About Larks Medford

200 N. Riverside Avenue
Medford, OR 97501
View Larger Map

Larks Restaurant, originally opened in May 2005 at the historic Ashland Springs Hotel. Larks Medford is our second location that opened inside Inn at the Commons in December 2013.
Larks celebrates Oregon: its farms, orchards, creameries and wineries offering dishes that excite and surprise with freshness and flavors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Su-Thu 5:00pm-8:00pm
Dinner: Fri-Sat 5:00pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
East 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(541) 774-4760

Website:
http://www.larksrestaurant.com/

Catering:
If you enjoy food at Larks why not ask us to cater your next event? We offer full service catering and drop off for breakfast, lunch, dinner and hors d’oeuvres

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking on site.

Executive Chef:
Damon Jones

Private Party Facilities:
Over 9000 square feet of flexible banquet spaces at Inn at the Commons can accommodate catered events for up to 800 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Gina: (541) 631-2006

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Larks Medford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (0)
Scenic View (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went to Larks in Medfor ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I went to Larks in Medford for Valentine's Day. We were lucky enough to get a reservation on a busy night. Not a large menu. We got two entrees and dessert and two cocktails. I got the Cioppino. It was delicious, but a little skimpy on the amount of seafood that was in it. The grilled rosemary bread to dip in the broth with this dish was incredible. My husband got the special peppercorn crusted Filet Mignon. He liked his meal, however his steak was more well done than Medium. The warm carrot cake with cheese cake ice cream and caramel drizzle was to die for! Overall it was a good meal. The ambiance is good but I just wish they would block the windows so you don't have to look out to the motel outside. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu had very limited choices. The Sout ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Menu had very limited choices. The Southern Fried Chicken dinner was good but the duck was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This meal did not disappoint! The pork c ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This meal did not disappoint! The pork chilaquiles are a fantastic dish - they really get all your taste-buds involved! Service is great, especially for Medford. The staff is pleasant, outgoing and friendly and best of all attentive! Tyson did a great job as our waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated both my daughter's and my ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We celebrated both my daughter's and my birthdays with Sunday brunch. It was really nice, the food was excellent, we each had different entrees, all were really great. The coffee was perfect, the portions were exactly the right size, no left-overs, nothing except exactly what we ordered, including attention to requests for no dairy for me, for instance. Best of all was the excellent service by the staff. And the complimentary desserts for the birthday girls were a wonderful treat. We will be coming back, and already I have recommended you to friends. Thanks for the delightful meal!

Tags: Spicy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have yet to have a bad experience at L ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have yet to have a bad experience at Lark's. Food is delicious and presented beautifully.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Larks is one of the few local excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Larks is one of the few local excellent dining spots with a relaxed, quiet setting so you can indulge in real conversation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food locally grown.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great food locally grown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I like Lark’s Medford for special occasi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I like Lark’s Medford for special occasion celebrations. I like the ambience and the decor which is simple but very fashionable. The wait staff is always friendly (sometimes stretched) but the service is good.

The menu is also varied enough and the meals are delicious. It is very nice of Lark’s to give a special dessert to the celebrant. We always have a good time there. I prefer going there to the one in Ashland.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had to send the NY steak back - it was t ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Had to send the NY steak back - it was too tough to eat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent, the service exce ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was excellent, the service excellent, the ambiance was wonderful as we sat by the fireplace in the bar. I love Lark's, both of them!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! One of the best me ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazing! One of the best meals I've had in a long time. The service was phenomenal and everyone was knowledgeable and on top of everything. Recommend the pork belly appetizer and the warm spinach salad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner and service was excellent. We had ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Dinner and service was excellent. We had a very enjoyable evening,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was a perfect balance of frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our waiter was a perfect balance of friendly, formal and efficient. His support team the same.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Wonderful decor and ambiance. Great cust ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful decor and ambiance. Great customer service and good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place. We've been here for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love this place. We've been here for lunch and dinner. The service was a bit slow tonight. Horseradish mashed potatoes had too much horseradish for our taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food with wonderful presentati ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food with wonderful presentation. Attentive service

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A fantastic meal. We had the Duck, sorry ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A fantastic meal. We had the Duck, sorry Puddles, and NY Strip. Everything was prepared to perfection. Thank you for a great dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food at a fair price, wait st ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food at a fair price, wait staff are superb.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Using the Open Table reservation twice n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Using the Open Table reservation twice now I walked in assured of a table. Staff very friendly, food and service more than outstanding.

Will be back !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was staggered, with several ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was staggered, with several persons ultimately working our table. I don't like it that one person takes your order, then when the food is delivered you are asked who has this, who has that; especially at this price point.

The decor was clean and modern, except for the the brass and plastic light fixtures hanging from the ceiling. We were told the owners specifically kept these from the original building during renovation. I'd rethink that idea now that the renovation is complete. They just don't look right.

