Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.74mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About La Thai

Savor the delicious and tantalizing flavors of Thai cuisine with a Louisiana flair, in a fun and inviting atmosphere at La Thai. From the traditional to the contemporary, our dishes will invigorate the senses and delight the soul.

"Nit Noi" is our sit down bar/lounge area with a special small plates menu. Nit Noi means "little bit" in Thai. The idea is to relax with craft cocktails and enjoy small bites while hanging out with friends, or a date night, or even watching sports at the bar or beautiful Nit Noi lounge.

Host your next event at La Thai with great space for your next corporate lunch, private party, or social gathering. The unique and inviting space is the perfect venue for any occasion and will surely impress co-workers, guests, and friends.

La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your catering needs at home, work, or on the go.

4938 Prytania St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Seafood, Thai

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Monday
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robert St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 899-8886

Website:
http://www.lathaiuptown.com/

Catering:
For your catering needs, we provide dependable and professional service, with elegantly arranged dishes and the highest level of quality. Make your next event a great success with food that will leave a lasting impression.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it's hosting a private party or providing catering, La Thai is available to provide impeccable and professional services for all of your event and catering needs. With comfortable seating up to 75 people, our Special Events Room is a great space for your next special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Barry- Special Events Coordinator: (504) 223-8965

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

La Thai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Authentic (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Spicy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great seafood! If you stick with the seafood you won't be disappointed. The Thai food is not their strong suit. Wonderful crab cakes, gulf fish and scallops. Worth going back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Special attention given from the moment we walked in the door...very enjoyable evening! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Rusty, our server, was great! The food was tasty, filling, and a great value!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I had dinner with my daughter, she ordered the duck and it was absolutely wonderful, I ordered the crab three ways, which was just okay, the soft shell was great, the crab cake was not seasoned at all. The lump crabmeat on top was lukewarm. I would have ordered something else. Overall it was a great dining experience. We will definitely return even though I was disappointed in my meal, I am definitely returning for something else. Thank you, CLB

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We got together for a ladies night and couldn't have been more pleased. Everything was wonderful from our waiter to the fabulous food. Jay, the owner, came over and visited with us and I so personable and friendly you feel like you're eating in his Own home.
We would definitely recommend any of the fish dishes, the crab cake, and the steak was fabulous. We even splurged on dessert which finished our perfect meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 29, 2017

GreAt food and service! We got there at 5 and was able to get drink specials! Drunken noodles and spring rolls very good!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Took my friend from New Mexico because she missed not having Thai food. Great experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was great and service was really good! I would definitely go again and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Perfect for a Friday night to accompany conversation without the large crowds and noise. Music was at a comfortable volume level to have good conversation. Food and service was A+ (this was my 2nd time here). Ordered off off the Nit Noi menu and had traditional thai curry dishes and fish of the day/season (red fish). Recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our waiter was excellent. Everything we ordered was delicious the hot and sour soup is the best in the city. The owners came to our table and could not have made us feel more welcome. I have dietary concerns and they worked with me to have the best Chilean sea bass dinner just perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great restaurant for Thi food as well as steak seafood and desert. Pleasent atmosphere, great bar. The stag were very pleasant and service was great, reasonable prices.
It's worth the trip.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Consistently excellent. Very aesthetic atmosphere. This family has a great restaurant. Hope it never changes

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to La Thai with friends so that my husband could try it. The Calamari and Crab 3 Ways was unbelievable! Both the calamari and the soft shell crab were so juicy, fat & fresh. There was a light batter so I could really taste the crab. The crab cake was a little burnt on one side, but I ate around it. Next time I will ask them to cook it less. The calamari was so tender. The best I had ever eaten. My husband was quite impressed with the experience. We will go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Anniversary Dinner! Terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Good for any event! The food is always outstanding & the waitstaff is very attentive. The owners are always there to check on things and make sure everything perfect and that their customers feel right at home. 👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent service and food. Will definitely be returning with friends. The chicken and shrimp stir fry was phenominal and would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Sorry to say my experience was not the best. Every visit except the last was very good. The food this time taste frozen and very salty. There was also a shortage of waiters which was also a small issue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Loved Loved it. Love the service, the Food and the overrall expreience. Been there before and will deffintly come back. Thanks Jay

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Good eats but expensive.
The appetizers are killer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food is always delicious and kitchen is always accommodating! Service was friendly, helpful and fast. The fried calamari is our favorite appetizer. It can get a bit noisy!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food with exotic flavors at a good price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Waitress was very nice.food was good. Nice ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As usual, the food was outstanding and the service was excellent; easily the best Thai food in the New Orleans area. This was our second trip there and find the chef extremely innovative. We also experienced and enjoyed the La Thai when it was on Metairie Road. We would come more often if it was closer to our Metairie home.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've heard about it for a few months now, friends raved about the food and atmosphere. They were absolutely right, enjoyed everything, will definitely go back and tell everyone I know....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Nice atmosphere, clean business. We both enjoyed the food and service. A bit on the noisy side but not excessive for a Saturday night. You could have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Loved everything about this restaurant from the decor to the delicious meal we thoroughly enjoyed. We had the sea bass, seafood curry, garlic chicken stir fry, and drunken noodles....can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The best Thai restaurant in the city. Gorgeous renovation also.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was delicious and service was great. Would definitely recommend the oysters and coconut shrimp

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

La Thai has the best Thai food. The selection is very affordable and the portion is enough. There is a variety of healthy selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

First time but definitely will be back. Great menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 22, 2017

La Thai is always consistently good. The wait staff is always spot on and craft cocktails are great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was my bday dinner. I asked for suggestions on FaceBook and La Thai was highly recommended. I was not disappointed at all. Moved to the top of my list as favorite restaurants in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My wife and I have been to La Thai several times for dinner. It never disappoints. Always delicious and very good service. We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 3, 2017

THE NEW LA THAI HAS BEEN REDECORATED IN A CONTEMPORARY, SLEEK WAY. IT LOOKS MUCH BETTER, AND THE THAI OFFERINGS SEEM MORE PLENTIFUL. TASTY AND LIGHT CHOPPED CHICKEN LETTUCE WRAPS, CRISP OVER-STUFFED CHICKEN WINGS, JUMBO LUMP CRAB CAKES, SOFT-SHELL CRABS ARE ALL EXCELLENT CHOICES.
WE'LL GO BACK TO SAMPLE MORE!
IT'S A BIT NOISY (CROWDED ON A SATURDAY NIGHT) WITH A FEW LARGE GROUPS AROUND OUR TABLE. THE BAR WAS THE QUIETEST AREA, BUT IT'S NOT FOR DINING.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Best Tai food in New Orleans! Great family & friend place!
Thanks Jay & Diana for an always wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Organic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, People Watching, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 26, 2017

very creative cocktails. excellent oyster appetizer. we came back for the crab three ways again. fantastic soft shell crab with crab cake and extra crabmeat on top. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My family and I have been going to La Thai since they opened over a decade ago. We have never been disappointed. The ambiance is trendy and upbeat, we know most of the wait staff either by face or by name due to their strong focus on customer service and forming customer relationships. We actually had my daughter's 14th birthday party last night, and they were able to effortlessly accommodate 18 girls....the host, hostess and servers were attentive, patient, and made each girl feel special. As for the food, it tastes exactly as delicious as it looks in the photos! Also, my daughter and I are vegetarians, and there are lots of options for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Meeting with friends. Staff was friendly. Food was great! The cocktails were also very good. I'll be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was delicious and service was excellent! I look forward to eating there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.