Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Lark Creek Walnut Creek

Lark Creek Walnut Creek is located in historic downtown Walnut Creek. The atmosphere is light and airy, with American country charm, sidewalk seating, an exhibition kitchen, and the new Oakville Room seating up to 36 guests for private functions. The changing menu includes seasonal Contemporary American fare featuring traditional and updated recipes. Housemade desserts; local and regional wines.



Lark Creek Walnut Creek features American wines, including offerings on tap, by the glass and in half-bottles, with local and regional producers featured. Full bar; fresh fruit and fountain beverages.

JOIN US FOR HALF OFF WINE APRIL, JULY AND OCTOBER!! ALL BOTTLES ARE HALF OFF SUNDAY THROUGH THURSDAY (not valid fri & sat)

1360 Locust Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Cross Street:
Mount Diablo Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 256-1234

Website:
http://www.larkcreek.com/walnut_creek/index.html

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in the convenient public parking structure above the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ron Rhiver

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have our Private Dining Room, The Oakville Room, that can accommodate up to 36 people seated and 50 people for reception. We also offer semi-private parties, accommodating up to 25 guests in the main dining portion of the restaurant.

Lark Creek Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (45)
Comfort Food (39)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Casual (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Healthy (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Seasonal (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Fun (15)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (14)
Happy Hour (13)
People Watching (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Not up to usual. Cobb salad heavy on bacon pieces. Chicken strips over cooked & dry. Lots of greens

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Very long wait to get our order taken and for our food to arrive. The waiter didn't check in during the wait. Also the food didn't come all at once. My 6 year old nephew had to wait another 10 minutes to get his food and he was starving. The restaurant didn't even seem busy. There were many tables open.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Server was very good,but food was poor. My paella must have sat around for at least 1/2 hour before being served. All shellfish was dried out. ( Have had it in the past and was very good!) The pot roast had nearly raw vegetables and cool. The pork tenderloin was blackened. Our apple salad had very little if any dressing. All in all a very disappointing evening---will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Went on a nice warm day and sat outside. Great outdoor seating. Flatbread with onion, garlic and manchego was absolutely to die for! All of our lunches were excellent and drinks were yummy too! Nice spot for gathering with friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The restaurant has a nice ambiance and decent food. I recommend for lunch during the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Friendly service and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent food,good ambiance, pleasant service staff

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I asked for a quiet table for a hearing impaired guest, and were seated in a perfect spot. Our server brought the two moms at the table a complementary glass of champagne. I recommend the crabcake!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Disappointed upon my return to this restaurant with my wife.They brought day old bread to the table. Requested to split the Apple/Romaine salad and the food runner brought the salad and then said he would be back with two plates as if to say if you want the salad split, split it yourself. You're paying for service, not do it yourself service when you go to a restaurant. The salad should have been split in the back BEFORE it was brought to the table . Walnuts were burned. Halibut was nicely cooked and an appropriate 4oz serving but $28 for a 4oz piece of fish is ridiculous. I can get fresh halibut at Costco for $18/lb and that's retail. I'm sure there is a great margin on that dish. Pot roast was almost mush because it was overcooked, the sauce was indistinguishable and the root vegetables were virtually raw. Pound cake was very good but the crumb was more like a coffee cake than a pound cake. Probably should call it something else because the texture wasn't that of a pound cake. Have been here several times before and have never been disappointed like this before.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were seated at 1:50 pm. Our drinks and appetizer order was taken within 10 minutes. However, we waited nearly 40 minutes before it arrived. For some reason, the waiter did not input or fill our order. We had to flag him down. Our entrees took even longer, 45 minutes after appetizers cleared. There were many, many servers in place. Since we had a late seating, many tables had cleared. While the food tasted good, the service was seriously lacking and ruined the experience.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service with a Smile!
Very nice ambiance with nicely presented tasty food. The highlight of our dining experience was our lovely waitress. She was efficient and professional while being extremely pleasant. She was a pleasure to be served by her!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day dinner evening before Mother's day, we had a really nice enjoyable dinner, food was excellent, as was our waiter. It was crowded but not too crowded

