Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About Laurel

An intimate French/American BYO restaurant by Chef/Owner Nicholas Elmi.

Laurel only offers a 7 course tasting menu for $85/guest. An optional wine pairing is available at $60/guest. Please note any allergies or dietary restrictions in your reservation allowing us to accommodate.

*Sample Tasting Menu can be viewed on our website
*Menu is subject to change

1617 E Passyunk
Philadelphia, PA 19148
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: CLOSED
Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday-Thursday: 5:30PM-10:00PM
Friday-Saturday: 5:30PM-11:00PM

Cross Street:
E. Passyunk & Tasker

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-8299

Website:
http://www.restaurantlaurel.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available Tuesday-Sunday on East Passyunk Square where the Singing Fountain is located (Passyunk Avenue & Tasker Street).

$12 with validation.

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Elmi

Additional:
BYO Liquor

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Laurel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (46)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Romantic (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Local Ingredients (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Seasonal (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Fun (5)
Organic (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful dining experience! The food was unusual(for us) , well-executed and just plain delicious!
We hadn't tried many thungs on the menu and it was a pleasure !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Eh. Located inside a former South Philly row home, the tables are REALLY close together. No surprise as to what the next course entailed because the staff just told you all about it when the table next to you got their's served. Food was OK. Some dishes feel like they tried too hard. The Duck Compote and the Venison were our favorites. BYOB which was nice, but you can choose a wine pairing if you wish. Glad I went, wouldn't go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We arrived early and had a drink at the bar. When our table was ready the hostess came and let us know. The dining space is lovely. The room was not full because we had an early reservation, but as it filled sound was under control. We got the wine pairings. Excellent. Seats were comfortable. Amuse buche was fantastic. Each course was beautiful and spectacular. I like that they keep it a surprise, but the table seated next to us insisted on knowing what was coming so we lost a little of that.
Service and pacing were great. A ridiculously expensive dining experience which I hope to enjoy again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was fantastic. The chef combined interesting varied unusual ingredients into heavenly dishes.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was a fantastic find! I live in Manhattan and dined here while in Philadelphia on business. Delicious, inventive courses. It is clear why Nicholas is a "top chef."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Laurel is a very special place and worth visits for special occasions. The food stays true to French roots but with a clever modern twist. The ambiance and service is spectacular. A true pleasure of an experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This is a 7 course tasting menu with relatively generous portions. Compared to others, the price represents value. At this high level of cooking expectations are tempered by the uneven execution of each dish. The striped bass cold dish did not taste like fish. Overall, each dish had a lot of ingredients that did not seem to enhance the main ingredient (muddled flavors). The dessert had 6 little separate items and was an unfocused mess. Lots of room for improvement.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I stumbled upon a reservation on Open Table one week out from a Saturday night and was happy to snag it. Service and food were both very good- all dishes on the tasting menu were above average. The sauces and leafy greens were particularly tasty . Highly recommend adding the Wagyu dish if you have the option. Excellent cocktails!

My only complaint was that the dining room was a bit cold- definitely bring a sweater.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our 7 course tasting was outstanding. Each dish was creatively prepared and presented. One of the best tastings we have had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I'm not sure out meal could have been any better at Laurel. So thankful they are still BYO. Were very accommodating of my boyfriend's Celiac disease. Come hungry so you can eat all 7 courses!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The hype was well deserved. We had an amazing meal with top notch service. Although expensive it was worth it. The perfect location for a special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was really good, the atmosphere was nice. It was not as formal or stuffy as other smaller restaurants that serve tasting menus. I felt that it was well worth the money and is a good choice for that special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This truly is a dining experience for all types of foodies. I took my girlfriend there for a special occasion and we absolutely loved this place very much. It truly is one of the best restaurants in Philadelphia. The creative masterpieces that Chef Elmi and Co. crank out of their gastro-kitchen lair is anything short of incredible. I suggest to anyone that loves a dining experience to save your pennies and take a special someone there. Cheers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It is the best restaurant in Philadelphia. Wine pairing was really solid.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

An absolute gen in the city! This is a must for foodies and an absolute flavor explosion. Arrive early and have a cocktail at their bar next door....they'll come over and notify you when your table is ready. Highly recommended and our new favorite!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is simply the best of Philly. Food, ambience, staff are all stellar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Small plates, Big Cost, Not memorable enough to recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great time with our foodie friends from D.C. Who loved the place ,the staff and the Chef. Come early and park on the street near the restaurant can't wait to go back

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

So overrated. I know about high end dining and portion size but this place was ridiculous. So small. Trying to be something they can't handle. Just don't know how to do it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My expectation was really high coming to eat here as it's rated as the best restaurant in Philadelphia. While it was a good experience, I was not blown away as I thought I would be. The presentation on the food was wonderful and they have great service. It's an intimate experience as the restaurant is small but to me, the food was somewhat forgettable. We had a hard time picking a dish that really stood out. I would go back to try it again but I think there are other places that I would like to visit first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best meal I've ever had. Food and service were impeccable. Do yourself a favor and choose Laurel to celebrate your next special occasion, anniversary, or birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Was looking forward to reservation for a long time and maybe that was the problem. The food was good, but I wasn't wowed. Everything was enjoyable, but there wasn't anything I would want to have again if it were an a la carte menu. Also we showed up 20mins early and the dinning room was empty, except for one 4-top. We were told we could get a drink at the bar next door while our table was being set, but they all looked set to me. Anyway when we said, no thank you, we'll go down the street to "another location" and come back at the time of our reservation, we were immediately seated. I know it is byo and their sister bar is next door, but you don't really need to drum up more business by pushing folks next door with the hopes that you spend more. I have no doubt that after we bought a drink at the bar we would have been seated..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was great atmosphere was great service was great had a wonderful time

