About La Quinta Cliffhouse

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 4:30pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 4:30pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 4:30-5:30pm

Bar: Sunday-Thursday 3:30-9:30 PM Friday-Saturday: 3:30-10:00 PM

Happy Hour: Every night 3:30pm-6:30pm Sunday: all night

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (113)
Scenic View (93)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
See All
Good for a Date (87)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Romantic (70)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Happy Hour (63)
Casual (50)
Bar Seating (49)
Notable Wine List (47)
Worth the Drive (47)
Good for Groups (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Cozy (40)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Fun (37)
Outstanding Value (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Hot Spot (25)
Fireplace (25)
Authentic (23)
Business Meals (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Family Style (16)
Historic (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
People Watching (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Private Room (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tapas (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place for date night. Food was del ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 21 hours ago

Great place for date night. Food was delicious and the settling was stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVED it! Husband's 65th birthday and w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

LOVED it! Husband's 65th birthday and we're visiting LaQuinta from Atlanta. I found Cliffhouse on a drive-by from Indian Wells, so I Yelped it. I requested a table with a view and wow did we get it! The dining room is outstanding. We arrived a little early and had a drink in the bar. He loved his LaQuinta Brewery IPA (and especially at a happy hour price) and the bartender made me a delicious lemon drop martini with Absolute Citron. Our server in the dining room, Amy, was friendly, informative, and efficient (as was the hostess). The manager checked on us twice. And to top it off, we were surprised when Amy brought a slice of cake with a candle that looked and tasted like it came from Heaven itself. Already booked another reservation for next week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinners were outstanding! Not inexp ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dinners were outstanding! Not inexpensive but worth it!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exciting atmosphere free valet parking v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Exciting atmosphere free valet parking very reasonable prices. We were an hour early for our reservation and they got us in within 15 minutes. Super nice staff. One of our favorites in the desert!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We meet some friends for dinner. Our wai ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

We meet some friends for dinner. Our waitress was very pleasant and did not rush us through or meal. Our meals were very tasty and severed hot. We were able to eat in the private dining room so it was much quieter than the rest of the restaurant. We would recommend the Cliff House for a very nice dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening at our favourite restauran ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great evening at our favourite restaurant in Palm Desert,

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our third visit in three months - delici ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Our third visit in three months - delicious meals and we love to sit outside on the deck. The Sunset Dinner is excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have never had a bad meal there, the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We have never had a bad meal there, the service is always good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine day rip off. Almost double the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine day rip off. Almost double their regular pricing. And, forced valet parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was great!

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Da ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day here with two other couples and even though the restaurant was packed, our service, the quality and presentation of our meals, and the efficiency and thoughtfulness of our waitress and her assistant were beyond superb! Our guests were equally impressed and raved about the experience!...this was good because we recommended the Cliffhouse as the place for our celebration!

In spite of having a full-house, we were seated on time and never felt rushed or hurried as we were able to really enjoy our evening. Please extend a tip of our hats to your entire team for a great experience! We and our guests will be back and recommend the Cliffhouse to anyone without any hesitation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience this place gets 10 of 10, price ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambience this place gets 10 of 10, prices well could be better, but it's a touristy location so they get every buck.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice restaurant with friendly staff and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice restaurant with friendly staff and good service. We were greeted at the door with smiles and seated early, upon our request. Bar was packed!! I ordered the Lamb chops (medium) and although they were a tad undercooked (medium rare), they were excellent. I tried the pork tenderloin that someone else had ordered and it was a bit salty and not to my liking. Ambiance was comfortable and quiet for the most part. Server was attentive and friendly. I would eat here again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very noisy Restaurant and very busy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Was very noisy Restaurant and very busy as this type of Restaurant doesn't lend itself to conversation with the parties with you. There was a lady going around the room looking over your shoulder to see the time frame that you would be finished with your meal so that they can move another party into your table. She even came over to the table to take our dessert order rather than wait for the waitress to take our order.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

With the exception of the "root vegetabl ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

With the exception of the "root vegetables" with the Scallops, the food was delicious. In spite of all the people she serviced, Carrie was very good.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Enjoyed the Cliff House on numerous occa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the Cliff House on numerous occasion without an unpleasant experience

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , atmosphere and service. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food , atmosphere and service. We were told of this place from relatives and it truly lived up to what they said

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very special place with fabulous food an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Very special place with fabulous food an exceptional service

