had 2 desert choices.
It is one of our favorite restaurants and we will definitely go back. The waitress was lovely
and took great care of us.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We found the patio to be beautiful. Food, service and setting were excellent. Server was very attentive and helpful in explaining the menu items. Wine was excellent and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

beautiful outdoor patio with twinkling lights. The dover sole is so delicious, as are the appetizers and dessert. One of my favorites in the desert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Service and food excellent Only problem was we had a table of 4 behind us that was loud and obnoxious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.