Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About La Quinta Cliffhouse

From the moment you approach the La Quinta Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the La Quinta Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles. We DO NOT take reservations in the Bar area or for Happy Hour.

78-250 Highway 111
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday-Thursday and 5:00pm - 9:30pm Friday - Saturday

Sunset Dinner Special: Daily 5:00-6:00pm

Bar: Sunday-Thursday 4:00-9:30 PM Friday-Saturday: 4:00-10:00 PM

Happy Hour: Every night 4:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 360-5991

Website:
http://www.laquintacliffhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Both self-parking and valet offered.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Quinta Cliffhouse offers 4 distinct event venues to accommodate intimate dinners to large celebrations. So whether it is a rehearsal dinner, corporate event, private party or holiday celebration, La Quinta Cliffhouse’s striking ambiance and warm staff will make your event a memorable one.

La Quinta Cliffhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Scenic View (51)
Happy Hour (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Bar Seating (38)
Romantic (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Casual (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Business Meals (23)
Fun (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Cozy (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Comfort Food (15)
People Watching (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a family dinner for 7 & enjoyed everything about this restaurant, great find.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Great location, beautiful room, food and service were very good. This was our first visit and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorites, eaten here many times
Always good food and service
Can't beat the Happy Hour in the bar

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Devon was our waitress and she was terrific! The food was delicious and generous portions. The drinks are nice and strong! Great time at Cliff House!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food with a great view

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2017

There's nothing better than patio dining in the desert, when the temperatures cooperate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We always enjoy dining at The Cliff House. Always experience good service and great food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Went here for a friends birthday on Saturday night😊and had a fabulous evening. Sat inside with a good view of the restaurant. Food was delicious but a little salty. Seems to be a California thing! ? The service was great and the ambience welcoming and cosy. Will definitely be back on our next visit but will question the salt content. I had the chicken . Great flavours with the garlic mash. My husband and friend had the beef short rib. The ice cream cake was a great touch to end our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The view, service, cocktails and wine lists were fantastic! In the bar and the restaurant, we had two of the friendliest waitstaff- very knowledgeable about the area, the menu, restaurant's hours, etc. We are already planning a return visit for the happy hour specials. The one downside is our meals weren't all that impressive. My seafood stew was good but lacked more of the ingredients listed (scallops and white fish were abundant but there was one shrimp and 1/4 of a lobster tail). My husband had the ribeye steak, and said it needed salt or some kind of brining to really bring out the flavor. We would definitely go back and try dinner again to see if this was a fluke, but in the meantime, we're planning on happy hour (bar specials galore!).

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We came for the Sunset menu and were very pleased. The short ribs were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing! Great service! Great food! Beautiful!
I would highly recommend the cliff house for entertaining guest or an intimate night out with your loved ones.

Tags: Disabled Access, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

There were 3 of us and we all had excellent flank steak which was very flavourful and tender.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Ample parking but most of it taken by valet service.

The structure is built on the side of a small cliff with a stairway that goes up past an interesting, small waterfall to the first floor. There is also an elevator if you cannot do the stairs.

While there are hundreds of seats, reservations are a must. We were there on a Sunday and the place was nearly full. Some seating is outdoors which is fine in the desert evening. Some seating is indoors. The view is mostly from the indoors looking north and west. They have semitransparent screens down in the afternoon sun but roll them up soon after sunset.

The food was good but pricy. My reservation was before 6 PM and the table next to us were told that several of the best picks on the menu were out of stock.

