About Laurel

1617 E Passyunk
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

An intimate French/American BYO restaurant by Chef/Owner Nicholas Elmi.

Laurel only offers a 7 course tasting menu for $85/guest. An optional wine pairing is available at $60/guest. Please note any allergies or dietary restrictions in your reservation allowing us to accommodate.

*Sample Tasting Menu can be viewed on our website
*Menu is subject to change

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: CLOSED
Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday-Thursday: 5:30PM-10:00PM
Friday-Saturday: 5:30PM-11:00PM

Cross Street:
E. Passyunk & Tasker

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-8299

Website:
http://www.restaurantlaurel.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday-Sunday on East Passyunk Square where the Singing Fountain is located (Passyunk Avenue & Tasker Street).

$12 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Elmi

Additional:
BYO Liquor

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Laurel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I would give this restaurant 10 stars if it were possible. Everything was delicious. I highly recommend it and will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating my birthday and the server wished me a HB. We have been to Laurel several times and always have a stupendous meal with service and ambiance to match.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

A sublime dining experience, which is ceremonial and ritualistic with dedicated servers. The textures and flavors of each course are meticulously executed and served with each sense in mind. Of the eight course meal there was only one course that didn't wow us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Laurel was still good but not as good as the first time we tried it. Our tasting was mackerel, scallops, snails, sea trout and venison . The snails and scallops were a bit bland but the mackerel and venison were very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my boyfriend had our day late Valentine's Day celebration at laurel. Everything from start to finish was amazing! The service was great! And the food was amazing! Not one bad thing to say about this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

High level cuisine delivered by outstanding team, careful attention is given to food preferences as there is no "menu". Every course was a work of art. All aspects of each dish were beyond expectations- color , texture, presentation not to mention taste!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was very good. All that was advertised and more. My criticism lies in the fact that they are fanatics about turning the table over. I had a 6pm reservation and my check arrived with my coat at 8pm sharp. They couldn't get us out of there fast enough. Vetri it is not (although half the price). I overheard a waiter mention how they only have two seatings. If I had known that I would have taken the 530PM reservation to avoid the bums rush out the door. Hard to do 7 courses in 1:50!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was a great night. The 7 course, which we made to be 8, tasting menu was a hit. We enjoyed our time and food. The ambiance and service were wonderful. We were celebrating a special milestone, and they helped us with just that.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything Chef Nic prepared was out of this world. The presentation was beautiful. You are in for a 7 course gastronomical feast. Portions are small. Prices are not. So this is a Foodie venue, not the place you take your picky eater friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dishes were unique and exceptional. It was nice to experience such upscale dining in a casual atmosphere. Definitely a special occasion place. My only criticism was the drink pairing; for the price the quality was average and the pours were small. Go with the BYOB option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I enjoyed the entire experience. I also appreciated that they modified the 2 gluten containing courses to be gluten free.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Celebrated my husband's birthday recently at Laurel...a very interesting experience. The service was impeccable, without being intrusive. The 7 course tasting menu was heavy on seafood, which surprised me. The mackerel sushi course was not my favorite (and I do like fish) but this was a little hard to swallow. Each dish was beautifully plated, a work of art. We splurged on the additional course - gnocchi (and it is a splurge at $55) - but they were heavenly.

I would only recommend Laurel to foodies who truly eat everything. Other than that, the other courses were good, very different. Not sure I would return, but did enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It was our first visit to Laurel. The food was delicious and unique. We shared a bottle of wine and that was quite nice as well.

However, the restaurant is very small and we were seated near the door which caused a tremendous chill through the entire meal.

I felt the food was delicious and unique and our server Nick was awesome. I felt the other servers were just mediocre and showed very little enthusiasm.

