Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About Laurel

An intimate French/American restaurant by Chef/Owner Nicholas Elmi.

Laurel only offers a 7 course tasting menu for $96/guest. An optional wine pairing is available at $65/guest. Please note any allergies or dietary restrictions in your reservation allowing us to accommodate.

*Sample Tasting Menu can be viewed on our website
*Menu is subject to change

1617 E Passyunk
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: CLOSED
Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday-Thursday: 5:30PM-10:00PM
Friday-Saturday: 5:30PM-11:00PM

Cross Street:
E. Passyunk & Tasker

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-8299

Website:
http://www.restaurantlaurel.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday-Sunday on East Passyunk Square where the Singing Fountain is located (Passyunk Avenue & Tasker Street).

$12 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Elmi

Additional:
BYO Liquor

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Laurel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Tasting Menu (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had an incredible dining experience. Amazing 7 course tasting menu. Delicious, creative, and well balanced cocktails. Great, smartly currated wine list. Knowledgable staff who were incredibly courteous, outgoing, and friendly. The dining room was intimate and comfortable. Chef Nick Elmi and his crew really created something special here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been waiting forever to come to Laurel. Surprisingly we managed to get a close to last minute reservation and could not have been more excited. Our tastebuds are speechless and have been thinking back to our experience there even three days later. We added the 8th dinner course and the wine tasting to complete the Chef's perfect tasting menu. Thank you so much! We cannot wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Wine pairings are European & terrific! ITV next door: a bit noisy so get a table mid or back. Service friendly and competent. Have a look at tasting menu beforehand and pace yourself. We will recommend it enthusiastically to our friends as they visit Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful. The service was outstanding. The tasting menu was inventive and delicious. There were one or two misses with the dishes for us but those were mostly made up for by how good the other courses were. We did spend the extra money for the additional course (waygu beef), which I thought was worth it. Great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Horrible experience. Steak was tough and overcooked. Meal was overly expensive. Sent multiple dishes back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Laurel deserves its #1 rating. Prefix 7 imaginative and wonderful courses.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fabulous restaurant worth the wait worth the time worth going

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the top five meals of my life. To pair sea urchin with bamboo and baby corn purée with truffle on top of it? Another level of neural network curating these collaborations.

PS Don't expect your grandmothers white chocolate pudding but expect that to be quite the positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Terrific experience. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was easily one of the best meals we have had in Philly in the last decade hands down. For once a restaurant lived up to the hype. Every dish was truly incredible. Well worth the wait for a reservation and glad we persevered. Tremendous menu, food, everything about it. My husband is still talking about it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Laurel is honestly the best restaurant in Philadelphia and arguably one of the best in country. Definitely add on the wagu and truffled gnocchi. What Chef Elmi can do with black truffles is nothing short of life changing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing place. Maybe the best place in Philly. A true experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Consistently one of the better restaurants in town. While I appreciate the service and the efforts to be more high touch, I felt service when we were there was rushed. It can a little busy in that small dining room with all the servers running around. I think it's time for Laurel to move to a larger location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is a very special experience. The food was creative and delicious and the wine pairing was excellent and worth the additional cost to truly enjoy the courses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Unbelievable food. Dishes I would never order on a routine basis. Absolutely delicious. Extremely friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Such a wonderful meal, from start to finish! Thanks so much for everything!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Few places live up to their hype. Laurel exceeds it! wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were very much looking forward to this meal. Unfortunately, except for the first 3 appetizers (gazpacho, cream of mushroom + uni and tuna - all very well prepared and rich in flavor and well created), the rest of the meal was overly salty and unimaginative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. A real treat to eat here! A relaxed, energetic, yet cozy place. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Every bite was memorable in this meal. The service was excellent and having Chef Elmi describe the dishes made the meal such an incredible experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Extraordinary meal and service. Overall great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The bar before hand was AWESOME. Bartender was great. Dinner was fantastic from the cucumber gazpacho to the beef All great. Only complaints are they seem to have tried a little to Hard to find "different" wines. Really wanted a simple Pinot or reasonable champagne and Dessert was a disappointment. We loved the idea of not knowing what we were getting for dinner. Very fun. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Honestly this place was disappointing. I spent way too much for food that was just ok. A few of the dishes were very good, but most we're rather bland, just barely edible or not even able to finish. I was actually upset with how much I spent compared to the quality of the food I ate. I will never go back here and would never recommend it to anyone. If anything I deserve my money back. The music was also inappropriate for a nice dining restaurant, and the seating was so close that the table next to us was essentially dining with us. Super over rated and not worth nearly what I paid for. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Restaurant is small and intimate.
Service was excellent.
The food was not memorable.
We did not think the experience was worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Heard a lot of good things, but read some less than positive reviews as well. I have to side with the latter camp. The food was...good. Not great. 7-course tasting for $85 left my wife and me satisfied at the end of the meal, but underwhelmed. Received complimentary champagne for our wedding anniversary celebration. Nice start. Yellow tomato gazpacho with salmon roe had a nice sweet and savory counterpoint. Albacore tuna sushi dish was nice, nothing amazing. Santa Barbara sea urchin dish had a delicious custard of some sort, but the sea urchin itself was very fishy and is the reason I don't like uni anywhere I've ever eaten it outside of San Diego at Sushi Ota (which has the best sushi on the planet if you're interested!). Frozen foie gras tart was boring. Goji-glazed snapper dish with a pea salad was the highlight of the courses and was excellent. The peas were fresh and varied in texture and flavor. Their earthiness and snap provided a nice balance to the creamy fish and sweet glaze. The sour cherry-glazed steak had a good flavor, but the meat was cooked medium well, which killed any chance it had to be enjoyed. Dessert selection was enjoyable. Wine choices were also nice, if not extensive. Overall, didn't live up to my expectations. The search for excellent food in our fair city continues...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

