Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About La Thai

Savor the delicious and tantalizing flavors of Thai cuisine with a Louisiana flair, in a fun and inviting atmosphere at La Thai. From the traditional to the contemporary, our dishes will invigorate the senses and delight the soul.

"Nit Noi" is our sit down bar/lounge area with a special small plates menu. Nit Noi means "little bit" in Thai. The idea is to relax with craft cocktails and enjoy small bites while hanging out with friends, or a date night, or even watching sports at the bar or beautiful Nit Noi lounge.

Host your next event at La Thai with great space for your next corporate lunch, private party, or social gathering. The unique and inviting space is the perfect venue for any occasion and will surely impress co-workers, guests, and friends.

La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your catering needs at home, work, or on the go.

4938 Prytania St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Seafood, Thai

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Monday
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robert St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 899-8886

Website:
http://www.lathaiuptown.com/

Catering:
For your catering needs, we provide dependable and professional service, with elegantly arranged dishes and the highest level of quality. Make your next event a great success with food that will leave a lasting impression.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it's hosting a private party or providing catering, La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your event and catering needs. With comfortable seating up to 75 people, our Special Events Room is a great space for your next special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Barry- Special Events Coordinator: (504) 223-8965

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Thai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Spicy (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Best Tai food in New Orleans! Great family & friend place!
Thanks Jay & Diana for an always wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Organic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, People Watching, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

very creative cocktails. excellent oyster appetizer. we came back for the crab three ways again. fantastic soft shell crab with crab cake and extra crabmeat on top. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My family and I have been going to La Thai since they opened over a decade ago. We have never been disappointed. The ambiance is trendy and upbeat, we know most of the wait staff either by face or by name due to their strong focus on customer service and forming customer relationships. We actually had my daughter's 14th birthday party last night, and they were able to effortlessly accommodate 18 girls....the host, hostess and servers were attentive, patient, and made each girl feel special. As for the food, it tastes exactly as delicious as it looks in the photos! Also, my daughter and I are vegetarians, and there are lots of options for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Meeting with friends. Staff was friendly. Food was great! The cocktails were also very good. I'll be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious and service was excellent! I look forward to eating there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Vey good food. Excellent fried oysters. The crab 3 ways is fantastic. we also enjoyed the unusual cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The drunken noodles are a definite win. The stuffed chicken wings were okay and the dumplings were yummy. Great service, nice decor, very quiet. I'll definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The food service was quick upon ordering and there was no rush while me and my friends chatted after completing our meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Organic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

very slow service and portions have shrunken significantly. Not the same tried and true restaurant. Soft shell crab was a buster over some field greens as a Main Course. Plate size decreased for Main courses too. Prices about the same with less food. Taste is good , but not exceptional as once before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

BBQ Shrimp with roti was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Haven't been here for some time but Dianna still brings it home. All four entrees and other appetizers were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food ideas are always innovative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was one of my favorite restaurants. We hadn't been in 2 years. The three way crab was not fresh. The coconut shrimp was not the same. The glass noodles were still good but I would not go back at this point. We had to ask the server to tell us the specials and she acted like we were bothering her. When we walked in the hostess said sit them at the table by the bathroom. There were other tables open and we made a reservation ahead of time. It was not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

They never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

What a nice surprise!! My husband and I celebrated a nice 23rd anniversary dinner at La Thai. Started off with an appetizer of coconut shrimp with a wonderful sweet soy sauce. We split a pineapple fried rice. Loved it!! Could've used a little more pineapple, but the flavors were amazing. We also split an order of the cashew chicken and vegetables. Just wonderful. Our waitress was so sweet and efficient. Service was fantastic. We even got to meet the owner and had a great visit with her. We had a great meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

By far my favorite restaurant in town! Phenomenal food, excellent service, beautiful atmosphere and great prices!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dark and TOO COLD. It's like they want people to get out asap.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service and food was outstanding. I would recommend it to friends for a casual dinner and or a business luncheon. The waitress and the owner gave us fantastic attention. Can't wait to go back.

Thanks,
Ray & Noella Aucoin

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointed with menu and serving changes!!! Change in Duck Delight entree!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service good. Price of value. Casual eating place. But nothing extra ordinary.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

You don't have to like Thai to eat here... A great combination of Thai , & local Nola seafood.... Love this place , so flavorful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always enjoy my experience here. Pineapple fried rice is incredible! Wonderful service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The sea bass was spectacular! The restaurant was clean and pretty. The service was adequate but nothing exceptional. Prices were a little high for the portion sizes but all dishes were delicious. I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

La Thai consistently proves itself to be the best Thai restaurant in the city. This place looks good, the food tastes great and the drinks menu is mighty fine. Every dish we had this visit was delicious. Thoroughly recommended.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Calamari was delicious. The duck cubes in my entree were chewy instead of tender. Decent service my food came out so fast I was not able to adjust my order after finding out my app was huge for just one person. This helped to sour my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place! Food and cocktails are always amazing and the ambiance is great too! And, service is impeccable!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent and the service was good in general, but one server brought our entrees much too soon, before we were done with our soups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good to excellent food. We love the appetizers and the drinks. Would recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service is always impeccable. They make you feel like family for sure. The food of course is awesome. We had calamari and spring rolls for apps. So good. We love dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was my son's birthday and he wanted Thai food. He loves La Thai so it was an easy choice of where to go. Neither he nor the other two of us were disappointed. The food is always great and because it was his birthday he received a piece of "birthday" cake (red velvet cake) with a candle. That made it truly special for him.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was awesome - fresh, flavorful, good variety of options, reasonable portions. One of my favorite reataurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I love this restaurant. It's perfect for a date night. I had the Spring rolls and they were delicious. I also had the Tom Kar Gai soup and my husband had Hot &a Sour soup. Both were yummy. For an entree we split the Panko crusted Sea Bass. It was the perfect amount to split, and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food is always amazing at La Thai, and I like the renovations. However, the service was really poor. At first, our server was nice and she gave great recommendations. Our food came out quickly, and she checked on us to see how everything was. After this, we never saw her again until she picked up the credit card we had left on the table. We had waited and waited for an extremely long time for any acknowledgement. She seemed to struggle with multi-tasking. It wasn't busy, but once she had an additional table to wait on and bring drinks to, she completely forgot us. We were there almost an hour and a half.

That being said, she was nice, and the food was delicious. That just concerned me -- what if it had been busy??

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Some of the best Thai food in the city. Love it . Repeat repeat repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love the crispy Calamari, great sauce in it. Ginger shrimp stir fry great flavor if you are a fan of ginger . Scallops is a good dish with large sea scallops .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service. A wonderful Thai restaurant with a modern flair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The redfin dish was terrific. We had a grilled chicken dish with sauce on the side that was quite bland (first item on the menu under chicken). Our server was great and everyone helped out so very attentive service. Very cold at front of the house but better in back where we were seated. Somewhat loud music. Very hip decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 1, 2016

La Thai was very accommodating about providing gluten-free food.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have been going to La Thai for years...have not been in awhile, and everything was off. Maybe it was just that night, I sure hope so!

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.