The food was good, we ate everything on the plate. Meatloaf for me and fried chicken for my partner. A bit pricey, though, with a bill coming in right at $50 for those two items, no appetizers or drinks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I had the chicken fried steak which wasn ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I had the chicken fried steak which wasn't what I was expecting. Usually this is a cubed meat that is coated. In this case it was a regular steak that had been cooked (I think) then battered and fried. It was just ok, wouldn't order it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service was excellent and m ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food and service was excellent and my date and I enjoyed ourselves. Thank you and keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We always enjoy eating here and are neve ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We always enjoy eating here and are never disappointed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was just what our threesome wanted fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was just what our threesome wanted for the first time of being out together, still getting to know each other and my friends were more toward the "foodies" type. They recommended the special when I told them I like seafood, so ordered the Chipino (sp?). It was better than ever tasted in previous memories. It rated an outstanding and Fit for Foodies. They seemed to be pleased with their choices and also with wines ordered. Ambience, service, noise level, and all,

just right for the evening. It seemed a little long in waiting for the food for me, but never mentioned from anyone and didn't want to fill up on something other than the meal and sips of wine. I was hungry, but then, I ate and enjoyed every spoon or forkful of the food and needed no "doggy box or bag"!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lark restaurant had some of the best foo ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Lark restaurant had some of the best food I've ever eaten, and I've eaten in Paris, London, Provence, etc. We both had the petrale sole, with a wonderful sauce, and a polenta base. The wine list was exceptional with Oregon wines by the glass and by the bottle. If I lived in Medford, I would eat there every week.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner was quite pleasant on a quiet Fri ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was quite pleasant on a quiet Friday evening. The service was good and the kitchen was very accommodating to switch out my polenta for collard greens to satisfy this paleo person. The steelhead salmon was nicely prepared, and the slightly spicy slaw was tasty. My husband's tuna came in two odd shaped (pyramidal) chunks, seared on the outside and very rare in the centers. There was a lot on our plates so we skipped dessert and went for a lovely walk on the commons instead.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My waiter who was the bartender was amaz ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2016

My waiter who was the bartender was amazing ! Made amazing food even more amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wild mushroom soup was excellent! Se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The wild mushroom soup was excellent! Service was also very good, my water glass was never empty. I have only been there for business lunches, will come for dinner soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner at Larks. We w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Larks. We were seated promptly and water brought to the table right away. We told our server we needed a few minutes to decide on wine and what we wanted to eat. He told us the specials and left us to decide. At some point some table bread was brought. A bonus that the butter was soft and easily spreadable on the warm bread. A mark of a great restaurant, IMO. Food and wine went well together. It was our 37th anniversary and dessert was on the house, so that was a very nice gesture. We will go back again, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lark's is in a challenging situation. t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lark's is in a challenging situation. there is zero view, nothing to look at, but nothing you can do about it. so you'd think you would make up for it in value or quality. you failed on both accounts. i paid $28 for some frozen fish, on a bed of non-impressive spinach and who-knows-what. the waiter was good, informative, and professional.

but food quality and value were non-existent. why should i have to pay almost $30 a plate for un-inspiring food. i'll not return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We usually LOVE Larks. In fact, we sat d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We usually LOVE Larks. In fact, we sat down discussing how we've never had a bad experience. Bummer timing. My husband's food was under-seasoned and lackluster. Mine was soaking in truffle oil and unpalatable. The dipping sauce for the calamari was all jalapeño and no nuance. Not sure if it was a new chef, but the food lacked balance and left us both disappointed. We paid for 5 star food and regretted every penny that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food, pretty good service- but the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food, pretty good service- but the view of I5 and the motel 6 next left something to be desired-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was slow considering that there ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service was slow considering that there were a number of staff just standing around doing nothing. Portions were large. I liked the food better than my husband did.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Larks is my go to place for dinner and w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Larks is my go to place for dinner and will probably become so for lunch!

I've never been disappointed with my food or service.

My lunch guest had not been to Larks before and she was equally as pleased.

Thank you for your consistency.

Ruth

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was quite good. Loved the charcuter ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was quite good. Loved the charcuterie board. Ginger, our waitress was the best ! Very attentive and had great travel suggestions for surrounding area since we were on vacation. Wonderful personality. Would definitely recommend this place and to request Ginger as a waitress. Very nice meal and evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter seemed inexperienced but was nice ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Waiter seemed inexperienced but was nice and did a fair job. Some of the patrons were ill mannered, taking phone calls at table and returning cajun shrimp because it was too spicy! Food in general was a little under spiced for our taste.

We would go to their location in Ashland most likely next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We travel from the Sacramento area to Po ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We travel from the Sacramento area to Portland, Oregon to visit our daughter. We have made Larks our half way stop. We love the 50's-70's vibe. The food and service have always been top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our repeated visits speaks of the qualit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our repeated visits speaks of the quality and value received.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, and se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, and service with a smile and pleasant disposition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon salad was so creative and bea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The salmon salad was so creative and beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.