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Laurel was a huge disappointment to my husband and me. It is really overrated in our opinion. The service is excellent & the ambience is nice; however, it can't make up for the "below average" tasting food disguised as French gourmet cuisine. By the way, this was our second time eating at this establishment. The first time, after an unmemorable meal, we decided it must be us - after all, the reviews were fabulous, right? So, doubting ourselves, we decided to give it another chance. Our mistake, and an expensive one at that. For $400.00, including tip, you would expect to love something, right? Not here! Except for the wine, which was quite good. Not really sure why this place is rated so highly, but we won't be putting it to the taste test again. Save your money! Try another French restaurant, you might actually get a taste of France there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Every single bite of our dinner was delicious - from the amuse bouche to the special chocolate-honey ganache (covered in edible gold foil!) that they brought out for my birthday. We added on the ricotta gnocchi with shaved black truffles, and I think I could eat that every day for the rest of my life and never grow tired of it. Just an absolutely wonderful meal from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Laurel was an amazing experience. I took my girlfriend there for her birthday and we were wowed by every course. The service was perfect and the atmosphere was quiet. Perfect place for a special occassion or intimate night. The chef and owner Nick Elmi, rightful winner of Top Chef New Orleans, was there. We got to talk to him and he showed us the kitchen. What a great experience. We plan on coming back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food, great ambiance. For such a high-end place, though, the service could be more thoughtful. The waitstaff were taking plates away prematurely, interrupting during toasts, announcing everyone's allergies to everyone (even though I called and let them know the restrictions in advance - why let everyone at the table know upfront?!), and generally rushing the occasion. I had to pull the server aside and let him know that I was concerned about their service, that it was my GF's birthday and I felt like we were being rushed needlessly. He was considerate about it, but I would expect more tact upfront out of a high-end place with a price tag like that...

Don't get me wrong, though, Laurel's cuisine and ambiance are top-notch. I'd still recommend it to anyone looking for a high-end yet intimate experience for that special occasion. I would only suggest that they train their waitstaff in matters of tact.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food was phenomenal; every bite was packed with unexpected but perfectly complementary flavors. Each course was so different and mouth watering, I found myself eating slower just to savor every bit of it. Food will never be the same after this meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Food was pleasing to the stomach and the eye. Kudos to chef Elmi & team for this wonderful tasting experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great ingredients, good cooking and very good presentation
Knowledgeable and courteous staff

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My wife and I have been eating in Philly restaurants for over 40 years. Our tasting menu meal at Laurel this week was one of the best either of us could recollect. Every one of the seven courses was delicious. Our dinner was a special birthday for my wife. Our meal made it extra-special.

We've been saving a 14 year old Adelsheim Reserve PN for a special occasion. Even though Laurel now has a liquor license, the host opened our bottle without a corkage fee. So we were able to enjoy a wonderful BYOB with our meal.

I made our reservation in January. I guess I should start thinking about a reservation for July.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service were good. Portions were small as others have stated in their reviews. The dining room is tiny and you don't want to sit by the door for sure. Reservation process for some reason required two follow up phone calls by the restaurant to doubly confirm we were going to show up. When you choose to book online, this felt overly complicated and unnecessarily time consuming. Townsend, right next door, was a much better overall dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Engagement

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Laurel offered a unique and exceptional semi set menu food experience in S Phila. Service was exceptional and friendly. Love that we set the pace. The phone call to me in advance to confirm food likes and dislikes was most useful and appreciated. BYO and a full list offering and a pairing option- wow- it just does not get any better. Oh- and bring a credit card with lots of room. Have ramen noodles the next night to average down- but go and enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The tasting menu was great. We really enjoyed tge ambience. The staff was wonderful and we loved the wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent dinner, fixed menu forces you to try things you otherwise would not and all the dishes were quite good. Service was very good and since it is a really small place it has an intimate feel to it. They have a full bar but it is also BYOB so you can't lose.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Food quality, service, ambiance were all expectedly great (save for 2 occasions of hair in food). You obviously know you're getting high quality food at Laurel. The main knock is value - of course fine dining comes at its cost, but I've certainly had comparable to better food in a tasting menu setting at a cheaper price. The quality of the food seemed high, but on our particular night, I did not love most of the dishes. I expected more flavors, and/or to feel more satisfied after 7 courses, but it simply did not live up to my expectations, which is not to say anything was remotely bad or average. I can't knock Laurel too much for my only visit, as the tasting menu regularly changes.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went to Laurel on Saturday to celebrate my birthday and I'm so glad I made that choice. Hearing nothing but amazing things, I had to check it out for myself. This was hands down one of the best meals I have ever had. Each course was executed perfectly and the timing was impeccable. We opted to add on both additions that evening and was so glad that we did. The gnocchi with the truffles shaved table side was outstanding and the Wagyu melted in your mouth. I can not wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful food and service; great music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.