We were celebrating our anniversary. The waitress brought us a very large complimentary ice cream dessert for two.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The restaurant was large, several dinning rooms. The bar scene was vibrant.
The menu had a lot of choices. The food was delicious.
The service was impersonal. When we finished our dinner no one paid any attention to us. We had to call someone to pick up our plates. If I'm paying those kind of prices, I expect some personal service and attention to detail.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was not up to expectation 2 meals were sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Wow! We were here last year, but we went to the Happy Hour which was DEE-LISH!!! This time, we went for dinner and the food was out-of-this-world!!!! I had the filet which was in a gravy type sauce and it was definitely the BEST filet mignon I've ever had!!!! My husband had the salmon which had a sweet sauce on it and he raved about that dish!!!!
The ambience is cool.....you walk up stairs next to a cliff (with a waterfall at one point) and you look out of the dining room at a cliff, as well. The dining room is a lot more quiet than the bar....where Happy Hour was going on! It was packed!!!
Our server did a very nice job of taking care of us. No complaints!
We WILL be back next time we are in the Palm Springs area!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Top notch with food and great outdoor dining. I specially like the beef spare ribs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Just a wonderful date night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and we found it to be great. We had Seafood Stew and Chilean Seabass and Ahi Poke. The wine was half price by the bottle and we ordered a really nice bottle of wine which felt like a super splurge. We will go back again the food was great and the service was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great evening. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Before being seated for dinner, my wife and I took advantage of a couple of Happy Hour drinks at the bar. We were tempted by the low price of cocktails and the great variety bar menu to have our meal there. We'll certainly be back again for another dinner, and also just for Happy Hour!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were seated immediately, and we had great views from all four seats at our table. Excellent and friendly service from valet, hostess, and wait staff. Very nice selection of wines. Food was delicious: had beef tartare and prosciutto with figs for appetizers, and seafood stew, seabass, salmon, New York steak for the dinners...all were excellent! We will definitely be going back next time we're in town.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2017

From the Ahi tuna cone appetizers to the steak and shrimp dishes, the entire meal was fantastic! And the mud pie dessert is always a favorite. Great wine list and friendly, efficient service made our entire anniversary dinner very special!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on September 22, 2017

A great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Love this place! Every time we go it gets better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We made reservations and we were able to get outside dining. The host was very accommodating and very attentive. The food, as always, was the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2017

As all our previous dinners here, it was great. I love the salmon. Cooked to perfection Wait staff is very attentive. No complaints at all. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Steak was very fatty and over priced all other meals were well cooked and well presented but over priced by 30 0/0

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The place was ok, nothing to write home about! The seating doesn't allow for privacy! We were seated in the middle of two couples, could not talk to each other because of the noise level. Meat was good, pasta not so much, good wine . I would not return there nor recommend it to my friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

We love this restaurant! We celebrated there on our honeymoon and then came back 2 years later for our 2nd wedding anniversary! It's a very special place with excellent food and service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Went to palm desert for our 10 th anniversary and we choose the cliffhouse for our anniversary dinner. I have been long ago and my husband this was his first time. He said hands down the best rib eye steak he has had. I had filet and was delicious. We started with a Caesar salad along with there warm bread and butter. Enjoyed a few martinis along with our delicious meal and closed with a warm apple dessert. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food in main dining room has gone downhill. Go for the happy hour bar food. Kale salad is not traditional kale and very weedy and full of stems. Dressing was good and date paste was tasty...get some actual kale! Pasta dish was not good...added chicken but it was not cut up and a poor spongy texture. Lighter sauce was needed and better prepared chicken. Very loud and servers seemed rushed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fabulous food, excellent service, wonderful atmosphere. Feels upscale but welcoming. My salmon was cooked to perfection. Can hardly wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I haven't eaten here for a while but I've missed a really good restaurants. Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

All our entrees were delicious. However, the kale salad was outstanding. The combination of pomegranate seeds, apple, kale and vinaigrette was perfect. If I could have had the blue cheese, I am sure it would have only enhanced the flavors.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our favorite local spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We eat here every year we are in Indian Wells. We love the restaurant it's ambiance and food is always very good with very attentive staff. Unfortunately there was a very loud group at the restaurant which was a shame because everything else was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

just plain like this place....will return when back in the Area.... the food and service were great....

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This place has it all, great food, great service, and an overall unique experience for people. Would recommend to friends that were ever visiting and would definitely go back if we were ever visiting again!!! Cheers!!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Here's a tip: go during Happy hour... It is much cheaper.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.