Im glad we went but don't think we'll go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Superb meal. Fantastic service. Really enjoyed the level of food in the more relaxed setting.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Loved each of our 8 dishes-- portions were small which provided a perfect portion and ensured each 'taste' was wholly satisfying ( not a glut). Graciously accommodated couple who didn't want meat w a wonderful fish dish, and couple who nixed venison for delicious duck. Hard to get a reservation-- but persevere!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Every bite of food was delicious. Presentation and quality of food precise and imaginative. Intimate size of restaurant did not deter from ability to converse and enjoy the dining experience. This restaurant deserves its high rating. The meal was among the very best we have encountered as frequent diners in Philadelphia over the past several years. the dining experience was well worth the wait for this reservation. The chef deserves to be recognized with the same stature as others in the top restaurants in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A difficult reservation to get so it was our first time at Laurel, and well worth the wait--outstanding food, tasting menu selections were interesting/unique/sophisticated, but not over the top--has quite a reputation so I assumed it would have a bit of a stuffy/pompous air, but that was not the case at all--staff were polished/professional but low key, and the atmosphere overall was very comfortable and understated. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The evening could not have been more perfect. Each course was better than the one before. The service was flawless, the room was beautiful, and we left feeling content and happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Compared to some of the other top restaurants in the city, the menu was disappointing and portions are very small even for a female. On a positive, the service was exceptional. Overall, I expected more.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

A talented crew with a deep passion for their craft took this meal to a whole new level.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This was a terrible meal.The baby food sized portions and the underwhelmingly inconsequential food that was paired terribly with mediocre wine choices failed to impress.The service was less than adequate as well and the gnocchi with truffles was a total ripoff at $55.This was garbage.It actually came to $3 per gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Extremely original menu. Started with milder dishes and finished with robust flavor combinations. Unique inspired menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

How fortunate to have Laurel in our city😍 My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed every single morsel of the meal...presented beautifully, thoughtfully, artistically & delectable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had heard a lot about Laurel from critics and friends. Chose it for a special birthday celebration and am pleased to report that it exceeds its well deserved praise. The tasting menu was extraordinary. The wine was superb. The service was excellent- friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Add in the overall welcoming atmosphere in a wonderful room and it amounts to a five star experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very enjoyable meal - an event rather than just eating. The scallops were terrific! Would probably choose a bottle of wine from the interesting wine list rather than the wine pairing next time - liked some, others not so memorable. With the wine pairing and the additional optional dishes, it is quite expensive, so we will probably only go here for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

At first glance, the dining room is clean and on the smaller side, cozy some might say, (i love these types of rooms, i'm not there to be awed by your walls or your expensive paintings, im there to do damage). The service from jump was so warm and helpful, my dining partner and i had some old beautiful wine with us, our host made sure to take her time and to open it properly and helped us ease in to the madness to come. As the wine began to breathe and we settled in to look over the drink menu, we sat back in our extremely comfortable dining chairs (Biig time plus!) and readied ourselves for what was to come...

This is a pre fix menu and you are totally putting yourself in the chef's hands, and honestly i think it's the best way to dine, IF, the chef knows how to pace the meal and IF the chef knows how to not kill you with going overboard. This Chef is a total pros pro, you can see he is someone who truly cares about the customer experience and in every possible way. An amuse arrived first, and then the 8 dishes began to hit the table paced out beautifully, never feeling rushed, never having to wait too long for the next. There were many hit songs played, we had never heard them on the radio anywhere before! The cocoa cured foie, the scallop, the venison (possibly the greatest dish of my life) , gnocchi so small and beautiful with a generous snow shower of fresh black truffles shaved by the Chef himself, (gasp), the wagyu, honestly there were more and i should name them all but i won't. And they will undoubtedly change and wouldn't you want them to, this man and his team, they are artists, their medium is food.

I haven't seen or eaten food this exciting ever. Never in Philly, that's for sure. I'd been wanting to get in here and was not disapointed. Can't wait to go back, tremendous pacing of food, tremendous service i would give this place 6 out of 6 if it was possible, truly outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience. The chef, Nick Elmi is quite remarkable. It takes an extraordinary level of ability to create such unique and memorable courses. We regularly eat at some of the best restaurants in the world (at least according to Michelin) and Chef Elmi’s creations can hold their own and exceed those of other chef’s. I’m not kidding. Chef Elmi knows what he’s doing!