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed this trip. Meal was very s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Disappointed this trip. Meal was very slow to come out of the kitchen. Shrimp was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food. Excellent service. Noisy. Vi ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Excellent service. Noisy. View was good. I will go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pretty disappointing experience!!! When ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Pretty disappointing experience!!! When we pulled up and then walked up the steps it was pretty cool! We were hoping that would translate into an awesome dining experience. This is by far the lowest rating I have ever given a restaurant on Open Table. Our service was not good! The food quality was not good and everything was rushed. We weren't half way done with our salads and the main course showed up. Our waitress had no clue because she was MIA. If the goal of this place was to turn our table in a hurry, they succeeded at the expense of never having us as a Customer again!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Great table with a view Quiet corner tab ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great table with a view

Quiet corner table do we could chat

Excellent service

Delicious food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the location and feel of ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the location and feel of the place. The main dining room was pretty loud and noisy, but still enjoyable. Our appetizers we're good. Weren't too crazy about the steak entrees. They were cooked as ordered, just didn't have much flavor except for the sauce that was all over them. Wish we would've gotten seafood entrees instead. Will be back to try other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was happy with the service best food I ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was happy with the service best food I ever tasted

Tags: , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't get the outside talble we requ ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We didn't get the outside talble we requested but Bif made a nice jester in providing a starter on the house

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was outstanding and the food ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server was outstanding and the food up to it's usual high standard.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely setting for bar food or dinner, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A lovely setting for bar food or dinner, Cliff House has gotten better over the years. Both patio and indoor dining in several different rooms so that the diner is not overwhelmed by people and noise.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

All was wonderful except I requested a t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

All was wonderful except I requested a table against the rocks. We were seated on the patio but not against the rocks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday with good friends. Exceptional ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Birthday with good friends. Exceptional meal, beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food way overpriced. Calamari app was d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food way overpriced. Calamari app was delicious. My $36 roasted scallops good but 4 scallops for that price is ridiculous. Lobster tail was tough. Short rib was disappointing. Filet very good. Good wine list and that is not overpriced for wine by the glass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for our anniversary. The food wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The food was awesome. We shared all of our food. They brought us separate salad plates. Our entree was also separated on separate plates. And a surprise dessert..delicious! That's the only place we've gone where each of us get our own plates! Awesome!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in Indian Wells for a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My wife and I were in Indian Wells for a business meeting, and decided to stay a couple more nights as it was my birthday. We searched Open Table for a restaurant, and came across this one. The reviews were generally very good, although there were a few reviews that reflected not so good an experience. The restaurant was located near where we were staying so that was a bonus.

We found the whole experience excellent. I ordered the scallops and my wife the vegetarian curry. One of our challenges in picking a restaurant is finding a menu with vegetarian choices other than the usual mushroom risotto. Portions were larger than we were used to and very good. The server (Michelle) was very attentive and came back just the right amount of time.

The environment was comfortable for fine dining, tables were not jammed together which made it feel relatively private. Found the prices reasonable for the qualify of the food and experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's just unfortunate that we were seate ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It's just unfortunate that we were seated next to an obnoxiously loud table. Otherwise, the service was excellent and everything we ordered tasted superb. Toffee cake - yummy! No skimping on the alcohol in the cocktails here, for sure! Our table was located in the patio right next to the mountainside - so cool! We'll definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine list could be improved signific ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The wine list could be improved significantly. No half bottle choices and not enough choice overall.

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner on Saturday was so good we ar ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our dinner on Saturday was so good we are going back for dinner on Monday. Everyone loved their food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good experience. Awesome food a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a good experience. Awesome food and good ambiance. Can be pretty noisy when the restaurant is full.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner with old friends. We were sea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had dinner with old friends. We were seated right away and we were able to spend a good amount of time together working our way through the hors d'oeuvres, dinner and then dessert. Never felt pressured that we had to get up and move on for the next set of patrons wanting to come in. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite places with m ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is one of my favorite places with many memories. Great place and they take great care of you here!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Easy reservation thru OpenTable. I love ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Easy reservation thru OpenTable.

I loved it!! Great food and ambiance. We dined outside, our waiter was Ricardo he was excellent and attentive. Our dinner was pre-concert (Chicago) @ Fantasy Springs. Wonderful evening all around!! Bravo Cliffhouse!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For the money spent, we felt the food wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

For the money spent, we felt the food was OK, but not outstanding. The room we were in was very noisy and we were a table of 6 so it was hard to have a conversation across the table. Both my wife and I were expecting a special night out, but it was just so, so. Overall we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.