Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About La Quinta Cliffhouse

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 4:30pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 4:30pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 4:30-5:30pm

Bar: Sunday-Thursday 3:30-9:30 PM Friday-Saturday: 3:30-10:00 PM

Happy Hour: Every night 3:30pm-6:30pm Sunday: all night

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (120)
Special Occasion (119)
Good for Anniversaries (111)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (109)
Good for a Date (101)
Romantic (93)
Good for Birthdays (92)
Happy Hour (83)
Worth the Drive (74)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Casual (60)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Good for Groups (56)
Notable Wine List (53)
Fun (52)
Bar Seating (51)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Business Meals (35)
Cozy (34)
Hot Spot (30)
Authentic (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Healthy (21)
Fireplace (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Seasonal (18)
Historic (18)
People Watching (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Family Style (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Disabled Access (14)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Private Room (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. My husband had the steak and said it was nice and tender. I had the homemade fettuccine with mushrooms. It was good but I would have liked more of the homemade pasta and less mushrooms.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food outstanding; service abysmal. Repeated requests made to servers were ignored. This was especially annoying because the requests were met with "of course'" or "absolutely." And then nothing happened. Even after second requests. By the time the ice bucket for the wine arrived, the wine was gone. The last few glasses We had were no longer cold.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was my fifth time to dine at this lovely restaurant, and am looking forward to the next time already.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday together with good friends. The food was excellent the service outstanding. All had a good time and we walked away satisfied.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was delicious as usual. Our server, Laurie, was lovely as always. I was just disappointed at how busy she was. We would have had another bottle of wine, we got a lovely dessert dropped off for our anniversary but it was obvious that everyone was in the weeds. Still a wonderful evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had the sunset dinner that is served between 5 PM and 6 PM. At $21.95, it's a great value. There are a good number of entrees to choose from and salad or soup is included. The food and service were both great. Very pretty setting. Lots of free parking. We'll definitely return to the Cliff House.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Love how the restaurant sits on the side of a rocky outcrop. Waterfalls flow down the rocks. Nice patio, terrific food and super service. Especially pleased that the restaurant honored my seating request.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My family celebrated Mother's Day and we had a wonderful dinner of salmon fish with their special seasoning and glaze topping. Service was efficient and attentive and we opted to dine indoors due to the heat and wind at that early hour. Dining early and selecting from the special menu pricing from 5 to 6pm, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner for around $21.00 each plus tax and tip. This is a neighborhood gem we will visit often and try the Happy Hour menu and discount drinks around 4pm the next visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is very good and their sunset dinners are a really great deal. We also go there often for happy hour. I really enjoy the Cliff House.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Glorified version of the Cheesecake Factory, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Steaks are delicious and we loves the view from our table!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great dinner for four friends. Who New the Cliff House had great
Filet and RibEye Steaks, now we know.
Our wives had the ribs and enjoyed them as well.
We enjoyed Deuckhorn Migration with our food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We always enjoy the food. My husband tried the sunset dinner and really enjoyed the soup and catfish. I tried the vegetarian pasta, but prefer the vegetable curry.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great spot with cool setting. Inside makes you think ski lodge and the view is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I always enjoy it, and bring my out-of-town guests here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Accidentally there on 1/2 price wine Wednesday. Had great bottle of Flowers Pinot Noir. Very enjoyable meal. Had delicious ice cream pie for my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The service was excellent. My friend and I had the soup - a delicious cream of asparagus. We both enjoyed the pot stickers while my husband liked the ribs and our friend raved about the salmon. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Beautiful setting and gorgeous views. Outstanding service and food. We look forward to a return visit the next time we are in the desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Highly recommend the Lamb Chops. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We visit La Quinta CA every year and we always make sure we have dinner at the cliff house every time!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was generally good which included appetizers, main courses and desert. The scallops were tasty but the pork chop was bland. Good wine selection for both by the glass and bottle. Views and ambience was very good. Service was good to very good. Everyone was very friendly. Overall, especially for the price, we were let down as we were expecting exceptional.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We've been before and thoroughly appreciate the consistency of the foood and setvice

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Third time I have been to this restaurant - and the last. I always knew it was noisy, but this was ridiculous. The four of us could not hear each other until late in meal (abt 8:30) when the restaurant was half empty.

My wife and I ordered the special - a grilled pork chop - It was overcooked, not just done, but cooked forever. The waitperson provided a steak knife and that barely could cut the meat.

Use to like going here, but never again. There are too many good restaurants in the Valley to do this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant, with two warnings: Depending on when you are there, the noise level can make conversation a bit difficult, but not impossible; and the portions are on the smallish side, so big eaters should either have a snack before going or be ready to order appetizers and dessert. Outstanding service, beautiful view, really a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A fabulous experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fabulous restaurant!
The sugar spiced salmon is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Impressive location, built into the side of a hill. The food was good, the service excellent, and the ambience is unique.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Service was great! Food was good! Our server paid attention and all was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was a Saturday night and busy, the only complaint was the flies, not a problem so much with the restaurant but the territory and time of year. Fortunately the fly problem got better with stronger winds later in the dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We really enjoy the La Quinta Cliff House. they have a great menu and the food has always been very good. Lots of wine to choose from too. Staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As a local resident that has dined several times before arranged to do so with out of town guest. Did not disappoint. We all will come back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome as usual. Customer service and quality of food is second to none. Biff runs a great restaurant, with an awesome atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary. The staff were absolutely outstanding making our celebration that much more special. We will be back - the food, ambience and service was brilliant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Visiting with friends in town. Drinks and service in the bar was great. Later had dinner in the restaurant. One of the few restaurants in town where you can carry on a conversation and hear each other talking. Food was great too! We'll be back soon.

Tags: Live Sports, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is always superb. The waiter was surprisingly mediocre. We sat outside for the first time and don't recommend it. It's beautiful but too many flies. Somehow our reservation didn't go through and it was made for the next day. The person at the front was so kind and got us in right away. Whenever we are in Palm Springs, we look forward to dining here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very pleased to have found this gem on the way to Coachella! Beautiful, unique and the food was all-around fantastic. You should go!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The ambiance at the Cliff House is what makes this restaurant very special. The use of natural light and water is very enjoyable. The food was very good and our waiter was genuine and friendly. I requested a table by the window to watch the sunset and they honored my request without hesitation.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Had a great dinner celebrating our daughter's birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonder view, ambiance and service. Our food was delicious though the menu is not uncommon. Great drinks too and good portions. Lovely restaurant we will definitely revisit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Enjoyed a nice dinner with family. Service was top notch and food was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.