My favorite meal of my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for a date night or special occasion(we were celebrating an anniversary).

Unfortunately, the meal itself was disappointing. We had high hopes after hearing wonderful things, but most courses ranged from underwhelming in flavor to off-putting.

My partner and I are both very adventurous eaters and not put off by ingredients like sea urchin, salmon roe or fermented asparagus, but in four out of the six savory courses we tasted, we came to the same conclusions- that the combinations of the ingredients were creative but the flavors didn't complement one another. We did enjoy two of the savory courses and most of the small dessert bites, but overall we were disappointed with the meal.

I would have been willing to chalk it up to our pallets - you can't please everyone - but my friend and her boyfriend went the night before we did and said the exact same thing about their experience. For the price point and the reputation, I expected to be wow'd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

best food i've ever eaten, hands down! definitely not cheap but well worth it for our anniversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We wanted to try Laurel for a long time and finally we were able to book a Friday evening reservation. Laurel was FANTASTIC and Nicholas Elmi (who visited our table) and his team at Laurel exceeded our expectations. The 7 course tasting menu was an absolute treat. The presentation of the tastings was unique and defintely a work of art, pleasant to look at and then eye popping delight on the tongue. We chose the gnocchi option to share among the 4 of us and we would have loved to have had a second one. It was absolutely the best gnocchi we had ever tasted. We also did the wine pairings which were very good and complemented the individual tastings. It would be hard to pick a favorite of the evening, beside the gnocchi of course, but the Lobster Crusted New Jersey Scallop, Chanterelle and Spring Onion Loster Butter seemed to get the continued 'eye popping OMG' at the table. Portions are small but that's what a tasting menu provides. We were satisfied with the whole experience and will return. In fact, we made our next reservation as we ended the evening. One additional plus for the evening, with a 5:30 reservation, we scored a free parking spot directly across the street from the restaurant. Sweet!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

So I am sure someone cancelled for me to get a last minute reservation here but I was so happy to snap it up and go. My friend cancelled dinner plans with her husband to join me, with his blessing--that is how good the food is here. The food is so inventive and interesting, but most importantly it is delicious. Every mouthful of it. The gnocchi with fresh shaved truffles was available and I could have had a full serving of that for myself and nothing else and been very happy. The dessert was a combination of items--from homemade gummy bears, to homemade toaster marshmallows and some little pot of something that tasted like heaven. We brought our own wine, no corkage fee, even though they now share the bar with their place next door. It's still very expensive but in my opinion, worth every cent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Amazing food and service. Everything was superb, from the first course to the last. Wine pairings were perfect. Great job by all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Like some of the recent reviews, my party was underwhelmed at Laurel. We were expecting too much perhaps. Townsend and Bibou offer more for your money. While the food was good, not fabulous, the most noteworthy issue was the portions. Even by foodie standards, they were ridiculously small. I understand small portions, but geez.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Best restaurant in philly, no question.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Still a difficult to get reservation after 2 years but worth the wait. The seven course tasting menu is unique and refined. Starting with the amuse bouche until the final dessert course, it did not disappoint. An especially personal & delicious touch was when chef Nicholas Elmi delivered an extra course of a frozen foie gras tarte with hibiscus and elderberry vinaigrette. My only complaint (and it's a small one) is the lack of central air conditioning. Two room air conditioners & a few fans just couldn't keep the room cool on a 95 degree day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Best culinary experience I've ever had. Amazing meal!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent. A culinary adventure. The AC couldn't keep the dining room cold enough.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Absolutely spectacular!! Inventive food, expertly crafted and presented. Service was impeccable. Particularly enjoyed discussing the nuances of the wine pairings with the sommelier. Sea urchin with PA bamboo was a first for my taste buds!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.