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I really enjoy going to the Lark Creek but lately I have been disappointed in my favorite dish which is the meatloaf. For years I have ordered it but the last few times it seems that they have changed the recipe and it is too bready, not meaty enough and lacks taste. Also, the brussel sprouts served with it had an unpleasant taste. I love the bread, salad and the little extras like the appetizer and the dessert caramels as well as the staff and the atmosphere. But they need to make sure they are not cutting corners on their main dishes and that they are serving "quality" as there is lots of competition in Walnut Creek.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Outstanding as usual! Both of us had a terrific bloody mary and a beer and the pastrami sandwich and potato salad. Excellent pastrami. Well done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our waiter was very friendly, fun, and courteous. I was very pleased with the Filet Mignon! Seemed a bit noisy inside but we sat outside as it was a warm evening. Great meal all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Been here a few times in the last few weeks. Everything has been consistently good especially the butterscotch pudding. It is the hands down best dessert ever. Somehow they put real vanilla bean in it. Unbelievable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was a bit disappointing. Kind of blah.
Service was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always love Lark Creek. Everything about this place is fabulous.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I ordered the onion straws that I have had many times before and they were mediocre at best. I think they were fried in dirty oil. My white wine was warm and my entree was disappointing. Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Another spectacular business lunch meeting at Lark Creek.
Staff were very attentive, food excellent and nice ambiance.
Looking forward to future visits.
Grilled Salmon was excellent and the butterscotch pudding for dessert is amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First timers
Great drinks and appetizers
Excellent ambiance. Great service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Understaffed and too noisy. Waiter was trying, but for a Saturday nite was too understaffed. Totally overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Love this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food and service. Great salads and starters. The salmon was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It is a very nice place to have dinner before going to the theater.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lark Creek is still one of our Go To spots. When we need a business lunch, they are professional, on time, and serve us really well. We can have an excellent tasty meal and still talk to one another within a reasonable time frame. Will continue my business relationship here for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Love it! Thank you for the Birthday dessert! I'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good choice of tables and seating. Our server, Maya, was outstanding. So friendly and
efficient. I will return here again. Although I arrived before 11:30am opening, the door
was open, so I wanted to ask the person at the host desk a question about outdoor
seating. She was talking to a patron for some time, so I went over to get her attention.
That was awkward, but it was a few minutes before opening.

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. Best warm bread and yummy butterscotch pudding

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Met at this restaurant with my parents and there was something for everyone. Service was awesome. Enjoyed seeing some of the other dishes coming out of the open kitchen.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Long-time favorite "go to" for lots of varied occasions. Accommodated my vegan niece with a dish that wasn't on the menu!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent once again, as always! The consistency is really appreciated!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very good food and atmospherr

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Good with kids. Appetizers were very good. Fried Chicken very dry and not too flavorful. Nice drinks. Service ok--nothing out of the ordinary. Went here last year and a phenomenal experience--this year was just okay.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always have a great, solid meal at Lark Creek. Looking forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family of four attended Easter Sunday brunch at Lark Creek this year. Usually, we go to Lafayette Park Hotel restaurant or Scott's, both of which offer a huge buffet at a huge price. This was so much better: we were seated immediately at a window table, attended to on every level, and the food was creative and delicious. You can have breakfast or lunch/dinner selections. The food was plentiful and we asked for boxes. The best part? Bill came to $140 for four of us! A really great value in a town that's known for its many quality dining options.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food, holiday dinning crowded, noisy. Pick other days not holidays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lark Creek has always been a "go to" restaurant for our family. The food is traditional and good and we can always count on the atmosphere and the excellent wait staff. Unfortunately we keep seeing the prices going up and we are not seeing the value that we once did. We used to be able to come early and get early bird pricing and we also used to be able to get smaller portions for less. We are retired and we are now seeing high prices at a place we used to be able to get more reasonable options. The pot roast, the meatloaf, the butterscotch pudding are all very good-- but we can't come often as we used to be able to. We wish there were some more reasonable choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My lunch mate asked the waitress about the tuna melt...if it was albacore she would order it, but if not, she'd order something else. The waitress came back and said it was absolutely white, albacore tuna. Well when my friend picked out the dark tuna from her sandwich, there was not much left. Then my chicken tortilla dish had so much gristle in it, I couldn't eat it after picking all that out. Gross. Only the guy who came to pick up the plates heard about our complaints but he could have cared less. Not going back. The waitress and cook should have done better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great meal, no less. Been going to this restaurant for a long time and it continues to be a great place to eat.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.