That being said, the dining room is a somewhat cramped. A different location with a bit more room would be nice. Additionally we were brought our coats (without asking) prior to receiving our check. My wife’s coat was placed on the back of her chair. Honestly, in all the years we have been dining out, this type of behavior never occurred. My wife and I were a bit taken back. At least I had a chance to get a refill on my coffee. This type of “feed em and street em” mentality kind of made us feel like we were being rushed out the door. An inexperienced wait staff can alienate customers this way. We weren’t exactly happy about it. Would you be?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The chef had only raised his game to another level, creating a Le Bec Fin level food experience in a more relaxed, but still refined, atmosphere. Huge kudos to the chef for his continued commitment to the City!. His restaurant is a gem of the dining scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I always considered myself a foodie, but after totally disliking the #1/#2 restaurant in Philly, I'm either not what I thought I was or this was the only off night in Laurel's history! What a disappointment. We were so excited to finally get a reservation; after all it has been ranked #1 or #2 in Philly Mag for a few years now, so we had to try it! 1st course, a freeze dried beet, it was almost inedible. 2nd course foie gras with granola and elderberry. It was better than the beet but not even close to "good". Next came a foam potato, it wasn't bad at all, I was so hungry at this point I almost asked for seconds. A few courses later, and one disappointment after the next, we finally got something that was good, venison. It was the size of my thumbnail (yes, I know that is how it's supposed to be), and the berry that was with it was so bitter it almost ruined the best course we got the whole night. And then came the dessert - dry chocolate cake (a cube, the size of a pencil eraser), whole grain rice crispy treat (the size of a pencil eraser), a marshmallow (yes, a marshmallow). There was a really good creme brulee pudding that was the best part about the meal. We were bummed...broke and bummed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Laurel was amazing the tasting menu was creative and well thought out. I loved the foie gras ice and the paw paw marshmallows! The escargot was incredible! My one friend never had it before and was skeptical about eating snails but this dish showed him just how good they can be! Thanks again for an amazing night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever had. Sommelier had fantastic recommendations. Each dish was unique, well prepared and incredibly flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Very diappointed with the lack of creativity that the restaurant showed when I had requested an all vegetarian 7 course menu, and specifically said on the phone that I was allergic to mushrooms. 3 out of the 7 dishes had some kind of mushroom in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Over rated. Have had lots better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

A lovely evening- excellent staff , delicious well presented food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Overpriced for portions and variety. Not sure how they will remain open as I don't see paying $230 for two people without wine but once a year, if that. Portions small and special pasta for $60 overpriced. Nice place but way too expensive for portion sizes that leave you hungry.

Tags: Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Phenomenal food! An experience to be had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The most creative and inspired meal that I've ever had in my life. The highest recommendation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Just fantastic. Service, food, ambiance - everything really - top notch and enjoyable through the meal. The value for the tasting menu is there is you are into this style of fare. The BYOB optional aspect is extremely nice. I'll definitely be returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the pre fix menu that while heavy on seafood included some amazing dishes. Laurel is a foodies delight. The dishes are truly unique. We will definitely return if we are fortunate to get another reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The ambiance was quiet and comfortable, and the wait-staff was courteous and extremely knowledgeable. Had those both been terrible, I would; however, STILL highly recommend Laurel as the food was absolutely incredible. Every dish was perfectly prepared, beautifully plated, and ripe with complimenting flavors and contrasting textures. Laurel is a foodie's dream.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were very impressed with the creativity and attention to detail. Beautifully, artful craft. Allowing BYO in a full service place is additionally thoughtful and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We had a great evening celebrating our anniversary. The fois gras was out of this world. Such a creative preparation. Service was extremely friendly and professional. Thank you for the special evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Although there was confusion about our reservation ( it was inadvertently cancelled by the restaurant) the staff accommodated us in the adjoining space and was very apologetic. They were gracious enough to pepper our meal with extras to make up for the confusion and even the owner came out to apologize. Every course was a treat for the palate. One of the finest meals we've had in Philadelphia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great imaginative menu with excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had wanted to visit Laurel for a long time and it didn't disappoint. A tasting menu allowed us to experience food we may not normally order on our own. Each course was amazing and explained in great detail. My personal favorites were the foie gras, snails, and swordfish. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Definitely a must eat experience. Everything was perfect from the very start to the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always a fabulous meal and the service is professional and everyone is so nice and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Everything about Laurel was well done. I consider it the best in Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Delicious, creative food and a wonderful ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.